User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 158

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    I was a little hesitant picking this one up after reading some mixed reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised when I put it in. I loved the style of Deus Ex, but longed for a little more action and not quite as much sneaking around, and this game totally scratches that itch. Being able to hack into enemy's brains and make them commit suicide or take out their buddys is a riot. Haven't played online yet except for when I had the demo, but a lot of reviews say that's the best part, so I'm looking forward to it. Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    The game is very fun to play because it isn't like the other FPS's out there. This one deliver a very cool "breaching" system so you can make the enemy work with you instead or make them commit suicide. It has the right blend of action and strategy like Xboxn74 wrote below and I think it's crucial for FPS today to have that. The Co-op works fine even though you play with random people. Even though it's hard directly, other players get the point almost instantly. Expand
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    Syndicate is a good start for franchise reboot and i thoroughly enjoyed the game. Syndicate is definitely a shooter and has some puzzles/enemy encounters along the way. The feature that makes syndicate stand out from other shooters is the "breaching" mechanic. You will have to use this a lot during the game in order to survive some of the firefights. The enemy a.i. in this game is good and will flank or rush you depending on the situation. The guns and game play feel great because your character has a sense of weight to him and he isn't just a floating head. The aspect that I like most about syndicate is the environments and feel of the game. I could tell that this game has borrowed a few artistic looks from great sci-fi movies such as blade runner. The art direction in this game is incredible and really makes the world of syndicate come alive. The game also has a great cast of characters that have well done voice acting. The music is also great and really lends to the sci-fi action of the game. The co-op game mode is fun and will please fans of co-op games like left 4 dead. Anyone who is tired of recent shooters should pick this game up, it's fun, has good co-op, and is a great start for a new series of syndicate games. Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    While some may complain that it's just ripping off Dues Ex, Half-Life, and other series, it's really just an evolutionary step in the FPS that is inspired by, not ripping off, many great FPS of the past. The First-Person combat is much better than Dues Ex, but it keeps the same sort of suit upgrades and in-world HUD elements that make it interesting and cyber-punky. The story isn't mind-blowing, but it has great pace and sense of urgency that keeps you moving from mission to mission. There are plenty of quite place through the game similar to Half-Life 2 and very dissimilar to the latest COD games. This is a very good thing. If you're looking for a compelling story and universe set in a great shooter action game, this is the game for you. Expand
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Syndicate is a fast-paced, methodical, futuristic shooter with enough depth and brilliant co-op gameplay to break out of the norm and be something really special. More action than story focused, subtle tweaks to the way you approach combat make for some really amazing one-off set piece water cooler moments. There's alot of depth in the co-op that the casual player might not pick up on at first, but the challenges will keep focused players busy for quite a while. The graphics are nice and very similar to the team's previous riddick games but with more variety and bloom effects. The gunplay is familiar but different enough to get you excited to find the next weapon or upgrade your favorites in multiplayer. Great animations and pretty solid physics. Sound is what you'd expect from a futuristic corporation conspiracy kind of game. Story is , well, what it sounds like. I came into syndicate not expecting much and leaving with a desire for more. It's also great that games like this are coming out in months other than just before Christmas. I recommend this game to anyone looking for a comfortable fps and if you liked deus ex, there's a ton to love here. Expand
  6. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    I don't know why the reviewers gave this game under an 80. I really find this game amazing, the story is pretty decent, not the best but still pretty good for today's shooters. The co-op is just like a drug, its super addictive! Been playing this since yesterday and still didn't find a flaw in this game! Yeah maybe the story is short but hey there's co-op and story on hardest difficulty is just freaking hard! Just saying don't listen to people saying ah this is like Deus Ex, that's **** Syndicate is a FPS with high shooter background and a minimum of role-playing... Deus Ex is the opposite, way more RPG and a bit of shooter. That's it! If your'e looking for a pretty good shooter, get this game! Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Good tactical fps with a even better co-op experience! Love it

    The art is better than the graphics no doubt, but at no point did it feel like it was a bad looking game. Of course it can't compare to BF3, but still stunning. If you like a FPS challenge or just want to play FPS games with friends, this is a excellent buy
  8. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    I was surprised about how great this game really is! The single player is good, and I just love the coop. If you by some reason haven't decided to get the game, check out the demo that won me over.
  9. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    An amazing game that delivers. It's like the perfect car that I just want to drive. The smoothness, the graphics, the feel to it. It's just hardcore and so compelling. Most kids will get KOS on the multiplayer, but for us hardcore gamers this is the bible to our religion. Love it! Bladerunner 4-life!
  10. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Single player mode is stunning while co-op paralyzes. AI´s that really needs your complete attention at any time. Really a rec. Story and gameplay really kick a--.
  11. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    An amazing reboot. Having played the full campaign and all of the coop levels, I can confidently say this is a proper reboot of Syndicate in a different format from it's root (isometric squad based tactical strategy game). It's a half step between Syndicate and Syndicate Wars, lore-wise. All the syndicates from the original game and Syndicate Wars make an appearance, and even have vastly different looks for their cultures and agents.

    Single player is well done. My only complaint would be that I wanted more at the end, but that could also be a sign of a good game. Blasting through it on easy mode, it's probably going to be around 4-5 hours if you ignore all the material to read, ignore propaganda tags and skip business cards. This is definitely a lore-heavy FPS, considering it's background, and it doesn't disappoint. It's stylish presentation and quick load times are a triumph in a market filled with load-heavy, clunky games. The campaign is well paced, and there's never a drag nor a moment where I'm confused why I'm doing something. The characters are well voiced and animated, and even with the silent protagonist route it's extremely immersive. Breaching is intuitive and rewards a player that makes creative use of it. Hard mode can be very easy if you're flexible with your diversion tactics and breaching capability. There's a lot of weapons to pick from that all handle differently, rather than just firing speed and damage (a refreshing turn of pace for an FPS game that's not laden with alien technology). There are some truly frantic moments in the game. The ending is the only thing I think people might have complaints about.

    Coop for Syndicate raises the bar for other games. It's quick, drop in, drop out, with a very well done clan (Syndicate) system. Weapons and breaching abilities are numerous, and they can be upgraded to one's playstyle. Leveling up, competing with other teams, and competing with your friends has never been done in such a polished way. The only conceivable way to improve this mode is to just expand the limits, the maps, and implement an AI Director, like Left 4 Dead (for that random element). Even if you're more of a support person (medic, etc), the game doesn't punish you for not killing enemies. The game is funneled in such a way that playing cooperatively (healing, assisting) grants you way more points than a lone wolf would in the same situation. There aren't many games that I could really recommend on coop, since a lot tend to be the same these days. Syndicate is at the top of the recommendation pile, though. Grab some friends, and have some fun!
    Expand
  12. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    Got Syndicate last night and played quite a few hours and the game really "grows on you".
    Such a cool atmosphere and I'm stunned about the graphics and totally love the lens flares!
  13. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    The best FPS I have played ever, included BF !

    Its like no orher FPS.

    The Co-op is excellent.

    My friend went to our lokal shop yesterday, but the game was sold out. But they will have more om monday they told him.

    So my advice, get your copi before its sold out to, if you want this game.
  14. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    This is a unique FPS with a rather new take on the genre. I love the story, where Starbreeze delivers, as usual, and the mekaniks and feel of the game is awesome. Best of all is the four-player co-op, where you can get improvements to your chip and to your weapons. The sound and feel of the weapons are so good! A must buy!
  15. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    A great sci-fi game with crisp graphics and AD, impressive sound and a weaponry to die for. The single player campaign is engaging, although somewhat short but the real treasure is the separate 4 player co-op. Unforgiving, thrilling and lots and lots of fun for hour upon hour. So if you haven't got it yet; get it and rip some chips!
  16. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    Great singleplayer and excellent co-op! Hands down the best FPS of the year so far.

    Starbreeze har done a solid job with this reboot, the campaign is on the short side but a lot of fun and on top of that they've created a unique and amazingly fun co-op experience.
  17. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    I'm sorry, are we playing the same game here? Whilst i'm not putting money on this scooping an award, its definitely a quality shooter. The main campaign hasn't got much of a gripping story like gears of war, it hasn't got a warm central character like the master chief or the set pieces of uncharted 2 but it has got cool guns, quality tech and a fantastic multiplayer. Even using a simple revolver makes you feel like a futuristic john wayne,so imagine what a rifle that bends bullets will do, or the ability to make enemies defect your time or even a suicide app (not available on the android market). I've been playing the co op and its a co op that builds, each mission is based on the original syndicate game. go through them on normal, build your agent, then take on the tougher variations. Certainly a worthwhile purchase Collapse
  18. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Have now played and finished the single player campaign and also done a lot of co-op. can´t really say I understand those complains that some have over the storytelling in the campaign. IMO everything including the story was just great and the game in general is AWSOME.
  19. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    What a great surprise this game it. After Fallout, Skyrim, DX:HR and Arkham City I almost forgot what a shooter was. This reminded me of Half Life a bit and why set piece shooters can be fun. PROS: The best shooting controls in a 360 game, almost fooled me into thinking I was using a mouse (but not quite). Great graphics and presentation. Ok story with some good writing. Very fun and deep multi. CONS: The controller is not remappable and the location of the sprint button (left stick click) is hideous, borderline unuseable and it makes action movie moments tough to pull off...which is a shame given the accurate shooting and excellent cover mechanics. On screen prompts for events are so small they're impossible to make out. Menus are also tough to navigate without pressing your face against the TV. Expand
  20. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    There is NOTHING wrong or broken in this game. This is a solid good quality game that's fun to play through several times to use different "perks". The haters don't like it because it did not meet their PRE-CONCEIVED notions of what they think it "should" have been and give it a 1. Certainly the quality of the reviewER should be taken into consideration. As a fair and competent observer, this is a fantastic shooter and I liked the story. You will find this a very FUN futuristic syfy fps to play if you have no preconceived notions from the original game. Expand
  21. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    For one thing, Syndicate can greatly impress players for what its worth of unique art, other gameplay aspects such as gun play, graphics, narrative and character progression, feels just in place as it doesn't really deliver what we've hoped for since its announcement. Coop in the other hand, is a completely different and much more fun part of the whole package, with it being a return to the original Syndicate agents. Hopefully, EA would think like 2K, in "remaking" it instead of just this lacking reboot. Expand
  22. Mar 5, 2014
    9
    There's something you need to know straight away: Syndicate has the best flame thrower ever in a videogame. In fact all the weapons are superb and it's perhaps the games greatest strength. I bought this a few years ago and unfortunately there were so many other good games released around the same time that it's taken me this long to finally finish the campaign. It's a shame because there's alot of quality in Syndicate even if it's sci-fi stylings are not quite in the top tier. However, considering that Starbreeze is a relatively small developer the game punches far above it's weight in the genre. It certainly doesn't deserve to be dismissed as 'derivative' by the press and critics. The story is anaemic but who the hell cares. Brian Cox voices the bad guy so what more do you want? If action is what you came for it's here in spades and refreshingly different from a COD title, with some nice twists via a slick interface that facilitates its 'breaching' gameplay. Breaching allows you to lock on to an enemy and hack its assets in real time for strategic advantages, and it's nuanced enough that you often feel compelled to replay certain areas with different strategies. To top it off the sound is truly phenomenal. High recommended for action fans and if there's ever a sequel sign me up. Expand
  23. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    So a reboot of a classic. And a good one. I have put in well over 30 hours now and i am enjoy myself greatly, Starbreeze has delivered once again. I could go into the whole "Why did EA make an FPS" and rate the game down, but what's the point of that? In the end i can only judge the game based on what it is. And what it is, is another solid FPS game from Starbreeze, not a run of the mill 50th iteration of an EA franchise. Graphically the game is crisp (if i bit heavy on the bloom) but you can see that the old Starbreeze engine is nearing it's end, or should in any case. Still, the game is presented at a lovely framerate and at the speed at which you play it, what presents itself visually is brilliant. A great depiction of the have and have nots in the future, with clear and distinct visual differences. Characters in particular stand out, with the main plot cast having superb modelling. Audio wise the game is also very strong. Moody ambient audio, stunning soundtrack and probably what amouns to the best sounding guns on the current gen. In terms of gameplay the single player is not the most innovative product out there, but it's a solid and fun shooter with a few tists and turns. Breaching certainly sets it apart. This fun mechanic really adds another layer of depth to the game and certainly increases replay value of the single player alone, as you try to come up with different solutions to any given scenario. But where the game really shines is the co-op campaign. Action at breakneck speed at partially VERY hard difficulty that really requires team work to succeed. Starbreeze has not been known to treat any kind of multiplayer with a lot of love in previous games, but they certainly have done that here. Initially i was worried that i could only play this with friends, but even with randoms the game is fun and deep. Unlocks, progression and upgrading your agent make sense and i often get that "oh just one more upgrade" feeling which keeps me playing. If you like shooters get it, it's worth it. If like co-op shooters (particularly with some friends) then you MUST get it. Expand
  24. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    Syndicate is a very fresh take on online co-op. It does include a solid single player story campaign, but the 4-player cooperateive multiplayer is where this one shines.

    This game and Binary Domain are the early sleeper hits of 2012.
  25. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    This is a fantastic game. The coop really stands out. Lovely cyberpunk graphics. The "breaching" makes the game stand out and all I want to do is play more so I can level up and develop new breaching features and hard core weapons! It´s a 10!
  26. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    I hated this game at first, what with the over-bright environments and strangely awkward cover system. The storyline seemed a bit thin too.

    So what changed?

    I started playing Co-Op with friends I made in the game... and enjoyed it immensely. I even re-did the campaign on hard mode where I nearly failed on easy after playing Co-Op on Expert. The game is actually LOADS of fun if you play
    on expert and have a good team... the heart starts pounding when you are the last man standing because you NEED your team and trying to resurrect them while being chased by hordes of enemy agents is hard but loads of fun.

    So why no 10/10 - Well those bright lights still are painful but the biggest point loss is the random crashes in multiplayer. Hopefully a patch will sort that out.
    Expand
  27. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    As far as ratings go Syndicate was surely under rated. The real star is the graphics. A setting for glowiness, I guess, would have been nice, but might have taken away from immersion. While I am not a fan of Boss fights the different arena style levels more then makes up for it. Great game.
  28. Feb 27, 2012
    0
    I'm sorry, are we playing the same game here? Whilst i'm not putting money on this scooping an award, its definitely a quality shooter. The main campaign hasn't got much of a gripping story like gears of war, it hasn't got a warm central character like the master chief or the set pieces of uncharted 2 but it has got cool guns, quality tech and a fantastic multiplayer. Even using a simple revolver makes you feel like a futuristic john wayne,so imagine what a rifle that bends bullets will do, or the ability to make enemies defect your time or even a suicide app (not available on the android market). I've been playing the co op and its a co op that builds, each mission is based on the original syndicate game. go through them on normal, build your agent, then take on the tougher variations. Certainly a worthwhile purchase Collapse
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 65
  2. Negative: 1 out of 65
  1. May 13, 2012
    80
    The game doesn't create a massive fissure in the first-person shooter genre, but the DART and breach systems do add some cool wrinkles to an otherwise straightforward experience with some of the best gun play I've had in recent memory.
  2. 85
    Syndicate is an excellent shooter that does a lot of things right in the gameplay department. A fun combination of excellent gunplay combined with an okay range of abilities and powers and some well put together melee moves makes the game a mixed bag that never gets too old.
  3. May 5, 2012
    70
    Syndicate shows a lot of potential, but never seems to come out of its shell. For that, it just feels all too familiar. It delivers on a delightful atmosphere though, and the coöp mode will keep players busy for a couple of intense hours. A fine snack, but definitely not the cult classic the old Syndicate was.