User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 84
  2. Negative: 10 out of 84

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BarryQ.
    Jan 1, 2007
    1
    I love driving games, but this one is just boring. I can't put my finger on it because it looks great, drives great but is ultimately not exciting. Stay away or play Forza on your old box.
  2. FPSMaster
    May 16, 2007
    6
    The fact that I have to spend real money to get microsoft points to unlock cars for this game, then still spend money in the game to unlock them is atrocious. I spent the money on them, real money, so I shold be able to own the cars in the game right away. But having to spend hard earned money just to unlock them for purchase in the game is by far the worst use of the marketplace and The fact that I have to spend real money to get microsoft points to unlock cars for this game, then still spend money in the game to unlock them is atrocious. I spent the money on them, real money, so I shold be able to own the cars in the game right away. But having to spend hard earned money just to unlock them for purchase in the game is by far the worst use of the marketplace and downloads yet....way worse than anything EA has done with the marketplace. I'm surprised anyone still plays this game because without spending around $100 you can not play 100% of the game. No wonder it was only $40 new, you only got about 50% of the game. They are trying to make up for that now and it should be illegal to do it this way. Expand
  3. RandyM.
    Dec 8, 2006
    9
    This game has everything I'm not fond of - traffic, no closed road courses with great red/white curbing, too much emphasis on supercars, and yet , I can't stop playing the bloody thing!
  4. Quaid
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    Test drive unlimited number of cars. Welll okay, there are a bunch. They all drive different and all with there own unique sounds. Unlimited number of things that you can do in the game besides test drive. The single and multiplayer are combined. You can just cruise along and do computer a.i. challenges and there is a wide variety of them or you can flash your lights and challenge another Test drive unlimited number of cars. Welll okay, there are a bunch. They all drive different and all with there own unique sounds. Unlimited number of things that you can do in the game besides test drive. The single and multiplayer are combined. You can just cruise along and do computer a.i. challenges and there is a wide variety of them or you can flash your lights and challenge another xbox live player to a race for cash. To unlock every stretch of road, you must drive to every car dealership first. This will easily take 200 miles of actual driving. That's okay because once you buy a car for the amount they give you to start, it gives you a chance to get a feel for the game. The demo was horrible. Then the second demo came out and I thought it was better but not up to my standards. Then I read some reviews on this site and I was like wow, I am going to go check it out. You cannot beat the price. The gameplay is amazing. The multiplayer is outstanding. The steering is tight unlike the demos. The value is endless. This is a wonderful game. No damage to your cars, but the things you hit, things fly all over the road. To get back on the road, just hit the back button. You can get fines, but the game provides you with the opportunity in not getting any. The lighting and graphics are gorgeous. The options menu is the best I have ever seen in any game. If there is one thing I don't like, it is the fact that you cannot change your license plate. I am being serious. This game is flawless except for that. Maybe it is possible, but haven't unlocked all the cars and roads yet. The coolest thing about the game hands down is when you approach red lettering on your screen, that is another xbox player and when in range you are automatically connected to them. No lobby, no lagging, no loading. Just talk nice or talk smack. Just drive around or race like a maniac. This game is for recreational to the very advanced. Expand
  5. Wowwee
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    This is the best driving game I have played hands down. I am not a fan of the genre but I am addicted to this one. Love the fact that it is FRIGGIN HUGE. Cars are beautiful, online is the best offering on LIVE, price is unbelievable ($40.00). Most stores are sold out in the Indy area so if you see it buy it, you won't regret it.
  6. EricT.
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    This game is great. The graphics are good, the gameplay doesn't get too old, the racing AI is decent, and the possibilities are pretty much endless. Also, the island in Hawaii (the name doesn't come to me right now) is absolutely gigantic. It's probably bigger (but not as detailed) as the entire map in Oblivion. I would originally give this game a 9, but at 40 bucks, you This game is great. The graphics are good, the gameplay doesn't get too old, the racing AI is decent, and the possibilities are pretty much endless. Also, the island in Hawaii (the name doesn't come to me right now) is absolutely gigantic. It's probably bigger (but not as detailed) as the entire map in Oblivion. I would originally give this game a 9, but at 40 bucks, you just can't go wrong. Expand
  7. MarkC.
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Man! This is fun! It's definitely not your average driving game.
  8. BlakeT.
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    I love racing games, but I've never been great at them. I play PGR3 and get stomped every time. Still, I love to race and drive. I've been waiting for a racing game that tailors to both the Pro gamer and the casual gamer. Test Drive Unlimited does this quite well. If I want to race someone, I can. If not, there are a ton of really fun single player missions available. Or, if I I love racing games, but I've never been great at them. I play PGR3 and get stomped every time. Still, I love to race and drive. I've been waiting for a racing game that tailors to both the Pro gamer and the casual gamer. Test Drive Unlimited does this quite well. If I want to race someone, I can. If not, there are a ton of really fun single player missions available. Or, if I just want to drive around the island at 200+mph, I can do that too. The graphics are outstanding and each car feels and sounds very different. I don't know how Atari pulled this one off - but WOW! Expand
  9. RodP.
    Sep 15, 2006
    4
    Directionless. Weird "racing game" that has no overall point to it.
  10. SpencerW.
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    What can I say , I´ve been waiting for this game for years too. Don´t understand the 7/8 outta 10 reviews this game is getting. Unputdownable and will prolly end up a modern classic. With games this good running with xbox live ps3 is gonna take a beating this time around in the west. Buy it, love it.
  11. P.cuz
    Sep 7, 2006
    9
    Best game on 360 so far.
  12. Mr.Review
    Apr 1, 2007
    8
    I have always been amazed by how varied opinions are in this epic world we live in, and how I am capable of absolutely adoring this gane, yet another finds the experience infinitely miserable. With that said, do not focus on my run of the mill score of an 8, as much as the content contained in this game and the unique journey Test Drive Unlimited will offer you. 120 challenges, 100 bonus I have always been amazed by how varied opinions are in this epic world we live in, and how I am capable of absolutely adoring this gane, yet another finds the experience infinitely miserable. With that said, do not focus on my run of the mill score of an 8, as much as the content contained in this game and the unique journey Test Drive Unlimited will offer you. 120 challenges, 100 bonus missions, and countless online races leave you being drawn to Unlimited farther than the average racer. TD has a gameplay style different than most. I would compare it to being most similar to Forza, but this opinion is rough for TD: U is in a class all by itself. Not many games successfuly capture the beauty of an environment, and Oahu is arguably the most gorgeous area to be blessed a vehicle in. This game pouns you with extra options, such as tuning your car (though not very personally). Odd, because the clothing options and purchasable houses in this agem far outclass the tuning options, which is irregular for any racer in this new generation. TD: U has a lot going for it. respectable graphics and an appealing island, 100+ hours of landscape to roam, and a host of reasonable achievements, unlocked at a nice and steady pace. The only defiant faults in this game are the inconsistencies witnessed before, such as hitting a lightpole stops you as if hitting a brick wall, and the plants are often built of steel and invincible concrete (resulting in an immediate and annoying stop). No damage is as expected as well. But with that considered, this game has appeal out the ass, plenty of challenge and a unique and blended online experience unlike any other racer. Roughly 90 cars to own, another 35 or so homes, and 1000 miles of open and enthralling roads welcome you to your new home called Oahu, Hawaii. Expand
  13. FredL.
    Apr 3, 2007
    6
    Too many people have given it a 10 rating in this user review. Overall it's a fair game. Lots of fun, but the challenges are a bit to repetitive and sometimes too difficult and frustrating. But of course it
  14. MikeT.
    Nov 1, 2006
    3
    Not impressed with the overall presentation and gameplay. I traded in my copy.
  15. ACE5
    Oct 5, 2006
    9
    What a breath of fresh air! I hope all future games get made this way. I believe if games like PGR, Midnight club and even need for speed had a game world as big and beautiful as Test Drive, we as gamers could get more playability out of them. For me Test Drive is the total package. I have invested hours and hours into this game and could not find anything seriously wrong with it. The What a breath of fresh air! I hope all future games get made this way. I believe if games like PGR, Midnight club and even need for speed had a game world as big and beautiful as Test Drive, we as gamers could get more playability out of them. For me Test Drive is the total package. I have invested hours and hours into this game and could not find anything seriously wrong with it. The feeling of freedom to do whatever you want is there. If you want to race you race, if you want to just drive around and sight see, hit the gas and go! NFS:MW gave us a small glimpse of a free world to explore... but, in the end the game world just felt too small. Test Drives world is an extremely large place to explore, and the driving physics are done exceptionally well... not to mention the graphics are beautiful. The only thing I didn't like about this game, is that the cop chases could have been a bit better, but It doesn't cripple the game at all. Expand
  16. W.G.
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    How does a "legitimate" review website rate this game a 61? This game is the best offering that the 360 has offered so far. Talk Xbox, get off the crack. Word to your mutha.
  17. RazgrizGhost
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    Stunning, absolutly stunning when i first played pgr3 on a 42" plasma tv i thought i had seen it all but this proved me wrong. but what is the weirdist thing 4 me is that it's coming out 2 a portable console (psp) and the 360 thats it and the psp version will be a blow. the graphics make this game, haven't played it on a hd screen yet? well get urself a vga cable and plug urStunning, absolutly stunning when i first played pgr3 on a 42" plasma tv i thought i had seen it all but this proved me wrong. but what is the weirdist thing 4 me is that it's coming out 2 a portable console (psp) and the 360 thats it and the psp version will be a blow. the graphics make this game, haven't played it on a hd screen yet? well get urself a vga cable and plug ur monitor into it u wont regret it!!! Expand
  18. Andyman
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    Magnificent game, top to bottom. So much to do and see, and before you know it, you've spent the entire day exploring the absolutely breathtaking Oahu landscape, building your collection, spiffing up your rides, racing online or off, completing really fun missions, and test-driving cars you can't afford yet. I agree completely with some of the earlier reviews... Test Drive Magnificent game, top to bottom. So much to do and see, and before you know it, you've spent the entire day exploring the absolutely breathtaking Oahu landscape, building your collection, spiffing up your rides, racing online or off, completing really fun missions, and test-driving cars you can't afford yet. I agree completely with some of the earlier reviews... Test Drive Unlimited is by far the best racing game on the 360 right now. Expand
  19. FordP.
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    Best $40.00 ever spent on a game. I have invested enough time to play other games multiple times but I am only 38% finished with this one. Amazing graphics, cool cars, great sense of speed. Very cool game.
  20. TheoG.
    Sep 22, 2006
    9
    So much fun. Can't put my finger on what makes a fun racing game, a difficult combination of realism and playability, but this one has it. The online system needs a little work, nothing a patch couldn't help. Also, more customization would be welcomed, as opposed to 3 packages of upgrades for each car. Something more akin to NFS would make a big difference and get this game a So much fun. Can't put my finger on what makes a fun racing game, a difficult combination of realism and playability, but this one has it. The online system needs a little work, nothing a patch couldn't help. Also, more customization would be welcomed, as opposed to 3 packages of upgrades for each car. Something more akin to NFS would make a big difference and get this game a 10. Looking forward to the sequel already! Expand
  21. MarkB.
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    This is the driving game I've been waiting for since I played GTA for the first time. Wide open real-life location while driving with other people online. My dream has finally been realized and it's name is Test Drive Unlimited!
  22. Grocs(James)
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    This game simply stands the test of time in my opinion. Due to the originality of the concept and the fact you are allowed just to cruise around the whole island of Oahu - simply means it is still the most original and enjoyable racer so far on the 360. As I write this it is December 2008, more than two years after it was first released.

    I had actually traded this game - only to find
    This game simply stands the test of time in my opinion. Due to the originality of the concept and the fact you are allowed just to cruise around the whole island of Oahu - simply means it is still the most original and enjoyable racer so far on the 360. As I write this it is December 2008, more than two years after it was first released.

    I had actually traded this game - only to find a couple of months later that I was missing it too much. So I ended up buying it again. If you are a car and bike lover and don't want to be bogged down by half assed story and the same races over and over again, do yourself a favour and get Test Drive Unlimited. Simply the best arcade racer out there.
    Expand
  23. JaceN.
    Oct 12, 2006
    8
    The driving parts of the Grand Theft Auto games with none of the foot/gunwork and all of the associated problems with all the real-world exotic cars you could want! Most of the time the missions go off without a hitch but some are near impossible and if not...so frustrating you could howl! Nothing says this more than losing a race by an inch thanks to the cursed civilian traffic turning The driving parts of the Grand Theft Auto games with none of the foot/gunwork and all of the associated problems with all the real-world exotic cars you could want! Most of the time the missions go off without a hitch but some are near impossible and if not...so frustrating you could howl! Nothing says this more than losing a race by an inch thanks to the cursed civilian traffic turning down a side road right in your 300KMH path or T-Boning you out of nowhere!...or a rival exotic car driven by either the AI or online human player smashing you into a cop car for an instant arrest before you even know what happened! So overall its a free roaming blast but be prepared to throw the controller at appropriate moments! Expand
  24. MikeS.
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    This is a very fun game. Best game on 360 so far. Nothing like finding someone to run around the island with at 247 MPH. Get this one.
  25. RedXIII
    Sep 12, 2006
    8
    The best driving game for the 360 right now, allows customization of cars as well as characters which is nice, though it could have been a little bit more in depth. The driving experience is somewhere in between Gran Turismo realism and Need for speed, which means you cannot take hair pin corners at 200mph. The graphics are very nice, the sound track leaves something to be deisred but you The best driving game for the 360 right now, allows customization of cars as well as characters which is nice, though it could have been a little bit more in depth. The driving experience is somewhere in between Gran Turismo realism and Need for speed, which means you cannot take hair pin corners at 200mph. The graphics are very nice, the sound track leaves something to be deisred but you can play your IPOD or something or just listen to the roar of the car, the First person view is awesome when you are actually in the car. Overall a great racing game priced reasonably (unlike the other 360 games) a must have for any racing game fan. Expand
  26. EricD.
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    Wow. Me and four friends last night just cruised the island. We played follow the leader on road, off road, everywhere. We're in sweet cars at sweet speeds in beautiful scenes. Coast to coast no lagging, no loading. It's a time stealer! Watch out!
  27. A.L.
    Nov 12, 2007
    7
    Good driving game with a decent amount of game play, including races, online play, and just cruising. OK graphics, very large map and play area encompassing the entire sim island of Oahu, although the scenery can become repetitive. Excellent value for you money as it can now be purchased at bargain prices.
  28. JohnF.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Simply AMAZING! The amount of detail they put into this Map amazes me. It's graphics are simply brilliant in a way that i find myself stopping every 5 minutes for a stunning screen shot. I also found that just exploring the island will provide you with hours upon hours of gameplay. The houses are all like dreamhouse showrooms with giant garages. I found myself laughing at the fact Simply AMAZING! The amount of detail they put into this Map amazes me. It's graphics are simply brilliant in a way that i find myself stopping every 5 minutes for a stunning screen shot. I also found that just exploring the island will provide you with hours upon hours of gameplay. The houses are all like dreamhouse showrooms with giant garages. I found myself laughing at the fact that every house i went to had a Big screen TV the size of my living room window. They have a wide variety of cars, houses and different styles of races with more stunning sights than most will see in their entire lifetime! They had enough map detail that my mom could even show me the places she visited when she went to the island. Some of the challenges will have you on your knees 2 feet away from the screen because you dont want to scratch this mans ferrari :P Other races will have you racing 8AI or other players online. Sometimes you'll just want to cruise around the island finding challenges and scenery or even picking up Rich hitchhikers who btw will pay well ;P. Overall this game will have you on your knees pleading for your parents to take you to the wonderful world of Oahu, Hawaii. Collapse
  29. AmolK
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    Best Racing game ever.

    One time I was searching a certain parts upgrade shop. From the game cover book, I knew the name of the city in which the shop was located, but I didn't know how to get there. So I opened Google maps on my computer and saw the maps and the directions from my current location (city) to the destination city and I was able to find the parts shop. This is as real
    Best Racing game ever.

    One time I was searching a certain parts upgrade shop. From the game cover book, I knew the name of the city in which the shop was located, but I didn't know how to get there. So I opened Google maps on my computer and saw the maps and the directions from my current location (city) to the destination city and I was able to find the parts shop. This is as real it can get in the gaming world.

    Kudos to EA and Eden. We need more games like this.
    Expand
  30. Mar 27, 2011
    8
    Good game, nice controls, and handling but... there are some problems and things they have not added into the game. The first problem I encountered after buying the game on release was that the servers were down for a month or two(not sure if its up now) and that meant you couldn't be logged into Xbox live or Playstation's internet while playing because it wouldn't let you on. After theyGood game, nice controls, and handling but... there are some problems and things they have not added into the game. The first problem I encountered after buying the game on release was that the servers were down for a month or two(not sure if its up now) and that meant you couldn't be logged into Xbox live or Playstation's internet while playing because it wouldn't let you on. After they let you log into live and play with many other, the clubs and some other features were disabled for a long time. They also never added Lamborghinis into the game, which to me is a need. The voice acting is somewhat bad and the characters feel boring, and idiotic. Anyways, back to the good stuff; The graphics are good, handling and controls are good, and the customization is pretty good. Expand
  31. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    This game has everything I like in a racing game: a large open world to explore, lots of great exotic cars to drive and a lot of races to compete in. This is the best £10 I have ever spent.
  32. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    This is the ultimate driving game, it's not great at being a racer but when it comes to weaving through traffic at break neck speeds across miles and miles of fun roads there is no game better. They really managed to get a different feel to every car and some of the delivery missions were so much fun because you couldn't help but try and thrash it as fast as you could to your destinationThis is the ultimate driving game, it's not great at being a racer but when it comes to weaving through traffic at break neck speeds across miles and miles of fun roads there is no game better. They really managed to get a different feel to every car and some of the delivery missions were so much fun because you couldn't help but try and thrash it as fast as you could to your destination while at the same time not suffering any damage, I found these so much fun I would restart if I got a little scratch and would still be having fun trying to attempt it hours later and when this is being done on windy roads like Tantalus the fun is never ending. Like I said from the start the game fails on a ten and misses out on my game of 2006 by being a poor racer, it's all a bit too easy and it influenced it's sequel. Overall this is a must play game for the 360. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. The most detailed, realistic, sprawling, long-lasting, and satisfying racing game ever - Eden has actually pulled it off. A must for any high-definition petrolhead; it's absolutely stunning. [Issue 10, p.80]
  2. In pure racing terms, TDU fails to scale the Everest-like peaks of "Project Gotham 3", but as a driving game it's in a league of its own. [Oct 2006, p.69]
  3. As good as we were expecting and hoping, it delivers on its promise to make an 'always on' Xbox Live race world, plus the car handling, sheer size of its island and the way you're left to make your own fun in your own way makes it a breath of pine-scented air in this world full of bland race games. [Oct 2006, p.108]