User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3108 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Skyrim is all my wildest dreams come true. I didn't play too much of Oblivion (or any other Elder Scrolls games) to know exactly how it worked as far as game play is concerned, but the fact I can shoot fire out of my left hand and use an iron mace in my right hand, fighting bandits, creatures, and even dragons, is something that gets me excited. As only having the 360 to play it on, I am probably a little cheated on how great the scenery could be, but it is amazing, coming from the bleak, barren landscapes of Fallout 3 and New Vegas. The story is pretty good, although I thought the beginning was a little predictable, the dragon coming a the exact moment you were to be executed, but the escape sequence was pretty cool. The choice of classes is great, something Fallout doesn't provide, so there is a more specialized pattern of abilities and traits that I am capable of obtaining, and it gives me reason to go back and play this game again after I beat it, as another class. All in all, a very solid game. Although I am only about 5 hours into it, I can say this is one of the best open-world RPG games I have played in a while, and definitely a much needed break from the Fallout series. Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    love this game apart from ,ive unlock 4 words for my shout, 2 are working fine but the onther 2 are not ,as ive kiled 7 more dragons and the shouts are not working
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    A simply amazing realization of living inside an unfolding book.--except that t here is no one linear story unless you choose to follow it. I have been exploring the world for two days and have barely scratched the surface. Kudos to all the people involved at Bethesda Softworks!
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest games I have ever played. Definatly worth noting that this game will Take up so much of your time because its just so addicting. The Elder Scrolls Have done it once again and released an amazing game. Bravo
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    An amazing improvement to Oblivion. Not only did Bethesda use an improved graphics engine, but they have fixed most of the issues we´ve had with the past instalment. The story is great from start to finish, and will last you a decent ammount time. The side quests are enjoyable and actually worth doing this time around. Leveling up your char has also been improved with the new perk sistem similar to fallout 3. Interaction with npc´s is now more fluid due to the fact that you have full control over the camera, unlike previous Bethesda games where the camera would aim directly at the npc and no movment was possible. New entries such as dual casting are a very welcome addition to the Elder Scrolls games. The music is beautiful, as in all Bethesda games. And the scenery and the world of Skyrim is simply magnificent. Over all, there are at least 100-200 hours of entertaining gameplay.

    But, unfortunetly, this game has its flaws. Yes, some of the bugs have been corrected, but not all.
    Theres texture popping all the time, some frame rate issues, and the deaths are glitchy as hell. Also, the meele combat still feels a bit to "floaty" for my liking, seeing as there is no recoil after hitting an enemy and it felt as though I was swinging through air. Also, i found several problems with the camera from time to time, especially in closed inviroments. I also found several glitches in the open fields, while going up the mountains especialy. But, all in all, this is a fantastic game and its a ride worth taking. In my humble opinion, the best Bethesda game yet.
    Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Después de todo lo que se ha dicho sobre este juego no puedo añadir nada nuevo, solo cabe mencionar que es el mejor juego de esta generación de largo. Su mundo esta vivo y te hace vivir lo a cada paso, su ambientación y visualización no las he visto en ningún juego aun. Ha merecido la pena su larga espera. Un diez que se lleva esta obra maestra. Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    The world of Skyrim is amazing, probably the most beautiful game I've seen so far. I don't know how many polygons my character has but it's a hell of a lot, because I can't yet make out any of them. The graphics and design are top notch. The atmosphere is awesome, mammoths and mountains and old villages and such, it all just feels real. The gameplay is great, it's pretty much impossible to get bored, you can stray from the main quest and go do something interesting at any time. A large part of your time is spent managing items and this is actually fun. You can kill anyone, or go anywhere even if it ruins a quest. It's up to you to be careful and I like that freedom, there aren't many games that feel this open. A couple of small things I don't like are that you can't jump onto an object when you are right up against it, this unnecessarily slows me down when I'm climbing around. Also, the fighting is clunky.. it's well balanced in terms of your levelling and the capabilities of who you fight, but when you're up close using melee it's not very realistic. Finally (and this is what loses it points for me...the other two issues are only minor gripes), in order to make you feel like you are the character, your character is pretty much non-descript. You can indeed get to choose different paths for them, making them a thief, a warrior, a good guy or a bad guy, but it's not what I want. I guess the theory is the less you are told about them the more you can imagine your own personality inside them. Many games have taken this approach and it never really works for me. In addition the NPCs are not really that likeable, because what they do and say is always geared towards what you are going to get out of them, rather than how the story will develop around them and how your character feels about them. So you approach people trying to pick an answer that will get you something, rather than how you as a person would actually respond. An excellent game like this deserves excellent character development and it just isn't there. If something like Final Fantasy 7 gets a 10 from me, this has to get a 8. A huge portion of what I love in an rpg is missing; as much fun as this is, I'm not emotionally involved. Everything else about it is near to perfection. Expand
  8. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Yes, yes, yes.
    GET THIS GAME! Where do i start. The new engine looks amazing in action, there is an endless (literally) amount of content.
    (Once again i stress ENDLESS) and its going to F**** UP YOUR LIFE!
    You play as a Dragonborn who can perform "Shouts". You start of about to be excecuted before *Not going to spoil*. After that your thrust into a world with infinite possiblities. Murder
    everyone? Go help village people?

    To steal from elras, It's a fantastic virtual experience, deep history, superb gameplay, beautiful graphics, majestic music, in short, an incredible journey for all people who love video games. Its exactly that. Go do your PC, Xbox or PS3 proud and GET THIS GAME! Even if your not into this sort of stuff, it just may convert you.
    Expand
  9. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    When I first saw the trailer for this game, I literally cried from joy while trying to poker face my way through work. Through the coming months, would literally have to be the most anticipation-filled months in my entire life. I had never been so excited for a game. Everything seemed so perfect. The midnight launch arrived nine months later and I have never looked back with such a huge grin on my face. This game meets all the hype, and so much more. I have yet to go a day without putting at least two hours in to this beautiful masterpiece of a game. Bethesda has done it once again and will be a forerunner in modern day RPGs for many years to come. The gameplay is solid and genuinely satisfying. I caught myself at times, literally exclaiming "whoa!" and "wow!" at the sheer beauty of it. There is no feeling more awe-inducing than when you hear a dragon roar in the distance, then whoosh overhead from behind a distant mountain and realize you're about to fight it. The quests are plenty, and ever-so lengthy and unique. The side quests also have lots of hours to commit to them, as they are designed just as seriously as the main ones are. This game has stunning visuals, scale, and sound. Absolute game of the year in my book! Expand
  10. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I'm 24 hours into the game and so far it absolutely blown me away. I can easily see me beating the 120 odd hours i put into Oblivion. I've come across a few graphically glitches and been stuck in the middle of a mountain once but in a world this sized its excusable.
  11. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The history and lore in this game is like no other, dragons make you poop your pants, Combat is very tense and exciting, dungeons have a human touch to them, graphics are eye candy, and the quests and amount of content is insane. I enjoy the bugs and glitches and i frequently laugh at silly things like placing a bucket on the head of a npc so that they don't see you steal there stuff in front of there face or being sent a mile in the air from a giant. Expand
  12. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    To say Skyrim is a massive game would be an understatement. I have put around 50 hours into this fantastic piece of work and I feel i have only scratched the surface of this wonderfully crafted world. Bethesda was able to take the best components of Oblivion and Fallout 3 and combine them into one while leaving most(but not all) annoyances at the door. The visuals are outstanding, the amount of content can feel overwhelming at times but in a good way, the combat is much impoved over Oblivions clunky swinging at air style. Magic spells also perform much better, you can be shooting an enemy with flames from one hand while attacking them with your sword from the other at the same time. Any combination of two you can think of is possible and the favorites menu lets you swap fighting styles with ease any time you want. Skyrim isnt without flaws though the load times are often and sometimes long and enemies may float in the air from time to time but these minor bugs dont bring the game down enough to matter. If your looking for a game to occupy your time for the next say 100's of hours? Skyrim is your pick, distinguishing Skyrims world from your own may become a problem, but dont say i didnt warn you. Expand
  13. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This truly is a great game,but you have to look past some flaws. the game suffers from long load times, very long in some cases. Animations are great, when they work, they often get spoiled by some bad AI( which thankfully does not translate to bad enemy AI, but it also needs some fine tuning). Auto saving becomes an issue when it doesn't save enough and if you die you are sent back to the beginning of a 5-10 minute trip. Textures aren't high quality when close up by any means. render distances get annoying when in an open area and being able to see grass "grow" ahead of you. Also some small issues, like mammoths flying in the air, and 3rd person issues (like usual). But don't let those deter you from this amazing game with very fun gameplay. The combat is very nice and actually provides excitement when fighting a dragon or boss and gives you a sense of accomplishment when you have won. The death animations the play are very nice and gruesome, though they often "break". The game, while frustrating, manages to be very rewarding. Somehow even after dying 2 times on an already 10 minute trip, once you reach your destination, the game still manages to feel rewarding. The plot, while at time generic, can add a fun "backbone" to the game. The music is beautifully compose and works well with the mood of the story. The RPG element takes a que from some complaints of Oblivion and offers a very dynamic experience. Every weapon/armor/ability/etc. you use will level up independently, once enough of those levels are reached then you level up giving you the choice to increase your magica/health/stamina. Also with every level up you unlock more points to spend on your "skill trees/constellation" these are specific to individual abilities and give you various advantages. This is a very simple mechanic and makes it so you don't have to spend hours buried in menus. Overall this game gets a 9 because its cons add up to a sometimes frustrating, but very fun experience. Expand
  14. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    In one word: superb:)
    Yes, the game has it's bugs, glitches and somewhat low resolution textures (xbox360)... after my game started I was bitterly disappointed with graphics, until the gaming actually started:) and suddenly they didn't matter anymore:)
    If sandbox, rpg, free-rein games are your cup of tea, if you dream about killing dragons, swinging massive 2handers or burning your
    enemies with flames, lightning or ice this IS game you were waiting for...
    Amazing
    Expand
  15. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    absolutely amazing..the game is massive in size , i spent a week not following the story line and doing my own thing an still not reached the edges of the world .. when i go up the snowy mountains i actually feel cold lol
  16. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    A true masterpiece. The absolute pinnacle of gaming, allowing unparalleled freedom, amazing storytelling, and fantastic game play. All games should strive to be this immersive.
  17. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    My first dip into the elder scrolls world. Love bethesdas fallout so i thought id have a go. Took a little while to get into but it's engaging, ambitious and good fun to play.
    Plus points: nice graphics, fun gameplay with tons of things to learn, immersive and mind-bogglingly huge with so much to do.
    Negative points: maybe I'm stupid but I haven't figured out enchanting weapons and other
    little intricacies even after 20 hours of playing- with no instructions the game talks about this skill but gives no explanation on how to do it. I know it's "immersive" and full of back story, but it's also complicated with lots of names- I forget who I'm doing what for and why, which makes it less personal. And the damn menu seems to get unresponsive mid battle causing you to die cos for some reason it won't let you select other spells/ weapons.

    But all in a great game to invest your time in and is spectacular in scope but for some reason I prefer fallout- but I have no idea why!
    Expand
  18. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim will have you hacking away the hours of your day with a sleek, brilliantly designed blade crafted in the legendary forge that is the Bethesda studio. As with the previous instalments of the Elder Scrolls series, Skyrim exceeds all expectations and never ceases to amaze with itâ
  19. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    This game is very hard to review, because if i were to review it part by part instead of as a whole i think i would get a bad review. Its a game with tons of glitches but if you can look passed them you will find a masterpiece of a game. I have played it like 30 hrs and have done absolutely nothing other than explore lol. This game also has some of the best music iv hard in a video game , and it aint hard on the eyes either . Fighting up close is improved but it still feels weird but this game is more about exploration. Its not perfect but do yourselves a favor and give a shot, you wont be disappointed Expand
  20. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best games I've ever played. And this is coming from someone who didn't like Oblivion much (probably because I played Fallout 3 first). The thing is, this game has everything going for it. The graphics and textures are amazing, the soundtrack is great, the gameplay is fun, and the story is engrossing. Combine these features with the limitless ways to play Skyrim, and you have an amazingly addictive game. There's just so much to see and do in this game. Want to be a mage? Got it. How about a warrior? Got it. How about a mage/warrior/archer/necromancer/potion-making blacksmith? Yeah, you get the picture. And the combat/differentiation in classes is very balanced as well, there's no one obvious style to use since they are all good. There are 10 races to choose from at the beginning as well, but fear not, as your choice does not effect the type of character you become, only your actions do that. Great game, overall. Expand
  21. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    I pre-ordered this game no daring to expect what I had heard. Several big titles in the past few years have been a huge letdown simply because of hype, and from my experience, not a single one lived up to it completely. At first, when the game started, the graphics seemed odd, and I dreaded, for a fleeting few minutes, that I was right, this game is overhyped and won't be as good as the past Elder Scrolls titles. But I gritted my teeth and pressed onward, and after the intro my complete immersion began. I immediately set off in the opposite direction of where it told me to go. I happened upon a butterfly, and decided to fire off a spell at it, it fell to the ground, clearly dead. I blinked, never before had aesthetic effects like butterflies been intractable in this manner, I found I was able to loot it, which again is a major thing (to me) for a game this immense to have. 40 hours later I hadn't looked back, this game completely consumed my free time. The story was amazing, the scope is so vast it is hard to grasp. When I tore away from the game to do a paper, I realized, I wasn't even 1/6 of the way through the game. And this is one character, in a game with so many unique play-styles and races.
    Worth mentioning is the random encounters. When I played the Fallout games I was very very happy with the random encounters, and in sky-rim, I won't spoil anything, but they get better and better, sometimes resulting in sequences of action that are non scripted, but resemble a multi million dollar blockbuster film. These events can do anything from giving you an item, or literally almost destroying a towns population.
    The attention to the natural scape is the first i've actually noticed in a game without someone else commenting on it. The jagged mountains jut haphazardly into the sky, sometimes draped in clouds or hidden by snow. And the best part? You can climb all of it. In conclusion many features from Oblivion have been removed, but the additions far outweigh the removals. What you are getting here is not only the game of the year, but perhaps the best game for many years to come, offering a completionist an Everest of a mountain to climb. Oh, and FINALLY, after all of Bethesda's games, STEALTH FINALLY IS USEABLE.
    Expand
  22. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    The Good: I love this game, lots of fun, so much to do, I found myself running around the forest for hours just looking for animals to skin.
    The Bad: I love this game, lots of fun, so much to do, I found myself running around the forest for hours just looking for animals to skin.
    But in all seriousness the game is lovely but there are some clipping and glitches that usually end with me
    dyeing and becoming aggregated. Expand
  23. Mar 26, 2013
    6
    The first few hours into Skyrim are the best few hours, after that you realize how bland the world is and how all the quests are the same. The story is feels non-existent and not explained, the guild quests all end in the same way, a lot of the skills are unnecessary. However my biggest problem with the game is that your character has no impact in the world even though your character is essentially a God. However it is easy to get immersed into the Relm of Skyrim with its 10/10 soundtrack, but you can easly get pulled out when you see some npc's and how there is 10 voice actors. If you don't mind having worse graphics and combat but a more detailed world, better towns/npc/skills/quests/challenge then I would recoment you play TES 3 Morrowind instead. I am intrested in what Bethesda does next and to see if is more casualised. Expand
  24. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Best RPG I've ever played. I try to never over-hype games, because in doing so, the game might not live up to your expectations... I was clearly wrong, as up until the very last night I bought the game, I didn't give a crap about buying this, then it hit me. This game turned out to be better than I could ever imagine, just filled with endless content and mysteries. You've never explored or done everything. Though, the game does have its problems... I get annoyed at how I can't see where my follower is on my map at all times, and how when he/she dies, it doesn't notify me. I've also got blocked from continuing quests briefly, but somehow I always found a roundabout to continue it if the AI messed up, but still makes me very nervous.

    The quality 'and' quantity you get for only $60 overrules the bugs, every single one of 'em. This game gets a 10/10, and deserves nothing but a 10.
    Expand
  25. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing scope that pushes every interactive boundary. There is a reason that Bethesda owns the RPG genre. They have allowed users the flexibility to pursue game quests or simply wander the countryside to experience the sheer size of the rich world they created and interact with the creatures who inhabit it. Each new TES chapter advances the genre. It is understandable that The Elder Scrolls has become the reference work against which all others are measured. Kudos to Bethesda. Expand
  26. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I love this game. I'm getting to play it slowly too because of work and other such comitments which just draws out this lucious experience. I've still not even scraped the main quest yet and it's already turning out to be every bit as awesome as Oblivions. The lore, the world, everything about the vibe of this game is excellent, with the Norse influences being a great backdrop. With civil war, dragons and a revamped magic system this game is just crazy good. It's just art as a video game, simple as. I'm not saying that it doesn't have it's flaws, but it's a masterpiece because of the care that was taken in the minutiae of the world. A great looking menu system, a familar UI and of course the ability to sprint. It's excellent. I love the smithing and enchanting, it's great. It's a real wonderful piece of gaming that just totally snapped all my expectations. Love it. Expand
  27. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    If you like open ended RPGs, that involve depth, backstory, exploring, dungeon-crawling, as well as bartering and wandering through towns, forests and mountainous caves, Skyrim reaches the peak. Expect to spend no less than 40 hours playing this game and you will have only barely just scratched the surface. Skyrim creates a world so palpable and full of interesting content that it puts other open world games to shame. There is a ton of variety in the quests, the voice acting is great and the graphics reflect the cold harsh yet beautiful environment of the northern parts of Tamriel. I can't recommend or gush about this game enough. It's certainly the best of its kind to come out, and I continue to expect great things from its developer down the line. It's worth every cent of the 60 dollar price tag - if you devote any amount of time to it, you *will* get more than your money's worth in quality entertainment. Expand
  28. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Ridiculously good. Can't wait for the DLC in the future, I spent a thoroughly unhealthy week long streak of Skyrim, and I want more. Not to say there was a lack of anything, I just splurged. Skyrim: Gamer Coke.
  29. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing GOTY. It made me **** This is better than Oblivion and it is the best RPG i have played, it does have some glitched but those glitched willl be patched soon. Expand
  30. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    I am reviewing Skyrim on the Xbox 360 attached with composite cables to a 720p TV.
    The game was a little too dark on the screen at first, but I simply when to settings and increased the brightness (and increase the default difficulty, novice was a little too easy). Now the Game is very enjoyable experience!!! I can't keep my children off of it and we will frequently even enjoy watch the
    others play (which I consider a rarity in single player non-wii games). My daughter is very much enjoying her High Elf fighter.
    The game has virtually endless possibilities and each one of them enjoyable.
    Expand
  31. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    One of the best games have played in a while. There is always something to do, and the story lines are interesting. I've run into a few problems where the framerate would drop in a dungeon, but other than that the game as run well on the Xbox360. Some of my favorite moments are when the radiant AI does something totally unexpected. At one city a dragon attacked me on the way to a quest I was undertaking. The dragon strafed me, and hit some guards and horses at the stables. Next thing I know the horses aer attacking the dragon, drawing attention away from me and allowing me an easy kill. I also had a great experience in a dungeon that I was not leveled up high enough to really be in. by making clever use of some of my powers, I was able to get myself into some places where the bosses couldn't hurt me, so I could take them down. Felt pretty good to "out clever" the game a bit.

    Overall, definitely recommended.
    Expand
  32. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is one of those games that remains unforgettable through out the ages of gaming.The content that is offered in this game is over the top.It literally takes your life time for dozens hours to live in another world filled with amazing environment and breathtaking visuals.The story is very good but its not all,you have plenty of side quests to take that even influence the land of skyrim.Bethesda also streamlined the skill system and made an easier menu.This really helps people who are not familiar with rpgs and it didn't affect me at all,it actually helped me alot.Overall Skyrim is a must-buy and it will not dissapoint you.If you are looking for a non linear adventure or a breathing world filled with excitement.Then i say Skyrim is FOR you.This is definitely game of the year. Expand
  33. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is awesome all those people that gave it negative scores are just pricks with a stick up there ass. winnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn Expand
  34. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    Skyrim is most likely the best game of 2011. If you have ever played and Elder Scrolls game, or like RPGs in general, you'll love this game. Bethesda has improved everything from their previous game (Oblivion) and made it ten times better here. The new duel wielding works fantastic with the game making battles with enemies differ from making a quick kill, to dealing the most amount of damage possible. Also, with the content provided, this game will keep you busy for weeks on end, maybe months! Also, with the download-able content most likely coming out later, the possibilities for this game are inconceivable! Personally, I give this game a 10/10, but as of now there are a few graphical bugs (Ex: water not appearing in certain parts, see through parts of walls), along with some other very minor bugs that honestly don't effect the game at all, and will most likely be fixed with a future patch. All in all, if you are looking for a game to keep you busy, and have almost endless entertainment, then you definitely need to consider purchasing this game. Expand
  35. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    An absolutely amazing game! Has incredible graphics, excellent atmosphere, beautiful music and perfect gameplay! All shortcommings and glitches are massively overshadowed by what the game has to offer.
  36. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Never before have I used the adjective "majestic" to describe a game before. As someone who never played an Elder Scrolls game before, let this be a word to others who haven't - it is on par with the greatest video games ever made. All gameplay and design aside, the vast overworld of Skyrim simply makes you feel; it has an undeniable presence and beauty. Truly a masterpiece, it deserves the massive amounts of praise it has garnered. Expand
  37. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Can't begin to describe how big, immersive, beautiful, crazy and just in general how awesome this game is. If a game can capture not just your attention but your imagination it is well deserving of its score and praise of not more. The only thing I can say is.........listen to the music and look at the landscape......and try to tell me that this game isn't worth playing.
  38. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. TES - is a world, which create a ethernal hope in our souls. Soundtrack, gameplay, history - all of this - this is Morrowind 2! All of fans of the TES - this is our game. Expand
  39. Nov 19, 2011
    5
    Great, concept and a potential masterpiece! Great quests! oh wait.. alot of them don't work Great GUI.. oh wait.. its crap on the PC (dont release for a platform that you don't intend to focus on Great PS3 Experience.. oh wait.. memory leaks forced me to return it for the PC version Great open world.. yes actually All in all.. this is the concept.. or well.. it is the first beta release of a great game that the developers didn't bother to finish.. and it's a damn shame.. it could be so great. I wish that Bethesda had any form of pride in the products they release and don't just dump a frustrating pile of crap on their users. Original grade.. 9, 8 for craploads of buggy quests, 7 since the PS3 version has so bad memory leaks its hard to play, 6 since the PC gui is just a **** port from the console version with clunky controls, 5 since riding and everything else in the game is half unfinished and for all the random crashes.

    Such a shame
    Expand
  40. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The biggest problem with Skyrim is that I can't put if down once I start playing on it. One more shop to sell another weapon. One more mission started because a courier brought me the location of another dragon shout. One more fight because I just got pounced on by a lurking wolf. 6 hours later after you initially intended to stop playing you'll be trying to find a peaceful save spot from where you can restart the next time you play only to find yourself getting caught in a sudden attack from a dragon costing you another ten minutes of your life. A real productivity killer but a brilliant game. It has it's faults but they just make me chuckle. I've got 4 dead dragons littering riverwood and every time I fast travel there the bones are just being put into place a bit like a surprise birthday party that you arrived too early to where things weren't quite ready. The guards voices are brilliant too. The accents sounds like a Dutch Arnie it's quality listening to it. Best value for money game ever. Expand
  41. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    I have never played a better game. This games is as far ahead of other games now as OoT was in 1998. Just a masterpiece. The only flaw is the hours you'll end up playing this instead of working/studying/living. GOTY for sure.
  42. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    THIS GAME IS AMAZING! The graphics are just pure awesome! The story line is so much better then Oblivion. The landscape is very nice looking. There is a lot of new wild life to! I've played this for over 10 hours so far! It is a very addictive game!! I would recommend this game to anyone!!!!
  43. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    this game is friggin AWESOME the graphics are great theres SO MANY SIDEQUESTS the world is decent size but absolutely packed with awesome **** THERES DRAGONS quick and easy interface/favs menu only reason i rated this 9 was cuz the melee combat is repetitive (magic is super fun tho) and the dungeons all look the same EPIIICCC GAAAMEEE HIGHLY RECOMENDED!!!!
  44. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is unbelievable. I've played a lot of good games, but this one might triumph them all. I'm 25 hours into this game, and I still don't feel like I've scratched the surface. The presentation is top notch. The graphics are excellent. The soundtrack is a piece of art, especially when fighting a dragon or finding a new Shout to learn. The world is HUGE. I don't know how many times I've intended to do a certain quest but get distracted by a dragon's nest, a dungeon, a new town, giants, or mammoths. Bethesda has created a masterpiece with this game. The story will keep you interested. The only gripe I have with this game is a few bugs here and there, but it does not hinder the game in any way. This game is a true 10/10. Expand
  45. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    Possibly one of the best games of the year. This RPG is one for everyone. I had never played an Elder Scrolls game before, tried Fallout 3 but didn't like it too much. But Skyrim got me very excited. "See that mountain over there? Yeah, you can climb that mountain." That's one of the main attractions to the game - it's so large and full of adventure. The graphics are very good for a game so large and the dragon encounters are very fun. They appear randomly, which can shock you when they appear when you're not prepared, like they did for me in the middle of a city. But they all do essentially the same thing and can become repetitive. There are bugs but it doesn't affect the overall experience, most of them are good to laugh at. The bugs are forgivable mainly because they are to be expected in such a big game. But Bethesda have already patched the PS3 version, with a X-Box and PC patch coming tomorrow. I think most people will enjoy this game because you can play it anyway you want. Prefer to be stealthy and love Assassins Creed? Then go for archery and become a Dark Elf. Love melee and hate magic? Try the Khajiit or an Ork. Nobodies experience will be the same, rather like Minecraft. I encourage everyone to pick up this game. Expand
  46. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    my adventures in tamriel began in 2004 with morrowind, the game was an excellent RPG but too hardcore for the uncommitted gamer, oblivion was vast, fun, easily accessible, and up until recently, was my favourite Elder Scrolls game, but over all rather generic. but Skyrim. skyrim is everything oblivion and morrowind wanted to be. for me, it is role playing perfection, compelling visuals and almost total freedom. not every story told in skyrim is the most interesting, but skyrim's selling point is the sheer freedom the game affords the player. if i feel like it, i CAN go off the beaten path, if i see a character i CAN kill him/her, if i decide to betray someone, it may come back to bite me in the ass! you just don't know, and thats the reason why i play skyrim, freedom. i have sink 50 hours into the game this week, and every minute of it has been purely enthralling, it just doesn't get boring! and not to mention the stunning visuals, the game has scale on its mind; not everything is pretty up close, but the detain achieved on this scale is a remarkable achievement, even on consoles. if your an elder scrolls veteran, or a COD noob, get this game, its everything you've ever wanted, plus more! it is a digital masterpiece Expand
  47. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This game is a masterpiece. I am a person who was prejudiced against this game from before iteven came out. I do not like any previous Bethesda games really, with the massive world, detailed RPG elements and lack of a solid storyline unattractive qualities in a game. Skyrim is different. Easily accessablle menus and systems make the game seem less daunting, while also providing more content than there was to be had in previous game. Gorgeous graphics (especially in the constellation skill building system- wow!) and an astouding attention to detail are but one reason to play the hell out of this thing. It is more additive than any shooter I have played (and I have burned hundreds of hours playing CoD games alone) with the mind-boggling number of quests and options for customization allowing the player to make their own Skyrim. If you want to only play the main storyline, you can, but I can assure you, you will be missing out. The greatest achievement here is the choice given to the player- you can explore the universe however and as extensively as you want. A barebones playthrough, or an every-nook-and-cranny approach (or anything in between) are equally possible and fun. To me, storyline is the most important part of games, and this game has a respectable plotline. While certainly not up there with the Bioware games (Mass Effect, KOTOR, check them out, they are amazing) the gameplay is more than enough to make this a splendid experience for anyone. The only reason I give this a 9 instead of a 10 is the occaisional glitches and bugs. This is unfortunately an issue, and you will sometimes get stuck in a corner or have some other problem, but it is extremely ppolished in comparison to previous games, particularly the laggy and bug-ridden Fallout New Vegas. No matter what your thoughts on previous Bethesda titles are, GET SKYRIM. No matter what games you like, GET SKYRIM. I promise you you will love this game to death, and you might well be playing it for that long too. Expand
  48. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    http://alexknows1229.blogspot.com/ amazing reviews on mw3, combat arm, and skyrim! just go to my blog and read what i have you wont be disappointed not even one bit
  49. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is easily one of the best games I have ever played. The combat is great- certainly a lot better than Oblivion's. The aesthetics are amazing. As is the soundtrack. You could play this game for hundreds of hours and have it still feel fresh when you start it up again.
  50. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    Very very addictive game. You will most probably not follow the story path and go questing on your own. You wont want to stop playing! A bit buggy, and the occasional low texture here and there, but otherwise, a very good game! would recommend it to any RPG fan!
  51. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game must get GOTY. I have been playing this game for nearly 2 weeks and now and I am still finding new things to do even having completed 5 quest lines! I know that there have been some issues with installing the game and losing graphics but from what I've seen the graphics look amazing. The main quest line is somewhat shorter than I imagined but that doesn't matter because when you complete that you can just roam around freely doing as you wish. I have to admit that some of the quest lines in the game such as the "Thieves Guild" are a little bit too tedious for my liking because I feel they have cheaply extended the play time by making you do more minor quests then you should need to but I suppose it adds to the adventure in the game. The story of the game is very well set out and it is even more amazing that they have put so much effort into the side quests of the game. One that I was particularly impressed with is not even a quest but when you have killed all of the 8 dragon priests and you put their masks in the statue at "Labrynthian" I thought that was something that they didn't have to put in but the fact that they didn't cut any corners earns a lot of respect from me. I have played a lot of games this year and this is definitely my favourite so far. Expand
  52. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Massive map, engaging story, excellent game-play layout. Acceptable graphics. good controls for genre. buggy and frame rate issues. acceptable acting although repetitive at times. Very excellent open world wRPG. *(non-fanboy opinion) * although character development and menu's are simpleminded the game keeps the progressive character build alive with level up perks. frame rate and texture problems with noticeable game effecting bugs are present. repetitive but addicting combat/ quest layout. non-perfect game-play but hugely engaging and one of the best open world wRPG's to date. overall (9.0 out of 10) Expand
  53. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    perfect game love it. will play forever. being playing now for 12 hours and barely scratched the surface. The graphic are so beautiful. have never been so sucked into a game before like this. Hours just fly by without me realizing it.
  54. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    By far this game is the best I have played. I usually can't play RPGs like this but this game blew me away when I played it. The only thing I wish this game had is co-op.
  55. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    There's nothing like getting rewarded for clearing out another bandits den. Or taking down a big meaty dragon. Skyrim impresses on all fronts, from the long draw distances to the NPCs. The new snow efect or the random thunderstorms that roll across the pain the graphics are top notch, sometimes forgetting your even playing a game! They completely redid the combat making it more fluent, Whether dual wielding, two hand sword, or the old fashion sword and board you can take the combat to anything however you like. Borrowing from Bioshocks awesome magic system, you can dual wield magic combing one spell to make it stronger or have two completely different spells to wreck havoc with. Either making armor and weapons or enchanting new pieces with skills, Buying houses or just going with old school dungeon diving theres always something to do. With nearly Hundred, Thats right HUNDREDS of hours of things to do Skyrim will be in our Xboxs, PS3, And PCs for a long time to come. Expand
  56. Mar 7, 2012
    7
    Definitely not as good as people say. It has frozen many times on me. I don't see how it is a "masterpiece". Felt just like Oblivion with better graphics. I think the hype was so high that people actually just started to believe it was as good as people were hoping.
  57. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is first time for playing the elder scroll games ..it's awesome...I feel my heart beats dynamically..This elder scroll :skyrim is a great masterpiece...GREAT.....GAREAT............GREAT..........
  58. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    It is a rare occurece that I give a perfect 10 to a game in a review. However, Skyrim is deservingve played few games with the ability to grab my attention so quickly and hold it for such a long time (with the exception of Diablo 2, WoW and COD:WaW). Skyrim achieves this and then some. The environmentss are meticulously detailed and unbelievably immersive. From small fish, crabs and critters to giants, dragons and mammoths; there are so many diferent encounters to be had it is nearly overwhelming. This game has a mind blowing number of Quests, sidequests, achievments, goals and loot to strive for and complete. But what is great is that it is done so well and made to feel VERY natural in its design so as not to take away from the feeling and submersion of the player into the game world. The characters all feel very unique and are a vast improvement from the previous elderscrolls games. their facial expressions and movements are more natural looking and they actually have routines they follow throughout each day. Animals and creatures interact with one another. You will be walking through a mist covered bog and hear creeks and chirps of various animals or beasts and streaks of light will barely be breaking through the tree tops above. And as you walk through the environment you hear a noise and look over to see 3 wolves chasing down a deer. The same occurs on some of the roads, you may find yourself walking along a trail one momnet and when you look over you see 3 armored elves with a nordsman in bonds. Do you free him? Do you free him and give him a weapon or armor so that he can fight his captors? Or do you simply observe and allow him to go to his fate. The choice is yours and this is only a small sample of an insanely free and open world, where you can do anything and your choices have an immediate and a long term affect on the characters and world around you. The game causes you to actually weigh out the pros and cons of your decisions and think in a broader spectrum rather than looking only at what is directly infront of you. For example: In most games you see a man being attacked by an orc and you kill him and rescuse the man and you get some loot and some praise. In Skyrim a man i being attacked by an orc, but do you help and save the man when it could possibly cause the orcs to dislik you and then prevent you from gathering materials or quests from their lands in the future? Or do you help the man only to find out that he was a murderer and you just killed an orc father claiming retribution for the death of his family. Was the coin worth the weight of your decision on your concience? Was it the right choice? These are the types of decision and thinking that this game produces and it does it very well and at a steady rate. The pacing of the game is yours to set. You want to go in and bash everyone in the dungeon to death and then slay a dragon and then kill a king? Fine. You want to sneak in with an invisibility potion and slip a poison into the guards pocket and watch him from the shadows as he dies a slow death, attracting all the nearby guards with his cries of agony. Thus allowing you to snipe them with your poisoned arrows from a distane? Fine. You want to go farm and collect herms and minerals to produce various potions and poisons? Craft the finest armors and weapons in the land? Spend you days gather exotic foods to cook in the home you purchased in the nearby capital city? You can do all of this and more in this game and it is all presented in a clean and neat yet unbelievably free and chaotic package. Skyrim is definetly a gaming experience that I will never forget and will replay time and time again. Because no two adventure will EVER be the same. Expand
  59. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Now I honestly can say I don't give many 10's, I feel like writing a 10 means it is the epitome of gaming. But simply put, this game has so many more positives than negatives I fail to say it deserves even a 9. The glitches are preeminent yes, but given the vast world given to us it should be expected. Although, this game took many years to make, you feel like they had ample enough time to fix all glitches, but this is too brash of an assumption to expect coders to decode every code they happened to mess up. Simply put, the glitches don't even hinder the gameplay. In all actuality, it sometimes helps ease my tensions of trying to play this game on Master. The immaculate story is possibly not the most creative, but it definitely isn't unoriginal. The execution of the story line is what beholds this into a masterpiece, and you may already be aware of all the quests that are available to you at almost all times. Now, this is what I call a game that is truly worth $60. Expand
  60. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    People need to f*** off and stop giving this bad reviews just because the score is high and they don't like that. Grow the **** up it's a great game so it's getting great reviews. " Oh, but there are glitches and it freezes" Lets see you make a game world this big and and full of stuff and catch every damn bug in the game before it's released. "Oh they changed leveling system so now it isn't a true RPG" You @$$hole$ are never happy are you, leveling was to hard in Morrowind and Oblivion and now this is too easy and more like Fallout so its accessible to more people, you want a suck leveling system like Final Fantasy, GO PLAY FINAL FANTASY!!! But anyway Skyrim is a great game, especially if the 65+ hours I've played are anything to go by. Massive world with tons and tons of quests, throw in Dragons that can show up at any time, and some amazing combat and yuo have a game that deserves a 10. Expand
  61. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Every Elder scrolls game is better than the previous one, and this is not an exception, skyrim have everything you want and more, is a an exceptional masterpiece, say goodbye to real life.
  62. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    A Truely great game but i'n need of a bit of patching not a perfect 10 but close I have played this game for nearly 20 hours now and can't believe how little i have completed regards to content i'n game this is a game that should set an example and a standard for all games i'n is genre.
  63. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    After coming off the the heels of the very successful "Fallout 3" Bethesda Studios has come back to their roots with the next installment of the Elder Scroll series in "The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim". Were to begin this game is almost the perfect games with beautiful graphics fun gameplay an interesting story and hundreds of hours of playability. But its not perfect to begin lets start with the graphics, there great, astonishing and lovely but like all open world RPGs there's always some form of framrate issues and texture pop ins and Skyrim is no exception. Gameplay wise Skrim is plain old fun. Whether it be slaying dragons hunting prey or living it up in the towns there's always something to do here. But to be a nitpicker I had very few issues were the game would jerk around during combat or even crash. Now like every RPG the main story is the most important part, but it really didnt feel like it. It feels like the kid in the back of the car hes there but there's other thing to pay attention to. If you to compare Skyrim to a cake the story would be the icing on it. Not to say that the story is bad (which it isn't) but there is so much to do you might not get to the story immediately. Like every games in the world there is audio and let me say its top of the line from the sounds of the environment, the voice acting, and the splendid soundtrack I have no major complaints what so ever. They only negative remark I will say about it it that characters tend to repeat lines a lot. Now for the final part of this analysis the replayability/ length. One can invest days upon weeks in this game its huge mind blowingly huge. You could be doing nothing but the main quest, or the guilds. Maybe you prefer roaming the world you can do that too. As of this time I'm currently 60+ hours in and have no meaning to stop now. Do yourself a favor pick up this game if you and RPG fan you wont regret it I give this game a 9.75/10.
    (I'm no literary genius so please ignore any errors.)
    Expand
  64. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    OVERVIEW: Skyrim follows through on one of Bethesda's "Massive RPG's" and it is just that, a game that will keep you busy, which is a good thing.

    PROS: With hundreds of unique quests, a huge map, and a satisfying storyline, this game will take a long time to complete and then be completely different the next play through, which is a great thing to have. Flexibility of this game is very
    appealing, how you can do anything you want and how every decision is a factor into the world, whether it be going to jail for stealing or an invitation to the Dark Brotherhood with your exceptional assassin skills. With so many cities, enemies, and dungeons, the great graphics and immense detail make the game that much better. The main storyline is somewhat intriguing but what surprised me was the amount of side stories there were; other quests are not just meaningless and random, they offer some very cool and interactive stories that you can't turn down.

    CONS: Being that it carries the same style of gameplay as other Bethesda games, the combat is a little dry. Although their is a lot of variety in the type of weapon, each individual weapon acts the same as the others in its subcategory. And, of course, the big issue is the bugs. The bugs are disturbing and can ruin a moment, like falling under the map or screen freezes (both frustrating events have happened to me a few times). However, this is being patch so hopefully the problem will go away.

    GRAPHICS: 9 out of 10; Amazing scenery and world is full of detail, however animations and voice overs need some work.
    STORYLINE: 9 out of 10; Main plot is not as exciting as the numerous side stories, but it is much longer.
    GAMEPLAY: 8 out of 10; Fun with so many styles and tactics to use, but gets repetitive.
    LASTING APPEAL: 10 out of 10; This is what this game is all about, thousands of things to do and then thousands of different ways to do them.
    OVERALL: 9 out of 10

    CONCLUSION: This is game lives up to the hype and will definitely keep you busy, but still contains familiar flaws like combat and bugs.
    Expand
  65. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I am a die hard video game fan. Sony, Nintendo, Microsoft, even PC if I can. And I have played much more than my fair share of video games. Real-Time Strategies, First-Person and Third-Person Shooters, RPGs, Puzzle, Action, Adventure, Fighting, you name it, I've played, and most likely beaten it. And Skyrim is, by far, one of my absolute favorite games I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. I have read other user reviews for this game. They complain about trivial, and quite highly exaggerated, problems that don't even affect game play or the appeal of the game. Some even complain about there being no online play. Online play is the default for a game that can't stand on its own two legs from story alone. And Skyrim doesn't just stand on its own two legs, it runs a marathon in an hour. I can honestly say that playing Skyrim has soured my opinion on almost every other RPG I have ever played. Every hour spent playing the game improves my views on it and I don't see any way that this game will stop amazing me, for a very long time. Especially with the announcement that all DLC being released will be massive. Much like the Shivering Isles download for Oblivion. For all those who have played Oblivion and loved it, this game will blow your mind. Anyone who is a fan of RPGs, this game will make you wonder what you liked about the others so much. A must buy for everyone who is a fan of role playing and free roam. Even if you have never picked up an RPG title before(somehow), you must grab this game. And for all those who are giving this game a low rating, go back to CoD and keep pretending that you are a hardcore gamer. (P.S. sorry for the TL;DR) Expand
  66. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    I made a really long review of skyrim. Awesome game. Main quest is lacking. Dragons are too easy to kill.
  67. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Greatest game i've played. The map is huge! Plenty of quests to do, and the graphics are amazing. The skill menu is well made, it gives you a choice on which direction to take on a certain skill
  68. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Great story, leveling up is addicting, fighting dragons is just as good as fighting a big daddy (bioshock), and i think the best thing of all is exploring the game world. Hope this helped.
  69. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    An intense experience in one of the games that defines the media as an art form. Beautiful scenery and wonderful textures along with fun and interesting gameplay make this a game for the ages. The dungeons are tricky and offer a rewarding 'Ah hah!' when completed, the bosses require strategy, and the game provides an easy difficulty for the casual gamers. The only issue are the early release bugs, including texture glitches on character's clothing and weapons. This is to be expected and will definitely be released in an upcoming patch. All in all, a wonderful game. Expand
  70. Nov 20, 2011
    6
    The first couple hours felt like a mixture of Two Worlds and Call of Duty MW2 combined. I found it difficult to fully immerse myself into the story because the scripting is just too darn cheesy, and I was definitely left wanting more in combat. Most movements are rigid, and lack variety which is paired with poorly calibrated physics. The consideration put into physics becomes apparent when watching a dragon fly around, or how the wooden bridge falls after Hadvar pulls the lever in the beginners area, OR how you can stand upright on a almost vertical mountainside.

    The game has been dumbed down extensively, which I see as contradictory to the genre of Role Playing in general. I almost didn't know what to think when I picked up the first weapon and the only stats for it were damage, weight and value. The world is beautiful and fully traversable, and worth a score of 5 in its own right, and an additional 1 for effort. The rest speaks for itself. Fix the physics, and completely revamp the combat system... its about time. Or maybe make skyrim a DLC/Expansion for morrowind. Ho ho ho...

    P.S. where did my acrobatics skill go?
    Expand
  71. Nov 20, 2011
    6
    i think is a good game but i think it doesn't evolve from past series, the game could do a lot more, and i mean a looooot but i am disappointed. the graphics are great and the sound to, the gameplay is the same
  72. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    Ive been a fan of the Elder Scrolls since western style rpgs landed on the original Xbox with titles like Morrowind and KOTOR so I was at Best Buy to purchase Skyrim as soon as they opened. Surprisingly my initial reaction to the game was a little underwhelming and downright disappointing at times. The Introduction and beginning sequence was a little slow and the initial action sequence didnt feel like it put me in danger (think Mgs4 intro with the mechs that was terrifying to me and deadly). My gameplay style usually calls for me to ignore the main quest as much as possible and the very first two quest I encountered were extremely buggy. I had to go back to a prior save several times within the first 3 hours and at one point had to google an answer to a problem that potential could have ended the game and have me start from scratch. After the initial set back however I found Skyrim incredible deep and rewarding. The Landscape starts of pretty generic but as you travel North gets extremely amazing. There are plenty of options as far as character creation and play styles to keep you always trying to level just one more time, and the quests are fun and full of lore. Over all the world is very deep with quests around every corner. There are negatives, much has been said about the A.I and I for one am still not impressed with their behavior and logic. The developer made a big deal about the skills system and how its tied to the heavens and although pretty is nothing more than regular skill trees. On the technical side there are bugs galore and lag is common for me, yeah thats right lag in a single player game. After the onslaught of Morrowind, Oblivion, Fallout 3 and New Vegas I hoped the developer would take time to polish the game and remove all the bugs they could before releasing it to the public even If that means making a smaller game. If it werent for the issues It has with glitches and bugs and an A.I. that still seems lifeless and spooky I would give the game a 10 thanks to the robust and beautiful world, voice acting and endless supply of content. This game was made to be epic and hopefully the next entry in the series while be epic and bug free. Expand
  73. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    i have only played a few hours but i love the game. yeah i wish the map and journal were a little easier to access but that won't break a game for me. scrolling through the reviews i see so many 9 and 10 it is hard to understand how it has a 8.7 user score. Don't give a great RPG a 3 because you don't like RPGs. this game is meant for people who like RPGs. If you are a FPS fan and you didn't like fallout or oblivion this game probably isn't for you. the graphics are great considering how much content it has to load and the fighting system is WAY better than fallout in my opinion. there is a ton of content in the game and i haven't even scratched the surface yet. you are in control of your game. If you don't want to take the time to do some small tasks in order to be able to progress than go to a faster paced game like Assassins Creed and Batman they are both great open world game with a lot less demand on time. this game was meant to take dozens of hours to beat. great job Bathesda! i cant wait to play your next-gen game after i beat this one a dozen times! Expand
  74. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    A beautiful game, and no matter what you say, undeserving of a 0/10. Ignore the teeny CoD fanboys who are raging that this game is getting a way better userscore. It is simply awesome. CoD fanboys are raging and butthurt that their favorite franchise got shat on.
  75. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Skyrim is better than a 9 yet not a 10. Iâ
  76. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Great game and graphics. I would highly recommend to any gamer. I'm not a huge RPG gamer but this game keeps things interesting. Fighting dragons is a really good touch and keeps you on your toes at all times.
  77. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is an awesome game. I have put 30 hours into it and I still have the urge to play it all the time. There is so much to do in the game and something to do for everyone no matter the play style. The melee system is a lot better than in Oblivion, but it still feels a little lacking. Don't get me wrong, it still is good, but it could have been a little better. One of the bigger complaints I have heard about this game is its graphics. The graphics are not excellent, but they are far from bad. It is exactly what I expected from and open world RPG. This game has a ton of stuff to do, so you will never get bored. All of the guilds are entertaining and the dungeons are not a bore. If you liked Oblivion, you will like Skyrim. If you didn't like Oblivion, you still might like Skyrim. I understand Skyrim is not a game for everyone. I respect that. Expand
  78. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Skyrim is one of the best games ever made from everything to characters, environment, graphics, quests its simply the best. i wasn't even a fan of the elder scroll series since i never played the first one on 360. but i am a big fan of Bethesda s fallout series and now this. i knew a year ago when it was announced it would be EPIC. your never gonna be short of anything to do in Skyrim the game just keeps on going. its huge i can rant about it for hours but i cant be bothered. of course there are some glitches etc but anyone complaining about the game is a whiny spoiled **** and can go **** themselves in my opinion. game of the year definitively game of the decade maybe you have to be a true gaming fan to appreciate this and not just someone that picks up the controller one day a year. Expand
  79. Nov 21, 2011
    7
    I rented this game since i normally don't spend $60 on a solo game. From what i've played up to now (lvl 25). I've decided that in my opinion, the inventory needs to be worked on (sort items based on weight/value/armor/damage). Quests often got thrown on the back burner while trying to accomplish a task. for example, i had to travel to a place to retrieve an item, and on the way i picked up 3 different quests which then became more important to me since they were 1) closer to my current location. 2) easier than my original task, and more rewarding. Expand
  80. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Beyond Fantastic. I wish this scale had 15 because I would rate it there if i could. This game will last me YEARS, or until the next Elder Scrolls is released. Great game play, visuals are very appealing, best use of $60 this year. BUY IT!
  81. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This is probably the best action RPG of all time, period ! Incredible design and gameplay, nice graphics, amazing story. Why are you still reading this? Go buy your copy.
  82. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Beautiful master piece. one of the GOTY I've played. I which I could have a better pc to play it on but, PS3 still awesome and perfect. My only complain is that you can' t attack riding horses and you can' t ride dragons. Those two things will be a perfect 10.
  83. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    This game is amazing! If you not 12 years old, buy Skyrim, not Zelda, come on this isn't grade school anymore! The graphics will leave you breathless, the game is challenging, as well as entertaining. The full retail price of this game was a bit much for me, I never get games right away, but I bit the bullet for Skyrim. Maybe, wait till the price goes down, but you will be missing out on the game of the decade. Expand
  84. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    A living breathing entity, separate from anything else and of it's own operations and workings is how i would describe the world of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. Few games can truly make you feel like you living out your character in a believable world and yet Skyrim is able to just that. Skyrim is one of the greatest accomplishments for gaming recent times and is one of the strongest contenders for game of the year. Play this game. Expand
  85. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I think the elder scrolls skyrim is an amazing pinnacle of gaming the graphics and story line are amazing but even if you dont want to stick to the main storyline there is many hours of fun to be had exploring the massive map and completing the side quests. On a scale of 1-10 this game is an 11 -Xbox360Critic
  86. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I think its been said multiple times by now, this game is perfect. Glitches and ugly faces aside, Skyrim has some of the best and most memorable gameplay of the year. Absolute masterpiece. I will be playing this game for many months to come
  87. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This is so far the best game I've played on the holidays. I have played for several days and have only scratched the surface of this wonderful game. The graphics are polished and nice. The gameplay is fun, i particularly like casting spells feels like I'm playing bioshock. The story for both the main quests and side quests like the guilds are a blast. I'm definitely going to replay this game a lot. Oh and I forgot the glitches, it can't be a bethseda game without any hilarious glitches. Expand
  88. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    Bigger and certainly better than Oblivion, Skyrim has had me hooked for about 30 hours now, The quests are on the whole highly enjoyable and have an intriguing story to them. This is all the more impressive when you consider just how many there are! I have done quests in places that my friends have never even heard of! The world of Skyrim is impressive, and definitely builds on the immersion that Oblivion managed to draw people in with so well. The NPCs are all more independent and and varied, leading to the feeingl that even when your console/PC is turned off (if you can manage to pull yourself away) that the world is continuing despite the lack of your presence. The game play is great, weapons carry more ooomph, so it actually feels like you're hitting a bandit when you swing your sword at them - a departure from the mad, light and somewhat frantic combat of Oblivion. The addition of automatic animations at the end of some fights (think assassination in Reach or using the chainsaw in Gears of War) makes the combat seem more rigid and much more entertaining to watch. Switching weapons and spells has also been made a whole lot easier by having the ability to assign items, spells and potions as 'favourites', allowing you to switch easily in the middle of combat without trawling through numerous menus. All this said, Skyrim is definitely not without it's flaws. The auto-save feature doesn't work as well as I'd like and a few times I've died and had to go back up to 40 minutes worth of playing to the last save. To get around this I've got into the habit of 'waiting' for an hour if I'm about to do something risky or am low on health. While this solution works, I still feel that a more frequent auto-save would save on frustration and enhance the game. As with Oblivion and any game of this size and complexity, there are a large number of bugs. While some are just humorous, such as when a Giant kills you it sends you into the atmosphere which never gets old, there are a few more malicious bugs that are potential game destroyers. One such bug which I came across was one where all the NPC women would stay on the stop and rotate as if on a pedestal. This made it hard to complete a Dark Brotherhood quest where I had to follow a woman. Thankfully, a few game restarts later and the problem went away, but I fear there are more disastrous bugs that could ruin someone's Skyrim experience.
    The graphics are pretty, but not mind blowing, at least on the Xbox version anyway. There are some fantastic views of valleys and mountains that are impressive, but more often than not there are some texture issues and the draw distance is less than desirable. Aside from that, the landscapes are vast and varied, ranging from snowy mountains to marshland and urban areas.
    The music is one of my favourite aspects about Skyrim. It adds so much to the atmosphere that I'm not sure it would be worth playing without it! It is reminiscent of Oblivion's score, but more epic. The 'Dovahkiin' chant that plays when fighting a dragon does nothing less than make you feel like you actually are Dragonborn. Even the peaceful music when you are out in the fields is an absolute pleasure to listen to. I'm not a massive RPG fan, so while I'm not blinded by the fact that it's an Elder Scrolls game (as some other reviewers clearly are), I am thoroughly enjoying it and I do consider it to be one of the best games this year, and has set the bar high for all future RPGs. Despite the bugs and the few things Bethesda haven't quite mastered, this truly is one of the great games of this generation.
    Expand
  89. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Some like coke, some like pepsi, the thing is, with Skyrim there is really nothing to compare it to. Having not played Oblivion, I can not say how big of an improvment it is, but I can say how big of an adventer it is. It is a game that you can only say you have completed it when you have at least a hundred hours in it. I personaly have over 20 hours logged in it, and have just barely scratched the surface of the story line. Wheather you are looking to explore, go through a dungeon, do a quest, or best of all, kill a dragon, every minuet in Skyrim is well spent. You can costumize your character in each and every trait. You can be a Archer, Mage, Warrior, or some of each. You can have a spell in one hand, and a battle axe in the other. You can pull out your bow and quiver in times when you want to engage combat, while keeping your distance. No matter what classes you choose, the game expierience will be just as thrilling. There were times when I almost peed my pants in fear from even the slightest noise in a creepy dungeon. There were times when I would just want to just in my screen and live in the Province of Skyrim. In Skyrim you can almost literally live a second life, you can buy a horse, buy a house, get married, make money from stolen goods, get a drink at the local pub, kill a guy for no good reason and go to jail. You can do anything and that is the beauty of it all. Sure there can be some graphical glitches, blurred textures sometimes, and maybe you can even get stuck somewhere. But in a game like Skyrim the good, very much, out weighs the bad Expand
  90. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I represent 'www.BreakMyGame.com'. SKYRIM has been given our hands down! It's a new stepping stone for a new Creation game engine for new titles to come out! Graphics is not to high end and enough to wow players, the score they generated for the game is a step up to give an exact life to the world, an excellent successor and worthy hands-on for new and old players for the series. Overall hour and hours of pure possibilities in how a High Exploring and Story Driven RPG game should be. Expand
  91. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    After having played oblivion for almost 5 years, my expectations of Skyrim was sky high! yet somehow Bethesda game studios managed to surprise me. This game is beyond great, it is a Masterpiece, and more. Easily the best game ever made and it will probably stay that way for a couple of years, this game gets top score from me because of it's huge open world, hundreds of quests and infinite game play time! Expand
  92. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    I agree with eIras, this is a masterpiece. I only started played the Elder Scrolls w/ Oblivion, so I am somewhat of a Elder Scrolls noob, but I love this game. It has made some great improvements since Oblivion. I am 20 hours in and have not even started on the main quest. An easy 10 here and my vote for GOTY
  93. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    I would love to give this game 10/10 but that would mean that it was perfect and as much as i love Skyrim its not a perfect game. That being said however it is still the best rpg i have played since oblivion and it holds what makes the elder scrolls series great. Graphicly its amazing, the game play is brilliant and the dragons are scary as hell. Besides a few minor graphical glitches and the occasional bug this game is perfect, its a must by for anyone who is a fan of open world rpgs. Expand
  94. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Absolutely BRILLIANT. Skyrim is a massive improvement on its amazing predecessor Oblivion. The menu system is visually stunning, clean and easy to manage/follow. Combat animation has improved dramatically and the cut scene animations are just the icing on the cake. The quests and guilds are new, exiting and have a lot of twists and turns which keep you involved and immersed in the story. The Main Quest was great but the sweet thing is knowing this game isn't just a 2/3 hour and then get bored game, it is a truly massive free-roam environment in which there are hours upon hours of things to do keeping the player stuck to the TV and provides them with what feels like a truly graphically rich , deep, living world. The levelling and character management system feels so much better and more effective in shaping and helping to distinguish your own personal character without pinning him down to just one speciality. The audio of the game only adds to the experience and makes everything that much sweeter in such a huge landscape. The 3rd person camera angle and jumping are better animated and makes that type of play-style feel so much more believable and realistic. The amount of work that has gone into this game is breathtaking and shows how much Bethesda love making games, how dedicated they are, how much they listen to fan feedback and how far they are willing to go to create some so big and enjoyable for everyone (I loved how they even went as far as to use a choir for the audio, its breathtaking). I for one as a student study to become a games programmer take inspiration from games like these, Bethesda have done a great job. Did I mention the game also have dragons? Completely unscripted which only adds to the re-playability of the game, the fact that even the developers don't know when a dragon might come up is just great. Yes, this review is incredibly favourable because the game in terms of a multimedia product only helps further blur the lines between film and games, and further shows what games can achieve and how technology/incredibly dedicated people can create such stunning masterpieces. However be warned, there are many bugs with this game which does hinder the experience as well as the same voices being recycled on different characters, NPC characters being idiots, etc. However with something so big its worth it. (I feel I must also mention how unlike Oblivion there is not constant lag on a horse and loads of pausing while the loading icon appears). This is my favourite game (could you tell :P) . I can't wait for future DLC to see what else Bethesda have in store. Anyone on the edge about buying this, don't be. Go and get it, I am very sure you won't be disappointed. 10/10.(First time I have ever rated a game this high, I am also a huge Gears of War fan yet wouldn't even rate number 3 this high) Expand
  95. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This as pure a video game as us gamers will ever get. Full of content and exploration, this entry into the Elder Scrolls combines the best of what made Morrowind and Oblivion great.
  96. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    Skyrim is beautiful game that has captivated me on many levels, it's breathtaking visuals, innovating character progression and great customisation. It is by no means perfect, although it excels through it's many problems. The world of Skyrim has lovingly crafted, there were no areas that I found to have no reason to be in the game, the lands atmosphere creates a believably hostile environment with every town and every location you can feel the hostility of the land. There is plenty of options for your character, there are several races to pick each with their own abilities, however unlike previous elder scrolls titles they no longer affect your skills. Your skills are instead determined entirely through your choice in play, using a skill will cause it to level up, when you have leveled up various skills 10 times your character levels up allowing you to pick if you want to boost your magic capacity, health or fatigue as well as the ability to give yourself a perk for a skill such as doing 20% more damage or being able to craft a certain item. The system is simple and works well but I feel I have lost much of the customisation freedom I had before now I no longer have the ability to level up specific traits. I also found many of the perks were somewhat unbalanced and could perhaps have done with moving around with very powerful boosts being able to be taken early with little effort and some of the final perks adding very little to the skill. It's very easy to become underpowered if you spread out your perks over several skills rather than focusing on one. The game is rather lengthy however this is a good thing, there are a near endless amount of things to be done that can be done in quests or by random jobs from villagers, you will never have a moment where you do not have anything to do however I found that many of the faction quests (i.e. thieves guild, mages guild etc.) were rather short in terms of main quests but heavy in side missions, it was possible to become the guild master of certain guilds in a matter of hours. Skyrim has a fair amount of bugs in game but with it being such a huge game its hardly uprising, you can get trapped in rooms, objects will float in mid air and menus will freeze, however it isn't frequent enough to cause too many problems, and the games frequent auto saving means you can easily back track if an error does occur. All in all this a great game and well worth any bodies time, its spectacular, but occasionally lets itself down. Expand
  97. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is a masterpiece that sucks you into a beautifully designed world full of little details that make it seem as real as it could ever be in a video game. This is once of those games that comes out once every few years that just blows you away. You'll spend countless hours exploring the land of Skyrim without even touching the main quest, but don't put it off for too long. What you'll find in the main quest is a great story with remarkable characters making it one of the best elder scrolls stories yet. Not only is Skyrim one of the best games of the year. It is one of the best games ever made. Expand
  98. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    A for Awesome.

    Well done Bethesda. Some devs still left in the industry with awesome imaginations, story telling skills and the talent to bring it all to life.
  99. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This is an extremely good game on all accounts. The first thing that comes to mind is that Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer Games need to take a few pointers from Bethesda on the innovation front (and the 'generally how to make a good game' front). This is the first time I can safely say my expectations have been exceeded (and they were already sky high).
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.