Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 42
  2. Negative: 33 out of 42
  1. May 7, 2013
    33
    The gunplay is unimaginative and outwardly unfun.
  2. May 2, 2013
    33
    Overall, other than maybe a rental or picking up one day in a bargain bin, there is very little I can say to recommend this mediocre attempt with a big budget license.
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    30
    Throughout its run-time, which seems like an eternity (though likely isn’t), Star Trek is a consistently underwhelming and frequently frustrating experience; it’s mostly ugly, it plays alright and does little of interest with a great license.
  4. May 31, 2013
    30
    A shoddy job - no laurels! Even Captain Kirk and Spock know that. In all respects Star Trek: The Video Game is a very bad game.
  5. May 10, 2013
    30
    I know there is a contingent of Trekkies out there that will buy anything with Star Trek emblazoned on it, and that's fine; buy it, put it on your display shelf and never, ever play it. That's what I did with DragonBall Z for Kinect!
  6. Apr 29, 2013
    30
    Despite all its promise, Star Trek proves to be a spectacular sci-fi letdown: bugs and glitches galore, unresponsive controls, and a phoned-in story traveling at warp zero. Set phasers to “disappointment.”
  7. Apr 26, 2013
    30
    No matter what you think of the new movies no franchise deserves a tie-in as timidly generic as this, with painfully bland action and low-tech, not sci-fi, presentation.
  8. 30
    The unkindest cut of all is that you only rarely get to actually command the Enterprise, and when you do, the implementation would disgrace the average Call of Duty turret sequence.
  9. Apr 25, 2013
    30
    It falls completely on its ass in every category. Generic shooting, incredibly poor artificial intelligence and glitchy bug-ridden gameplay amounts to nothing more than a meager attempt to cash in on next month’s film.
  10. Apr 25, 2013
    30
    Star Trek has picked up practically every bad habit of the past five years of game design. Hinky ledge traversal. An arbitrary upgrade system. Hacking mini-games that evolve from "dull" to "Ambien" through the course of the game. Samey secondary weapons...It's almost messianic in its willingness to take all of gaming's sins onto its rickety frame.
  11. May 13, 2013
    20
    I would rather spend the rest of my life listening to William Shatner's albums than spend another second with Star Trek: The Video Game.
  12. Apr 29, 2013
    20
    Several occasions while playing Star Trek, I was ready to call it a write-off, whether it’s the bugs, the terrible signposting or the fact it’s just plain dull. But then the game surprises with a section that’s not half-bad...And it is so infuriating. Not because Star Trek is ever hard, but because it could have been good. And it’s not.
User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 320 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 131
  2. Negative: 84 out of 131
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    4
    I'm not going to balance out the score (I think that is just a distasteful as the 10's from the software developers).
    This game is below
    I'm not going to balance out the score (I think that is just a distasteful as the 10's from the software developers).
    This game is below average but not a zero. Poor graphics, glitches, and sub-par game-play. I'm half way through the game and the story isn't horrible but it isn't the best either. Although it is a fun co-op experience.
    This is the type of game that should be $30 max $40 right off the store shelves and I would buy it. I will purchase it but I will wait for that used price.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    2
    Look, if you are somehow affiliated with the company and shilling good reviews on Metacritic, face it champ, you are a cheap sellout. ThisLook, if you are somehow affiliated with the company and shilling good reviews on Metacritic, face it champ, you are a cheap sellout. This game is EXACTLY what we've all feared: a shoddy knock-off of a venerable IP. Congrats, you threw some bones (heh) at the original cast and then skimped on game mechanics, graphics, and story...i.e. the only things that matter. And, oh dear V'ger...the cutscenes...every 2 minutes. Oh really...another turbolift ride? Did you guys not notice how Mass Effect fixed this obvious BS? I would say, honestly, that if you're a hardcore Trekkie...please wait until this is >$20. It's simply a substandard, lazy game. Full Review »
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    This game looked better in the videos, unfortunately it falls short. Don't buy it, it's not worth the $60.

    But yes, these fake 10/10's are
    This game looked better in the videos, unfortunately it falls short. Don't buy it, it's not worth the $60.

    But yes, these fake 10/10's are bad, as are the 0/10's (it's not that good or that bad)

    Also, I am glad Angry Joe pointed out the co-op flaws in PC version, but this is the 360 section.
    Full Review »