Super Meat Boy Xbox 360

Super Meat Boy Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 271 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Super Meat Boy is a tough as nails platformer where you play as an animated cube of meat who's trying to save his girlfriend (who happens to be made of bandages) from an evil fetus in a jar wearing a tux.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Oct 28, 2010
    100
    Super Meat Boy's difficulty will likely turn off some gamers. But if you like your 2D platformers challenging and rewarding then you'll be hard pressed to find a better game out there.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    100
    This game is most certainly not for everyone--if you can't handle extremely hard games, you're better off marveling at this spectacle from a distance--but those who can stomach the difficult and appreciate the bizarre will take every ounce of punishment Super Meat Boy dishes out and beg for more.
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    95
    First there was Donkey Kong, then came Mario, Mega Man, and Sonic. Now we have Meat Boy. The world's newest 2D platforming legend has arrived.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    90
    With Super Meat Boy's cornucopia of offerings and irresistible charm, you'd be hard-pressed not to get your money's worth out of this title.
  5. Dec 16, 2010
    90
    Super Meat Boy is overflowing with content that no other release can match and I wouldn't be surprised at all if it brings home Game of the Year accolades from many publications.
  6. Oct 26, 2010
    89
    If you can appreciate all the other elements that make up a great game like music, style, gameplay, etc. then there is no reason not to insist that you grab some points to pick up Super Meat Boy immediately.
  7. Oct 24, 2010
    75
    Even though Super Meat Boy will make most casual players shy away from it due to its extreme, raw (pun intended) level of difficulty, there's plenty of content to dig through and it's all well worth the effort.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 72
  2. Negative: 10 out of 72
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. Takes me back to playing old school games, how fun and simple those were, but this game has an awesome twist with aThis game is amazing. Takes me back to playing old school games, how fun and simple those were, but this game has an awesome twist with a super cool story line. It's fun, and so addicting. I've played it for HOURS at a time. This game has personality, which so many others lack. Best. Platformer. Ever. Character development and story writing is astonishing. This game is EPIC. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    Oh My GOD! This game is probably the hardest and most addicting game ever. I said next death over and over for 3 hours until I was able toOh My GOD! This game is probably the hardest and most addicting game ever. I said next death over and over for 3 hours until I was able to pull myself away! This Game is both clever and difficult. When I say difficult, I mean reserved for true gamers only. If you think you can rise up to the challenge and not get addicted, (Well you are wrong) buy this game now. Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    SMB is a jewel of the current gaming generation. I have not played a game like this before, first thing I want to comment on are the controls,SMB is a jewel of the current gaming generation. I have not played a game like this before, first thing I want to comment on are the controls, It sure seems Team MeatBoy spent quite some time tweaking the controls, its a perfect connection between the mind and control. The graphics for me are charming as it best, from Atari to NES and the normal level design, It has really gotten me nostalgic. Yes, ITS HARD, but I like it that way, nailing a perfect run on a stage that minutes before seemed like the end of my SMB gaming days always boosts me up to go foward! An inside out boy, a girlfriend made of bandages and an evil fetus in a jar + lots of character's from other indie games, downloadable levels to never ever be able to fully drop the game. For me, probably one of the best games I have played this year, overall, not just XBOX Live...OVERALL I SAID. Forgot something...The music...makes me want to run around my room...chiptune madness. I would have given this a 9.8 it it was possible, for a missing feature...a music box or something to listen to the songs I desire (like the boss fights, awesome). If my review has not convinced you this is your best 15 bucks you want to spend right now on gaming, well guess what? its 10 bucks till the end of October...why are you not running to buy this already? Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    Downloadable games are getting so good, and this is a very good one out of THAT crop. I was very surprised to not only get a good game (thisDownloadable games are getting so good, and this is a very good one out of THAT crop. I was very surprised to not only get a good game (this much I expected) but to also get a very well written story that is also well told. The mechanics are easeir than I expected after reading some reviews...I guess they are the type of controls that some take to and some do not, but I am not seeing the issue with clunky controls that some have mentioned. Fun is key here, this game will entertain you for hours on end. Who knew super meat was so super? Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2010
    9
    Super Meat Boy describes itself as a â
  6. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    Incredibility hard to master and absolutely fun to play.
    I recommend this game to everyone to at least trial if not buy!
    9/10 is a high score
    Incredibility hard to master and absolutely fun to play.
    I recommend this game to everyone to at least trial if not buy!
    9/10 is a high score but it's one of the rare games that i couldn't put down and i kept coming back to months after i had finished it.
    After a 2D old school fun game then give it a go!
    Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2016
    0
    This game wasn't too bad in the early levels. The controls aren't super tight, but it didn't really matter much as most of the game is justThis game wasn't too bad in the early levels. The controls aren't super tight, but it didn't really matter much as most of the game is just sprinting forward and jumping at the right time. However, later in the game, very specifically, the warp Zone to unlock the kid, you have to use pixel perfect and frame perfect jumps multiple times through the same level. It's stupid, and for me, it's a deal breaker. I looked up the stats on this game and saw that over 95% of buyers never beat the light world. I began to realize that this is another one of those extremely **** games that just wants to be hard and not good.

    **** SMB. Is it Hard? Yeah, it's hard. Is it good? **** no, it's not good because it lacks consistency. The jumping, fans and repulsers are all incredibly inconsistent in this game. Next time, Try making a game that's GOOD and also hard, not one that you don't expect anyone to beat. Phil Fish is lucky as **** that you can't return a digital download. This game is not worth the money. Thank god I got it for Free on PSN, just like all the other **** Games that don't Sell.
    Expand

See all 72 User Reviews