Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. May 10, 2012
    60
    Its rudimentary puzzles may not satisfy point-and-click fans, but those who enjoy interactive drama will be happy to tune in for Episode Two after this solid season premiere.
  2. May 7, 2012
    70
    A game like The Walking Dead ultimately lives and dies based on its characters and writing, though, which has always been something that Telltale's been good at. While it's a little weaker on average than usual, they've also never reached higher highs than they have here. The gameplay is much simpler, but they've shown the direction that the series is going, and with the promise shown here, I hope they can deliver the emotional heft that this series needs to survive.
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jun 19, 2012
    70
    A dark and serious take on an otherwise oversaturated genre. [Issue#86, p.102]
  4. Apr 30, 2012
    70
    The Walking Dead is not a traditional adventure game nor a survival horror: it's more like an interactive novel that complements the comic and the TV series.
  5. May 24, 2012
    70
    Like Dead Rising 2: Case Zero, this is short, and is going for 400 points, which is barely anything. It's not so long that you get bored, and it's not so short that you feel robbed with the cost, unlike a full retail game which can outstay its welcome. The Walking Dead Episode One is a great experience which makes an overused genre interesting once more and tells a nice tale along the way. Hopefully the next episodes can keep the momentum going.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Simply amazing, from start to end. The story and gameplay mechanics is what makes this game, and is a truly worthy addition to the TV seriesSimply amazing, from start to end. The story and gameplay mechanics is what makes this game, and is a truly worthy addition to the TV series and Comic. Hopefully the following episodes will be just as good!
    However, one playthrough will last around 4-6 hours, but there are plenty of decisions to be made, which adds to replay value. 9/10
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Episode 1: This game is totally different than any game I am used to and so I decided to try it. The main reason I gave it a go and manyEpisode 1: This game is totally different than any game I am used to and so I decided to try it. The main reason I gave it a go and many others is because it is Walking Dead related. I spent $20 on all five episodes and I do not regret it one bit. To me it was just like watching another episode on TV but this time I had to, solve problems, make hard choices and lead a group. It took me a little over 2 hours to finish the episode and it left me wanting more. I loved the graphics Telltale has chosen; it fits right in. The blood and gore is also amazing. I loved this episode and I cannot wait til the next is released. Walking Dead FTW! Full Review »
  3. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    Let me get something out of the way first; for those who're expecting another zombie action game a la Resident Evil or Left 4 Dead, saveLet me get something out of the way first; for those who're expecting another zombie action game a la Resident Evil or Left 4 Dead, save yourself the trouble, don't be an ass and just don't expect "The Walking Dead" to be like those games. Cos it's NOTHING like that. It's just something DIFFERENT and sometimes I think we just need a little difference.

    It's engaging from start to finish, your (mostly timed) choices will affect how other characters approach you, what they will say to you, and whether they will trust you. Cos honestly buddy, you're stuck in a **** of a zombie apocalypse and friends are just who you need. For those who have played Telltales' Back To The Future, it has the same mechanics but very polished this time. Combining 'move and click' style gameplay, added with dramatic set pieces and camera angles, TTG managed to tell the story with all guts and glory. Yes there are few QTE segments, but it's done right as it doesn't feel out of place. Mashing the button hasn't felt 'right' for some time now.

    Each of your choices determine how the story goes, and it's not a gimmick. It actually feels smooth and not at all scripted. That dynamic (which also affects the "Next on Walking Dead" preview cutscene at the end of the game) is the recipe of making you not putting the controller down.

    Timing it at 1-2 hours of gameplay, it's short, sweet, and is making me crave for the next 4 episodes. Kudos TTG! Can't wait for the next episode!

    P.S: Those who don't like story oriented games, can go continue playing L4D or RE and whine somewhere else.
    Full Review »