User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 322 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 322
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    i agree with the last reviewer this game is OFF THE CHAIN the official reviewers are smoking crack. the gameplay/plot/controls/music/graphics are all just amazing. definitely buy this or at least rent to see for yourself how sick it is.
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    What is with the jerks giving this game zero's, must be star wars fans, anyway, I like both star wars and star trek, played this game on my PC. It was a fun ride, the graphics are ok, not as bad as some other people are saying, if you like games like mass effect you will like this game, simple
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    The only good Movie licensed game out there. GET THIS AND SUPPORT IT. These poeple writing bad reviews don't know anything. Cheers to more games like this!
  4. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Star Trek has been my passion over the years and this game is not only for the fans... Star Trek brings a new perspective as to how all the new Star Trek games will be developed. Yes the game may not be perfect and it has a couple of faults but I am certain that the game will get an update in the next few days. If you are a gamer i assure that this game will not fail to entertain you.
  5. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    The game and everything a star trek fan could want, and can please even the other players too, because it has a competent story, an optimal gameplay that does not try to emulate games of the genre, and perfect voiceovers, play this game and feel it in JJ Abrans next film of Star trek
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    When I first saw the trailers I was very skeptical, but I pre-ordered from Amazon and it showed up today. I put it in and could not put it down, I'm loving it and I can't wait to replay it with a friend co-op. Best movie tie-in game since X-Men Origins: Wolverine and probably the best Star Trek game ever. Great voice acting, writing is good, gameplay is solid, pacing is also very good. ForWhen I first saw the trailers I was very skeptical, but I pre-ordered from Amazon and it showed up today. I put it in and could not put it down, I'm loving it and I can't wait to replay it with a friend co-op. Best movie tie-in game since X-Men Origins: Wolverine and probably the best Star Trek game ever. Great voice acting, writing is good, gameplay is solid, pacing is also very good. For a Star Trek Fan this game is a must have. Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    Decent game. Great foe fans of Trek. For all the idiots putting zeros who haven't even played the game, give it up. "it borrows from other games..." Yeah, I bought a fighting game the other day and it had kick and punch buttons! The nerve. Unreal! Played a new FPS too and it had me shooting stuff! BS! Subpar graphics? Please, graphics aren't everything and these are actually decent. VoiceDecent game. Great foe fans of Trek. For all the idiots putting zeros who haven't even played the game, give it up. "it borrows from other games..." Yeah, I bought a fighting game the other day and it had kick and punch buttons! The nerve. Unreal! Played a new FPS too and it had me shooting stuff! BS! Subpar graphics? Please, graphics aren't everything and these are actually decent. Voice acting, story and music are top notch! If you're a Trek fan, don't hesitate. You will enjoy it! Expand
  8. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    I am enjoying the game more than I thought. I bought it from Steam on a whim and finally played it today. It has some pretty good fight sequences that sadly aren't as exciting as they should be because the scripted animations are pretty rough, but had DE have more time, or money to make something closer to the quality of Darkness II it would have been fun and exhilarating, but sadly weI am enjoying the game more than I thought. I bought it from Steam on a whim and finally played it today. It has some pretty good fight sequences that sadly aren't as exciting as they should be because the scripted animations are pretty rough, but had DE have more time, or money to make something closer to the quality of Darkness II it would have been fun and exhilarating, but sadly we just got this game. It's not broken and I am finding myself having fun at times. Definitely an 8.0.

    I'm giving it a ten for balance.
    Expand
  9. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    Joining the good guys on this one. Tired of people bringing down games for the sheer fun of it. Shame they have nothing better to do with their time.
  10. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Still do not understand why this game has such a low rating, is a game with great graphics and history relatively good, when I started playing reminded me of mass effect and dead space, and now I'm enjoying it, great game.
  11. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    This game is AWESOME I do not know what all the bad reviews is all about. Just a bunch of haters. I love star trek. the game play is great the graphics awesome I hope they continue on with the next part
  12. May 17, 2013
    10
    Completing the game 4 times in coop with a girlfriend fan of Star Trek have brought me the most wonderful emotions in our relationship, now i'm having a smoke.
  13. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    The only people who have been finding glitches in this game are people that mess about in co-op and do not actually play the game. The voice acting is great, the weapons are great, the sound is great, the game is great! If you are a Star Trek fan and loves Mass Effect also, then you will absolutely LOVE this game!
  14. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    It gave me a boner. It really did. I popped one when I saw the graphics. I popped one when I saw the story. I popped one when I saw the amazing gameplay.
  15. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    I like it. A lot. I am a massive "Star Trek" fan, so that could factor into my feelings (yes, I even like JJ's altverse). Most of the criticisms I'm reading, including the Toronto newspaper, are judging this based on other video games, not on its OWN MERITS. I've found it incredibly entertaining and hard for me (as a fan) to put down. I'm really enjoying the audio logs and additionalI like it. A lot. I am a massive "Star Trek" fan, so that could factor into my feelings (yes, I even like JJ's altverse). Most of the criticisms I'm reading, including the Toronto newspaper, are judging this based on other video games, not on its OWN MERITS. I've found it incredibly entertaining and hard for me (as a fan) to put down. I'm really enjoying the audio logs and additional material, in particular. Keep in mind, I am not a very big gamer, I buy maybe two games a year mostly for my family. This was a "selfish" purchase, I'm very glad I made it and there is very little more I could have hoped for from a game based on the JJ "Star Trek" movies. Expand
  16. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    I'm a fairly real person and I rented this from my local dvd vending machine 2 days ago. I'm playing through the game and I haven't beaten it yet, but I would say I'm more than half-way through. I really think this game is getting a bad reputation... like everyone decided to jump on the cynical critic train for some reason. I would honestly rate this game 8.75 out of 10. I am notI'm a fairly real person and I rented this from my local dvd vending machine 2 days ago. I'm playing through the game and I haven't beaten it yet, but I would say I'm more than half-way through. I really think this game is getting a bad reputation... like everyone decided to jump on the cynical critic train for some reason. I would honestly rate this game 8.75 out of 10. I am not afraid to call a bad game bad, either this just isn't a bad game. The characters feel like the characters from New Trek and the voice acting is superb. I've noticed humorous asides and self-aware commentary from the characters. I have enjoyed the gameplay like getting rewarded for dispatching enemies in a non-lethal way and finding objects to scan with the tricorder. I've only played the game in offline single player mode as Kirk, but the AI has been reliable and I've never had to wait around for Spock to help me complete a coop task. All in all I've had a ton of fun and I have enjoyed the story and I plan to keep the game until I finish it. I wish I had enough money to pay for the game, especially since the game is probably not going to sell well due to the negativity. Expand
  17. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    I got the Xbox 360 version but I heard that PC co-op wasn't working but as the Xbox version goes it ok it's not the best it's got a lot of bugs but its a good story as it goes the gameplays ok it's basically just using your tricorder and shooting your gun that's about it that's how you sum it up but don't get me wrong it's a great game the co-op is basically the same in my opinion
  18. Apr 30, 2013
    8
    This is not a 'fake' review, I don't work for any jackass game company. In all honesty, faults aside, Star Trek is still very playable and entertaining. The voice acting is AWESOME, I could not believe they got so much of the cast into it, you NEVER SEE THAT in movie tie-in's. My mate and I had a few issues with the co-op on the 360 but i recall us struggling more on RE6 in regards toThis is not a 'fake' review, I don't work for any jackass game company. In all honesty, faults aside, Star Trek is still very playable and entertaining. The voice acting is AWESOME, I could not believe they got so much of the cast into it, you NEVER SEE THAT in movie tie-in's. My mate and I had a few issues with the co-op on the 360 but i recall us struggling more on RE6 in regards to technical issues. Most of the time we'd just laugh at a glitch and try to make it worse, masochistic as that may sound we made something good out of something bad. Whether these 10/10/10/10 reviews are fake or not there's no reason to bash this game, it may not be worth 10 but definitely not a 0. I would say wait until it's cheap and grab it out of the bargain bin. I enjoyed it and generally everyone will if they go in with a bit of optimism. With games like Bioshock Infinite and Tomb Raider out at the same time, it's nowhere near a contender. Expand
  19. May 4, 2013
    8
    This is in no way a terrible game don't let bad reviews fool you I'm new to the Star Trek universe but still enjoy this game. So from a gamers standpoint the game is very fun has a cool story and is made by a good company who also developed the darkness 2 and dark sector (two of my favorite games back then) I recommend at least renting it and playing it before judging it as a "crappy movieThis is in no way a terrible game don't let bad reviews fool you I'm new to the Star Trek universe but still enjoy this game. So from a gamers standpoint the game is very fun has a cool story and is made by a good company who also developed the darkness 2 and dark sector (two of my favorite games back then) I recommend at least renting it and playing it before judging it as a "crappy movie licensed title" because that is what I did and I'm glad I gave it a chance. Expand
  20. May 1, 2013
    8
    After having played through the entire game, i can say i had a lot of fun. Yes, there were bugs galore. But what game comes out bug-free these days. Also, i still maintain a few of my original points It has a decent story and atmosphere (feels like you are living star trek), gameplay is serviceable and could get better with more fine tuning of mechanics. Graphics on my PC were good,After having played through the entire game, i can say i had a lot of fun. Yes, there were bugs galore. But what game comes out bug-free these days. Also, i still maintain a few of my original points It has a decent story and atmosphere (feels like you are living star trek), gameplay is serviceable and could get better with more fine tuning of mechanics. Graphics on my PC were good, nothing mind-blowing, but combined with good music and sound, as well as some of the humor, makes it enjoyable.

    I think the general public is overcome with emotions, because a few players like myself, rated it very high before we had finished it. It is understandable. However, remember one thing gamers, a game is only as enjoyable as you make it out to be. In doing all this hate towards the game, think of the fact that if you looked past some of its flaws, at the core, this was a decent attempt at a star trek game, and you could have enjoyed it instead of wasting time spewing all this hatred on the internet......it is your loss, at the end of the day,

    Cheers and enjoy your gaming,
    Girland
    Expand
  21. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    This isn't your standard run and gun game... and trust me that really isn't a bad thing. It has some balancing issues and the controls can be touchy at times but there still a lot of fun to be had here. The weapons types are fun, from your standard phaser pistol to a transportation riffle it's all here. The voice acting by the original cast is spot on and down right funny at times and theThis isn't your standard run and gun game... and trust me that really isn't a bad thing. It has some balancing issues and the controls can be touchy at times but there still a lot of fun to be had here. The weapons types are fun, from your standard phaser pistol to a transportation riffle it's all here. The voice acting by the original cast is spot on and down right funny at times and the music is fantastic. This game is a must play with a buddy or co-op online. If you're a Star Trek fan buy it, if not this is definitely worth at least a rental. My official score 7.5. Play it! Expand
  22. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    I got this game regardless of the poor reviews because I'm a Star Trek fan. I have yet to beat the game, but I have to say I'm glad I did. After reading many of the poor reviews and playing this game, it's a great surprise nothing is nearly as bad as they make it out to be. Sure, certain animations other aspects *could* be better, but they are all in decent form here.

    I love Far Cry
    I got this game regardless of the poor reviews because I'm a Star Trek fan. I have yet to beat the game, but I have to say I'm glad I did. After reading many of the poor reviews and playing this game, it's a great surprise nothing is nearly as bad as they make it out to be. Sure, certain animations other aspects *could* be better, but they are all in decent form here.

    I love Far Cry 3, but at least I don't get pissed off playing this game because I have to go to the menu and shuffle things around. This game is great!
    Expand
  23. Jun 8, 2014
    8
    First impressions was not sure how this is gonna turn out because I hate the tv series and not fan of the films.. But I was impressed with this game, loved the story and the objectives you had to do, I thought the graphics were really good also. I think people should give this game a chance, this is also in my collection and is not going anywhere.
  24. Sep 7, 2013
    7
    This game has been way overly-bashed. I'm on my second play-through. Despite the rough edges from being rushed to market due to publishing and manufacturing deadlines, it's quite playable, and on the XB360 I suffered no freezes or major glitches. It's a real Star Trek type story with good voice acting and soundtrack.The guns are accurate, fun and diverse, and the tricorder is done great.This game has been way overly-bashed. I'm on my second play-through. Despite the rough edges from being rushed to market due to publishing and manufacturing deadlines, it's quite playable, and on the XB360 I suffered no freezes or major glitches. It's a real Star Trek type story with good voice acting and soundtrack.The guns are accurate, fun and diverse, and the tricorder is done great. The worst thing I noticed was probably the abruptly bad cut scene editing, a wonky space battle, and a couple of tricky flying sequences Way worth the $20 you can get it for now, especially if you really like Star Trek. If you don't like Star Trek you probably won't like it. Expand
  25. Apr 26, 2013
    7
    I swear this forum is full of 12 yr olds. Everyone complaining about the game, well not everyone. but the tone is full of bs and attacks. I have the game and have been playing for awhile now, is it the next greatest thing, no, but it is fun and has a very good Star Trek feel to it. I have no complaints in the graphics dept. the game has many good aspects to it and the story is decent. ItI swear this forum is full of 12 yr olds. Everyone complaining about the game, well not everyone. but the tone is full of bs and attacks. I have the game and have been playing for awhile now, is it the next greatest thing, no, but it is fun and has a very good Star Trek feel to it. I have no complaints in the graphics dept. the game has many good aspects to it and the story is decent. It has its bugs yes, but if you overlook them the game is a good deal of fun. The tricorder is a good fun tool. The scanning and research bits are a nice touch. And the lite RPGs aspects add some depth to the game. I don't know why all the bad reviews are flocking here, but if you are a true Star Trek fan there is a lot of fun to be had with the game. Expand
  26. Apr 25, 2013
    7
    Not meaning to sound rude but unlike most of the people here I've actually played the game and for an extended amount of time. This is a more fitting score. I have to admit what first was excitement over the possibility of a great new Trek game has dwindled since I've played it. Not that the game doesn't have it's share of good moments, but what plagues Star Trek is that it's just soNot meaning to sound rude but unlike most of the people here I've actually played the game and for an extended amount of time. This is a more fitting score. I have to admit what first was excitement over the possibility of a great new Trek game has dwindled since I've played it. Not that the game doesn't have it's share of good moments, but what plagues Star Trek is that it's just so average. Blend together the movement and cover scheme of Mass Effect, the detective mode of the Batman Arkham games, and the overall feel of The Darkness 2 and you get Star Trek. The gameplay just isn't that fresh and it's not that much fun or kinectic like it could have been. With all of that said it's passable. Environments are recycled through the same areas, and there isn't much variety to them. But developer Digital Extremes managed to put together the entire cast from the Abrams movie, each member makes the game a little better and gives off the Trek atmosphere, Kirk and Spock's banter is easily a highlight. Michael Giacchino from the movies steps in and provides some excellent music that just makes the atmosphere work, and that's the best thing about this game, is how much they tried to accommodate it to Abram's Trek. The story is fairly interesting, revolving around the Gorn with some nice references from the original series thrown in. At the end of the day you have a decent game that for Trek fans I'd recommend a rent. Expand
  27. Apr 26, 2013
    7
    The game is not perfect by any means, it has some very noticeable flaws, but overall is better than the sum of it's parts, if just barely. The graphics are sub-par, no not original Xbox bad, more like 2006 360 bad. The animations are not bad, but not exactly smooth, and the Friendly A.I. while doing a good job healing and taking orders, is not that helpful in combat. All that said, I'mThe game is not perfect by any means, it has some very noticeable flaws, but overall is better than the sum of it's parts, if just barely. The graphics are sub-par, no not original Xbox bad, more like 2006 360 bad. The animations are not bad, but not exactly smooth, and the Friendly A.I. while doing a good job healing and taking orders, is not that helpful in combat. All that said, I'm having fun with the game, the story has been great thus far, the shooting mechanics feel good with a solid variety of weapons. It does a great job capturing the feel and look of Star Trek, and putting you in the shoes of the characters.There was some work put into this game, perhaps on a limited budget, but it's there. It gets the big things right, maybe some of the little things wrong. Overall, I think it's going to depend on A: How much you like third person action games and B: How much you like Star Trek. Me personally I hold both in high regard, so I can overlook some of the flaws. If your the same go out and support this game, it's probably gonna need it. Expand
  28. Apr 30, 2013
    7
    Like most I was at first excited about the new Star Trek video game but quickly lost interest once reviews and quick looks started rolling in. Currently the game (360 version) has a 43/100 critic rating on MetaCritic and a 2.5/10 user score. Pretty bad. Despite knowing better, I rented the game from Red Box anyway. $2 a day isn't that bad, and if it turned out to be terrible I'd cut myLike most I was at first excited about the new Star Trek video game but quickly lost interest once reviews and quick looks started rolling in. Currently the game (360 version) has a 43/100 critic rating on MetaCritic and a 2.5/10 user score. Pretty bad. Despite knowing better, I rented the game from Red Box anyway. $2 a day isn't that bad, and if it turned out to be terrible I'd cut my losses early.

    I've invested $6 in the game so far (three days) and I have to say it's not as bad as I imagined it would be. I started out playing co-op with my girlfriend and the level design and gameplay is ugly right from the start. The game makes it very clunky to get into and out of cover and for someone who isn't well versed in video game mechanics is guaranteed to have a very difficult time early on. If that weren't bad enough, oftentimes the game will react in strange ways to your inputs. You can push to jump in one direction and your character will jump off a cliff to his death for no good reason.

    There's a sequence early on where you have to run as a series of explosions chases you. This is a point in the game where I really wanted to put down the controller and take the game back to Red Box. For some reason every time the game starts you off with the camera backward and your character facing in the wrong direction and you have to quickly reorient yourself and get running in the right direction or you'll die. This was more inconvenient than difficult for me as I quickly realized the game was trying to kill me. For my girlfriend, however, it was incredibly frustrating. When the game isn't being helpful at all it's much more difficult for someone who doesn't play video games often to get oriented and do what you're supposed to do. What's worse is doing what you're supposed to do can get you killed as often as not in this game because of bugs and bad design.

    I started playing solo after the first level (with AI controlling Spock) and for awhile this was less frustrating. Until I ran into climbing sequences where it's almost completely unpredictable where your character is going to jump even if you're pressing in the right direction. Several times Captain Kirk simply jumped to his death for no good reason. I guess I'd want to end it all too if I were stuck in this horrible game.

    Once the action picks up the game plays a little better. Of course I'm playing on easy so I can run and gun, because if I had to rely on the clunky cover system my blood pressure would rise even further than it already does while playing this game. There's a moderate variety of weapons you can pick up as you go, and it's satisfying to kill the Gorn enemies. As a Starfeet Captain you're "supposed" to 'set phasers to stun' when facing possessed human enemies, however I find it more enjoyable to simply kill them (not to mention easier). You can only fire off two "stun" shots before your weapon has to recharge and when you're facing a large number of enemies it's not practical to stun them all. Furthermore a stunned enemy only remains so for a few seconds and you have to run up to them and melee them to knock them out or they'll return to shooting at you. Interestingly the achievements reward you for getting X number of kills with each weapon, so again it's more beneficial to just kill everything.

    Like the movies, there's lots of lens flare here.

    One thing I like about playing with an AI partner is that you can have them perform all of the hacking and unlocking in the game. The mini-games are excessively long and get annoying so it's nice to just have Spock do everything for me. The co-op doors get incredibly annoying and boring, however. Why can't I just open the damn door?

    The game has been a decent experience so far. It would be nice to actually be able to pilot the Enterprise rather than just play a sort of Space Invaders game where you fend off attacking ships with the Enterprise's weapons. It's an okay section, but they could've done more with the Enterprise. There are several sections of the game that encourage stealth, however it's more of a pain in the ass to try to pass by stealthily than it is to simply kill the enemies. There's also an upgrade system where you can spend XP in order to improve certain equipment, but as far as I can tell the upgrades make barely any impact on gameplay and I've stopped bothering even opening the menu.

    Lastly, and probably least important, the names of the achievements in the game are lazy and this bothers me. "Beat Helios-1", "Beat New Vulcan"... They could've at least had better names for the story completion achievements. This has no impact on the game, it just really stood out to me.

    In the end I would say you should not purchase Star Trek at its retail $60 price tag. I wouldn't even recommend buying it used until it drops below $20. You're best off renting the game at Red Box and you could probably complete it in a night if you wanted.

    -avideogamelife.com
    Expand
  29. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    So far it is not bad. I find it to be very similar to James Bond Blood Stone. While it is a low budget movie game with rough graphics and was clearly rushed to beat theaters, it has a certain charm and it is clear that the developers do love the series.
  30. Apr 30, 2013
    7
    I enjoy the game. It is truly made for hard core trekkies, ready to look past the faults. The highlight of the game is 2 things: the story (I like the Gorn story) and the audio (voice and music). I love the soundtrack from Trek 2009 and its here. The cut scene graphics are not great, lots of artifacts. The in-game are fine, not out of this world, but no complaints. Is the game worthI enjoy the game. It is truly made for hard core trekkies, ready to look past the faults. The highlight of the game is 2 things: the story (I like the Gorn story) and the audio (voice and music). I love the soundtrack from Trek 2009 and its here. The cut scene graphics are not great, lots of artifacts. The in-game are fine, not out of this world, but no complaints. Is the game worth $60, no. The most is $40. Because I am a huge fan of Star Trek, they got my $60. I consider it a partial donation to keep Trek rolling for the future, even if they can't make a perfect game. Amazing that it supposedly took 3yrs to make this game. If you are a Trek fan, get it, maybe wait for the price to go down or catch it used. I have no regrets getting it, even at full price. Live long and prosper. Expand
Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 42
  2. Negative: 33 out of 42
  1. Jul 22, 2013
    30
    Throughout its run-time, which seems like an eternity (though likely isn’t), Star Trek is a consistently underwhelming and frequently frustrating experience; it’s mostly ugly, it plays alright and does little of interest with a great license.
  2. Jun 12, 2013
    35
    Star Trek: The Video Game is almost a fun, harmless game about cool characters shooting lizard men, but never rises above what you’d expect a licensed tie-in to be.
  3. May 31, 2013
    30
    A shoddy job - no laurels! Even Captain Kirk and Spock know that. In all respects Star Trek: The Video Game is a very bad game.