User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3634 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    Very good game, quite frustrating at times. It is definitely worth installing to your hard drive. If you have a decent PC it's way more worth getting it for that. I would recommend it on Steam, as you'll have to register anyway. I really think it's worth the $90 (australia) BUT it would be wayyy better if played on a larger HDTV (I played on a 2006 analog TV). I really found that it hasVery good game, quite frustrating at times. It is definitely worth installing to your hard drive. If you have a decent PC it's way more worth getting it for that. I would recommend it on Steam, as you'll have to register anyway. I really think it's worth the $90 (australia) BUT it would be wayyy better if played on a larger HDTV (I played on a 2006 analog TV). I really found that it has really low graphics compared to PC. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    5
    It's a decent game. I liked morrowind more. I know it's supposed to be played as a northern game, but I just feel cold and dark everywhere I go. It's decent design and the story is somewhat there. The music takes the game higher than it should be. It's a good game if played with mods. Otherwise it's too unbalanced
  3. Dec 20, 2012
    8
    I first went into this game not being all that impress with the world and engine but after exploring 100+ hours into my first build, I was very entertain through out the adventure. Non the less, your actions are not as impacting to the world compare to Bethesda's last game Fallout 3. I really enjoy the new Leveling system which comes in many skill trees. Each action you do for that skillI first went into this game not being all that impress with the world and engine but after exploring 100+ hours into my first build, I was very entertain through out the adventure. Non the less, your actions are not as impacting to the world compare to Bethesda's last game Fallout 3. I really enjoy the new Leveling system which comes in many skill trees. Each action you do for that skill tree levels up the more you do it, this will unlock perks on that tree that gives extras bonus to your character, depending on the trees you spend the most on will define your characters play style. Events happen around the world of Skyrim such as random Dragons crossing by, attacking a near by town. Killing these huge dragons rewards you Dragon souls use to unlock hidden shouts. I found the shout system really useful since it can be used for all play styles. Skyrim may be big with many events and quest to do but there isn't as much conflict then just the civil war. Choices kind of seem a bit limited and your actions don't reflect too heavy on your overall playthrough. Dungeons can get repetitive, giving you the same puzzles and enemies to fight but I have been wowed in a few dungeons that looked open and creative. Lastly, for an open world game, there are bugs that could ruin your playthrough but nothing but a good quick-save could resolve the problem. Overall, despite the lack of some impacting story/side quest, Skyrim is really fun and well design in gameplay. There are many ways to build your character adding new and different playthroughs with different play styles. For your money, your getting a lot for package. Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2014
    9
    omg i LUV SKYRIM! for a game made in 2011 AMAZING graphics! its amazing that the elder scrolls has survived since the 90s. on my main account, im a level 56 Imperial. i have to give credit to my cousin for telling me about this beautiful game. if you saw what i rated it, i rated it 9. you may be thinking: "why did he rate it a 9 if he says its perfect?" well it does get kind of boring atomg i LUV SKYRIM! for a game made in 2011 AMAZING graphics! its amazing that the elder scrolls has survived since the 90s. on my main account, im a level 56 Imperial. i have to give credit to my cousin for telling me about this beautiful game. if you saw what i rated it, i rated it 9. you may be thinking: "why did he rate it a 9 if he says its perfect?" well it does get kind of boring at times but that heppens rarely. whenever i play skyrim, im slaying dragons, learning shouts, collecting special weapons and even just looking at the amazing scenery and graphics! whenever i hear someone talking about RPGs, Skyrim is the first thing that comes to my mind. if you are thinking about buying it, do it! P.S cant wait for Elder Scrolls Online!!!! thank Talos for skyrim!!! Expand
  5. Apr 20, 2015
    5
    Skyrim is not the greatest thing ever is a average game because of the load times and glitches but if you can get past the load times and bugs its a polished game I recommend the pc version or oblivion GOTY if you don't have a pc that can run skyrim
  6. Jan 27, 2016
    9
    an amazing game full with things to do and things to explore. the only thing that holds it back from being perfect are the number of glitches. but besides that you should really play this game.
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    It's rare that a game comes along to not only improve on previous games of its kind but exceeds them. Skyrim improves in nearly all areas from oblivion from graphics to Talking to the characters and their interaction. The menu system and the leveling up system is also improved. But the most amazing thing IMO is EVERY object you collect from food to weapons can be looked at in high detailIt's rare that a game comes along to not only improve on previous games of its kind but exceeds them. Skyrim improves in nearly all areas from oblivion from graphics to Talking to the characters and their interaction. The menu system and the leveling up system is also improved. But the most amazing thing IMO is EVERY object you collect from food to weapons can be looked at in high detail in a 3d area. People giving this game a 0 are either brain dead or work for competing game companies Expand
  8. Aug 4, 2012
    6
    With each new chapter in the Elder Scrolls, it has become increasingly polished at the expense of being watered down.

    TES V is a polished RPG for the masses. Easy to get in to, yet rather un-rewarding to demanding gamers. There is no choice and consequence outside of picking a side in the civil war or becoming/not becoming a vampire and/or werewolf. The story is passable, but much of
    With each new chapter in the Elder Scrolls, it has become increasingly polished at the expense of being watered down.

    TES V is a polished RPG for the masses. Easy to get in to, yet rather un-rewarding to demanding gamers.
    There is no choice and consequence outside of picking a side in the civil war or becoming/not becoming a vampire and/or werewolf.
    The story is passable, but much of the content is based on "radiant" or randomly generated content vs monster type to get item from location. While it is a great way to generate nearly endless content, random will always be a less great option than specific structure and purpose.
    Many bugs exist in the game. You will lose followers, scripted quest events will bug, however, in a game of this scope ... bugs are just few enough to not be a major pain.
    Magic is terribly underpowered (that or melee is imba) ... the synergy that exists between smithing, enchanting and alchemy is game-breaking (your player will become a god, even on master).
    Combat is sloppy ... if you have allies, summoned pets, followers etc ... it is nearly impossible to actively contribute to a fight and not inflict friendly fire damage regardless if you are playing a warrior, mage, thief or hybrid.
    Most quest items have a weight and cannot be dropped (adding to the frustration of what to loot).
    Graphics look nice, especially the world at large and weather events. The ragdoll physics are a bit over the top. Animations are average ... I always thought this was not Bethesda's strong suit, but they have improved slightly. Music is the biggest plus for me in this game. I do like the perk/skill system although I find it to be another aspect of imbalance. That's about all I have ...

    Decent game, wildly popular because it looks nice, caters to the masses, some frustrating bugs (that remain in version 1.7), virtually no choice and consequences for the user, excellent game sound track.

    This review was based on 400 hours I spent with it. While I did finish both sides of the Dawnguard expansion, I have never had the desire to finish the main story. I have several level 40 characters.

    THANKS for reading!
    Expand
  9. Jun 14, 2015
    8
    Music 10/10 Beautiful, magical, perfectly evolves with the gameplay
    Voice acting 2/10 Awful. Voices don't match the era and style of the game. Conversations sound clunky and unnatural.
    Visuals 9/10 Stunning. Epic landscapes and buildings. People and creatures have lots of attention to detail. Script and story line 5/10 Corny and unoriginal. Not helped by terrible character interaction
    Music 10/10 Beautiful, magical, perfectly evolves with the gameplay
    Voice acting 2/10 Awful. Voices don't match the era and style of the game. Conversations sound clunky and unnatural.
    Visuals 9/10 Stunning. Epic landscapes and buildings. People and creatures have lots of attention to detail.
    Script and story line 5/10 Corny and unoriginal. Not helped by terrible character interaction mechanics.
    Weapons and armour 9/10 Huge variety and customisation. Great design and animations.
    Combat 8/10 Varied and exciting. Although the menu system is fiddly.
    Free form play 8/10 Loads of exploration and random world events to keep a wanderer on the road.
    Expand
  10. Nov 28, 2011
    1
    The reason this gets 1 point is that at least it looks decent. The muddy color palette does have its moments, even though it looks awful the majority of the time. The character creation is also very awful looking, it takes playing around with it for an hour or more to get something that looks good. One you get into the world, it is a impressive game. The cities are fun to walk around inThe reason this gets 1 point is that at least it looks decent. The muddy color palette does have its moments, even though it looks awful the majority of the time. The character creation is also very awful looking, it takes playing around with it for an hour or more to get something that looks good. One you get into the world, it is a impressive game. The cities are fun to walk around in the environment is fun to explore. However, the dreadful winter landscapes soon lose their appeal. The dungeons, which at first seem to offer chances and opportunities for exploration soon lose their luster as you realize you have one path to make, and that is it. The game loses all of its points however when it comes to three things. The controls on the PC are archaic. The controls were obviously made for a console, not updating to take advantage of the mouse is just lazy. So many frustrating things stem from this basic UI mistake. Like the fact that you cannot pick up items and place them where you want. You can only blunder into them like some oaf. The second major mistake is the companion system. They suck. The AI controlling them is retarded. The followers and companions are best left out of the game. This is frustrating because as a magic using class I wanted and needed a meat shield.

    Everything to this point can be forgiven. However, they make one mistake that once uncovered, caused the game to fly off my hard drive. They give this illusion to being able to choose the path you want, to be able to explore. However, tying the main plot to the thievesâ
    Expand
  11. X11
    Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Do I even need to say anything about this game? No. Nope I don't think so. Attempting to put it into words would be foolish, foolish I say. Ehem. 10/10.
  12. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    The black man is not your enemy. The Muslim is not your enemy. The Iranian is not your enemy. If the TV or movies tells you that someone is bad, think twice. Countries in 2010 that do not have a Jew controlled central bank were Sudan, Cuba, North Korea, Libya and Iran. Countries in 2012 that do not have a Jew controlled central bank are Sudan, Cuba, North Korea and Iran. Who is next? AllThe black man is not your enemy. The Muslim is not your enemy. The Iranian is not your enemy. If the TV or movies tells you that someone is bad, think twice. Countries in 2010 that do not have a Jew controlled central bank were Sudan, Cuba, North Korea, Libya and Iran. Countries in 2012 that do not have a Jew controlled central bank are Sudan, Cuba, North Korea and Iran. Who is next? All races must unite to pull the leech from our skin. Divided we will fall. Expand
  13. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    When I first took my first Elder Scrolls game that I had ever played (Morrowind) and put it into my Xbox, I was forever changed on what the rpg universe could deliver. The gameplay anf the graphics fr the time blew me away. Then, four years later, I bought Oblivion and when I fired my Xbox 360 to play that. I was again mesmerized. The graphcs in Oblivion were just absolutely amazing andWhen I first took my first Elder Scrolls game that I had ever played (Morrowind) and put it into my Xbox, I was forever changed on what the rpg universe could deliver. The gameplay anf the graphics fr the time blew me away. Then, four years later, I bought Oblivion and when I fired my Xbox 360 to play that. I was again mesmerized. The graphcs in Oblivion were just absolutely amazing and the gameplay was nothing I haad ever seen. Now, today when I went to Wal-Mart and bought Skyrim and then put that in my Xbox 360 and loaded the game, well, I was completely blown away. Bethesda has managed to do what no other game company has. Create the perfect rpg. From the incredible visuals to the beautiful gameplay, Skyrim does not dissapoint. I am kind of sad for leaving Oblivion. But when I look at Skyrim, nothing compares. Here is to the long healthy life of the Elder Scrolls and may there be many more! Expand
  14. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    A truly epic RPG. Another excellent, detailed and intelligent fantasy universe created by Bethesda. Bigger, better and longer than any other 360 RPG. Several small bugs, but with a game this big, and this ambitious you can forgive the tiny flaws. As Mass Effect 2 was given 10/10 by many despite major flaws, I can give this game no less than a 10/10. Best RPG on 360 yet.
  15. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Best freakin game I've ever played. Bethesda really put a lot of effort in this game. It is clearly their best product yet. If you decide to choose between skyrim, mw3, or battlefield3, GO WITH SKYRIM. I still haven't finished the main quest, but I can tell the ending is EPIC.
  16. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This is the best rpg ever made since baldurs gate 1 and 2 (period). the gameplay , music and the long hours of fun and entertainment really make this game the best of its genre and giving itself unlimited replayability . if you have played oblivion you should definately play skyrim because it is way better . do not worry about the glitches bethesda will be releasing a fix through its firstThis is the best rpg ever made since baldurs gate 1 and 2 (period). the gameplay , music and the long hours of fun and entertainment really make this game the best of its genre and giving itself unlimited replayability . if you have played oblivion you should definately play skyrim because it is way better . do not worry about the glitches bethesda will be releasing a fix through its first expansion. skyrim is not just a game it is an experience you will never forget . Expand
  17. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    My hat is off to Bethesda for releasing a game that is worth my money, nay, worth 10 times my money. It is sad that developers keep taking the playtime down. The standard used to be 10 hours and now games like MW3 offers a measly 5 hours. With Skyrim you will get 500 hours of quality playtime and if that isn't bang for your buck then I don't know what is. In recap, kudos to publishersMy hat is off to Bethesda for releasing a game that is worth my money, nay, worth 10 times my money. It is sad that developers keep taking the playtime down. The standard used to be 10 hours and now games like MW3 offers a measly 5 hours. With Skyrim you will get 500 hours of quality playtime and if that isn't bang for your buck then I don't know what is. In recap, kudos to publishers Bethesda and Rockstar for keeping gaming standards high, and shame on Activision and EA for polluting and diluting good gaming by caring more about their shareholders than their sheepish gamer population. Expand
  18. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Games like this are the reason I became a gamer. This is video game perfection in every sense of the word. Props to Bethesda for not selling out and adding a garbage multiplayer mode. It's simply not needed. You pay $60, and get a game with literally 1000+ hours of content. Sorry all you little losers who need to rank up every 30 seconds to find joy in a game - this isn't for you.Games like this are the reason I became a gamer. This is video game perfection in every sense of the word. Props to Bethesda for not selling out and adding a garbage multiplayer mode. It's simply not needed. You pay $60, and get a game with literally 1000+ hours of content. Sorry all you little losers who need to rank up every 30 seconds to find joy in a game - this isn't for you. But any true gamer will appreciate this masterpiece. Expand
  19. Nov 22, 2011
    1
    Desapontado! Poderia ser bem melhor, gostaria que tivesse chegado ao nível de The Witcher 2, não gostei dos gráficos nem do som, as lutas são enfadonhas!!!
  20. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    Best game ever created.I know this sounds a bit bold but it's true.This game really is a thing of beauty , and I'm really looking forward to the next ES game, can't wait!
  21. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    A magical game, such a great experience one of the best games I've ever encountered I really hope bethesda keep up the amazing work and release some mind blowing DLC.
  22. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    You Can turn into a werewolf and fight Dragons this is a very good game...buy it....now, WEREWOLF FIGHTING DRAGONS PEOPLE!!! Go to a gamestop and buy it already.
  23. Apr 13, 2012
    8
    I'm tired of paying $60.00 to be Bethesda's 'beta' tester. They will not see the halls of 'Sovngard', but the halls of 'Sheol and Shame', for their lack of perseverence, patience, and care. You know, those inherent qualities necessary for any work(s) to be called 'art'. I'm just about done with them! They need to improve their craft! Skyrim? 8.0 and not a penny more. I really want to sayI'm tired of paying $60.00 to be Bethesda's 'beta' tester. They will not see the halls of 'Sovngard', but the halls of 'Sheol and Shame', for their lack of perseverence, patience, and care. You know, those inherent qualities necessary for any work(s) to be called 'art'. I'm just about done with them! They need to improve their craft! Skyrim? 8.0 and not a penny more. I really want to say 6.0, but their willingness to risk new and broader territories (unlike Nintendo) is healthy. Risk and craft can co-exist! Expand
  24. Jul 1, 2012
    6
    Skyrim has a lot of good stuff, but it misses something very important: characters and story. The characters don't have anything to say, they're shallow, even the important ones. And the story, well.. it simply isn't that engaging. The game gets repetitive and boring after a while.
  25. May 14, 2012
    6
    Unbalanced, unpolished, uninspired, and shallow.

    If I were to define Skyrim in only four words, that is about what you could expect from me. For as interesting a world Skyrim is to look at, the developers seemed fine filling it with repetitious, "uninspired" quests, given to you by countless amounts of npcs', none of which in possession of what I would call an actual personality. The
    Unbalanced, unpolished, uninspired, and shallow.

    If I were to define Skyrim in only four words, that is about what you could expect from me. For as interesting a world Skyrim is to look at, the developers seemed fine filling it with repetitious, "uninspired" quests, given to you by countless amounts of npcs', none of which in possession of what I would call an actual personality. The gameplay, while serviceable, is rather unpolished and doesn't meet up to the standards set by other action games of today. Character development, not only weak, is rather unbalanced. The game rewards you for boosting skills you may have no interest in using, and the whole point of actually leveling your character seems trivial, being that enemies scale with you. Long story short, this is a rather flat experience. Sure, if you set your standards low, the sheer amount of content, as lackluster as the majority of it is, should last you a long, long while. Anyone looking for something thought-provoking and memorable, however, should look elsewhere. The game is a nice looking, yet very generic hack 'n' slash loot fest. If that is something that interests you, you will probably love this game. If you are looking for something more, this game should be avoided.
    Expand
  26. Jan 3, 2013
    8
    Skyrim offers everything that I look for in an RPG - deep character creation, great looking locations, countless quests, involving story arcs, exploration, deep lore for those interested and...dragons! I would not go as far as to call Skyrim my idea of a perfect RPG (there are some aspects that I am not so keen on, such as too many repetitive dragon fights and buggy companions), but itSkyrim offers everything that I look for in an RPG - deep character creation, great looking locations, countless quests, involving story arcs, exploration, deep lore for those interested and...dragons! I would not go as far as to call Skyrim my idea of a perfect RPG (there are some aspects that I am not so keen on, such as too many repetitive dragon fights and buggy companions), but it comes very close to it. Not a game for those who like their RPGs to be linear or lovers of cinematic cut-scenes. But for anyone who loves wide open worlds full of dungeons to explore, bandits to put to the sword and capricious Gods - this is the game for you. Expand
  27. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    skyrim is a awesome game with the best roleplaying elements i have ever seen in a rpg game!
    Combat is awesome with great finishers, the world is a lush vast beutiful enviroment and great to travel around in on foot.
    dragon fighting is also a charm and a great hint to the Giant hunting many new creatures are such a great addition to the game making the world more dangerous and deadly!
  28. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest games on Xbox 360. In my opinion Oblivion was brilliant but Bethesda just ended up doing an improved version of Oblivion there is the odd glitch here and there but once you get past that you see a true masterpiece in gaming
  29. May 26, 2013
    5
    For the first 10 hours, Skyrim is a pretty decent game. There's plenty to do, weapons to find, civilians to save, rabbits to kill, but after that, the game just ends. After I got through the stupidly short main quest, which barely scraped by as 4 hours, I figured I start with some of the guilds. The guild quests lines consisted of 3 fetch quests, 1 big fetch quest, and then I was head ofFor the first 10 hours, Skyrim is a pretty decent game. There's plenty to do, weapons to find, civilians to save, rabbits to kill, but after that, the game just ends. After I got through the stupidly short main quest, which barely scraped by as 4 hours, I figured I start with some of the guilds. The guild quests lines consisted of 3 fetch quests, 1 big fetch quest, and then I was head of the guild, all in under an hour. This is the same for all the guilds, including Mage's, Theive's, Dark Brotherhood's, and Companion's. The side-quests are equally disapointing. They all consist of the same formula: recieve quest, go to cave/fort, kill Draugr, return for gold. This is the rubrick for EVERY SINGLE QUEST.

    All I'm going to say about combat is that it is a joke. Two enimies run up to each other and swing their swords until the other one dies, not bothering to roll, dodge, or move out of the way. They do occasionally block however, but not that it matters if you do, because you could just stand in the corner sucking your thumb until your health regenerates.

    Almost everything from Oblivion and Morrowind has been dumbed down. Intricate alchemy system with calcinators and alembics? Gone. Fun spell making? Gone. Interesting quests? Gone.

    The A.I. in Skyrim is laughable at best. I had just got done single-handedly taking out the entire Stormcloak army defending Windhelm, (my fellow Imperials just stood around shouting, bumping into each other) and had just slain Ulfrich. I then proceded to walk outside and was immediately called a "milk-drinker" by one of my comrades. This is just one of the many instances where the A.I. completely ignores your achievements. I have slain hundreds of "powerful" dragons, become the head of every guild, lopped off Ulrich's head and single handedly took out his entire army, and sold my soul to 16 different daedra, and still people treat me like a piece of sub-human trash.

    Overall, Skyrim is fun for a while, until you realize that it a dumbed down version of Oblivion with laughable A.I. and dragon fights, complete with a boring world and copy-pasted side quests.
    Expand
  30. May 23, 2015
    9
    One of the best first-person action / RPG games I ever played (and yes, still playing since 2011). It seems it never ends (almost). The world is more than vast, the action is fantastic, the graphics (in most landscapes) are spectacular, the skills are exceptional and the music is plain epic! OK, as an open-world game, it surely has its "bad" moments (glitches, some minor slowdowns,One of the best first-person action / RPG games I ever played (and yes, still playing since 2011). It seems it never ends (almost). The world is more than vast, the action is fantastic, the graphics (in most landscapes) are spectacular, the skills are exceptional and the music is plain epic! OK, as an open-world game, it surely has its "bad" moments (glitches, some minor slowdowns, occasional clipping etc), BUT....I must say that these issues do not negate the whole experience. If you haven't tried this game, it's never too late. Try it now. XONE and PS4 are already here but I don't give a sh*t! I'm still playing Skyrim. I give it a 9 because perfection can never be achieved. Cheers.
    (retroshowcase.gr)
    Expand
  31. May 2, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I honestly don't know why this game is praised this highly. Not at all. In fact, this game really makes me wonder what people look for in a game today.

    Good graphics? I agree.

    The game-play, though, is already stale enough. It's way too difficult (I swear there has to be some sort of glitch... That stupid Frost Troll insta-kills me every time.)
    The story? Bland, meh, average, overused.
    Characters? Nothing interesting here.

    I don't see the point of buying this unless you're freaking Chuck Norris on steroids epic at games. This game is popular because of what? Perhaps the stupidest power in the game? Arrow to the knee? Another reasonless meme.

    But I'll give it this: it's the best of a terrible series of games. Well done Bethesda. I buy my first Elder Scrolls game. I instantly lose the respect I had for you after playing Fallout.

    In conclusion, not worth your money. Probably lower 50's/100.
    Expand
  32. Jun 26, 2014
    6
    Good game, just good. Nothing more, nothing less.

    It does not do anything specifically amazing... or great... just good. Especially compared to the prior games in the series. Oblivion and Morrowind had impeccable writing, design, presentation, and sound. Skyrim relies on its predecessors to make it look good and thats how critics reviewed it. If it did not have Elder Scrolls in its
    Good game, just good. Nothing more, nothing less.

    It does not do anything specifically amazing... or great... just good. Especially compared to the prior games in the series.

    Oblivion and Morrowind had impeccable writing, design, presentation, and sound. Skyrim relies on its predecessors to make it look good and thats how critics reviewed it. If it did not have Elder Scrolls in its title, it would not have been received so well.

    The storylines in each of the guilds is very predictable. It was basically, "Which one of the guild members is corrupted and will eventually turn on the guild?"

    The sound is not anything to brag about, just recycled songs from previously and what is original is forgettable.

    I have ragged on the game quite a bit it still offers a lot of interesting things and some of the quests are quite unique. The daedric quests in particular are really interesting and offer great rewards. The game also has a few interesting characters such as Cicero, a jester in the Dark Brotherhood.

    Is it worth buying? Yes, because it offers some good moments and a lot of hours of gameplay however some of those hours feel wasted due to fetch quests. It was not worth $60 however, you could pick up the Legendary Edition now with all the DLC for $30.
    Expand
  33. Apr 18, 2015
    5
    i dont know why people like this game. I mean, it is beautifull and "deep" but the actual gameplay is so slow. The swords feel like they are made of a 1 ton metal or something. The pasing of the game is slow too. You will find yourself more time in loading screens that actually playing. All the caves are the same and all the swords feel the same. Oh and there is no actual challenge, youi dont know why people like this game. I mean, it is beautifull and "deep" but the actual gameplay is so slow. The swords feel like they are made of a 1 ton metal or something. The pasing of the game is slow too. You will find yourself more time in loading screens that actually playing. All the caves are the same and all the swords feel the same. Oh and there is no actual challenge, you can literary complete the game with one hand. the spells are for the most part the same. There is no actual plot to the game. and the "decitions" u make doesnt matter at all. Expand
  34. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is just excellence on all levels, from the gameplay to the soundtrack, i just love it! The story is brilliant and so are the many adventures that await you!
  35. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I am a fan of multi-player epics like Modern Warfare, Battlefield, and Halo, but I have to say this may be the best game i now own for the 360. It is incredibly detailed and immerses you in a complete movie like experience that doesn't end in 2 hours. All around i have to say that this is a must buy for any owner of any console.
  36. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I was surprised at the swaying trees and shadows in Skyrim, with a game world this big I completely understood if it wasn't in but well done Bethesda. For someone to mark this game low because of a lack of multiplayer is absurd, and shows a complete lack of comprehension. You can feel the effort in this game, absolutely briilant. Yes there are some lower res textures about but this game isI was surprised at the swaying trees and shadows in Skyrim, with a game world this big I completely understood if it wasn't in but well done Bethesda. For someone to mark this game low because of a lack of multiplayer is absurd, and shows a complete lack of comprehension. You can feel the effort in this game, absolutely briilant. Yes there are some lower res textures about but this game is huge, a game like mw3 is tiny and can't even manage to get to 720p. Todd Howard you and your team deserve the accolades, thats what happens when you put in the work. Fantastic stuff. One again the rpg stands tall atop the mountain. DOVAHKIN, DRAGONBORN!!!!!!! Thank you for my ''perfect'' game, and Jeremy S that music is just insane, all of it!!! Expand
  37. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    So i worte a short text because of hate Steam. But now about game. I really like this Skyrim!!!! It is a wonderfull game, i promise dont use graphics mods for it. :) It is really perfect to world... Everything fine. The people(emo's, fan of manga guess dont see so hehe) Sure it is a console port and everything really simple but work so perfectly. The fatalities are good and system ofSo i worte a short text because of hate Steam. But now about game. I really like this Skyrim!!!! It is a wonderfull game, i promise dont use graphics mods for it. :) It is really perfect to world... Everything fine. The people(emo's, fan of manga guess dont see so hehe) Sure it is a console port and everything really simple but work so perfectly. The fatalities are good and system of fight good too. Only speed and lucks miss to perfect rpg feeling. And guess some things miss for example when i use imperial armor the rebels should attack me as it happen in Fallout new vegas. But i put 10 to this game because it is a really universum and i really like it :) Expand
  38. Nov 16, 2011
    7
    A véleményem elsÅ
  39. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    About 10 hours into this game, and having a blast. If you enjoy RPG's of any sort, you will absolutely love this game. Bethesda, as always, impresses with their latest release.
  40. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    A fantastic game. One criticism is that the game kind of peaks early in terms of balance as your character can quickly become superman. However, it is an incredible improvement over Oblivion. The leveling went from being an albatross in Oblivion, to a strong point in Skyrim. The world is fun to explore and there are plenty of nice things to spend money on. One other critisim is that itsA fantastic game. One criticism is that the game kind of peaks early in terms of balance as your character can quickly become superman. However, it is an incredible improvement over Oblivion. The leveling went from being an albatross in Oblivion, to a strong point in Skyrim. The world is fun to explore and there are plenty of nice things to spend money on. One other critisim is that its easy to forget you Expand
  41. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    A massive amount of content, a beautiful world, and an endless ride of combat, customization, and just a great game. There are a few minor flaws here, but they can be easily overlooked. Get this game, and get it immediately.
  42. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    This is a great game. The UI is a lil buggy for mouse control, but thats it. Also, I'm really laughing at some of these negative reviews by users. My favorite thus far is a reviewer talking about bugs: "when you get hit by giant you fly" -- no **** You think that's a bug that a huge giant hitting you and you go flying is a bug? Anyway, once the UI gets figured out for mouse support, thisThis is a great game. The UI is a lil buggy for mouse control, but thats it. Also, I'm really laughing at some of these negative reviews by users. My favorite thus far is a reviewer talking about bugs: "when you get hit by giant you fly" -- no **** You think that's a bug that a huge giant hitting you and you go flying is a bug? Anyway, once the UI gets figured out for mouse support, this game will go from a 9 to a 10 in my book. Expand
  43. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    One of my top 5 xbox 360 games was Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. I think to date I've put in around 200 hours on it, which for me, is nearly unthinkable, the only other games that come close are Final Fantasy VII/VIII/IX.
    Skyrim...first of all let me say that I for one have encountered none of the bugs and glitches that have plagued many gamer's experiences, therefore I cannot comment on
    One of my top 5 xbox 360 games was Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. I think to date I've put in around 200 hours on it, which for me, is nearly unthinkable, the only other games that come close are Final Fantasy VII/VIII/IX.
    Skyrim...first of all let me say that I for one have encountered none of the bugs and glitches that have plagued many gamer's experiences, therefore I cannot comment on those. My experience so far has been one of immersion on a scale I havent felt since I first purchased Oblivion all those years ago. The new combat system is a great addition allowing you to duel-wield sword and spell, or for added fun, equip spells to both hands to create a charged super spell :D
    The inventory is admittedly a bit clunky and swapping between magic and a sword/shield combo could have been made easier, but I'm just niggling really.

    The size of the game world and the detail that has gone into it really shows that Bethesda still know how to wow their own fans. Textures could be better but for the size of the open world, you shouldnt expect Battlefield here..

    Quests are varied and interesting and the return of the various guilds is welcome as they reward you greatly for veering off from the main story arc, which is something other RPG's fail to do.

    All in all I can see this taking another of my top 5 xbox 360 game slots. While its still early days, I can see that this is a game that will keep giving. Also, if Bethesda plan DLC along the lines of Oblivion's epic 'Shivering Isles' then its a game that will continue to give, for years to come.

    10/10
    Expand
  44. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Everything that Oblivion was, this game has improved upon. This game will suck you in and never spit you out. Hundreds of quests are to be completed in this game. You could buy the game, start it up, and spend dozens of hours not even touching the main story. One of the best RPGs produced, period. The soundtrack is also amazing and really makes it feel like you're in the game. Just go outEverything that Oblivion was, this game has improved upon. This game will suck you in and never spit you out. Hundreds of quests are to be completed in this game. You could buy the game, start it up, and spend dozens of hours not even touching the main story. One of the best RPGs produced, period. The soundtrack is also amazing and really makes it feel like you're in the game. Just go out and buy it already. Expand
  45. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is very similar in mechanics to other Bethesda games like Oblivion and the Fallout series. So if you enjoyed those games, you will enjoy this one. But this game runs on a brand new engine and just looks amazing. This is what video games are about, new and exciting .

    I've only played 6 hours of the game so far, but in that time I've never felt like more of a badass. Even a simple
    This game is very similar in mechanics to other Bethesda games like Oblivion and the Fallout series. So if you enjoyed those games, you will enjoy this one. But this game runs on a brand new engine and just looks amazing. This is what video games are about, new and exciting .

    I've only played 6 hours of the game so far, but in that time I've never felt like more of a badass. Even a simple retrieve an artifact quest can feel entirely epic. Coming from Oblivion its nice to see the Archery mechanics improved as well as magic getting a significant graphical overhaul. I already had high expectations for this game, but they were exceeded when I actually played it. A lot of game of the year contenders this year, but this is in a whole class of its own. There are good games and there are great games, and then there is Skyrim.
    Expand
  46. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Greatest/Best Game of all time

    End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion
  47. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I've never played an RPG in my life, they just aren't my type of game. However after viewing trailers and gameplay it was hard to ignore this game and not get sucked in so I went and bought the game this morning. I've been playing it all day and i'm hooked.

    The game really sucks you in from the very beginning. Whether it be main quests or side quests there's always loads to do and looking
    I've never played an RPG in my life, they just aren't my type of game. However after viewing trailers and gameplay it was hard to ignore this game and not get sucked in so I went and bought the game this morning. I've been playing it all day and i'm hooked.

    The game really sucks you in from the very beginning. Whether it be main quests or side quests there's always loads to do and looking at the size of the map I can't begin to imagine how long it would even take to explore everywhere.

    So to anyone worried they won't like this game, if they're like me and don't play many RPG's... don't be worried. The game will suck you in with its incredible environment, great combat system, likable characters, cool puzzles, imaginative quests and the rewards achieved when leveling up. JUST GO BUY IT NOW!
    Expand
  48. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Absolutely gorgeous game with a lot of work put into it by the good people at Bethesda. It is an immersing experience and the customization options are incredible. It's a game full of quests and enemies to keep you busy while not being overbearing. Of course a game this size will have it's share of graphical issues and small bugs, but nothing too serious. The one and only reason I don'tAbsolutely gorgeous game with a lot of work put into it by the good people at Bethesda. It is an immersing experience and the customization options are incredible. It's a game full of quests and enemies to keep you busy while not being overbearing. Of course a game this size will have it's share of graphical issues and small bugs, but nothing too serious. The one and only reason I don't give this game a 10 is that I'm not a big fantasy genre fan, if I was I'd give this game a solid 10 though. Expand
  49. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    The world of Skyrim is amazing, probably the most beautiful game I've seen so far. I don't know how many polygons my character has but it's a hell of a lot, because I can't yet make out any of them. The graphics and design are top notch. The atmosphere is awesome, mammoths and mountains and old villages and such, it all just feels real. The gameplay is great, it's pretty much impossible toThe world of Skyrim is amazing, probably the most beautiful game I've seen so far. I don't know how many polygons my character has but it's a hell of a lot, because I can't yet make out any of them. The graphics and design are top notch. The atmosphere is awesome, mammoths and mountains and old villages and such, it all just feels real. The gameplay is great, it's pretty much impossible to get bored, you can stray from the main quest and go do something interesting at any time. A large part of your time is spent managing items and this is actually fun. You can kill anyone, or go anywhere even if it ruins a quest. It's up to you to be careful and I like that freedom, there aren't many games that feel this open. A couple of small things I don't like are that you can't jump onto an object when you are right up against it, this unnecessarily slows me down when I'm climbing around. Also, the fighting is clunky.. it's well balanced in terms of your levelling and the capabilities of who you fight, but when you're up close using melee it's not very realistic. Finally (and this is what loses it points for me...the other two issues are only minor gripes), in order to make you feel like you are the character, your character is pretty much non-descript. You can indeed get to choose different paths for them, making them a thief, a warrior, a good guy or a bad guy, but it's not what I want. I guess the theory is the less you are told about them the more you can imagine your own personality inside them. Many games have taken this approach and it never really works for me. In addition the NPCs are not really that likeable, because what they do and say is always geared towards what you are going to get out of them, rather than how the story will develop around them and how your character feels about them. So you approach people trying to pick an answer that will get you something, rather than how you as a person would actually respond. An excellent game like this deserves excellent character development and it just isn't there. If something like Final Fantasy 7 gets a 10 from me, this has to get a 8. A huge portion of what I love in an rpg is missing; as much fun as this is, I'm not emotionally involved. Everything else about it is near to perfection. Expand
  50. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    I pre-ordered this game no daring to expect what I had heard. Several big titles in the past few years have been a huge letdown simply because of hype, and from my experience, not a single one lived up to it completely. At first, when the game started, the graphics seemed odd, and I dreaded, for a fleeting few minutes, that I was right, this game is overhyped and won't be as good as theI pre-ordered this game no daring to expect what I had heard. Several big titles in the past few years have been a huge letdown simply because of hype, and from my experience, not a single one lived up to it completely. At first, when the game started, the graphics seemed odd, and I dreaded, for a fleeting few minutes, that I was right, this game is overhyped and won't be as good as the past Elder Scrolls titles. But I gritted my teeth and pressed onward, and after the intro my complete immersion began. I immediately set off in the opposite direction of where it told me to go. I happened upon a butterfly, and decided to fire off a spell at it, it fell to the ground, clearly dead. I blinked, never before had aesthetic effects like butterflies been intractable in this manner, I found I was able to loot it, which again is a major thing (to me) for a game this immense to have. 40 hours later I hadn't looked back, this game completely consumed my free time. The story was amazing, the scope is so vast it is hard to grasp. When I tore away from the game to do a paper, I realized, I wasn't even 1/6 of the way through the game. And this is one character, in a game with so many unique play-styles and races.
    Worth mentioning is the random encounters. When I played the Fallout games I was very very happy with the random encounters, and in sky-rim, I won't spoil anything, but they get better and better, sometimes resulting in sequences of action that are non scripted, but resemble a multi million dollar blockbuster film. These events can do anything from giving you an item, or literally almost destroying a towns population.
    The attention to the natural scape is the first i've actually noticed in a game without someone else commenting on it. The jagged mountains jut haphazardly into the sky, sometimes draped in clouds or hidden by snow. And the best part? You can climb all of it. In conclusion many features from Oblivion have been removed, but the additions far outweigh the removals. What you are getting here is not only the game of the year, but perhaps the best game for many years to come, offering a completionist an Everest of a mountain to climb. Oh, and FINALLY, after all of Bethesda's games, STEALTH FINALLY IS USEABLE.
    Expand
  51. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Never before have I used the adjective "majestic" to describe a game before. As someone who never played an Elder Scrolls game before, let this be a word to others who haven't - it is on par with the greatest video games ever made. All gameplay and design aside, the vast overworld of Skyrim simply makes you feel; it has an undeniable presence and beauty. Truly a masterpiece, it deservesNever before have I used the adjective "majestic" to describe a game before. As someone who never played an Elder Scrolls game before, let this be a word to others who haven't - it is on par with the greatest video games ever made. All gameplay and design aside, the vast overworld of Skyrim simply makes you feel; it has an undeniable presence and beauty. Truly a masterpiece, it deserves the massive amounts of praise it has garnered. Expand
  52. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    I wasn't a huge fan of Oblivion and Skyrim is a big improvement over that however the one thing that still just doesn't feel up to stuff is the main storyline. I always feel a game should have that Whoa factor that makes you want to explore it more the storyline never grasped me I had to force myself to get into it. Now as for the sandbox that is superb and what I spent a lot of timeI wasn't a huge fan of Oblivion and Skyrim is a big improvement over that however the one thing that still just doesn't feel up to stuff is the main storyline. I always feel a game should have that Whoa factor that makes you want to explore it more the storyline never grasped me I had to force myself to get into it. Now as for the sandbox that is superb and what I spent a lot of time doing. Looking forward to spending more time with the game, but I wouldn't go out of my way to call it the greatest game ever it does a lot of things great but falls short in a few others, and I pity the PS3 users. Expand
  53. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    Very very addictive game. You will most probably not follow the story path and go questing on your own. You wont want to stop playing! A bit buggy, and the occasional low texture here and there, but otherwise, a very good game! would recommend it to any RPG fan!
  54. Mar 7, 2012
    7
    Definitely not as good as people say. It has frozen many times on me. I don't see how it is a "masterpiece". Felt just like Oblivion with better graphics. I think the hype was so high that people actually just started to believe it was as good as people were hoping.
  55. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Skyrim is one of the best games ever made from everything to characters, environment, graphics, quests its simply the best. i wasn't even a fan of the elder scroll series since i never played the first one on 360. but i am a big fan of Bethesda s fallout series and now this. i knew a year ago when it was announced it would be EPIC. your never gonna be short of anything to do in Skyrim the game just keeps on going. its huge i can rant about it for hours but i cant be bothered. of course there are some glitches etc but anyone complaining about the game is a whiny spoiled **** and can go **** themselves in my opinion. game of the year definitively game of the decade maybe you have to be a true gaming fan to appreciate this and not just someone that picks up the controller one day a year. Expand
  56. Nov 22, 2011
    7
    Not bad, really. I was skeptical when reading up on Skyrim in Game Informer and was reading the hype almost literally dripping off the pages. So, on a whim, I rented it from Redbox. Better to spend $2 and try it then $60 and either be stuck with it or have to make an unnecessary trip to GameStop. It got in my blood, and I HAD to buy it later.

    Graphics: Not seeing too much of an
    Not bad, really. I was skeptical when reading up on Skyrim in Game Informer and was reading the hype almost literally dripping off the pages. So, on a whim, I rented it from Redbox. Better to spend $2 and try it then $60 and either be stuck with it or have to make an unnecessary trip to GameStop. It got in my blood, and I HAD to buy it later.

    Graphics: Not seeing too much of an improvement from Oblivion, but it's still noticeable. I'm enjoying the weather effect and night-time hunting. The water is pretty, as well. Wish I had an o2 sensor or bar or something, as I got caught by surprise in the depths of a large lake. Skins and textures for things are a bit crisper, fire is damn beautiful, and things just feel a bit better. Lighting and shading effects are in full force, as is HDR. Sound: A problem for me. Good sound effects, environment echoes or grass being stepped on; all sounds beautiful. All of a sudden- DRAGON! Now the fun begins, y'know? Roaring, breathing, flying, breathing fire. Sounds damn good. Then we go back into town and I hear the same person. Everyone is the same. Almost. Most middle aged Nords are the same guy, almost all women are the same. There are TEN, 10, X, voice actors for the entire game. Bethesda decided to go the cheap route and use voice altering software to change tone/pitch, but you hear the same damn guy or woman. I myself am a voice actor and I just notice these things. It bothers me to no end.

    Gameplay: Combat is both different and the same. Backpedaling while spamming right-trigger is not a viable option due to the slower speed. Dual-wielding spells or spell/weapon combo is new to the series, but you can't help but feel like you're doing the same old song and dance. With swords. But yeah, familiar. AI for melee fighting has been improved. They know how to block for sure, and when they come at you, you know it. Sometimes they seem to get confused though. I've had multiple witches just run directly into me spraying me with fire or ice while I smash their face in with my war-hammer. It's like they're either fleeing from you for dear life or trying to make out with you. I've hardly found a happy medium in the fights. Still kinda annoying to switch to 3rd after seeing your weapon in your face, only to see you're carrying it down and to the side. Not a big deal, but noticeable.

    UI: Love the new UI. Who cares if you can't see what you look like-- Does it even matter? You can go to 3rd person and see it! Yeesh. I love the quick menu for swapping from my war-hammer to my bow in a pinch, healing, readying different shouts, everything. The new perks system and way of leveling up simplifies everything and helps you customize your character to more of your liking. If you want to be a crafty sneaky little pickpocket, but need that extra bit to make sure you're fully inconspicuous, there'll be a perk or two you can sink some levels into. It's simple and effective, but makes you really work and practice to become a master.

    Overall: Love it. I can say this with complete honesty and if you remove the glamor and glitz from your eyes and see the truth, you'll agree:
    Skyrim is Oblivion with dragons, new world, polished/updated UI, new items, and just as addictive. A good game and fun, but not at all what was hyped. Doesn't mean you can't still enjoy it, just go in with a clear/neutral head. And most importantly, have fun!
    Expand
  57. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Simply put the best RPG of the decade. Over 300+ hours of gameplay and a vast, open world where you can explore to your heart's desire. Only bad part is that the game is that there are some glitches that can ruin the experience. For example, while trying to enter the Mage College, I couldn't because of the test glitch. But even with these bugs Skyrim still is epic in the finest sense ofSimply put the best RPG of the decade. Over 300+ hours of gameplay and a vast, open world where you can explore to your heart's desire. Only bad part is that the game is that there are some glitches that can ruin the experience. For example, while trying to enter the Mage College, I couldn't because of the test glitch. But even with these bugs Skyrim still is epic in the finest sense of the word. One of the best games I have ever played. Expand
  58. Dec 25, 2011
    9
    Like Oblivion, Skyrim has a well-developed plot-line and graphics as well as a deliciously open world. If I have one complaint about the game it's that there is almost too much to do.
  59. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    I sat down six hours straight for one session, this game is truly a masterpiece. Best game in a long time. One of my all time favorites. Warning: Can be addictive :)
  60. Jan 9, 2012
    6
    This game has been optimised for X360, so it's getting the highest score from me out of the 3 releases. Nevertheless, I'm underwhelmed. ...... I'm a huge fan of the Elder Scrolls series (I've been there since the beginning!), and I love my PS3 and PC versions of Oblivion (PC version is modded beyond belief, and still gets a lot of my time). However, there were niggling issues with thatThis game has been optimised for X360, so it's getting the highest score from me out of the 3 releases. Nevertheless, I'm underwhelmed. ...... I'm a huge fan of the Elder Scrolls series (I've been there since the beginning!), and I love my PS3 and PC versions of Oblivion (PC version is modded beyond belief, and still gets a lot of my time). However, there were niggling issues with that game that I hoped would be resolved. They haven't. ....... Combat is still clunky and unbalanced, dialogue is awful, the UI is appalling, quests are linear and forgetful, the game engine (Gamebryo not 'Creation'!) is as buggy and weak as ever, and the animations in the game are 2004-spec......... The music and sound, however, are VERY strong, the world is well realised (Bethesda actually had art direction this time!), and the allure of the big open gamespace is as strong as ever. Dragons are fun, if easy to kill and repetitive. Dragon-shouts differentiate the PC from the NPCs, which is important. These are the plus points, but there should really have been more........... Besthesda are not pushing themselves. Oblivion 1.5 is nice, but where's the innovation, guys? Deep inside i'll always know that this is not yet the RPG I know this dev can make.......... Next time- get a new engine (a REAL, new engine), redesign combat entirely, come up with decent stealth mechanics, hire new writers and build a better connection between the game world and the people that inhabit it (better AI, animations etc.). Because as much as I love the Elder Scrolls, I can't pretend forever that this isn't a bit of a mess. -Loco Expand
  61. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    closest to perfect as a game can get. The graphics are fantastic,although sometimes stutters when there is tons of action or some textures look outdated. The textures could be better, but this might be because I have an old xbox from 2006. The action is fun and intense, but still feels a little "floaty". Despite, these few problems, the game is still a masterpiece due to a deep, involvingclosest to perfect as a game can get. The graphics are fantastic,although sometimes stutters when there is tons of action or some textures look outdated. The textures could be better, but this might be because I have an old xbox from 2006. The action is fun and intense, but still feels a little "floaty". Despite, these few problems, the game is still a masterpiece due to a deep, involving storyline, hundreds of hours of quests, exploring, or crafting, and just damn fun. Expand
  62. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    Many people say that movie games arent very good but i think skyrim is a good game. you play as jason born and it takes place in sweden. in this game you don't have any guns like in movies, that is because guns are not allowed in swden so you have to use sword. your goal in the game is to kill all the elves and dragons so sweden is safe to live in again. this game was very thoughtMany people say that movie games arent very good but i think skyrim is a good game. you play as jason born and it takes place in sweden. in this game you don't have any guns like in movies, that is because guns are not allowed in swden so you have to use sword. your goal in the game is to kill all the elves and dragons so sweden is safe to live in again. this game was very thought provoking, because not all the elves are bad so you are like nazi only for elf people. Also there was bug where when you kill some elf he get up again even though he dead. This game had deep exploration on morality which i like, because you are kind of bad guy when you kill all evles. more games should have deep storyline like this. Very good game but maybe sweden people shoulnd buy because it illegal in sweden to kill swede people Expand
  63. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    One of the best RPG's ever, a must get for those who wants a taste of TES series. Good storyline (especially before entering the Valhalla-hall looking place), range of weapons, spells, enemies, allies, armors, and much much more. Skyrim can surely be enjoyable for months as there are various mini-quests and side-quests.

    There are some minor bugs and bad textures but those aren't
    One of the best RPG's ever, a must get for those who wants a taste of TES series. Good storyline (especially before entering the Valhalla-hall looking place), range of weapons, spells, enemies, allies, armors, and much much more. Skyrim can surely be enjoyable for months as there are various mini-quests and side-quests.

    There are some minor bugs and bad textures but those aren't important at all.
    Expand
  64. pxl
    Dec 20, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece, a game with a lot of replay value and can be enjoyed in every sense of the imagination. Your playstyle can alternate completely and it's due to that fact that you can enjoy this game with the full capacity the game has to offer. Well done Bethesda.
  65. Feb 24, 2013
    5
    It's been over a year since Skyrim came out. I eagerly threw down money towards a pre-order of the game in mid-2011 and waited in line for over an hour to pick it up on release day at the EB Games I often took my business to. When I first played it, I was excited! Even on a console, where the inability to swap graphics cards limits the quality of the visuals, I was stunned by the game'sIt's been over a year since Skyrim came out. I eagerly threw down money towards a pre-order of the game in mid-2011 and waited in line for over an hour to pick it up on release day at the EB Games I often took my business to. When I first played it, I was excited! Even on a console, where the inability to swap graphics cards limits the quality of the visuals, I was stunned by the game's aesthetic beauty! I found the character creation system much improved when compared to Oblivion and the NPC character models had improved greatly! Now I could dual-wield, arming myself with a weapon in each hand, or a weapon in one, leaving the other free to cast spells, or I could cast two different spells at once! There was a whole new world for me to explore and it looked like a massive improvement over previous Elder Scrolls games and even when compared to more recent titles like Fallout 3 and Obsidian's Fallout: New Vegas! And there were dragons! Gorgeous, terrifying dragons!!

    I played for many hours, enjoying quests, dungeon crawls, or just the simple joy of exploration. Crafting was better than it had ever been and I enjoyed enchanting and naming items of clothing and weapons. I bought Hearthfire and Dawnguard almost immediately when they came out.

    ... and then somewhere down the line, something happened. I lost interest.

    This has happened to me before with previous Bethesda games. Well, not just any Bethesda games, but Elder Scrolls games in particular. I had no trouble finishing Fallout 3 with all the DLC. Ditto for the Bethesda published, Obsidian developed Fallout: New Vegas (which I think is better than FO3 in many ways). I had been burned before with TES and I should have known better, but I'd gotten caught up in the hype. "This Elder Scrolls game is going to be different!"

    The fundamental problem at the core of Elder Scrolls games, and to a larger extent their other massive open-world RPGs, is that Bethesda don't give a flying f*** about story and plot. They simply don't feel it's important. They see it as merely a hook to get players into games which they feel are all about exploration and freeform gameplay, which is fine for some people, but for me it creates a barrier. I find myself unmotivated to advance towards the end of the game, whether I'm allowed to continue after the main story is done or whether I need to do everything I want to do before finishing the main story because once it's done, the credits roll and I have to load from an earlier save. Generic, dull stock fantasy "save the world from ancient evil" stories don't really do it for me unless they are written by clever, masterful writers who are knowledgeable about the genre and are aware of cliches and tropes and how to use them in refreshing ways. Bethesda's writers either don't have a gift for this, are told to keep it simple, or simply don't care because good storytelling isn't a part of Bethsoft's mandate.

    This story problem was something of an issue with FO3. The main character was a vault dweller, like in the first game. The Enclave was brought back because Bethesda needed a main baddie faction and the Enclave are popular with Fallout fans, rather than coming up with a faction they could truly call their own. The G.E.C.K., the MacGuffin in Fallout 2, was recycled because it was easier to do that then for Bethesda's writing team to come up with something new. Fallout 3, though, at least boasted an interesting setting and it wasn't 300+ hours long BEFORE the DLC. Non-player characters are another major gripe of mine with every Elder Scrolls game I have ever played (Morrowind onwards). The NPCs in Skyrim are all uniformly bland. They don't have anything interesting or humorous to say (lines that accidentally go memetic, notwithstanding). It seems the writers have a tin ear for dialogue, but that might be their attempt to stay within the confines of the heroic fantasy genre, where a lot of people expect dialogue to be stilted and contain archaic words or turns of phrase. The voice acting, apart from Hollywood actors Bethesda hires for bit roles, is solid but unremarkable.

    In the absence of interesting NPCs, I find myself having a hard time giving a crap about the world or any threats to it. Why should I care what happens to the world when NPCs and even recruitable don't feel like people I can relate to. Would it kill them to try and make the companions in TES at least remotely interesting or give the sense that these are individuals and not just copy and pasted templates?

    I think I'm going to take a pass on whatever banal new land Bethesda wants us to fart around in next time they make an Elder Scrolls game. P.S. I really wish Bethesda would let Obsidian do all their Fallout games. Obsidian do a better job and Bethsoft could focus more time and effort on IPs they actually seem to care the most about. Bethesda collects royalties, Obsidian makes better games, fans are happy, everybody wins!!
    Expand
  66. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is the most beautiful, long and full of surprises adventure I have ever played. The most dynamic game of it's kind with a variety of gameplay styles for you to choose. The world of Skyrim is special created for those who want an authentic medieval game with a relative atmosphere and extremely detail. Each one character is almost special with their ownThe Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is the most beautiful, long and full of surprises adventure I have ever played. The most dynamic game of it's kind with a variety of gameplay styles for you to choose. The world of Skyrim is special created for those who want an authentic medieval game with a relative atmosphere and extremely detail. Each one character is almost special with their own personality and your character filled with your own one, if you want. This game, however, could be better, but for now if we want to be thankful for the work of Bethedsa, it's just perfect! And if there are flaws I can't look at these for too long, because the game has too much to offer and it's still perfect!! A masterpiece that we cannot easily forget and which we have to support if we want more like this in the future. Expand
  67. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Oh man this game was a lot of fun to play. I really immersed myself into the role playing. I think the only thing that could be improved would have to be the character models and the amount of voice actors. It takes you out of the immersion a little to hear the same voice actor over and over and over. The character models were a little too stiff compared to other great rpgs like massOh man this game was a lot of fun to play. I really immersed myself into the role playing. I think the only thing that could be improved would have to be the character models and the amount of voice actors. It takes you out of the immersion a little to hear the same voice actor over and over and over. The character models were a little too stiff compared to other great rpgs like mass effect. I hope next time they work on those parts a little more. Great game, I was never into the whole mid evil dungeons and dragons type of thing but this game was just too much fun. Expand
  68. Oct 19, 2015
    10
    Skyrim is amazing. Period. I remember clocking in hundreds of hours and still having plenty of content to experience.

    Graphics: +2/2
    Story: +2/2
    Mechanics: +2/2
    Replay-ability: +2/2
    DLC: +2/2
  69. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This game, in my personal opinion, is the best single player experience you will have on this generation of consoles. It blows oblivion completely out of the water. No, its not perfect, but it is as close to perfect a game of this scope can be and for that I give it a 10 for the best RPG game ever made. The End.
  70. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is fantastic, the improvements over Oblivion are huge. The way the fighting has changed (mainly magic). This game definitely has the most potential this year to be GOTY.
  71. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    First off, haters watch the video " if you hate skyrim, watch this video " on youtube please.This game may be the best game ever. Everything about it is fantastic. Sure, there are some very small bugs, but they don't even matter because everything else is done perfectly. There are no other open world games with this much to do or with this much detail, the graphics are the best than anyFirst off, haters watch the video " if you hate skyrim, watch this video " on youtube please.This game may be the best game ever. Everything about it is fantastic. Sure, there are some very small bugs, but they don't even matter because everything else is done perfectly. There are no other open world games with this much to do or with this much detail, the graphics are the best than any rpg or open world game has ever seen, the game is huge and offers so much to do, and the musical score is fantastic. I understand that people have different opinions and taste, but the haters that have written reviews scoring it 5 or below are either just really imature or ignorant because even if u don't like it, there is nothing horrible about SKYRIm. In fact, there is a video on youtube the hatere must watch its call........" if you hate skyrim, watch this video " check it out please. Expand
  72. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. Takes a crap on both Oblivion & Morrowind. It is what Oblivion wished it was. With all the improvements and added content that Oblivion left out. Skyrim is a complete game.
  73. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Simply Epic in scope. Between this and BF3 my PC gaming is assured to be great throughout the end of 2011. Thank you for yet another masterpiece Bethesda!
  74. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Some people really have missed the point of this game. Yes, it's buggy, but I'd love to see anyone create a game this large, this in-depth and have the time to sort out every bug in the game in time for a release date. Then there's the people complaining about the interface: It took some getting used to, but I've managed to navigate the UI fine now. Then there was that one guy who said itSome people really have missed the point of this game. Yes, it's buggy, but I'd love to see anyone create a game this large, this in-depth and have the time to sort out every bug in the game in time for a release date. Then there's the people complaining about the interface: It took some getting used to, but I've managed to navigate the UI fine now. Then there was that one guy who said it took itself to seriously: right, I did a quest yesterday involving me getting drunk and ensuing carnage on Skyrim. It was basically like The Hangover: I sold a farmer's goat to a giant, swore at some monks and angered a witch by saying I'd marry her and then called it off.
    Oh, and the people who say "it's too much like Fallout." YES! FALLOUT WAS BASED ON OBLIVION, THE PREVIOUS GAME IN THE ELDER SCROLLS SERIES! seriously, get your facts right before you mouth off about how supposedly overhyped and bad this game is when it's clearly not. This is probably Bethesda's crown jewel. The game is awesome in almost every way: the gameplay, the story, the RPG elements, the sheer scale of the map in which you get to explore as you see fit right down to mundane things like buying a house and organizing books. Again, I'll repeat, I challenge ANYONE to fix bugs in a game this massive. And for those convincing themselves that the critics have been bribed by Bethesda, go choke on your on phallus. The game is outstanding in every sense of the word, get a grip or get lost.
    Expand
  75. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    Yes the game has its flaws, humans have their flaws everything does. But those flaws do nothing to affect this game. Know this, this isn't a game because what it does to you is unlike any game or movie. Skyrim is in a category of its own. It is hands down the best not only game, but adventure and experience you can live in your life. It will absolutely blow you away, if you ever caredYes the game has its flaws, humans have their flaws everything does. But those flaws do nothing to affect this game. Know this, this isn't a game because what it does to you is unlike any game or movie. Skyrim is in a category of its own. It is hands down the best not only game, but adventure and experience you can live in your life. It will absolutely blow you away, if you ever cared about being happy, dreamed of a different world, escaping reality into a realm of your own, this is the closest thing to being in the Matrix. Ii will absorb you, it will change you and it will please your every sense. The immersion factor is truly incredible, no medium can take you to another world as much a gaming machine with this software running. A parallel universe you will never want to return from. An absolute gem and must play for everyone. Perfect 10/10 Expand
  76. Apr 16, 2012
    9
    Simply amazing! In my opinion clearly the best in the series and my personal GOTY. The limitless freedom of exploration returns and lets you experience an unique adventure that is setting milestones in the RPG genre. You have the complete freedom in what you do, there is not even a real class you choose: You build up your complete own in the flow of the game. The huge environment invitesSimply amazing! In my opinion clearly the best in the series and my personal GOTY. The limitless freedom of exploration returns and lets you experience an unique adventure that is setting milestones in the RPG genre. You have the complete freedom in what you do, there is not even a real class you choose: You build up your complete own in the flow of the game. The huge environment invites you to explore every single part of it with beautiful landscapes, an amazing soundtrack and interesting sidequests around every corner. It has been a long time since I was this satisfied with a game. Expand
  77. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I wondered how this would compare with Dark Souls but needn't have worried. Skyrim is excellent. It really is everything Elder Scrolls fans could want. Bethesda have done a great job. The graphics are amazing and so is the story. Do yourself a favour, buy this and Dark Souls today.
  78. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Took me a while to fall in love with this game, but I have. Beautiful graphics, very compelling storyline, huge open world to explore, and its fun! Some minor clipping issues and some conversations have a few glitches, but overall a solid piece of game. Exactly what I was looking for in an epic RPG!
  79. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    In two days Ive played 21 hours. This has fixed anything I could have ever imagined to be wrong with a game. Some in the negative section claim bugs and a sloppy PC port but so far I havent seen one single bug on my PC. The vistas are simply amazing and I think the throat of the world takes the cake for the largest whole mountain ever put into any video game. One thing I have noticed isIn two days Ive played 21 hours. This has fixed anything I could have ever imagined to be wrong with a game. Some in the negative section claim bugs and a sloppy PC port but so far I havent seen one single bug on my PC. The vistas are simply amazing and I think the throat of the world takes the cake for the largest whole mountain ever put into any video game. One thing I have noticed is that you level up at about 1 per hour. I think this was intended because when you hit 50 you hit the soft cap and they wanted everyone to get up to or near 50 so that you can spend all yours perks. (50/250 still doesnt seem like enough lol) Simply amazing game and I feel like Christmas has come early this year. Expand
  80. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    without a doubt the best game i have ever played. i've sinked 30 hours into this game in 3 days. i can't get enough of it. the world, the stories the gameplay, everything pulls you in. i don't have any complaints. (the conversations lap over each other sometimes, if not rarely, but this will no doubt be fixed with a patch. and as i said, it happens very rarely.) buy this game. if you'rewithout a doubt the best game i have ever played. i've sinked 30 hours into this game in 3 days. i can't get enough of it. the world, the stories the gameplay, everything pulls you in. i don't have any complaints. (the conversations lap over each other sometimes, if not rarely, but this will no doubt be fixed with a patch. and as i said, it happens very rarely.) buy this game. if you're serious about gaming, get it. if you're not serious about gaming, buy it and walk around picking flowers, making potions and just do whatever you want. this game is for everyone. Expand
  81. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    I purchased Skyrim on launch day, and once I started up the game, there were no load times, no advertisements, no logos besides Bethesda's but a clean interface going straight to the menu screen and new game. Starting and playing the game itself is like living in a fantasy world. The music, sounds, graphics and everything make you feel totally immersed. This game is improved from OblivionI purchased Skyrim on launch day, and once I started up the game, there were no load times, no advertisements, no logos besides Bethesda's but a clean interface going straight to the menu screen and new game. Starting and playing the game itself is like living in a fantasy world. The music, sounds, graphics and everything make you feel totally immersed. This game is improved from Oblivion in every way because there are no game breaking bugs, crashes, graphic, or performance issues, and the ones that they do have are very minor and can be patched. I have played about 35 hours so far and I can say that this game is a masterpiece. I have only been to one city so far and have been doing quests only in that city. I have not even gone through half of the quests yet as I have a long list of things to do, and each quest doesn't feel generic like other RPGs' fetch quests and kill quests. There are 8 more holds in the game, so I know I can expect much more than the 300 hours Bethesda advertised. Overall, I can't even begin to describe what this game offers and how much you can do in it while having so much fun. Expand
  82. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    The first few hours in, I'm enthralled. The storyline is rich, should you choose to follow it, but the game actually rewards you for actually utilizing its sandbox style regardless. Every area and encounter is different each time you play, and the soundtrack can really get you into the game. Other developers need to step up to this standard now. The renewed engine is great, and even withThe first few hours in, I'm enthralled. The storyline is rich, should you choose to follow it, but the game actually rewards you for actually utilizing its sandbox style regardless. Every area and encounter is different each time you play, and the soundtrack can really get you into the game. Other developers need to step up to this standard now. The renewed engine is great, and even with a PC gaming rig built 2-3 years ago, you can still run on high resolution with great FPS. The game play is solid, and although sometimes melee feels like you're not actually hitting the target, that is more than made up with the improvements to archery and magic use. Overall, this is the best Elder Scrolls game in the series so far, and one of the best RPG genre games of all time. Expand
  83. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    Bugs? Sure but i still love this game. Big Mammoths, Giants are the best (Dragons are weak). Love the gameplay, love the graphics. Overall great game. A must buy for everyone!
  84. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Just overall the best game I've ever played, they've truly outdone themselves on this game. It is art and will always be known as one of the greatest rpgs ever created during this era of games. I can see my self easily putting 200-300 hours in Skyrim over the next few years until TES 6 is released.
  85. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    An incredible game experience that anyone must try at least one time, do it and you never regret it. Excellent work done, Bethesda! One of the most beautiful games of the year.
  86. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    I've already given my s cents worth about Skyrim but the naysayers are really getting on my nerves! The xtreme fanboys too, but that's a different. Admittedly the game is flawed, in my opinion its not worth of 10 because it is flawed but just because its not a 10 doesn't mean its not kick ass. The numerical score is primarily a quantified analysis of all the technical parts of a productI've already given my s cents worth about Skyrim but the naysayers are really getting on my nerves! The xtreme fanboys too, but that's a different. Admittedly the game is flawed, in my opinion its not worth of 10 because it is flawed but just because its not a 10 doesn't mean its not kick ass. The numerical score is primarily a quantified analysis of all the technical parts of a product and yes skyrim has flaws but where it excels beyond anything else is in the intangible, unquantifiable realm of fun! Where else do you get so much freedom, so many surprises, so much satisfaction from a melee battle, so much pride in crafting a killer legendary elven sword with 40 points of fire damage and faster health regen to boot? Man, you guys who are dismissing this game for its minor flaws like the poor UI and the myriad of non-game-breaking glitches are just wasting too much time complaining and not enough to immersing in the game world. Those with crash issues have my sympathies but I for one haven't had the game crash even once in the 60 odd hours of play already clocked in. I agree that while pat bethesda's back for delivering on the promises as well as they have we should still be reminding them of where they should have done better but we cannot ignore the fact that there is nothing, nothing at all out there, no not even dark souls, that can match Skyrim for the sheer exhilaration and enjoyment it provides. I finished demon Souls and loved it, i played dark souls for two hours have haven't been back to it since i got my ass handed to me by a bunch of skeletons for the 300th time a month ago. I fail to see the point of making a game so difficult that instead of learning to beat it you are taught to abandon it all together because end of the day its a silly game, a virtual world, a non-existent foe. You play games to relax, to unwind, not to becoming enraged to the point that Dark Souls drive you to. I'm sure its a brilliant game and if i had the free time on my hands a much smaller share of real-life problems that every adult has i might still be plodding along through it one death at a time, but i have skyrim instead that makes it difficult enough for me to kill a dragon so that it is extremely satisfying to finally kill it on the 5th try but doesn't make those initial failure so painful that i lose all desires to hedge my visual stakes in the games world. To all those who enjoy dark souls or whatever, good luck to ya and kudos but don't give skyrim retardedly low scores just because you prefer other games. Any one with a modicum of fairness would give skyrim a higher than average (6+) score because if nothing else the effort put in must be appreciated. Everyone failing to that is being unfair and unjust and should be completely disregarded by anyone actually reading these reviews to decide whether the game is worth buying. Expand
  87. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Simply put, this game is a masterpiece of modern gaming. The series has improved immensely from Oblivion in just about every way. The graphics are beautiful, the world massive (as we have come to expect from this series), but the major improvements can be found in gameplay and overall presentation. The combat is revamped and plays better than ever and the world truly feels living andSimply put, this game is a masterpiece of modern gaming. The series has improved immensely from Oblivion in just about every way. The graphics are beautiful, the world massive (as we have come to expect from this series), but the major improvements can be found in gameplay and overall presentation. The combat is revamped and plays better than ever and the world truly feels living and breathing. buy this game. Expand
  88. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    Skyrim is a very atmospheric and engrossing experience that will keep you awake all night and neglecting your girlfriend. It is very easy and rewarding to become swallowed in the experience. The world is huge and most of the time it is beautiful. The quests can be very interesting with some clever twists. However there are bugs, the combat system is repetitive, the game punishes people whoSkyrim is a very atmospheric and engrossing experience that will keep you awake all night and neglecting your girlfriend. It is very easy and rewarding to become swallowed in the experience. The world is huge and most of the time it is beautiful. The quests can be very interesting with some clever twists. However there are bugs, the combat system is repetitive, the game punishes people who explore by not allowing the player to finish a quest if they have already visited an area and at times it is way too easy. The worst thing about the game is that it ends and there are times when you find yourself doubting weather that will happen. Expand
  89. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I'm 24 hours into the game and so far it absolutely blown me away. I can easily see me beating the 120 odd hours i put into Oblivion. I've come across a few graphically glitches and been stuck in the middle of a mountain once but in a world this sized its excusable.
  90. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    An awesome adventure game for... well... everyone. New beautiful graphics, Npc are very much enhanced, and the sound, atmosphere of the wilderness combined with the music just epic. This game of course has bugs but they are over come with the massive epicness which the game brings. And besides some of the bugs are even useful and don't effect the game. The only thing i found a small letAn awesome adventure game for... well... everyone. New beautiful graphics, Npc are very much enhanced, and the sound, atmosphere of the wilderness combined with the music just epic. This game of course has bugs but they are over come with the massive epicness which the game brings. And besides some of the bugs are even useful and don't effect the game. The only thing i found a small let down was the main story line. The ending wasn't as huge as i was expecting it to be. But all in all the other Quests like Dark Brotherhood and the civil war amazing. I think this game deserves the game of the year award. Expand
  91. Dec 8, 2011
    5
    Out of principal I didn't buy this game because of the travesty that was Oblivion. That game ranks among the greatest disappointments in my gaming life and I'll just assume they still employ the same adolescent dough heads that created that piece of crap. If you hated Oblivion then DO NOT buy this game. Don't encourage them. We need to some how get the video game industry back on track.
  92. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    If I decided to wait until I'd completed Skyrim to write this review, you wouldn't be reading it until next year at least. This game is big. The radiant quest system is capable of generating an infinite amount of miscellaneous quests, on top of the fascinating side quests and a main questline that is a large improvement on Oblivions. Skyrim's voice acting ranges from perfect to laughableIf I decided to wait until I'd completed Skyrim to write this review, you wouldn't be reading it until next year at least. This game is big. The radiant quest system is capable of generating an infinite amount of miscellaneous quests, on top of the fascinating side quests and a main questline that is a large improvement on Oblivions. Skyrim's voice acting ranges from perfect to laughable (but in a good way) and the games soundtrack is all you could ask for. This games only real downfall (apart from the odd glitch here and there) is in the visual department and is what stops it getting a 10/10 from me. The graphics don't render very well especially when you stand atop a mountain and look out at what you would hope to be a beautiful landscape, but instead is something more reminiscent of Minecraft. On a positive note though, the dungeons in this game are actually really detailed and far more varied than those in Oblivion. All in all Skyrim should be a definite purchase for any gamer, no-one will not enjoy this game. Quick tip: Bethesda have said not to install the game to your hard-drive because for some reason it makes the rendering of graphics even worse. Expand
  93. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    + Huge world to explore. Many beautiful places. Good graphics and textures. (Mods will make even better) No need to have super modern PC. Quests are really interesting. Large content.
    - Some glitches, which are not affecting the gameplay. Only few do. Would like to have more non-magic spells.

    PS. If you want Skyrim, you need to play on Master. If you don't, you won't have fun.
  94. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    After playing this game for about 2 weeks, Skyrim still manages to amaze me. It may not have the best graphics, or the best sound effects or the best non-glitchy gameplay, but by far it is an accomplishment in its own terms. The depth of this game is absolutely unparalleled. The landscapes are astonishing in detail. The musical score is exceptional. To me, this is definitely Game of theAfter playing this game for about 2 weeks, Skyrim still manages to amaze me. It may not have the best graphics, or the best sound effects or the best non-glitchy gameplay, but by far it is an accomplishment in its own terms. The depth of this game is absolutely unparalleled. The landscapes are astonishing in detail. The musical score is exceptional. To me, this is definitely Game of the Year. There's an abundancy of quests to do, and a lot of new things that has been added to make this the best Elder Scrolls (possibly best Bethesda) title yet. Visually, the game features the best graphics of the series, and a huge scope of lands to explore. The voice acting is very well done, as well as the musical score which adds to the immense world. Down to mechanics, Skyrim gets everything right, from the intuitive interface and hand to hand combat. There are occasional glitches, but none large enough to render certain quests undoable or places impassable. Even if you aren't a huge RPG fan, Skyrim is a world to experience and is quite possibly one the best games ever created. Expand
  95. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    This game truly is the closest to perfect I have ever seen. It does have certain moments in which bugs, or difficulty spikes may harm the experience, but otherwise, perfect. I loved every minute of this game, and I plan to enjoy far, far more. The graphics, are good, not amazing, good, but matters little. My favorite game in existence as of now, definitely a buy.
  96. MW3
    Jan 19, 2012
    10
    i want to buy thi s game it looks awesome but this isnt what im here for .. DOES ANYONE KNOW IF THE STOP ONLINE PIRACY ACT PASSED (SOPA) ?????? bcause if it did say goodbye to youtube facebook google wikipedia and other cool websites idk if xbox live and PSN will be affected.
  97. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    This is the First bethesda game i have ever played and it was a GREAT first impression i love how you can do anything you want theres no restrictions its just an awesome game im gonna have to give it a 9 though due to the fact that it gets boring after a while
  98. May 24, 2012
    9
    This is one of the first RPG games I've ever played. Usually I don't touch them because I'm a big fan of online competitive multiplayer, but this game is sick. A must for everyone. I got mates who only play COD, and they tried this and reckoned it's sick too. So much to do and can keep you entertained for ages. Played the game for 2 months straight when I first got it. Only downside isThis is one of the first RPG games I've ever played. Usually I don't touch them because I'm a big fan of online competitive multiplayer, but this game is sick. A must for everyone. I got mates who only play COD, and they tried this and reckoned it's sick too. So much to do and can keep you entertained for ages. Played the game for 2 months straight when I first got it. Only downside is there's no online multiplayer. Great game. A definite must for anyone. Expand
  99. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    EPIC is the best way to describe this game. You will forget about your real life as soon you start playing it. Best game of the year sure, for me is the best game of the decade.
  100. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    What an incredible game. The possibilities in this game are absolutely endless, you can go anywhere, no invisible walls nothing. Graphics are incredible and realistic for a game, storyline is riveting and keeps you wanting more, gameplay is smooth and feels natural and very exciting. The ability to change your charcter completely to how you want them to be is absolutely incredible in thisWhat an incredible game. The possibilities in this game are absolutely endless, you can go anywhere, no invisible walls nothing. Graphics are incredible and realistic for a game, storyline is riveting and keeps you wanting more, gameplay is smooth and feels natural and very exciting. The ability to change your charcter completely to how you want them to be is absolutely incredible in this game. There are literally hundreds of different ways to grow your character. I really love how interactive this game is aswell, you can speak to anyone and choose to be rude or nice or whatever. Anyway the list of good things about this game is endless so i'll finish it here. Absolute gaming epic no doubt about it, i would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of RPGs or any type of gaming. Completing it didn't even feel like a chore even though it is 100s of hours long. 10/10 Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.