Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take control of Spider-Man’s powers with Manhattan as your playground. Set briefly after the events of the new film, The Amazing Spider-Man injects New York City's brand new hero back into free-roaming, web-slinging action, as he protects the Big Apple from a deluge of significant threats.Take control of Spider-Man’s powers with Manhattan as your playground. Set briefly after the events of the new film, The Amazing Spider-Man injects New York City's brand new hero back into free-roaming, web-slinging action, as he protects the Big Apple from a deluge of significant threats. Players use real-time navigational and combat choices to fight crime and execute Spidey’s signature acrobatic moves in ways never seen previously. Discover the rest of Peter Parker’s untold story in the all-new epilogue story to Columbia Pictures' 2012 theatrical release. Battle all-new versions of classic Super Villains as well as original, larger than life enemies while racing to save Manhattan. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 52
  2. Negative: 3 out of 52
  1. Jul 25, 2012
    89
    Though short, Amazing Spider Man saves the web-head from gaming mediocrity and delivers one of the better movie tie-in games in recent memory.
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    80
    The best Spider-Man adventure in years isn't quite what it should've been. Developer Beenox actually crams too much into the package, cluttering what could've been a landmark tale for Marvel's wall-crawler.
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    80
    The web swinging is better, and the combat system is much more effective (not to mention some awesome Signature Moves).
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    70
    Beenox has set a standard for Spider-Man games. Even though it has a few quirks, The Amazing Spider-Man is one of the best renditions of the superhero yet.
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    70
    Spider-Man's landed himself in one more somewhat cockamamie story that doesn't quite work, but a slick movement system and a fun combat scheme do a lot to make up for it.
  6. Aug 3, 2012
    60
    It's fun to swing around the city but the rest of the game is rather bleak and feels like an attempt to copy Batman Arkham City.
  7. Jul 9, 2012
    20
    It's all such an uninspired riff on Rocksteady's Batman masterpiece, with the stink of a mandate from a boardroom to make it like that Batman game that did so well. But Arkaham City was built from the ground up because it suited the character. The Amazing Spider-Man is entirely borrowed.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 55
  2. Negative: 9 out of 55
  1. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Simply AMAZING...nothing about this game got annoying. Collecting comic books and then reading them was a brilliant treat for those of us whoSimply AMAZING...nothing about this game got annoying. Collecting comic books and then reading them was a brilliant treat for those of us who like collecting. The graphix are as lose to next Gen as I've seen this cycle. Having both linear and open world aspects really makes the game feel whole. It is a must buy for me.

    WARNING!!!!! '' renting this game will cause an intense need to purchase it ''
    Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    The Amazing Spider-Man is a great epilouge of a video game which comes right after the Amazing Spider-man film left off. Plot: After theThe Amazing Spider-Man is a great epilouge of a video game which comes right after the Amazing Spider-man film left off. Plot: After the defeat of The Lizard, Dr. Connors is locked in an asylum as Alistor Symthe has led Oscorp industries in an era of robotics. When Gwen sneaks Peter into the lab, they witness that there are cross species being quarantined within the lab. They react to Peter's own cross species nature and begin to break out and attempt to spread the infection throughout New York. To make matters worse, Symthe has programed the robots to eliminate all cross species involving Peter! Peter breaks Connors out of Prison in the hopes they can create an antidote to the newly infectious virus. My opinion: This is a well done movie tie in, and I reccomend this to anybody who enjoyed the movie or anyone who wants to plain well feel the adrenaline of being the masked web crawler. Web Rush: at any moment within the game, a first person view into Spider-Man's mask will let you slow down time and co-ordinate any angle at which you want to aim your webs. This is by far the best Spider Man game out there with no time paradoxes and a classic feel on the Spider Man video game franchise. Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    I think we can resume the game with one word that summarize everything: AMAZING!!! The web swinging mechanic might be a little bit simplisticI think we can resume the game with one word that summarize everything: AMAZING!!! The web swinging mechanic might be a little bit simplistic but overall the game is exactly what I was looking for. Nice Story plot too. I'm not a Marvel fanboy but I did really enjoyed my experience so far. Thanks Beenox. Keep the good work coming!

    **I keep reading something I have to clearify here: Alot of people think that once the Main Story is over, there is nothing else to do as some people were saying Manhattan become empty as you finish the story. I can state that it is far from being true. Completing the main story represent about 30% of the game. Once you finish the game, there are side-missions/petty crimes and collectibles to collect throughout Manhattan. One of my favorite collectible so far are the "Comic book pages" which the player can collect in order to build complete old school Spider-Man comic books!!**

    Once again, good job Beenox!! I can't wait to see your next ASM title!!

    A must have!!
    Expand
  4. Sep 8, 2012
    8
    if anyone gave this game something lower than 6 is either a blind hater, or a little kid that never got to play the N64 spiderman game.
    This
    if anyone gave this game something lower than 6 is either a blind hater, or a little kid that never got to play the N64 spiderman game.
    This is as close as a Spiderman game will ever get to that amazing game. They even recreated some fights, like Rhino's fight in the electric power plant. It isn't perfect, and I mean: the graphics aren't good, the puzzles are dumb, sometimes you can't do something if you aren't at the right angle, but hey, it's nice to see an acceptable game of Spiderman. Enemies can get annoying, but if you level up constantly by doing random side-missions, the game gets pretty cool. Although I can not lie: it DOES get repetitive, a lot
    Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    graphics not bad some costumes always helps some bad ass bosses just it was boring in some missions and to many fantasy the game films alwaysgraphics not bad some costumes always helps some bad ass bosses just it was boring in some missions and to many fantasy the game films always arent the best but this game is normal Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    6
    Beware of first-day stellar reviews from User Reviewers with just one review in their history. They are put their by the publishers andBeware of first-day stellar reviews from User Reviewers with just one review in their history. They are put their by the publishers and developers when a game has a launch-day professional review embargo so that the only opinions you have to look at if you want to buy the game on release day is their own.

    That said, the game is a competent Spider-man simulator who's web-slinging lacks the grace of the best of Spidey's games. Still an enjoyable way to spend some free time if you're a fan!
    Collapse
  7. Jun 30, 2012
    0
    i was psyched for a wonderful game since i heard about it, however it really didn't last. I'm not talking story or graphics or even designi was psyched for a wonderful game since i heard about it, however it really didn't last. I'm not talking story or graphics or even design here, those where perfect, rather the combat. all you saw where the same moves over and over. same with takedowns, no cool combos or anything, even the stealth, i was the same three ways all the time. and the swinging was too simple and he ran too slowly. and about the costumes: i think you could have added better, more fan-favorites. like the cross-species, i myself only used it like at lest three sort times. i think it would've been better to use the man-spider fromthe 1990's as well as the classic black suit . and speaking of the black suit, why didn't you make regenerate? I've never seen it ripped without self-repairing before. and the things that you could throw (should've been more} where poorly done. meaning most of them should be an instant ko's or blind them temporarily in some cases, which is another thing, like coke machines for example, they were all empty. i should've seen cans and spilled soda at lest. not to mention you really couldn't hold it and throw it when ready. and i was kinda hoping for hideouts and stuff and i also think the rhino challenge could have been more fun and why not be able to play hero as the lizard? and also think it would have been better with a replay option where you could replay the game with all the stuff you already unlock. and finally, i think that free roam would've been better if the crimes and such. because after you get 100% what's left to do? another plus side though was the acting, it was perfect. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews