Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: SSX allows players to experience the franchise’s signature fun and adrenaline-packed gameplay across iconic mountain ranges all over the world. Utilizing NASA topographical satellite data, we’ve mapped out a Massive World for players to explore. Using a Google-Earth inspired interface,SSX allows players to experience the franchise’s signature fun and adrenaline-packed gameplay across iconic mountain ranges all over the world. Utilizing NASA topographical satellite data, we’ve mapped out a Massive World for players to explore. Using a Google-Earth inspired interface, navigate throughout nine expansive mountain ranges and regions, each with multiple peaks and multiple drops. SSX packs reality-defying gameplay into every run letting players Race, Trick, and Survive down huge open mountains. In addition, Explore, Global Events and RiderNet - SSX’s recommendation engine - headline an online feature set that will revolutionize social competition for gamers, making it fun and easy to compete with friends on your schedule. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 65
  2. Negative: 1 out of 65
  1. Mar 15, 2012
    100
    The overall takeaway I get while playing SSX: sometimes EA gets it exactly right. Sometimes their experience from a dozen misguided games, and a half dozen decent games, and two or three really good games is distilled into one perfect example of how some AAA titles are every bit as awesome as they're supposed to be.
  2. 90
    As a series reboot this is perfectly acceptable, but it's the new and innovative online aspects that make SSX feel absolutely superb. Packed to the brim with clever ideas, SSX is a truly unmissable surprise. While most other online modes feel like painting-by-numbers, SSX shrugs and tries something refreshingly different. This isn't just brave - it's brilliant.
  3. Feb 29, 2012
    90
    It's been a long wait but well worth it: SSX returns at its best with a new approach to the snowboarding genre. Its exaggerated tricks mixed with the new survival tune, well crafted graphics and abundance of content make it the game that SSX fans - and generally extreme sports games fans - were dreaming of during the last few years.
  4. Feb 28, 2012
    85
    I ran into a few issues -- namely the occasionally frustrating level design, which is inconsistent at best -- but there's so much to love that the problematic aspects don't sully an otherwise terrific game. Between character leveling, equipment, hundreds of drops, and rivalries with friends, SSX is going to provide months of entertainment for most of us.
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    80
    If you have ever enjoyed a single moment from the last generation games, you need to own SSX. Newcomers should not fear getting their snowboots wet with SSX. Like the other games, it is easy to get into and the online Ridernet helps fuel the flame of competition for many months to come.
  6. Feb 28, 2012
    80
    Despite some rough patches in difficulty, SSX manages to modernize itself with realism, course variety, and seamlessly integrated multiplayer. Even with the courses littered with pits and darkness, they can either be avoided or faced head-on with the same intensity as an epic boss battle. it doesn't have as bold of a personality than before, but ready or not, SSX is here to stay.
  7. Apr 11, 2012
    45
    Whether your favorite was SSX Tricky or SSX 3, this latest entry, simply titled "SSX," has virtually nothing to do with the franchise fans fell in love. Voiceovers from DJ Atomika have been slapped on top to reassure you that yes, you're playing an SSX game, but the gameplay, courses, and overall quality are saying something else entirely.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 74
  2. Negative: 18 out of 74
  1. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    WOW! incredible... this game is so fun and addictive. A must buy. The best out of the SSX series and the third masterpiece of the year fromWOW! incredible... this game is so fun and addictive. A must buy. The best out of the SSX series and the third masterpiece of the year from electronic arts. (Kings of Amatur: Rekoning, and Mass Effect 3 (Insane!). Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    The perfect SSX game. Waited for many years for this and was not dissapointed. The person who submitted a 4/10 review is simply idiotic.The perfect SSX game. Waited for many years for this and was not dissapointed. The person who submitted a 4/10 review is simply idiotic. Saying the multiplayer is pathetic or whatever he said is rediculous. Rather than put out the same old outdated lobby system where you spend more time waiting then playing, they made the genius RiderNet system, which will keep groups of friends locked in competition for ages. If you have a decent group of friends this type of multiplayer will provide you with much more entertainment than 'traditional' multiplayer. Oh and yes there IS real time multiplayer, dont let others tell you otherwise. Its called Global Events. This game is easy to pick up and play, and feel like your awesome, but difficult to master. The Ridernet systen and brilliant online features will keep you playing for absoloutely ages. They listenes to the fans and did exactly what was asked. Ssx is back, and this is possibly the best one yet. Definately the best reboot I've ever played. 10/10 Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    I've been a fan of the SSX series since the first release of SSX on the PS2. Though I lost a little interest after SSX 3 seeing "On Tour" andI've been a fan of the SSX series since the first release of SSX on the PS2. Though I lost a little interest after SSX 3 seeing "On Tour" and "Blur" seemed a little ridiculous so I stuck with SSX 3 until I got burnt out and moved on. It had been years since I've played any of the previous SSX titles so I got online to check and see if any new titles were in the near future and sure enough, SSX was coming to 360 and PS3 and it looked amazing. I waited impatiently for the demo to release on XBL and honestly, the demo doesn't do the game justice. The new "Survive It" mode is intense. It has a new feel with new controls but for SSX veterans, you have the option to switch it to old school controls but it seems you don't twist and turn as fast as the default controls. It takes a couple races and trick sessions to get used to, but once you have it down you'll be carving down every mountain with ease. There is a lot more I could say, but I'm sure you've already heard. This game brings back good memories that I had with SSX but in a new and more intense way. You will enjoy this if you're an SSX fan so pick it up right now and get to shreddin'!! Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    very fun and addictive multiplayer, and an all-around fun filled game. i would say the game does get a little repetitive, but it is a reallyvery fun and addictive multiplayer, and an all-around fun filled game. i would say the game does get a little repetitive, but it is a really good game. my only complaint is that i don't think it will have much lasting appeal. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    6
    Frustrating and annoying are two words I'd use to describe this game. Tricky 3, was a pinball machine crossed with a fireworks display, whereFrustrating and annoying are two words I'd use to describe this game. Tricky 3, was a pinball machine crossed with a fireworks display, where you tried to better your previous high score or beat your mate down the slope. This is more about memorising tracks and not making mistakes that feel like overly harsh punishments. The fun seems to have gone. The game isn't bad just not for the causal gamer like me who just wants to play not become the best in the world at it. Maybe in time I'll enjoy it more but at the moment I can't help but feel annoyed. Expand
  6. Sep 3, 2014
    5
    Although this game works well enough as a standalone game, the devs removed and changed enough features for the game to not resemble the SSXAlthough this game works well enough as a standalone game, the devs removed and changed enough features for the game to not resemble the SSX games of old, at least not well enough for a reboot title. The game tries too hard to coast on the nostalgic memory we have of the old games, and sure, you'll hear DJ Atomika at one point or another, and some familiar roster characters return, but the controls and level design that made the old games a great time to play no longer exist, making for a game that barely resembles the predecessors that made its name famous.

    The level design is by far this games biggest weakness. The game was originally supposed to be called SSX Deadly Descents, and naturally had to feature some dangerous and random terrain, but overly difficult level design is not something you need in a reboot title. The fast and smooth race courses are gone, replaced with chasms, cliffs, uphill terrain, buyable gimicky equipment the game could have gone without, and overall slow and tedious riding.

    Despite the 360 having a near identical button layout to the GameCube, the devs thought it would be a good idea to change the controls around for the reboot, seriously hurting player control. There is an option to swotch back to classic controls, but even then, oversensitive turning, ridiculous trick completion time and having your character tweak and turn with the same stick make doing tricks overly complex and difficult.

    The music in this game is no longer a mix of alternative rock and funk rock, having been changed to a collection of modern dubstep tracks for the reboot. While its impossible to say whether this is good or bad due to different tastes, I will say I would appreciate a few SSX 3 songs here and there.

    Even without touching on the convoluted story mode (where fan favorite Griff is the villain for some reason), the annoying rewind feature which should have just been a respawn button, or the lack of split screen play, I can easily say that, while not really a game, SSX doesn't do much of anything to improve the tried and true formula of previous SSX hits, and in some ways even removes the classic fun factors, in favor of a more modern and unfortunately bland experience.
    Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    0
    This game has the absolute worst control I have seen in a long time. Every controller input has a delay that hinders any fun this game mayThis game has the absolute worst control I have seen in a long time. Every controller input has a delay that hinders any fun this game may have had. This game is not worth purchasing at all. Expand

See all 74 User Reviews