Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 122 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Spelunky is a platformer with randomized levels that offer a unique and challenging experience each time you engage it. Journey deep underground and explore fantastic places filled with monsters, traps, and treasure. Fully-destructible environments open up an array of strategies and make itSpelunky is a platformer with randomized levels that offer a unique and challenging experience each time you engage it. Journey deep underground and explore fantastic places filled with monsters, traps, and treasure. Fully-destructible environments open up an array of strategies and make it a blast to master the game's many secrets. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Jul 2, 2012
    100
    Spelunky's astonishing creativity and the spectacular depth that opens up as you make progress make it easy to forget that it's also an extremely competent platformer, with tight, poppy controls that work far better on an Xbox 360 pad than they ever did with a computer keyboard.
  2. Aug 8, 2012
    100
    Robust mechanics give rise to endless experimentation. [Sept 2012, p.70]
  3. Jul 2, 2012
    90
    Spelunky is a game that takes experts 10 minutes to complete, but it will take you hours before you're remotely ready for that challenge. This is a superb 2D platformer that's as easy to hate as it is to love, and your patience for punishment will be the determining factor.
  4. Oct 14, 2012
    90
    A highly addictive and ruthless (in a good way) 2D-platformer with an endless supply of random roquelike-levels. You won't beat this one in a hurry. [Sept 2012]
  5. 85
    It's madness worth embracing.
  6. Aug 3, 2012
    80
    Spelunky provides a serious but just challenge with great controls, clever items and a fantastic system for randomizing levels. It's a shame it hasn't been advertised more than it has.
  7. Sep 23, 2012
    50
    Frustrating. [Issue#89,p.82]

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    I wasn't expecting a lot from this game when I first heard about it. Sure I love retro-gaming and this one looks like a refurbished game fromI wasn't expecting a lot from this game when I first heard about it. Sure I love retro-gaming and this one looks like a refurbished game from the eigthies (which it actually is). First time I tried it, looks particularly hard, because I kept dying over and over again. Sometimes I could die in less that 15 seconds. Could be frustrating to some, but for me it was challenging. As in Super meat boy you have to retry many times before getting the hang of it, but when you reach a new randomize level, it's very rewarding. I have yet to finish the game but I won't give up until I do. I would recommend this game to everybody who is willing to put some effort in game. As far as I'm concerned, Spelunky is the best XBLA game since Super Meat Boy, hands down ! Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    This is the type of game that will get bad reviews because people don't have the patience to really get what it's all about. Also, if youThis is the type of game that will get bad reviews because people don't have the patience to really get what it's all about. Also, if you don't enjoy hard games, you will hate this game. This game is so rewarding because it takes so much planning, concentration and even luck to get through to the end. The controls are great, the items useful and fun, and it has great variety based on the endless iterations of the various levels. If you're up for a challenge and understand that it's going to take you hours to master the gameplay, you're going to love Spelunky, which is undoubtedly the most well-designed and executed game of the year so far. Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    Spelunky is singly the most frustrating game I have ever played, yet this somehow only adds to the sense of satisfaction when you finally edgeSpelunky is singly the most frustrating game I have ever played, yet this somehow only adds to the sense of satisfaction when you finally edge a single level further than the time before. If you go into this game expecting the classic 2D platformer that you can breeze through and complete with ease, then you Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    I've played this game for a few hours now, which is not nearly enough to do an in-depth review, but these are my first thoughts. The game is aI've played this game for a few hours now, which is not nearly enough to do an in-depth review, but these are my first thoughts. The game is a lot of fun. You really have to learn to be careful or you will die by carelessness. You will die, die again, and then die some more, but with each death you learn a little more about the game, and how to survive. As for the controls, they're very responsive, and I've yet to die because of them. And the graphics are really great as well. It's a crisp HD look that suits the game. So all in all, it looks like a fun game that will take a long time to master. But oddly, I think that's ok. Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    I loved this game so much when I bought it, I feel it was worth buying. It's frustrating at times but it's addicting just trying to make itI loved this game so much when I bought it, I feel it was worth buying. It's frustrating at times but it's addicting just trying to make it further and further, the addition of shortcuts/tunnels in this game were a great idea, sometimes it's hard to make it through levels and it would have sucked having to start from the beginning.

    Great game.
    Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2012
    8
    Spelunky is a XBLA game costing 1200MS Points, based on an Indie game that was released for PC in 2008, and consists of a 2D platform gameSpelunky is a XBLA game costing 1200MS Points, based on an Indie game that was released for PC in 2008, and consists of a 2D platform game with old-style gameplay, as we saw in 8 and 16 bit consoles. The basic game is the prerogative of an explorer, after an Aztec artifact, which has to go through various underground levels and stages, to the exit of them.

    The Graphics of the game are simple, but the XBLA version won a updated look, being cleaner and more polished, still maintaining the old-style look, but being attractive, with a more "lively" and colorful. Everything else, like Menus keeps the air retro game. The CG animation of the game use to tell the story and have a simple air, but more refined.

    Audio: songs and voices are simple, but with a good audio, and effects, and voiceovers (in animation) are consistent with the actions and what you see, but still keeping the classic look we see in graphics.

    Gameplay: here is concentrated the greatest attraction of the game - the game has a series of 14 levels, which should be circulated with controls typical of the old platform games, and using some objects to help walk the galleries and avoid hazards such as spikes, sags and enemies, ranging from the simplest like snakes to advanced ones, like ghosts.

    You have objects like a rope (to climb up or down from a session), pumps (used to break the floor or walls) and a whip (to break objects or kill enemies), and other items that are being released with the progression in the game (such as jet packs).

    The Levels has the objective to reach the exit using its limited and scarce resources, and in the meantime, picking up treasures and rescuing characters if you want. You can make your way using the items, or try to cross using pre-established paths, but keeping the retro look, nothing is as easy as it sounds.

    If you die, you'll be returned to the initial stage of the game, and added to that, we have the fact that the levels are random generated, never a stage will be equal to each other and never the difficulty will be predetermined.

    Summary: the game is a very good classic platform game, with a retro air, but it presents a difficulty that may disappoint many people, but to please players who like games more hardcore platform games - the price is a little salty, 800ms points would be better.
    Expand
  7. Aug 10, 2012
    6
    I exaggerated on my last review of this game. It is a great game, the game play is good, the visual is incredible, the history is simple, theI exaggerated on my last review of this game. It is a great game, the game play is good, the visual is incredible, the history is simple, the enemies are awesome. But the game has some problems that is hard not to notice, such as: when in multiplayer, only the first player can buy things and the camera is focused on him; when you die, you start all over again; sometimes, 5 lives is not enough, some enemies and traps take more than 1 life of you, and there's nothing on the levels to regenerate a life; when you get hit by something, you stay too much time unconscious and in this little frame of time, someone or something can kill you. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews