User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 51
  2. Negative: 9 out of 51

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AaronC.
    Sep 7, 2007
    9
    A fantastic game! I had loads of fun and huge replayability factor, I only wish it had more missions so I can keep on playing!
  2. AdamB.
    Apr 10, 2009
    8
    This is a very fun game once you get past the steep learning curve for the controls (I hadn't played in a year and had to do the tutorial again). It's not a standard fast-paced fighting game; it's a much slower game with a more intelligent, deliberate feel. Though you can storm through the stages, to get real enjoyment you have to go for the Ninja 5 rating which requires This is a very fun game once you get past the steep learning curve for the controls (I hadn't played in a year and had to do the tutorial again). It's not a standard fast-paced fighting game; it's a much slower game with a more intelligent, deliberate feel. Though you can storm through the stages, to get real enjoyment you have to go for the Ninja 5 rating which requires very careful gameplay. Character customization and online play are fun, though there is a bit of lag and most frustrating to me, there's no ability to have multiple save slots or to change your character mid-game (or even give them a name). If you want to try a different ninja you'll have to start over and lose all your hard-earned items and Ninja ranks. This significantly hampers replay value, especially since there are only a few types of map to play in. As for the AI and combat system, it's not meant to be about enemies planning complex strategies and chasing you around the map, but it's about the placement of the opponents and figuring out the best way to cut a hole in the defense, avoiding combat. Reviewers complaining about the AI and combat depth is like complaining about Super Mario Bros. for the same reasons. Still, an improved sequel would be appreciated. Expand
  3. YourMommaMomma
    Aug 9, 2009
    9
    Best Tenchu Game to date. Don't hate on me too much. I've played them all, and none of them are as fast as Z, nor do any of them require as much skill. Skill not required to beat it, but to beat it and make it look easy as well as stylish. The fact is, there is problems with it. AI is crap, graphics are poor even for being an xbox 1 port, and the customization, while Best Tenchu Game to date. Don't hate on me too much. I've played them all, and none of them are as fast as Z, nor do any of them require as much skill. Skill not required to beat it, but to beat it and make it look easy as well as stylish. The fact is, there is problems with it. AI is crap, graphics are poor even for being an xbox 1 port, and the customization, while interesting, doesn't add anything to the game. I suggest a better co-op, able to have two players on one system, more extensive ninja techniques, a little revamp on the graphics, and physics engine (But keep the fast pace!) and an AI overhaul should make a winner out of the next Tenchu game. Just keep it away from the Wii, please, stay with 360 or PS3. Expand
  4. Sambo
    Jan 17, 2008
    9
    WHAM! Gaming The pithy cut-scenes are about as easy to follow as a quantum physics lecture and are as elaborately detailed as a newspaper comic strip. Well I'm nearly 18 and I've just done exams on quantum physics and mechanics, which shows how much attention these guys pay to the outside world. Tenchu Senran (or Tenchu Zed, as I call it lol) is like 1 & 2. Just on steroids.
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    this game is obviously all about ninjas but who cares? its still really fun and has 50 missions to complete? Who can complain to 50 mission!!!!! you can customise your ninja in loads of different ways and choose between stealthy or just plain runnign in and swipe left and right with a katana. Really fun game overall and I would recommend to anyone.
  6. Aaace5
    Jul 2, 2007
    6
    It's pretty easy to see that this game was originally an xbob 1 game, that they shined up and ported over to the 360. The overall game itself is ok... But it could have been something great! If they had have did a graphical overhaul, made the A.I. smarted and more realistic, and tightened the controls up some - tenchu Z would have easily been the best in it's history. I suspect It's pretty easy to see that this game was originally an xbob 1 game, that they shined up and ported over to the 360. The overall game itself is ok... But it could have been something great! If they had have did a graphical overhaul, made the A.I. smarted and more realistic, and tightened the controls up some - tenchu Z would have easily been the best in it's history. I suspect that this game was a test to see if 360 gamers cared if tenchu was on 360, so I believe that the next version should make this game a distant memory... I hope! Expand
  7. BODKirok
    Jun 17, 2007
    9
    This Tenchu Z game brings back the feel of the original - which makes me very happy! The learning curve to getting all the controls down pact may be high but once you do the game plays like a beautifully choreographed movie. The AI isn't the greatest but I really see no difference from the other Tenchu games. Graphics are the best I have seen them in the Tenchu series but I agree This Tenchu Z game brings back the feel of the original - which makes me very happy! The learning curve to getting all the controls down pact may be high but once you do the game plays like a beautifully choreographed movie. The AI isn't the greatest but I really see no difference from the other Tenchu games. Graphics are the best I have seen them in the Tenchu series but I agree that on the Xbox360 they could have doen better. Overall true Tenchu fans will not be dissapointed. One last thing - the Tenchu bandana was a nice touch, I ware mine every time I play. Expand
  8. KelR.
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    Seriously underated, I've played games since atari and I've never seen a game that was so much fun get such bad reviews. Personally, I've never played any of the other tenchu games, this was my first, but my brother and I gave it a shot because of the Co-op play- and we had a blast. I'd encourage anyone who likes violent games with coop to PLAY THIS!!!
  9. AbelDrew
    May 22, 2008
    8
    I've given this game an eight though I would have said more like 7.5.

    the main reason this game is getting mediocre reviews is the lack of a story. This is unfair, some of the greatest games in history had no real story. Space invaders, Pong, Mario (yes mario... princess kidnapped, you save princess... most of game has nothing to do with princess) you see? this game is about
    I've given this game an eight though I would have said more like 7.5.

    the main reason this game is getting mediocre reviews is the lack of a story.
    This is unfair, some of the greatest games in history had no real story. Space invaders, Pong, Mario (yes mario... princess kidnapped, you save princess... most of game has nothing to do with princess) you see?

    this game is about mastery of a admitedly repetitive concept but there's often a lot of fun to be found in that. Very few of my xbox games get beaten to the point of gaining all 1000 gamerscore points but this one did. (btw after 1000 stealth kill feet and lurk abilities are awesome)
    Expand
  10. simonk
    Jun 13, 2008
    8
    Yes the graphics are not up to 'next gen.' standards and the A.I is lame but this has always been the case with this series. In a nutshell , if you had the game on PS2/XBOX and are missing its brutal brilliance then buy this(just don't expect any changes , just a quick polish.) I find similarities between this and hitman ie . you can zoom around the levels gunningYes the graphics are not up to 'next gen.' standards and the A.I is lame but this has always been the case with this series. In a nutshell , if you had the game on PS2/XBOX and are missing its brutal brilliance then buy this(just don't expect any changes , just a quick polish.) I find similarities between this and hitman ie . you can zoom around the levels gunning /slashing but that's not the way they were supposed to be played. This is a stealth title not an action game and i think most magazine reviewers looked on this game with 'next gen.' snobbery. The authenticity of the scenery , characters ,weapons ect is second to none and if you are a fan of the ninja/samurai era of feudal japan then this is the game for you . Expand
  11. RedXIII
    Jun 13, 2007
    8
    I have to say a lot of the reviewers are wrong about this game, sure its not the prettiest and some of the controls are hard, but once you get into it it is a really fun game. Its kinda like hitman, splintercell with ninjas.
  12. FPSMaster
    Jun 14, 2007
    8
    This is still Tenchu, and even though it hasn't really changed since the old PS1 days, it still feels good to stealth kill enemies in the Tenchu environments with the Tenchu musical scores playing in the background. It's not nearly as bad as the lower reviews up there, at least for long time Tenchu fans or those with an open mind, but more along the lines of the middle to higher This is still Tenchu, and even though it hasn't really changed since the old PS1 days, it still feels good to stealth kill enemies in the Tenchu environments with the Tenchu musical scores playing in the background. It's not nearly as bad as the lower reviews up there, at least for long time Tenchu fans or those with an open mind, but more along the lines of the middle to higher reviews. Sure, the graphics are not spectaculer but Tenchu has never been considered anywhere close to other titles graphically no matter what platorm it was on. There is shiny bump mapping on everything and the entire game sports a clean, sharp look overall. They do look better than the last gen ones, mainly because of HD, but they still carry the standard Tenchu look of a lot of the same buildings, character models, stiff animations and shrubery. The blood looks weird as it shoots out in a straight line and I have yet to see heads and arms pop off like they did in the old ones after a stealth kill. There are also some collison problems with the character model still, but the worst thing about the graphics is your shadow sometimes goes through things and moves along the ground but the enemies can't see it..it's just another collision issue. The character customizing seems to be more of a bonus than a selling point, as there are many options but they are still mostly presets so you can't change every single thing. Adding new moves and abilities is nice though. The A.I. is a mixed bag. Sometimes, they can't see you for anything and other times they know you're there when completely concealed. My gametime has proved that the A.I. is much better and smarter than the reviews have said, as I have constantly been overrun with enemies when sneaking in the utmost manner. They're definitely smarter than they have gotten credit for, although there is the occasional screw up. Sound is good, and the new sound meter changes things mainly for when you draw your sword now. The enemies can hear you do that this time so keeping it sheethed and sneaking up on someone and putting them in a chokehold THEN killing them is the norm. The music sounds like Tenchu has always sounded, although not as memorable as the first Tenchu's lovely melodies. A lot of sounds rehashed from the first Tenchu are here as well, such as yawning sounds, the blood squirting effects and "'nice night' being said a lot. They could have tried harder there, as rehashing 9 year old sound effects brings back good memories, but also feels lazy. The controls work fairly well and are what you would expect so no issues there. They are right about all the missions being pretty much the same, but they have always been like that. Instead of a bunch of different things to do in Tenchu, your job has always been about finding your target in the level, which takes a while with only a bare map, then killing the target. I didn't try online, as I'm a Tenchu veteran that likes to work alone. I think 4 people running around can not be sneaky or stealthy any way you look at it, but the option is still there for those that want it. Overall, long time Tenchu fans will know what to expect and love it like they loved all the other Tenchus, since it's the same thing. Newcomers will either love it for the pure sneaking or hate it because it seems so bare bones. They could have changed the series more than this, but change isn't always the best option. Look at Splinter Cell Conviction for proof of how too much change can destroy a gaming franchise, icon and legacy. I'm personally glad Tenchu is still Tenchu for that reason alone. I'd rather it be the same old same old than changed and made into a joke like Sam Fishers next game, which it seems the reviewers that scored this game low wanted. I'm glad they didn't get what they wanted, or it would't be worth calling it Tenchu anyway. Expand
  13. Eli
    Jun 18, 2007
    5
    It's rather easy to decipher why reviewers haven't been to fond of Tenchu Z. First of all the game plays exactly like all the other Tenchu and needless to say that isn't a good thing at this point. Tenchu is a series that could have evolved to something really good but the developers are too lazy to try and be different. Let me just say this before I start ripping Tenchu Z It's rather easy to decipher why reviewers haven't been to fond of Tenchu Z. First of all the game plays exactly like all the other Tenchu and needless to say that isn't a good thing at this point. Tenchu is a series that could have evolved to something really good but the developers are too lazy to try and be different. Let me just say this before I start ripping Tenchu Z a new one. I had fun with this game it's my biggest guilty pleasure game in quite some time. Despite it's numerous failures as a game I still found playing through it to be a good time but there is no doubt in my mind that it is still a bad game no matter how you spin it. The graphics aren't flat out awful but there is no doubt that they fall into the category of mediocore and at times plain ugly. There is little variety in the levels and you'll soon be repeating the same level over and over again. You'll get that feeling of deja vu as you realize you are doing the same exact missions in the same exact levels over and over again. The gameplay is the standard Tenchu affair. The X button is your only ally and stealth kills are really cool. The combat still sucks ass. There really isn't much to it. The game itself isn't much of a struggle and is without a doubt the easiest game I've played all year. Most of the missions you do involving killing some person. You can easily beat any level in under minute by simply rushing to the target and killing him. The enemy a.i. is without a doubt the worst I've ever encountered in a videogame. FPS Master the a.i. in this game is in no way a mixed bag. It is just hilariously awful. Enemies that see you will give up persuit the second you turn a corner. Enemies can smell you if you fell in a cesspool but they can't see you killing the guard that is standing about ten feet in front of them. They can't hear their friends screams as they are gutted directly behind them. I mean there are just so many things wrong with the a.i. I couldn't even begin to describe them. The reviewers are completely justified in ripping on the a.i. as it is close to broken. Tenchu Z is a mockery to the stealth genre but it's something that still can be a bit of fun to play but there is no doubt that it is a crap game. Expand
  14. EdT.
    Jun 28, 2007
    7
    I have to agree with the reviewers on this one: Tenchu Z is a pretty crappy game; but somehow, it still remains fun. From the graphics to the AI to the controls, every single aspect of the game could have been improved in one way or another. And yet, most people can't seem to escape the puzzling fact that the game is still enjoyable. I guess there's just something inherently I have to agree with the reviewers on this one: Tenchu Z is a pretty crappy game; but somehow, it still remains fun. From the graphics to the AI to the controls, every single aspect of the game could have been improved in one way or another. And yet, most people can't seem to escape the puzzling fact that the game is still enjoyable. I guess there's just something inherently cool about being a ninja, sneaking around in the shadows. Despite all the flaws, they managed to keep that feeling intact, so I guess the developers deserve SOME credit. And you can't go wrong with 4-player coop ninjas. That's just something I couldn't pass up. Expand
  15. JonM.
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    Although by no means perfect, tenchu z is still nonetheless a very enjoyable game. many features have worked whereas many have flopped. although it introduced a fresh feel to the game, the new customization aspects floundered, limited access to the abilities of your ninja meant it wouldnt be long til you came stumbling across doppelgangers online, and the lack of a vs mode online Although by no means perfect, tenchu z is still nonetheless a very enjoyable game. many features have worked whereas many have flopped. although it introduced a fresh feel to the game, the new customization aspects floundered, limited access to the abilities of your ninja meant it wouldnt be long til you came stumbling across doppelgangers online, and the lack of a vs mode online eliminated any hopes of real competitive play, reducing the value of competition between clans to nothing more than comparing metagames with eachother, severe lag issues also plague the servers, creating a major problem for those time synching their kills. sloppy swordsplay still plagues the series, whereas the stealth executions are as visceral and cool as ever, the inclusion of wall and ground based kills was a nice touch, but failed to find any real ingame value aside from sheer class. desperate points for improvement on a possible sequel include: sorting out that horribly mashy swordsmanship for when the stealth goes awry, possibly with a greater emphasis on counters and grapples over strikes, and top priority must go to brushing over the dated AI, which has plagued the series with mind blowingly stupid guards since the original (the only difference is, the original can actually get away with such shameful AI, whereas the newer titles have no excuse). one last point for improvement is diversifying the possibilities in customization, possibly even allowing players to select their own stealth kills, thus eliminating the cloned feel to fellow ninjas online. Expand
  16. Sep 9, 2011
    7
    I've always loved the Tenchu series,and though this game is a technical nightmare.I just don't care about that for once.Wanna be a Ninja and do Ninja stuff?This is it.
  17. May 31, 2011
    9
    I really like this game.I've played Tenchu ever since the first one(Tenchu-Stealth Assassin)on the PS1,& when i did play them,i wished they had more missions.Well they definately addressed that in this game,as it has about 50 missions!.. I Know the missions can be pretty samey,but if its enjoyable to play(which it is),then thats fine by me.Tenchu Z is easily the best in the series so far,&I really like this game.I've played Tenchu ever since the first one(Tenchu-Stealth Assassin)on the PS1,& when i did play them,i wished they had more missions.Well they definately addressed that in this game,as it has about 50 missions!.. I Know the missions can be pretty samey,but if its enjoyable to play(which it is),then thats fine by me.Tenchu Z is easily the best in the series so far,& is the game most true to what Ninja's were actually like & about.They wernt about getting seen & getting into direct confrontations,they were about getting in unseen,getting the job done(Killing someone),then getting out,much like Special Forces today(Apart from its not solely assassinations with Special Forces),& this game reflects that.It even rewards you for not getting seen during the mission.Its great that it has Co-Op too,as Ninjas were known to often work together on missions.The one critisism i would say about this game,is that the graphics are fairly poor for the 360,& so is the animation.The graphics i can live with,but the game could definately have benefitted from better animation on your character.But all in all,this game gets such a high mark for being such a good,& authentic Ninja experience,which is alot rarer than you might think.. Expand
  18. May 4, 2011
    10
    As a huge fan of medieval Japan, I just love this game!! Its not your typical flashy, over the top game, and its just perfect like that! its simplicity is very attractive. The setting is great, the missions are very down to earth and realistic - just what I like. The story is very simple, but it works for me. The controls are great and the stealth action is awesome, intelligent andAs a huge fan of medieval Japan, I just love this game!! Its not your typical flashy, over the top game, and its just perfect like that! its simplicity is very attractive. The setting is great, the missions are very down to earth and realistic - just what I like. The story is very simple, but it works for me. The controls are great and the stealth action is awesome, intelligent and challenging! I just love it. Expand
  19. Jul 25, 2011
    9
    I dont know what it is about this game, but i kept it and after 4 years im still playing it, i have bursts of fun with this game, i go away and come back and its still fun. The graphics are good but can glitch over multiplayer, but its rare, multiplayer with this game is incredibly fun with 3 friends running around a map trying to find the last person and kill them, i would definatley buy this.
  20. May 30, 2013
    6
    Though the combat for this game absolutely sucks, I enjoy it. It encourages you to actually be sneaky instead of just rushing in and whaling on everything until it falls. While it's fun to be sneak around and assassinate people, it gets boring after 15-16 missions. Overall, this is an okay game you might want to check out, but I can't recommend it.
  21. Jan 22, 2015
    6
    If you play this game the way it was intended, it's enjoyable for your inner-ninja. If you aren't the stealthy type, the controls are rather unintuitive in combat. There are a few boss battles littered throughout the 50 missions, and being forced into open combat after numerous missions filled with nothing but stealth kills— the sudden shift in pacing can feel totally unfamiliar and putIf you play this game the way it was intended, it's enjoyable for your inner-ninja. If you aren't the stealthy type, the controls are rather unintuitive in combat. There are a few boss battles littered throughout the 50 missions, and being forced into open combat after numerous missions filled with nothing but stealth kills— the sudden shift in pacing can feel totally unfamiliar and put you at a serious disadvantage. Not to mention dying at the end of the mission will still require you to start the mission over at the very beginning. Checkpoints would've been nice.

    I learned early on that my ninja was the only person in feudal Japan who knows how to swim, so my tactic for boss battles quickly became a game of "let's go down to the river" ...made easier still when I learned that your ultimate offensive weapon in open combat.... is a dead body. They have no defense against a corpse being thrown at them.

    Multiplayer seemed like an afterthought for the developer. This was one of the last games I played where its preferable to play with friends via system link. Matchmaking over the internet was practically unplayable.
    Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 51
  2. Negative: 11 out of 51
  1. Ninja games being as rare as they've become, its nice to have "Tenchu" back, especially given the number of refinements FROM have added, along with the online play. [June 2007, p.74]
  2. Tenchu fans will definitely not be disappointed. Tenchu Senran is easily the best Tenchu game to date. [JPN Import]
  3. It doesn't do anything that hasn't been seen dozens of times before and fails to inspire the player to push forward. You can get this kind of stealth action elsewhere, and for a cheaper price.