Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 6 out of 16
  1. Mar 30, 2012
    97
    One of my favorite XBLA games ever. With fun gameplay, witty dialogue that stays true to the show, huge levels, and a ton of fan service, this is THE game South Park fans have been waiting for.
  2. Mar 30, 2012
    85
    An old-school 2D platformer that perfectly complements the South Park aesthetic. Overflowing with references to the series and filled with huge, well-designed levels, players will have a blast leading South Park's four main characters on a most urgent quest to retrieve their stolen Xbox hard drive.
  3. 85
    Made with the input and voice talent of South Park creators Trey Parker and Matt Stone, Tenorman's Revenge is a loving homage to classic 2D platform games. The story is a blast for South Park fans, the jumping and climbing action is challenging but not too hard, and the price is definitely right.
  4. Games Master UK
    May 27, 2012
    79
    Four players can cooperate in this Castlevania-like platformer. [July 2012, p.83]
  5. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    May 30, 2012
    70
    Just get some friends around for some local play. In that situation alone, Tenorman's Revenge becomes fully entertaining. [June 2012, p.93]
  6. Apr 13, 2012
    70
    Anyone who has been waiting for a good South Park game should definitely check Tenorman's revenge. Those just wanting a 2D platformer may want to trial the game first as there are definitely better options available.
  7. Mar 30, 2012
    70
    Definitely gets points for presentation, offering as close of an experience to the TV show as you're likely to find. The look and sound feel pulled straight from an episode of the show, as does the crude sense of humor. Were it not for a host of minor annoyances and issues in the gameplay, this would be an easy recommendable classic for any South Park fan.
  8. Apr 13, 2012
    60
    SP:TR is not a bad game, but it also isn't good enough to be considered a classic either. It's so close to being a really enjoyable game, but the levels just aren't exciting enough to warrant making a player replay them over and over again. The story is good, and fans of South Park will enjoy it, but SP:TR has such a poor user interface that means that most gamers will not return once it's finished.
  9. Apr 11, 2012
    60
    While there's nothing blatantly wrong with South Park: Tenorman's Revenge, there's not much right with it, either.
  10. Mar 30, 2012
    50
    Falls short of creating a truly memorable gaming experience for the license with shallow, and tedious platforming gameplay while never fully utilizing the South Park world and characters to their full potential.
  11. Mar 31, 2012
    40
    Apart from its visuals and recognizable voices (when they're heard at all), there's nothing South Park about it and could have easily been any other multiplayer platform game; a pretty mediocre one at that.
  12. Mar 30, 2012
    35
    A bevy of problems ensures that South Park: Tenorman's Revenge is a tedious ordeal even for those who love the television show.
  13. Apr 26, 2012
    30
    Licensed games get a bad rap, but South Park: Tenorman's Revenge fails in ways far beyond the average cash-in.
  14. Apr 4, 2012
    20
    I'm comfortable in saying that South Park: Tenorman's Revenge is a gigantic middle-finger extended in the direction of anyone who might actually want to enjoy a game featuring the myriad memorable characters and storylines of South Park in video game form. And because of all of that, I'm completely comfortable declaring that you should stay the hell away from South Park: Tenorman's Revenge.
  15. 20
    South Park already has a poor track record in video game tie-ins, but this is easily the worst yet and a terrible 2D platformer in its own right.
  16. Mar 30, 2012
    20
    South Park fans will be disappointed by the pandering references and lazy writing, and platforming fans will hate the awful level design. This is a game for no one.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. Apr 1, 2012
    0
    I so regret buying this game. It's a train wreck. Anyone who says otherwise has no taste in video games.
    Whoever wrote it has no idea how to
    I so regret buying this game. It's a train wreck. Anyone who says otherwise has no taste in video games.
    Whoever wrote it has no idea how to cleverly make the characters interact with each other or with the environment. The levels are so poorly designed. It's a disaster.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    this is a very fun game, if you love south park and you love platformers this is a must buy. the price is rght and this game is just ohh sothis is a very fun game, if you love south park and you love platformers this is a must buy. the price is rght and this game is just ohh so right, thanks matt and trey Full Review »
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    1
    I LOVE South Park. I have been a huge South Park fan for the last 12 years and I've been gaming for 15. It would make sense then that I wouldI LOVE South Park. I have been a huge South Park fan for the last 12 years and I've been gaming for 15. It would make sense then that I would download SPTR. NOTHING about this game is South Park other than the characters. This would be alright if only the game was well-made at all. I guess if you have a thing for mediocre, outdated platforming games, pick this up... Otherwise beware Full Review »