Test Drive Unlimited 2 Xbox 360

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 87
  2. Negative: 19 out of 87
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 16, 2011
    8
    Input type: MS Wheel + Backup Controller
    Driving Aids: None
    Gearbox: Sequential Manual (Gated shifters get a new option here) I feel that it is important to start out with the input to the game. Many people have already posted great reviews and I assume that they are using the controller. However, I have yet to see anyone post about using a wheel, so I will concentrate on this, as this is
    Input type: MS Wheel + Backup Controller
    Driving Aids: None
    Gearbox: Sequential Manual (Gated shifters get a new option here)

    I feel that it is important to start out with the input to the game. Many people have already posted great reviews and I assume that they are using the controller. However, I have yet to see anyone post about using a wheel, so I will concentrate on this, as this is the input type I chose for this game, as opposed to TDU1 where I used a controller for my time in that game.

    For those using the Fanatec TurboS wheel with a gated shifter, good luck with the 7 speed transmissions ;). However, it should be noted that, for how I am playing, I also have a second controller sitting around to flip between the driving and Avatar experiences (which is not seamless). This is to note the fact that, if using the MSWheel, the D_pad up/down will work at times when you think it should, like not rolling windows up or down in-car, as those have been permanently assigned to Avatar walking. While playing the game with the controller would be more ideal for Avatar interaction and GUI navigation, the car control just feels very jumpy with the default settings, and not what you would want to be doing for a MMORacing game. In TDU with the pad, I just never got into it since I treated it as a game to beat instead of a game to just drive. This game, however, I am treating like a driving game that I sometimes get out to walk around and sometimes have to use the controller to setup things in the UI that are impossible to do with the wheel. To that point, nothing is still more frustrating to me as being in in-car view, and NOT being able to to all the actions the game has since the input device isn't mapped to work. In fact, when using the wheel, the D-Pad just doesn't work in a lot of instances, such as trying to navigate the overhead map and being forced to use the "snap grid", which works terribly. Still, with these concerns apparent, I believe TDU2 with the wheel is a great driving game. Maxing the force feedback, the game felt much more rewarding that i remember in TDU1. I wanted to just cruise around from point to point. I wanted to drive in the night time and in the pouring, thundering rain and lightning. Also, I noticed that the road layout felt it had improved as well. I was no longer bumping and jumping off the road as I did in TDU1! Cars didn't feel like sacks of cement. Driving close to cars and weaving in and out of traffic in TDU2 was great! Getting level 10 on the new F.R.I.M. system, which rewards drivers money while cruising for clean driving, was a cinch with the wheel! Wondering if things were really that much better withe the game, I switched back to the controller for a little while, but I find that to just be extremely twitchy without a lot of practice, and degrades the experience A LOT for me. Thus, I maintain flopping back and forth between the controller and wheel, a ton, which is very clunky and disappointing. In TDU2, without the ability to set how far away from the wheel I am sitting (perspective), as you could in TDU1, I find myself not using the in-car camera at all. I also avoid this mode since the interior shot will move back and forth like NFS:Shift trying to make you feel "more engaged". All it makes me feel is more sea-sick. ]The driving definitely makes it worth while, but I was hoping for an experience that didn't feel so hamstrung by using an interface that I thought was a "no brainer".

    As to the actual driving with the wheel, please note that this is not a Forza Motorsport or Gran Turismo, both of which I have played on the latest consoles. With the MS Wheel, TDU2 is serviceable, and feels like a decent arcade driver that is trying to be more realistic than Burnout or NFS but no where near FM/GT. To that end, once you learn the rules of the cars, it works. The AWD cars can be driven like AWD cars, to a point, with AWD launches and pendulum turns around the copious 90-degree in-town turns. The RWD cars demand respect with the throttle, and traveling at 200+ mph means the steering gets light, and you have to be on your toes. It is a great experience, and once you get used to TDU2s rules, it is enjoyable.

    Finally, Online Interaction: This is where the game should shine, but alas, it has the same launch failures as I recall with TDU1. Clubs are currently not working. Getting into an "instance" with your friend, let alone a few friends, is close to impossible in my experience and tests. The Casino will eat your money. My friends have experienced the corrupt game save. Leaderboard times are NOT updating. There is just a lot broken with the game, and for an online game, that is not good. Still a great game, and I would check it out!
    Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2011
    8
    I think the draw for me to this game is the massive open world to explore and currency system in the game. The first game it was a little too easy to make $$$ but now I have to weight the cost/benefit of my purchases. The addition of the casino was brilliant too. I am hooked.. Its one of those games that I think about when i am at work waiting for the day to end so I can exploreI think the draw for me to this game is the massive open world to explore and currency system in the game. The first game it was a little too easy to make $$$ but now I have to weight the cost/benefit of my purchases. The addition of the casino was brilliant too. I am hooked.. Its one of those games that I think about when i am at work waiting for the day to end so I can explore and race more. Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    This game rocks! I guess if you're not EA, you do not get fair ratings. The game has everything, and does it well. Even a Casino. which Atari could have sold as a seperate game (it comes bundled in some purchases). The graphics are beautiful, and its the only game theat blends single player and multiplayer flawlessly. As you play Single Player, you can actually see online gamers drivingThis game rocks! I guess if you're not EA, you do not get fair ratings. The game has everything, and does it well. Even a Casino. which Atari could have sold as a seperate game (it comes bundled in some purchases). The graphics are beautiful, and its the only game theat blends single player and multiplayer flawlessly. As you play Single Player, you can actually see online gamers driving around. You can even challenge them to races, or just cruise with "Virtual Tourism". I played TDU1 for 5 years, still play it and TDU2 I'll be playing for 5 I'm sure. Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    This is an extremely fun game with a massive open world, but it definitely has its fair share of issues regarding certain things like the occasional texture pop-in and/or screen tearing that may occur (which is quite common in open-world driving games). There are some other minor problems mainly related to interface and things like finding other players during online play (filtering theThis is an extremely fun game with a massive open world, but it definitely has its fair share of issues regarding certain things like the occasional texture pop-in and/or screen tearing that may occur (which is quite common in open-world driving games). There are some other minor problems mainly related to interface and things like finding other players during online play (filtering the map to show only my friends inexplicably showed nobody but I had 4 friends sitting right beside me at the time). Once you get together with all your friends, get ready for hours upon hours of driving around together. You can start races with any cars around you by pressing A to flash your lights which shows your challenge on every player's screen that is close to you. There can be around 50-100 cars spread all around each server's map at once, and up to eight at a time can jump into an instanced race, cop chase, or other type of challenge. The person who issued the challenge chooses any event they have unlocked (there are nearly 200 different events with more in DLC already confirmed), when it pops up it shows the proposed event in the bottom corner of your screen and you can press Back to ignore it, or A to accept their challenge. You can also start races by pressing A as you drive over their starting line. Those of you who enjoy Midnight Club should definitely check this game out. If you are familiar with Midnight Club:LA, imagine that game but with a map that is much larger and has a much greater variety of terrain including the full real-life islands of Ibiza and Hawaii. That means you'll plow through vast plains of 3-foot high weeds, get massive air off mountainsides to jump across riverbanks, and navigate tight urban streets more akin to MC:LA. However, the graphics in this game are about the same detail as those in MC:LA, which is not a compliment since that game is over three years old by now. Sometimes the graphics will stutter when the game is loading during gameplay, but this mostly seemed to happen during freedriving, and barely ever happened during the instanced races. I can say without a doubt that despite the minor graphical and disc-streaming issues this is still one of my top five favorite driving games ever to come out for the 360. Collapse
  5. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    Not understanding the bad reviews for this game. This is one of the most brilliant, large world you can explore in. More fun than exploring in any RPG, plus you can level up!
    I think the dirt races are more fun than the asphalt races, but really it doesn't matter when there's SO MUCH to do besides only racing. If you have a a lot of time on your hands, this game should keep you occupied
    Not understanding the bad reviews for this game. This is one of the most brilliant, large world you can explore in. More fun than exploring in any RPG, plus you can level up!
    I think the dirt races are more fun than the asphalt races, but really it doesn't matter when there's SO MUCH to do besides only racing. If you have a a lot of time on your hands, this game should keep you occupied for months, at the least.
    Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2011
    8
    Oh, what could have been. With nearly five years to perfect the formula Eden created with the first TDU, one would think that TDU 2 would be a masterpiece. Well, think again. First, this game is SERIOUSLY flawed. It should not have been released in its current state. Major issues, including many that didn't come to light until people were well into their games, plague what could have beenOh, what could have been. With nearly five years to perfect the formula Eden created with the first TDU, one would think that TDU 2 would be a masterpiece. Well, think again. First, this game is SERIOUSLY flawed. It should not have been released in its current state. Major issues, including many that didn't come to light until people were well into their games, plague what could have been a great game. Corrupted save files, online issues, broken DLC, the list goes on and on, all issues that should have been addressed WELL before the game was released. Technical problems aside, this is not a sim racer, but then again, it doesn't do arcade that well either. Some cars handle like dump trucks, others are twitchy messes that fly off the road at the slightest movement of the steering wheel. Each car has it's own handling characteristics, but even these change depending on which view you use. Apparently Eden has decided that the basic laws of physics change depending on whether or not you are inside or outside of your car. These handling issues are more prevalent at the beginning, and as you progress, the higher level cars seem to offer a better driving experience. Long story short, the single player is a tale of a rags-to-riches racer peppered with awful dialogue and bad voice acting (I mean really bad). Your travels through Ibiza (and eventually Oahu) progress via various championships, both on and off road. While these are fun enough, the excitement is somewhat abated due to absolutely obnoxioius racing "schools", where you must pass a series of maddening tests before being granted a license which allows you to compete in various competitions. Some of you less familiar with racing games should be prepared to repeat these tests up to ten times (or more) before you pass them. Have another controller at the ready before playing this game, because you might end up hurling the first one through the wall at some point. Aside from racing, there are various side missions you can complete, such as taxi and vehicle delivery missions. But the real bread and butter of TDU games is the open world driving experience, and this is where the game truly succeeds. Ibiza is a beautiful island with a lot to do and see. Bombing straightaways in a Ferrari or Bugatti is incredibly fun, and the game does impart a true sense of barely-in-control speed as you fly across the island at 180+ mph. After reaching level 10, you can fly to Oahu (the setting of the original), which is a joy to discover all over again if you played TDU 1. If you haven't, so much the better, as it will all be new to you. "Discovery" is a major aspect of the game, and it does this very well, placing old wrecked cars throughout the islands for you to discover. Discover enough, and you are rewarded with new automobiles. This game bills itself as a MMOR: massively multiplayer online racer, allowing players to interact with one another in the virtual world, challenging each other to races, joining clubs, and myriad other online options. Unfortunately, I barely got to scratch the surface of this part of the game because of a server problem which has forced me to play offline, otherwise it would just hang at the loading screen. This is a problem Eden says they are working on. But again, WHY WAS THIS GAME RELEASED WITH ISSUES SUCH AS THIS? In short, I can't really comment on the online functionality because I have yet to be able to experience it. The graphics in this game are mediocre at best. Frame-rate can be an issue, as well as some pretty bad pop-in in some areas. The cars look good inside and out, but don't expect them to look Forza good. With all that said, though, it's got to be difficult to render a virtual world, so I'm sure some graphical sacrifices had to be made in order for it to be playable. In summary, this is a good, but flawed, game. If you are looking for a sim like Forza, look elsewhere. But you are very likely to enjoy TDU 2 if you enjoyed the first game. Despite this game's many flaws and technical issues, I think it's a decent game and it's worth the $49.99 price tag, because this game is more about an experience rather than actual racing.â Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2011
    9
    Ok, first off, this game is awesome fun to play. If you like fun, this game has it. There are things wrong with it, like bad story line attempt, graphics are not the best, and driving is far from perfect, but it doesn't take away from the fun. So far, I have driven all of Ibiza, played several challenges and championships, covered over half of oahu, and still going. Hours have beenOk, first off, this game is awesome fun to play. If you like fun, this game has it. There are things wrong with it, like bad story line attempt, graphics are not the best, and driving is far from perfect, but it doesn't take away from the fun. So far, I have driven all of Ibiza, played several challenges and championships, covered over half of oahu, and still going. Hours have been lost. If you want to have fun when playing games, its great. There really is nothing else like it out there. Take a look. Expand
  8. Feb 16, 2011
    9
    Misunderstood game. Usually I would rate a game lower than the critics but I happen to love this game. Could be because I enjoy a traffic/driving simulator over racing simulator. While most racing games has better car details, this one has a lot more road, and details of stuff that matters to me. Traffic, weather, day/night etc. Most games has an invisible wall at the edge of the road. InMisunderstood game. Usually I would rate a game lower than the critics but I happen to love this game. Could be because I enjoy a traffic/driving simulator over racing simulator. While most racing games has better car details, this one has a lot more road, and details of stuff that matters to me. Traffic, weather, day/night etc. Most games has an invisible wall at the edge of the road. In this game, whole Oahu and Ibiza is open. I'd hope for a better physic/collision system, but it doesn't spoil the fun. I general, no other racing games provide a realistic world with progression system like this one. Presentation and story is far from good, but in this game it doesn't matter. It's not an adventure game, it's a driving game - story doesn't mean anything. This game has a great atmosphere, and if I read the review before I bought it, I wouldn't have bought it. I'm so glad I pre-paid this game. I'll spend much more time with this game than GT5. I'll easily defend a 9. Expand
  9. Feb 14, 2011
    8
    Ok, first of all. I'm giving this game a 9 because of the fun i have with it. I feel like a little kid on christmas eve since i got this game. that's rare for me, and even more so because i'm not really a race fan.
    If i had to give an objective review, i'd give it a 7 or 8 because of the issues.
    Yes, the graphics aren't top notch, but what people dont seem to understand is that this is
    Ok, first of all. I'm giving this game a 9 because of the fun i have with it. I feel like a little kid on christmas eve since i got this game. that's rare for me, and even more so because i'm not really a race fan.
    If i had to give an objective review, i'd give it a 7 or 8 because of the issues.

    Yes, the graphics aren't top notch, but what people dont seem to understand is that this is a HUGE seamless open world. The xbox 360 wouldnt be able to handle such graphics AND provide such a huge world. And overall, they really aren't that bad. The game has great atmosphere and the weather and day- and nightcycle are a welcome addition. About the car handling. Remember, this is an arcade racer, not a forza. I'm speaking about handling with a controller though. I don't have a steering wheel so can't talk about that. At first i was pretty dissappointed with the handling, but i soon got used to it and when you get to drive more cars, you notice all the differences between them and some are really awesome to drive with. It just takes getting used to. If you expect Forza controls, yes you're going to be dissappointed. It's NOT a sim.

    So right now there are some issues with servers and some bugs, but i'm sure these will get fixed soon. The multiplayer featured and menu's are well done and there's just a lot to do. Even more than in rdu 1. And before someone starts, no i'm not an Atari fanboy. I just really really have a lot of fun with this game. And quite a few of my online friends seem to love it too and haven't stop playign since they got it. On the other hand, i've read a lot of negative things. So it seems it's a love or hate kinda game. Really don't focus on all the bad reviews, it really is a lot of fun. And when everything will be fixed and running smoothly, you will have a fun and lively community.
    Expand
  10. Cyc
    Feb 23, 2011
    10
    There certainly seems to be a big split between people liking this game and hating it. I have to say I fall on the side of liking it. In fact, I would say loving it. The whole idea of an open world racing game is great, there's certainly plenty to do in it and it's easy to get lost in the whole world of the game and hours soon passing by.
    Yes, it does have certain issues. Graphics can be
    There certainly seems to be a big split between people liking this game and hating it. I have to say I fall on the side of liking it. In fact, I would say loving it. The whole idea of an open world racing game is great, there's certainly plenty to do in it and it's easy to get lost in the whole world of the game and hours soon passing by.
    Yes, it does have certain issues. Graphics can be varied, at times the island comes to life in amazing detail, and at other times the graphics can look a little crude. Overall it's still very impressive. There is some noticeable pop up, and the frame rate can suffer at times, but not enough to distract you.

    From what I can make out, most people who don't like the game are fans of the original, and they feel the game has not progressed enough and some of their favourite things even removed. This may be the case, I don't know. I never played the original. So if all this is new to you, then I can't see you can be anything but impressed by the sheer size of the game and what you can do.

    You can spend hours just driving around the 2 islands, entering championships, challenging online players, forming clubs buying cars, houses and clothes. There is just so much to do.

    If you can cope with the small issues it has, there's an amazing geme here.
    Expand
  11. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    The best game in its category
    Great cars design, great environments, really superb !
    Very immersive and original.
    Everything is good in this game
  12. Mar 7, 2011
    10
    Awesome game. Shame about online not working well but the additions since TDU 1 really make this game fun. Graphics are clean and functional without being outstanding. Game modes are ok but this is a driving game and as a driving game its awesome fun. Disc has hardly left my tray since release day.
  13. Jul 21, 2011
    9
    I am writing this review after the mandatory update.Now this game is pretty cool.It's got a bazillion things to do and now that the update fixed most, but not all,of the problems it makes all the things pure enjoyment.After seeing and reading all of the major companies reviews it looks like only a few looked past the problems and reviewed this game right.Heck I even put it down to theI am writing this review after the mandatory update.Now this game is pretty cool.It's got a bazillion things to do and now that the update fixed most, but not all,of the problems it makes all the things pure enjoyment.After seeing and reading all of the major companies reviews it looks like only a few looked past the problems and reviewed this game right.Heck I even put it down to the floor cause of my disappointment.I really think this tops MC Los Angelas and burnout Paradise.I have off the charts fun even 5 months after it's release.Those other games are awesome in there own way but this is a different level.My hat is off to you,great game!9.0 Expand
  14. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    First of all,i have to start by saying This is one Complete package of a racing game! It really has alot of different things you can do,From Standard & Co-Op racing events,to delivering packages or people,or just cruising around for the sheer joy of it.. The detail & animation on the cars is superb,& the islands look very good considering its complete free roam & the sheer size of theFirst of all,i have to start by saying This is one Complete package of a racing game! It really has alot of different things you can do,From Standard & Co-Op racing events,to delivering packages or people,or just cruising around for the sheer joy of it.. The detail & animation on the cars is superb,& the islands look very good considering its complete free roam & the sheer size of the game.Its nice to see weather effects in the game now too.This game would've got a perfect 10,had it not been for the state the game was in on release.From Massively twitchy handeling,to currupted saves,Changable Weather not being present when playing offline,& many smaller glitches.. The Bugs mentioned at the beginning really game braking bugs! & are unforgivable(I was really tempted to mark it down further,due to the bugs,but underneath it is a great game).Patches are all very well,but developers need to start realising that not everyone is online,& will be stuck with these massively flawed products.Its not good enough! Its about time they started taking pride in their products,& listening to their QA testers(why do they hire them at all.if they're not going to fix anything found)!? Games need to be unbroken BEFORE release,not after. Expand
  15. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    It's a really nice game, the singleplayer, the multiplayer, all the modes.
    It has some minuses : Lifeless islands, you can't go off-road when chased by police, earning licences is not that great later in the game, voice acting is not that great, but who cares - it's fun and that's the most important thing in a game!
  16. Jul 28, 2011
    8
    Good game, terrible voice acting and cutscenes but get past those and the bugs and underneath is a good looking and fun driver that will eat many hours up just wandering round the islands (especially ibiza) enjoing the scenery and messing about with buddies. Because that is where the entertain is, just pulling up in a car park to find 12 other petrol heads doughnutting around and having a laugh.
  17. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    OMG why is this game rated so low? The technical issues have been patched and there's some free extra content. It's a driving RPG/sandbox. The driving mechanics aren't the best, nor is the game bug-free. But it's a complete package. Nothing here is of a high standard or has a quality feel, but at least it's not boring. If you want pure racing, look elsewhere. If you want an enjoyableOMG why is this game rated so low? The technical issues have been patched and there's some free extra content. It's a driving RPG/sandbox. The driving mechanics aren't the best, nor is the game bug-free. But it's a complete package. Nothing here is of a high standard or has a quality feel, but at least it's not boring. If you want pure racing, look elsewhere. If you want an enjoyable experience, this is fairly good. It sure is addictive. What this game tries to do, and how well it does it, cannot be commended enough. It's such a shame that the game had so many bugs and exploits when it was first released. The achievements for this game are also pretty terrible. Sure, if you have them all, you have done absolutely everything there is to do in the game, but most of them are pretty silly and pointless. Chievos aside, TDU2 is the most complete driving RPG experience you can find. The quantity is here. The quality? That's personal preference. I think it's pretty average. However, if you consider what this game actually has done, you'll begin to see why it's one of the most underrated and underappreciated games EVER! Not only does it connect everyone playing the game seemlesly in a free-roam MMO Racing RPG environment in two beautiful islands with simply breathtaking sights all round, but the whole customisation of your cars (of which there is great variety - old and new - supercars to hot hatches and 4x4s) both performance-wise and visually, as well as customising your character, you houses and also the ability to challenge anyone on a huge variety of events and location at the flash of a headlight is just remarkable. The challenge creator gives you infinite possibilities, and the multiplayer races are not only innovative events such as having highest combined speed through cameras but also there are co-operative ones too. Don't see that anywhere else. The single player content is pretty good with again nice variety and makes use of both islands, all vehicle types and very satisfying. AI isn't a problem at all either. The driving physics are solid both off-road and on the road without assists; although you can enable them to suit your needs. You do get manual transmission, you get collectibles too. I can't see how this game could be improved other than a few finishing touches to make it less glitchy at points. It really is driving nirvana, which gives you ultimate freedom wrapped up in an MMORPG environment. Expand
  18. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    What's with all these bad reviews? This game is my favorite driving game of the xbox by far. There are humungous maps for this, and tons of stuff to do. 10/10
  19. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. TDU2 is a fantastic game with something that no other open world racing game has to offer. That being a fully customizable life! You can customize your character's physical appearance at the plastic surgeon, as well as change your character's clothes, & what I think is the real kicker when it comes to your in-game customizable life is the ability to purchase REMARKABLE homes!! You also get to meet a decent variety of colorful characters though some are quite annoying... There is a decent variety of cars however, some cars are too sensitive and some cars don't sound right like GTR (R35) sounds like a ZR1 with a turbo, other cars tend to sound wrong as well but the R35 was the biggest mistake for me... Some of the garages are also a mission to find and I personally recommend going to YouTube to find them all.
    The graphics are awesome but do appear to be a bit cartoony at times. My biggest complaint which is solely do to my personal preference is the severe lack of JDM cars to be more specific R34 SKYLINES (MY FAVORITE CAR!!)
    Expand
  20. Feb 13, 2011
    0
    This is an extremely fun game with a massive open world, but it definitely has its fair share of issues regarding certain things like the occasional texture pop-in and/or screen tearing that may occur (which is quite common in open-world driving games). There are some other minor problems mainly related to interface and things like finding other players during online play (filtering theThis is an extremely fun game with a massive open world, but it definitely has its fair share of issues regarding certain things like the occasional texture pop-in and/or screen tearing that may occur (which is quite common in open-world driving games). There are some other minor problems mainly related to interface and things like finding other players during online play (filtering the map to show only my friends inexplicably showed nobody but I had 4 friends sitting right beside me at the time). Once you get together with all your friends, get ready for hours upon hours of driving around together. You can start races with any cars around you by pressing A to flash your lights which shows your challenge on every player's screen that is close to you. There can be around 50-100 cars spread all around each server's map at once, and up to eight at a time can jump into an instanced race, cop chase, or other type of challenge. The person who issued the challenge chooses any event they have unlocked (there are nearly 200 different events with more in DLC already confirmed), when it pops up it shows the proposed event in the bottom corner of your screen and you can press Back to ignore it, or A to accept their challenge. You can also start races by pressing A as you drive over their starting line. Those of you who enjoy Midnight Club should definitely check this game out. If you are familiar with Midnight Club:LA, imagine that game but with a map that is much larger and has a much greater variety of terrain including the full real-life islands of Ibiza and Hawaii. That means you'll plow through vast plains of 3-foot high weeds, get massive air off mountainsides to jump across riverbanks, and navigate tight urban streets more akin to MC:LA. However, the graphics in this game are about the same detail as those in MC:LA, which is not a compliment since that game is over three years old by now. Sometimes the graphics will stutter when the game is loading during gameplay, but this mostly seemed to happen during freedriving, and barely ever happened during the instanced races. I can say without a doubt that despite the minor graphical and disc-streaming issues this is still one of my top five favorite driving games ever to come out for the 360. Collapse
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 61
  2. Negative: 2 out of 61
  1. May 24, 2011
    67
    We were really looking foreward to TDU 2. The controls of the cars and the AI are really poor. Online multiplayer is more offline than online.
  2. Apr 29, 2011
    67
    Ultimately, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a fun game to play that will keep you entertained for hours upon hours. Despite a few annoyances and flaws, the game has so much to do and explore that you could spend hours playing in this part of the game without any actual online multiplay.
  3. Mar 27, 2011
    67
    I am a bit torn when it comes to Test Drive Unlimited 2. It is definitely not the worst racing game I have played, but it is marred with technical problems that really do affect the gameplay. I would be willing to overlook these issues if the storyline was either better or nonexistent, but as it stands the story is not even enjoyable in an ironic sort of corny way – it is just frustrating to not give a damn about the characters, especially your own.