Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The followup to 2009's Dead Samurai, The Dishwasher: Vampire Smile is a combo-fueled, fast-paced, stylistic 2D action platformer that features the series’ staple gritty, graphic novel-inspired art style, built on a brand new engine that allows for an even more visually gruesome experience.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 55
  2. Negative: 1 out of 55
  1. 100
    Consistently slick in almost every regard: animation, level design, and combat. Stylish and memorable. [July 2011, p.119]
  2. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    Vampire Smile is a work with solid and entertaining gameplay, mature content, bloody and gory style, and pure dark energy everywhere. Every aspect of its predecessor has been improved, accompanied by the introduction of a new beautifully disturbed character: a true masterpiece from Ska Studios.
  3. Apr 27, 2011
    90
    Dishwasher: Vampire Smile has more than enough content for its cost, absolutely amazing gameplay, and some impressive visuals. The plot is completely irrelevant to the experience, but it's certainly not bad. If players want a fast paced action game with a surprising amount of depth, Dishwasher 2 is certainly worth checking out.
  4. Apr 17, 2011
    83
    The standout moments make the monotony that much more worth enduring.
  5. Apr 13, 2011
    80
    Considering the quality of the overall experience, its engaging co-op and its dark, fascinating visuals, The Dishwasher: Vampire Smile proves to be a worthy addition to the XBLA catalogue that few gamers should miss.
  6. Apr 19, 2011
    75
    The story is weird, but the solid mechanics and playful nature of indie games is laced throughout the title and contrasts nicely with the prominent aesthetics of the game. If you can get past the Hot Topic makeup here, you'll find a very rewarding arcade game in Vampire Smile.
  7. Apr 4, 2011
    40
    Give the trial a go and if you can burn through it a few times without getting bored, then maybe plunk down your money, otherwise, delete it and seek out greener pastures.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    Video Game Talk obviously barely played this game. Id be suprised if Nick Hartel played anything other than "Normal" difficulty which is basically Easy mode. 2 hours for the campaign? It takes a lot longer if youre on the right setting for you. He clearly didnt even brush the 50 levels of Arcade mode or the intense Dishwasher challenge mode. There are 2 single player story lines to run through and you can also run through the co op campaign and arcade levels with a friend off and online in co op. You can tell he didnt even try Pretty Princess difficulty either as he was definitely not pleased. Even if a reviewer doesnt fully like a game its their job and I wont trust one who hasnt even tried challenging himself with the difficulty or touched more than 1 mode in single and co op play.

    So far for me this is absolutely not only my game of the year but one of the best games you will get your hands on. Sure it takes getting used to but it is challenging, intense and fun to play with some really original weapons, a story which is really coming together over the past 2 games, some great modes and lots of hidden secrets. I dont care about achievements but it also has an achievement which is so genius it is the only one I have ever cared about earning.
    Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    This game has a great storyline and there are two of them which makes it even a better experience there is coop storyline which is a new feature also which is a plus there are also many challenge modes such as arcade and the dish challenge mode this game also isnt as hard as the last one but its still hard and the story is more in depth in this one the art style is improved and there are over 10 unique weapons to kill people with everything is improved in this game and this is probably the best arcade game on the market buy this! Collapse
  3. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    The game is like taking part in a ballet, the battles like the most beautiful dance. The control is just *PERFECT* - not for a long while have i played a game where i have felt in control so finely. The game itself is amazing, keeps shocking you - and challenging you - so very hard - but never unfair.

    The graphics, while not very high resolution have an amazing charm about them, everything is so very atmospheric. The music just rocks, sometimes full metal, sometimes almost xtal method in style.

    Overall, this is a perfect package - it takes everything that was awesome about the first game - and makes it 10x better. If you dont own this, you are doing your xbox a disservice.
    Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    BLEEP BLOOPE I HAVE SO MANY ACHIEVABLES yes you do vampire smile yes you do u shower me in claret and look good doing it you scream heavy metal vibes at me witch turns me on if not most people. Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2011
    9
    Buckets and buckets of blood! This is one of the most violent and easy to control action platformers that I've ever played. As a sequel to a game I've never played, I was lost trying to figure out what was going on, but the easy combos, variety of sick weapons, magic, simple controls, wide enemy and boss variety, and energetic metal music kept me wanting to play through each level. It was one of those games where you see the over the top violence and you try to see what else there is you can do to your foes. Yuki by far is the most fun to play and her nightmarish story eventually grips you in trying to find out why the freakish sequences keep interrupting the gameplay. Also her combos and finishers just sound and look more savage than The Dishwasher's.

    Anywho, this game has Devil May Cry/God of War style action in a 2D platformer has enough difficulty and modes and items to keep you busy for a quick spell of bloody vengence. Lots and lots of fun. Played through one campaign in a couple of hours and had numb-thumb I was tappin the controller so much. Mashin' away just watchin Yuki "The Destroyer" rip off heads, cleave enemies in two with a bionic chainsaw arm, knaw their faces off, shred limbs, and just plain fill the screen with blood. All of this coupled with a really unique, gritty, and at times blurry art style that keeps things simply yet somehow graphically pleasing. This is definitely an enjoyable game that is worth the $10. Kinda hard to imagine that a one man studio actually did it! Way to go James Silva!
    Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    Um game de ação frenetica e que deve ser jogado por todos que possuem um xbox 360! Diverssão garantida!! Outra coisa que vale a pena lembrar, é que depois que se finaliza o game, você pode jogar com outro personagem diferente. Outra coisa que achei bacana é o Multiplayer online. Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2011
    7
    I really love the combat and the visual style, but it gets soo repetitive. Plus, the two campaigns are nearly identical. Co-op is also really hard to keep track of. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews