The Cursed Crusade Xbox 360


Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 18 out of 27
Buy On
  1. Oct 30, 2011
    A boring and repetitive combat system and and a subpar technical production make The Cursed Crusade an avoidable game; a wasted opportunity to represent a great and charismatic historical period.
  2. games(TM)
    Nov 16, 2011
    The sluggish fighting feels surprisingly weighty. [Issue#115, p.102]
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    A real failure on every front. It should be avoided as you would prevent participation in a cursed crusade.
  4. Nov 6, 2011
    Even with all these problems, however, I found the plot interesting enough that I'm definitely hooked. If by some miracle there is a The Cursed Crusade 2, I'd be interested in seeing the story wrapped up as long as this title's wealth of problems are fixed.
  5. Oct 25, 2011
    It's too bad, because Cursed Crusade has fleetingly interesting ideas, like forcing you to push a very slow-moving mantlet towards an enemy's defensive line, or the way the timing of tapping out combo strings actually encourages thoughtful player response. Co-op can actually be fun in short bursts with a friend, and even the detailed aesthetic is surprisingly competent.
  6. Oct 14, 2011
    The Cursed Crusade has too many cutscenes, it's too easy, it's boring, it has many issues and bugs and, overall, it's not a good experience. Also, it gives extreme importance to the story, but it's never interesting and ends up being forgettable and the combat is so bland that it's not even worthy of this gen.
  7. Oct 12, 2011
    The Cursed Crusade is a perfect example of the sort of game that's being squeezed out nowadays: badly produced, cheaply made and full of tired clich├ęs, both in gameplay and in its story.
  8. Developer Kylotonn has crafted the least appealing fantasy brawler imaginable, its stillborn mechanics drenched in over-compensatory cutscene-driven storytelling, its charms limited to the lure of unlockable combos and abilities.
  9. Oct 25, 2011
    A lethargic combat experience marred further by grotesque bugs, The Cursed Crusade is a game that truly does feel cursed, like no amount of hard work would put it right.
  10. Nov 17, 2011
    The Cursed Crusade has the founding for a really fun game but falls short in almost every aspect. Even playing co-op mode, the game doesn't really change much from the solo experience and with so many problems outside the gameplay, it's not very enjoyable. Sadly, I say this is one to miss especially as there are plenty of titles out there to keep you busy until the end of the year.
  11. Oct 27, 2011
    A game "broken" in so many ways, even its budget price tag is not enough to save it from oblivion.
  12. Oct 27, 2011
    Its biggest flaw is that it lacks spirit, which is ironic, since the game is actually trying to take your character's soul. Without a spark, though - even a stolen one - The Cursed Crusade has ended up damning itself.
  13. Oct 26, 2011
    But instead of choosing between a co-op or AI partner, you should just avoid playing this game. The only thing of any value that Cursed Crusade has left me with is a blight that will remain on my Xbox Gamerscore until the end of time.
  14. Oct 13, 2011
    The Cursed Crusade is a repetitive hack-and-slash that is marred by clumsy combat, poor dialogue, and some serious technical issues.
  15. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Oct 31, 2011
    A real chien of a historical slasher. Its camp appeal is offset against its tendency to crash mid-game. Sheer hell. [Christmas 2011, p.101]
  16. Oct 14, 2011
    Embarrassingly poor medieval brawler that seems completely oblivious to its own absurdity and incompetence.
  17. Oct 31, 2011
    A game with few redeeming qualities, a dull, pretentious hack-and-slash that fails in almost every way.
  18. Oct 25, 2011
    On paper, the ideas that went into this its creation must have come from a place of passion and excitement for a rich period in history. But then I remember that I actually played this unlikable, unfair, and unfinished game for many, many miserable hours, and the only person I feel bad for is me. Don't go near this thing, or else you'll be cursed with damnation, too.
User Score

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Dec 27, 2011
    This game is unplayable!!! Is the same as you throw your money in the garbage... LOL... The idea behind it is ok, but the gameplay and theThis game is unplayable!!! Is the same as you throw your money in the garbage... LOL... The idea behind it is ok, but the gameplay and the rest is like a hell in earth. Full Review »
  2. Jun 14, 2015
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I dont agree with the other crtics.I play alot of co-op games and have seen my share of them.I own 72 Xbox 360 games.The combinations and with the Templars curse is crazy cool.You able to upgrade skills which greatly effects youre game play.I read one guy's weapons kept breaking,lol if you upgrade youre weapon mastery it wouldn't be a problem,but for any others that enjoy co-op games you should get this game.All the finshing moves will keep you hooked.I'll be first in line when the second comes out.
    P.S. more checkpoints wouldn't hurt
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 25, 2012
    Aside from some interesting concepts and interesting character progression, this game is a mess. Laughable dialogue, absolutely ridiculousAside from some interesting concepts and interesting character progression, this game is a mess. Laughable dialogue, absolutely ridiculous and incoherent story, stupid characters, totally broken combat, abominable effects...This game is just in shambles. It has some interesting ideas, but the execution is just...oh man...terrible. Full Review »