Sonic the Hedgehog Xbox 360

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 505 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 1, 2016
    8
    Good game 8/10 . Good graphics for 2006 , but this game have bugs , but in this game not many bugs . Long Loading , but awesome levels . Wave Ocean , Crisis City and other . This game have good storyline behind Sonic and Shadow , but average storyline behind Silver . First level Wave Ocean a bit like a Emerald Coast from Sonic Adventure . In STH 2006 goodd graphics , good storyline andGood game 8/10 . Good graphics for 2006 , but this game have bugs , but in this game not many bugs . Long Loading , but awesome levels . Wave Ocean , Crisis City and other . This game have good storyline behind Sonic and Shadow , but average storyline behind Silver . First level Wave Ocean a bit like a Emerald Coast from Sonic Adventure . In STH 2006 goodd graphics , good storyline and amazing gameplay . Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2015
    9
    One of the best Sonic games out there. Sonic's story unfortunately wasn't that interesting, however Silver's and Shadow's stories were amazing. The controls are fantastic and the graphics were amazing. I love the levels with Silver the Hedgehog and I like the missions where you get to play as different characters! The only reason it's a 9 is because in one or two stages I experienced someOne of the best Sonic games out there. Sonic's story unfortunately wasn't that interesting, however Silver's and Shadow's stories were amazing. The controls are fantastic and the graphics were amazing. I love the levels with Silver the Hedgehog and I like the missions where you get to play as different characters! The only reason it's a 9 is because in one or two stages I experienced some slowdown on the game, but the game its self is perfect. I don't know why people hate this game and say it is glitchy because I didn't see one glitch in the entire run of the game. Expand
  3. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    This was the last use of the great sonic adventure formula, that could have been an excellent game but due to its excessive amount of errors, fails to reach the height of being considered a classic. It has all it needed to be an excellent sonic game, but it was not revised. Yet, I think Sega needs to use again this formula, but revising first for technical issues. Still, this game offersThis was the last use of the great sonic adventure formula, that could have been an excellent game but due to its excessive amount of errors, fails to reach the height of being considered a classic. It has all it needed to be an excellent sonic game, but it was not revised. Yet, I think Sega needs to use again this formula, but revising first for technical issues. Still, this game offers some really nice platforming, great variety in gameplay, a great soundtrack, and a decent story, it all requires is patience. Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    I got this game and since I got it I never stopped playing it .! I think it is a great game .It takes a long time to beat it .but it is really awesome.
  5. Mar 8, 2017
    8
    While Sonic 06 received very very harsh criticism and having played it thoroughly, I can understand their point of view, I still enjoyed Sonic 06 to its maximum potential and believe if you look past the multiple glitches, control issues and story line, you have a fantastic game. The music is the best part, and could be one of the best soundtracks in any Sonic game, nothing new here. MyWhile Sonic 06 received very very harsh criticism and having played it thoroughly, I can understand their point of view, I still enjoyed Sonic 06 to its maximum potential and believe if you look past the multiple glitches, control issues and story line, you have a fantastic game. The music is the best part, and could be one of the best soundtracks in any Sonic game, nothing new here. My personal favourite part about Sonic 06 was the level design, something I believe reviewers overlooked. Each level has numerous pathways, shortcuts and hidden areas which add significant amounts of depth to the game. There is also a lot of fine detail put into each level for a 2006 game which is very impressive, in particular the jungle level. The locations are distinctive in nature and I felt I had a great time playing each new level as it felt entirely fresh from the previous level, one of my favourite factors in a platforming game. Overall Sonic 06 is a great time once you overlook the same issues which have been mentioned a million times already. Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2016
    10
    Sonic 06 is great game for ps3 and 360. I love princess elise, sonelise, and the rest. Get sonic 06 for ps3 and 360, It's better than superman for n64.
  7. May 14, 2012
    10
    This Sonic Game may have a lot of hate, but let me tell you this....I LOVE THIS GAME!!! Its one of my Favorite Sonic Games. Not trying to be a Sonic Fanboy, but its true. Silver is Cool, Shadow is Great and Sonic is AWESOME!! Same thing goes to the PS3 version. I did played the Xbox 360 version
  8. Apr 17, 2013
    8
    I have to say, I really, REALLY enjoyed this game and it is probably my second favourite Sonic game EVER MADE.

    Why? 1) The characters and storyline are fantastic (save for perhaps the Elise and Sonic combination) 2) The levels are imaginative and intelligent Silver's are great as well. 3) The music is superlative. 4) Beautiful graphics. So... why only 8? Well, the
    I have to say, I really, REALLY enjoyed this game and it is probably my second favourite Sonic game EVER MADE.

    Why?

    1) The characters and storyline are fantastic (save for perhaps the Elise and Sonic combination)

    2) The levels are imaginative and intelligent Silver's are great as well.

    3) The music is superlative.

    4) Beautiful graphics.

    So... why only 8?

    Well, the game is simply unfinished. I think that's its largest flaw by far. It's like playing a beta version. If you can deal with bugs, then I think you'll enjoy it much more. The storyline also has some issues and Shadow's levels are a bit dull.

    Overall though only Sonic Adventure 2 tops this in the Sonic series in my opinion. A wasted opportunity, yes, and much less impressive than it SHOULD have been, but an unpolished diamond is still a diamond
    Expand
  9. Aug 5, 2016
    8
    So uh I love this game because of how broken it is, I didn't find the controls terrible just little too precise, the story is a plot hole ridden mess but I enjoyed it, the bosses are a mixed bag, the soundtrack **** awesome everyone can agree on that. So uhh yeah I love this game, and I'm not ashamed, let's keep in mind that everyone saying a games terrible isn't fact it's an opinion, andSo uh I love this game because of how broken it is, I didn't find the controls terrible just little too precise, the story is a plot hole ridden mess but I enjoyed it, the bosses are a mixed bag, the soundtrack **** awesome everyone can agree on that. So uhh yeah I love this game, and I'm not ashamed, let's keep in mind that everyone saying a games terrible isn't fact it's an opinion, and that's my opinion! Expand
  10. Aug 22, 2014
    8
    let me make this clear. SONIC THE HEDGEHOG 2006 Is a GOOD game. the story sucked yes there are (hilarious) glitches yes but i love nearly everything else i kinda liked silver's levels shadow's were good and i loved sonic's story the boss fights were okay and mephiles is a cool character so overall Sonic The Hedgehog 2006 is a good game
  11. Nov 15, 2016
    10
    Amazing, you must buy this game even if you won't have any money after you buy it, great gameplay great loading time great story and greatest twist of all time, and if you think I was being serious your gonna have a bad time
  12. Jul 29, 2017
    9
    I think this game is okay. Played it on the X360 first, and PS3 afterwards. The controls aren't AWFUL just in mock-speed sections, they are slippery. The story is OKAY . . . and Sonic's personality isn't just all "Hey, Baldy McNoseHair!" So, I rate it a 9 / 10!
    +Graphics, Story, Gameplay and the MEMES
  13. Aug 12, 2016
    9
    Ahh the most UNDERRATED VIDEOGAME OF ALL TIME I actually enjoyed the story and the gameplay I completed all stories and the last shadows and sonics are awesome well silvers is ok in total the controls are NOT bad like people say even for 2016 standards the graphics are GREAT my only problems are ibilis phase 2 and egg genesis the WORST SONIC BOSSES EVER!!! but ibilis 1 is fun with SilverAhh the most UNDERRATED VIDEOGAME OF ALL TIME I actually enjoyed the story and the gameplay I completed all stories and the last shadows and sonics are awesome well silvers is ok in total the controls are NOT bad like people say even for 2016 standards the graphics are GREAT my only problems are ibilis phase 2 and egg genesis the WORST SONIC BOSSES EVER!!! but ibilis 1 is fun with Silver so in a quick review this game is a fun action platformer with glitches as unnoticeable as a tic and its flaws are Silvers ok story mode and 2 or should I say 3 bosses I HATE HATE HATE! so this game deserves love Expand
  14. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    zomg its the best sawnik game ever. go get it now. really. k thx bai.................................. you can probably get it for free in a gamestop dumpster fyi.
  15. Oct 13, 2014
    8
    Yes, the game has some bugs, but the story is so nice! I love the soundtrack too. Some level are to long and the gameplay of Shadow and Silver isn't so good but the level of Sonic are so nice. I think it's not the best game but a good one!
  16. May 21, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing music as usual, fun gameplay, but the game could have been better overall. Voices don't match up with mouths at times; average to awful voice acting; forced to play as other characters in many levels, even though it should be only the character you actually chose to play as; the sonic-elise relationship was cringe-worthy and annoyin; character models were average if not bad, especially Elise's; shadow feels like they are forcing you to use vehicles instead of your normal speed, and while some parts with it work, others shouldn't even be attempted; annoying to fight enemies; some slow parts; when climbing walls with rouge or knuckles it can be hard to jump off; bad controls; average storyline; some stages are recycled with other characters; NPC's simply say "Hey." in the same voice and an extremely long amount of text while moving their hands and mouth randomly, rather than actually making the voices, mouths, and hands be unique and work in sync; knuckles and rouge never get to hunt for emeralds; obvious often stated; loading takes forever; side missions tedious; AI followers often dying many times because they don't realize there is in fact an ability to jump;;;;Other than that it's fine.
    ----Bottom line. It's average. Not as bad as many say it is, but still sort of bad. Rent it if you think you like it. Sega really should have polished it way more than they actually did.
    Expand
  17. Oct 18, 2016
    10
    SO. HECKING. GOOD! Don't get me wrong, Sonic Adventure 2 was pretty good. But let's be real, the only outstanding parts of the game were the Big the Cat sections. But this game? It's the best. The story? EPIC. I love how Sonic fell in love with a human girl, it really worked. The gameplay? FANTASTIC! You get to go so fast, and all the characters play really well. Conclusion? THE BEST GAMESO. HECKING. GOOD! Don't get me wrong, Sonic Adventure 2 was pretty good. But let's be real, the only outstanding parts of the game were the Big the Cat sections. But this game? It's the best. The story? EPIC. I love how Sonic fell in love with a human girl, it really worked. The gameplay? FANTASTIC! You get to go so fast, and all the characters play really well. Conclusion? THE BEST GAME OF IT'S TIME! The only Sonic game to succeed this is Sonic Boom. Even if you have played Sonic Boom, this game is a must-play for all living things. I don't care how you get it, GET THIS GAME NOW! Expand
  18. Nov 8, 2014
    10
    Well, when a game devolper, no... When people want an annaversery game, no... *sigh* Guess there is no easy way to say this. I like Sonic 06. I got it for free at a dumpster out back, and it was just wonderful.
    Graphics: 6/10
    The reason I gave it a lower scale is because of Eggman... *shivers* But the rest is good. Gameplay: 7/10 Glitches are what's keeping it from getting any higher
    Well, when a game devolper, no... When people want an annaversery game, no... *sigh* Guess there is no easy way to say this. I like Sonic 06. I got it for free at a dumpster out back, and it was just wonderful.
    Graphics: 6/10
    The reason I gave it a lower scale is because of Eggman... *shivers* But the rest is good.
    Gameplay: 7/10
    Glitches are what's keeping it from getting any higher scores.
    Genuine love: 10/10
    nuff said
    Thank you Sonic Team. This game may be glitchy, rushed, and unfinished, but it takes a lot for a Sonic game to impress a cray-cray person like me
    Oh, and I don't know why I'm doing this for the XB360 version, cause I got it for the PS3
    Expand
  19. Jan 20, 2016
    10
    One of the better games of 2006, right with Saints Row. It has good gameplay, and astonishing graphics. It's not too broken, only with an occasional wall clip. And, they couldve made the story a little better. It's fine,though. I think you should play it!
  20. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. OMG this is the bestest gamest everest. I was playin a viddygame on the yesternoon yesterdoy any I said to my thoughts "If only More viddygames imploormentiated the ability to not know what you are happening" SaWnic The Sledgehammer remidies all plast gweivances in that the player has widdle to no control over what is happen. Humans being flwaed creatures Sanic Beam Decided to remove as much of our flaawed input as pawsible. They Geniusues have also disclovered that challoonging goomplooy is a thong of the pest as they have decided that the puture of viddygames is wrestling with glitches and bad design. Thiws gamey is better than moosart, becaws did mawsart have a Hedgethong kissing a weerd japanees girrl?

    ~Sinceerly
    -Sanic Faan In Da Nile
    Expand
  21. May 20, 2014
    8
    This may have been a drop that SEGA managed to fix up by Sonic Generations, but they sure did a good job innovating! I believe more Sonic games for a Mature audience should be made and this was one of them. Although they completely mest up in Gameplay mechanics and never-ending loading screens, I really enjoyed the storyline as well as the Music! Now would I like to see more games likeThis may have been a drop that SEGA managed to fix up by Sonic Generations, but they sure did a good job innovating! I believe more Sonic games for a Mature audience should be made and this was one of them. Although they completely mest up in Gameplay mechanics and never-ending loading screens, I really enjoyed the storyline as well as the Music! Now would I like to see more games like this? Of course. SEGA had really needed to work on this game more than they should have. They seemed to have concentrated on the storyline more than the gameplay which, of course, I would encourage them to do in the future for any mature Sonic games but they should give equal effort towards the gameplay. Advice for next time they make a game that has as much potential as this: Make yourself a longer due date, as I'm sure your fan base (Myself included) would love to wait a long time be it years for an extra-ordinary game! 10/10 for the story, 10/10 for the Music, 9/10 on Adding storylines for each character and 5/10 for what should have been better worked gameplay. Expand
  22. Aug 27, 2015
    8
    Im giving the so called "WORST SONIC GAME EVER" score of 8 is just because it isnt as bad as the Boom game! I will rather replay this game 10000 times than have to play Sonic Boom for Wii U one more time! Its just that bad! It set my bar low enough that when i finished with Sonic Boom, next day i played Sonic 06 and guess what? I liked it 10000000 x more than Sonic Boom! Now it became aIm giving the so called "WORST SONIC GAME EVER" score of 8 is just because it isnt as bad as the Boom game! I will rather replay this game 10000 times than have to play Sonic Boom for Wii U one more time! Its just that bad! It set my bar low enough that when i finished with Sonic Boom, next day i played Sonic 06 and guess what? I liked it 10000000 x more than Sonic Boom! Now it became a guilty pleasure of mine! Expand
  23. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    I played this game. Very good graphics, great story line, and especially great game play. I don't understand why people HATE this game. This is my absolute favorite game ever. And Silver is not a useless or stupid character. For example, he has the COOLEST powers ever. He is just naive, that's what people don't like about him. Mephiles was a great villain in the game and hard to battle,I played this game. Very good graphics, great story line, and especially great game play. I don't understand why people HATE this game. This is my absolute favorite game ever. And Silver is not a useless or stupid character. For example, he has the COOLEST powers ever. He is just naive, that's what people don't like about him. Mephiles was a great villain in the game and hard to battle, which is reasonable. Mephiles sure is a lot better of a villain than Dr. Eggman, because Eggman tried to defeat Sonic for years, and Mephiles just kills him like that... I rate this game 10 out of 10. Expand
  24. Dec 15, 2014
    9
    I expected this game to be horrible when I first got it but I found I really enjoyed it. I love the level designs and I'm still finding new paths in them, I wish that you could unlock the ability to use side characters more. There are some bugs but I think this game would be perfect if Sega remade it with less bugs, Super Sonic, Shadow, Silver in free roam, the ability to use amigoI expected this game to be horrible when I first got it but I found I really enjoyed it. I love the level designs and I'm still finding new paths in them, I wish that you could unlock the ability to use side characters more. There are some bugs but I think this game would be perfect if Sega remade it with less bugs, Super Sonic, Shadow, Silver in free roam, the ability to use amigo characters freely after you finish the game, and increased the characters' speed a bit. Expand
  25. Aug 18, 2016
    8
    The game is fine. I know it's a piece of crap. But I grew up playing it. And I didn't know it was bad by the time. Plus, the glitches are fun as heck!
  26. Dec 14, 2016
    9
    Great game. While I prefer Bubsy to Sonic, this game is a masterpiece. While Bubsy 3D is an overall superior experience, I can assure you this game is still worth your while.
  27. May 15, 2017
    8
    The music is AWESOME!!! Hands down, the best, of probably ANY video game franchise! 2 of the greatest songs are on there! His World, and Solaris Phase 2, which I happen to be listening too at the song right now! But, the gameplay isn't the best... the music makes up for it.
  28. Oct 14, 2017
    10
    This is The Best Sonic GAm ever Theres are Too many Bugs That makes THe Game Enjoyable It Worth Playing Its so Goood Yeah Better then sonic 3 and sonic mania
  29. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    i nEver play s0nic 6 but i know it is the best gamez of all time cuz of teh graphics you shoud r3ad this hole th!ng in one goez cuz this will blow ur **** mind i hav no comas 2 make tis the best review ever are you ready to hav ur mind blown 2 pieces well getz ready ur mind will be blown 2 pieces. u wont even be able 2 find the pieces sonic 64 is teh best game of all timez becuz of itsi nEver play s0nic 6 but i know it is the best gamez of all time cuz of teh graphics you shoud r3ad this hole th!ng in one goez cuz this will blow ur **** mind i hav no comas 2 make tis the best review ever are you ready to hav ur mind blown 2 pieces well getz ready ur mind will be blown 2 pieces. u wont even be able 2 find the pieces sonic 64 is teh best game of all timez becuz of its graphicz it haz better graphics then **** of duty 2 u should toats play it if tat not enough 2 change ur mind then be mind blown robotnikz speed traps constantly get u stuck in wallz and floorz u should toats play it it be teh best gamez of all time everyone play the dang game kthxbai tat is mai review also dont breathe and stay frosty kthxbai ;) Expand
  30. May 17, 2014
    10
    Sonic is my boyfriend.
    Every night I fantasize about sonic coming into my room, slamming my head into the pillow and entering me, I would moan passionately and sometimes I would even orgasm simply from this fantasy.
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 38
  2. Negative: 22 out of 38
  1. 55
    If only the developers had focused on delivering a simple, fun experience rather than trying to create something far beyond their reach.
  2. Not only are the voices horrible, as is the case for most Sonic games, but the story makes very little sense. It’s like if you took any basic Nintendo story like Mario saving the Princess, lengthened it to several hours long, and filled it with mindless details that make no logical sense at all.
  3. Atrocious camera angles lead to cheap deaths, the slippery controls make it difficult to get a handle on the characters and the game has a large problem with pacing. It tries to mix in side missions with general stages, and the disastrous results ruin the game.