SoulCalibur IV Xbox 360

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 159
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 29, 2017
    10
    El mejor SoulCalibur de la saga, (con respeto a Soul Calibur 2), Graficos bellos, ha envejecido muy bien, videos finales para cada personaje incluyendo los creados, la torre de retos es brutal y difícil, tanto ascendiendo como descendiendo. gran concept art, personajes bonus muy buenos, la inclusión de star killer, darth vader o yoda wow. se imaginan un juego de jedi desarrollado por estosEl mejor SoulCalibur de la saga, (con respeto a Soul Calibur 2), Graficos bellos, ha envejecido muy bien, videos finales para cada personaje incluyendo los creados, la torre de retos es brutal y difícil, tanto ascendiendo como descendiendo. gran concept art, personajes bonus muy buenos, la inclusión de star killer, darth vader o yoda wow. se imaginan un juego de jedi desarrollado por estos muchachos? seria brutal. Creación de personajes bastante completo. prácticamente se puede crear a todos los personajes secretos de los anteriores soul calibur, incluso alguno que otro del 5. LASTIMA que SoulCalibur 5 no siguió con este modelo de prioridad al modo offline y la eleminiacionde personajes míticos. por lo tanto el 4 es mucho mejor que el 5. perfecto Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2016
    9
    gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    Awesome sauce 3.0
    Better then III and II in every way besides offline
    SCBD gets the same score in my book, especially for the entry of Dampierre.
    Anyone who says different is either stuck in the past or really bad at the game in my experience. But it is their opinion.
  4. Jan 2, 2013
    0
    The original Soul Calibur is the standard for how every game in this now beleaguered series should be made. Instead, we get Soul Calibur IV complete with unbalanced characters; some of them can win a match by using the exact same overpowered move ad nauseum, a ridiculous "armor" system that leaves your character with no clothes on as the battle continues, (What kind of warrior would goThe original Soul Calibur is the standard for how every game in this now beleaguered series should be made. Instead, we get Soul Calibur IV complete with unbalanced characters; some of them can win a match by using the exact same overpowered move ad nauseum, a ridiculous "armor" system that leaves your character with no clothes on as the battle continues, (What kind of warrior would go into battle with armor that shatters completely after 5 hits??), sluggish controls that make you wonder why the developers even bothered to include the controller in the gameplay, boring story mode that seems like an afterthought. I can say without flinching that this game is the WORST fighting game I have ever played in my life. Clay Fighter 63 1/3rd is a much more polished effort than this. Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    This is a fun fighting game. However, there really isnt that much to do once you have covered story mode. Sure, you can do arcade mode over and over again but that can get old after a while. The game looks and plays great. Voicework is...well it is a fighting game. The character creator is pretty good and the online is alright. I enjoy it but its definately not as good as SoulCalibur 2
  6. May 12, 2012
    4
    Played Soul Calibur 3, loved it, enjoyed it for months, and been waiting for the next installment for a long time. I finally bought it, almost 2 year ago, and I still can't express my HATE toward this piece of joke. I'll skip the obvious graphics, because yes, they are improved, but I never judge graphics. First of, the story mode is ridicolously short: 5 stages, horribly made, withPlayed Soul Calibur 3, loved it, enjoyed it for months, and been waiting for the next installment for a long time. I finally bought it, almost 2 year ago, and I still can't express my HATE toward this piece of joke. I'll skip the obvious graphics, because yes, they are improved, but I never judge graphics. First of, the story mode is ridicolously short: 5 stages, horribly made, with basically no depth into it: you play it for unlocking the characters (ah, and for unlocking Darth Vader via paid dlc, I have 3 words to express my opinion about it: ARE. YOU. KIDDING?). Next, instead of putting a campaign or a story mode, we have, a "tower" mode where you'll do challenges and defeat more enemies, and if you do them in the correct way you'll unlock chests (which usually contains clothes for your character creator). Still, this is one mode that adds basically more random fights, challenging yes, but random: it's not a good substitude for a campaign or a good story mode. At least the character creator is ok, and actually improved in some parts, and worsened in some: I mainly complain about the idea of putting stats on some armor pieces. It's not a bad idea, but I don't like to be forced into using specific pieces in order to be able to use a certain "skill" (increased by using a style more often). The online, eventually, makes the first appearence, but it's not that great either: I had hard times fighting due to the massive lag spikes and the match finder "didn't match" anything for me, making it useless. Huge downgrade from the third soul calibur, I can't believe how few content there is in here. In the end, this game has the bad habit of many games of this generation, and that is, to be focused on the online feature, and I wouldn't be a surprise if that was their big plan. After Soul Calibur 3, I expected a decent sequel with more content to play with. But this game, is not even close to it. Collapse
  7. Mar 15, 2012
    2
    If you want a dress-up game masquerading as a fighter, you've come to the right place. If you want a balanced fighter with solid game play, look elsewhere.
  8. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Button-mashing fighting games have rarely been as fun as this one. The variety of game options and characters makes it so addicting and unique compared to most fighting games.
  9. Oct 14, 2011
    7
    Where did it go wrong for this series?? Somewhere after soul calibur 2 I believe, since then this series has lost its way, towers of the lost souls is nothing compared to the old storymode in soul calibur 2, was very disappointing. Despite the disappointments, this is still a very good fighting game although not good enough to keep me from selling it, a sad day for a series which on theWhere did it go wrong for this series?? Somewhere after soul calibur 2 I believe, since then this series has lost its way, towers of the lost souls is nothing compared to the old storymode in soul calibur 2, was very disappointing. Despite the disappointments, this is still a very good fighting game although not good enough to keep me from selling it, a sad day for a series which on the dreamcast and xbox gave myself and my friends hours of entertainment. Expand
  10. Oct 4, 2011
    7
    Story: 3
    Characters: 8
    Graphics: 10
    Setting: 7
    Multiplayer: 7
    Soundtrack: 6
    Audio: 7
    Gameplay: 9
    Re-Playability Value: 7
    Fun Factor: 7

    Score: 7.1/10 = B-
  11. Aug 22, 2011
    8
    Theres a problem here folks, It isn't the same SC we've have played in the past, it isn't as addicting as the weapon based fighter games of the past. With that minor flaw you need to play this stricking part of the series, the strory felt disengaged but interesting, the gameplay unbalanced/nice, the graphics are gorgeous very shiny and detailed models of the characters. Like with tekkenTheres a problem here folks, It isn't the same SC we've have played in the past, it isn't as addicting as the weapon based fighter games of the past. With that minor flaw you need to play this stricking part of the series, the strory felt disengaged but interesting, the gameplay unbalanced/nice, the graphics are gorgeous very shiny and detailed models of the characters. Like with tekken this one was forgoten very fast , but the sequel will strike hard and recover the brilliant past it had . Expand
  12. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    While it is technically the same as the first three games, veterans and newcomers alike can adore the new features in Soulcalibur IV. Pros: The inclusion of Star Wars exclusives, Critical Finishers and online play refreshes the overwhelmingly familiar gameplay; absolutely stunning graphics; drastically improved story mode and Character Creation; a variety of strikingly unique charactersWhile it is technically the same as the first three games, veterans and newcomers alike can adore the new features in Soulcalibur IV. Pros: The inclusion of Star Wars exclusives, Critical Finishers and online play refreshes the overwhelmingly familiar gameplay; absolutely stunning graphics; drastically improved story mode and Character Creation; a variety of strikingly unique characters and combos. Cons: It's almost too familiar to Soulcalibur III; occasional online hiccups; silly dialogue; Yoda is an overall imbalanced character. Expand
  13. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    Soul Calibur IV is the best fighting game i've ever played!!! The arcade mode, story mode, tower of lost souls, online, character creation/customization.......it's got tons of stuff to do. And i beg of you, if you want a good fighting game get this and not the crap street fighter games!!!! 10/10!
  14. JanB.
    Sep 30, 2008
    9
    Better than soul calibur III. Nice idea with Star Wars Characters.
  15. [Anonymous]
    Sep 21, 2008
    7
    Fun fighting game. Character editor is decent. Great graphics. The story is a little lackluster though and it seems difficult to do things like the soul crush.
  16. dukedoom72
    Sep 19, 2008
    7
    people must have gone blind by the lush visuals! this IS a great game, but as usual with next gen games this is not as big as SC3! Or 2! No survival, team mode or such! where are all the fun extra modes? not as many faces in custom creation etc... And the tower mode just aint as fun as for example the strategy in 3 or edge master mode! Great but disappointing.
  17. MichaelH.
    Aug 25, 2008
    10
    The only problem that I can find with this game is that the Star Wars characters as cool as it is to have them in it, felt like a tacked on after thought which goes for all three, but other than than that the game does everything else great. The online is smooth and for the most part lag free the only problem there is people spam moves with Kilik. I must say that this is way better than The only problem that I can find with this game is that the Star Wars characters as cool as it is to have them in it, felt like a tacked on after thought which goes for all three, but other than than that the game does everything else great. The online is smooth and for the most part lag free the only problem there is people spam moves with Kilik. I must say that this is way better than the disappointing single platform Soul Calibur III and is probably just as great if not better than Soul Calibur II. Expand
  18. FredFlintstone
    Aug 22, 2008
    3
    Sloppy. Despite there being a dozen or two different models, there are only a handful on animations. While there are different fighting styles, there is little use to use any stlye besides "throw enemy off ring." An average fighting game, and not something I am willing to spend $60 on.
  19. SabihM.
    Aug 20, 2008
    9
    Ever so slowly they are creating more of a story based mode, and while they still haven't nailed it they made it more interesting. The amount of options and characters in this game is almost overwhelming, but there's so much to do, and so much to unlock. All around, very polished and really enjoyable - especially if you're a fan of the game. Finally the 360 has a good Ever so slowly they are creating more of a story based mode, and while they still haven't nailed it they made it more interesting. The amount of options and characters in this game is almost overwhelming, but there's so much to do, and so much to unlock. All around, very polished and really enjoyable - especially if you're a fan of the game. Finally the 360 has a good fighting game! Expand
  20. ApocalypseBrown
    Aug 15, 2008
    9
    For newcomers and veterans alike, this game is simply the best fighter game out there! Well most accessible at least. This new edition is slower in gameplay speed, and has a solid single player mode, which should have many people entertained for hours at least. Although story mode and arcade are very short, the tower of souls will be the main meal of the day. And with unpredictable A.I., For newcomers and veterans alike, this game is simply the best fighter game out there! Well most accessible at least. This new edition is slower in gameplay speed, and has a solid single player mode, which should have many people entertained for hours at least. Although story mode and arcade are very short, the tower of souls will be the main meal of the day. And with unpredictable A.I., it will be awhile before you clock it. But the real reason to play is the online mode, and it rocks big time. From standard to special bouts to customised characters, the soul burns brightly for the world to see and rejoice. Lag does hurt certain bouts, but check for an challengers connection level - i.e. 5 being the best and 1 means don't even bother. But what spoils the game is what has always spoiled the game - button bashing! Button bashers, and now turbo pad cheaters can bash their way towards victory while leaving you cursing Namco for not turning the game into a specialised game only like Virtual Fighter. But eventually you will figure out (and file complaints) against the cheating vermin. New characters are quite good, but the indenti-kit ones are very pointless. And Yoda/the Apprentice are either too powerful or way unbalanced, which is a bad shame as cheaters will again exploit them to their evil gain. But overall this is 3-D fighting at its best, but not quite a classic as SC1 was. Expand
  21. DanielTrun
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    A great addition to the greatest fighting series of all time. Truly a masterpiece. The graphics are amazing, the cast of characters are spectacular, and the fighting is top notch. In this day and age when fighting games are a dying breed, Soul Calibur 4 is a welcomed glimmer of hope us hardcore fans. A must get.
  22. May 12, 2012
    4
    Played Soul Calibur 3, loved it, enjoyed it for months, and been waiting for the next installment for a long time. I finally bought it, almost 2 year ago, and I still can't express my HATE toward this piece of joke. I'll skip the obvious graphics, because yes, they are improved, but I never judge graphics. First of, the story mode is ridicolously short: 5 stages, horribly made, withPlayed Soul Calibur 3, loved it, enjoyed it for months, and been waiting for the next installment for a long time. I finally bought it, almost 2 year ago, and I still can't express my HATE toward this piece of joke. I'll skip the obvious graphics, because yes, they are improved, but I never judge graphics. First of, the story mode is ridicolously short: 5 stages, horribly made, with basically no depth into it: you play it for unlocking the characters (ah, and for unlocking Darth Vader via paid dlc, I have 3 words to express my opinion about it: ARE. YOU. KIDDING?). Next, instead of putting a campaign or a story mode, we have, a "tower" mode where you'll do challenges and defeat more enemies, and if you do them in the correct way you'll unlock chests (which usually contains clothes for your character creator). Still, this is one mode that adds basically more random fights, challenging yes, but random: it's not a good substitude for a campaign or a good story mode. At least the character creator is ok, and actually improved in some parts, and worsened in some: I mainly complain about the idea of putting stats on some armor pieces. It's not a bad idea, but I don't like to be forced into using specific pieces in order to be able to use a certain "skill" (increased by using a style more often). The online, eventually, makes the first appearence, but it's not that great either: I had hard times fighting due to the massive lag spikes and the match finder "didn't match" anything for me, making it useless. Huge downgrade from the third soul calibur, I can't believe how few content there is in here. In the end, this game has the bad habit of many games of this generation, and that is, to be focused on the online feature, and I wouldn't be a surprise if that was their big plan. After Soul Calibur 3, I expected a decent sequel with more content to play with. But this game, is not even close to it. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 100
    So with the classic, new-school, and infinitely customizable character roster at the ready, and with online play fully operational, it's not a stretch to say this might be 2008's best fighting game.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    89
    As for total newcomers, welcome to what is, in my opinion, the most fun, fully 3D fighter on the market. [Sept 2008, p.76]
  3. The sheer amount of features, including the Star Wars characters, makes Soulcalibur IV worth its premium asking price for those that adore this franchise. But it’s the synergistic power of these parts coming together that makes Soulcalibur IV a good recommendation to any player looking for a fresher take on the fighting game genre.