The First Templar Xbox 360

  • Publisher: Kalypso
  • Release Date: May 17, 2011
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 9 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Jun 27, 2011
    45
    While it is clear most of the time what the developers were trying to achieve, The First Templar is a bland, repetitive game that lacks the level of polish that most games nowadays have to be considered average.
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    45
    Simply embarassing in every aspect, dull and meaningless. Avoidable.
  3. May 30, 2011
    45
    One the worst games of 2011. An annoying story, a repetitive gameplay and awful graphics make the game unplayble most of the time.
  4. games(TM)
    Jul 23, 2011
    40
    Consistently let down by poor design decisions and outdated play mechanics. [Issue#111, p.116]
  5. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jun 28, 2011
    40
    More fun than being tortured and killed, but still not really much of an advertisement for 13th Century living. [Issue#73, p.87]
  6. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jun 25, 2011
    40
    Ropey adventure with semi-redemptive co-op. [July 2011, p.96]
  7. Jun 2, 2011
    40
    Apparently, Kalypso found "The First Templar" while dusting the attic, in a trunk labeled "2002" and decided to publish it.
  8. May 19, 2011
    40
    It's the sort of title you'd be disappointed if your parents picked up, because it's not only broken at times, but it also reminds you of all the other games that do the same thing but better.
  9. A dull, zero budget hack-'n'-slasher with a mad plot and easy Achievements. [Aug 2011, p.95]
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. May 17, 2011
    8
    First of all,i should say this game obviously didnt have the budget of a Triple A title,& because this game is a little rough around the edgesFirst of all,i should say this game obviously didnt have the budget of a Triple A title,& because this game is a little rough around the edges i can imagine that it wont be well recieved by critics,& some gamers will dismiss it before discovering how great this title is.. This game is about 2 Templar Knights(not to be confused with the Historically inaccurate bad-guy templars in Assassins Creed)serach for the Holy Grail.I wont go into why,but one of the characters gets replaced by a different one,during the course of the game.This is a pretty big game though,& has you in many different & varied locations in the world,in your quest,fighting different kinds of foes.I should point out,this is not a free roaming game,like GTA or Assassins Creed.Though the levels are big,& your free to backtrack & go wherever you want within them,& its worth doing so,because there are collectibles to find,like journal entries,Buffs that will iimprove your characters in some way for the rest of the level,or pieces of collectiable weapon & armour sets,that once completed,you can equip.I'll start with the negatives first,then move onto the positives.Theres only 3 negatives i can think of with this game,& they are fairly trivial,& not game breaking.Firstly,as i hinted at earlier,the graphics are not the best you'll ever see,though i cant say they're bad either,& do the job nicely,never going below average.In fact,in some locations,they look great,but either way,the detail on the characters clothes & armour is very good.In fact i'm quite impressed how historically accurate the armour & weapons look.(I know,because i have a big interest in this period,weapons&armours,& know how they look).Alot of attention also has gone into the historical accuracy with the people & events of the time,& the facts about the Templars themselves,which i wasnt expecting. But people that will accept nothing less than Top notch graphics will probably try for a bit,then dismiss,or ignore completely this game,which is a shame,because it plays great(I'll come to that later).The second negative,is turning the camera feels a little stiff,as there isnt a great range of analog movement(you cant move it very slowly,in minute detail),but it doesnt affect gameplay,& perhaps can be sorted in a patch. & the last negative,is that when playing Co-Op(offline at least,havnt played online yet),Only player one will get the achievments,as everything collected etc only applies to that players saved game.But if your like me,& dont care about achievments,it wont matter.Besides,its a good excuse to play through again,or play solo,so its not all bad.I'm gonna keep re-playing this anyway,because its fun. Right,the good points.First,it has Co-Op,On & Offline(Splitscreen in Offline,so your not tethered together),& it works very well.I'm impressed how historically accurate this game is.If you've looked at screenshots or videos of this game,& thought it has a resembalance to Assassins Creed,you'd be right,At least as the Combat & time period goes.the combat is this games real calling card.As like Creed,its very tactical & very well paced.you'll often find yourself surrounded,so have to use your blocking,& time your blocking attacks & counter attacks.Your moves start out fairly basic,but as you fight,you gain experience,which can be used to buy more moves,offensive & defensive,from a pretty big,skill tree.This is where your patience with the game early on becomes rewarded,giving you more health(in the form of backup health bars,Crackdown style),to more Zeals you can store(lets you use heavier moves),to running attacks,better,bigger & more damaging combos,Healing moves,moves that allow you to hold an enemy,while your partner finishes them,& many other moves i cant go into here.The combat is very satisfying.You even have to block against melee & arrow attcaks,buy blocking in the direction of the attack,which is indicated by a symbol,giving you time to react.It works very well.Not to mention the nice little finishing move animations.The combat is best described as a cross between Assassins Creed,& Demon Souls,But dont expect fast paced God of War paced combat here(not that i dont like GoW,which i do in a game that suits it).But anyone who's interested in the look of this game,the time period,The Crusades,The real Templars,& the subject matter,& enjoy the combat in Assassins Creed/Demon Souls or the movie Kingdom of Heaven,will enjoy whats on offer in this game,I & the Girlfriend do. As i said,Its a little rough around the edges,but theres a REAL gem under there,Try with an open mind,& you will be rewarded.. Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2011
    8
    I went into The First Templar not expecting much and yet i was surprised to find that hours later i was still playing and enjoying it. YesI went into The First Templar not expecting much and yet i was surprised to find that hours later i was still playing and enjoying it. Yes the graphics arent up to par and the voice acting is bit shoddy but i found the story engaging and i kept going back for just one more level. I believe that this is another game like Deadly Premonition where you'll either like it for its quirky charm or hate it because of its faults. I am one of he former. So i'd say possibly rent it and you may be pleasantly surprised. Full Review »
  3. May 30, 2013
    1
    I can't fully explain how bad this game was, but I will try. The storyline is bland, the graphics belong on the gamecube, the combat is aI can't fully explain how bad this game was, but I will try. The storyline is bland, the graphics belong on the gamecube, the combat is a joke, the gameplay cutscenes are N64 standards and it just falls flat. If you enjoy pressing x for about 8 hours then pick up this game, but this game doesn't deserve a mediocre rating. It deserves a rating. The only reason I didn't give this game a 0 out of 10 was because the main character was decent and his voice actor was well done, but besides that, I hate everything about this loathsome piece of filth. Full Review »