User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 232 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 232

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. Takes me back to playing old school games, how fun and simple those were, but this game has an awesome twist with a super cool story line. It's fun, and so addicting. I've played it for HOURS at a time. This game has personality, which so many others lack. Best. Platformer. Ever. Character development and story writing is astonishing. This game is EPIC.
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    2
    This game is incredibly over-hyped. While there is some charm to be found in the simple mechanics and presentation, the controls can be very loose and fickle. The levels, while short, have almost no margin for error, therein leading to frustration and poor level design masquerading as "challenge". The only reason this is forgivable by so many reviewers is that the very short levels allow for endless instant restarts until, often by luck, you get it just right. I support the indie scene, and the "game-play over graphics" mentality, but in this case, the emperor really has no clothes; the game just isn't all that good. Expand
  3. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    Impossibly good. This game should not be compared directly to the retro games of yore. Their clunky controls are reason enough to take a hard look at what was, and know that it belongs in the past. This is the future of platform gaming. The story, while simple, is hilarious, and the cut scenes are actually worth watching for a change. The art is simply enough to make it easy to follow the game, but carries loads of personality. The music is amazing, and despite reports to the contrary, are not all chip-tune tracks. Orchestral, synth and the occasional chippy track in the warp zone levels round out the game nicely. The sound effects are perfectly disgusting, the sound of sloshing, swishing meat drove my wife from the room, so PROPS for that Super Meat Boy.

    Best of all, this game is HARD. It separates the men from the boys (and the women from the boys too), and it is not hard because the levels were poorly built. It is hard because you suck at games. All in all Super Meat Boy is the best game to come along on XBLA in ages.
    Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2010
    5
    I don't understand the love for this game. The controls, while tight, are also totally awkward. For example, if you release the thumbstick while in mid-air, your horizontal speed is retained. This means if I'm jumping right and want to fall straight down, I have to hold left, and then fiddle between left and right a bunch to narrow it down. Little things like this are constantly getting in the way, and I'm finding that much of the game's difficulty comes from fighting the controls. Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    This is an amazing game. Is one of the top-3 games on Xbox live!
    Like Limbo or Braid this is a game you shouldn't miss, addictive as hell on campaign or trying to improve your times in each level to beat your friends. AWESOME!
  6. Oct 28, 2010
    0
    This may be the worst game I have ever played. The controls are awful. The sound is awful. The graphics are awful. The game is awful. I do not understand the positive reviews for this game.
  7. Oct 21, 2010
    9
    Super Meat Boy describes itself as a â
  8. Oct 22, 2010
    5
    Graphics are well drawn and not without charm. Controls are tight and levels are well designed with a consistant difficulty curve.

    Not a bad game but this is just a re-skinned version of N+. If you finished the 100 odd levels of N+ and were left wanting more, this is the game for you but for everyone else, SMB brings nothing new to the table.
  9. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    I wasn't sure about the game even after watching all the great reviews from everyone that was sent a review copy. When the game came out I immediately installed the trial to see if the controls were as good as everyone was raving about. BOY.......... I WAS SOLD!! This game brought me back to simpler days of relying on SKILL to enjoy a game. That is something I haven't felt in another game for a LONG time. There have been many great games, indie games even... but there's a certain feeling that only a masterfully crafted game can give you from just GAMEPLAY alone... forget intricate story lines and super ultra realistic graphics. This game has a style of its own and it really fits perfectly with the games "attitude".

    I hope this game becomes a best seller and they work on Super Meat Boy 2 =D
    Expand
  10. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    Super Meat Boy is a perfectly designed arcade platformer which is so well-thought-out that there is little space for frustration. The controls are easy to learn and all the levels are precisely designed. It's true that most of the levels require several retries and that you could have a hard time if you never played one of those old-school arcade games like mario 3 or megaman 2, but that's how the game works and repeating a level over and over again has never been so little frustrating. It's a fact that you keep getting better and better with each retry constantly increasing your game-skills and minimizing the amount of luck you need to beat a level. Furthermore the game is packed with ideas and nice features that make you want to play it over and over again, collecting more bandages (which you need to unlock new characters) or beating your best time. All in all SMB is a though but fun game with a great replay value and should not be missed by any serious gamer. If you like challenging games that reward you for the effort you put into playing them, SMB is for you. Expand
  11. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Great game, brings me back to a simple time. A time where games kicked your a** and then taunted you with it. SMB however is a game using old school beating your a**, but has no real punishment and even makes it a source of entertainment with the replay mechanic. The levels a fiendish and the controls are responsive, the visual style and sound is great with the theme and i can't find anything wrong with it. Expand
  12. Oct 28, 2010
    9
    Honestly as pretty and fun as it is, it can be painfully frustrating. Super Meat Boy steadily rises in difficulty from easy to absurd. The game will stress you out, make your hands sweat and drive you crazy. However you feel rewarded constantly. Whether its beating every single level, beating them AGAIN in the dark world (same map layout, twice the traps) or unlocking all the characters, you will find it hard to put down. Great game, if not for the sheer absurdity of some levels and boss fights, it'd be the perfect platformer. Expand
  13. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    At first: It's a 2D jump-n'-run and you have to rescue/reach the princess at the end of each short level (I don't have to say she gets kidnapped over and over again, do I?) You have to avoid obstacles (it introduces new ones regularly), glide down walls and use the terrain for your advantage like in hundreds of other games. Simple graphics, no real innovations, unforgiving as hell and without any big storyline. Nevertheless nearly everybody loves this game. You wonder why? Well I'll tell you - the graphics are simple but stylish and fitting. It puts every scene in a special mood and when meatboy glides down the wall leaving a blood trail behind - nobody would say it looks awful. But yes you will die. You will die a lot. Maybe more often then in any other game. But you'll hardly get frustrated 'cause it's never the games' fault. Thanks to the great controls you know it were just you making a little mistake. And you'll revive instantly at the starting-point anyway (yep, no checkpoints at all). Furthermore each try will be saved and shown in the replay,too. Every one at once - nothing is more satisfying than seeing dozens of meatboys die and one jumping through in a amazing speed without hitting anything. It's like "dude you totally made it! Hell yeah!". You'll often be surprised how short the levels are (around 30 seconds) but with a content of over 300 maps, bonus stages and warp zones (hidden portals with some challenging extra-maps) dark worlds and the unlock-able characters (by collecting bandages placed on masochistic locations on several levels and finishing warp zones) you have tons to do and it's hard to get bored. On top of that you're able to implement Maps made by the community with the editor. In easy words: Download usermade maps from the Internet. It's one of the best plattformers of the last years but also it's an hate-or-love thing. Whether you get instantly addicted for hours and hours or you bite frustrated in your controller and try to burn your HDD out of your xbox. I strongly recommend buying - yep, there's a chance you'll regret it but the risk of missing an awesome piece of game is much higher. Expand
  14. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    SMB is a jewel of the current gaming generation. I have not played a game like this before, first thing I want to comment on are the controls, It sure seems Team MeatBoy spent quite some time tweaking the controls, its a perfect connection between the mind and control. The graphics for me are charming as it best, from Atari to NES and the normal level design, It has really gotten me nostalgic. Yes, ITS HARD, but I like it that way, nailing a perfect run on a stage that minutes before seemed like the end of my SMB gaming days always boosts me up to go foward! An inside out boy, a girlfriend made of bandages and an evil fetus in a jar + lots of character's from other indie games, downloadable levels to never ever be able to fully drop the game. For me, probably one of the best games I have played this year, overall, not just XBOX Live...OVERALL I SAID. Forgot something...The music...makes me want to run around my room...chiptune madness. I would have given this a 9.8 it it was possible, for a missing feature...a music box or something to listen to the songs I desire (like the boss fights, awesome). If my review has not convinced you this is your best 15 bucks you want to spend right now on gaming, well guess what? its 10 bucks till the end of October...why are you not running to buy this already? Expand
  15. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    I thought the best platformers were super mario games on the NES.
    Super Meat Boy usurps the throne! This game is pure platforming crack! Earned unlockable cameo indy game stars, equipped with there own stats & useful abilities. I don't think I have ever played a game that tested my skill to this degree. Aside from the Ninja Gaiden Series & Demon's Souls. I have played games since I was a
    child in the golden age of super jump games & Super Meat Boy shatters my platforming perception.

    If you'd like to compare leader boards xbl- killacorleone33
    Expand
  16. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    Not that anyone follows my reviews, but if you did you may know that I am on a campaign against games that purposely, and endlessly, frustrate the player. And, people, this is the epicenter (this and The Witcher 2, and the fact that this is worse than that terrible game speaks volumes). The developers had a cool and original idea, and that took up the first 15% of the meeting. Than they said "lets make the player sooo mad that they have to like this game". You know what? There's karma for this typer of thing. Bye-Bye. Expand
  17. Nov 29, 2010
    2
    This looks to be like an addictive game. Unfortunately this game was released with a severe bug that prevents autosaving your progress, will give you an incorrect completion %, and will not track your progress correctly. Trust me, this is NOT the kind of game where you want to replay levels because of a stupid bug. What infuriates me is not only has the bug not been fixed over a MONTH after the game's release, but because I know there is no chance this bug wasn't caught in playtesting.

    Seriously, how do you bring about this bug? You simply press Y to replay a level after completing it. There are many reasons why you might want to this -- in order to get the bandage which you didn't get, or to beat your time. Knowing what playtesting is like even for the Indie games on the xbox, I can tell you that there is NO CHANCE this bug wasn't caught in playtesting. I have even gotten the bug when I carefully exited to the map after every level.

    Since there is no chance this wasn't caught (trust me), Microsoft intentionally let a crippled game out the door. I am sure they did this for money reasons, even giving the game a temporary $10 "sale". While I do believe this was MSFT's decision, the game creators are complicit in this and should be ashamed.
    Collapse
  18. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    dont listen to the moronswho gave this game low scores because of the controls. the controls are spot on! if you die its your fault, simple as that. and i read some guy said it has poor level design.......... thats crazy. the levels are fun, interesting and fast paced. you constantly get better at the game whilst playing, and this increase in skill is so satisfying. you feel like you are getting better in such a short period of time. i played this game with my girlfriend, who isnt exactly good at games, and she went from sucking to being a decent player in about half an hour. the pacing of the game is so fast, and the time flies by so quickly that its impossible to call this a bad/mediocre game. ive got it for pc and xbox, its that good!!! mainly due to it being £3 in the stam sale, but still, its an amazing game. Expand
  19. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    There's only 1 word that perfectly describes this game. SICK. The level design is sick, the difficulty is sick, the art is sick. It's absolutely awesome! There is so much to unlock and find in this game, it's truly unbelievable. Hundreds of levels and hours and hours of fun. Yes, there are times where you're tearing your hair out because it's so difficult.. BUT THAT'S THE FUN OF IT! If you're not good at platformers or prefer hand holding, this game is NOT for you. It requires practice and patience, skills which a lot of people these days don't have. The rest of you, enjoy! 10 out of 10! Expand
  20. Jun 14, 2012
    1
    I decided to give the game 1 in score since it had "okay" controls and a few funny moments. Those two factors however, are microscopic compared to the awful level design, cheap difficulty and short playtime. It seams like we have come to a time were being unfairly difficult, suddenly means good. If the game has so terrible physics and controls that it becomes a puzzle just using a fan to jump to a platform, the game is apparently good. You do have unlimited lives however, sso that you can play the same thing 50+ times until you finally get it. FUN. Also, the controls are slightly off. Meatboy doesn't jump when you jump, which can get pretty annoying when your walljumping from small platforms and need to be quick. The story is pretty much Mario, but with a fetus. Charming. Also, the final boss to this game, has to be the absolute stupidest, most unfair thing I've ever fought in a videogame. This game is just pure trial and error, but emphasised on the error part. Also, if you're going to pick on my grammar, I'm Norwegian. Compared to the rest of Norway, I talk and write perfect English. Expand
  21. DME
    Jan 12, 2011
    10
    [MILD SPOILERS] Okay... so you play as a raw, bleeding cube of meat that is trying to rescue a female cube of bandages that was kidnapped by a fetus in a jar wearing a tuxedo... You can see how serious this game is. The levels are short, which is good because you will be consistantly spilling your juices all over the place and having to start over. The game manages to be retro 80s challenging whithout being rediculously impossible. And besides the standard challenges, there are cool bosses, hidden minigames (warp zones) unlockable characters (I love you Gish!) and an entire "dark world" which is the same game you just played only modified to be even more challenging. The game is also filled with hilarious cutscenes (don't you DARE skip them!) and contains other elements of humor. Also, let me say that this game is nothing like "I Wanna Be The Guy". In games like IWBTG, memorization is the key to winning. But in Super Meat Boy, the key to winning is straightforward skill. If you can't win, it's YOUR fault. (like the game N+) Simple as that. So... uhh.... I love meat. Expand
  22. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    Super Meat Boy is delightfully frustrating, surprisingly deep, charming, and very addictive. 1 point off for some serious frustration, but this game will dig it's meaty claws into you which will have you itching to complete just 1 more level with an A+ ranking and collect that last band aid.
  23. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    Downloadable games are getting so good, and this is a very good one out of THAT crop. I was very surprised to not only get a good game (this much I expected) but to also get a very well written story that is also well told. The mechanics are easeir than I expected after reading some reviews...I guess they are the type of controls that some take to and some do not, but I am not seeing the issue with clunky controls that some have mentioned. Fun is key here, this game will entertain you for hours on end. Who knew super meat was so super? Expand
  24. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    A wholly charming, clever, and humorous labor of love that has more than its fair share of nods to retro gaming such as the Game Boy and Atari inspired warp zone levels and parodies of classic gaming intros like Castlevania (even the title's abbreviations, SMB, match those of Super Mario Bros.'). The level design, music, art aesthetics and amount of levels (300+) are true crowd pleasers as is the near perfect controls and number of bonus items, such as hidden bandages, characters, warp zones and Dark World stages that you unlock from besting the "par time" on each level. Simply put, this game has enough to keep you busy for awhile. Furthermore, for a game that's so silly in style the last few levels feel completely epic and upon completion leave you with a sense of accomplishment that few games on the market provide. Speaking of accomplishment, yes this game is incredibly difficult, but the stages are short enough and creatively designed that you'll nail even the more daunting encounters given some patience and practice, something that couldn't be said about the similarly styled N+ (side bar: I died around 4,000 times by the time I finished the dark world and still love this title). The only things that keep this from being a 10/10 are a few, minor nitpicky things. Notably, it would be nice to have a button that cancels your wall slide and another that stops your horizontal movement through the air as fidgeting the control pad left-to-right in order to land perfectly can be infuriatingly awkward. Additionally, while the level design is mostly spot-on a handful of levels are simply way too difficult and demand absolute perfection with literally zero margin for error, such as The Kid warp zone. Though, like I said those are only VERY minor complaints and overall this is easily one of the best titles on the Xbox 360, not just XBLA. If you love platforming games, retro-style entertainment and welcome a change-of-pace punishing difficulty then this is a definitive must-buy title. Expand
  25. Nov 26, 2010
    8
    Like N+ before it, Super Meat Boy is best played with friends passing one controller around. To quote one of the best movies ever: "You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll hurl."
  26. Oct 24, 2010
    10
    Like N+ but way better. Much more sense of humour, better controls and different and varied characters to unlock. It may not be easy but this a difficult game to get bored with.
  27. Oct 25, 2010
    9
    I know it's coming straight from the Gamespot review, but they're right. This game is about reward. The warm, fuzzy feeling you get when you barely snag a bandage, bypass a impossible obstacle, and save the girl cannot be beat. Controls are tight and fluid while bypassing saw blades and jumping over pits of lava, and if you get torn to shreds, it's because YOU messed up. Not because of unfair level design, because you timed a jump wrong or miscalculated distance. Overall, it's one of the best $10 you can spend, and with a huge amount of content and fun, there's really no reason not to. Expand
  28. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Registered just to review this game, that is how strongly I feel about it. Though it launched with a few bugs (likely the result of Team Meat being so small) that affect the leader boards and occasionally the auto save, the rest of the game is polished as hell. The level design is varied and consistently inventive and continually challenges you and keeps you on your toes. The "Aha!" factor is HUGE here, and it makes playing the game constantly rewarding. At the same time, Team Meat must clearly be sadists. I rarely got truly angry at the difficulty though. There were plenty of times where I would die in a ridiculous manner that had clearly been predicted and I would just end up laughing at the insanity of it all. The music has been praised in nearly every review I've seen, and it deserves every bit of the accolades it receives. The decision not to restart a track every time you die was absolutely key as well (as you will die. a lot. no, really. Especially in warp zone 5-7). The controls are tight and responsive, but also take some getting used to, and I have seen reviews that unfairly criticize this aspect of them. They also vary drastically by the character you choose to play with (and the unlockable aspect of the game is a joy as well, especially considering that Tim from Braid shows up!)

    Along with the stellar Braid and Limbo, this is an absolute must have off of the Xbox Live Arcade, and is exactly the kind of quality experience I am looking for in a game that I buy from that venue. While I would recommend Braid and Limbo pretty much without reservation, this game certainly isn't going to be fun for anyone who doesn't enjoy a challenge. But for those who are looking to test their chops and have a hell of a good time doing it, pick this up today - especially considering that it is only $10 until the end of October! At that price this is an absolute steal. It is beyond addictive in a way that few games have been recently, in my experience at least. It's 3 am as I write this, and all I want to do is load it up and play another couple levels.
    Expand
  29. Oct 31, 2010
    7
    While i can understand where peoples frustration for this game is coming from, this game really makes you look at it and want to beat it. The main drawback to this game are not its controls, but how the controls are used. The controls are more or less fantastic, simply moving, jumping, and accelerating. But the catch is that the levels are of the trial and error sorts. I don't think there is anyone that could play this game and beat it without dying at least 50 times. The game throws enemy's, saws and forms of killer ground to make you earn the ending. Thankfully, the game is forgiving, giving you no lives of which you have to keep a watch on. The graphics are you average 2-D plat-former that looks incredible to some, but a few will find they wanted more out of it. What is really incredible about this game is the throwback to older 2-D plat-formers, such as Mario and Ninja Gaiden. Each new world opens with a cut scene that is a parody of a well loved game, but doesn't edger on the ridiculous. The main reason this game has gotten so many bad scores from the users is because of the levels that make this game so challenging. I literally died over 100 times in one simple level, but the placement of the enemies and the saws are what killed me. But the part that i loved is that in the end i wanted to beat the level because i wanted to see the ending. Some people found this game too hard and would rather have a game that didn't have them yelling at their Tv set, but some love a good challenge, and this game delivers that 10 fold. Expand
  30. Nov 29, 2010
    0
    This looks to be like an addictive game. Unfortunately this game was released with a severe bug that prevents autosaving your progress, will give you an incorrect completion %, and will not track your progress correctly. Trust me, this is NOT the kind of game where you want to replay levels because of a stupid bug. What infuriates me is not only has the bug not been fixed over a MONTH after the game's release, but because I know there is no chance this bug wasn't caught in playtesting.

    Seriously, how do you bring about this bug? You simply press Y to replay a level after completing it. There are many reasons why you might want to this -- in order to get the bandage which you didn't get, or to beat your time. Knowing what playtesting is like even for the Indie games on the xbox, I can tell you that there is NO CHANCE this bug wasn't caught in playtesting. I have even gotten the bug when I carefully exited to the map after every level.

    Since there is no chance this wasn't caught (trust me), Microsoft intentionally let a crippled game out the door. I am sure they did this for money reasons, even giving the game a temporary $10 "sale". While I do believe this was MSFT's decision, the game creators are complicit in this and should be ashamed.
    Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. 90
    XBLA's best pure-2D platformer to date.
  2. May 3, 2011
    90
    Oldschool-Jump and Run at its finest!
  3. Feb 18, 2011
    90
    A 'rare' treat. [Feb 2011, p.91]