User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3274 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I have playing video games since 1979. I can honestly say that Skyrim is one of the all-time greatest games in the history of gaming. Kudos to Bethesda for staying tried and true to what they do best and improving almost everything in the game since Oblivion and/or Fallout 3. Each dungeon is unique and fun. The voice acting is much improved since the days of Oblivion. At least they nowI have playing video games since 1979. I can honestly say that Skyrim is one of the all-time greatest games in the history of gaming. Kudos to Bethesda for staying tried and true to what they do best and improving almost everything in the game since Oblivion and/or Fallout 3. Each dungeon is unique and fun. The voice acting is much improved since the days of Oblivion. At least they now have more voice actors. What did Oblivion have...2 voice actors? The graphics and the scripting is also a huge step forward. The controls are near-perfect. I could play this game for 10 years and still discover new stuff. Absolutely awesome. This should battle Batman Arkham City for GOTY. Great job, Bethesda. You are one of the best dev teams. Keep up the great work! Gotto go. Dragon is on the loose. (oh wait...that's just my girlfriend). Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    The first thing I am going to say is that Skyrim is the biggest most expansive games I have ever played, I have been playing daily since the day that it was released and I feel as if I have barely even scraped the surface. I have put easily 50+ hours in so far. The second thing I want to say is the customization, there is so much you can do to your character. Initially I spent around anThe first thing I am going to say is that Skyrim is the biggest most expansive games I have ever played, I have been playing daily since the day that it was released and I feel as if I have barely even scraped the surface. I have put easily 50+ hours in so far. The second thing I want to say is the customization, there is so much you can do to your character. Initially I spent around an hour tweaking all the different settings to make my character look just as I wanted, then when I got out into Skyrim I have been customizing my armour. Armour can be upgraded to give you more defense, it can be enchanted to give it mystical powers etc.

    To sum Skyrim up I would say, as a player of all the Elder Scrolls titles, that it is the best so far. Sure sometimes it gets a bit buggy like killing someone and there body doesn't fall properly, but these problems are so minor most people won't even notice them. Many people complain about graphics issues and the textures scaling down, this has been addresses by Bethesda and a patch is being released. So really the best game I have played, go buy it.
    Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    masterpiece is the best way to describe Skyrim. Bethesda have succeeded where many developers these days utterly fail. The delivery of a game that (again) surpasses its preceding installment in the Elder Scrolls series. The addition of dualwielding, in itself, was a huge step forward for the first person RPG. Crafting, a new perks system and other additions wanted by the players showsmasterpiece is the best way to describe Skyrim. Bethesda have succeeded where many developers these days utterly fail. The delivery of a game that (again) surpasses its preceding installment in the Elder Scrolls series. The addition of dualwielding, in itself, was a huge step forward for the first person RPG. Crafting, a new perks system and other additions wanted by the players shows that they actually took the feedback into consideration. Good show on making a worthwhile game in this age of quick buck chasers. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This is the best RPG game I have ever played . I believe it will receive game of the year. It should receive game of the decade, if there were such a reward. I honestly LOVE THIS GAME! I recommend it to anyone.
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This game is excellent.I absolutely love it.The amount of stuff to do in this game is over whelming.The only down side to this game is losing your social life because of it.
  6. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    In typical Bethesda fashion, another Elder Scrolls has been released after half of a decade. But is it worth the $60?

    Although I was initially very excited about the game upon its teaser trailer nearly a year ago, my confidence weakened as more details and screenshots were released. The 60 dollars was the first negative punch, but not really enough to get me worried. Screenshots from
    In typical Bethesda fashion, another Elder Scrolls has been released after half of a decade. But is it worth the $60?

    Although I was initially very excited about the game upon its teaser trailer nearly a year ago, my confidence weakened as more details and screenshots were released. The 60 dollars was the first negative punch, but not really enough to get me worried. Screenshots from the Russian Elder Scrolls site, depicting the game to have pathetic graphics, landed another punch. Things gradually became worse as birthsigns were removed, skills were removed, and the reminders of previous lies told by the Bethesda team were brought up. The mediocre Elder Scrolls books by Greg Keyes only fueled my rage that this would be the blunder of Bethesda (a Dragon Age 2 of much larger proportions).

    I must say, I was decently surprised to find the game not only good, and met my original expectations, but it surpassed them greatly. Iâ
    Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Une note presque parfaite pour un jeu presque parfait selon moi. Je ne peux pas mettre 10 car tout jeu peut être amélioré mais celui ci se rapproche de la perfection. Ce jeu permet de jouer a notre façon , selon nos envies, et les possibilités sont très grandes quelque soit nos choix sur notre Role Play . ChaqueUne note presque parfaite pour un jeu presque parfait selon moi. Je ne peux pas mettre 10 car tout jeu peut être amélioré mais celui ci se rapproche de la perfection. Ce jeu permet de jouer a notre façon , selon nos envies, et les possibilités sont très grandes quelque soit nos choix sur notre Role Play . Chaque façon de jouer est très travailler et aucune n'est lésé ni cheaté. C'est lâ Expand
  8. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    This addition to the Elder Scrolls Series is astonishing and mind-blowing! Bethesda's new Creation Engine has made the level of realism in this game more than one could ask for. Being able to view the mountains in the distance and having the random chance of fighting dragons whilst walking amongst the wilds give the player a sense of adventure even when they are not following a particularThis addition to the Elder Scrolls Series is astonishing and mind-blowing! Bethesda's new Creation Engine has made the level of realism in this game more than one could ask for. Being able to view the mountains in the distance and having the random chance of fighting dragons whilst walking amongst the wilds give the player a sense of adventure even when they are not following a particular quest line. My player was out looking for herbs when there was a quake in the earth and then a cone of flames hit his backside. Dragons really can just drop out of nowhere. Between crafting armor, combining the casting of spells and weapons, and the storyline of having a war going on during the return of the dragons, Skyrim is beyond what anyone could've asked for. Expand
  9. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    This game is beautiful. without a doubt one of the best games I have ever had the pleasure to buy and play. From the first few seconds you are thrown into a rich story line and beautiful graphics. This is a game that is perfect for any type of player. Whether you want to be a light armored archer or assassin. A heavily armored battle Mage or anything in between you can do it.
  10. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    I can only say that Bethesda has done a great great job!
    Skyrim´s world is so rich in many way, that will atracts pep even if they dont like RPG games.

    and experience that cant be pass out
  11. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Utter brilliance. It's easy to pick on bugs, glitches, or flaws, because they call our attention away from the pure genius of the game. It's like sitting in Central Park, listening to the Philharmonic, and being annoyed by a mosquito who finds you tasty. The mosquito is there, and he's persistent, but the more you focus on him, the more you miss the magic of the orchestra. Skyrim isUtter brilliance. It's easy to pick on bugs, glitches, or flaws, because they call our attention away from the pure genius of the game. It's like sitting in Central Park, listening to the Philharmonic, and being annoyed by a mosquito who finds you tasty. The mosquito is there, and he's persistent, but the more you focus on him, the more you miss the magic of the orchestra. Skyrim is that concert. The world is MASSIVE... I've easily surpassed eighty hours played and have just barely scratched the surface of the game. I've completed the main quest, and ONE of the faction quests (Mage guild / College of Winterhold). I'm eager to play through it again, now that I understand the mechanics, but to try a different play-style altogether (trying to decide between thief or warrior). The story is compelling and complex... there are different factions vying for your attention, and when you please one, you will upset several others, so no choices are clearly cut and dried. Even when I finished the main quest-line, I wondered if I could have gotten a better outcome by doing something differently. I aim to find out. The night before ES5 launched, I was playing ES4. That was a 5 year lifespan for Oblivion. I can very easily imagine myself playing ES5 the day before ES6 launches. The game deserves the high scores that it gets. I play on a 360, and the interface is fantastic... when my friends ask me which platform they should buy it for, I recommend the consoles; the pc users all complain about (and, those who rate the game poorly do so because of) the UI. Definitely a 10. Definitely worth my $60. Definitely worth the money I will gladly pay for DLC. Could not be happier. Expand
  12. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    An amazing game, though the game is not entirely bug free as is normally the case with bethesda role-playing games I have had very few issues and nothing that could be called a game-stopper. what the game does offer is a massive world with lot of things to do and a lot of freedom in how you design your character and how you explore the world. With the reduction of scope for mostAn amazing game, though the game is not entirely bug free as is normally the case with bethesda role-playing games I have had very few issues and nothing that could be called a game-stopper. what the game does offer is a massive world with lot of things to do and a lot of freedom in how you design your character and how you explore the world. With the reduction of scope for most role-playing games in recent years (many feel short and channel you down a set game path) this is a breath of fresh air. Well worth a purchase. Expand
  13. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    After playing this game for about 2 weeks, Skyrim still manages to amaze me. It may not have the best graphics, or the best sound effects or the best non-glitchy gameplay, but by far it is an accomplishment in its own terms. The depth of this game is absolutely unparalleled. The landscapes are astonishing in detail. The musical score is exceptional. To me, this is definitely Game of theAfter playing this game for about 2 weeks, Skyrim still manages to amaze me. It may not have the best graphics, or the best sound effects or the best non-glitchy gameplay, but by far it is an accomplishment in its own terms. The depth of this game is absolutely unparalleled. The landscapes are astonishing in detail. The musical score is exceptional. To me, this is definitely Game of the Year. There's an abundancy of quests to do, and a lot of new things that has been added to make this the best Elder Scrolls (possibly best Bethesda) title yet. Visually, the game features the best graphics of the series, and a huge scope of lands to explore. The voice acting is very well done, as well as the musical score which adds to the immense world. Down to mechanics, Skyrim gets everything right, from the intuitive interface and hand to hand combat. There are occasional glitches, but none large enough to render certain quests undoable or places impassable. Even if you aren't a huge RPG fan, Skyrim is a world to experience and is quite possibly one the best games ever created. Expand
  14. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    My favorite RPG of all time. I've only played about 10, but I still love this one. I have over 80 hours logged on this game, and I still have lots to do. There are a few bugs, but nothing that can't be patched. it's fun.
  15. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    I am currently on my second play through, having finished all of the main quest and most of the guilds, and I must say that this game is amazing! The graphics are most definitely an upgrade from the already beautiful oblivion. The addition of jobs and skill trees is a fresh change from the restricted leveling found in oblivion. The few minor things that I found don't even warrant to bringI am currently on my second play through, having finished all of the main quest and most of the guilds, and I must say that this game is amazing! The graphics are most definitely an upgrade from the already beautiful oblivion. The addition of jobs and skill trees is a fresh change from the restricted leveling found in oblivion. The few minor things that I found don't even warrant to bring my rating down! This is possibly the most perfect game that I have ever played, and I plan to continue playing it for a long time to come Expand
  16. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This is the best open-world RPG ever made. Bethesda has made another masterpiece. Just the sheer amount of things you can do in the game is incredible. Whether it is doing the main quest, the dark brotherhood quests, or the companions it is incredible. This is the only game I've been playing since its launch and i have not regretted a minute of it. Anybody who enjoys games will adore thisThis is the best open-world RPG ever made. Bethesda has made another masterpiece. Just the sheer amount of things you can do in the game is incredible. Whether it is doing the main quest, the dark brotherhood quests, or the companions it is incredible. This is the only game I've been playing since its launch and i have not regretted a minute of it. Anybody who enjoys games will adore this game and hail it as a masterpiece. Expand
  17. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    I would give a 9.5 if I could, but Skyrim is probably closer to a 10 than a 9. This game is simply fantastic. This is the best Bethesda-style RPG on the market. Everything from music to graphics to gameplay is improved from Oblvion and Fallout 3. The only problem is slight bugs popping up, though I haven't seen anything major. Also, the animation can be a little stiff as per the BethesdaI would give a 9.5 if I could, but Skyrim is probably closer to a 10 than a 9. This game is simply fantastic. This is the best Bethesda-style RPG on the market. Everything from music to graphics to gameplay is improved from Oblvion and Fallout 3. The only problem is slight bugs popping up, though I haven't seen anything major. Also, the animation can be a little stiff as per the Bethesda usual, but this is greatly improved since Fallout 3. 100% must buy for anyone who enjoys Bethesda's work and should be heavily considered for anyone else at all interested in gaming. Expand
  18. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    The Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim
    The After Release Review
    Skyrim, a massive and seemingly endless world that continues to unfold as you delve deeper and deeper into the fantasy role playing game that is the Elder Scrolls universe. Skyrim, the fifth game of the Elder Scrolls series has proven to possibly be the best game developed by Bethesda Gaming Studios; the company who started the Elder
    The Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim
    The After Release Review
    Skyrim, a massive and seemingly endless world that continues to unfold as you delve deeper and deeper into the fantasy role playing game that is the Elder Scrolls universe. Skyrim, the fifth game of the Elder Scrolls series has proven to possibly be the best game developed by Bethesda Gaming Studios; the company who started the Elder Scrolls series. Bethesdaâ
    Expand
  19. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    The most immersive game world I have ever encountered, that alone stands for a whole nine. This includes excellent voice acting, very believable characters, unbelievable world encounters that actually tell stories, the attention to detail from Bethesda (numerous examples available) and numerous other things. The game world lives and breathes. This amounts to nine. Why it deserves ten isThe most immersive game world I have ever encountered, that alone stands for a whole nine. This includes excellent voice acting, very believable characters, unbelievable world encounters that actually tell stories, the attention to detail from Bethesda (numerous examples available) and numerous other things. The game world lives and breathes. This amounts to nine. Why it deserves ten is because of the beautiful menus, the possibility to play your character absolutely however you want, and one extra "+" for the pre-release marketing posters and images.

    Sure, there is bugs, glitches and exploitation possibilities - but that does not matter, the game world makes up hundred times for every letdown.
    Expand
  20. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Skyrim and Bethesda are awesome!!!! I absolutely love this game and find myself forgetting my uni work because I can't get enough of it. Yes there are some small bugs, but they do not detract from how brilliant this game is. You can tell that Bethesda really enjoyed making it which is brilliant and as a female gamer it is nice to play a game that is not all boobs and bum. For those of youSkyrim and Bethesda are awesome!!!! I absolutely love this game and find myself forgetting my uni work because I can't get enough of it. Yes there are some small bugs, but they do not detract from how brilliant this game is. You can tell that Bethesda really enjoyed making it which is brilliant and as a female gamer it is nice to play a game that is not all boobs and bum. For those of you who have complained about the game being medieval and fantasy, thats the setting of the game. Dont buy it if you dont like RPG's and/or fantasy. Expand
  21. Dec 13, 2011
    9
    Anyone who dislikes this game can take an arrow to the knee, Bethesda hit a home run with Skyrim, amazing engine, amazing voice actors, a few annoying glitches, such as the Esbern voice bug, i gave it a 9 simply because it does have game impacting glitches.
  22. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    This game is one of the best games of the year it has weeks of content, awesome gameplay, huge world, and lots choices to play. It has lots of bugs & glitches but what do you expect from a game that has this,much content. it has weeks of quests but lots of them are boring but you can still explore the vast world of skyrim. this game gets a 10 out of 10 and obviously like other elderThis game is one of the best games of the year it has weeks of content, awesome gameplay, huge world, and lots choices to play. It has lots of bugs & glitches but what do you expect from a game that has this,much content. it has weeks of quests but lots of them are boring but you can still explore the vast world of skyrim. this game gets a 10 out of 10 and obviously like other elder scrolls it will have expansions. Expand
  23. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    This game filled the gap of time between my quitting WOW and the release of TOR, basically hundreds of hours of my life that I am never going to get back, and i don't regret a second of it. Its amazing that an RPG can have this amount of content in it, and the Graphics are absolutely stunning.
  24. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    I have been playing The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim nonstop since it came out. The game has so many different story lines that I often find myself starting the game with no goal in mind initially, then before I know it, diving into some unexpected and wonderful bit of the game only to resurface totally astounded from what I've just discovered. I've played many of Bethesda's games, but this isI have been playing The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim nonstop since it came out. The game has so many different story lines that I often find myself starting the game with no goal in mind initially, then before I know it, diving into some unexpected and wonderful bit of the game only to resurface totally astounded from what I've just discovered. I've played many of Bethesda's games, but this is by far the best I've experienced. Expand
  25. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    This game is a memorable addition to the legendary Elder Scrolls series, and I believe the best yet. The graphics are epic, conveying the developer's dream for "Epic Reality" flawlessly. The quests are interesting, with branching stories and minor quests that actually feel alive. My best game of 2011, and possibly longer.
  26. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    Many people say that movie games arent very good but i think skyrim is a good game. you play as jason born and it takes place in sweden. in this game you don't have any guns like in movies, that is because guns are not allowed in swden so you have to use sword. your goal in the game is to kill all the elves and dragons so sweden is safe to live in again. this game was very thoughtMany people say that movie games arent very good but i think skyrim is a good game. you play as jason born and it takes place in sweden. in this game you don't have any guns like in movies, that is because guns are not allowed in swden so you have to use sword. your goal in the game is to kill all the elves and dragons so sweden is safe to live in again. this game was very thought provoking, because not all the elves are bad so you are like nazi only for elf people. Also there was bug where when you kill some elf he get up again even though he dead. This game had deep exploration on morality which i like, because you are kind of bad guy when you kill all evles. more games should have deep storyline like this. Very good game but maybe sweden people shoulnd buy because it illegal in sweden to kill swede people Expand
  27. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    I can't bring myself to rate this less than a 9/10. I would like to, as there are many problems with the game, but in the end I got hundreds of hours of gameplay out of this game. You can't say that about many other games.

    I didn't like several things. Firstly, dungeon delving was fun for a while, but became boring and repetitive (although you'll keep doing it for other reasons).
    I can't bring myself to rate this less than a 9/10. I would like to, as there are many problems with the game, but in the end I got hundreds of hours of gameplay out of this game. You can't say that about many other games.

    I didn't like several things. Firstly, dungeon delving was fun for a while, but became boring and repetitive (although you'll keep doing it for other reasons). Secondly, and probably most importantly, was interaction of story lines. It is feasible for you to become Harbinger of the Companions, Master of the Thieves Guild, Listener of the Dark Brotherhood, and Arch-Mage of the College of Winterhold in one play-through. Due to differing ideologies, this shouldn't be possible. I believe you should be the arch-mage and one other leader at maximum to preserve story lines and conflicts. But that's just me.

    All in all, amazing game. Only a few things to change, but hey, who wouldn't?
    Expand
  28. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    Skyrim is one those games for me it always give me that feeling like I i'm playing this for the first ever, and only one other game has done that to me! Sure it may not be popular as it use to be back in 2011 but I don't care what people say, Skyrim is my game of the year 2011 and best game of all time! The Elder Scrolls V:Skyrim 10/10
  29. May 13, 2012
    9
    An Elder Scrolls game based around Nords? Awesome. I loved the whole concept, and the vast snowy landscapes were varied and interesting, from the Dragons, to the old ruined temples, to ancient Grey Beards and their secretive society. I was a huge fan of Oblivion and even though this game is based around viking culture (which is another personal interest of mine) I found myself preferringAn Elder Scrolls game based around Nords? Awesome. I loved the whole concept, and the vast snowy landscapes were varied and interesting, from the Dragons, to the old ruined temples, to ancient Grey Beards and their secretive society. I was a huge fan of Oblivion and even though this game is based around viking culture (which is another personal interest of mine) I found myself preferring the former mainly for it's variety of story telling which seems to be lacking slightly in this title. Having said that, this is still one hell of an awesome RPG with ton's to do and numerous quests and adventures to be had in your own time. Expand
  30. May 13, 2012
    9
    Skyrim, is defiantly one of my favorite games of all time. My favorite part is the skill system. Being able to simply level up skills instead of mindlessly grinding for experience. You feel yourself getting better at a certain task. For instance, you will be casting flames at level 5 but when your destruction turns 25 and your level 10 your casting firebolt. The part that makes itSkyrim, is defiantly one of my favorite games of all time. My favorite part is the skill system. Being able to simply level up skills instead of mindlessly grinding for experience. You feel yourself getting better at a certain task. For instance, you will be casting flames at level 5 but when your destruction turns 25 and your level 10 your casting firebolt. The part that makes it interesting isn't that your skills increase with your level but your skills increase with their specific level. Firebolt wasn't because of the level 10 is what i'm trying to get across here. There is only one major flaw i had with the game, all of the side quests are more interesting then the main quest. I have replayed the game over 20 times (i know no life) and i only beat the main story once. While i beat dark brotherhood all 20 times. The game is a bit buggy but with all the patches there are no game ending ones left. The combat is a bit stiff and can be boring. Especially if playing a melee class. While magic is insanely over powered if you have a trusty follower. Being stealthy is by far the most fun thing to do in the game. I found out of the 20 characters i had, 3 mage/assassin hybrids 2 warrior/mage hybrids 1 normal warrior type 6 pure mages and the rest were all stealthy when in every single other game i'm ALWAYS A MAGE. and never the sneak. THAT JUST HOWS THE IMPACT THIS GAME CAN HAVE ON THE PLAYER. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.