Spider-Man 3 Image
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Possess the never-before-experienced powers of Black-Suited Spider-Man. Unleash incredible agility, amazing durability and awe-inspiring web abilities. But be warned - the rush your intensified powers bring could overwhelm you. More freedom than ever. More city than ever. For the first time, enjoy unprecedented freedom—choosing what you want to do, when you want to do it. There's no checklist to complete in order to progress. You set your own next goal, roaming anywhere you want - including subterranean areas such as subways, sewers and villains' lairs - in the most massive, detailed New York City ever seen in a Spider-Man game. Experience an all-new combat system, two exciting ways. Redesigned from the ground up, a unique combat system empowers both Spider-Man and Black-Suited Spider-Man to perform suit-specific powers and abilities. State of the art animations, combos and finishers make punch, kick and web attacks more super-heroic than ever. Battle 10 of Spider-Man’s most infamous enemies from the movie and Marvel universe, including Sandman and Venom. [Activision] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 61
  2. Negative: 5 out of 61
  1. It almost becomes a rhythm game as you perfect the block-counterattack system, especially for the boss fights. And when you aren’t fighting some crazy mutant or saving the city from serial bombers, a casual swing through Manhattan at night is almost therapeutic.
  2. Spider-man 3 doesn’t differentiate much from its predecessor in terms of combat, but the new God of War-esque minigames are a nice touch. The mission structure is also nicely laid out, not too linear but conducive to the film’s plot.
  3. I'm sure that younger gaming fans especially, will be able to appreciate swinging around in pajamas. The rest of us can find an entertaining game hidden underneath a pile of little flaws.
  4. The thing Spider-Man 3 does right is exploring the city and web-swinging. It captures the feel perfectly, and really is a blast to swing around Manhattan as your friendly neighborhood Spider-Man. Unfortunately, everything else is a mixed bag, and often the worst parts rise to the surface of the game.
  5. 60
    Other than nailing what web-swinging should feel like, this game is a bust. We were promised a Spidey experience that was next-gen and expanded on everything Spider-Man 2 did right, but we were given a buggy game that's just "Spider-Man 2: Special Edition."
  6. 60
    Right out of the gate, Spider-Man 3 is going to smack you in the face with some of the worst next-gen graphics you have ever seen.
  7. The frequent glitches and pop-up testify to a lack of preparation, and a question has to be asked about what exactly Treyarch has been doing for the past two years. [July 2007, p.89]

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    If theres one thing I can say about Spiderman 3, its that its one of the greatest movie games ever. It is signifigantly underrated. Unlike the Superman Returns game, you can explore this large open world and play missions whenever you want. Theres a larger amont of content and the graphics are even better. The controls are also very responsive. Collapse
  2. May 25, 2014
    10
    Miles better than that stupid Batman clone called Amazing Spider-Man. The web swinging is great, you can reach ridiculous speeds like over 200 miles/hour. Great combat system with lots of combos, special attacks and web attacks. You can yank an enemy in the air and use him as a missile, pile-driving him into the ground and sending other enemies flying. Side missions will make you punch yourself in the face from the nail-biting difficulty, and that's a good thing. Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2011
    7
    I liked the story okay and the web slinging was fun. The controls were good. There could have been better fighting. Not the best game in the world, but it was enjoyable and I finished it. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2011
    7
    A game that I struggled with a lot at the beginning but once I played it a bit more, I was finding it easier and easier. It is a very creative story that I have found very very entertaining. Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2013
    6
    It's pretty sad when I actually found the PS2 version to be a better game. This game suffers from the films plot just as much as the other games, but also has the problem of terrible boss fights and even more annoying collectibles. You fight more gangs then villains and the black suit isn't even a game changer in the slightest. While the previous console editions aren't a whole lot better, at least the PSP lets you swing on the go. Hop back a console generation for a better game. Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2011
    4
    To be honest as a huge fan of Spider-man I am just saddened to say that Spider-man 3 was a major let down. First of all nothing much has changed from Spider-man 2 and instead of adding more side stuff they reduced it. Now the side quests just consist of going out there talking to civilians and than beating up criminals, chasing them in a car beating their car and than beating them up and defusing bombs. I gotta admit defusing bombs was kind of cool but also got repetitive really fast. Plus there are no random events in the game unlike Spiderman 2, those random encounters show that any crime can happen in the city at any time and its up to Spider0man to stop it and that actually added to the feel of being spider-man but this game just threw all that out of the water. Plus the game has so many bugs its almost laughable. Ofcourse than comes the main storyline which doesn't exactly follow the movie's story and adds some new and bland villains which nobody really cares about fighting. And compared to spider man 2 once again the story is really short I beat in like 4 hours in one sitting and Spiderman 2 took me like 12 and 13 hours to complete thats how much they toned down and shortened this game. The main missions are nothing great some of them are fun but once again just like the rest of the game they get repetitive really fast. However I still see some good things about this game, the boss battles have been done really well and have been improved from Spider-man 2, but there are not that many boss battles in the game which is sad as they could have really added to the game. The game also allows you to put on the black spidey suite which just increases your health and the amount of damage you can inflict and take. Spidey is really waay overpowered when he puts that suit on which really kills any difficulty the game has to offer because if a boss fight or any other fight is going on way to long, you can just push a button and get into the black suite and destroy everyone. The game's music is good and builds up the mood and the voice is unsurprisingly good as it is done by the same actors who acted in the movie. I think the combat and swinging have been made easy and simplified which is not really a problem for me as it is really easy to get used to them unlike Spider-man 2. The graphics are just bad, I am sorry they are, the buildings look like large blocks, the character models look wooden and stiff, the animations look really awful. And to be honest this is the first game I have seen in which the cutscenes look worse than the actual game that is just a shame. In the end I must say Spider-man 3 had so much potential and could have been another great movie game like like Spider-man 2 and it could have proven that movie based games can be actually be really good but it is clear that lack of effort was put into making this game as the game clearly seems rushed and considering this was made for a multiple number of consoles that is no surprise. I really wanted to like this game but it is so half a**ed, toned down and unfinished that it is hard for even a huge fan of Spider-man like myself to like it. Sad to say that this game is an insult to the name of Spider-man. 4/10 Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2011
    3
    Here is the same game process of the game series we know and hate. I don't understand the deal with these games and what possible benefit there is to them. It's not fun, clever, or even twisted. Just bland and boring, everything else is just average. So unrecommended. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews