The Lord of the Rings: War in the North Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In The Lord of the Rings: War in the North, players can become the heroes in the great battle of the North as part of the epic War of the Ring. Exploring unseen lands, story elements and characters from Middle-earth as well as elements familiar from past feature films, gamers will experienceIn The Lord of the Rings: War in the North, players can become the heroes in the great battle of the North as part of the epic War of the Ring. Exploring unseen lands, story elements and characters from Middle-earth as well as elements familiar from past feature films, gamers will experience extensive character customization and development, expansive co-op gameplay options and upgradeable weapons, skills and special abilities. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 48
  2. Negative: 7 out of 48
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    86
    While a few things could use some revision work, overall this game is a masterpiece for Tolkien fans and shouldn't be missed.
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    75
    War in the North is a solid game that has some challenging battles despite of the bad AI. The game can't stand up towards other big releases during this time of the year, but the three player co-op will keep fans of the franchise and the genre busy for many hours.
  3. Dec 23, 2011
    70
    It's a comfortable Action RPG that makes up for its shortcomings with addictive fun, cool three-player co-op and a goddamned giant talking eagle. Just push a few boundaries and hire a scriptwriter next time Snowblind, please.
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    65
    Although the story is original and its combat and roleplaying gameplay is a good idea, there are things that doesn't work well. Roleplaying elements are well-made, but they are not that important, and combat lacks depth, and the enemy AI is limited. An average game that won't make history.
  5. Dec 1, 2011
    60
    Saved by the co-op mode, but this is a repetitive action RPG with quite a few bugs.
  6. Nov 1, 2011
    55
    I can only say one good thing about War in the North: It could have been awesome.
  7. Nov 7, 2011
    25
    Lord Of The Rings: War In The North is rooted in epic literature, but it has miserably low narrative standards.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This game is the best in the saga of The Lord of the Rings, for all: atmosphere, graphics, sound, length, fun ... some people say it is veryThis game is the best in the saga of The Lord of the Rings, for all: atmosphere, graphics, sound, length, fun ... some people say it is very repetitive, they do not understand, really. Great game. Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2011
    9
    One of the best games of the year and very, very underrated. I was eagerly waiting for this game since the start of the year and althoughOne of the best games of the year and very, very underrated. I was eagerly waiting for this game since the start of the year and although there were other bigger games being released, this game never dropped off my little list of high expectations. I just bought the game for Christmas and have only played 2-3 hours of it so far and will be starting all over again on Christmas Day, in the short amount of time I have played, I have enjoyed every minute of it.. The quests are very innovated and challenging yet fun to complete. Co-Op works very well and there is no lag when playing, there are few bugs/glitches so you can tell this is a very well polished game, one thing that does bother me about this game is that although there is online Co-Op.. there is no versus multi-player which can make the game less re-playable after completion with all three characters. This game has been given negative reviews which are totally uncalled for as although this game isn't perfect, it's one of the great RPG's to be released in years and the graphics, gameplay and innovation makes this game a lot of fun to play and deserves more recognition... I feel this game has been overshadowed by Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim which in my opinion sucks compared to War in the North.. I would recommend this game to anyone who wants to enjoy spending many hours completing challenging quests and who want to play with friends/family. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    don't believe the negative hype... not a "perfect" game by today's standards, but then again, today's standards mean, take a genre, streamlinedon't believe the negative hype... not a "perfect" game by today's standards, but then again, today's standards mean, take a genre, streamline the hell out of it, add shooting, action, a little puzzling and a dash of RPG and never make the gamer read anything... this game reminds me a lot of the Baldur's gate dark alliance games snowblind made for the PS2. i love the game, yes it has some bugs and yeah i'm seeing lots of mediocre scores, but this is the first time i have played a game at launch from the time i picked it up until morning, since dragon age origins.

    the gear system is great, you see a nice visual treat every time you find gear and it does a real service to the LotR lore. all gear is crafted by either an area or a race. like dwarf armor has a certain style to it, or swords made by men of bree etc... again, very much like DAO here, it feels like a real world of artisans have been pumping out gear for your survival and enjoyment. and you never have too much to deal with, its the perfect amount of gear to sell and upgrade without ever feeling overwhelmed... and you never have so much gold that you can buy anything and everything you want, the game has a nice amount of difficulty and a great finesse combat system thats very rewarding. do yourself a favor and AT LEAST rent this. i can't wait to play some more tomorrow!!!
    Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2011
    8
    I think of this as the "Force Unleashed" of the LOTR video game series, except better graphics wise. In reality, I give this a 7.75, but an 8I think of this as the "Force Unleashed" of the LOTR video game series, except better graphics wise. In reality, I give this a 7.75, but an 8 is just as good. If you don't get the story right away, you really can't play this game yet until you either read the books or watch the movies (extended versions, they help more) as you can use this to understand the series better. The story uses some original event indicators in the first chapter, but the fellowship is no longer referenced after the beginning of the second chapter except for when the game ends. In other words, it's too disconnected from the original series of events, but I like that they made their own story that may be a bit dull, but it works. The graphics look great and the environments are just big and beautiful. Some even resemble what they looked like from the films. Some of the characters look and sound different from their film counterparts, which can be a problem is you are used to that voice from the films (no reprisals here, folks). But some do try, though.

    The characters are just as you expect. Ranger, Dwarf, and Elf fight together in many battles against many enemies. The voice acting can be flat (I'm looking at you two, Ranger and Elf!) and the characters, while a big part of the war, can be forgettable. For enemy AI, it's impressive. They can put up a fight and can kill you easily if outnumbered or don't do enough damage. The bosses are just as hard, as they have some hard attacks than kill you instantly if you are not paying attention to what you are doing and what the enemy's next attack is. Your companion AI, I can't say the same. They help a lot in fighting and healing, but in healing, if two people are down (including you), they'll go to the one nearby, while you are left for dead. You can call them all day, they won't come unless the one nearby is healed. If you have other friends playing, it's fine. So, take warning.

    RPG elements are present here, and they can help you a lot in battle. You can level up your combat, stamina, or health with level up points. Skill points also help, as they can allow you to dual-wield weapons, add more arrows to your crossbow, or help you unlock skills in combat. These feel rewarding, as you are helping yourself survive more, defeat enemies easier, and help out your companions. Weapons are also collected throughout the game. You can wield them, drop them, give them to someone who needs them the most, or sell them for a great price. Armor and other articles of clothing can also be collected to help you increase your armor. Everything can go dull, so you may have to change stuff every now and then, or you can get them repaired for a great price from your coins that you collect all throughout. You can also buy weapons, potions, and armor from the shop located in a spot of the level or your current hub. As the first M-rated LOTR game, it does a great job trying to present a new story about a war that was only mentioned briefly in the content and text. It gathers a lot of bloody details (and I really mean bloody) and brings them all together into a nice LOTR RPG. This has almost all you wanted from a LOTR game, but a few problems stop it from achieving greatness. But, as I have detailed throughout this review, it may be close enough to it. Give it a chance if you feel like it, and you may like it, as I have.
    Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    A really enjoyable game, has always been a fan of lotr games, and conquest was really a let down, this is a major improvement to that, whileA really enjoyable game, has always been a fan of lotr games, and conquest was really a let down, this is a major improvement to that, while it is not the perfect game, has it's flaws and could be improved , i really enjoy this game and if metacritic allowed it i would have given it a 8.5. A definitive buy for those who are fans of lotr and or hack and slash. Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2012
    7
    War in the North is a fun title if you enjoy a good hack and slash, or Snowblind's prior works such as Champions. While nowhere as well doneWar in the North is a fun title if you enjoy a good hack and slash, or Snowblind's prior works such as Champions. While nowhere as well done as Return to Arms, it certainly shows the influence. You have three character choices with actual different play styles and game opportunities, and combat is visceral and largely satisfying. The game also has a really authentic art and beautiful art style, each piece of equipment is true to the lore set by the films and varies depending on the craftsman (be it man, elf or dwarf). The things that really water down the game (and its score) are the concessions to casual players. Treasure is everywhere and multiple players (the best way to play) can all loot the same chest. There are these 'magic shops' (is it even explained?) that serve as the main way to pawn off gear (no need to even town portal Diablo style). And because of this, the teamwork of trading items and gold doesn't even exist. A few FPS style last stand sequences with ballistas feel out of place and overall it is a little easy. However, it looks nice, plays well and is one of the better games to bear the LotR franchise. I debated giving it a 6, but it received an extra point for being a fun coop game that supports system link. Expand
  7. Oct 22, 2012
    1
    Hands down one of the worst games I have ever played. The combat is as clunky as it gets, and there is no balance whatsoever to it. If you'reHands down one of the worst games I have ever played. The combat is as clunky as it gets, and there is no balance whatsoever to it. If you're looking for a game where the mechanics make no sense and a frustrating player experience, then this is exactly what you're looking for. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews