User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 269

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 1, 2016
    9
    good new characters with a great new story you get the choice between vampires and vampire hunters if you are a werewolf and choose vampires they take your werewolf ability there are fun new quests and weapons in general just a great dlc
  2. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off, I love werewolves, vampires, and Skyrim. This dlc is the perfect mix of all of them. Secondly, both the keeps radiate that old gothic vibe, especially the Castle, so awesome. This dlc expanded on the base games werewolves and added in a new form, the vampire lord. This new form is like the mage version of the werewolf except it can be activated and deactivated anytime and place. Their are many new quests to partake in. This dlc adds so much content to the already content rich game of Skyrim, if you're think about getting this dlc you won't regret it. Expand
  3. Sep 2, 2013
    8
    If you're a fan of Skyrim, this DLC worth the money, but if you are not.. wait a little. Dawnguard is enthusing me with the story, the characters, but the armors and weapons do not. The armors and weapons, actually, surprise me, because i haven't see something more medieval in the game. You're gonna have a good time with that expansion. I thought that the game was big enough, but now itIf you're a fan of Skyrim, this DLC worth the money, but if you are not.. wait a little. Dawnguard is enthusing me with the story, the characters, but the armors and weapons do not. The armors and weapons, actually, surprise me, because i haven't see something more medieval in the game. You're gonna have a good time with that expansion. I thought that the game was big enough, but now it has really completed. Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    While vampires are a nice change of pace and the story is pretty creepy, Dawnguard doesn't amaze. It offers a fair amount of new content and abilities, though, so it's good if you've done most of what you can in the main game. But if you're going to get one DLC for Skyrim, I'd recommend Dragonborn.
  5. Jan 13, 2013
    8
    a good addon to an already great game, despite what is said against it, its a good solid addon with new weapons and gear, good quest line the game is broken with older characters so beware you may need to start a newer character. but still a great addon
  6. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    Woah woah woah. Whats with all the negative reviews. I found this DLC very enjoyable-much more content then some call of duty DLC. Even more so, this dlc got me back into skyrim.
  7. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    This is a good DLC, it brings more of what i love about skyrim. It brings the werewolf and vampire classes, which are awesome, and the crossbow as well as a couple of spells and shouts. The story is not too bad and still has the same breathtaking environments. Overall it is a fun and good DLC, but for the price there should of been a bit more
  8. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am aware that a number of people were disappointed with the Dawnguard dlc and it is due to that, that I feel its worth stressing the fact that this piece of dlc was an add-on. The fact that Dawnguard is on add-on impressed me more when playing, as Bethesda have managed to introduce new and interesting areas without having to leave the Skyrim area. I will not deny the fact that at times you are sent to areas which you may or may not have previously visited. However, these missions are generally side-quests and do not pertain to the main quest line. Also, the new npcs introduce new companions and the new ability trees allow you to experience being either a vampire or werewolf in a new and more in depth way. Once again Bethesda have shown that they know how to make brilliant dlc, which actually fits within the world of Skyrim. Therefore, I found this content very interesting, detailed and fun to play and I especially loved the attention to detail used by Bethesda when creating the new npcs. Expand
  9. Dec 3, 2012
    8
    YAWN!!!!!!! this is gayest dumb poop ive play it. stup. dont. dum. Chell dies in the end of Max Payne 3, definitely recommend among 4 hardcore gamers and softcore boners
  10. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    As far as DLC these days goes, it's not a bad investment as it adds an entire new game mechanic to an already exciting RPG. Bethesda did an excellent job at adding beautiful landscapes and new worlds to explore, but after a while the whole quest line and story becomes both unbelievable and tedious.
  11. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    Skyrim is one big open world full of plenty to do. Skyrim might quite possibly be a buggy game, full of fast-travelling places, and riding horses. But for that quick moment when encountering a dragon, makes up for the long grinding of repetitive dungeon scouring. The main story-track of Skyrim is suffice, and does justice with beautiful spectacles, stealth, and plenty of dragon slaying.Skyrim is one big open world full of plenty to do. Skyrim might quite possibly be a buggy game, full of fast-travelling places, and riding horses. But for that quick moment when encountering a dragon, makes up for the long grinding of repetitive dungeon scouring. The main story-track of Skyrim is suffice, and does justice with beautiful spectacles, stealth, and plenty of dragon slaying. The game though, falls short of it's loosely put together procedural quest generator, and minor annoyances. Though, that doesn't make the game terrible. Skyrim does right with it's beautiful vistas, mountains, and fields to walk and ride through. The ai, may fall short in some scenarios, and you'll find yourself doing things over and over again. Climbing into dungeons, going fifteen levels deep, learning a trade, collecting, and re-doing that over and over again. But what makes the long grind worth it, is the spectacle. The feeling of being in Skyrim, befriending others, completing side quests, and the sheer joy of exploration is what makes Skyrim all worth it in the end. Just prepare, to fork over long hours to complete this games main story track and along with it the side quests that will stray you away from the main story track. There's plenty of gameplay, plenty of story, and plenty of quests that will keep you occupied as you simply explore the land of Skyrim. Expand
  12. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    Game is huge, you can spend hours playing it and world is amazing. However the relay to much on the radiant quests, which can get old quick. While they do have some amusing quests, it lacks the character of some of the older games.
  13. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    This game was AMAZING the first time around. I very much enjoyed the quests and combats. The graphics were okay, not the best. I found the world extremely bland and tasteless. Be prepared to see a lot of brown, gray, white and yellow when you buy this game. The sounds and voice acting was okay... Besides a few voices which didn't match the NPCs body. While on the subject of voices...This game was AMAZING the first time around. I very much enjoyed the quests and combats. The graphics were okay, not the best. I found the world extremely bland and tasteless. Be prepared to see a lot of brown, gray, white and yellow when you buy this game. The sounds and voice acting was okay... Besides a few voices which didn't match the NPCs body. While on the subject of voices... WHERE ARE ALL THE VOICE ACTORS!?!? THERE ARE LIKE 10 DIFFERENT VOICES IN THIS DAMN GAME SAYING THE SAME THING. The most ANNOYING thing about this game I have to say. If you're like me, then you would want to create the most evilest bastard whom ever lived... So lets say you're going for a stroll and you get a thirst for slaughtering helpless villagers... TOO BAD... Most of the game NPCs in this damn game are invincible. What got me the most about this game was the freedom to do ALMOST anything you wanted, which was in the last Elder Scrolls... The world was very wide and just tempting you to explore. After completing the main quest of slaying big-n-nasteh (which really wasn't too long..) I found myself lost. Very much... Bored. I mean there are a TON of fun quests in this game that will make you laugh and twist your emotions... But past those fun quests are dull and endless quests that have you run across the world to kill some bandits then run across the world to kill some more... IT WAS BORING... Don't get me wrong though, this game is a MUST PLAY. The story will suck you in and not let you go until you slay that ugly bastard. Slicing the heads off of random people will keep you entertained for quite some time and it is worth your moneys worth. Don't worry, when you complete all the fun stuff it will call you back for more and you will make a new character. Expand
  14. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    This being the first DLC for SKYRIM I believe it was amazing, however, I also feel it could have been longer and more challenging. I also liked taking on other forms, but I would have liked even more to see my standard character get a couple of extra perks.
  15. Sep 4, 2012
    8
    Dawnguard is short, doesn't really add much to Skyrim, and is a bit steep at 1600 MSP. However I give it an 8 because I love the crossbow and had a lot of fun with the quests. The way I see it, consoles don't have mod support so I will pay what I must to prolong my adventures in Skyrim.
  16. Aug 19, 2012
    8
    Lets be honest the frost giant an vampire lord modes are enough to add 30 more hours to skyrim. I did not like the expansion for awhile but some of the side quests like a new and fresh dwemer ruin(s), Dragon bone weapons and skooma smoking den turned my frown upside down. It is a bit better than Nights of Nine but come on Bethesda! do better, its still good though that's why I give it aLets be honest the frost giant an vampire lord modes are enough to add 30 more hours to skyrim. I did not like the expansion for awhile but some of the side quests like a new and fresh dwemer ruin(s), Dragon bone weapons and skooma smoking den turned my frown upside down. It is a bit better than Nights of Nine but come on Bethesda! do better, its still good though that's why I give it a hate out of ten lolz! Expand
  17. Aug 11, 2012
    8
    A different and unique DLC,Dont expect anything like shivering isles,Just dont. See this more like the knights of the nine of skyrim,But bigger. As a big elder scrolls fan i liked it,Like things i have been requesting and asked bethesda for got added,Like the werewolf perk tree and the ability to change your appereance. And i never was a fan of vampires of TES until this. The story of thisA different and unique DLC,Dont expect anything like shivering isles,Just dont. See this more like the knights of the nine of skyrim,But bigger. As a big elder scrolls fan i liked it,Like things i have been requesting and asked bethesda for got added,Like the werewolf perk tree and the ability to change your appereance. And i never was a fan of vampires of TES until this. The story of this dlc and the story of the side quests are much better then the ones in the vanilla game. You will encounter many suprises in this DLC,It is short. Yes. But it was epic. Sure,Stuff like this could be stuff that got added in updates.. But i like it anyway,The one thing i got dissapointed with are the lack of big and new landmasses,And i mean landmasses that has big cities and villages,Where you could shop,live and just do quests in. Skyrim needs something different,I liked Dawnguard. But it could have been better,But this DLC is the proof that bethesda listens to their fans,Well at least me :) I am looking forward to the next DLC and i really hope bethesda listens more to the fans and i really hope we get at least one big expansion sized DLC.. Shivering isles was very alien and different from the main land,What we need is something very different from tthe mainland skyrim. Hm,Parts of hammerfell or elsweyr? Or maybe even valenwood? Skyrim is very popular and i see many reasons to make a expansion sized DLC. The fans would just love that. And bethesda would get more money. Still Dawnguard was a great DLC,For me for features that i have requested for a long time i love it,But if you dont have anything to do in skyrim. Buy this,I think i have spend over 40 hours with the new content,And i dont mean just by questing, I mean having fun with the werewolf perk tree and stuff like that. Expand
  18. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    this dlc is great it adds more to the already ginormous world of skyrim adding crossbows dragon weapons and a cool new form the powerful vampire lord really cool but also in terms of quest it was surprisingly short considering skyrim as a whole
  19. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    With so many developers now releasing new skins for the characters and calling it DLC or two or three map packs and calling that DLC, Dawnguard is a refreshing change of pace. While it is not an entirely new domain to explore (ala Shivering Isles that seems to be the highest comparison) it definitely gives you 20+ hours of new content. Not to mention that it also fixes things likeWith so many developers now releasing new skins for the characters and calling it DLC or two or three map packs and calling that DLC, Dawnguard is a refreshing change of pace. While it is not an entirely new domain to explore (ala Shivering Isles that seems to be the highest comparison) it definitely gives you 20+ hours of new content. Not to mention that it also fixes things like Vampires being such push-overs and the Werewolf being all but useless. The crossbows could have been made better in my opinion by being stronger to compensate for the long reloads, or make 1-handed versions of them. Also I was disappointed that they didn't offer all levels of crossbows (daedric/dragonbone crossbows would have been nice). I felt that the stories and unique items that were added were a nice addition to the already epic scope of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. The graphics did not disappoint, however there were several situations with the Vampire Lord forms and actions that were buggy. With a game and an expansion this size, bugs are to be expected and I hope that most people are taking that into consideration.

    All in all this was a very nice and well done addition to the epic Skyrim universe.
    Expand
  20. Jul 13, 2012
    8
    A good reason to play Skyrim again, quite entertaining but not enough to get me to play any more after the quest line was complete. A good add-on for any vampires or vampire slayers.
  21. Jul 12, 2012
    8
    If you've spent a lengthy amount of time exploring the realm of Skyrim then yes, Dawnguard may seem like a bit of a disappointment as it mirrors one of the faction quest lines. That being said, it's not necessarily a bad thing. I found most of the faction quest lines immensely enjoyable and Dawnguard was no different, yielding some unique weapons and armour in the process. The addition ofIf you've spent a lengthy amount of time exploring the realm of Skyrim then yes, Dawnguard may seem like a bit of a disappointment as it mirrors one of the faction quest lines. That being said, it's not necessarily a bad thing. I found most of the faction quest lines immensely enjoyable and Dawnguard was no different, yielding some unique weapons and armour in the process. The addition of being able to smith your own arrows (at last!) as well as dragon weapons definitely made me super happy. Yes, it is not a spectacular new game but a DLC is not meant to be. It enhances the main game while offering some interesting new quests, skills and companions. I think it will be more enjoyable for those that have spent less time in the world because it does incorporate a lot of the old "go there, fetch that" quests but even for those like me who have spent a ridiculous amount of time playing the game it has something to offer. Don't write it off, but don't expect "Shivering Isles" either. Expand
  22. Jul 12, 2012
    8
    More Skyrim can only be a good thing.New missions,weapons,armour,story,shouts etc are a blessing after hundreds of hours exploring the original to death.Several missions take the player on a fantastic journey involving excellent new lore,locations and characters for fans,though Soul Cairn is pretty poor.Though usually patient with Bethesda,the glitches infuriated me for once and I justMore Skyrim can only be a good thing.New missions,weapons,armour,story,shouts etc are a blessing after hundreds of hours exploring the original to death.Several missions take the player on a fantastic journey involving excellent new lore,locations and characters for fans,though Soul Cairn is pretty poor.Though usually patient with Bethesda,the glitches infuriated me for once and I just don't understand why they keep releasing broken products.DLC thats requires patches is a blight on the company and the gaming industry and I'm now finding it hard to forgive.Still,I loved the parts that work but won't be as forgiving in the future. Expand
  23. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    This is great new DLC content for skyrim. For some reason, RPG's in the past have been very conservative when it came to producing dragons in adventures. Perhaps the game engines couldn't handle them. Then, along comes Skyrim with a zillion dragons but falls short because these dragons are very bland and weak. I mean, come on, dragons should be bright colors and wicked spells, evilThis is great new DLC content for skyrim. For some reason, RPG's in the past have been very conservative when it came to producing dragons in adventures. Perhaps the game engines couldn't handle them. Then, along comes Skyrim with a zillion dragons but falls short because these dragons are very bland and weak. I mean, come on, dragons should be bright colors and wicked spells, evil minds (none of this philosophical bs), and actually be very tough to kill. How can a cave bear be more dangerous to fight than a dragon!!?? Anayways, Skryim is still pretty awesome and this new DLC does a much better job of vampires than dragons. The creators seem to understand the vampire mythos better. The quests are pretty interesting with creepy settings which is a must for an RPG. There is still the goofy thing going on though as with all these elder scrolls games. They are all kinda goofy as compared to Dragon Age Origins or Dark Souls. The main drawback to this DLC is that you seem to spend a lot of time walking compared to the main game. Also, vampires should have new spells to attack you with which are illusion based. maybe this comes later in the game. anyways, peace. Expand
  24. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    I think besthesda did a great job with this add on. I mean, the perks for werewolves, and vampires alone is just plain fun. No, it's not the greatest of add-ons, but it definitely ranks in the top 5 that i've ever played.
  25. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    Why must this be compared to Shivering Isles? It wasn't created to serve the same purpose nor is it meant as the translation of it into Skyrim. No, what people are somehow failing to realize is that this DLC is meant to keep you engaged in the game with new abilities, weapons, spells and shouts. If you are unaware of what to expect from a standard Elder Scrolls DLC, you won't beWhy must this be compared to Shivering Isles? It wasn't created to serve the same purpose nor is it meant as the translation of it into Skyrim. No, what people are somehow failing to realize is that this DLC is meant to keep you engaged in the game with new abilities, weapons, spells and shouts. If you are unaware of what to expect from a standard Elder Scrolls DLC, you won't be dissapointed. If you purchase this game expecting something like Shivering Isles, however, you may find yourself a bit dissapointed. If you wanted to give it a score of how well it resembles Shivering Isles, it only deserves a 4 at best. However, you may find yourself quite intrigued if you manage to find it within yourself to go in with an open mind. 8/10 Expand
  26. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dawnguard is a welcome addition to the near endless content which Skyrim has to offer. It expands on the lack of vampire related lore and game play in vanilla Skyrim and does a good job presenting a unique and in my opinion a more interesting story than Skyrim Expand
  27. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    Its more Skyrim, which is a good thing. Dual story lines mean you essentially get two games in one, which helps mitigate the 20$ price tag. Plus, Serana may be the hottest companion yet!
  28. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I first heard about this DLC I thought it was great news. I purchased this as soon as I could off of the XBL marketplace and I don't regret a cent of it. It isn't as large as Shivering Isle, but I would say it is equally as enjoyable. I enjoyed every last bit of it, especially the saints soul.

    If you enjoyed Skyrim, this DLC is a must purchase.
    Expand
  29. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    Overall, I enjoyed Dawn Guard and thoroughly.. No, this is not in the ranks with The Shivering Isles. More like in the middle of that and The Knights of the Nine The story was lacking, with jumping plots and it strayed far away from the Gothic vampire theme. But the bonuses such as the vampire and werewolf perk trees to the new gear (Dawn guard & vampire armor. etc) made the D.L.COverall, I enjoyed Dawn Guard and thoroughly.. No, this is not in the ranks with The Shivering Isles. More like in the middle of that and The Knights of the Nine The story was lacking, with jumping plots and it strayed far away from the Gothic vampire theme. But the bonuses such as the vampire and werewolf perk trees to the new gear (Dawn guard & vampire armor. etc) made the D.L.C completely worth the low 20$ price tag. I think a respectable nine is what this D.L.C deserves. Expand
  30. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    This is my second review of the dlc, as I believe i was simply starstruck by the fact that...well...it's skyrim dlc.
    Here's the honest to god review.
    It is quite large, mostly because 2 new "realms" are introduced. Both of these new places are quite vacant. So looking back on it, it doesn't add as much as that aspect seems. It also includes the single longest quest in the game. It was
    This is my second review of the dlc, as I believe i was simply starstruck by the fact that...well...it's skyrim dlc.
    Here's the honest to god review.
    It is quite large, mostly because 2 new "realms" are introduced. Both of these new places are quite vacant. So looking back on it, it doesn't add as much as that aspect seems. It also includes the single longest quest in the game. It was also the hardest. VAMPIRE/DAWNGUARD- the dawnguard lore is in my opinion cooler but the ability's are far better in the vampire lord side. The crossbow i found myself barely using. They should have made a crossbow for each weapon tier. It also would've been nice to have some miscellaneous stuff put in there. EVERYTHING IS ABOUT VAMPIRES. Which is like "duh" but 10-20 hours of VAMPIRES is a lot. Simply buy it if you like skyrim, especially if you aren't satisfied with current vampires.
    Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Feb 25, 2013
    95
    Dawnguard is much more substantial add-on than Hearthfire, adding on a full storyline centered on a war between the vampires and the Dawnguard.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 14, 2012
    85
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim – Dawnguard. Bethesda shows how a dlc should be done. Dawnguard's 20-euro price tag is quite steep, but the amount of quality content more than makes up for it. Also, playing as a vampire lord is a welcome distraction. [Sept 2012]
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Aug 8, 2012
    50
    Predictable, bug-ridden fare. [Sept 2012, p.72]