South Park: The Stick of Truth Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 357 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: South Park: The Game is an epic role-playing adventure that will allow the user to befriend Stan, Kyle, Cartman and Kenny and explore the quiet little mountain town like never before.
    From the perilous battlefields of the 4th-grade playground, a young hero will rise, destined to be South
    South Park: The Game is an epic role-playing adventure that will allow the user to befriend Stan, Kyle, Cartman and Kenny and explore the quiet little mountain town like never before.
    From the perilous battlefields of the 4th-grade playground, a young hero will rise, destined to be South Park’s savior. From the creators of South Park, Trey Parker and Matt Stone, comes an epic quest to become… cool. Introducing South Park: The Stick of Truth. For a thousand years, the battle has been waged. The sole reason humans and elves are locked in a never-ending war: The Stick of Truth. But the tides of war are soon to change as word of a new kid spreads throughout the land, his coming foretold by the stars. As the moving vans of prophecy drive away, your adventure begins. Arm yourself with weapons of legend to defeat crab-people, underpants gnomes, hippies, and other forces of evil. Discover the lost Stick of Truth and earn your place at the side of Stan, Kyle, Cartman, and Kenny as their new friend. Succeed, and you shall be South Park’s savior, cementing your social status in South Park Elementary. Fail, and you will forever be known… as a loser. [Ubisoft]
    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    93
    It is deep, has plenty of replay value and a game you could easily sink 50 plus hours into.
  2. 90
    In Stick of Truth, Obsidian has created what’s essentially an incredibly well-paced, extended playable episode of the TV show, cramming in a tightly constructed “greatest hits”–style, kitchen-sink gag reel of everything that can make the show such a riot. For fans, it’s hard to imagine a better way to wind down the Xbox 360 console generation than with this gloriously gassy, burrito-fueled send-off.
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    89
    I had heard that Stephen King's Misery was a love letter written to his fans. South Park: The Stick of Truth is a similar love note from Matt Stone and Trey Parker.
  4. Mar 4, 2014
    80
    In the eight hours or so it will take to complete the main campaign (there are plenty of side quests that will extend your play time significantly), there is enough variety to South Park: The Stick of Truth to ensure that the game is always fun and engaging.
  5. May 2, 2014
    80
    In a Venn diagram of South Park fans and adventure RPG fans this game exists in the overlap. If you find yourself there too then this game is an absolute no-brainer.
  6. This game isn’t for the uninitiated. It’s clearly created for fans who think the idea of a pot bellied pig named Fluffy is funny, who can’t look at Barbara Streisand and not think about Mecha-Streisand, and who randomly yell “BEEEEFCAKE!” to their friends every now and then for no reason.
  7. Mar 4, 2014
    60
    TSoT is the best, most faithful South Park game to date, but it’s still just an okay game. That said it might also be your only chance to fart on a flaming, used tampon and hurl it at Nazi zombie fetuses, unless they make another Postal.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 79
  2. Negative: 4 out of 79
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    One of the best licensed games ever. It is hard to get something right again if it has a previous adaptation. But this game hits it out ofOne of the best licensed games ever. It is hard to get something right again if it has a previous adaptation. But this game hits it out of the park. If you ever watched South Park, you are gonna love this game. The game is funny. The turn based combat system is extremely refined. The graphics are a replica of the TV series. The RPG elements are also comic. If you love RPGs you are gonna have a great time with this. You need 10 hours to complete the main story. 10 more hours for side-quests. But if you want to get every achievement available you need to play it again a couple of times. So this make an excellent replay value. So in all, if you need a good video game, get this one. You won't be disappointed. Also a serious contender for my GOTY. Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    If you like South Park, this is one of the best South park things ever! If you don't like South Park, it's not for you. But if you wereIf you like South Park, this is one of the best South park things ever! If you don't like South Park, it's not for you. But if you were blessed with a sense of humor for South Park, this is one of the best games you could ever play. Amazing open world, great combat and an awesome story make this one of my favorite games of all time.

    You'll find some people who have a problem with the occasional glitches or who think the turn based combat has some issues like not being able to wait or guard instead of just attack, I found both of these very easily avoidable issues by taking the Stick of Truth out of my ass and just taking in the game for what it is.
    Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    If you don't like South Park, then why are reading this? You won't enjoy it. Fans of South Park however, will truely, truely love it! They gotIf you don't like South Park, then why are reading this? You won't enjoy it. Fans of South Park however, will truely, truely love it! They got all the details you hoped for in your wildest dreams and more! You will want to experience everything. See every nook and cranny for sure. This game sill also make you chuckle about a bazillion times during your play time. It's also very difficult to stop playing as the story and side quests keep you running around town, looking for other things, and trust me, you will want to explore it all. You can also get a slightly different storyline, so you might want to start a second game once you finish it the first time around. I know for my part, if I stare at my controller, I'll just turn on the console and start playing for hours, simply because you'll want to see what will happen next and where you'll end up. And once that controller is in your hands, I can guarantee you will not put it down for hours on end until the game is complete... then, you might make yourself a coffee to stay awake, and start the game again to try another class, the alternative storyline, etc.

    So you are a South Park fan, eh? Then what the hell are you doing reading this to the end. The game is freakin' awesome. GO BUY IT NAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  4. May 22, 2014
    9
    Of course, you don't expect good graphics, or the best soundtrack(both of them are pretty good) for a South Park game, it's just what it is, aOf course, you don't expect good graphics, or the best soundtrack(both of them are pretty good) for a South Park game, it's just what it is, a game is for fun before almost everything, and this game it's one of the funniest you can buy now. Try it and laugh your ass off. Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2014
    9
    I just completed this games and all i have to say is wow. I have never been a huge South Park fan, I always watched here and there, but neverI just completed this games and all i have to say is wow. I have never been a huge South Park fan, I always watched here and there, but never been really that into it but this game was amazing even for a casual South Park fan. If you are a really big South Park fan this game will probably be one of the top games you ever played. It is really that good. From start to finish it is just so funny, and I finished this game in about 2 days because I just could not put it down. The visuals are awesome because it is an exact replica of the show, and the game runs very smoothly. I found maybe one or two minor bugs in my first play through. The only way someone may not like this game is if they are not a fan of RPGs. This game is an RPG, so it kinda has that 'Pokemon' style combat to it. Im not a huge fan of RPGs, but I made an exception for this game and I am really glad I did. My only complaint about the game is that I wish it really was a little longer because this game can be completed in a day if you really wanted to. Overall, probably the best licensed game ever, this is my favorite game so far this year, and therefore I give it a 9. Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2014
    8
    An absolute blast to play. Fans of the series will undoubtedly have more fun with it, shrieking with glee when a delightfully obscureAn absolute blast to play. Fans of the series will undoubtedly have more fun with it, shrieking with glee when a delightfully obscure reference pops on the screen. It caters to fans of RPGs being a turn-based game, but the button-tapping and interaction during moves should keep fans of more actiony fare engaged.

    While it is a spectacularly put-together game, the gameplay itself is almost secondary to the top-notch entertainment the script and characters provide. It's funny. It's just really, really funny. The voice acting is superb, your favorite characters are just as hilarious as they would be on the show (Randy, dear sweet Randy will forever be one of the finest South Park characters, and in this game he does not disappoint), and the whole story is as perfectly absurd as an episode of the show would be. Everything just works so nicely together. And without giving anything away, Canada is just the best.

    I refrain from giving it a perfect score for only two reasons:

    One, it is a LITTLE bit too forgiving, almost a bit too easy. Aside from one or two fights (definitely NOT with Al Gore) the game is just not that hard. Most RPGs give you just one action a turn, and this game affords you the luxury of TWO per turn, allowing a character to consume an item and then also attack. Usually a bit more strategy or timing is expected to survive encounters, and this extra move a turn eliminates a lot of that.

    Two, it's just too short. I'm sure I'm not the only one complaining that it goes by too quickly, and maybe it's because I was just having so much fun I just powered through it, but it could have (and really should have) been at least three or four times longer. I can't imagine where they might have taken the story if it went further than it did, but I know I would have enjoyed it. Just when the story is starting to get really intense, the world starting to feel bigger, your army powerful and dynamic, the game is over. It ends spectacularly, but I wasn't ready for it to be done; I wanted to spend much more time playing dress-up with the boys.

    Overall, gorgeous, hilarious, and fun, and certainly not to be missed by any right-minded South Park fan.
    Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2014
    0
    Game is very slow and boring. If you are not a South Park fan, there is nothing to see here. And I think even if you do like South Park thisGame is very slow and boring. If you are not a South Park fan, there is nothing to see here. And I think even if you do like South Park this game is stupid and boring. Expand

See all 79 User Reviews