Tenchu Z Xbox 360

Tenchu Z Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: True ninjas conceal their identity. In Tenchu Z, you can customize your ninja's appearance by choosing to change facial features, hairstyle, tattoos, head accessories, tunics, pants, arm accesories, footwear, weapon sheathes and more. As you complete more missions, more articles of clothingTrue ninjas conceal their identity. In Tenchu Z, you can customize your ninja's appearance by choosing to change facial features, hairstyle, tattoos, head accessories, tunics, pants, arm accesories, footwear, weapon sheathes and more. As you complete more missions, more articles of clothing may become available for purchase. Oh boy! The key element of disguise, however, is a special ninja power-up called "Impersonation," which allows you to steal the identity of your victim temporarily in order to better evade detection and blend into the environment. Are you the master of disguise? [Microsoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 51
  2. Negative: 11 out of 51
  1. Tenchu fans will definitely not be disappointed. Tenchu Senran is easily the best Tenchu game to date. [JPN Import]
  2. Surprisingly, Tenchu Z comes off “chunky” in general; the antithesis of what a ninja game should feel like- sleek and efficient.
  3. Too expensive, but find a cheap copy and it has a bit of fun to offer stealth fans.
  4. Tenchu Z is a pretty lousy entry to the series, and is one Xbox 360 title that doesn’t flex any next-gen muscle.
  5. Official Xbox Magazine
    50
    Unless you're plagued with a kimono fetish, you're just better off creeping around elsewhere. [Aug 2007, p.82]
  6. Tenchu Z just feels dated. The original Tenchu came out almost 10 years ago, and although there are some minor changes here and there, the core gameplay is exactly the same.
  7. The pithy cut-scenes are about as easy to follow as a quantum physics lecture and are as elaborately detailed as a newspaper comic strip.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    this game is obviously all about ninjas but who cares? its still really fun and has 50 missions to complete? Who can complain to 50this game is obviously all about ninjas but who cares? its still really fun and has 50 missions to complete? Who can complain to 50 mission!!!!! you can customise your ninja in loads of different ways and choose between stealthy or just plain runnign in and swipe left and right with a katana. Really fun game overall and I would recommend to anyone. Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2011
    9
    I dont know what it is about this game, but i kept it and after 4 years im still playing it, i have bursts of fun with this game, i go awayI dont know what it is about this game, but i kept it and after 4 years im still playing it, i have bursts of fun with this game, i go away and come back and its still fun. The graphics are good but can glitch over multiplayer, but its rare, multiplayer with this game is incredibly fun with 3 friends running around a map trying to find the last person and kill them, i would definatley buy this. Expand
  3. AaronC.
    Sep 7, 2007
    9
    A fantastic game! I had loads of fun and huge replayability factor, I only wish it had more missions so I can keep on playing!
  4. FPSMaster
    Jun 14, 2007
    8
    This is still Tenchu, and even though it hasn't really changed since the old PS1 days, it still feels good to stealth kill enemies in This is still Tenchu, and even though it hasn't really changed since the old PS1 days, it still feels good to stealth kill enemies in the Tenchu environments with the Tenchu musical scores playing in the background. It's not nearly as bad as the lower reviews up there, at least for long time Tenchu fans or those with an open mind, but more along the lines of the middle to higher reviews. Sure, the graphics are not spectaculer but Tenchu has never been considered anywhere close to other titles graphically no matter what platorm it was on. There is shiny bump mapping on everything and the entire game sports a clean, sharp look overall. They do look better than the last gen ones, mainly because of HD, but they still carry the standard Tenchu look of a lot of the same buildings, character models, stiff animations and shrubery. The blood looks weird as it shoots out in a straight line and I have yet to see heads and arms pop off like they did in the old ones after a stealth kill. There are also some collison problems with the character model still, but the worst thing about the graphics is your shadow sometimes goes through things and moves along the ground but the enemies can't see it..it's just another collision issue. The character customizing seems to be more of a bonus than a selling point, as there are many options but they are still mostly presets so you can't change every single thing. Adding new moves and abilities is nice though. The A.I. is a mixed bag. Sometimes, they can't see you for anything and other times they know you're there when completely concealed. My gametime has proved that the A.I. is much better and smarter than the reviews have said, as I have constantly been overrun with enemies when sneaking in the utmost manner. They're definitely smarter than they have gotten credit for, although there is the occasional screw up. Sound is good, and the new sound meter changes things mainly for when you draw your sword now. The enemies can hear you do that this time so keeping it sheethed and sneaking up on someone and putting them in a chokehold THEN killing them is the norm. The music sounds like Tenchu has always sounded, although not as memorable as the first Tenchu's lovely melodies. A lot of sounds rehashed from the first Tenchu are here as well, such as yawning sounds, the blood squirting effects and "'nice night' being said a lot. They could have tried harder there, as rehashing 9 year old sound effects brings back good memories, but also feels lazy. The controls work fairly well and are what you would expect so no issues there. They are right about all the missions being pretty much the same, but they have always been like that. Instead of a bunch of different things to do in Tenchu, your job has always been about finding your target in the level, which takes a while with only a bare map, then killing the target. I didn't try online, as I'm a Tenchu veteran that likes to work alone. I think 4 people running around can not be sneaky or stealthy any way you look at it, but the option is still there for those that want it. Overall, long time Tenchu fans will know what to expect and love it like they loved all the other Tenchus, since it's the same thing. Newcomers will either love it for the pure sneaking or hate it because it seems so bare bones. They could have changed the series more than this, but change isn't always the best option. Look at Splinter Cell Conviction for proof of how too much change can destroy a gaming franchise, icon and legacy. I'm personally glad Tenchu is still Tenchu for that reason alone. I'd rather it be the same old same old than changed and made into a joke like Sam Fishers next game, which it seems the reviewers that scored this game low wanted. I'm glad they didn't get what they wanted, or it would't be worth calling it Tenchu anyway. Expand
  5. simonk
    Jun 13, 2008
    8
    Yes the graphics are not up to 'next gen.' standards and the A.I is lame but this has always been the case with this series. In aYes the graphics are not up to 'next gen.' standards and the A.I is lame but this has always been the case with this series. In a nutshell , if you had the game on PS2/XBOX and are missing its brutal brilliance then buy this(just don't expect any changes , just a quick polish.) I find similarities between this and hitman ie . you can zoom around the levels gunning /slashing but that's not the way they were supposed to be played. This is a stealth title not an action game and i think most magazine reviewers looked on this game with 'next gen.' snobbery. The authenticity of the scenery , characters ,weapons ect is second to none and if you are a fan of the ninja/samurai era of feudal japan then this is the game for you . Expand
  6. EdT.
    Jun 28, 2007
    7
    I have to agree with the reviewers on this one: Tenchu Z is a pretty crappy game; but somehow, it still remains fun. From the graphics to the I have to agree with the reviewers on this one: Tenchu Z is a pretty crappy game; but somehow, it still remains fun. From the graphics to the AI to the controls, every single aspect of the game could have been improved in one way or another. And yet, most people can't seem to escape the puzzling fact that the game is still enjoyable. I guess there's just something inherently cool about being a ninja, sneaking around in the shadows. Despite all the flaws, they managed to keep that feeling intact, so I guess the developers deserve SOME credit. And you can't go wrong with 4-player coop ninjas. That's just something I couldn't pass up. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2017
    0
    Oh zut alors, encore une exclu 360, encore une archi-sous-merde infernale ! ah tout s'explique, From Software l'éditeur-étron est l'auteur deOh zut alors, encore une exclu 360, encore une archi-sous-merde infernale ! ah tout s'explique, From Software l'éditeur-étron est l'auteur de cette "production"... Ne pas s'attendre à un Splinter ni même à la médiocrité d'un MGS, ici tout est fait en dépit du bon sens : l'interface, la maniabilité défectueuse (devoir maintenir le bouton appuyé pour rester accroupi par exemple...), l'IA totalement **** de la tête, les nombreux problèmes de caméra et, cerise sur le sushi, les graphismes qui ont deux générations de retard voire trois. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews