The Serious Sam Collection Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Prepare to unleash your inner beast as you go after an army of wicked extraterrestrials. Follow the notorious hero, Sam 'Serious' Stone, in his quest to destroy the alien overlord, Mental, in The Serious Sam Collection - the most action-packed compendium of Serious Sam games. Featuring four of the best Serious Sam games ever made, The Serious Sam Collection has been updated with enhanced visuals, lush landscapes, improved textures and character models in HD. With an arsenal of chainsaws, flamethrowers, rocket launchers, sniper rifles and more, this is some serious first-person shooting action. Now four titles are available for the cost of a single game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Aug 28, 2013
    80
    Probably the best "mindless, arcade shooter" collection we've ever tried. Sam is definitely the "Duke" of the 00's.
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    70
    The Serious Sam Collection is what it is: loud, stupid, colourful, amicably-offensive and a lot of fun – and for your money you’re getting an absolute wealth of shoot-em-up content.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Really really fun game. The blood and chaos that is happening at all points in the game is just an awesome feature. The second encounter really does make the series with its incredible game play and mayhem happening. Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Fantastically absurd as always. Love me some Serious Sam! This collection brings us 4 games, plus DLC for nonstop chaos. Amazing group of games for the price. Perfect for any FPS fan. Some old school tricks mixed in with new upgrades... it's a great package. Favorite, though, as always is the Second Encounter. Any adrenaline junkie will agree. Collapse
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    9
    Serious Sam Collection is fun and exciting, fast paced shooting action in open areas with blood, guts, dumb jokes, it's great, The first and 3rd game are fun to play and it really is worth your time, the sidescroller DDXXL is fun and silly in a "Lets put 4 chainsaws and a shotgun on a minigun" because why not.
    The only real thing keeping me from making it a flat out 10 is really with Serious Sam II, it's just a bad game in all honesty, it's not very fun or exciting, it's way too slow and they expanded the areas to a point where it takes so long to go from one area to another, you get so many enemies thrown at you and such short ranged guns in these massive areas, its boring because you move so slowly, even bunny hopping around isn't very effective like it was in the first and 3rd game. Also, the 1st person platforming sucks because they seem to set it up over constant death traps, and the things you need to move on take you to almost the very edge of the platform, it's just a boring and repetitive chunk of the game, it even has a sniper rifle in it, all of that leads to a slower experience that isn't as good as the first game was
    Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2013
    8
    In the same vain as Doom and Duke Nukem, just stepped up a notch. Updated visual elements will please previous fans. Playing this game is not for the faint at heart. Fast and frantic, it will leave your head spinning and might make easily unnerved people sick from the jarring camera movements. But if you love first-person shooters it's definitely worth a try. Where else do you get 4 full games plus extra content for under $40? Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2013
    8
    You're not buying these games for the perfectly realistic graphics or tactical gameplay, this is just pure shooting mayhem fun. The Serious Sam games are absolutely brilliant for what they are. They're simple but smart and 'tongue in cheek' clever with their overwhelming battles and I think that's what sets them apart from other first person shooters. Graphically, they might look a bit dated compared to a lot of other AAA games out there today, but the gameplay is totally addicting. Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2013
    8
    Serious Sam is known for its mayhem, madness and bloody chaos. There's not a ton of thought involved just shoot and explode aliens and run and shoot and chain saw some more aliens...oh yeah and pick your weapon to do that all over again. I love these games!!! & am super stoked someone put them together on one disc with DLC. I was excited to check out DDXXL, but I still like Second Encounter the best. I mean, with Hippie Mode, c'mon. The price is good too for what I got in the collection! I was waiting for this one. Def a good buy. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    Don't get me wrong here I love the Serious Sam games well the second one the first one was a little tame but still fun and in the spirit of Serious Sam do I think this game is a bad game. No. I have had bad experiences in the past which have held me back playing this game with probably to it's full potential I will not go in depth as I do not want to spoil anything but I think that if you love fps's and you love big guns and big bosses this game is your game. But I had a problem playing "Serious Sam 3" the game on it's own because it was region locked that is what put me off about buying this game but it works and I was glad that I finally got to play my "Serious Sam 3" but at the sad price of full retail on both... That's 60 bucks down the drain but buy this game it does engage you and make it fun for everyone Expand

See all 8 User Reviews