Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Test Drive Unlimited 2 expands on the traditional racing experience providing gamers with M.O.O.R.: Massively Open Online Racing; immersing drivers in a persistent online environment and revolutionizing multiplayer racing communities as players compete, team up, and share their achievements and creations online. Unlike any other driving game, TDU2 blends the open world experience with realistic vehicles and performance dynamics and for the first time, TDU2 features vehicle damage, weather effects, day and night cycles, and a brand new island to explore. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 61
  2. Negative: 2 out of 61
  1. Feb 16, 2011
    88
    A very enjoyable game, despite some blind spots in the graphics and sound areas: the social aspects and the many, many things to do in Ibiza and Oahu will keep your interest high for a long time.
  2. Feb 14, 2011
    80
    Though it offers more diversity than its predecessor, it can't reach top scores in our review due to the literally nonexistent story.
  3. Mar 3, 2011
    75
    TDU2 is an incredible toy box full of racing, exploring, car collection and the lifestyle of the fast and famous. But the rough start has probably made the rest of the game's experience a lot less than it could have been.
  4. Feb 13, 2011
    70
    Developer Eden Studios has put way too much time in creating a good online experience. This is probably the reason why the gameplay hasn't really improved on its predecessor. Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a good game, but can't challenge the greater racing games of our generation.
  5. May 24, 2011
    67
    We were really looking foreward to TDU 2. The controls of the cars and the AI are really poor. Online multiplayer is more offline than online.
  6. Mar 16, 2011
    60
    Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a strangely satisfying and very frustrating arcade racer.
  7. Feb 25, 2011
    40
    Test Drive Unlimited 2 definitely has its moments and I can't deny the game's quirky charm. But the great strength of the roster of cars, the enjoyable driving model and compelling location can't eclipse the lack of enjoyable content or the confusing economy.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 34
  2. Negative: 8 out of 34
  1. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    Not understanding the bad reviews for this game. This is one of the most brilliant, large world you can explore in. More fun than exploring in any RPG, plus you can level up!
    I think the dirt races are more fun than the asphalt races, but really it doesn't matter when there's SO MUCH to do besides only racing. If you have a a lot of time on your hands, this game should keep you occupied for months, at the least.
    Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    This game rocks! I guess if you're not EA, you do not get fair ratings. The game has everything, and does it well. Even a Casino. which Atari could have sold as a seperate game (it comes bundled in some purchases). The graphics are beautiful, and its the only game theat blends single player and multiplayer flawlessly. As you play Single Player, you can actually see online gamers driving around. You can even challenge them to races, or just cruise with "Virtual Tourism". I played TDU1 for 5 years, still play it and TDU2 I'll be playing for 5 I'm sure. Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2011
    9
    Misunderstood game. Usually I would rate a game lower than the critics but I happen to love this game. Could be because I enjoy a traffic/driving simulator over racing simulator. While most racing games has better car details, this one has a lot more road, and details of stuff that matters to me. Traffic, weather, day/night etc. Most games has an invisible wall at the edge of the road. In this game, whole Oahu and Ibiza is open. I'd hope for a better physic/collision system, but it doesn't spoil the fun. I general, no other racing games provide a realistic world with progression system like this one. Presentation and story is far from good, but in this game it doesn't matter. It's not an adventure game, it's a driving game - story doesn't mean anything. This game has a great atmosphere, and if I read the review before I bought it, I wouldn't have bought it. I'm so glad I pre-paid this game. I'll spend much more time with this game than GT5. I'll easily defend a 9. Expand
  4. Feb 14, 2011
    8
    Ok, first of all. I'm giving this game a 9 because of the fun i have with it. I feel like a little kid on christmas eve since i got this game. that's rare for me, and even more so because i'm not really a race fan.
    If i had to give an objective review, i'd give it a 7 or 8 because of the issues.

    Yes, the graphics aren't top notch, but what people dont seem to understand is that this is a HUGE seamless open world. The xbox 360 wouldnt be able to handle such graphics AND provide such a huge world. And overall, they really aren't that bad. The game has great atmosphere and the weather and day- and nightcycle are a welcome addition. About the car handling. Remember, this is an arcade racer, not a forza. I'm speaking about handling with a controller though. I don't have a steering wheel so can't talk about that. At first i was pretty dissappointed with the handling, but i soon got used to it and when you get to drive more cars, you notice all the differences between them and some are really awesome to drive with. It just takes getting used to. If you expect Forza controls, yes you're going to be dissappointed. It's NOT a sim.

    So right now there are some issues with servers and some bugs, but i'm sure these will get fixed soon. The multiplayer featured and menu's are well done and there's just a lot to do. Even more than in rdu 1. And before someone starts, no i'm not an Atari fanboy. I just really really have a lot of fun with this game. And quite a few of my online friends seem to love it too and haven't stop playign since they got it. On the other hand, i've read a lot of negative things. So it seems it's a love or hate kinda game. Really don't focus on all the bad reviews, it really is a lot of fun. And when everything will be fixed and running smoothly, you will have a fun and lively community.
    Collapse
  5. May 2, 2011
    7
    The cut scenes are horrendous, with some of the worst acting and voiceovers I've ever heard. The graphics are passable, but nothing to write home about... but I STILL feel drawn to its unique approach to the driving genre. Something about walking around a garage, sitting in cars and just the entire 'relaxing' feeling you get cruising the many, many, MANY roads, cannot be found in any other racer. Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2011
    5
    Test Drive Unlimited 2 does a lot of things. It is a racer, has a casino, avatar/car customization, houses, exploration, discovery, collecting, hidden secrets, miles upon miles of roads and cars, however it does not do any of these things particularly well. I loved the first Test Drive Unlimited and played it for 100+ hours, however I could not stomach more than 10 hours with this game. The driving is stale and unexciting, the avatars and clunky and rigid and look horrible. There are too many bugs to count. Unfortunately it is a broken game and even if a patch was released to fix this game it would still not be above a 6. I hate to compare to other games but for racing fans there are so many more better games out there worthy of your money and I hate to say it being such a big fan of the first Test Drive but this one is not worth your investment. Expand
  7. Feb 11, 2011
    0
    A game that stopped in the time, lacks everything, graphical, game play, history, is a shame that a game with a history , fail in everything, other reviews say this game is beautiful lol , in Ps2 ; xbox, yes , in xbox 360 no , not buy this game , there are more game cars and all are better than this garbage. 1.0 Expand

See all 34 User Reviews