Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 148 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Having been broken apart by the evil Dr. Eggman, it's up to Sonic to put the pieces of the world back together again by retrieving the power of the chaos emeralds! In doing so, Sonic finds himself in a race against time and faced with an unusual situation that challenge hims in ways never before seen. Both day and night play different, yet important, roles in Sonic's newest quest... as the sun sets, a new adventure awakens. By completing a wide variety of action-packed stages, spanning the seven broken continents of the world, gamers unleash Sonic’s amazing abilities to save the world, and himself! In addition to running at high speeds, which is highlighted in four new speed mechanics, combat fighting now becomes possible. New combat, movement, functional abilities and platforming are introduced to offer increased depth and variety. Sonic Unleashed offers a re-defined experience for fans and newcomers of the franchise alike by combing picturesque & detailed scenery, an expansive world with multiple paths to choose from and dynamic viewpoints for an immersive and renewed gaming atmosphere. Along with seamless 3D to classic 2D camera transitions, the game is built on a powerful, new proprietary "Hedgehog Engine," which introduces impressive lighting abilities and new technology tailor made for Sonic’s new speed capabilities. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 50
  2. Negative: 10 out of 50
  1. Sonic Unleashed is a glorious return to true console form for Sonic.
  2. An accomplished Sonic game leaving us wanting more.
  3. Get past the irrelevant filler and Sonic Unleashed becomes the game we all wanted - it's just a real shame that we have to work so hard to fully unleash it.
  4. The Sonic-team has succeeded in developing an improvement upon the last Sonic-game on the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. Even then, Sonic Unleashed is a flawed game. The Hedgehog-levels are fast and fun, while the Werehog-levels offer a bit of a change to the classic Sonic-gameplay, although, unfortunately, it often comes down to mindless button bashing. Unleashed shows that Sonic isn’t dead and buried yet, but still leaves a lot to be desired.
  5. The werehog levels reek of an idea born out of trying to turn Sonic into something that kids like, instead of just giving them the Sonic many of us grew up with. We didn't need gimmicks back then and we don't think kids need them now either. Ultimately we can't help but feel disappointed... yet again.
  6. Despite the power of the blue Hedgehog, Sonic Unleashed never really impressed us. The game has its moments, but these moments are so rare and easily forgotten when you've reached the point where you almost throw your controller against the tv. The race levels are awesome, but with the heavy load of the uninspiring Werehog levels, those aren't even enough to give the game a sufficient grade.
  7. Terrible level design, unresponsive controls, and a poor camera are just the beginning of the problems in this awful adventure.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 54
  2. Negative: 10 out of 54
  1. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    A much better game than the reviews suggest. Loads of secrets and replay value, fantastic graphics and music. If you love sonic you'll love this. Hell, you may even learn to like the Werehog. Collapse
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    When I am downloading a new game on my PC, I like to play this game. It's really fun and they did and excellent job on the fighting. Some people may not like the new fighting, but I don't really mind. Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2010
    9
    This is amazingly fun! Well, this version is, anyway! I love both levels, even when it can get a bit frustrating, this game has combined extreme speed, with seamless 3D - 2D transitions and combat, with mostly smooth gameplay, well done SEGA! Expand
  4. Cole
    Feb 19, 2009
    8
    You know, this game really took way too much flak. I'll admit, when saw the first trailer of werehog gameplay, I thought it was by far the dumbest Sonic gimmick SEGA had come up with yet. But I checked the game out, and I was actually pleasantly surprised. I daresay the daytime stages of this game are Sonic at his absolute best, and even the werehog stages are decently fun. It's by no means perfect, but given Sonic's recent fiascos, this is definitely a return to his roots and a huge step in the right direction. Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2013
    7
    This game is a massive improvement on Sonic 06, but it still has problems like the Moon Medals and the homing attack can be glitchy but it's still a good game. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2012
    6
    Sonic Unleashed returns the blue blur to his former glory but has a very hard time reassuring audiences with all new concepts. Plot: In an ambush on Eggman's space armada, Eggman tricks Sonic into his energy absorbing trap and drains the energy out of the 7 Chaos Emeralds to fuel his weapon. This weapon fires upon the Earth causing a re-awakening Dark Gaia to spread out onto the Earth causing it to divide into 7 pieces dettached pieces. This also causes Sonic to transform into a Werehog with advanced combat skills, and highly extendable arms. Upon Sonics ejection back to Earth, he lands in the continent of Apotos and meets a small creature he calls Chip who has lost his memory but has a passion for food. Sonic realizes that during the daytime he will transform back into a Hedgehog, but during the night he will transform back into a Werehog. After saving Tails, he gives Sonic the ability to travel to broken continents via his airplane, Tornado 1. After saving Proffesor Pickle, they learn that if they bring the 7 drained Chaos Emeralds to the 7 temples of Gaia then they can restore power to each Emerald and put each continent back onto the Earth's core. Day stages: In Sonic's hedgehog form, he can run at super sonic speeds which are unbelievably fast but satisfying in the least, but these stages only last a few minutes and even then are hard to manuver but are part of the Sonic experience. Night stages: In Sonic's Werehog form speed isn't the gameplay theme but a combat platformer in which button combos must be mastered and stages drag on. The Medal problem: Sun and Moon Medals must be obtained in order to unlock stages that require a certain quantity of them which make the game frusterating when you can't proceed due to lack of Medal's. Opinion: Hedgehog stages are revolutionary but Werehog stages make up the majority of the game which do not properly represent Sonic's legacy. Because of the Medal system the game becomes very annoying when you cannot procede due to such stupidity. The idea of levels built off of real world locations is very fresh and showcases locales. Running across The Great Wall of China at super sonic speed is satisfying as well as grinding rails that circle Big Ben. If you are a Sonic fan I would try this game as well as if you are a gamer who is into travelling this is a nice one to try. Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2012
    0
    Sonic Generations is a game released on the 360, PS3, PS2 (if you couldn't afford a current gen console), and the Wii (if you like crappy gimmick motion controls). The story of the game is that Dr Eggman blasts a laser at planet Earth and the planet is divided in half. The game offers the return of the terrible open world from Sonic 06 and instead of focusing on the main gameplay, they dedicate half the game to a gimmick. This gimmick is known as Sonic the Werehog who is Sonic turning into a warewolf in the night time. This wouldn't be a problem if this didn't affect half the gameplay. Instead of being focused on speed, these levels are focused on COMBAT. And as we all know, all Sonic games with combat in it failed miserably, so there was no point in doing this. This was a disappointment because the other stages were spot on. This game is not that good. It is half good and half bad because half of the gameplay is messed up. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.