User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3127 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    i was concerned that as I was writing this review that I'd switch my score for this game to a 10. But for me to do so would be to say the game is perfect or so near perfect that it hid its flaws. However close Skyrim came to hiding it's flaws it still had them. Texture popping, getting trapped in small cracks, but these are the few things that it does wrong. The game is epic, characters are the most engaging characters I've seen in an elder scrolls game and it is fun to watch above all. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Its kinda masterpiece... a lot of things to do, very good scripting (finally the game doesnt forget what npc are doing when you leave the cell), very well designed dungeons, good story (so far), very nice graphic and yes, finally very stable (at least on my pc).
    Music is very good and it seems to live there, if you know what i mean. Everything looks so full of life and every step you take
    there is a lot of things to do.
    The UI is not that good, i hope some good mods to take care of that (like in Olbivion).
    But finally, a very nice rpg game, its from Morrowind i didnt spend so much time on a game :)

    And above all, for the first time i dont use fast travel... Very nice work Bethesda... very nice.
    Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic game. I usually don't like RPG or FPS games but I thought I'd give this one a try. I'm really glad I did.
    PROS: a seemingly never-ending amount of quests and story lines. Great graphics, support for DirectX10.
    CONS: there are some areas where the game crashes. I found out if you play those couple of areas in "windowed mode" that you can get through it without
    crashing. Hopefully there'll be patches for these. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    I've been an Elder Scrolls fan since the third installment of the series, Elder Scrolls Morrowind. I've always enjoyed the open world and the shear expansive size of the games. Skyrim further continues my love for the series. The world is rich and expansive and I truly feel that you get your $60 worth when you buy this game. It is packed full of content and allows the player a lot of control on play style. For the most part the graphics are great with the occasional glitch and texture issues but overall is amazing to look into the distance and seen expansive mountain ranges. The game is an overall improvement from Oblivion in terms of menus, character customization, character models, and world. With Morrowind I always felt that the world had an awesome size and lots of mystery to it which encouraged exploration but the game had many technical problems. However with Oblivion I felt that it fixed those problems but lost the expansiveness of Morrowind. I feel like Skyrim is the perfect coupling of Morrowind and Oblivion! It's good fun! Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    Unfortunately I haven't got to play this game as much as I would have liked to but so far I enjoy what I've seen. I didn't buy this game for Xbox I only borrowed it but I guarantee you the first chance I get I will be purchasing this game for PC (sry I love to mod). What I found ingenious is the use of some mods from Oblivion used in the game instead of having to add them on. The size of the map is a little daunting at first but as soon as you unlock a few fast travel locations it becomes easy to navigate across the entire map. Some of the early bosses seem to throw you in the deep end others seem to be pushovers with very little in the middle but otherwise it is a very very good game. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Best Elder Scrolls yet. This game has so much content packed inside I was amazed they fit it all on one disc. You will be playing this game well past the holiday season and I'm definitely looking forward to future DLC. This is the best RPG experience I have had to date. This game has my vote for game of the year.
  7. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    One thing to get across first: I have played both Dark Souls and Skyrim for a good 20+ hours and have come to a conclusion.

    Skryim is MUCH better.

    Skyrim is, without a doubt, one of the best games to come out this year (if not the best). The combat is MUCH improved from Oblivion, and archery is actually useful for once in the history of The Elder Scrolls. The quests are interesting and
    very fun to play are amazing. The main quest, however, did disappoint in that there was nothing really new; it felt as if it was just another quest where I had to go and find this object or talk to that person.

    There are a few complaints, however. Magic seems limited: it doesn't seem like there are nearly as many spells as there were in Oblivion, and there is no spell-making. The companion system was added but is still rather...bad. I found myself going off on my own since I didn't want my companion to go and kill herself by attacking a dragon. Some low-res textures kind of take away from the experience, and there are minor animation issues but...all of that is easily overlooked.

    Skyrim is a masterpiece, and I recommend it to everyone.
    Expand
  8. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    So after 80 hours invested what do I think? Skyrim is amazing. This game is huge in a way that is almost unbelievable. The landscape is vast, and varied and beautiful. There are many quests to do, many dungeons to explore, items to collect. I wish I could convey why this game is probably one of, if not THE best game I have ever played. Many times you play sand box style games where the game dev says things like "you can do whatever you want." Well with Skyrim that is actually true. There are no artificial limits herding you towards completing the story. You can from the moment you start, do whatever you desire. You can play the game for hundreds of hours and not even touch the main story. Its the sort of freedom that other games claim to have, but never do. That being said, there are flaws. Any game half the size of this one should have tons. Skyrim does NOT have tons, but it does have a few. Mainly in quest implementation, but as I write this Bethesda does have a patch currently going through the approval process and I expect many of the flaws to be corrected. All in all, this is a great game, and well worth the price. This game is definitely my GOTY. Expand
  9. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    Starting off playing the game I notice such a feel for it, like walking outside from a stuffy room too a fresh air breeze. That's what this game is like, compared to it's previous game Oblivion the graphic's are so much better, the feel for it and the whole new creation engine they use is much more detailed. The combat system is so much better when you're using you're magic spells you actually feel like a mage when you're sneaking around you really feel like a thief or a assassin in the shadows waiting to kill you're target, the only problem is the fact of some glitches witch is well known for Bethesda type games and before we know it it's gonna be patched up and perfected. Expand
  10. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    the biggest game of the year and the decades !!! they changed many things for our enjoyment. it's an epic game that makes us fight dragons and climb the snowy mountains.
    I LOVE THIS GAME !!!! thanks bethesda
  11. Nov 22, 2011
    1
    Desapontado! Poderia ser bem melhor, gostaria que tivesse chegado ao nível de The Witcher 2, não gostei dos gráficos nem do som, as lutas são enfadonhas!!!
  12. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This is the most anticipated game of the history and its visual art, graphic, gameplay, music and voice acting was perfect but facial animation kinda look like fallout 3 and fallout new vegas is pretty old but still okay and i like the atmosphere very much and the engine called "Creation Engine" is a superb and the story is fantastic and also for a side story but the game also had alot of issues about bug and glitches like fallout 3 and fallout new vegas which i don't like it but i think it is the best RPG game ever so i was thinking maybe Bethesda could used "Creation Engine" on fallout 4 thumbs up if you agree :) Expand
  13. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    There's a reason we need bad games. It makes us greatly appreciate fantastically well crafted and near perfect games such as this even more. Thank you Bethesda, for allowing me to sacrifice a relatively small chunk of my paycheck for an amazing adventure I will remember for years to come.
  14. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    It is a vast understatement to call this an "Improvement" over Bethesda's previous installment in the series. Almost every feature has been improved upon, from the quick use menu and favourites list, to the graphics and stat system. It is almost difficult to believe that this game is running on the same hardware as Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion, as you take in the breathtaking scenery and character design. From giant, amazing and beautiful creatures such as Dwemer robotic golems, mammoths and of course, dragons, to the small insect life, and birds flying overhead. This game is teeming with life, and features some of the most beautiful creature animations i have seen to date. A couple things bothered me greatly about the still fun and amazing elder scrolls oblivion, such as an extreme abundance of glitches, as well as a horrible stat system, which discouraged playing the game freely without pruning each skill specifically, as to raise your stats to be the highest possible. Skyrim changes the around perfectly, with a system that encourages you to play exactly how you want to, and become exactly who you want to be. I personally chose a heavy armor specializing Khajiit, with a focus on restoration magicka and talents in smithing, alchemy, enchanting and speech. In addition, it is appealing to find a lack of glitches in the game, after experiencing how common they were in previous installments. I have found a handful in perhaps over a hundred hours of gameplay, which is to be expected with any game, none-the-less such a massive open world experience. So far I have played 100+ hours, and I am still finding creative, entertaining, and often awe inspiring scenes, quests, and situations in the game. I expect to play at least a hundred more hours, not including the guaranteed extra play-though or two in my future. In my opinion, the improvements made, and complete mass of quality and quantity in this game should put to shame some of the other recent games to come out, such as Skyward Sword, and Modern Warfare 3. Same genre or not, it should be easy to see which of the series' titles outshines the others in improvements made and overall quality Expand
  15. Nov 23, 2011
    5
    It is a pretty good game withg an engaging storyline, with amazing graphics, but the system is still outdated, and very laggy and crashy, and it is still following the same simple fomat since oblivion, and in some parts there are a lot of glitches, crashes, and sowtware lags.
  16. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Skyrim is, by far, the best game in the Elder Scrolls series so far. Of course this should be expected, what with the current state of game engines, graphics and innovation, literally expanding rapidly on what is possible to realize in a game - and doing so in a convincing fashion.

    Having said that, I doubt that anyone could ever stand on a monutain in Skyrim, and not have their breath
    taken away by the impressive vista. The misty slopes, the ever expanding horizon - and the knowledge, that one can literally go and visit any location in sight. The graphics, especially on the PC's highest setting, are nothing short of stunningly beautiful.

    In terms of gameplay, Skyrim has definately seen some improvements since its' predecessor; Oblivion. The universal acclaimed UI improvements have not been exaggerated, and as I'm sure any Oblivion veteran will instantly agree with, the leveling / perk menu is by far one of the biggest improvements in Skyrim. It's simple, easily understood to even the most inexperienced of gamers. The fact that the menu itself is also an animated version of all three "major" star constellations in the game, doesn't hurt either.

    While Skyrim definately has a high replay value, assuming that one ever manages to complete every quest and faction accessible, there are some issues that would deter one from doing so. While one could argue that these are all minor issues, they add up into a sense of frustration.

    The facial animations are stiff, and somewhat bereft of life. While this might be blamed on the fact that I recently played LA Noire, this seems to be a consistent issue in the Elder Scrolls series. The bugs and glitches. I've seen people do a semi-Kitty Pride trick with doors and walls. While not a major issue in terms of progression, it does remove a lot from the sense of immersion. And speaking of that...

    The AI. While the AI on NPC's has been upgraded somewhat since Oblivion, there are still moments of complete and utter.. annoyance. This has, in my case, included companions running against a pillar (and getting stuck there), dragons using the same, rather plain tactic in terms of fighting and -worst of all- important people tied to quests, willingly walking off from cliffs, walls and even the rare mountain.

    All in all, the above issues come down to nitpicking. Like I said however, they do add up, and in the end the player is repeatedly reminded of the fact that it's a game, rather than an immersive experience. And the less is said about the state of PS3 owners, the better... In the end, Skyrim makes for a great experience. Its' breathtaking world, the dozens and dozens of intriguing storylines and the reasonably smooth gameplay, all in all makes for a gaming experience that will make you forget about the real world in a heartbeat. Get ready to kiss your friends, jobs and everyday life goodbye - it'll happen if you buy this game.

    9/10 - the bugs, glitches and somewhat simple AI being the only things that keep this game from perfection.
    Expand
  17. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    i didn't like oblivion very much,so i had low expectations but upon starting the game i loved it! the quests are fun and not all the same,enemies and npc's are smart and don't just stand there when being attacked but the best thing buy far is the dragons,one on its own isn't hard,but when 3 attack at once it gets hard,and even then it's pretty cool because people nearby join in and help,game of the year in my book,10/10 Expand
  18. Nov 26, 2011
    6
    When I went to GameStop, bought The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, and put it into my Xbox 360 disc drive, I was really excited. I thought, this is going to be one hell of an epic game! It turns out, it was not. From the minute I started the campaign, I thought, "The graphics aren't nearly as good as they were hyped up to be." It felt like all the quests were just "Talk to Grumio," "Talk to Isabella," "Talk to Grumio again," "Fetch this object," "Go back to Grumio," and so on. It's not the kind of game I thought it would be. It's not the kind of game where you do all the exploring. A lot of times, you have to rely on game guides or online Elder Scrolls Wikia pages, etc. The Radiant Quest System, as well as the AI, isn't nearly as intelligent as it seems on paper. If they added online multiplayer and made this one of the first console MMORPG's, I would love Bethesda. I still love Bethesda, but this isn't the kind of game that keeps your excited if you spend hours on end with the game. That's what I did, and it just made me get bored and realize how overrated the game is. Even more so perhaps than CoD. Expand
  19. Feb 4, 2012
    4
    I wanted to like this game, really bad. With all the hype surrounding it I was expecting a lot. However in recent years Bethesda seems to just be churning out mediocre games filled with bugs and ultimately feel unsatisfying. There's no real challenge here, just an extraordinary amount of things to do. The biggest fault of this game for me was the combat. Simply put, the combat is just boring and easy; no matter what type of combat you choose to specialize in you can do well, because there is little strategy at all to approaching fights. The game world, while beautiful, utilizes the same type of randomly generated events and encounters we've been seeing in these types of games for years now. Overall, the game isn't terrible, but it nots nearly as ground-breaking or flawless as people make it out to be. Expand
  20. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    While i really like this kind of game (RPG Elements, exploring, some kind of immersive epic story) it feels a bit incomplete. Skyrim falls in the same pit of other rpg's (you will find a lot of repetitive quests, non charismatic npc's). In my lust to do everything in the game i already lost the interest without advancing the main quest. Another thing that has been bothering is the horrible textures found in the game, for this year of 2011 i would expect some much better than what i saw. Elder Scrolls has the potential to be a excellent game, but it lacks a lot of polishment. Expand
  21. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Overall a truly spectacular game, I would even say one of the best games I have ever owned and I own a lot of games. Brilliant scenery, endless amounts of missions that will keep you playing for weeks, possibly months. This game is the best use of money you will ever spend on a game because of its remarkable game play, scenery and the choices you can make in the game. Every dungeon is unique and leave you breathless as you walk around fighting oncoming enemy's in various ways. The feeling you get when you enter a large room full of enemy's and pick them off one by one with the bow and arrow with out them even knowing you was there. The game play feels beautiful and the game plays like a dream. The main quests for the mages and dark brotherhood are brilliant, not just something Bethesda have added in just for extra game play hours, you can tell time has been spent on making separate amazing story lines. But yes this game does have its problems like various glitches and if they had spent a bit more time sorting this out The Elder Scrolls Skyrim would be truly a brilliant masterpiece and most certainly game of the year. I would award this game 9.8 out of 10. Expand
  22. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is the outmost greatest RPG ever created. Notice I said RPG, and not game. All the naysayers that say it is bad because it takes too long to beat need to learn the definition of RPG. It I'snt supposed to end, which is what makes this game amazing. If you play in HD and you have full audio this game is a killer peice of entertainment. The amount of skills that you can increase along with which type of being you want to be is just astounding. The only way that this game could possibly be better is if it was multiplayer, but that would be incredibly hard to do because of just how it is made. Overall, I give it a 12/10 :) Expand
  23. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    If I had to use one word to describe Skyrim, it would probably have to be "generous". It's a game that utterly immerses you in its setting. Oblivion was a game with a fairly cut-and-paste landscape in which you could create a classed character organically and in your own mould. Fallout 3, ironically enough, was game that *featured* more mould in a more fleshed-out albeit manky world,but characters tended to be some combination of "punch man", "shoot man", "pick lock" and "fix computer". Skyrim's world is built of vastly distinct biomes ranging from verdant tundra to snowy wastes to REALLY freaking snowy wastes. Its character development is three dimensional; in fact it's more like seven dimensional. It's a vast, freeform in quality of what could increasingly be called a genre of its own, the "Bethesda RPG" - which was already a watchword in If there's a solid criticism of the game, it's the melee combat; Bethesda's yet to find a first-person melee system that really works; up-close skirmishing just doesn't work through a restricted point of view and with limited manipulation of your pointy things. Dead Island's oar-swingy system may have played like a drunk remote control retard, but it could at least be said to be pushing the boundaries.

    Apart from dodgy manpunching, Skyrim deserves the title of Instant Classic just for the seemingly bottomless grab-bag of interesting, unique missions handsculpted from its immersive continent. When you've poured in two weeks of nightly gameplay are still being surprised with new enemies and weapons, and you've just run into Max Von Sydow, it's really hard to complain about value for money, even having paid the premium fourty pounds on release. When the price comes down, there should be no-one with facial hair who hasn't played, and loved, this game.
    Expand
  24. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Absolutely one of the most beautiful and amazing free world RPGs I've ever played. It may not be the most stable games out there... but you have to remember just the INSANE amount of content this game has. And for all that, you get beautiful graphics, a chilling soundtrack, and great gameplay. I never really got that much into Oblivion, but there's just something special about Skyrim when you are traveling across the tundra. Or when you enter a dungeon and you sneak behind a group of bandits. Or when you fend off against angry townspeople. Skyrim isn't just a game... it's an experience. Expand
  25. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    This is the best rpg i have played on the 360. fantastic stories. amazing graphics and while very glitchy that has always been part of bethesda games. Fallout with twice the content and better graphics.
  26. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    This is without a doubt the best game I have ever played in my entire life. Gorgeous graphics? Check. Stunning audio? Check. Brilliant actors? Check. Unforgettable game play? Check. The only problem I ever encountered with this game is that I don't play it enough. Which is about 6 hours a day.
  27. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    I was looking at the reviews for this great game and i was appalled to see a single person rated this game bad. Yes, it crashes every once in awhile, yes it's occasionally buggy, but this game is spectacular. There's no other game I'd rather play. This game stole my life, so now i have none but to play Skyrim.
  28. Dec 8, 2011
    5
    Skyrim is a great game brought down by bugs, great sound and great role play features brought down by a confusing and semi-difficult to use menu system where I end up either equipping an unintended item or accidentally closing the menu all together, and the infamous bugs, many quests are currently bugged and by Bethesda's own admission they will not even begin working on the majority of them untill January if i'm not mistaken, also there is a texture problem for most xbox 360 users to where the game looks like it could have been made in 2006 which is quite frankly inexcusable considering I noticed this within the first 10 minutes of playing (This is why we beta test). Bethesda has not treated this game well considering it is there trademark series, they tried to update the game to fix the texture issues among other bugs instead however they did NOT fix the issues and broke resistances to everything which is a key mechanic, also they have not given any word as to when they will fix the texture issues which means it most likely will not get fixed in a long time by which I most likely will have put it on the shelf forgetting about it. Expand
  29. Dec 13, 2011
    7
    Fun but main story is way too short and NPCs had little to no personality. Never felt any strong emotion or bond to any faction or character. Ending was non eventful. When I beat the main story quests I didn't even realize it. To me it felt like is should have been the half way point. The world itself is very well done and fun to explore. Fighting is the best it has ever been in the Elder scrolls series. Not too many bugs and glitchs as previous installments. Just wish it had more memorable NPCs and a deeper story but the game is very well made otherwise. Expand
  30. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    SKYRIM IS A MASTERPIECE,

    This is one of the greatest games ever made.I have played many rpg's in my 30 years and this game is by far the best rpg yet,the story,graphics,game play is epic all in it's own and the voice acting is much better then it was in oblivion although oblivion is a great game as well.Skyrim get's a perfect 10.however I can not say the same thing for the ps3 version
    since it's plagued by crashes,bug's and frame rate problems.but seeing as how this is the xbox 360 version review I must say it's the more stable version. Expand
  31. Dec 17, 2011
    6
    The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is a let down in the sense that it is not a evolution from Oblivion. 5 years on from Oblivion and Skyrim still feels like a rehash and instead of a brand new game a huge expansion with better graphics. I really wanted to love Skyrim but I could not help feeling disappointed with the game that was so hyped. The main story is just boring full of uninteresting characters but the side quest lines save the game from being a utter snore-fest. The voice acting is varied to say the least and some truly bad facial animation keep me from being fully immersed in this world. It used to be that I like Elder Scrolls better then Fallout but now the times have changed and I would rather see another Fallout game rather then a Elder Scrolls game. I did like the game but I was disappointed. Expand
  32. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Simply put the best RPG of the decade. Over 300+ hours of gameplay and a vast, open world where you can explore to your heart's desire. Only bad part is that the game is that there are some glitches that can ruin the experience. For example, while trying to enter the Mage College, I couldn't because of the test glitch. But even with these bugs Skyrim still is epic in the finest sense of the word. One of the best games I have ever played. Expand
  33. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    100 hours in and still not fed up, its the game that just keeps giving. Its my GOTY without a doubt, perhaps even the game of this generation. If you dont have it and you like rpg's you are doing yourself a disservice by not playing this.
  34. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    A brilliant masterpiece. Bethesda keeps getting better and better. A massive, beautiful rpg with an interesting story backdrop and a beautiful musical score that is truly epic. The statistics are there, and the detail is amazing. 150 hours in and maybe halfway done. One of the best games I have ever played.
  35. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This game exceeds the gaming world to date the amazing graphics fighting character models the easter eggs and of course the arrow to the knee joke i am getting this game for christmas but my uncle had it i didnt come out for a day or two
  36. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    If you love the Fallout games from Bethesda you will appreciate the depth that was created for your pleasure. I often reflect on the sheer immensity and technical prowess that must have been employed to make this game a reality--and on only one disc. This proves that this Bethesda has the craft of game creation down to a near science. Of course there has to be patience on your part to enjoy this game...ready to put in 200+ hours of game play? If not, I would rent this game first--and it takes about 5-10 hours before you truly stand back and smile to what you are really in for. I was a level 28 before I fought my first dragon (infuriated my daughter--she fought her first dragon before level 5.) And that's exactly what makes this game a sheer joy to play. If you find yourself wondering if you can transition from the military take on story telling of Fallout to the more primitive story-line of ancient lore, I thought the same; but within that first important 10 hours of game play i was entirely hooked on this experience. A sheer masterpiece. Expand
  37. Dec 25, 2011
    9
    Like Oblivion, Skyrim has a well-developed plot-line and graphics as well as a deliciously open world. If I have one complaint about the game it's that there is almost too much to do.
  38. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    The absolute best game in its class. There is nothing that compares to this game. There is non-stop things to do, amazing story-line, amazing graphics, amazing combat system. This is all around a stunning game, Bethesda absolutely out-did themselves with this game.
  39. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    I sat down six hours straight for one session, this game is truly a masterpiece. Best game in a long time. One of my all time favorites. Warning: Can be addictive :)
  40. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    Never before has a game captured an entire month of my life. I have been playing this game at almost every available opportunity and I still have another week or two left in me. If you have yet to pick up this game, I strongly encourage you to experience the Game of the Year, and probably the next, too.
  41. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    This is by all measures an epic game. It's a massive world to explore, it's got hundreds of stories to tell, and hundreds of possible ways of doing it all. It can be both cinematic and open ended, and the sound track and graphics really aid this; the game is gorgeous. In terms of it's own merits, this game is an incredible value, offering hundreds of hours of game time in an open ended world, with sound and video to match, and a pretty good main story. Even some of the side quests are epic on a level that would make Indiana Jones blush. For Those of you who have played Oblivion, it stacks up very well, but does change quite a few things. On the one hand, the game has many more cinematic moments, thanks to revamped graphics, a wider variety of scenery, and much improved script writing and voice acting. However, in terms of leveling , experience, and perks, this is much more like a Fallout game than an Elder Scrolls game, but not in a bad way. You still pick a race, but the perks and attributes are somewhat reversed from Oblivion; rather than picking a class and attributes then playing to suit them, you play and pick perks and classes to fit how you play, and with a possible total of 60 perks, plus countless blessings, guardian stones, signs etc. there is plenty of opportunity to customise. The only real negative with Skyrim is the introduction of some grinding while moving through the guilds; You're often required to do quite a few "run here, do X, come back" missions that are randomly generated before the next real quest; This does give you opportunities to explore and to gain XP, but it can also be very demoralizing when you just want to get on with the story and you're stuck fast travelling, pressing A, and fast travelling back for upwards of 40 minutes. That being said, this is a remarkable game in all aspects, and for 43 dollars (only 35 or so at game trader for a used copy) It is an unbeatable value. Expand
  42. Dec 30, 2011
    8
    This is a review based on completion and almost everything done. This does not contain spoilers, so feel free to read fully without spoiling the game.

    Skyrim is a massive RPG, one which can take you well over 150 hours to see most of the content. I'll separate the contents of the review into multiple factors.

    Visuals: Visually, the game is stunning on all platforms. Not many games have
    you feeling like you are exploring a world, but Skyrim manages to do just that. Only when you start looking for graphical flaws will you find them, such as low textured grounds and houses. As a whole however, the game is visually sound. Naturally, the PC version has the edge in visuals, but that is to be expected with updated hardware.

    Gameplay: Gameplay is great. The amount of things you can do is simply endless. You can fight dragons, giants, go exploring in caves, dungeons, towers, or simply craft. It's a MMO, without the monthly content, and the griefing players. Combat is fluid, and you have many different types of combat styles to suit almost anyone. While not every combat style is perfect, all have a great feel, and I can easily see some people playing multiple characters to try them all. However, gameplay is not perfect. I fell victim to a glitch that would not allow me to continue the main story, and had to restart the game, losing about 15 hours of progress. While I did not really mind too much, as it gave me a chance to refine a new character, I can see how others would find this very frustrating. Also, it is well known the PS3 version has issues of freezing, and laggy gameplay due to the memory bug. This happens by having a long played game, and is from the PS3's 512/512 mb memory, which is a well known issue. Every version has glitches, but for the amount of content you get, I can understand some glitches, and Bethesda is working on patches weekly.

    Sound: Sadly, the voice acting still feels a little scripted, and poorly acted at times. It also feels like there should be more voice actors. Not every guard should be talking about taking a arrow to the knee. The sounds of fighting are right on, shields sound like they are taking the hit, and sword attacks sound like they are actually hitting a monster. Summary: A great RPG that should keep you busy for weeks, if not months, to explore through completely.

    Score: Xbox 360: 8.0/10
    Playstation 3: 7.0/10
    PC: 8.5/10
    Expand
  43. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    You know a game is good when I can get my wife addicted to it. Now instead of watching TV we just play Skyrim. The graphics are amazing, the story is awesome, and the content seems to never end. This may be the greatest game ever made.
  44. Jan 9, 2012
    6
    This game has been optimised for X360, so it's getting the highest score from me out of the 3 releases. Nevertheless, I'm underwhelmed. ...... I'm a huge fan of the Elder Scrolls series (I've been there since the beginning!), and I love my PS3 and PC versions of Oblivion (PC version is modded beyond belief, and still gets a lot of my time). However, there were niggling issues with that game that I hoped would be resolved. They haven't. ....... Combat is still clunky and unbalanced, dialogue is awful, the UI is appalling, quests are linear and forgetful, the game engine (Gamebryo not 'Creation'!) is as buggy and weak as ever, and the animations in the game are 2004-spec......... The music and sound, however, are VERY strong, the world is well realised (Bethesda actually had art direction this time!), and the allure of the big open gamespace is as strong as ever. Dragons are fun, if easy to kill and repetitive. Dragon-shouts differentiate the PC from the NPCs, which is important. These are the plus points, but there should really have been more........... Besthesda are not pushing themselves. Oblivion 1.5 is nice, but where's the innovation, guys? Deep inside i'll always know that this is not yet the RPG I know this dev can make.......... Next time- get a new engine (a REAL, new engine), redesign combat entirely, come up with decent stealth mechanics, hire new writers and build a better connection between the game world and the people that inhabit it (better AI, animations etc.). Because as much as I love the Elder Scrolls, I can't pretend forever that this isn't a bit of a mess. -Loco Expand
  45. Feb 5, 2012
    4
    SKYRIM is an amazingly open, free, and epic game. The graphics are of a good style and direction is consistent, but with enough variation to keep things interesting. As an RPG, many of it's systems work great - the level up and scaling system in this game is vastly improved over OBLIVION. The world begs to be explored and although the combat is no more impressive than many other RPGs (many RPGs have lackluster combat, including this one), the loot system and dungeons are fun and more varied than OBLIVION. Some things I found unpleasant about SKYRIM included the lack of ability to create custom spells, as in OBLIVION. I feel as though this is restrictive to mages. Additionally, there are less spells available in this game than there are in OBLIVION, which also put me off when it comes to mages. Further, although the crafting systems of blacksmithing and enchanting are wonderful ideas, these systems are poorly executed. It is not that the systems don't work well or aren;t satisfying in their own right, but rather that these skills are simply GAMEBREAKING in the worst way. Maxing the skills of blacksmithing and/or enchanting allow the player to create weapons and armor better than any that can be found through loot and in many cases even quests throughout the game. Mastering these skills will in fact make your character so strong that the game will be ruined regardless of difficulty setting. The brokenness of this game in its various forms is why i must rate this game low overall. Up to level 20-30 I played a stealth archer. I did NOT invest in blacksmithing or crafting at all, and yet by level 30-35 i was able to one-hit nearly any enemy with the exception of boss creatures and dragons, all while remaining completely undetected. I stopped playing at this point and did not even finish the main quest. The game was ruined for me. Although i felt powerful and the path towards levels 30-35 was fun and engaging, I quickly became so powerful that the game did not require me to think or strategize at all any more, killing the fun factor completely. In short, the skills of stealth(when combined with archery in particular), blacksmithing, and enchanting so grossly overpowered overpowered within the gameworld that the already lackluster combat becomes entirely boring, leaving no reason to play. Additionally, since weapons and armor can be crafted that exceed the most powerful that can be found naturally in the game, there is no reason to explore dungeons or even attempt to seek better equipment. This game had lots of promise, but is too easily broken by basic game mechanics intended to improve the gameplay. Expand
  46. Feb 10, 2012
    1
    Skyrim was fine. It was great. It was the best game I've played in years. And then I foolishly accepted this 1.4 update to my xbox360... and then the game went haywire. Now things are disappearing all over the place at random times including me. For example, I can hear my wife talking to me but I can't see her. And then she reappears. Sometimes the front door of my house is black and I can't exit. Things will disappear as I'm looking at them. These are just the tip of the iceberg... Oh yeah, I'd say about 40% of the time when I go through a door and it normally auto-saves... it will just freeze and I have to hard boot the xbox. This kind of thing was happening a bit when I first got the game a couple of months ago but after a few updates things got better so I figured this update would continue in that direction. Boy, was I wrong !

    Until Bethesda fixes this (assuming they will) the game is basically ruined for me. :x Anybody else?
    Expand
  47. Mar 31, 2012
    2
    To clarify, I do not actually thing Skyrim is a 0/10 game. I enjoyed it a lot, but i believe it in no way deserves high score it got, especially compared to other games on the top list, and that is why i'm giving it such a low score.
    The game is actually pretty enjoyable.Everything good that can be said about the game was already said, so i'm going to concentrate on the bad things.
    First,
    the game is repetitive. It was accused of being a 'single player MMO' and i agree with this judgement. There is a bajilion identical dungeons (90% of them consisting of one main tunnel, 1 or 2 dead ends and a 'secret passage' leading back to the entrance, that can be opened only after completing he dundeon. The last one is in every single cave in the game. Every. Single. solitary. One.) and most of the quests consist of "go there, kill everything, get back, so i can tap you on the shoulder". You will also see the same tower/altar/building with a broken roof/campfire reused and copy-pasted over and over again.
    Also, there are barely any memorable characters. Again, just like dungeons and buildings, most of the npc lines are reused for every blacksmith/mage/whatever. Even when you meet one interesting, kind-of-dickish merchant, and you thing "hey, i like this guy", you'll later travel to the other city, and find out dark ef living there has the same voice, and is telling the same lines. Cheap.
    Story...is very basic. And very boring. And doesn't affect the world around you in any way, other than comments from the guards. You can save the entire world, and then go to some lord or somebody, that you -just personally saved or helped- and he'll never recognize you, and then send you to give a letter to his assistant. Who then rewards you with a "Good upgrade to your equipment", obviously not seeing your full dragonbone plate, that every city guard talks about.
    If you are not slaughtering people for fun, there's no way to affect the world around you in any way. You are being told you did something, but you never see what it changed. Unlike, for example, bioware RPG's, where you can actually experience how yor actions affect other people's lives, here...Well, you just kill the most powerful man in Skyrim, yet all his people are still running around, war camps are still set, and every quest given to you by his followers is still active. There's of course a lot of good stuff to the game, but -there's over 1000 good reviews here. They already praised every single dragonscale pixel of this game.
    Expand
  48. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    EPIC IT IS SUCH A COOL GAME. THERE IS SO MUCH TO DO FIGHT, HUNT, PUT POTS OVER PEOPLES HEAD AND STEAL ALL THERE STUFF, THERE IS JUST SO MUCH TO Do. and if you don't like it, I don't like you
  49. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    How can anyone not like this game?
    Skyrim incorporates all of the fun elements in RPGs, while leaving behind all the tediousness. It improves on Oblivion in all ways except for the faction mission lines.
  50. Sep 4, 2012
    6
    Having played Skyrim and the DLC I must continue to ask both Bethesda and the user's who gave it a 10 to look at what the definition/definitions of a true RPG game are. (Wikipedia has some good one's) In the end there are consequences for the choices you make in the conversation wheel or in your choice of actions or inactions in the gameplay itself in a true RPG.

    The only consequences
    that can be placed in an RPG role are what happens if you choose to pay a bounty or not or steal from someone in Skyrim or choose to do a quest or not which is not an RPG.

    As many users have noted there are far to many bugs, freezes and QA issues that could have been dealt with prior to release.

    The storylines are mediocore at best and the NPC involvement or lack thereof allows for no relationship building and consequences for your actions or inactions which an RPG by definition does allow.

    And as many users have remarked, the interfaces in combat situations are mediocore at best.

    Should Bethesda decide to develop a true open world game and an RPG I would suggest they gather the right mix of talent on the development team. It is clearly obvious that the artistic side was well represented. However, the RPG and UI was not; as well as QA. In Oblivion the menu system was tedious at best; and Skyrim was not that much better. For the obvious artistic representation I wish Bethesda would have devoted as much time on the RPG and UI side. If so, they would have developed a true classic. If one goes back and looks at Fallout 3 you can see that there are consequences for your choices, especially if you are not at the right skill level in areas like health and speech.

    Lastly, diversification is key in such an open world. If you take the time to explore the cave systems and Nord sites you will come to find that in the end it all looks the same with very little diversification and reward for completing any of them.

    I wish great game developers like Bethesda would not fold to the pressure of the "almighty dollar" and take the time to consider the consumer who does spend a great deal of money on these games and the hardware that supports them. BTW if you are going to sell a game as an RPG, by it's true definition, perhaps you might want to look at the definitons of an RPG first before you market it as an RPG to the consumer.
    Expand
  51. Jan 22, 2014
    5
    It's a decent game. I liked morrowind more. I know it's supposed to be played as a northern game, but I just feel cold and dark everywhere I go. It's decent design and the story is somewhat there. The music takes the game higher than it should be. It's a good game if played with mods. Otherwise it's too unbalanced
  52. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    Excellent game, TESV:Skyrim allows players to create a very customisable character and explore a huge world, complete a huge list of quests, clear hundreds of dungeons and more. Graphics wise, a very top-notch game, from the snowy mountain peaks to the grassy plains, constantly impressing. The music is some of the best ever heard in a game before, absolutely breath taking. The game could have used with a more customisable character skill wise, and shipped with fewer bugs, but these are minor nit-picks in one of the most amazing RPGs ever made. Expand
  53. Jan 16, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is an RPG adventure game, and is the next game to be released in the series from Oblivion. Skyrim is set in the Tamerial County in a place that is self explanatory called Skyrim, by lore Skyrim belongs to the Nords but as the same as the others there are also many different races that roam the lands. Character customisation has been widened to what it was in Oblivion, you have the exact same races but they have all been altered to look more lifelike and are very detailed and you are free to chose which ever race you like, another thing that I found good is that different races can sometimes cause NPCs to say different dialogues to you as the player which I found interesting and I liked the idea. Other new customisations allow you to add face paint option and chose you style and colour, how muscular is your character.

    When you have finished creating and finalising him/her, you are born into the world of Skyrim and are immediately are shown the graphics and how hard Bethesda have worked to create this beautiful landscape.

    You start off as a prisoner which is the exact same in previous elder scrolls game they really do just change the scenario from being in a dungeon and rescued
    Expand
  54. Feb 24, 2013
    5
    It's been over a year since Skyrim came out. I eagerly threw down money towards a pre-order of the game in mid-2011 and waited in line for over an hour to pick it up on release day at the EB Games I often took my business to. When I first played it, I was excited! Even on a console, where the inability to swap graphics cards limits the quality of the visuals, I was stunned by the game's aesthetic beauty! I found the character creation system much improved when compared to Oblivion and the NPC character models had improved greatly! Now I could dual-wield, arming myself with a weapon in each hand, or a weapon in one, leaving the other free to cast spells, or I could cast two different spells at once! There was a whole new world for me to explore and it looked like a massive improvement over previous Elder Scrolls games and even when compared to more recent titles like Fallout 3 and Obsidian's Fallout: New Vegas! And there were dragons! Gorgeous, terrifying dragons!!

    I played for many hours, enjoying quests, dungeon crawls, or just the simple joy of exploration. Crafting was better than it had ever been and I enjoyed enchanting and naming items of clothing and weapons. I bought Hearthfire and Dawnguard almost immediately when they came out.

    ... and then somewhere down the line, something happened. I lost interest.

    This has happened to me before with previous Bethesda games. Well, not just any Bethesda games, but Elder Scrolls games in particular. I had no trouble finishing Fallout 3 with all the DLC. Ditto for the Bethesda published, Obsidian developed Fallout: New Vegas (which I think is better than FO3 in many ways). I had been burned before with TES and I should have known better, but I'd gotten caught up in the hype. "This Elder Scrolls game is going to be different!"

    The fundamental problem at the core of Elder Scrolls games, and to a larger extent their other massive open-world RPGs, is that Bethesda don't give a flying f*** about story and plot. They simply don't feel it's important. They see it as merely a hook to get players into games which they feel are all about exploration and freeform gameplay, which is fine for some people, but for me it creates a barrier. I find myself unmotivated to advance towards the end of the game, whether I'm allowed to continue after the main story is done or whether I need to do everything I want to do before finishing the main story because once it's done, the credits roll and I have to load from an earlier save. Generic, dull stock fantasy "save the world from ancient evil" stories don't really do it for me unless they are written by clever, masterful writers who are knowledgeable about the genre and are aware of cliches and tropes and how to use them in refreshing ways. Bethesda's writers either don't have a gift for this, are told to keep it simple, or simply don't care because good storytelling isn't a part of Bethsoft's mandate.

    This story problem was something of an issue with FO3. The main character was a vault dweller, like in the first game. The Enclave was brought back because Bethesda needed a main baddie faction and the Enclave are popular with Fallout fans, rather than coming up with a faction they could truly call their own. The G.E.C.K., the MacGuffin in Fallout 2, was recycled because it was easier to do that then for Bethesda's writing team to come up with something new. Fallout 3, though, at least boasted an interesting setting and it wasn't 300+ hours long BEFORE the DLC. Non-player characters are another major gripe of mine with every Elder Scrolls game I have ever played (Morrowind onwards). The NPCs in Skyrim are all uniformly bland. They don't have anything interesting or humorous to say (lines that accidentally go memetic, notwithstanding). It seems the writers have a tin ear for dialogue, but that might be their attempt to stay within the confines of the heroic fantasy genre, where a lot of people expect dialogue to be stilted and contain archaic words or turns of phrase. The voice acting, apart from Hollywood actors Bethesda hires for bit roles, is solid but unremarkable.

    In the absence of interesting NPCs, I find myself having a hard time giving a crap about the world or any threats to it. Why should I care what happens to the world when NPCs and even recruitable don't feel like people I can relate to. Would it kill them to try and make the companions in TES at least remotely interesting or give the sense that these are individuals and not just copy and pasted templates?

    I think I'm going to take a pass on whatever banal new land Bethesda wants us to fart around in next time they make an Elder Scrolls game. P.S. I really wish Bethesda would let Obsidian do all their Fallout games. Obsidian do a better job and Bethsoft could focus more time and effort on IPs they actually seem to care the most about. Bethesda collects royalties, Obsidian makes better games, fans are happy, everybody wins!!
    Expand
  55. Sep 27, 2013
    0
    Dragons Dogma Dark Arizen is way better. You can customize 4 characters in your party and the boss battles are amazing. Scrolls is even in the same league. The combat is so slow and benign. Dogma has a style similar to Dragon Age but enhanced in every aspect. Dogma is $40 new a steal with the bitter black island content that challenges even the hardcore rpg players.
  56. Sep 23, 2013
    6
    Before I get bombarded by fanboys, I need to make it clear that, unlike many of these reviews, I have had 2 years to formulate this review, of which I have spent a lot of time debating with myself how good this game is. I hope you will take that into consideration before reading this review.

    Overall I think Skyrim is a good game and an enjoyable experience for a period of time. However,
    I think the game has a lot of shortcomings. I'll try to highlight both the pros and cons.

    First things first, this isn't a Role Playing Game in the true sense of the phrase. A lack of solid class system means people can be the spellsword/tank/thief jack of all trades (and master of all, to boot). While this isn't a necessarily bad thing for a game, allowing flexibility in character development, it seems to take the 'role playing' out of the equation and leaving in the action, perhaps "dumbing down" this aspect predominant in the series.

    Keeping in the vein of mechanics, the quest system is boring and holds your hand. A pointer takes you directly where to go, kissing goodbye the investigative nature of Morrowind. It's a shame, since Morrowind (and even Oblivion, to an extent) was so strong due to this. Again, dumbing down is present. In terms of narrative, the quests in the basegame, bar a few exceptions, are mindless, unimaginative and tedious. The Daedric Quests are the only ones with any real depth to them, and the main storyline is more or less trash.

    The strengths of Skyrim lie in the well-overdue overhaul of Bethesda's game engine. The gamebryo engine, which seriously restricted Oblivion and Fallout 3, has been exchanged for the Creation Engine, which does Skyrim justice more can be done in terms of animation and design making Skyrim more immersive. However, the promises to improve combat in Skyrim seems superficial the only real additions to melee combat were dual-wielding and some (seriously artifacted) finishing moves, but otherwise the combat is as immersion-breaking as in Oblivion. However, the magic system is considerably improved in terms of mechanics, while the range of spells is disappointing. Archery (or marksmanship or whatever) is the true beneficiary of Skyrim, as the bows feel more weighty and is much more rewarding, so credit is due there. The stealth mechanics haven't improved noticeably since Oblivion, but it is serviceable and enjoyable enough. Overall, I'd give the general mechanics around 7/10, with some disappointments and steps back from Oblivion in places, with the interface feeling pretty clunky both on Xbox 360 and on PC.

    The graphics are where this title really saddens me. Even when the game came out, I thought it looked HIDEOUS. While there was some really nice shading and decent landscaping, the artstyle is drab. The huge colour palette of Oblivion is replaced for grey, white, black and more grey in the lands of Skyrim. While I appreciate that it fits the cold, northern setting of Skyrim, it feels as though the (clear) graphical improvements that Bethesda have made is wasted somewhat. Furthermore, the NPCs look downright creepy, with dead eyes that made me think of Polar Express some real uncanny valley stuff right there (look it up).

    My final point regards how many hours I put into the game before putting it down. I finished all of the main questlines and ALL of the considerable side quests in about 30 hours of play, over 2 characters. While there was initial wanderlust as I explored, the enjoyment trickled away over time until most of the game became a drag due to the aforementioned problems. If the game offered you more, then good for you! Nevertheless, 30 hours is a considerably quantity (while not compared to hundreds of hours spent in Oblivion and Fallout 3), but the quality wasn't entirely sound. While moments were truly epic (the first dragon appearance, for example), these were diamonds in the rough, with memorable parts too few and far between. This is disappointing in contrast to the myriad of other Bethesda titles, and while I have returned to Skyrim periodically since my initial playthrough(s), the visits were short and uninspired.

    Overall, I give this game a 6/10. It's better than average in most places, however there was potential for so much more. The combat was mostly unimproved, the quests were awful (both in mechanics and narrative) and the aesthetic was drab and poorly used. However, Skyrim has its merits in terms of its engine, and for this reason I do respect it somewhat.
    Expand
  57. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    Bethesda has managed to create what only few games are able to do, Skyrim provides the player with a huge and interesting gaming world but also have fun and entertaining game mechanics with equally nice graphics. Elder Scrolls 5 is by far one of the best games on the current generation systems
  58. Aug 30, 2013
    0
    So, I purchased this game after getting bored of Fallout: New Vegas (~50 hours played). I was expecting it to be really good because of the positive reviews, and tons of people I know telling me it was good. So, long story short, this is one of the worst RPG's I've played. I totally wasted $60 by purchasing this game. By the time I was ~8 hours in I was literally bored out of my mind. I forced myself to play it though so I didn't feel like I wasted $60, and I was hoping it would get better; it didn't. after 12 more hours of forced play time I couldn't take it anymore. My favorite genre to play is an RPG, this didn't feel like an RPG at all. Pretty much ZERO equipment upgrades, no super cool weapons that do crazy no cool armor, exploring got tedious and questing bored me after the first few I completed. I literally have nothing good to say about this game and I'm not sure what other people see in this game to rate it so high. To each his own, but I definitely feel like I wasted my money on this. Expand
  59. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    What to say about a game,is this really a game,is it fiction,is it reality?Is it a dream,let me tell you without trying so hard not to go over the top.Perfection.Will you put this game in your console 10 years from now?Without a doubt I would put this game in my console for 20+ years if the good lord lets me.This game is deserving of a perfect 10 out of any other games I have ever played and I have played them all from donkey Kong on the Atari,when I was a kid waiting in line,to playing Dragon's Lair at the arcade to Halo, to this,ect...This is a gamer's dream come true and truth be said my favorite game, up to the point, was Mass effect 2 and I thought I would be at least saying that for the next decade.There are game companies with so much talent and innovation and there getting better and better but no one can touch Bethesda with a mile long stick.Not even the much loved Bioware,EA and Rockstar.Play this,live this, enjoy this, an epic masterpiece has entered the horizon my fellow ladies and gentlemen.We are not perfect as people,the world is not perfect but this really is. Expand
  60. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Fun, addictive, basically electronic crack. Get some Depends so you don't have to get up to go to the bathroom. Careful you don't get couch sores; remember to flip every few hours.
  61. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    I had never played Oblivion like most of my friends, however Skyrim is by far the most incredibly addicting and phenomenal game that i've ever been encouraged to try. It reminds me of the good ol Runescape days except the action is there and a brilliant level up system that gives endless customization. Not to mention the seemingly endless adventures and treasures around every corner. GAME OF THE YEAR HANDS DOWN Expand
  62. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    Skyrim rocks. If you want a single-player 'team' game, where the storyline is tighter and supporting cast are memorable and develop over time, this will be less fulfilling than the Mass Effect, Dragon Age, or Grand Theft Auto sandpit-type rpg's. But if you want the ultimate in lone-wolf hero RPG freedom, like to explore and/or craft, or just want a ridiculous variety of gameplay options for the price of one, this is it. The storyline is more coherent to the casually-interested than the last few games, but the best memories you'll get from this iteration are still the ones that emerge almost randomly and unexpectedly, when you take a detour from a detour and just let the world take you wherever it's going to take you. Expand
  63. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    How can some of the negative reviews say the graphics are barely better than Oblivion? This game has the best graphics of the year. The bugs aren't nearly as bad as other people are saying, and the combat has been much improved. Their are actually stats in your skills, and I really don't mind the loss of classes and attributes. It actually makes it more like an RPG, since the Role(R) you're playing (P) in the game (G) completely shapes the way your character progresses. There are lots of weapons and quests, dungeons are incredibly varied and unique. Dragons are a blast to fight, and so are most of the other enemies. 10/10 for sure, one of the greatest games ever made, EVER. Expand
  64. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    One of the best single player games I have ever played. I wasn't expecting much and was blown away. My only disappointment is that it will sometime end.
  65. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    If you're a novice, this game will be too big and too punishing. It doesn't hold your hand. But if you know what you're doing, it's a joy. Beautiful game.
  66. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is the most amazing game I have ever played. Ever. There is such an overwhelming amount of content in this one disc, an amount that has yet to be duplicated on a game with four discs! The landscape is insanely diverse and beautiful. Girlfriend, say goodbye ;)
  67. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    It's worth every penny thst you should spend on it and every hour youu should put it into beating the game. There are no words in existence to describe how much fun Skyrim is so; orgasmazing.
  68. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    A significant improvement over Oblivion's non-responsive melee combat and the "stroke victim" expressions on all of the characters. The wild world is a treat to wander about--stepping off of the main road and poking around in hidden glades and snowy crags and the unexpected surprises that come with off-roading it. Character advancement is engrossing and always filled with tough choices regarding which talents to bump up - so much so that it begs for multiple plays with totally different character builds. A few bugs and glitches are evident and the game occasionally "cheats" (such as making some NPCs unkillable no matter how well you beat them down) but I can overlook that stuff in such a vast, densely packed game. Expand
  69. Nov 24, 2011
    7
    Skyrim is a great game, but suffers from glaring flaws. Ai is not the greatest and the game is full of glitches and bugs. The majority of these bugs are more humorous than problematic, but a few are going to cost you a lot of play of time and they occur more than anyone would like. Another issue is the lack of a strong central story. I sunk hours into this game and nothing about the "main" quest really made me think that it was of more importance than the numerous large side quests available. The gameplay is great and the graphics are gorgeous for an rpg of this size, but a weak story and numerous bugs dull the experience. Expand
  70. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Simply an amazing game. Skyrim is clearly not for everybody. If you don't have a lot of time for games, this is not a great choice. This game takes time and patience to get good. If you're a gamer who is expecting fast and easy mindless fun, go play Call of Duty, because this game will not please you either. But if you're looking for a truly immersive game, full of choices and a huge open world for exploration you'll love this game. Expand
  71. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    Its good, but its not as good as Oblivion or Fallout 3. There is a sense of streamlining (aka dumbing down) that is a bit disappointing after playing Beth's older games. No item degradation, uninspired clunky menus, inclusion of health regen makes healing items less useful etc. The FPV combat is better but its not as visceral and strategic as that seen in Dead Island, also with still not many weapon types to choose from it can get a bit repetitive. The removal of stats and some skills makes the game feel much less like an RPG than it used to. Kinda feels like what BioWare have done to their RPG's, in that they turned them into dumb action games for the masses. Much of the nuance is missing which means the game is less fulfilling to gamers who grew up playing these games. The game is good though, and it looks a lot prettier than Oblivion. The archery is a lot better, and the TP anims look great. The new setting and dragons are really cool. But overall its a bit less awesome than previous Beth games imo. Expand
  72. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I feel sorry for those who somehow manage not to enjoy this game. Maybe Zelda on the wii is more your speed? It's good that we have a choice, don't you think?
  73. EJA
    Jul 29, 2013
    7
    I wanna give this a 9 or a 10 but the loading times get RIDICULOUS after playing for a while. I mean they just get longer and longer. And this game has tons of places where it needs to load so there might be 100 plus hours of gameplay but you will spend 100 plus hours in loading screens.

    What a shame because the scope of the game is huge. It is a tad shallow in terms of character
    development but exploration is the name of the game here. The visuals vary, the dungeons are individually unique, and the terrain is grandiose.

    It's in the same vein as Oblivion and Morrowind so if you like those you will love this. Morrowind is still the best but this is way better than Oblivion.
    Expand
  74. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    The graphics are like the beard of Chuck Norris, The story is like the story of Chuck Norris' third fist inside his beard, and the game play is viscous enough to round-house kick you to Pluto and back.
  75. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This game, in my personal opinion, is the best single player experience you will have on this generation of consoles. It blows oblivion completely out of the water. No, its not perfect, but it is as close to perfect a game of this scope can be and for that I give it a 10 for the best RPG game ever made. The End.
  76. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    As a gigantic fan of Oblivion, I didn't think it was possible for a game to get any bigger, more detailed, and more immersive; Skyrim proved me wrong. The graphics are awesome, the fights are thrilling, the quests are interesting and fun and the dragons: Genius. This is about as close to a perfect game that will be made, and most definitely one of the best of all time. A masterpiece on every level. Expand
  77. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Skyrim is a difficult game to review, largely because your level of enjoyment will depend on what time of gamer you are. The game provides you with an enormous feature set and plenty of toys to play with in an impressive sandbox of a world. But if you don't have the time, patience, or interest to seek those things out, the game is never going to spoon-feed you reasons to keep playing. Also, there's rarely any sense of actual accomplishment, as the combat and questing rely more on diligence than actual challenge, and enemy mobs are surprisingly sparse. If you just like exploring and building your character, though, there is quite a bit of optional content that will keep you distracted for 100+ hours, but all that content will feel like filler for less adventurous players. The weather system, day-night cycle, enhanced social interaction, and housing are among my favorite parts of the game, and they go far in adding a sense of immersion. Practically everything is improved over Oblivion, and many of the most annoying aspects of that predecessor have been changed or entirely removed. Technical issues still abound, such as arrows getting stuck in your character and never disappearing like they're supposed to, horses and other animals getting launched into the air randomly, and corpses twitching eratically, but none of these are prevalent enough to kill the overall experience. My biggest gripe is actually against the combat, which is inexcusably loose and lacks any real innovation over previous Elder Scrolls titles, and it's fortunate that the enemies aren't any tougher than they are since you'll probably have a hard time landing a hit in close quarters. Overall, I have really enjoyed my time with Skyrim in spite of its drawbacks, and I'm sure that most role-playing fans will feel the same way. Just make sure that you have some time to devote to it before making the purchase. Expand
  78. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    They took what was good about the first game and made it a little better. They aren't the improvements by leaps and bounds over the predecessor however they are pretty decent. The only draw back that I see thus far is the menu. Normally you hit the O button to back out of a sub menu this time you are completely taken out. That takes a little getting used too. Not being able to wield a weapon at the same time you are using magic actually really sucks. I mean SUCKS!!!! The gameplay is nice and fluid. The character interactions are decent, and true to Bethesda history. They took enough out of character building just to keep in interesting for diehards and newbies alike. But seriously the magic thing really is a bust. Simply put I hate that aspect of the game. Expand
  79. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    With the overabundance of linear games on the market, Skyrim is a treat for anyone looking for a title with open adventuring and exploration.

    For the amount of content in this game, the value is simply unmatched by any other game out there. Bethesda is showing other companies how to treat a consumer right. No day 1 DLC content, few bugs, great production value and a downright fun game!


    This game is huge and the improvements over Oblivion are great. Improved graphics, better voice overs, better AI, faster loading, quicker and improved UI, every dungeon feels different... the list goes on and on.
    Expand
  80. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I hadn't heard of Elder Scrolls until my friend told me of Skyrims recent release. I tried it, and I must say it is the best RPG experience I've had. A few downsides: 1. Combat system could've been more intense and advanced. Skyrim is far ahead of Dragon Age, but the DA 2 combat system might be a good inspiration for Bethesda on how to make combat more intense and smooth, of cause WITHOUT the "targeting" aspect. Combat is perhaps a little too dull and glitchy in some cases.

    2. Generally there are way too many world glitches, mainly NPCâ
    Expand
  81. Nov 21, 2011
    7
    Although the game is growing on me, I must say that for something from such an established production company like Besthesda it sure does have its detractions. As has been said countless times already, the textures are stunningly low quality, the combat mechanics are dull, and the menu system is annoying at best. If the time put forth here had been put into Fallout 4 instead, that game would be life-changing. Instead, we get this. Expand
  82. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I am giving this game a 10 for various reasons. 1 reason is we have haters on here that give this game a 0! I am sorry, no game deserves a ZERO!! The crappiest games should get a 1 or a 2. A zero would mean that it didnt have ANYTHING GOOD ABOUT IT which is not true. 1. The music IS COMPLETELY EPIC. If any of you liked lord of the rings music then you would LOVE the music being played. Out of the last 2 games, the music is GREAT. The music is what you would expect from a Grade A fantasy movie. The graphics are BEAUTIFUL. Even on the xbox 360 it still stands out. Now, some complain about graphic textures from far away. Let me tell you that the xbox is a 6 year old console. The developers can only improve so much before system limitations get in the way. What gaming rig can actually produce awesome draw distances and cystal clear textures from a far way distance. FEW! That is why it is pointless for the developers to put all this effort in to deter texture distances. Just wait until the next series comes out to where its on a next gen console and latest hardware....you wont have anything to complain about then...but on current hardware, its maxes any machine out. Wait until the next gen ...you will see superior and close to perfection draw distances/distant textures but for right now your machines wont handle it. The world IS HUGE!! There are so many places to explore, side quests and main quests to complete. Some people complain about how big the world is. God, that is the point of a game like this...to be able to get LOST in it and discover something new. Afterall, its an ACTION RPG ADVENTURE!! part of the adventure is exploring and discovering....morons. OF course, you can get a map or game guide and it will help ease any confusion. To me, I suggest not using the game guide or map that much. Just explore and enjoy yourself...the reward is finding and completing quests without any help. The NPCs and enemies look awesome...they are as detailed as you can get on a console or pc of this generation. Character creations is pretty detailed and I have not seen any other open world game to beat it. I made my character look like me or at least resemble me. The UI is good and some say its like fallout. Fine, but how many other fan boy games did you buy that kept the same UI? Stupid thing to complain about! You can zoom into your items and assign spells, weapons, potions and etc to your favorites. Working a job like chopping wood and etc is cool. Fable did the same thing and got praise for it. Cooking food, potion crafting, and smithing is pretty neat as well. Although, previous ES series have done this, they added a little more umph to it. A new feature is mining which is what RISEN did. Essentially, they took fables jobs, house, marriage and Risens style of crafting and put it together. VERY GOOD MIX. Combat has improved, one thing to note about Two worlds 2 is the combat animations. Skyrim has mimic this effect from fallout TW2. With ES, it doesnt happen every single time like it does with fallout and TW2. This leaves the effects enjoyable as you don't SEE THEM ALL THE TIME. Dragon fights are riveting. Combat is VERY enjoyable! its a hack and slash with spells. If you like turn based RPGs...then stay away from Skyrim. The various guilds you can join is still impressive as it was in the previous games. Being a thief, assassin, mage, a fighter, and etc puts all the favorite game styles together so ANYONE can enjoy at LEAST one aspect of the game. I could write a WHOLE book on this game but I wont. music-9.7
    graphics-9.5
    gameplay-10
    UI-9.1
    combat-9.0
    content-10
    game is truely worthy of a 95%. I am giving it 10 because of the losers giving it a complete 0
    Expand
  83. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    I feel like I'm getting my money's worth. In today's market more and more big publishers are giving us less for more, this is not the case with Skyrim. From an Elder Scrolls veteran player's point of view this game has improved it's fluidity of movement, I no longer feel like a camera. Battle feels a lot like Fallout 3 or Vegas without Vats (Vault-Tec Assisted Targeting System). A npc buddy system has been added. Crafting has been improved. Graphics have been improved. Map size has remained the same but the world content has increased at least two fold. There's no exclusive content to miss out on if you purchase this at any particular merchant. I don't feel obligated to wait for a game of the year edition as there is no content that has been obviously and intentionally left out of this game. Expand
  84. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Skyrim may not be a quantum leap forward for Bethesda, but they've mastered their own unique open world rpg formula and this game delivers the best experience yet. The number of locations and variety of interesting things to do in them is truly staggering. Every few minutes you'll find yourself enjoying a new epic vista, each more amazing than the last. It isn't perfect; the hand-to-hand combat still feels a bit unresponsive and the AI pathfinding is still easy to exploit, but these are miniscule issues in the face of how much fun this title is. Now if you'll excuse me, I've got some trolls to torch, bandits to decapitate, and... volumes on Dwemer history to read. Expand
  85. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    OK! What can i say about this masterpiece that Bethesda has given us that already has not been said. Well from my perspective the game isn't perfect, (and no game ever will be just like people) but it absolutely NOT matched, but exceeded my expectations! And that folks is a VERY rare thing indeed! Albeit said that i have seen a couple of minor glitches, one example is where i killed two bandits only to come back a couple hours later to find the gear i left on the ground levitating about 3 to 4 feet in the air, HEHE! But hey in a game this massive that's chicken sh!t, This game is absolutely amazing! I am now about 40 or more hours into it and i will absolutely say with confidence that this is the most amazing "GAME" not RPG but game ever made period. If you are a gamer you MUST own this game, and newcomers be patient this game is in no rush so either should you be, believe me the rewards will start flowing from the game before you know it. God bless the true artistic gifts we receive from time to time in this life, AMAZING! Expand
  86. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Any game that can make you want to be a master blacksmith deserves a ten. The hours I have lost on this! There are glitches in the game but they make it funny to find them in summary another classic Elder Scrolls game.
  87. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    I want to start this review by taking you back to Oblivion. I played the game on the Xbox 360 and was amazed, stunned, overwhelmed by how deep the game was, by the way that the game world evolved around the player, and how i could be sucked in, just walking around a settlement, watching people live their day to day lives. This was by far the greatest RPG that i had seen or played. The operative word in that sentence being 'was'. Skyrim. The new name on everybody's lips. After Bethesda's last 3 RPG games were solid gold, Skyrim carried great promise. Has it lived up to this promise? Oh yes. Without a shadow of a doubt. The depth of gameplay i experienced in oblivion was back, with a vengeance. The ability to mine precious metals, chop wood, craft weapons, its all there. It all adds to the depth of the world. Spending days working, then going back to your home which you bought, to your wife whom you married, and cooking a meal with the ingredients you harvested. But enough of that. The main quest is comprised of some nice battles against dragons, and the usual Travel to A and clear it of enemies before returning to B with an artifact. This is one of my only criticisms of the game. It would be nice to see some more variety, but this hardly affects the score, because the way that they are presented, and the will the player has to level up are easily enough to make you want to check out every inch of a cavern, to find more loot, and to fight more enemies. The perk system is a little different to fallout, where you have different areas to gain perks in, and they are more progressive than Fallout's, which seem somewhat removed at times, but they feel natural to the progression of the character. So its all good so far for the folks at Bethesda, but the negatives to the game. Yes there are a few, but they are more along the lines of fly in the ointment, rather than worm in the apple. Primarily, the frame rate has some serious issues at times, dropping to a painfully low level where the camera jerks around, and all there is to do is swing your sword blindly or cast a spell in any direction and hope you kill whats in front of you. Secondly, you can enchant items, and create potions, but you cant create your own spells like you could in oblivion, which gave the feel of real purpose to leveling up your magic abilities. I was gutted to find out that. No spell to open any door can be crafted, no charm of invisibility, they must all be found or learned in the game. But despite these minor errors which sadly take the game down to merely being excellent instead of perfect are not nearly enough to stop any gamer who likes RPGs and has half a brain buying it. Is AWSOME! Expand
  88. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Saw LivebytheSword's review and had to give this game a 10 to balance out the bad reviews. Who happens to hate video games and I guess life and doesn't get how the user review system works.
  89. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Just too epic for its own good. Easily, hands down GOTY and then some. Even the score gets in your brain. Wow. Bethesda I was starting to doubt with a so-so New Vegas IMHO. Skyrim just does everything right - well maybe a rare crazy-overpowered Dramora throwing fireballs at me. Other than that, WOW. Okay enough time posting this review. Back to Skyrim. Totally addicted. You will be too. You'll see. Expand
  90. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    Well I am now 120 hours in level 40 and still dont feel I scratched the surface this game is amazing and fully deserves the GOTY award it got. Yes some bugs are there. Followers can get stuck, weapons can remain hovering, but after all this time these are the only issues I found and on a game this massive in size and scope its inevitable. Anyway I think im about halfway through the main quest and College, im yet to start the companions, thieves guild, dark brotherhood or the civil war line!! The soundtack, landscapes, environments and interactions are amazing. Im going to be playing this for months, if not years and I know it has already become one my favourite games of all time. Expand
  91. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    One of the best games i´ve played, a true masterpiece of everything from gameplay to music also the universe is just spectacular, and the dragon fights are incredible finally the elder scrolls get a decent boss fight, totally recommended and an important candidate to GOTY.
  92. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game. I love the audio score here. It has that sort of viking-ish "classic thunder" when you're in battle, or level up, or find a word of power, great great stuff there. My only gripe is that is does have a few very small bugs from time to time (i.e. NPC's holding invisible cups, people sitting on thin air instead of the chair that's about 2 feet away, etc), but considering how buggy and glitchy that previous Bethesda/Gamebryo Engine games have been (more specifically Fallout New Vegas), that's a minor flaw in an otherwise perfectly cut diamond of a game. Expand
  93. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Wow! This is really what I was hoping for. Great game. Excellent story with interesting characters. A significant improvement over Oblivion. You can also see that it pays off to not fall into a yearly schedule like Dragon Age.
  94. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    This is easily one of the greatest RPGs I have ever played. The fantasy world is so convincing and immersive that minutes in real life turn into hours it seems. The story, play-control, music, trade-skills, and NPC interaction are all well done. This now sets the bar for what I now expect when I pay $50-60 for a game. I have put enough hours into it to already beat most games twice by now, yet I have barely begun to scratch the surface.

    10/10
    Expand
  95. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    I already spend 20+ hours in this fantastic world an i am amazed! The world feels real, its simply the best RPG i ever played. Hopefully the little Bugs here and there will get fixed soon, but even WITH those Bugs, the Game is simply wonderful!
  96. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    What a masterpiece! Skyrim has far surpassed my expectations and is one of my favorite games ever created. The main story is fun and interesting. There is also a great sense of scale and content in skyrim. Everywhere you look there is an interesting side quest or dungeon to explore. Oh and can i mention the random sidequests are actually really fun and interesting? Also all of the Factions are full of quality as well. Like the Thieves guild and Dark brotherhood two of my favorites! The soundtrack is beautiful as well i was so happy to hear the morrowind theme in Skyrim! Plus the whole game is around 300+ hours of quality. Bethesda has outdone themselves! Expand
  97. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    An amazing game, I played and loved it, true masterpiece, my only concern is how time consuming it is, from walking up 7000 steps, etc. Sometimes you just feel socially incapacitated :P
    but a awesome game!.
  98. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    I've been waiting for skyrim for about a year now, and so far it's an amazing game, theres great dungeon design, great combat mechanics, cool magic effects and weapons and lots of enemies and items to use and find. I also like the enhanced graphics and engine and increased interactivity. The increase in voice actors is also another great thing. But one thing that pisses me off, is that the balancing consistency is **** retarded. I was level 7, and i just finished the mission where me and some other guards kill a dragon, it doesn't take that long, one of two of them die, no big deal, it was rather easy. Ok, now fast forward fifteen minutes and guess what, i run into a dragon randomly, but this time, I DIE IN UNDER A **** MINUTE... It baffles me. Apart from that and a few glitches i found, it's a great game, it's atmosphere and combat is certainly the best in the series. Expand
  99. Nov 27, 2011
    5
    Well, I'm enjoying it but shocked at the low resolution, it really looks dated and detracts from the emersion. After Oblivion I was expecting a step up on the graphics but its pretty similar. Should have waited for Borderlands two, the original has far better textuals than this venture.
  100. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Take Oblivion, make it way more pretty, improve the writing/sound/voice-acting, speed up menus and reduce chugginess, make combat more fun, and better the already amazing AI at the cost of some hotkey options and you have Skyrim.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.