User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 835 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 835
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GustavoF.
    Mar 3, 2010
    10
    Best deal in existence. Most people talk about Portal, and I like it, but it's just a small fraction of how good is Orange Box. Half Life 2 and episodes are probably the best part of the pack. The action isn't senseless, it's not a Call of Duty kind of a game where you can take your brain out and play. HL2 will truly challenge you and at the end, that feeling will be very Best deal in existence. Most people talk about Portal, and I like it, but it's just a small fraction of how good is Orange Box. Half Life 2 and episodes are probably the best part of the pack. The action isn't senseless, it's not a Call of Duty kind of a game where you can take your brain out and play. HL2 will truly challenge you and at the end, that feeling will be very rewarding. TF2 is quickly addicting, maybe the best multiplayer game ever made, not for its quality or graphics or realism, just because its really FUN. Valve shows the potential of inovation and set new standards for the gaming industry. Expand
  2. DaivdD.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    5 GREAT games for the price of one? NONE of these games are "so-so", not a single one. Each on it's own is worth the price of a full game. There is no better deal. The word to express the amazement escape me. I can't see how ANYONE chould rate this less then ten, it's like a hurricane of awesome!
  3. WesS.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    The sum of the parts is as impressive as the parts of the sum. Great value, solid gameplay, three destinct FPS styles (SP FPS, MP FPS, Puzzle FPS) in one box. Hours, days, weeks of fun.
  4. AndrewA.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Valve delivers every time! The Orange Box is no exception, especially if you are new to the Half Life 2 experience. Team Fortress 2 is great fun with wonderful characters and quick game play, Portal is new and challenging, and Episode 2 is more great Half Life 2 gaming goodness! All this, and I am playing these on a 3 year old laptop! Gotta love it!
  5. MarcL
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Awesome... Just reminds me of why I keep saying that Half-Life 2 is the best game I've ever played.
  6. MarkC.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    You can't say that the orange box doesnt offer new content, Episode 2, Portal, Team Fortress. Not to mention most game wouldnthave made it far with Half-Life. The original game (HL1) offered the best graphics, AI, not to mention the great physics of its time. Its Halo 3's main compition. Half-Life has a better story line, Halo has a better multiplier. In Half-Life somtimes you You can't say that the orange box doesnt offer new content, Episode 2, Portal, Team Fortress. Not to mention most game wouldnthave made it far with Half-Life. The original game (HL1) offered the best graphics, AI, not to mention the great physics of its time. Its Halo 3's main compition. Half-Life has a better story line, Halo has a better multiplier. In Half-Life somtimes you feel like a fucking badass, i never feel like that in Halo, here is why, Gordon Freeman-Scientist, not a soldier. Master Chief-Trained soldier, power suit Expand
  7. JohnW.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    WOW! I was really shocked at this. Every single one of the five games is a great. Half Life and it's add-ons were jaw dropping, the story and visuals, as well as the characters feel like a living, breathing world. Portal is a comedic stroke of genius, the physics and almost obsessive compulsive mood of the game brings a smile to my face and a dreamy sigh of relief. Now the big one, WOW! I was really shocked at this. Every single one of the five games is a great. Half Life and it's add-ons were jaw dropping, the story and visuals, as well as the characters feel like a living, breathing world. Portal is a comedic stroke of genius, the physics and almost obsessive compulsive mood of the game brings a smile to my face and a dreamy sigh of relief. Now the big one, Team Fortress 2, WOW. I didn't think I'd say this, but good-bye for a while Halo 3, I've got a new game to play, the brief comedy and artistic style gives me smile even when I'm loosing. All of these games look and feel great, though, Team Fortress 2 did come with a few errors, I am pretty sure a patch will fix this. Good job Valve! Expand
  8. JasonH.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Having so many games together makes this a steal for $60. Although a few elements were left out from TFC in the new TF2, several were added as well. I really miss having grenades, though.
  9. A.D.Salo
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    I know I'm a little off topic here but I really think this is the one of the better sites for game ratings. Since it takes the ratings made by other sites and compiles them. In addition, providing their own take. Well done. [Ed: my new best buddy.] Oh, the game by the way, fantastic.
  10. C.henry
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    easily one of the best games on the xbox, and definitely the best bang for you dollar. It's practically 5 games for the price of one. One of the best single player FPS games ever, HL2. Portals is ridiculously innovative and creative. Plus, it's a hoot. TF2 looks and plays great.
  11. PhilM.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    After the disappointing single player experience of Halo 3, it's great to play the Orange Box single player games and be reminded that there are still developers who can get it right...
  12. ScottR.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    The three games here are not without flaw. Regardless, I can't think of any game that I would say is definitely better than this. Especially when you consider the value of 3 near perfect games for the price of one.
  13. DamienA.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Ridiculous games! HL2 alone is amazing, but including 4 other games in this package is unbeatable. Portal is a little too short but how can you complain when you have a good 20 hours of HL2 game play included on the disk. Not to mention the countless hours for TF2!
  14. JonT.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This box is a must buy. After you beat Portal you will agree that it was worth it for that game's ending alone. Yes, I'm serious.
  15. DarthGoat
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    100% awesomesauce.
  16. R.Hill
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This rating is for Half-Life 2: Episode 2... I really enjoyed the game. It draws you in with a cinematic experience. I beat it in a day, but still was very entertaining. The only disappointment was that they left you hanging at the end (leading to an episode 3 obviously). Definitely looking forward to the next installment.
  17. XtHcX519XSimChampion
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Team Fortress Two alone is worth the price tag. The addition of Half Life for people who never played the PC version is good bang for your buck. Not to fond of Portal, but the game has so much more to offer. In my opinion this game is the Halo 3 killer.
  18. WillM.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Amazing achievement by Valve. Episode 2 is the best Half-Life gameplay has been yet, the story is so immersive, the environent so gripping, that you don't want it to end. Portal is the perfect companion piece to that triumph, and an amazingly fun and inventive game in it's own right. Then there's TF2, and after logging many beta and live hours I can say this is the best Amazing achievement by Valve. Episode 2 is the best Half-Life gameplay has been yet, the story is so immersive, the environent so gripping, that you don't want it to end. Portal is the perfect companion piece to that triumph, and an amazingly fun and inventive game in it's own right. Then there's TF2, and after logging many beta and live hours I can say this is the best online shooter in years. A gamer would be foolish not to buy this, and not just because it's a great deal: It's just the highest quality gaming experience you'll see all year, period. Expand
  19. JohnF.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    So much content on one disc. Cmon', you can't go wrong with that. Especially when it's Half-Life. Valve I salute you!
  20. Ryan
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    A must own. Always something to do in this compilation. There's great story, great innovation, great multiplayer, great replay value, great achievements (99 of them). This is a must buy.
  21. DavidK.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Apart from being the best deal in gaming history the story in episode 2 is remarkable, with a dramtic ending and intense graphics, definetly the best half life has to offer. Second team fortress is definetly one of the best multiplayer games ever, along with sick new graphics and animation styles. Something like TF2 can never get boring.... And finally portal, although can get boring, is Apart from being the best deal in gaming history the story in episode 2 is remarkable, with a dramtic ending and intense graphics, definetly the best half life has to offer. Second team fortress is definetly one of the best multiplayer games ever, along with sick new graphics and animation styles. Something like TF2 can never get boring.... And finally portal, although can get boring, is fun since we all know it will have smth to do with episode 3. However the ending in portal was pretty sweet too. Expand
  22. JoeyK.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    First off, let's disregard the fact that this collection includes two already released games, including possibly the best PC shooter in history. Ignore that. This box includes three games that are each worth paying 20 dollars for, at least. Portal is fantastic. It's short, and doesn't have too much breadth, but it's oh so wonderfully fun, interesting, and new. Episode First off, let's disregard the fact that this collection includes two already released games, including possibly the best PC shooter in history. Ignore that. This box includes three games that are each worth paying 20 dollars for, at least. Portal is fantastic. It's short, and doesn't have too much breadth, but it's oh so wonderfully fun, interesting, and new. Episode 2 is a truly great game, and a great addition to Half Life, but is not a "full game." Team Fortress 2 is fabulous; my favorite multiplayer shooter ever, and undoubtedly the best class-based mp shooter ever. It looks great, plays great, is hilarious, well balanced, and polished to perfection. To summarize, there are three really great games here. TF2 is worth a full 50 dollars, but you get all three for that one epic price. Expand
  23. JoeT.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Portal is absolutely amazing! I haven't played a game crafted with new ideas and smarts since Shadow Of The Colossus on the PS2 . Portal is the first truly unique experience I've played in quite a while. Too bad Valve didn't see fir to release a longer version of Portal on its own (but hopefully they'll release a Portal level construction set). ...Oh, and the Episode Portal is absolutely amazing! I haven't played a game crafted with new ideas and smarts since Shadow Of The Colossus on the PS2 . Portal is the first truly unique experience I've played in quite a while. Too bad Valve didn't see fir to release a longer version of Portal on its own (but hopefully they'll release a Portal level construction set). ...Oh, and the Episode Two and the revamped HL2, Ep1 are nice too. Expand
  24. DoisK.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    As already mentioned by many others, the amazing value for money in this package is astounding and the only issue I have with it is that Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is a tad bit too short. Portal, in my opinion, was just the right length. Most may find that its abit too short but I find it to be appropriate for the type of gameplay. Anyway, though Episode 2 would have been better had it been As already mentioned by many others, the amazing value for money in this package is astounding and the only issue I have with it is that Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is a tad bit too short. Portal, in my opinion, was just the right length. Most may find that its abit too short but I find it to be appropriate for the type of gameplay. Anyway, though Episode 2 would have been better had it been abit longer, the unprecedented engaging story and its god-like in-game cutseens will blow you away. And as for Portal, it will give you tons of laughs and eventually starts to feel more serious to the point it seems like you're in a thriller movie as the main character. It gave be truly the best 3 hours of my life. Awesome game. Finally, Team Fortress 2 is something that will have you glued to your computer forever. As a multiplayer game, it has pretty much infinite replayability. TFC's mods were great, it made the game practically 5 games but now that theres Team Fortress 2, who knows what wonders the community can come up with. Even better - what Valve is going to add... I hear a new player-class is coming up. Expand
  25. AhmedS.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    One of the best games of all time gest a second expantion, and along with is the funnest multiplayer game that people will be playing for atleast the next ten years. Valve also gave a nice puzzle game Portal with is fun but is only a single player game. an for good mesure gave Half life 2 and episode one with it. I perordered it and knew that this is a MUST HAVE for any True PC gamer, but One of the best games of all time gest a second expantion, and along with is the funnest multiplayer game that people will be playing for atleast the next ten years. Valve also gave a nice puzzle game Portal with is fun but is only a single player game. an for good mesure gave Half life 2 and episode one with it. I perordered it and knew that this is a MUST HAVE for any True PC gamer, but is also available fot XBOX360. GET IT, PLAY IT, and MAKE sure you have enough time for WORK and SLEEP! i give it a 11 out of 10 Expand
  26. Nathan
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    Absolutely brilliant mix of games. The only problem I have is that TF2 is a bit laggy, but I still have four other top notch games to play!
  27. IanS.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    An awesome package, those saying that it is a "repackage" of old games, you have to get through your heads that even if you already own half-life 2 and episode 1, there is still portal (short, but awesomely fun), episode 2 (shortish, but incredibly detailed) and TF2, now Team fortress 2 is a standalone game in my opinion. I would purchase it alone for 90$, the fact that it is one of many An awesome package, those saying that it is a "repackage" of old games, you have to get through your heads that even if you already own half-life 2 and episode 1, there is still portal (short, but awesomely fun), episode 2 (shortish, but incredibly detailed) and TF2, now Team fortress 2 is a standalone game in my opinion. I would purchase it alone for 90$, the fact that it is one of many games (which you may not even own) just makes this package incredible value. Stop with the comparisons with Halo 3, they are completely different games, I myself am a Half-life 2 fan, but Halo has it's own merits, even ignoring the hype. Orange box is one of the best packages, perhaps even the best since I picked up Diablo 2 battle chest for 40$ back in the day. Expand
  28. NathanMerilees
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    The Collection of the Year; the Orange Box features award-winning Game of the Year of 2004, Half-Life 2, two of it's episodic sequels, "Half-Life 2: Episode One" and "Half-Life 2: Episode Two", as well as the amazing and critically acclaimed first-person puzzle game "Portal", and finally, the long-awaited sequel to Team Fortress Classic, Team Fortress 2.
  29. G.G.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Quite simply stunning. And even if we were just talking about Episode 2 and Portal it would still get a ten from me! Parts of EP2 are awesome, even on this older engine (With enhancements) Valve do stuff that other devs can't come close to (even when using cutting edge engines, ie Bioshock which is very poor compared to this). In EP2 the lighting, texture use and level design are jaw Quite simply stunning. And even if we were just talking about Episode 2 and Portal it would still get a ten from me! Parts of EP2 are awesome, even on this older engine (With enhancements) Valve do stuff that other devs can't come close to (even when using cutting edge engines, ie Bioshock which is very poor compared to this). In EP2 the lighting, texture use and level design are jaw dropping (on a good system @ full details preferably in widescreen + 8xAA min), it looks almost real in places thanks to their subtle use of HDR and Bluring, the levels also are amazing, never too sparse or too cluttered and just feel 'real' and amazingly immersive. Expand
  30. JonathanCornwell
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Awesome game! I had played HL2 and some of Ep 1 on PC, but wow... this is an incredible port. It looks terrific and plays just as terrific. The value is incredible... Has all of HL2 plus Episodes 1 and 2... and the new puzzle/FPS game, Portal, which was absolutely brilliant. Very fun and addictive (Portal). Also has TF2 which I only got to play for a few minutes, but it looked reallyAwesome game! I had played HL2 and some of Ep 1 on PC, but wow... this is an incredible port. It looks terrific and plays just as terrific. The value is incredible... Has all of HL2 plus Episodes 1 and 2... and the new puzzle/FPS game, Portal, which was absolutely brilliant. Very fun and addictive (Portal). Also has TF2 which I only got to play for a few minutes, but it looked really good, and I look forward to spending more time with. Outstanding! Expand
  31. BenChristenson
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    BEST GAME EVER. Spy vs. Spy with real team work. 9 classes; humor; graphics; balance; and great game play.
  32. JonC.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    This game(s) is (are) awesome. The fact that it has 3 (or 5, depending on how you look at it) games packed into one for 60 bucks is great. Half Life 2 is amazing as it was on the PC, plus episode 1 and 2 which are equally good. Then there's Portal: the best puzzle game I have ever played. Once you get the hang of Portal, you can't stop playing. Then of course there's Team This game(s) is (are) awesome. The fact that it has 3 (or 5, depending on how you look at it) games packed into one for 60 bucks is great. Half Life 2 is amazing as it was on the PC, plus episode 1 and 2 which are equally good. Then there's Portal: the best puzzle game I have ever played. Once you get the hang of Portal, you can't stop playing. Then of course there's Team Fortress 2, an awesome and balanced multiplayer game that is a good laid-back break from Halo 3. Is it possible to just give each game in it a ten and give it a 50? Expand
  33. ldu
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Bought it just for the half-life episodes, but was surprised by how good tf2 was and how addictive portal was. The best out of the 5 to me is Episode 2, even though it's pretty short. The battles with the antlions, hunters/striders were incredible. I dont see how people can give this game(s) under a 9. It's better than Halo 3's sp, but I still think Halo 3's mp kicks Bought it just for the half-life episodes, but was surprised by how good tf2 was and how addictive portal was. The best out of the 5 to me is Episode 2, even though it's pretty short. The battles with the antlions, hunters/striders were incredible. I dont see how people can give this game(s) under a 9. It's better than Halo 3's sp, but I still think Halo 3's mp kicks every other game in its ass. Expand
  34. DavidP.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    I'm in love with all three of the new Orange Box games, and if you haven't played Half-Life 2 yet, then you're getting a ridiculous bargain. I paid $60 for HL2 by itself and it was worth it. Portal is short but thoroughly enjoyable (and what a great ending), and Team Fortress 2 takes the place of Counter-Strike: Source as my new favorite online FPS. If HL2 has one weakness, I'm in love with all three of the new Orange Box games, and if you haven't played Half-Life 2 yet, then you're getting a ridiculous bargain. I paid $60 for HL2 by itself and it was worth it. Portal is short but thoroughly enjoyable (and what a great ending), and Team Fortress 2 takes the place of Counter-Strike: Source as my new favorite online FPS. If HL2 has one weakness, it's that it is completely linear, in a way that seems implausible and contrived to me. Expand
  35. JosephF.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    The best $60 you could ever spend on a video game. There is easily $110 worth of product here (Half-Life 2 + Ep 1 & 2 for $60, Team Fortress for $30, and Portal for $20), and they included them all in one package at the price for one Next-gen game. And that's not even speaking to the shear quality of said games. Half-Life 2 maybe one of the best games ever, Portal is a genius (albeit The best $60 you could ever spend on a video game. There is easily $110 worth of product here (Half-Life 2 + Ep 1 & 2 for $60, Team Fortress for $30, and Portal for $20), and they included them all in one package at the price for one Next-gen game. And that's not even speaking to the shear quality of said games. Half-Life 2 maybe one of the best games ever, Portal is a genius (albeit short) First-person puzzle-platformer, and Team Fotress is a diverse, funny, and extremely well balanced multiplayer game. All three of these games are 9/10 or higher, and it's sold in a package at almost half the price than what they could have gotten away with. Valve +1 Expand
  36. Daveydje
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    Superb value for money, with a number of contenders for game of the year for me in there. Halflife 2 still holds up as a decent shooter. Plus Eps 1 and 2 are good little expansions of the story. Portal is a work of genius. Innovative gameplay, funny, and a superb pay off at the end. Yes it is short, but it was designed that way, and it's beautifully made, and polished to death. TF2 Superb value for money, with a number of contenders for game of the year for me in there. Halflife 2 still holds up as a decent shooter. Plus Eps 1 and 2 are good little expansions of the story. Portal is a work of genius. Innovative gameplay, funny, and a superb pay off at the end. Yes it is short, but it was designed that way, and it's beautifully made, and polished to death. TF2 is also great great fun. has to be one of the best online shooters ever made. Value really pulled all the stops out on Orange Box, it really is a 'must buy'. Expand
  37. AdamD.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    This is by far the best deal for consumers in the history of the video game industry. Portal is clever, fun, and even sometimes halarious. Half-Life 2 + Ep. 1 have aged well, and Ep. 2 is just as good if not better than its predecessors. I haven't had the time to play Team Fortress 2 yet, but I've heard nothing but praise so... GO BUY IT! If the consumers support this type of This is by far the best deal for consumers in the history of the video game industry. Portal is clever, fun, and even sometimes halarious. Half-Life 2 + Ep. 1 have aged well, and Ep. 2 is just as good if not better than its predecessors. I haven't had the time to play Team Fortress 2 yet, but I've heard nothing but praise so... GO BUY IT! If the consumers support this type of release then game companies will do it more. Expand
  38. XarshaleX.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    this package is worth the 50 dollars even if you are re buying half-life 2 and episode 1, buying TF2, Portal, and episode 2 off of steam is still more than 50. no one should complain about that. Beside the fact that its the biggest bargain in video game history TF2 is a great multi player game which provides fun on end, portal was short but the most fun I've had in a long time, and this package is worth the 50 dollars even if you are re buying half-life 2 and episode 1, buying TF2, Portal, and episode 2 off of steam is still more than 50. no one should complain about that. Beside the fact that its the biggest bargain in video game history TF2 is a great multi player game which provides fun on end, portal was short but the most fun I've had in a long time, and it ties into the greatest FPS adventure of all time. Seriously, if the Orange box doesnt earn 10/10 nothing should Expand
  39. Jake
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    If you already own or played HL:2 on PC, this deal loses some value, but is still an easy buy. If you haven't played HL:2, this is one of the greatest deals ever. Portal and TF2 are both very good and very fun. They could definately use more maps and such through downloadable content, but that will surely come. What a great game(s).
  40. AlJ.
    Oct 23, 2007
    9
    While you cant argue with the amount of content you get in this package, it doesnt mean that all of it is "10" worthy. Case in point, a lot of my friends we're hyping up the Team Fortress portion of the game and thats what I was most looking forward to. Well I was kinda underwhelmed with it (It seemed like no matter how many times you would shoot someone, they wouldn't die, yet While you cant argue with the amount of content you get in this package, it doesnt mean that all of it is "10" worthy. Case in point, a lot of my friends we're hyping up the Team Fortress portion of the game and thats what I was most looking forward to. Well I was kinda underwhelmed with it (It seemed like no matter how many times you would shoot someone, they wouldn't die, yet they would turn around and shoot you once and your gone). I mean I am a rookie at this series so Im being leanient (Hence the 9 score), but as I said, I was slightly underwhelmed with it. Portal seems interesting and should keep me busy for a little bit and HL 1 and 2 are awesome (Great graphics, sound, voice acting,etc). Well worth the $$$, I just only wish they improved the online portion as well as Halo 3 improved there online portion (And yes I realize there made by two different developers, Im just saying that cause Halo 2 online sucked, but online Halo 3 is fantastic!). Worthy of a purchase if your into FPS and great story lines. Expand
  41. PaulM.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Has to be the best value gaming package in history. I can't believe some idiot had the brass neck to give this game a 0 because you had to re-purchase HL2 + Episode 1! Who cares? You're still getting three more games! Seperately they would cost more. So does it matter if you re-purchase them... no, i don't think so! The Half Life series is awesome and has to be one of the Has to be the best value gaming package in history. I can't believe some idiot had the brass neck to give this game a 0 because you had to re-purchase HL2 + Episode 1! Who cares? You're still getting three more games! Seperately they would cost more. So does it matter if you re-purchase them... no, i don't think so! The Half Life series is awesome and has to be one of the best FPS series ever. Portal takes a bit of getting into but is good fun and Team Fortress is a great multiplayer and quite funny too. The MP doesn't quite measure up to Halo 3's but it's not far behind it. Highly recommended. Expand
  42. SeanM
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    The one that gives this package a 0 is a complete idiot and has scarred the good name of The Orange Box with his stupidity. You have to buy halflife 2 again? So what? Its like $50 for 5 games three of which are brand new. I don't know why your panties are all in a knot considering you save over $50 even if you have to get half-life 2 and episode 1 all over again. In my opinion, evenThe one that gives this package a 0 is a complete idiot and has scarred the good name of The Orange Box with his stupidity. You have to buy halflife 2 again? So what? Its like $50 for 5 games three of which are brand new. I don't know why your panties are all in a knot considering you save over $50 even if you have to get half-life 2 and episode 1 all over again. In my opinion, even if you have them both, get it again, you save some serious money and its well worth it. Expand
  43. MaxM.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    This is probably one of the best video game deals you would ever find. Sure it comes with a couple games you wouldn't buy seperately, but Half Life is fun and long-lasting, Portal is witty and trippy, and Team Fortress is just fun to have in my pocket. Orange Box is much more worth the buy.
  44. LouL.
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    How can PC owners possibly feel hard done by. If you've already got the games then its as simple as not buying them again. big deal. and if you didnt have the good fortune of owning them on the PC then now you've got a chance on console. 5 great titles under the same DVD. there's very little wrong here,
  45. NickG.
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    Great games in one package. A comment made by another poster gave a score of 0 due to it being repackaged goods by Valve. It must be taken into consideration that many console gamers do not cross over into PC gaming, so for most this set of games will be an entirely new experience. Having played only Half-Life 2 prior to this, my experience has been nothing short of excellent. The Great games in one package. A comment made by another poster gave a score of 0 due to it being repackaged goods by Valve. It must be taken into consideration that many console gamers do not cross over into PC gaming, so for most this set of games will be an entirely new experience. Having played only Half-Life 2 prior to this, my experience has been nothing short of excellent. The graphical bar is raised in each episode of Half-Life 2, with Episode 2 being brought up to todays standards. Stories are great in each iteration. Portal, which only last a few hours for the main game, is nothing short of genius. I can say that I happily put Halo 3 aside to play though this set of games. The only knock I have is that I do wish graphics could have been updated throughout, which is why I only scored a 9. Generally, once I finish a game, it's put to the side to collect dust or until I decide to trade it. Playing through a 3+ year old Half-Life 2 did not seem like I was trudging through the same old stuff, and reminded me that FPS games are not all created equal. Only other note I have is that if you have surround sound, this game will treat you right. Highly recommend to all. Expand
  46. NickC.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    If Portal is not the most original game of this year for in your opinion, or if Team Fortress 2's cartoonish graphics just does not appeal to your realism, the Half Life 2 Trilogy should be enough to warrant the price tag. Sure Half Life 2, the first one may be a couple of years old, and EP1 is a bit short, but the addition of EP2 combines the series into an experience so unique and If Portal is not the most original game of this year for in your opinion, or if Team Fortress 2's cartoonish graphics just does not appeal to your realism, the Half Life 2 Trilogy should be enough to warrant the price tag. Sure Half Life 2, the first one may be a couple of years old, and EP1 is a bit short, but the addition of EP2 combines the series into an experience so unique and enjoyable, that's hard to pass up. Plus, the gravity gun + portal gun= unlimited creativity!!! Expand
  47. Colin
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    I had never played a Half-Life game before this and after completing Half-Life 2 and the two episodes I'm now playing the original on pc. I have never played a game with such an engrossing narrative as this before (well maybe bioshock), the characters are devloped amazingly well and that is what keeps the games racing at such a furious pace; the need to find closure to the human I had never played a Half-Life game before this and after completing Half-Life 2 and the two episodes I'm now playing the original on pc. I have never played a game with such an engrossing narrative as this before (well maybe bioshock), the characters are devloped amazingly well and that is what keeps the games racing at such a furious pace; the need to find closure to the human drama. Plus the graphics, gameplay, sound are all excellent. Why turn games into movies when games such as these are already providing excellent cinematic entertainment. Portal is also superb, very short but very well executed and nigh on flawless. Have not played Team Fortress 2 enough to be able to comment on it but was quite good fun and amusing aswell. Next to Bioshock the best experience that can be had alone with an xbox360. Expand
  48. O.C.
    Dec 27, 2008
    10
    Pros: - 5 great games in one package - Cons: - Graphics could use work on a few of the games - The Bottom Line: With an addictive online multiplayer, an ingenious puzzle game, and one of the best single player FPS games ever made, The Orange Box is a terrific deal. ---- mjhhiv's Full Review: I recently paid $60 for Bomberman: Act Zero. The game is a degenerate mess, and is clearly Pros: - 5 great games in one package - Cons: - Graphics could use work on a few of the games - The Bottom Line: With an addictive online multiplayer, an ingenious puzzle game, and one of the best single player FPS games ever made, The Orange Box is a terrific deal. ---- mjhhiv's Full Review: I recently paid $60 for Bomberman: Act Zero. The game is a degenerate mess, and is clearly not worth your money. Half Life 2: The Orange Box was also worth $60 on release day, and with 5 games in one box, you Expand
  49. TheNumberQ.
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    Easily the best game I have ever played. I have spent more play time on this game than probably any other game I own. I have played half life 2 and episodes one and two uncountable times. Portal has given me endless amounts of fun and team fortress 2 does an amazing job at providing a wonderful multiplayer experience. If you don't have this game, then I'm guessing that every Easily the best game I have ever played. I have spent more play time on this game than probably any other game I own. I have played half life 2 and episodes one and two uncountable times. Portal has given me endless amounts of fun and team fortress 2 does an amazing job at providing a wonderful multiplayer experience. If you don't have this game, then I'm guessing that every gamestore within 200 miles of you is closed, or some other extremely unfortunate circumstance where you cant get your hands on this game. If you can get this game and are choosing not to, I suggest you check into the nearest mental hospital. Expand
  50. Maslab
    May 19, 2008
    10
    Hands down the best collection of games ever. You've got the Game of the Year and its little babies, the Best Multiplayer Game of the Year, and The best Puzzle Game of the Year. Portal also created a whole new genre, the First Person Puzzler, and if I'm wrong, just ignore that. HL2: Episode 2 is, like Portal, short but sweet. With wider and more realistic areas to battle Hands down the best collection of games ever. You've got the Game of the Year and its little babies, the Best Multiplayer Game of the Year, and The best Puzzle Game of the Year. Portal also created a whole new genre, the First Person Puzzler, and if I'm wrong, just ignore that. HL2: Episode 2 is, like Portal, short but sweet. With wider and more realistic areas to battle through. Team Fortress 2 is a blast, nice graphics choice, great gameplay, and great maps, even if the one use 80% of the time is 2Fort. Portal is just plain fun. The physics are great. Its short, 3-4 hours on your first run through, maybe 45 minutes on later run throughs. Portal is awesome. If you think it bites because its short, just ask what Valve could've added to make it longer. The Orange Box has definitely shown that Valve is still out there. This Box is a must for all fans of games who like shooters, puzzles, and online multiplayer. Expand
  51. SamM.
    Jul 4, 2008
    9
    All 5 games would have to be pretty bad for this package not to score at least a 7 just on value alone.But 5 quality games on one disc then you are not going to find better value anywhere on the 360 that is fact. But giving that all the games are pure quality then you might just understand how good an offer the orange box is. There is really no excuse not to own this. The single player All 5 games would have to be pretty bad for this package not to score at least a 7 just on value alone.But 5 quality games on one disc then you are not going to find better value anywhere on the 360 that is fact. But giving that all the games are pure quality then you might just understand how good an offer the orange box is. There is really no excuse not to own this. The single player episodes are fantastic one player fps experiences, That look great and play as well as any thing on the 360. Portal is a fantastic puzzler that can grip you and become so addictive. And as for the online game Team Fortress 2, This is just a great multi-player that will go some way to justifying your gold membership. Expand
  52. Kevin
    Jul 7, 2008
    9
    The Orange Box is not one game it is 5. I just bought it today at gamestop for 35$ and went straight home to re live Half Life 2 but instead of my PC this time is the 360. This is not a cheap port of Half Life 2 or its episodes, it is a beauty to play and the control scheme for consoles is genius on so many levels. There are frame rate issues here and there that I didn't get on my PC The Orange Box is not one game it is 5. I just bought it today at gamestop for 35$ and went straight home to re live Half Life 2 but instead of my PC this time is the 360. This is not a cheap port of Half Life 2 or its episodes, it is a beauty to play and the control scheme for consoles is genius on so many levels. There are frame rate issues here and there that I didn't get on my PC version of Half Life 2 and its other alliteration. After your done with those games you still have Team Fortress 2, and Portal to run around with. Both which I find spectacular, and could warrant as a standalone 20$ title. Is a great buy but may not be for everyone since most of the content is for mature audiences. Expand
  53. ChristianH.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    THIS GAME F*CKING P*SSED ME OFF! Not because it was bad, but because my sh*tty PC couldn't play it! I played all the game individually (except half-life 2: ep 2 and ep 1 because my friend wouldn't let me.) And all games were fun. Portal was puzzle game of the fucking decade, TF2 was the best multiplayer experience since counter-strike, and CoD4. HL2 is just HL2 and I expect THIS GAME F*CKING P*SSED ME OFF! Not because it was bad, but because my sh*tty PC couldn't play it! I played all the game individually (except half-life 2: ep 2 and ep 1 because my friend wouldn't let me.) And all games were fun. Portal was puzzle game of the fucking decade, TF2 was the best multiplayer experience since counter-strike, and CoD4. HL2 is just HL2 and I expect episode 2 and 1 to hopefully be the same (not exactly the same of course). Expand
  54. Timerider
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    The best game I ever bought for the 360. I got it the day it came out for $60 just for the opportunity to play Portal, and it was worth it. But there's so much more on the disc that it just makes it more awesome. Once I finally got broadband I started playing Team Fortress 2 and I've never been able to stop. It is just the best multiplayer game I've ever played. The only The best game I ever bought for the 360. I got it the day it came out for $60 just for the opportunity to play Portal, and it was worth it. But there's so much more on the disc that it just makes it more awesome. Once I finally got broadband I started playing Team Fortress 2 and I've never been able to stop. It is just the best multiplayer game I've ever played. The only issue is that Valve has yet to make any progress toward updating the 360 version, yet there are tons of updates for the PC. Anyway, there is no reason to give this anything less than a 10. Expand
  55. garyf
    Jan 3, 2009
    10
    Best game ever!!!! if I could, I would give it like a thirty! Half life is brilliant with the story and variaty of guns. Portal is completey original, something i've never seen in my life!! and TF2, that was the game that got me hooked!! brilliant style of graphics, 6 maps that is replayable FOREVER! and distinct classes that really make this a true class based game. when I played Best game ever!!!! if I could, I would give it like a thirty! Half life is brilliant with the story and variaty of guns. Portal is completey original, something i've never seen in my life!! and TF2, that was the game that got me hooked!! brilliant style of graphics, 6 maps that is replayable FOREVER! and distinct classes that really make this a true class based game. when I played this, I sold my halo game and said screw it. Expand
  56. RowanF
    Apr 17, 2009
    10
    Five impossibly good games, all for fourty pounds. That's realy all you need to know. Half Life Two is made even better with it's list of new acheivments; Episode One delivers some more of that trademark awsome gaming; Episode Two delivers more of the same but with quite a few new additions, luckily just before it started to get samey, and a nice graphical update; Portal's Five impossibly good games, all for fourty pounds. That's realy all you need to know. Half Life Two is made even better with it's list of new acheivments; Episode One delivers some more of that trademark awsome gaming; Episode Two delivers more of the same but with quite a few new additions, luckily just before it started to get samey, and a nice graphical update; Portal's darkly witty storyline and innovative game design make it an absolute classic, and Team Fortress 2's addictive gameplay and radical stlye will make you fall in love with it instantly. All in all, you really can't go wrong here. Perhaps the only bad thing that comes to mind is that a couple of the games are a little short considering their development time but, hey, that's Valve for you. Expand
  57. NeilW
    Aug 16, 2009
    10
    The cake may be a lie, but how good these games are for the price is not. I really liked the Half-Life games, but think Portal is absosutely brilliant. It was worth the price for Portal alone. If I get stranded on an desert island with only one game for my 360 I'm taking this one.
  58. THECROWBAR
    Feb 21, 2010
    8
    Keep your pants on, an 8 is not a bad score. It's just not the best. Half-life 2 was my first shooter and I enjoyed it thoroughly when I first played it; it's about 20 hours long. After playing games such as Call of Duty 4 which was relieced later that year, it hasn't aged well. You can't even zoom in and fire with most weapons, even your sub-machine gun that has a red Keep your pants on, an 8 is not a bad score. It's just not the best. Half-life 2 was my first shooter and I enjoyed it thoroughly when I first played it; it's about 20 hours long. After playing games such as Call of Duty 4 which was relieced later that year, it hasn't aged well. You can't even zoom in and fire with most weapons, even your sub-machine gun that has a red dot sight. The headcrab zombies are awesome, but the game gets repetitive towards the end. I haven't played episodes one and two yet, so no comment on those. Team Fortress two is ballanced, and by ballanced I mean there is going to be a stalemate untill the match is over. The three maps are very poorly, with the capture the flag one having only one enterance into the enemy's base, so engeniers know where to place their turret. I heard the PC version is a million times better, though. Portal is fun, and funny too. That game is short, though, and the challenges make me want to kill myself. How is anyone supposed to clear a map in ten seconds or something, or complete the advanced maps with unkillabe turrets? Play through the main game, don't comeback for the challenge playthroughs. In conclusion, on the back of the creatively titled Oarnge Box is a quote saying it's one of the greatest deals in gaming history, and that's true. Today it costs about $30, but even if it were full priced, it would definately be worth the full package. In conclusion, two great games, one incomplete game, and two games I can't judge. Expand
  59. MikeC.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    5 games in 1??!! A must-buy for 360, PC and PS3 owners
  60. JasonW.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Regnor V., Jeff K., Andrew H., Ryan W. and Rick R. have no idea what they are talking about. Team Fortress not having Deathmatch? It is called "Team" Fortress, after all.... And as far as Valve forcing long time owners to repurchase HL2 and Episode 1? Umm, call me crazy but HL2Ep1 has never been released on the 360 before. And I save the best for last: calling HL2, HL2Ep1 and HL2Ep2 an Regnor V., Jeff K., Andrew H., Ryan W. and Rick R. have no idea what they are talking about. Team Fortress not having Deathmatch? It is called "Team" Fortress, after all.... And as far as Valve forcing long time owners to repurchase HL2 and Episode 1? Umm, call me crazy but HL2Ep1 has never been released on the 360 before. And I save the best for last: calling HL2, HL2Ep1 and HL2Ep2 an XBLA game?! Do you have any concept of how big these games are? XBLA tops out at around 512MB per game, max. And that's not even 1/10th of what it would need to be to house this game on XBLA. Quit whining and give this game what it deserves. A 10! Expand
  61. JasonJ.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This has got to be one of the best releases for any console or PC. Where else do you get such great quality games for such a low price? Thanks Valve!
  62. bazdogherb
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    It's probably the best game/package you could ever hope to buy...
  63. ChristianB.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Without a doubt one of the greatest buys of al time, the orange box is a masterpiece. 5 games for the price of one is already a good deal, then take in mind each of those games has wonderful appeal.do not ignore one of the greates deals ever.
  64. [Anonymous]
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    For all the idiots who are saying "how dare Valve make us pay for Episode 1 and Half Life 2!!!" Why don't you check the individual price of portal and Team Fortress 2 on steam. Oh, wait. They add up to $50.00. They also want $30.00 for episode 2. So basically even if you have Half Life 2 and episode 1, your only paying an extra $10 for episode 2, saving you $20.00 (and you get your For all the idiots who are saying "how dare Valve make us pay for Episode 1 and Half Life 2!!!" Why don't you check the individual price of portal and Team Fortress 2 on steam. Oh, wait. They add up to $50.00. They also want $30.00 for episode 2. So basically even if you have Half Life 2 and episode 1, your only paying an extra $10 for episode 2, saving you $20.00 (and you get your old games again to). So it is a good deal for what you are getting. I played through single player in about 30 hours, which is a huge time considering I had already beaten episode 1 and the origional game, so I only really had to work my way through the puzzles of ep. 2 and portal. Overall, a massively amazing set of games worth every penny. Expand
  65. RichardM.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Ridiculous amount of fun for the price. Each game is outstanding, even if Portal is a bit short. Highly recommended.
  66. SteveS.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    The orange box is simply awesome. my only complaint is episode 2 and portal were short. but i have no doubt people will create custom portal challenges adding to the replay value greatly, and the price for 5 games makes it a must have.
  67. DaneP.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing.
  68. ZackT.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Every single game provided in this package impressed me to the fullest. With Half-Life 2: Episode Two you really felt like you were Gordon just as it has been in the previous episodes. Team Fortress 2 has you going for hours trying out all the available classes. Portal's amazing physics had me beating the game twice. 11/10, excellent package for an excellent price.
  69. MarkB.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing package; not only is each piece of it worth the price alone, with hours of single-player entertainment in total and years-worth of value from team-fortress 2, but you get everything for so cheap! It really is a perfect package, a must buy, and one of the best games this year.
  70. RobertN.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Anyone not voting this package a 10 is not thinking this through. 9 in the very least. All complaints about this game are vacuous. Yes, it's an "old" engine, but it was the best engine at the time of original release (save maybe Doom 3, but that was nothing but graphics). The game looks amazing, not GoW amazing, but it looks great. Framerates are rock solid. I checked out the Anyone not voting this package a 10 is not thinking this through. 9 in the very least. All complaints about this game are vacuous. Yes, it's an "old" engine, but it was the best engine at the time of original release (save maybe Doom 3, but that was nothing but graphics). The game looks amazing, not GoW amazing, but it looks great. Framerates are rock solid. I checked out the beginning of Episode 2 and was awestruck at the visuals, and I am not easily impressed. Value is a 10, replay is a 10, graphics are a 10 (or at least a 9). Sound is a 10, voice acting is a 10, artistic value is a 10. How could anyone rate this a 6?! How could anyone rate this an 8? I am sorry, but this is a 9+ package and anyone saying otherwise is just trying to stir the pot for no reason. Expand
  71. DonGreen
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Fantastic package...probably the best ever in the history of video games. You've got 1....the best FPS of all time in Half Life 2 and ep 1-2...2. Portal - a PERFECT game...seriously...nothing else like it. Perfectly original. 3. Team Fortress 2 - the best and most deep FPS experience. This game rocks!
  72. GMan003
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Just incredible. Even with slightly dated graphics, it still amazes with the gameplay. All three of the main games (TF2, Portal and Episode 2) would be a powerful standalone title, but all together? Only problem: Which one gets "Game of the Year"?
  73. IsaacB.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    This IS the deal of the century. Five great games for the price of one. Half-Life 2 has been updated. Half-Life 2: Episode 2 was an EPIC experience that I felt as if it were real. Portal was the greatest two hours in gaming I've had. Team Fortress 2 is addicting and fun as hell. Buy this.
  74. VicV
    Oct 15, 2007
    9
    I Never played Half Life 2 and I am so happy it is now available on the Xbox 360. The story line and the engine that runs this game are excellent. BTW - I am playing Bioshock at the same time as HL2 and HL2 wins... I have many hours ahead of me with the rest of HL2 and episode 1 and 2. Looking forward to it.
  75. PeterA.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Super Great Deal! There is no reason not to get this game. Tons of hours of great game play and story. And if you ever get tired of single player, you can jump on TF2 and blow some people up! This should be in everyone's game library!
  76. SethB.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    First off, I would like to mention that the Half-Life universe is far different from the Halo universe. Please, please, PLEASE stop telling us your opinion on which game is better, it's annoying and unwanted. With that said, The Orange Box, like IGN said, is the greatest gaming value ever released. You don't only pay for the next episode of Half-Life 2, you're paying for First off, I would like to mention that the Half-Life universe is far different from the Halo universe. Please, please, PLEASE stop telling us your opinion on which game is better, it's annoying and unwanted. With that said, The Orange Box, like IGN said, is the greatest gaming value ever released. You don't only pay for the next episode of Half-Life 2, you're paying for Episode 2, Portal, and the much antisipated Team Fortress 2. Half-Life 2 was even upgraded in this pack. It now hosts HDR and the shadows created by the flashlight! This makes "Water Hazard" and "We don't go to Ravenholm" a whole new experience. The new touches to Episode Two are also intertaining, such as new enemies, vehicles, vistas, and not to mention - CINEMATIC PHYSICS! What's more fun than seeing a bridge crumble under the stress of the vehicles on it? When I bought The Orange Box, I immediately played Portal, which in my opinion was one of the most unique games that I've ever played. And alas Team Fortress 2. A very fun and detailed multiplayer. Overall, The Orange Box is a must buy, for those who only want to play the new HL episode, to those who want to play Half Life 2 for the first time. Expand
  77. GarrettT.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    The Orange Box is likely the best deal in video game history for games tha taren't 7 years old. Now, for those Halo fanboys out there: Half-Life 2 is a far superior game to Halo. Now, I'm not saying Halo wasn't fun, as it sure was, but Half-Life just blows it all away. And those who b**** about graphics are just trying to make an excuse. Who cares about graphics, as long as The Orange Box is likely the best deal in video game history for games tha taren't 7 years old. Now, for those Halo fanboys out there: Half-Life 2 is a far superior game to Halo. Now, I'm not saying Halo wasn't fun, as it sure was, but Half-Life just blows it all away. And those who b**** about graphics are just trying to make an excuse. Who cares about graphics, as long as it's a good game? Portal was simply the greatest. The fact that it was'nt just a simple puzzler just made it all the better. If any of you think it will just be challenge after challenge with no story at all, prepare to be surprised. Episode Two was likely the best of the series so far. TF2 is great, while not my favorite, but I will likely play it with some of my friends in our clan. Portal does NOT come with a level editor, but you can use specialized tools like Hammer to create your own maps once Valve releases the proper rescources to release it. So only serious map-makers will really be able to do much. Expand
  78. JamesL.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    A truly outstanding collection of games, the quantity is one thing with five games included. But the quality of each individual title just couldn't be any better. Anyone who misses out is depriving themselves of the greatest pieces of video game action to ever be released!
  79. JeremyS.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    To say that this game is an eclectic mix of high-octane fps action, brilliant puzzle solving, squad based combat, and blazing vehicle sequences would be a gross understatement. Add to this an epic and engaging storyline and wrap it all in one of the best physics based graphics engines and you can't possibly go wrong. And that's all in the original title, by adding Ep.1, 2, To say that this game is an eclectic mix of high-octane fps action, brilliant puzzle solving, squad based combat, and blazing vehicle sequences would be a gross understatement. Add to this an epic and engaging storyline and wrap it all in one of the best physics based graphics engines and you can't possibly go wrong. And that's all in the original title, by adding Ep.1, 2, portal, and TF2, Valve has given us possibly the best retail purchase gamers have ever seen. Expand
  80. RyanH.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Portal alone is a 9 for $50 and that's only due to its shortness. Then you add TFC2. Then you add Half Life 2 and both its episode. How can this be anything less than the perfect package for an fps fan? Back to portal. Most incredibly original and incredibly polished game I've ever played. With the amount of awesome per minute crammed in I can understand the short length of it. Portal alone is a 9 for $50 and that's only due to its shortness. Then you add TFC2. Then you add Half Life 2 and both its episode. How can this be anything less than the perfect package for an fps fan? Back to portal. Most incredibly original and incredibly polished game I've ever played. With the amount of awesome per minute crammed in I can understand the short length of it. And the combination of dark humor and creepiness is absolutely perfect. A player can't help but stop, look around, and appreciate that sinking feeling of foreboding at one point; and then at another you'll come close to falling out of your seat laughing. Unless you're one of those unlucky few who gets motion sickness from first person shooters, you should own this package. Expand
  81. Eric
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    There's something here for everyone. Each game is a re-invention of their genre and feels very fresh. Portal alone is its own genre (puzzle-shooter?). Highly recommended. A triumph of gaming.
  82. AustinP.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Amazing deal, and amazing quality. That more or less describes the Orange Box. Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is simply entertaining from start to finish. Then you have Team Fortress 2, the addictive multiplayer game included with the package. Also great. Finally, Portal, one of the best puzzle-based games I've ever played, and has some of the most hilarious humor ever heard in a game. As a Amazing deal, and amazing quality. That more or less describes the Orange Box. Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is simply entertaining from start to finish. Then you have Team Fortress 2, the addictive multiplayer game included with the package. Also great. Finally, Portal, one of the best puzzle-based games I've ever played, and has some of the most hilarious humor ever heard in a game. As a whole, one hell of a great deal, and plenty of fun to be had between these three great games. Thumbs up. Expand
  83. ChristopherP.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    I love this game. It's so much better than any other FPS' on the market right now. The unique graphics alone make it a game worth playing, whether you enjoy something light and fun, or bloody and hardcore. The gameplay is great, with interesting official maps, and custom ones made by users. One of my favorite games.
  84. Barry
    Dec 25, 2007
    8
    Team Fortress 2 is a blast, Portal is pretty fun and the polished graphics look really impressive. Half Life i really can't get into tho.. sure the AI is really good and accurate with it's shots.. but the storyline is really boring and there isn't nough fmv going on.. which would make it alot more inteesting and feel more like an awad winning game. To be brutally honest i Team Fortress 2 is a blast, Portal is pretty fun and the polished graphics look really impressive. Half Life i really can't get into tho.. sure the AI is really good and accurate with it's shots.. but the storyline is really boring and there isn't nough fmv going on.. which would make it alot more inteesting and feel more like an awad winning game. To be brutally honest i think the Half Life series is pretty much overrated but the other 2 are quality fun. 8/10. Expand
  85. LambdaLester
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    Its good probably the best game deal out there not good as the PC version because the Mod´s you can get with the PC.
    But the games are great all HL 2 games and the brilliant Puzzle game Portal and also Team fortress 2 online game
    but i don´t like to wait for EP 3 its to exiting but its still the best Half-life console port out there ps3 was laggy and stuff so i give it 9.5
    Its good probably the best game deal out there not good as the PC version because the Mod´s you can get with the PC.
    But the games are great all HL 2 games and the brilliant Puzzle game Portal and also Team fortress 2 online game
    but i don´t like to wait for EP 3 its to exiting
    but its still the best Half-life console port out there ps3 was laggy and stuff so i give it 9.5
    this is my first rate so sorry for wrong spelling
    Expand
  86. ChrisO.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    After playing some of 2007's best titles--including Bioshock, Halo 3, and Metroid Prime 3--how can a game released over 3 years ago not only still hold its own graphically, but still be superior overall to today's best games? The addition of Portal and TF2 make this must-have collection the no-brainer video game purchase of the century. Half Life 2 is simply perfect.
  87. Mike
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    Ok, the guys who rated this 1 or 0, or terribly wrong or probably enjoy playing Viva Piñata a lot.
    The 5 games are actually pretty good, it is not the best game ever, but I do think is kind of over rated... so remember that you pay for what you get.
  88. MiguelR.
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    Buy this game if you have the chance and do not hesitate or doubt your decision.
  89. EliF.
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    '10' doesn't mean perfect, but it means I'd recommend it to virtually anyone who has a 360. HL2 is a great rollercoaster. I've never even played TF2, but I've shown Portal to 11 other people and watched them each learn in their own way and make their own style of mistakes.
  90. CT
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    The fact that I got this for $18 might affect my rating a bit, but in all honesty, even selling this at full price would not be a bad deal. I really enjoyed the Half-Life 2 series for the interesting weapons and the impressive story, but there were some things that could frustrate people (some of the puzzles were very annoying). Portal was simply incredible, a brilliantly made puzzle game The fact that I got this for $18 might affect my rating a bit, but in all honesty, even selling this at full price would not be a bad deal. I really enjoyed the Half-Life 2 series for the interesting weapons and the impressive story, but there were some things that could frustrate people (some of the puzzles were very annoying). Portal was simply incredible, a brilliantly made puzzle game that was never a bore. Team Fortress 2 is a fun online game, but it does not have the level quality that many people expect from games today. While the games aren't perfect themselves, the whole package is what really makes this worth the price, but if you do own these games, get Portal off steam. Expand
  91. IanW
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Seriously, looking through these comments.. How you could give this game below an eight is beyond me, an eight even being a very underappreciative score. First of all, this is FIVE games. FIVE full-length (not arcade off-shoots) games. Second of all, all of these games are good. You can compare all of these games to others in their respective genres, and they are way better than what Seriously, looking through these comments.. How you could give this game below an eight is beyond me, an eight even being a very underappreciative score. First of all, this is FIVE games. FIVE full-length (not arcade off-shoots) games. Second of all, all of these games are good. You can compare all of these games to others in their respective genres, and they are way better than what you'll find. Half-Life 2, I can only think of BioShock, Oblivion, and Fallout to rival it, yet none are as long, as immersive, as driven. Half-Life 2 throws you into tons of different environments with a nice line-up of enemies, added with plenty of puzzle elements to make it more than just a shooter. Portal, this is a unique take on puzzles that no game has been completely centered around. With tons of varying challenges, with even more difficult versions of most, it takes some time to dry this game up. Team Fortress 2, I want you to list a game as varied yet as balanced, as artistically different, as Team Fortress 2. Don't list games off like Halo, or Call of Duty, or whatever. Truth be told, they aren't balanced. Halo players only use a handful of the weapons in the game: battle rifle, sniper rifle, rocket launcher, laser. The other guns collect dust because they are not relevant on how to play Halo. Has anyone here played Modern Warfare 2? There, again, are the popular guns that everyone abuses. The biggest two would be the FAMAS and M16, burst-fire. I cannot count how many times I had a shotgun, only to be beaten by a FAMAS, at close range. Really, I can't imagine what goes through your heads when you rate true masterpieces like this, but you must have some morbid sense of entitlement that will never be fulfilled. These games aren't mindless "shoot-'em-ups", they're fine works of art that retain practicality as well. Think before you score. Expand
  92. HagenM
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    Okay, this package definately warrants the extremelym rare ten out of ten. It has Half-Life 2, which is a ten in itself, Episode 1, Episode 2, Portal, and Team Fortress 2? If you do not own this by now, you need to kill yourself. If you consider yourself a human being and value decency in life, purchase this now for roughly TWELVE DOLLARS.
  93. PabloK
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    Half Life 2 is one of the best computer games on the P.C, a long with Team Fortress 2 a very good online multi player shooter, portal, a puzzle game, and Ep1 and Ep2. All these games have high ratings, and are some of the best games on the P.C. The orange box is also one of the best "Gaming Deals in History" There is absolutely nothing that is wrong about this game.
  94. JohnP.
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    This series of games deserves nothing but the best awards. Half Life 2 plus Episodes 1 and 2: absolutely amazing story line and game play. Following and trumping the original HL's success for innovative and dynamic plot, HL2 destroys the competition at the time. Portal: One of the most intriguing and amazing puzzle games ever. This game is comparable to Tetris in taking the Puzzle This series of games deserves nothing but the best awards. Half Life 2 plus Episodes 1 and 2: absolutely amazing story line and game play. Following and trumping the original HL's success for innovative and dynamic plot, HL2 destroys the competition at the time. Portal: One of the most intriguing and amazing puzzle games ever. This game is comparable to Tetris in taking the Puzzle genre to a whole new level. Team Fortress 2: One word: DAMN! Expand
  95. RanderN.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Best value of the year for the 360, and totally a sleeper hit that surpasses even Halo 3 in terms on content and game play, a must buy, even for for Portal alone.
  96. DominicP.
    Nov 24, 2007
    8
    Team Fortress 2 and Portal was wat i bought it for they both are a must play but i was dissapointed with half life. The story is boring and very confusing at time.
  97. NoahH.
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    I remember hearing about Half Life from my buddy when I was a freshman in college (2000). I've always owned a mac, I don't want to hear it :), and had never played the Half Life and of course never Half Life 2 until they put out the "Orange Box". Sweet, sweet game. It feels so fresh if all you have ever played are console shooters. I just beat the original Half Life 2 and have I remember hearing about Half Life from my buddy when I was a freshman in college (2000). I've always owned a mac, I don't want to hear it :), and had never played the Half Life and of course never Half Life 2 until they put out the "Orange Box". Sweet, sweet game. It feels so fresh if all you have ever played are console shooters. I just beat the original Half Life 2 and have yet to play the other episodes or portal or multi-player but I'll tell you what, just the original game itself has been worth the money. A note to Exosus. I know your type: everybody likes it so I'll hate it to be different and feel original. You were feeling like a MENSA man for a second there weren't you. LOL. Great game. Go get it. Expand
  98. RyanC
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    Essentially 5 games in 1, The Orange Box won't leave any gamer dissapointed. Half Life 2, Half Life 2: Episode 1, and Half Life 2: Episode 2 are all great games that will last you a good 25 hours. Portal, a quirky puzzle game using a unique new portal gun, is a very amazing game. Team Fortress 2 while not as good as the other 4 games albeit, it's a very unique game that is The Essentially 5 games in 1, The Orange Box won't leave any gamer dissapointed. Half Life 2, Half Life 2: Episode 1, and Half Life 2: Episode 2 are all great games that will last you a good 25 hours. Portal, a quirky puzzle game using a unique new portal gun, is a very amazing game. Team Fortress 2 while not as good as the other 4 games albeit, it's a very unique game that is The Orange Box's answer to multiplayer. Expand
  99. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    It's games like this that show Valve is one of the only developing companies that demonstrate extraordinary consistency.

    The Half Life series seems to have most every quality of a single player shooter that people receive well; original, great pacing, interesting environments, fun weapons, etc. Not only does it have those qualities that are just generally talked about, but it also the
    It's games like this that show Valve is one of the only developing companies that demonstrate extraordinary consistency.

    The Half Life series seems to have most every quality of a single player shooter that people receive well; original, great pacing, interesting environments, fun weapons, etc. Not only does it have those qualities that are just generally talked about, but it also the small amounts of polish added to the game to make it that much more enjoyable, and make no mistake; the small things matter, gamers are way to OCD to ignore the small things. I'm talking about the way set pieces are placed to where it doesn't take away control of the character when it comes time to explain the story. I see this as a very good median between those who are interested and less interested in the story. If we look at past releases that were extremely successful (Bioshock, Oblivion), it is obvious that gamers love freedom. Half Life does have more linear elements to it than open elements, however I would go as far to say that Half Life 2 has the based pacing for any other linear single player game I have played that I can remember.

    Portal is one of those games where it's really hard to find something wrong with it. At least in Half Life you could probably FIND something to **** about, regardless of the fact it's a fantastic game. Portal has nothing against it; if it's your kind of game, you will LOVE it. I could not find one instance while playing through it where I found myself frustrated by things that were not necessarily dependent on my playing. So many games will have potential, but it will have crappy controls, or lack of polish, or it doesn't run smoothly enough, Portal is all good challenge. I suppose one could make the case that Portal is not original because it was based on a student made game called Narbacular Drop; my response to that is, which one did YOU play? (Exactly). There were other first person shooters before Doom and probably Wolfenstein, doesn't take away from those games one bit. It had no technical short comings, it was cleverly staged, amazingly creative in its puzzle and level design, it offered more of a challenge for more advanced players, and it had very decent humor (although I suppose that's subjective).

    I'm not sure I should review Team Fortress 2, because I suck at it. Yet, I can also put credit to the game for still being a blast despite my terrible performance. I do think that they should not stray away from having everyone on a level playing field, which is what I felt made it significantly more balanced than Call of Duty. I don't know if they have always had the store, but I think that was a little step away from an aspect I liked about the game. I also think they could have done a better job of gauging the speed a each class should move based on their primary weapon(s). If I had to guess what makes TF2 as popular as it is, is the obvious reason that every multiplayer game should emulate; it is a shooter that most can just jump right into.

    These games have all of the wow-factor and originality of a good game, except no one can touch Valve when it comes to polish, for it takes out all of the annoying nuances of a good game to turn it into a mediocre game. Stunning!
    Expand
  100. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    Portal is the best puzzle game I have played in some time. It is very original and enjoyable. Half-life is also my favorite first person shooter series, so I enjoyed that too.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 54
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 54
  3. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 100
    For first-person shooter fans, it doesn't get much better than this. What's even better is that each individual game runs amazingly well on the Xbox 360. The graphics are amazing as is the presentation. The interface that Valve created for navigating through the content is also wonderful.
  2. 95
    That so much great content is offered at the standard single-game price is astonishing.
  3. 100
    The Orange Box can't stop giving. It's a sci-fi masterpiece, a clever puzzler and a multiplayer monster wrapped into one, making this a landmark achievement in gaming value and one of the easiest buying decisions you'll make all year. Color us impressed.