User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 175

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 13, 2013
    7
    This is a solid installment for Skyrim. It was great revisiting Solstheim, but it was shame you don't revisit Morrwind again. The story incorporates elements from Morrowind which is a nice touch, with all the armours and weapons and the exposition of lore from regarding Red Mountain, Dagoth Ur and Neverine, the main story quest was great but rather underwhelming, it felt short, even for aThis is a solid installment for Skyrim. It was great revisiting Solstheim, but it was shame you don't revisit Morrwind again. The story incorporates elements from Morrowind which is a nice touch, with all the armours and weapons and the exposition of lore from regarding Red Mountain, Dagoth Ur and Neverine, the main story quest was great but rather underwhelming, it felt short, even for a DLC add on. However, besides some faults this is still a worthy purchase. Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2013
    5
    Ok, ive heard alot positive reviews about this dlc and now that i have finally completed the main storyline and explored some Solstheim i can finally start stating out the flaws of this dlc. First of all the story wasn't interesting at all and the main bad guy "Miraak" was one heck of boring guy. Hell, there isn't even almost any good loot, weapons or armors in this dlc. I found a few newOk, ive heard alot positive reviews about this dlc and now that i have finally completed the main storyline and explored some Solstheim i can finally start stating out the flaws of this dlc. First of all the story wasn't interesting at all and the main bad guy "Miraak" was one heck of boring guy. Hell, there isn't even almost any good loot, weapons or armors in this dlc. I found a few new enemies quite interesting for example ash spawns and rieklings. [Sidequests are once again complete bull****, there even was one quest where you had to find certain item but it ended up being just in front of the cave's entrance. WHAT KINDA QUEST IS THAT?]

    Im seriously kinda dissapointed how Bethesda developers are little by little cashing in with successful franchise dlc's and they don't put almost any effort to their games.
    Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    6
    This is a really great expansion. Totally worth the money, although I'm giving it a lower rating because this game continues to be highly glitchy despite all their patches. During my playthrough of dragonborn, roughly 20 hrs, there wasn't a single play session that didn't lock up or glitch in some frustrating way. All in all, it was great to spend more time in this world.
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    7
    Dragonborn dlc is good but it doesn't worth the current price. The game has new armors and weapons, places and people and a new interesting story. On the other hand, more bugs have added on add-on, which we hadn't to see. Nevertheless, if you haven't the main game, it's better for you to buy the legendary edition and have it all.
  5. Jan 25, 2015
    7
    A great nod to Morrowind and a great DLC but overall kind of boring once you have finished the main quest there is little fun to be had in Solsthiem it is worth buying and a great dlc but once you finish the main story you will find yourself back in Skyrim some of the side quests are OK but nothing other than what we saw in skyrim. Don't get me wrong the ability to RIDE DRAGONS is prettyA great nod to Morrowind and a great DLC but overall kind of boring once you have finished the main quest there is little fun to be had in Solsthiem it is worth buying and a great dlc but once you finish the main story you will find yourself back in Skyrim some of the side quests are OK but nothing other than what we saw in skyrim. Don't get me wrong the ability to RIDE DRAGONS is pretty awesome but you can't control them the map size in solsthiem is surprisingly small but overall if you like sky rim you should by this if you thought sky rim was OK then this will be a disappointment. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2012
    0
    Dragonborn for Skyrim is a huge step forward from Dawnguard. Not only does it improve on being a better polished DLC, it also improves on entertainment and game play. Dragonborn is well worth the twenty dollar pay. From the beginning of Dragonborn you feel as if your money was well spent. Now you have a new area to explore, new enemies, new weapons, new armor, new shouts, new skills, andDragonborn for Skyrim is a huge step forward from Dawnguard. Not only does it improve on being a better polished DLC, it also improves on entertainment and game play. Dragonborn is well worth the twenty dollar pay. From the beginning of Dragonborn you feel as if your money was well spent. Now you have a new area to explore, new enemies, new weapons, new armor, new shouts, new skills, and of course, new quests. Returning to Morrowind is also a pleasant surprise for people who have played Elder Scrolls 3. New material like Stahlrim allows for stronger armor for those who do not have Daedric or Dragon armor. Many enemies like lurkers add a new feeling to the experience although some enemies, like burnt spriggans, feel like a rehash. Some more advanced players may find a challenge in a new enemy named Karstaag who is one of the most difficult bosses I've ever fought in a Bethesda game. The only disappointments about this DLC would have to be the main story quests and dragon riding. While the story is interesting, it feels rush and is very short, showing me that Bethesda has relied on side quests to help keep the player entertained, which is a shame. Dragon riding is practically useless. The dragon flies in a very small circular pattern and you cannot control the beast whatsoever. Controls for riding the dragon are awkward and hard to remember. Overall, Dragonborn is a major success for Skyrim showing there is potential for the DLC. If you are looking for a true expansion that will hardly disappoint you, I suggest buying Dragonborn the first chance you have twenty dollars to spend. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    85
    Bethesda’s games were never perfect but they made up for their flaws with a promise of a grand adventure. It’s not different this time – Dragonborn reminds us why we loved Skyrim. [CD-Action 02/2013, p.54]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    87
    The best Skyrim expansion yet. [Jan 2013]
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    80
    Once again this is a quality piece of downloadable content for Skyrim which adds at least another ten to twenty hours worth of playtime. It would be nice to see some more interesting quest types than simple dungeon crawls through the same environments and more emphasis put upon Solstheim and its inhabitants. Dragonborn is worth the price if you just can't get enough from the Elder Scroll's universe.