User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 316 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 316

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    What is with the jerks giving this game zero's, must be star wars fans, anyway, I like both star wars and star trek, played this game on my PC. It was a fun ride, the graphics are ok, not as bad as some other people are saying, if you like games like mass effect you will like this game, simple
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    I like it. A lot. I am a massive "Star Trek" fan, so that could factor into my feelings (yes, I even like JJ's altverse). Most of the criticisms I'm reading, including the Toronto newspaper, are judging this based on other video games, not on its OWN MERITS. I've found it incredibly entertaining and hard for me (as a fan) to put down. I'm really enjoying the audio logs and additional material, in particular. Keep in mind, I am not a very big gamer, I buy maybe two games a year mostly for my family. This was a "selfish" purchase, I'm very glad I made it and there is very little more I could have hoped for from a game based on the JJ "Star Trek" movies. Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    The only good Movie licensed game out there. GET THIS AND SUPPORT IT. These poeple writing bad reviews don't know anything. Cheers to more games like this!
  4. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    I am enjoying the game more than I thought. I bought it from Steam on a whim and finally played it today. It has some pretty good fight sequences that sadly aren't as exciting as they should be because the scripted animations are pretty rough, but had DE have more time, or money to make something closer to the quality of Darkness II it would have been fun and exhilarating, but sadly we just got this game. It's not broken and I am finding myself having fun at times. Definitely an 8.0.

    I'm giving it a ten for balance.
    Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    Joining the good guys on this one. Tired of people bringing down games for the sheer fun of it. Shame they have nothing better to do with their time.
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    This game is AWESOME I do not know what all the bad reviews is all about. Just a bunch of haters. I love star trek. the game play is great the graphics awesome I hope they continue on with the next part
  7. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    I'm a fairly real person and I rented this from my local dvd vending machine 2 days ago. I'm playing through the game and I haven't beaten it yet, but I would say I'm more than half-way through. I really think this game is getting a bad reputation... like everyone decided to jump on the cynical critic train for some reason. I would honestly rate this game 8.75 out of 10. I am not afraid to call a bad game bad, either this just isn't a bad game. The characters feel like the characters from New Trek and the voice acting is superb. I've noticed humorous asides and self-aware commentary from the characters. I have enjoyed the gameplay like getting rewarded for dispatching enemies in a non-lethal way and finding objects to scan with the tricorder. I've only played the game in offline single player mode as Kirk, but the AI has been reliable and I've never had to wait around for Spock to help me complete a coop task. All in all I've had a ton of fun and I have enjoyed the story and I plan to keep the game until I finish it. I wish I had enough money to pay for the game, especially since the game is probably not going to sell well due to the negativity. Expand
  8. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Star Trek has been my passion over the years and this game is not only for the fans... Star Trek brings a new perspective as to how all the new Star Trek games will be developed. Yes the game may not be perfect and it has a couple of faults but I am certain that the game will get an update in the next few days. If you are a gamer i assure that this game will not fail to entertain you.
  9. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    The game and everything a star trek fan could want, and can please even the other players too, because it has a competent story, an optimal gameplay that does not try to emulate games of the genre, and perfect voiceovers, play this game and feel it in JJ Abrans next film of Star trek
  10. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    When I first saw the trailers I was very skeptical, but I pre-ordered from Amazon and it showed up today. I put it in and could not put it down, I'm loving it and I can't wait to replay it with a friend co-op. Best movie tie-in game since X-Men Origins: Wolverine and probably the best Star Trek game ever. Great voice acting, writing is good, gameplay is solid, pacing is also very good. For a Star Trek Fan this game is a must have. Expand
  11. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    Decent game. Great foe fans of Trek. For all the idiots putting zeros who haven't even played the game, give it up. "it borrows from other games..." Yeah, I bought a fighting game the other day and it had kick and punch buttons! The nerve. Unreal! Played a new FPS too and it had me shooting stuff! BS! Subpar graphics? Please, graphics aren't everything and these are actually decent. Voice acting, story and music are top notch! If you're a Trek fan, don't hesitate. You will enjoy it! Collapse
  12. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    I got the Xbox 360 version but I heard that PC co-op wasn't working but as the Xbox version goes it ok it's not the best it's got a lot of bugs but its a good story as it goes the gameplays ok it's basically just using your tricorder and shooting your gun that's about it that's how you sum it up but don't get me wrong it's a great game the co-op is basically the same in my opinion
  13. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    The only people who have been finding glitches in this game are people that mess about in co-op and do not actually play the game. The voice acting is great, the weapons are great, the sound is great, the game is great! If you are a Star Trek fan and loves Mass Effect also, then you will absolutely LOVE this game!
  14. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    i agree with the last reviewer this game is OFF THE CHAIN the official reviewers are smoking crack. the gameplay/plot/controls/music/graphics are all just amazing. definitely buy this or at least rent to see for yourself how sick it is.
  15. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Still do not understand why this game has such a low rating, is a game with great graphics and history relatively good, when I started playing reminded me of mass effect and dead space, and now I'm enjoying it, great game.
  16. May 17, 2013
    10
    Completing the game 4 times in coop with a girlfriend fan of Star Trek have brought me the most wonderful emotions in our relationship, now i'm having a smoke.
  17. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    It gave me a boner. It really did. I popped one when I saw the graphics. I popped one when I saw the story. I popped one when I saw the amazing gameplay.
  18. Apr 24, 2013
    0
    Decent game. Great foe fans of Trek. For all the idiots putting zeros who haven't even played the game, give it up. "it borrows from other games..." Yeah, I bought a fighting game the other day and it had kick and punch buttons! The nerve. Unreal! Played a new FPS too and it had me shooting stuff! BS! Subpar graphics? Please, graphics aren't everything and these are actually decent. Voice acting, story and music are top notch! If you're a Trek fan, don't hesitate. You will enjoy it! Collapse
Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 42
  2. Negative: 33 out of 42
  1. Jul 22, 2013
    30
    Throughout its run-time, which seems like an eternity (though likely isn’t), Star Trek is a consistently underwhelming and frequently frustrating experience; it’s mostly ugly, it plays alright and does little of interest with a great license.
  2. Jun 12, 2013
    35
    Star Trek: The Video Game is almost a fun, harmless game about cool characters shooting lizard men, but never rises above what you’d expect a licensed tie-in to be.
  3. May 31, 2013
    30
    A shoddy job - no laurels! Even Captain Kirk and Spock know that. In all respects Star Trek: The Video Game is a very bad game.