User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 232 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 232

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    This is my favorite game in all of Xbox 360 arcade library. The gameplay is hard as nails, but the controls never make it unfair. Simply because the controls are so crisp. You're always in control, you make a small mistake, you're gonna feel it. Gamers that look for a challenge, this is it. It's the one game I'm truly proud of having 100% completed. It's gonna take time and tears, butThis is my favorite game in all of Xbox 360 arcade library. The gameplay is hard as nails, but the controls never make it unfair. Simply because the controls are so crisp. You're always in control, you make a small mistake, you're gonna feel it. Gamers that look for a challenge, this is it. It's the one game I'm truly proud of having 100% completed. It's gonna take time and tears, but stick with it and you're gonna have a blast. Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2014
    9
    Literally took me just over a year to beat. Not because it has that much content, but because it's so challenging that I kept having to take extended breaks from it in fear of returning to the glory days of gaming where I snapped controllers in half or threw them at my TV because the game did not give a **** about my skill level, I either achieved what it was demanding of me or I did notLiterally took me just over a year to beat. Not because it has that much content, but because it's so challenging that I kept having to take extended breaks from it in fear of returning to the glory days of gaming where I snapped controllers in half or threw them at my TV because the game did not give a **** about my skill level, I either achieved what it was demanding of me or I did not see the next level. When I finally got 200/200 achievement points, I took a screenshot and put it in a super-important section of my email, as a permanent trophy of the frustration I endured in order to get a useless trophy. It's a video-game pride thing.

    I do kind of wish we had more of these games, because it reminds me a lot of the early days of gaming, but I also realize why we don't have a lot of them. It's just too punishing to be a sustainable business model, but damn, did I ever love this game while it was making fun of me for being unable to eat bricks.

    Only real issue was playing with that crummy 360 dpad. If this were playable with a SNES or PS controller, it'd be a sublimely infuriating 10/10.
    Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    The game is plainly incredible. The humor and annoyingly hard gameplay is enough to keep you hooked for hours. While some people dislike the game for being too difficult and having hard, short levels, this works for and not against Meat Boy. This game is mean to you, but this makes you want to fight back. After completing the game, getting A+'s and finding all the bandages, the dark world,The game is plainly incredible. The humor and annoyingly hard gameplay is enough to keep you hooked for hours. While some people dislike the game for being too difficult and having hard, short levels, this works for and not against Meat Boy. This game is mean to you, but this makes you want to fight back. After completing the game, getting A+'s and finding all the bandages, the dark world, cotton alley, and then doing speedruns, I still wanted to play more. That's a great testament to why this game is incredible. Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    Heard about this game from watching a drunken let's play done by Clementj642 on Youtube. The game looked pretty fun and such and I decided to check out the demo. I enjoyed the demo enough to buy myself the game. After having a fun time through the first 2 worlds I got stuck on the 3rd one, lol. I quit the game for a few months until one of my best friends sent me a copy of the game on pcHeard about this game from watching a drunken let's play done by Clementj642 on Youtube. The game looked pretty fun and such and I decided to check out the demo. I enjoyed the demo enough to buy myself the game. After having a fun time through the first 2 worlds I got stuck on the 3rd one, lol. I quit the game for a few months until one of my best friends sent me a copy of the game on pc (always a sweetheart). I played the game on the pc and I found the same enjoyment as before and much much more. The more I played the game the more I loved it. The gameplay is very nice and all the characters move very fluently. Most of all in the game I believe I love the sense of accomplishment whenever I finish a very tough level for the first time. The game is very difficult but with enough practice anyone can beat any of the levels in it. The game brings a wonderful enjoyment to the player when it comes to completing a level and the soundtrack adds more enjoyment in my book. It's a game I can recommend to anyone looking for a challenge or a fun platformer. Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    Just An Amazing platformer that really pushes you to use your mind and think about how to stop the pointy objects hitting you in the face and spewing all your meaty goodness around the room, 10/10 would bang
  6. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    Oh My GOD! This game is probably the hardest and most addicting game ever. I said next death over and over for 3 hours until I was able to pull myself away! This Game is both clever and difficult. When I say difficult, I mean reserved for true gamers only. If you think you can rise up to the challenge and not get addicted, (Well you are wrong) buy this game now.
  7. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    Great mini game it has a lot of levels and you can find your self spending endless amount of time playing this game it is great and its only 1600 Microsoft points I would recommend this game to anyone its a different type of game that you may find yourself enjoying
  8. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Honestly, I love this game. Why? Because it's not a Mario. You're not strictly limited to a single path. You're not restricted to a given amount of lives. The power-ups are replaced by extra characters being cameos from other popular retro-style series like Castle Crashers, Alien Hominid, and Bit.Trip Runner. The level design is infuriatingly difficult, yet it never borders on impossible. The buttery controls are really annoying at times, but I guess that's how it was meant to be. All in all, if you're a fan of those tough-as-nails platformers like I Wanna Be the Guy or N+, this should be the next game to add to your library. That is, if you don't already have it. Expand
  9. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    There's only 1 word that perfectly describes this game. SICK. The level design is sick, the difficulty is sick, the art is sick. It's absolutely awesome! There is so much to unlock and find in this game, it's truly unbelievable. Hundreds of levels and hours and hours of fun. Yes, there are times where you're tearing your hair out because it's so difficult.. BUT THAT'S THE FUN OF IT! IfThere's only 1 word that perfectly describes this game. SICK. The level design is sick, the difficulty is sick, the art is sick. It's absolutely awesome! There is so much to unlock and find in this game, it's truly unbelievable. Hundreds of levels and hours and hours of fun. Yes, there are times where you're tearing your hair out because it's so difficult.. BUT THAT'S THE FUN OF IT! If you're not good at platformers or prefer hand holding, this game is NOT for you. It requires practice and patience, skills which a lot of people these days don't have. The rest of you, enjoy! 10 out of 10! Expand
  10. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This game made me want to cry at one point... I can say nothing but tight controls, great music, and great replay ability. Although this is lacking in a review sense, there is really nothing to say about the game other than it is fantastic, but it can be too hard at some points. I would give the game a 9.5, but since i can only give whole numbers, I'll give team meat the benefit on thisThis game made me want to cry at one point... I can say nothing but tight controls, great music, and great replay ability. Although this is lacking in a review sense, there is really nothing to say about the game other than it is fantastic, but it can be too hard at some points. I would give the game a 9.5, but since i can only give whole numbers, I'll give team meat the benefit on this one, great job guys. Expand
  11. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    If you seek a feeling of accomplishment in your life, finishing this game will certainly do that for you. Super Meat Boy is an excellent platformer that really punishes you for making a mistake but rewards perfection. Most levels in Super Meat Boy are less than 30 seconds long, but some of them will take you hours and will have you crying out in anger. Once you've done a level you getIf you seek a feeling of accomplishment in your life, finishing this game will certainly do that for you. Super Meat Boy is an excellent platformer that really punishes you for making a mistake but rewards perfection. Most levels in Super Meat Boy are less than 30 seconds long, but some of them will take you hours and will have you crying out in anger. Once you've done a level you get to sit back and watch the replay of all your miserable attempts at once. The main game it's self is fairly big as it is, and the last boss is a real killer, but once you manage to finish it you'll still have the dark world levels (which is just as big, but a little harder), plenty of bandages to get and also a few warp zones which send you into early adaptations of Super Meat Boy like 8 bit, which are great little throw backs for any retro game lovers. Easily the best title on XBLA. Expand
  12. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    For what it is and what it attempts to be, this game is perfect. Never will you complain about it being too short or too easy, which are common issues with recent games. If you are looking for a highly challenging plat-former, here it is. I personally haven't completed this game and doubt I ever will, but I'm not going to be childish and lower my score because of that. Games should beFor what it is and what it attempts to be, this game is perfect. Never will you complain about it being too short or too easy, which are common issues with recent games. If you are looking for a highly challenging plat-former, here it is. I personally haven't completed this game and doubt I ever will, but I'm not going to be childish and lower my score because of that. Games should be difficult, otherwise there would be no learning curve. Expand
  13. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Truly a fantastic 2D platformer and a great game. Whoever says that the controls in this game are bad have no idea what they are talking about. These are some of the best controls I have ever seen. The fact that you can maneuver Meat Boy with such ease shows that, when you die, it's not the game's fault, it's the players. The music in this game is also stupendous. It sets the hardcore moodTruly a fantastic 2D platformer and a great game. Whoever says that the controls in this game are bad have no idea what they are talking about. These are some of the best controls I have ever seen. The fact that you can maneuver Meat Boy with such ease shows that, when you die, it's not the game's fault, it's the players. The music in this game is also stupendous. It sets the hardcore mood really nicely and the stunning visuals help as well. The only drawback in this game is that it gets a little repetitive and that it is mostly due to it's insane difficulty. I'm all for hard games, but the end stages of this game in Dark World are almost impossible and sometimes you just feel like giving up. Expand
  14. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    Super Meat Boy is a brilliant collective of nostalgia and a this-gen, independent, superclass. Whilst the simile idea of frustration may throw people off, it is still a game that I recommend everyone plays, even if that is simply playing the previous version on Newgrounds, it is still worth it. Obviously though there are huge differences between the two versions, for one, the Xbox versionSuper Meat Boy is a brilliant collective of nostalgia and a this-gen, independent, superclass. Whilst the simile idea of frustration may throw people off, it is still a game that I recommend everyone plays, even if that is simply playing the previous version on Newgrounds, it is still worth it. Obviously though there are huge differences between the two versions, for one, the Xbox version is ten times better. evidently realism lacks because it is simply a cube of meat fighting a fetus for pink **** so donâ Expand
  15. Oct 14, 2011
    9
    If you ever played Mario, Sonic, Mega man or any of the sega/nintendo machine classic platformers, you will love this game. It's a throw back to those retro classics, with multiple nods to the past games that obviously inspired it. The cut scenes are charmingly funny with a little bit of an edge. Possibly the best platform game this gen. Difficulty level really raises in later levels andIf you ever played Mario, Sonic, Mega man or any of the sega/nintendo machine classic platformers, you will love this game. It's a throw back to those retro classics, with multiple nods to the past games that obviously inspired it. The cut scenes are charmingly funny with a little bit of an edge. Possibly the best platform game this gen. Difficulty level really raises in later levels and presents a difficult challenge for hardcore gamers. A Great Game on XBLA, Highly recommended to any platformer fan. Expand
  16. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    I'll keep it short and sweet. This game is a solid 10. I originally played the demo and thought no thanks on the purchase. I waited about a year and was feening for some old school 2D games... SMB I tried. This game has the best controls... some reviews say otherwise. I find that funny... because if you happen to beat this game and get good enough to pass some of the challenging levelsI'll keep it short and sweet. This game is a solid 10. I originally played the demo and thought no thanks on the purchase. I waited about a year and was feening for some old school 2D games... SMB I tried. This game has the best controls... some reviews say otherwise. I find that funny... because if you happen to beat this game and get good enough to pass some of the challenging levels you'll notice first and foremost how incredibly detailed the play mechanics are... as the moves needed are precise.

    I don't claim to be an elite gamer... I did beat the game... and when I got to play as BandAid Girl I never completed her world because it was too hard. I also was unable to beat the dark world for the final level. The only character that I gave up on trying to get was The Kid... I think "The Kid" levels, only playing the first level are beyond impossible.... and if you've gotten past this, you are a savant.

    I thought I was getting old because I lost interest in games... after discovery Team Meat and McMillen I have the same feeling I got when I played old school consoles.

    The unlockables are fanastic, and the old school throwbacks (i.e. Gameboy levels) are top notch. This game opened me up to a bunch of Indie Games I never heard of and I thank you SMB for doing so.
    Collapse
  17. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    Incredibility hard to master and absolutely fun to play.
    I recommend this game to everyone to at least trial if not buy!
    9/10 is a high score but it's one of the rare games that i couldn't put down and i kept coming back to months after i had finished it.
    After a 2D old school fun game then give it a go!
  18. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    Cheap price, genius level design, and loads upon loads of content. This is the most fun I have had with any current gen game, including every triple a title to date. It is fairly challenging yet you never feel like you are being cheated when you fail since the controls are so incredibly precise. This is the ultimate platform gamers game and would have without a doubt been considered aCheap price, genius level design, and loads upon loads of content. This is the most fun I have had with any current gen game, including every triple a title to date. It is fairly challenging yet you never feel like you are being cheated when you fail since the controls are so incredibly precise. This is the ultimate platform gamers game and would have without a doubt been considered a classic were it released in the 16 bit era. There will not be another so don't wait around for the sequel. This game is a masterpiece and Team Meat has decided that there is nothing they could think of changing. They also said that if any new meat boy game content is released, it will come in the form of DLC and be absolutely free! Expand
  19. Jul 25, 2011
    9
    Frustrated , but super fun, the persistence is the first word that come in mind. Super Meat Boy is the new Mario , but macabre and stylish , every level makes a challenging work to rescue your girlfriend. And the sloppy , and uncontrollable controls will make you die dozens of time, but be patience and tolerable.
  20. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Super Meat Boy is a rare gem. Its a huge blissfully creative, perfectly made, incredibly tight game. Not only that, but its cheep and constantly has updates coming out making it even greater. Its a game that could have only come in this time and place in gaming history, seeing at it was made by only two people and was made to only be sold online. At first the controls seem overlySuper Meat Boy is a rare gem. Its a huge blissfully creative, perfectly made, incredibly tight game. Not only that, but its cheep and constantly has updates coming out making it even greater. Its a game that could have only come in this time and place in gaming history, seeing at it was made by only two people and was made to only be sold online. At first the controls seem overly simple, other than the control stick, theres only a run and jump button. However, you find all sorts of moves that are possible with experimentation and this is what makes the game great. It evolves along with you. This along with the crazy difficulty and super quick level designs creates a unique and interesting platformer experience the likes of which us gamers having seen in years. Expand
  21. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    Super Meat Boy is an infuriatingly addictive platformer that has buckets of charm. Team Meat did a great job in making the game difficult but also encouraging players to keep going to finish just one more level or two. Controls are simplistic but perfect. The sheer volume of levels and characters give this game plenty of replay value.
  22. Mar 7, 2011
    10
    Super Meat Boy is a great continuation of the two game flash series that I thoroughly enjoyed. Brutal levels are quickly made less frustrating due to fast load times, and soon opens itself into a fun and zany game. Featuring leader-boards, collectible items, ingenious level design, awesome music, and a wide array of characters, Meat Boy is an amazing game that can only be hated for it'Super Meat Boy is a great continuation of the two game flash series that I thoroughly enjoyed. Brutal levels are quickly made less frustrating due to fast load times, and soon opens itself into a fun and zany game. Featuring leader-boards, collectible items, ingenious level design, awesome music, and a wide array of characters, Meat Boy is an amazing game that can only be hated for it' blistering difficulty. Expand
  23. Feb 2, 2011
    9
    This game intrigued me due to its difficulty. I thought I should test this games difficulty since many fail at balancing it. But after several hundred deaths, I still felt like I could make that seemingly impossible jump. This game ramps up difficulty at an alarming pace and doesn't stop there, as it gives you a additional chapter, and a chapter full of user-created hard levels that areThis game intrigued me due to its difficulty. I thought I should test this games difficulty since many fail at balancing it. But after several hundred deaths, I still felt like I could make that seemingly impossible jump. This game ramps up difficulty at an alarming pace and doesn't stop there, as it gives you a additional chapter, and a chapter full of user-created hard levels that are constantly updated, and the upcoming Super Meat World chapter, they just don't stop giving us levels. Despite the abnormally high amount of tough-as-bones levels (over 300!!!), it still gives us that pushing feeling that we have enough lives (unlimited) to perfect that impossible jump, run, wall jump, or missile dodge that keeps resetting us back to the start with no pause or loading. This game is for those who are looking for a challenge in their game, and not for gamers who like to enjoy a game peacefully, because you will attempt to break the remote at trying to make that !@#$ jump! That stupid jump! ARGGGGG!!!!!!! Anyways, you should check out the game if you look for a challenge. Expand
  24. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    A wholly charming, clever, and humorous labor of love that has more than its fair share of nods to retro gaming such as the Game Boy and Atari inspired warp zone levels and parodies of classic gaming intros like Castlevania (even the title's abbreviations, SMB, match those of Super Mario Bros.'). The level design, music, art aesthetics and amount of levels (300+) are true crowd pleasers asA wholly charming, clever, and humorous labor of love that has more than its fair share of nods to retro gaming such as the Game Boy and Atari inspired warp zone levels and parodies of classic gaming intros like Castlevania (even the title's abbreviations, SMB, match those of Super Mario Bros.'). The level design, music, art aesthetics and amount of levels (300+) are true crowd pleasers as is the near perfect controls and number of bonus items, such as hidden bandages, characters, warp zones and Dark World stages that you unlock from besting the "par time" on each level. Simply put, this game has enough to keep you busy for awhile. Furthermore, for a game that's so silly in style the last few levels feel completely epic and upon completion leave you with a sense of accomplishment that few games on the market provide. Speaking of accomplishment, yes this game is incredibly difficult, but the stages are short enough and creatively designed that you'll nail even the more daunting encounters given some patience and practice, something that couldn't be said about the similarly styled N+ (side bar: I died around 4,000 times by the time I finished the dark world and still love this title). The only things that keep this from being a 10/10 are a few, minor nitpicky things. Notably, it would be nice to have a button that cancels your wall slide and another that stops your horizontal movement through the air as fidgeting the control pad left-to-right in order to land perfectly can be infuriatingly awkward. Additionally, while the level design is mostly spot-on a handful of levels are simply way too difficult and demand absolute perfection with literally zero margin for error, such as The Kid warp zone. Though, like I said those are only VERY minor complaints and overall this is easily one of the best titles on the Xbox 360, not just XBLA. If you love platforming games, retro-style entertainment and welcome a change-of-pace punishing difficulty then this is a definitive must-buy title. Expand
  25. DME
    Jan 12, 2011
    10
    [MILD SPOILERS] Okay... so you play as a raw, bleeding cube of meat that is trying to rescue a female cube of bandages that was kidnapped by a fetus in a jar wearing a tuxedo... You can see how serious this game is. The levels are short, which is good because you will be consistantly spilling your juices all over the place and having to start over. The game manages to be retro 80s[MILD SPOILERS] Okay... so you play as a raw, bleeding cube of meat that is trying to rescue a female cube of bandages that was kidnapped by a fetus in a jar wearing a tuxedo... You can see how serious this game is. The levels are short, which is good because you will be consistantly spilling your juices all over the place and having to start over. The game manages to be retro 80s challenging whithout being rediculously impossible. And besides the standard challenges, there are cool bosses, hidden minigames (warp zones) unlockable characters (I love you Gish!) and an entire "dark world" which is the same game you just played only modified to be even more challenging. The game is also filled with hilarious cutscenes (don't you DARE skip them!) and contains other elements of humor. Also, let me say that this game is nothing like "I Wanna Be The Guy". In games like IWBTG, memorization is the key to winning. But in Super Meat Boy, the key to winning is straightforward skill. If you can't win, it's YOUR fault. (like the game N+) Simple as that. So... uhh.... I love meat. Expand
  26. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    dont listen to the moronswho gave this game low scores because of the controls. the controls are spot on! if you die its your fault, simple as that. and i read some guy said it has poor level design.......... thats crazy. the levels are fun, interesting and fast paced. you constantly get better at the game whilst playing, and this increase in skill is so satisfying. you feel like you aredont listen to the moronswho gave this game low scores because of the controls. the controls are spot on! if you die its your fault, simple as that. and i read some guy said it has poor level design.......... thats crazy. the levels are fun, interesting and fast paced. you constantly get better at the game whilst playing, and this increase in skill is so satisfying. you feel like you are getting better in such a short period of time. i played this game with my girlfriend, who isnt exactly good at games, and she went from sucking to being a decent player in about half an hour. the pacing of the game is so fast, and the time flies by so quickly that its impossible to call this a bad/mediocre game. ive got it for pc and xbox, its that good!!! mainly due to it being £3 in the stam sale, but still, its an amazing game. Expand
  27. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    First of all, you should not compare this game with "I wanna be the guy". Of course, they are both really hard, but in a different way. In "I wanna be the guy" you have to know what happens next, but in Super Meat Boy you have to play, fail and replay. Enough of that !
    The game did not really surprise me, because I knew from the first time I've seen the trailer, that this game is going to
    First of all, you should not compare this game with "I wanna be the guy". Of course, they are both really hard, but in a different way. In "I wanna be the guy" you have to know what happens next, but in Super Meat Boy you have to play, fail and replay. Enough of that !
    The game did not really surprise me, because I knew from the first time I've seen the trailer, that this game is going to be awesome and it did not disappoint me. This game has a perfect control. You think, that you have the complete control of Meat Boy and the way he moves is so perfect. As you all may know the stages are mostly very, very hard and in the Darkworld they are even harder. You can unlock new characters to play, too. It will take a long time to totally beat this game, but it is worth it ! Oh, and it's very funny, too.
    Expand
  28. Jan 10, 2011
    10
    There are few games, for a 30-something like me, that make me feel like a child again, playing games with joyful abandon. This is one of the very few I have encountered, and its purist gameplay makes a finely tuned game. The difficulty is just right for seasoned platformers, and there's much replay value to be had. I couldn't recommend this highly enough.
  29. Dec 28, 2010
    10
    No one can really comprehend how much I love-hate this game right now. Developed by a group of indie developers who call themselves Team Meat, SMB is becoming known as one of the hardest and well made platformers in existence. With witty humor, a huge community following, enticing boss battles, and amazingly designed levels; itâ
  30. Dec 28, 2010
    10
    This games amazingly accurate controls make sure that when you fail (and you will) you can only blame yourself from it. The music in this game is amazing, and the story is the best i have seen in an indie game. Recommended for people who don´t know the words "impossible" and "frustration". This game is something everyone should buy, it only cots you $10, and you will getThis games amazingly accurate controls make sure that when you fail (and you will) you can only blame yourself from it. The music in this game is amazing, and the story is the best i have seen in an indie game. Recommended for people who don´t know the words "impossible" and "frustration". This game is something everyone should buy, it only cots you $10, and you will get minimum of 20 hours of fun (and frustration) from it, and PC version will even get a level editor! Expand
  31. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    Truly a refreshing sight for sore eyes. In a world where multiplayer shooters have for some reason taken over, platformers have lost the attributes that true gamers love and that made them great to begin with. Increasingly difficult gameplay, unique setting and challenges, and replay value seem to be appearing less and less on consoles aside from the Wii(Donkey Kong Country Returns, NewTruly a refreshing sight for sore eyes. In a world where multiplayer shooters have for some reason taken over, platformers have lost the attributes that true gamers love and that made them great to begin with. Increasingly difficult gameplay, unique setting and challenges, and replay value seem to be appearing less and less on consoles aside from the Wii(Donkey Kong Country Returns, New Super Mario Bros, Super Mario Galaxy 2), but Super Meat Boy brings these things onto the Xbox 360. With a plethora of challenging levels, video replay features that display all your attempts at once, a quirky and very fun story line with great characters, and so much to do will have you hooked to this game. Now, this is not for the faint of heart and those who easily quit, or are willing to blame the controls or difficulty of the game. Super Meat Boy is for the gamer with more than a touch of skill, patience, and a bit of masochism to get through the thousands of deaths one encounters on the journey to save Bandage girl. With a group of characters from various indie games, all with unique abilities, Super Meat Boy offers over 300 levels that will take a high degree of patience and timing to get the sought after 100% completion achievement. Expand
  32. Dec 18, 2010
    9
    Been playing this game for a while now, while it pays homage to its predecessors of the platform genre it ramps up the difficulty and incases it in digestable levels that dont tend to be overly long, with the sense of accomplishment after you beat a level you were struggling on being all the satisfaction you need. After the first 2- 3 worlds helping to ease you in to the games brutalBeen playing this game for a while now, while it pays homage to its predecessors of the platform genre it ramps up the difficulty and incases it in digestable levels that dont tend to be overly long, with the sense of accomplishment after you beat a level you were struggling on being all the satisfaction you need. After the first 2- 3 worlds helping to ease you in to the games brutal learning curve things begin to get a little tougher in the aptly named 'HELL' and it just keeps getting harder from there, but youll just keep coming back for one more go with a 'I can do it THIS time' mentality not unlike a boxer that just got knocked out in his last 4 fights, and beaten to within an inch of his life but for a reason no one can fathom He MUST get back in the ring. One of the best and most difficult platformers I've had the pleasure of playing a great indie game with more than 300 levels to keep you going for a long time. Recommended. Expand
  33. Dec 13, 2010
    9
    This game is amazing! The controls are perfect (once you get used to them), the level variety is great, it never feels repetitive, there is plenty of content, and there is leaderboards for each level. Add in free DLC - some already here, some still coming - and it's a 9 from me
  34. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    Wow, this game is freaking awesome. It's so charming and hilarious. If you don't laugh watching one of these cutscenes, you have no soul. Super Meat Boy is unpredictable, it's challenging, but best of all, it's deep. Over 300 levels, stuff to collect, characters to unlock, and going all the way through everything will test your skill and patience. This is one of the best games to releaseWow, this game is freaking awesome. It's so charming and hilarious. If you don't laugh watching one of these cutscenes, you have no soul. Super Meat Boy is unpredictable, it's challenging, but best of all, it's deep. Over 300 levels, stuff to collect, characters to unlock, and going all the way through everything will test your skill and patience. This is one of the best games to release all year, and is right up there with Limbo. It's so difficult at times that it makes Limbo look easy. There is constantly something to strive for while playing this game and that's part of what makes it so fun. There are bandages to collect which contribute to achievements and hidden character unlocks, warp zones in some levels for more retro-inspired challenge, par times to beat for every level (except boss fights) which unlocks a harder, Dark World version of the level with more bandage, warp zones, etc. to go after. Sometimes the level even "glitches" at random and if you complete it while that happens you go to a different, much more difficult world which is reminiscent to "Minus World" in Super Mario Bros.

    Constant nods to past classic games and great indie developer humor coupled with tons of fun characters to unlock makes this game a hell of a lot of fun. The characters have different abilities too. Commander Video from Bit.Trip.Video can glide through the air while Tim from Braid can rewind time for three seconds. There are so many levels to play and so many ways to play through them with a large variety of characters to unlock, Super Meat Boy is packed with charm and challenge.
    Expand
  35. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Super meat boy is F#%*!#G hard but somehow manages to be lots of fun, while it's on offer I would recommend picking it up. (because it's probably not worth the full price of 1200 points)
  36. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    I thought the best platformers were super mario games on the NES.
    Super Meat Boy usurps the throne! This game is pure platforming crack! Earned unlockable cameo indy game stars, equipped with there own stats & useful abilities. I don't think I have ever played a game that tested my skill to this degree. Aside from the Ninja Gaiden Series & Demon's Souls. I have played games since I was a
    I thought the best platformers were super mario games on the NES.
    Super Meat Boy usurps the throne! This game is pure platforming crack! Earned unlockable cameo indy game stars, equipped with there own stats & useful abilities. I don't think I have ever played a game that tested my skill to this degree. Aside from the Ninja Gaiden Series & Demon's Souls. I have played games since I was a child in the golden age of super jump games & Super Meat Boy shatters my platforming perception.

    If you'd like to compare leader boards xbl- killacorleone33
    Expand
  37. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Great game, brings me back to a simple time. A time where games kicked your a** and then taunted you with it. SMB however is a game using old school beating your a**, but has no real punishment and even makes it a source of entertainment with the replay mechanic. The levels a fiendish and the controls are responsive, the visual style and sound is great with the theme and i can't findGreat game, brings me back to a simple time. A time where games kicked your a** and then taunted you with it. SMB however is a game using old school beating your a**, but has no real punishment and even makes it a source of entertainment with the replay mechanic. The levels a fiendish and the controls are responsive, the visual style and sound is great with the theme and i can't find anything wrong with it. Expand
  38. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    Downloadable games are getting so good, and this is a very good one out of THAT crop. I was very surprised to not only get a good game (this much I expected) but to also get a very well written story that is also well told. The mechanics are easeir than I expected after reading some reviews...I guess they are the type of controls that some take to and some do not, but I am not seeing theDownloadable games are getting so good, and this is a very good one out of THAT crop. I was very surprised to not only get a good game (this much I expected) but to also get a very well written story that is also well told. The mechanics are easeir than I expected after reading some reviews...I guess they are the type of controls that some take to and some do not, but I am not seeing the issue with clunky controls that some have mentioned. Fun is key here, this game will entertain you for hours on end. Who knew super meat was so super? Expand
  39. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    SMB is a jewel of the current gaming generation. I have not played a game like this before, first thing I want to comment on are the controls, It sure seems Team MeatBoy spent quite some time tweaking the controls, its a perfect connection between the mind and control. The graphics for me are charming as it best, from Atari to NES and the normal level design, It has really gotten meSMB is a jewel of the current gaming generation. I have not played a game like this before, first thing I want to comment on are the controls, It sure seems Team MeatBoy spent quite some time tweaking the controls, its a perfect connection between the mind and control. The graphics for me are charming as it best, from Atari to NES and the normal level design, It has really gotten me nostalgic. Yes, ITS HARD, but I like it that way, nailing a perfect run on a stage that minutes before seemed like the end of my SMB gaming days always boosts me up to go foward! An inside out boy, a girlfriend made of bandages and an evil fetus in a jar + lots of character's from other indie games, downloadable levels to never ever be able to fully drop the game. For me, probably one of the best games I have played this year, overall, not just XBOX Live...OVERALL I SAID. Forgot something...The music...makes me want to run around my room...chiptune madness. I would have given this a 9.8 it it was possible, for a missing feature...a music box or something to listen to the songs I desire (like the boss fights, awesome). If my review has not convinced you this is your best 15 bucks you want to spend right now on gaming, well guess what? its 10 bucks till the end of October...why are you not running to buy this already? Expand
  40. Oct 28, 2010
    9
    Honestly as pretty and fun as it is, it can be painfully frustrating. Super Meat Boy steadily rises in difficulty from easy to absurd. The game will stress you out, make your hands sweat and drive you crazy. However you feel rewarded constantly. Whether its beating every single level, beating them AGAIN in the dark world (same map layout, twice the traps) or unlocking all the characters,Honestly as pretty and fun as it is, it can be painfully frustrating. Super Meat Boy steadily rises in difficulty from easy to absurd. The game will stress you out, make your hands sweat and drive you crazy. However you feel rewarded constantly. Whether its beating every single level, beating them AGAIN in the dark world (same map layout, twice the traps) or unlocking all the characters, you will find it hard to put down. Great game, if not for the sheer absurdity of some levels and boss fights, it'd be the perfect platformer. Expand
  41. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Registered just to review this game, that is how strongly I feel about it. Though it launched with a few bugs (likely the result of Team Meat being so small) that affect the leader boards and occasionally the auto save, the rest of the game is polished as hell. The level design is varied and consistently inventive and continually challenges you and keeps you on your toes. The "Aha!" factorRegistered just to review this game, that is how strongly I feel about it. Though it launched with a few bugs (likely the result of Team Meat being so small) that affect the leader boards and occasionally the auto save, the rest of the game is polished as hell. The level design is varied and consistently inventive and continually challenges you and keeps you on your toes. The "Aha!" factor is HUGE here, and it makes playing the game constantly rewarding. At the same time, Team Meat must clearly be sadists. I rarely got truly angry at the difficulty though. There were plenty of times where I would die in a ridiculous manner that had clearly been predicted and I would just end up laughing at the insanity of it all. The music has been praised in nearly every review I've seen, and it deserves every bit of the accolades it receives. The decision not to restart a track every time you die was absolutely key as well (as you will die. a lot. no, really. Especially in warp zone 5-7). The controls are tight and responsive, but also take some getting used to, and I have seen reviews that unfairly criticize this aspect of them. They also vary drastically by the character you choose to play with (and the unlockable aspect of the game is a joy as well, especially considering that Tim from Braid shows up!)

    Along with the stellar Braid and Limbo, this is an absolute must have off of the Xbox Live Arcade, and is exactly the kind of quality experience I am looking for in a game that I buy from that venue. While I would recommend Braid and Limbo pretty much without reservation, this game certainly isn't going to be fun for anyone who doesn't enjoy a challenge. But for those who are looking to test their chops and have a hell of a good time doing it, pick this up today - especially considering that it is only $10 until the end of October! At that price this is an absolute steal. It is beyond addictive in a way that few games have been recently, in my experience at least. It's 3 am as I write this, and all I want to do is load it up and play another couple levels.
    Expand
  42. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    Super Meat Boy is delightfully frustrating, surprisingly deep, charming, and very addictive. 1 point off for some serious frustration, but this game will dig it's meaty claws into you which will have you itching to complete just 1 more level with an A+ ranking and collect that last band aid.
  43. Oct 25, 2010
    9
    I know it's coming straight from the Gamespot review, but they're right. This game is about reward. The warm, fuzzy feeling you get when you barely snag a bandage, bypass a impossible obstacle, and save the girl cannot be beat. Controls are tight and fluid while bypassing saw blades and jumping over pits of lava, and if you get torn to shreds, it's because YOU messed up. Not because ofI know it's coming straight from the Gamespot review, but they're right. This game is about reward. The warm, fuzzy feeling you get when you barely snag a bandage, bypass a impossible obstacle, and save the girl cannot be beat. Controls are tight and fluid while bypassing saw blades and jumping over pits of lava, and if you get torn to shreds, it's because YOU messed up. Not because of unfair level design, because you timed a jump wrong or miscalculated distance. Overall, it's one of the best $10 you can spend, and with a huge amount of content and fun, there's really no reason not to. Expand
  44. Oct 24, 2010
    10
    Like N+ but way better. Much more sense of humour, better controls and different and varied characters to unlock. It may not be easy but this a difficult game to get bored with.
  45. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    At first: It's a 2D jump-n'-run and you have to rescue/reach the princess at the end of each short level (I don't have to say she gets kidnapped over and over again, do I?) You have to avoid obstacles (it introduces new ones regularly), glide down walls and use the terrain for your advantage like in hundreds of other games. Simple graphics, no real innovations, unforgiving as hell andAt first: It's a 2D jump-n'-run and you have to rescue/reach the princess at the end of each short level (I don't have to say she gets kidnapped over and over again, do I?) You have to avoid obstacles (it introduces new ones regularly), glide down walls and use the terrain for your advantage like in hundreds of other games. Simple graphics, no real innovations, unforgiving as hell and without any big storyline. Nevertheless nearly everybody loves this game. You wonder why? Well I'll tell you - the graphics are simple but stylish and fitting. It puts every scene in a special mood and when meatboy glides down the wall leaving a blood trail behind - nobody would say it looks awful. But yes you will die. You will die a lot. Maybe more often then in any other game. But you'll hardly get frustrated 'cause it's never the games' fault. Thanks to the great controls you know it were just you making a little mistake. And you'll revive instantly at the starting-point anyway (yep, no checkpoints at all). Furthermore each try will be saved and shown in the replay,too. Every one at once - nothing is more satisfying than seeing dozens of meatboys die and one jumping through in a amazing speed without hitting anything. It's like "dude you totally made it! Hell yeah!". You'll often be surprised how short the levels are (around 30 seconds) but with a content of over 300 maps, bonus stages and warp zones (hidden portals with some challenging extra-maps) dark worlds and the unlock-able characters (by collecting bandages placed on masochistic locations on several levels and finishing warp zones) you have tons to do and it's hard to get bored. On top of that you're able to implement Maps made by the community with the editor. In easy words: Download usermade maps from the Internet. It's one of the best plattformers of the last years but also it's an hate-or-love thing. Whether you get instantly addicted for hours and hours or you bite frustrated in your controller and try to burn your HDD out of your xbox. I strongly recommend buying - yep, there's a chance you'll regret it but the risk of missing an awesome piece of game is much higher. Expand
  46. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    Super Meat Boy is a perfectly designed arcade platformer which is so well-thought-out that there is little space for frustration. The controls are easy to learn and all the levels are precisely designed. It's true that most of the levels require several retries and that you could have a hard time if you never played one of those old-school arcade games like mario 3 or megaman 2, but that'sSuper Meat Boy is a perfectly designed arcade platformer which is so well-thought-out that there is little space for frustration. The controls are easy to learn and all the levels are precisely designed. It's true that most of the levels require several retries and that you could have a hard time if you never played one of those old-school arcade games like mario 3 or megaman 2, but that's how the game works and repeating a level over and over again has never been so little frustrating. It's a fact that you keep getting better and better with each retry constantly increasing your game-skills and minimizing the amount of luck you need to beat a level. Furthermore the game is packed with ideas and nice features that make you want to play it over and over again, collecting more bandages (which you need to unlock new characters) or beating your best time. All in all SMB is a though but fun game with a great replay value and should not be missed by any serious gamer. If you like challenging games that reward you for the effort you put into playing them, SMB is for you. Expand
  47. Oct 21, 2010
    9
    Super Meat Boy describes itself as a â
  48. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    I wasn't sure about the game even after watching all the great reviews from everyone that was sent a review copy. When the game came out I immediately installed the trial to see if the controls were as good as everyone was raving about. BOY.......... I WAS SOLD!! This game brought me back to simpler days of relying on SKILL to enjoy a game. That is something I haven't felt in another gameI wasn't sure about the game even after watching all the great reviews from everyone that was sent a review copy. When the game came out I immediately installed the trial to see if the controls were as good as everyone was raving about. BOY.......... I WAS SOLD!! This game brought me back to simpler days of relying on SKILL to enjoy a game. That is something I haven't felt in another game for a LONG time. There have been many great games, indie games even... but there's a certain feeling that only a masterfully crafted game can give you from just GAMEPLAY alone... forget intricate story lines and super ultra realistic graphics. This game has a style of its own and it really fits perfectly with the games "attitude".

    I hope this game becomes a best seller and they work on Super Meat Boy 2 =D
    Expand
  49. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    Impossibly good. This game should not be compared directly to the retro games of yore. Their clunky controls are reason enough to take a hard look at what was, and know that it belongs in the past. This is the future of platform gaming. The story, while simple, is hilarious, and the cut scenes are actually worth watching for a change. The art is simply enough to make it easy to followImpossibly good. This game should not be compared directly to the retro games of yore. Their clunky controls are reason enough to take a hard look at what was, and know that it belongs in the past. This is the future of platform gaming. The story, while simple, is hilarious, and the cut scenes are actually worth watching for a change. The art is simply enough to make it easy to follow the game, but carries loads of personality. The music is amazing, and despite reports to the contrary, are not all chip-tune tracks. Orchestral, synth and the occasional chippy track in the warp zone levels round out the game nicely. The sound effects are perfectly disgusting, the sound of sloshing, swishing meat drove my wife from the room, so PROPS for that Super Meat Boy.

    Best of all, this game is HARD. It separates the men from the boys (and the women from the boys too), and it is not hard because the levels were poorly built. It is hard because you suck at games. All in all Super Meat Boy is the best game to come along on XBLA in ages.
    Expand
  50. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    This is an amazing game. Is one of the top-3 games on Xbox live!
    Like Limbo or Braid this is a game you shouldn't miss, addictive as hell on campaign or trying to improve your times in each level to beat your friends. AWESOME!
  51. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. Takes me back to playing old school games, how fun and simple those were, but this game has an awesome twist with a super cool story line. It's fun, and so addicting. I've played it for HOURS at a time. This game has personality, which so many others lack. Best. Platformer. Ever. Character development and story writing is astonishing. This game is EPIC.
  52. Oct 13, 2011
    0
    I'll keep it short and sweet. This game is a solid 10. I originally played the demo and thought no thanks on the purchase. I waited about a year and was feening for some old school 2D games... SMB I tried. This game has the best controls... some reviews say otherwise. I find that funny... because if you happen to beat this game and get good enough to pass some of the challenging levelsI'll keep it short and sweet. This game is a solid 10. I originally played the demo and thought no thanks on the purchase. I waited about a year and was feening for some old school 2D games... SMB I tried. This game has the best controls... some reviews say otherwise. I find that funny... because if you happen to beat this game and get good enough to pass some of the challenging levels you'll notice first and foremost how incredibly detailed the play mechanics are... as the moves needed are precise.

    I don't claim to be an elite gamer... I did beat the game... and when I got to play as BandAid Girl I never completed her world because it was too hard. I also was unable to beat the dark world for the final level. The only character that I gave up on trying to get was The Kid... I think "The Kid" levels, only playing the first level are beyond impossible.... and if you've gotten past this, you are a savant.

    I thought I was getting old because I lost interest in games... after discovery Team Meat and McMillen I have the same feeling I got when I played old school consoles.

    The unlockables are fanastic, and the old school throwbacks (i.e. Gameboy levels) are top notch. This game opened me up to a bunch of Indie Games I never heard of and I thank you SMB for doing so.
    Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. 90
    XBLA's best pure-2D platformer to date.
  2. May 3, 2011
    90
    Oldschool-Jump and Run at its finest!
  3. Feb 18, 2011
    90
    A 'rare' treat. [Feb 2011, p.91]