Sonic the Hedgehog Xbox 360

Sonic the Hedgehog Image
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 427 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in hisSonic celebrates his 15th anniversary by blazing his way onto the next-generation consoles, with his first adventure set in the human world. Featuring interactive 3D environments and a large cast of returning and new characters, get ready for the reinvention of Sonic The Hedgehog, in his most intense, high velocity escapade to date. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 38
  2. Negative: 22 out of 38
  1. Play Magazine
    85
    You simply can't ask for more out of an action game. Mission accomplished. Sonic is born anew. [Dec 2006; Score revised in Jan issue due to long load times.]
  2. 60
    While it may please hardcore fans of the series with its addicting time-based action segments, it will surely alienate everyone else thanks to the abundance of non-Sonic elements: RPG town-wandering, additional less-enjoyable characters, and a god awful camera.
  3. Not only are the voices horrible, as is the case for most Sonic games, but the story makes very little sense. It’s like if you took any basic Nintendo story like Mario saving the Princess, lengthened it to several hours long, and filled it with mindless details that make no logical sense at all.
  4. Sonic the Hedgehog may share its name with the Genesis original, but this game is even more broken than most of the other recent Sonic games have been.
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    40
    I could've dealt with the much-lauded adventure elements, subpar graphics--even that clown Shadow--but the bottom line is that this feels more like some hack job created by a bunch of Sega interns as opposed to a game from a competent developement studio. [Jan. 2007, p.95]
  6. Edge Magazine
    30
    The consistently poor controls of Sonic’s 3D outings make it seem like Sonic Team has convinced itself that this is how this aspect of the franchise should rightly be, and everyone else should just learn to deal with it. [Christmas 2006, p.82]
  7. SEGA's decision to rush one of its most beloved franchises to the next-gen market has ended in a broken product that does not even deserve a rental.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 194
  1. RKF
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. Could never say Sonic is a bad game but one thing that really ticks me off is the loading. Worst of all, if you do a challenge. Amazing game. Could never say Sonic is a bad game but one thing that really ticks me off is the loading. Worst of all, if you do a challenge. It will load, then the person will give you a one liner on what you have to do, then it will load again! It's even worse if you fail the mission because you've go to go through it all over again. Another thing is the silly mini-games. Sonic has to save the world BUT before he does, he has the option of solving a silly puzzle? The Stages are amazing though. Beautiful graphics. Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2014
    10
    Well, when a game devolper, no... When people want an annaversery game, no... *sigh* Guess there is no easy way to say this. I like Sonic 06.Well, when a game devolper, no... When people want an annaversery game, no... *sigh* Guess there is no easy way to say this. I like Sonic 06. I got it for free at a dumpster out back, and it was just wonderful.
    Graphics: 6/10
    The reason I gave it a lower scale is because of Eggman... *shivers* But the rest is good.
    Gameplay: 7/10
    Glitches are what's keeping it from getting any higher scores.
    Genuine love: 10/10
    nuff said
    Thank you Sonic Team. This game may be glitchy, rushed, and unfinished, but it takes a lot for a Sonic game to impress a cray-cray person like me
    Oh, and I don't know why I'm doing this for the XB360 version, cause I got it for the PS3
    Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2011
    7
    Its easy to say that this game is the worst Sonic game ever made, but its hard saying why, well this is my opinion the game doesn't suck thatIts easy to say that this game is the worst Sonic game ever made, but its hard saying why, well this is my opinion the game doesn't suck that bad.
    Let me explain, yes its true the games has some strange glitches and some weird physic problems that can ruin our game play but nothing that deserves such hate and rage I saw worse and played worse really, the music is awesome and the graphics are amazing this game was made in 2005!
    Now the gameplay isn't that bad it reminds me of Sonic Adventure mixed with Sonic Heroes (which was a Great game), the homing attack isn't bad and the only complain I have is the speed cuz Sonic is supposed to be fast but in this game Sonic is "WAY TO SLOW" but the speed stages are good enough yes they're hard but nothing bad, if you say such things as " I DIED TO MUCH" maybe you just suck at Sonic games man or girl or Futa...
    The story is awesome! Well...*ahem* to be fair the only thing wrong with the story is Elise cuz she makes weak because he need to protect her all the time, they also have a strange zoophilia relation but c'mon would you kill Roger Rabbit?
    The game suffers from "Loading as **** problem and that's the only thing I really hate on the game!
    But guys you need to know something this game suffered from hate propaganda made by classic fans, they were spreading their opinion and many people followed their opinion without playing the game properly.
    This is all really the game is so over rated and it doesn't deserve all this hate aits not that bad so stop **** and play the game like this!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ye1aZ9GNatY&feature=related
    Expand
  4. ACE5
    Dec 22, 2006
    4
    The console is powerful, but sonic is like an old athlete that needs to adapt it's play to hang with the new blood. Sonic needs to face The console is powerful, but sonic is like an old athlete that needs to adapt it's play to hang with the new blood. Sonic needs to face it, when it was new to the game it had speed on it's side, know it has to rely on out thinking it's opponent. Sonic can still use his speed but he has to learn how to diversify his play in a meaningful way. Hopefully he will make a comeback like lara croft. Expand
  5. Feb 6, 2016
    2
    Sonic '06... Sonic '06... oh my gosh. Ten years later, and it is still a terrible, broken, and sometimes unfinished mess. I know this game wasSonic '06... Sonic '06... oh my gosh. Ten years later, and it is still a terrible, broken, and sometimes unfinished mess. I know this game was rushed and development started right after Shadow's game and Sonic Team had to adjust to the new Xbox 360 and PS3 hardware and it was Sonic's 15th anniversary, but seriously? Why? I know Sonic gets anniversary titles like the 10th anniversary title Sonic Adventure 2 and the 20th anniversary title Sonic Generations (and whatever he's getting for his 25th, which, at the time of this review, has not been announced yet), but couldn't they have just delayed it a year to perfect their game?

    This game contains a terrible plot, broken gameplay, plot holes, and horrendous voice direction. The story here is just, just awful. Sonic saves newcomer Elise so many times (and that's his story, I'm serious), Shadow deals with a new villain named Mephiles (that's his whole story), and newcomer Silver deals with new villain Iblis (and again, that's it). When their stories are (somehow) beaten, you unlock the last story. It's terrible, but I will admit, the final boss is alright. And that's it. I will not spoil the last story for you, for some reason. I just don't like to talk about spoilers if somebody else hasn't experienced it.

    The gameplay is alright, but cheap. Sometimes, you'll just do a homing attack so far, you'll fall into a bottomless pit. Jumping onto other rails doesn't work.

    There are some things I honestly love. The art direction, the graphics, and the music are honestly fantastic. Everything else, well, isn't.

    Sonic '06 had potential to be great. If only SEGA had given Sonic Team more development time.
    Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2014
    1
    HORRIBLE GAME, IT SUCKS, ITS THE WORST VIDEOGAME MADE IN HISTORY, NEVER TOUCH THIS GAME EVER, BECAUSE IF YOU DO ILL KILL YOU IN A HOLE SOHORRIBLE GAME, IT SUCKS, ITS THE WORST VIDEOGAME MADE IN HISTORY, NEVER TOUCH THIS GAME EVER, BECAUSE IF YOU DO ILL KILL YOU IN A HOLE SO NEVER BUY THIS SH*T Expand
  7. AlanJ.
    Nov 29, 2007
    0
    This game sucks, all of you should know that SA2 Battle is way, way better then this game. Sonic on the xbox 360 is a joke and you all should This game sucks, all of you should know that SA2 Battle is way, way better then this game. Sonic on the xbox 360 is a joke and you all should be sad how Sega rushed this game and how 4kids done the stupid voice acting. Expand

See all 194 User Reviews