The Darkness Xbox 360

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 196
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DickS
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    The excellent story makes up for virtually all the clunkiness of the engine. Defiantly one of my top two favorite games. Starbreeze has a nice engine that delivers realistic game play but it needs a MAJOR upgrade to compete with todays games and fix the unrefinement that bogs the game down.
  2. Oct 22, 2010
    8
    a intresting game with a really good story for a FPS game . this game was kind of a suprise to me . i really liked the powers you get and they are very useful and fun to wach in use. playing a villian i thought was a nice touch out to take down your uncle for trying to kill you. the graphics are very well done the story grabs you nicely . the gun play is a mixed bag the up close anda intresting game with a really good story for a FPS game . this game was kind of a suprise to me . i really liked the powers you get and they are very useful and fun to wach in use. playing a villian i thought was a nice touch out to take down your uncle for trying to kill you. the graphics are very well done the story grabs you nicely . the gun play is a mixed bag the up close and personal kills look great but range shooting is very iffy .the online is a giant mess and should never be played it was very tacked on . i would have liked to see a sequel to this game. Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    One of my all time favorite games. This game all about the story line. It sucks you in and holds you there. Makes you fall in love and makes you HATE every enemy you come accrossed. I never yell at my TV so much as I killed groups of bad guys. Plus make sure you write down phone numbers you find. You will want to call them all.
  4. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    This game was bought for me and from the cover art I was led to believe this was a B-movie level production but I gave it a chance and found one of the most compelling experiences the 360 has to offer. It has everything, fantastic art style (that even makes New York not boring for one of the only times this gen), solid gameplay, gripping story line and a great comic book presentation. TheThis game was bought for me and from the cover art I was led to believe this was a B-movie level production but I gave it a chance and found one of the most compelling experiences the 360 has to offer. It has everything, fantastic art style (that even makes New York not boring for one of the only times this gen), solid gameplay, gripping story line and a great comic book presentation. The story runs on the edge of gritty gang crime in New York and adds dark fantasy to the mix but the Darkness is based on a comic book, having not read any of the comics I can not tell you how well it captivates the general ideas, moods and characters. Overall a great videogame and well worth a play, not much replay value but a good chunky single player campaign that can be picked up for very cheap now. Expand
  5. AndyP.
    Dec 27, 2007
    9
    Superbly produced game with excellent graphics. Do not believe the reviews that claim next to no optional quests, there are tons! Also working out what is required for and actually achieving the achievements is great fun in itself. Highly recommended.
  6. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    Wow this game was way better than I thought it was gonna be especially for buying it used at GameStop for only $6. The best thing about the game is it story involving the main character Jackie and the being he's fighting against the Darkness. For a game that came out in 2007 the graphics are decent and the gameplay is pretty good as well. Also the fact that you can watch whole tvWow this game was way better than I thought it was gonna be especially for buying it used at GameStop for only $6. The best thing about the game is it story involving the main character Jackie and the being he's fighting against the Darkness. For a game that came out in 2007 the graphics are decent and the gameplay is pretty good as well. Also the fact that you can watch whole tv episodes and old cartoons on the TVs in the game was a really nice touch and have never seen anything like that in a video game. So if you own an Xbox 360 this is a must own game for only $6. Expand
  7. MartinW.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    This is one of the most original games i've played in a while, try it out, you`ll see what i mean.
  8. GabrielM.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    The best game this summer, as a matter of fact, this year. The Darkness is an incredible achievement in interactive storytelling, one of the most emotianally moving games I've played IN THE DECADE superb Grraphics, intense firefights fantastic powers ( i could spend 15 minutes just throwing a dead corpse around a New York street using demon arm) AI is meh at some points, but most of The best game this summer, as a matter of fact, this year. The Darkness is an incredible achievement in interactive storytelling, one of the most emotianally moving games I've played IN THE DECADE superb Grraphics, intense firefights fantastic powers ( i could spend 15 minutes just throwing a dead corpse around a New York street using demon arm) AI is meh at some points, but most of the time they'll take cover and use teamwork. darklings are hilarous and all characters are brimming with personality. if this game LOOKS good to you, PLAYING it will be a blast. ( if you can stomach the blood-spewing, violence-ridden, HEART-DEVOURING) Fantastic game deserves "Universal Acclaim" Expand
  9. CoreyM.
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    Its great u cant find a single gllich or loading screen in the game i dont know what yahoo are talkin about they must be playin the ps3 versoin because it so fun that games great buy it soo worth it.
  10. JeffA.
    Dec 10, 2007
    8
    This game is one of a kind. It's storyline is one of the best to come out for this platform, although slightly confusing at first. The graphics are first rate. Long gone are the boxy characters of old FPS and this game pushes the envelope when it comes to character detail. Graphics and storyline aside, there is something immensly satisfying about eating someone's heart or This game is one of a kind. It's storyline is one of the best to come out for this platform, although slightly confusing at first. The graphics are first rate. Long gone are the boxy characters of old FPS and this game pushes the envelope when it comes to character detail. Graphics and storyline aside, there is something immensly satisfying about eating someone's heart or impaleing them and flinging their body across the screen. Although the world is somewhat small, there are various side quests to keep you occupied as you revisit old areas of the game. And the macabre aura the game puts off is excellet. It keeps your attention through the entire game. And all of the extra content is for the most part, worth picking up. Now the bad points. The game is very empty of reactive NPCs. Meaning all of the bystanders that should be filling the streets simply are not there. Sometimes there are lulls in between plot points that leave you feeling frustrated from having to go back and forth between the same small areas. And it would have been nice to have more diverse weaponry. Grenade launchers and such. Explosives. Things of that nature. Your special darkness powers keep the main guns slightly underpowered. Other then a few blemishes, this game is a great one to pick up. It's definately a game ill tell others to pick up, because hey, we all have a dark side to us, do we not? Expand
  11. EstherN.
    Jun 28, 2007
    9
    A game so good that it makes me realize how absolutely crappy so many releases have been of late. The atmosphere is wonderful, the facial models fantastic (although the lip movement is paralytic), the action is not only fun, but it gets very tense. The creative use of imps is a hoot.
  12. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite fps game. great graphics, very good story. Some bugs but the game is great. Waitng to se sequel!!
  13. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    Sick of same old FPS? Then get this 5 years old game. Great graphics. Great story. A nice change in this often stale genre. The AI is a bit mixed. Sometimes the enemy will peak out from behind cars etc. Then will just walk by a dead body. Sometimes the controls can be slightly clunky. But all of this can be forgiven as the game is such a great overall experience. And I picked it up forSick of same old FPS? Then get this 5 years old game. Great graphics. Great story. A nice change in this often stale genre. The AI is a bit mixed. Sometimes the enemy will peak out from behind cars etc. Then will just walk by a dead body. Sometimes the controls can be slightly clunky. But all of this can be forgiven as the game is such a great overall experience. And I picked it up for £5. Absolute bargain. Expand
  14. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    One of the best games I know. Great storyline and great gameplay it also has an amazing sountrack that has made me find out about great artists. If you are going to buy this game BUY IT, it will be the best thing that will happen to you
  15. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    The creators did a good job emerging the player to the story and the characters, So much that it feels strangely like your in the game at some moments, even though it's just a videogame, This game emerged me into it like no other game ive ever played, Made me feel uncomfortable at times but there is some light to this game and not all of it was morbid, I wish more games could immerge thereThe creators did a good job emerging the player to the story and the characters, So much that it feels strangely like your in the game at some moments, even though it's just a videogame, This game emerged me into it like no other game ive ever played, Made me feel uncomfortable at times but there is some light to this game and not all of it was morbid, I wish more games could immerge there players like in this game instead of the typical shootemup. Expand
  16. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Although short in terms of the games I usually play (Oblivion, Morrowind, Skyrim and the like), the Darkness proves that not all games have to be monumentally long to be superb. You really get a feel for the characters both dark and light. The game was a pleasure from start to finish.
  17. AlanD.
    Jul 14, 2007
    9
    This game is good overall, but the reason i gave it a 9 from the 8 it probably deserves: The summoned demon who says "I like penguins" and the eating of hearts.
  18. KevinMarquardt
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    The Darkness a one of a kind game that is a refreshing break from what the console world has to offer right. This game is one of the best looking, sounding, and story driven games I've played for a long time. When I first started playing it, i thought i wasnt going to like it very much, but after and hour I was really into it. The game has its flaws though, Jackie walks like a zombie,The Darkness a one of a kind game that is a refreshing break from what the console world has to offer right. This game is one of the best looking, sounding, and story driven games I've played for a long time. When I first started playing it, i thought i wasnt going to like it very much, but after and hour I was really into it. The game has its flaws though, Jackie walks like a zombie, there were some major anti-aliasing problems in the beginning, and more can be desired from the gun play, If you enjoyed Chronicles of Riddick, then you should play this cause it offers awesomeness aplenty. OH YEAH BEST GRAPHICS EVAR< EAT YOUR HEART OUT GEARS@!! Expand
  19. JohanO.
    Jul 2, 2007
    8
    This was one of the most enjoyable FPS I've played on the 360. Graphically it looks good, nothing amazing, but good. Enemies aren't sharp, but you're going to kill them anyways. Interactivity? You can flush a toilet, knock out the lights (essential to playing) and toss around objects in the environment. How is this not interactive? The multiplayer is mediocre, and the This was one of the most enjoyable FPS I've played on the 360. Graphically it looks good, nothing amazing, but good. Enemies aren't sharp, but you're going to kill them anyways. Interactivity? You can flush a toilet, knock out the lights (essential to playing) and toss around objects in the environment. How is this not interactive? The multiplayer is mediocre, and the environment and story is where The Darkness shines. It's a good FPS, it does have too much down time, but fun nonetheless. Expand
  20. RonC.
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    This game had an excellent single player experience. It was a little short, I bet it in three days. It had great voice acting, great charecters, great story, great gameplay ( you fell like a total bad ass by the end), and good graphics. That two out of two from Starbreeze. But, the multiplayer was horrible. Not, much thought was put into it. So, since the game is short also, this is a This game had an excellent single player experience. It was a little short, I bet it in three days. It had great voice acting, great charecters, great story, great gameplay ( you fell like a total bad ass by the end), and good graphics. That two out of two from Starbreeze. But, the multiplayer was horrible. Not, much thought was put into it. So, since the game is short also, this is a great rental. Expand
  21. BrianW.
    Jul 5, 2007
    8
    Fun to kill people with tentacles ;).
  22. PatrickS.
    Aug 8, 2007
    9
    Good story, kept alive with the graphics and unique game play. Lots of fun, and the only thing keeping it form a 10 is the multiplayer and, at times graphics seem slightly lower quality than they could be. Overall a great game, everyone should at least try.
  23. JohnT.
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    Excellent game - definitely a lot of 'wow' moments, and memorable experiences. There are occasional minor hiccups, but this game really exceeded any and all expectations I had for it. Number one tip - adjust the controls and sensitivity. There's pretty good customization available for these, and with a few tweaks you can sort the sluggishness out of movement and combat, and Excellent game - definitely a lot of 'wow' moments, and memorable experiences. There are occasional minor hiccups, but this game really exceeded any and all expectations I had for it. Number one tip - adjust the controls and sensitivity. There's pretty good customization available for these, and with a few tweaks you can sort the sluggishness out of movement and combat, and get focused on enjoying the game. Expand
  24. IainF.
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    THIS GAME IS AMAZING. The graphics are sublime and realistic, and above that the gameplay is phenomenal. There are loads of guns at your disposal, and creatures to kill our enemies with in the most gruesome ays imaginable. The gore is amazing, and the thought of introducing The Darkness, demon heads out of your back that have demonic powers, was original and brilliant. And don't get THIS GAME IS AMAZING. The graphics are sublime and realistic, and above that the gameplay is phenomenal. There are loads of guns at your disposal, and creatures to kill our enemies with in the most gruesome ays imaginable. The gore is amazing, and the thought of introducing The Darkness, demon heads out of your back that have demonic powers, was original and brilliant. And don't get me started about the story, which is enthralling and moving. Collapse
  25. ChrisH.
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    A highly unique and refreshing FPS, and one of the years best so far.
  26. Gott
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    This game is awesome. So original...the powers that you can use make the game a blast...you have many options when dealing with enemies...amazing game. Could have been a book the story is so good...
  27. dsega
    Jul 23, 2007
    8
    VIOLENT! very violent . the darkness just looks awesome all the time . no HUD so it looks pretty on my plasma. Close combat kills. Heart ripping . impaling. very atmospheric a well written story . great unlockables . including the original comics . ((looks great on hd)) offers a lot of control of how the aiming works so you can fine tune it for yourself . go download the demo off xbox live.
  28. GiancarloB.
    Jul 23, 2007
    9
    Fantastic graphic
  29. JamesK.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    I absolutely love this game. It shall sit on my Xbox 360 till either Stranglehold or Bioshock comes out. The reason why most gamers hate this is because they are unfamiliar with New York City. Well I am from LA and knowing NYC is easy! Just buy a map or call a New Yorker for directions.
  30. TommyM.
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    This game deserves serious credit. Absorbing, intense and action packed. People complaining about loading times need to relax... it really isn't ever that long and the rewards outweigh the wait. I loved the use of "to kill a mockingbird" in your missus's apartment... i wanted to hang around and see how long it lasted but couldn't resist getting up to develop my Dark side. This game deserves serious credit. Absorbing, intense and action packed. People complaining about loading times need to relax... it really isn't ever that long and the rewards outweigh the wait. I loved the use of "to kill a mockingbird" in your missus's apartment... i wanted to hang around and see how long it lasted but couldn't resist getting up to develop my Dark side. You actually care about the characters and i really think this is very important in building your blood lust for revenge. I agree with Ryencoke.... there are some problems but whoever at yahoo wrote the review is an idiot with no soul and hence cant understand why this game is so damn good. Starbreese have done a great job and every 360 owner deserves to give this game some playtime. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 63
  2. Negative: 1 out of 63
  1. The back-and-forth structure is tedious, and the narrative needed to be much more fleshed-out. Too bad great loading-screen treatments can't make up for overall shortcomings.
  2. Part of The Darkness’s charm is its wealth of extravagant, often irrelevant detail.
  3. 85
    A fantastic game with an engaging story that only manages to slip up towards the end. The unforgiving amounts of violence are enjoyable and the demonic powers more than make up for its lack of innovation in the gunplay department.