User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 77
  2. Negative: 8 out of 77

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    The Cave is incredibly fun. The puzzles can, at times, be ridiculously hard, but so few games have those kinds of puzzles any more, so it was a nice change. I thought all the playable characters are all great, even the ones that initially seemed boring. The narrator and characters you meet along the way are fun, well-written and interesting. The controls can occasionally be annoying but are otherwise good. And I loved the graphics and music! I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes puzzle games. Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    Quite a game should i say. Interesting, astonishing, with a splendid humor (even black humour sometimes), a great addition to those games created by Shafer and Gilbert. Lot of puzzles. Haven't seen such a game for a very long time. Oh, yeah, and there is also a bit of moral for every story you will hear from The Cave.
  3. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    The Cave is a charming little puzzle-platformer that features interesting areas to explore, unique art design, and a bunch of quirky characters to play as. It might seem like a short game at first, but it has a huge amount of replay value to offer if you want to find out every character's origin story and unlock all the achievements/trophies. The humour in the game is also very funny and even quite dark at times, and the narrator (who is a talking cave!) makes it even funnier. Well worth the money if you're looking for a light and fun game to play! Expand
  4. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    Play this for the art and animation alone. Holy crap. It's also pretty funny and presents a nice level of puzzle challenge. I really don't understand why this game is getting middling scores. It's fantastic. My only problem is the terrible mouse and keyboard control, but that's rectified by plugging in a controller.
  5. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    This game is the first game in a LONG time that the moment I finished it I wanted to instantly play through it again. See you can only pick 3 out of the 7 characters each time and each has different puzzles throughout. This game is brilliant, the puzzles are tough but dont require digging around online for solutions (if you think about it you can figure it out) and the humor is top-notch. A must pick up for puzzle/platformer fans. Collapse
  6. Jan 27, 2013
    9
    Me and my two boys played it, I would say 9 and up with some guidance is fine, I would suggest not using the twins pretty grim story. For teens and adults it is funny, clever and challenging. The puzzles make sense so with some thought are solvable. Great Great game. Says hell multiple times and Blood is splattered on walls. Fun to play around with a few people or solo.
  7. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    Like Valiant Hearts, this is a very, very fun side scrolling puzzle type game. I love the puzzles and use of multiple characters to solve them. My only complaint is that some of the puzzles get really involved (with a bit of back-tracing) but for a puzzler that is this fun and offers this many hours of solving one variation after another, and for less than $10, it would be a shame, a big shame for you to pass this game by and not give it a try. If you're a developer, you'll appreciate the work that went into this game. If you like working on crossword puzzles or rubrics cubes or just multi-level puzzles in general, you'll enjoy this side-scrolling puzzler that gives you a real sense of accomplishment after solving each puzzle. My only complaint is that it took me a bit to realize what I was supposed to do and how to move/solve some puzzles. I am a dba/developer and this is shear fun, Expand
  8. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    The cave is one of those games with a silly narrative and a narrator with an awesome voice that has lines that are well written and witty at times and kept me giggling through out the whole game. There's a bunch of characters to choose from (You play with three at a time) and depending on which ones you choose it changes the puzzles you face, my favorite was the hillbilly's carnival level which had me scratching my head one moment and then laughing the next, some puzzles are not as easy as they seem like the monk's water jug puzzle which gives you a link to a real website with the answer to the puzzle if you get stuck.

    This is one of those games that if you have the money/points that you NEED to pick up, no collection is complete without it.
    Expand
  9. Jan 27, 2013
    0
    This game is the first game in a LONG time that the moment I finished it I wanted to instantly play through it again. See you can only pick 3 out of the 7 characters each time and each has different puzzles throughout. This game is brilliant, the puzzles are tough but dont require digging around online for solutions (if you think about it you can figure it out) and the humor is top-notch. A must pick up for puzzle/platformer fans. Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. The Cave is a game worth experiencing at least once. Truly funny games are rare, much less funny games that cover themes as diverse as sin, murder, redemption and desire. The fact that it covers these topics with a sense of style and ease (and without feeling like you’re being bludgeoned with a philosophy textbook) is praiseworthy.
  2. Feb 27, 2013
    80
    A brilliant adventure, platform and puzzle game. [Issue#95, p.84]
  3. Feb 25, 2013
    50
    More a disappointing rocky hole than a glorious crystal cavern.