User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 98
  2. Negative: 10 out of 98

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This episode was pure video game brilliance. The characters are so brilliantly written that they'll make you feel real emotion. When Carly was killed by Lilly, I was just overwhelmed with anger and left Lilly to die but then when Carly's death sank in I was genuinely depressed. It's a weird felling when you feel proper emotion for people you know are fictional. I felt so depressed after this episode that I deeply regretted ever buying it but at the same time I can't wait for the next one. Highly recommended. 10/10. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2012
    4
    I really wanted to like this game because it`s definitely different. But a handful of glitches in a three hours episode (including a severe one which leads to a number of re-starts from the last saving point) killed my sympathy - plus the fact, that you can`t change the storyline with the decisions you make. All you get at the end are slightly different dialogues. Will think twice if II really wanted to like this game because it`s definitely different. But a handful of glitches in a three hours episode (including a severe one which leads to a number of re-starts from the last saving point) killed my sympathy - plus the fact, that you can`t change the storyline with the decisions you make. All you get at the end are slightly different dialogues. Will think twice if I want to spend additional money and time into the next episodes. Expand
  3. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    Honestly, if this doesn't deserve an almost perfect review, then I don't know what does. The story is literally incredible. Every 5 minutes something you completely don't expect happens. Everything is right. There's so much to write about the game, but simply put... it has to be the best I've ever played. If you expect to play this episode over two, maybe three days, it's not gonna happen.Honestly, if this doesn't deserve an almost perfect review, then I don't know what does. The story is literally incredible. Every 5 minutes something you completely don't expect happens. Everything is right. There's so much to write about the game, but simply put... it has to be the best I've ever played. If you expect to play this episode over two, maybe three days, it's not gonna happen. You're going to be glued to the seat until the very end. The only thing that stopped me from giving it 10/10 is the fact that it's so short. I easily could've been playing this for 6 hours non stop. Great overall. Collapse
  4. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    this is solid, Telltale is doing an amazing job, although I can't say it's perfect, some slight visual glitches but I can easily look past them, it's just the writing gets sloppy by then, I mean, the episode has you attached to the TV for 85% of it and then... it just slows down so much that you kinda just finish it because of how amazing the climax was, this is intense. But I'll say thatthis is solid, Telltale is doing an amazing job, although I can't say it's perfect, some slight visual glitches but I can easily look past them, it's just the writing gets sloppy by then, I mean, the episode has you attached to the TV for 85% of it and then... it just slows down so much that you kinda just finish it because of how amazing the climax was, this is intense. But I'll say that it is the best episode so far Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    This was one of my favourite episodes of season 1 of The Walking Dead. The tension between the characters and the shocking events that follow really takes the player along on a rollercoaster ride. I don't remember a game in recent memory that has been so successful in making me feel for the characters involved. I should quickly congratulate the voice-actors who have done a fantastic job inThis was one of my favourite episodes of season 1 of The Walking Dead. The tension between the characters and the shocking events that follow really takes the player along on a rollercoaster ride. I don't remember a game in recent memory that has been so successful in making me feel for the characters involved. I should quickly congratulate the voice-actors who have done a fantastic job in making the game more believable. I also thought the puzzles were at their best in this episode. Another thing I like about The Walking Dead games is that there is very rarely a "perfect answer" to many situations you HAVE to choose between various options which may mean losing a group member that you have become fond of. Also, intense situations can lead to tragedy, heat-of-the-moment decisions are made by certain characters that will have important ramifications later in the story. Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    The third episode not only proves to do the previous episode justice, but it many ways surpasses it as decisions become increasingly harder with more impactful consequences. The story is also as strong as before with a slightly longer playtime and more tension. The Walking Dead does not disappoint one bit with this third entry in one of the best story-based videogames out there.
  7. May 20, 2013
    9
    Episode 1 was great, and episode was really good! So will Episode 3 rise or die? Well I can say episode 3 was amazing! Episode 3 really impressed me. So much emotion over your fellow survivers like I never thought would be possible in a video game. This episode makes you decide if you like or hate your survivers. Story is told so well. Only bad thing is the amount of ti, es it froze on me,Episode 1 was great, and episode was really good! So will Episode 3 rise or die? Well I can say episode 3 was amazing! Episode 3 really impressed me. So much emotion over your fellow survivers like I never thought would be possible in a video game. This episode makes you decide if you like or hate your survivers. Story is told so well. Only bad thing is the amount of ti, es it froze on me, really annoying. Overall Telltale is just making the episodes better and better, and can't wait to get more microsoft points to buy the next episode. The Walking Dead: Episode 3- Long Road Ahead 9.1/10 Expand
  8. Sep 27, 2012
    8
    This game is basically an interactive comic book. If you are a fan or The Walking Dead comics or the show, then you will enjoy this game. There are some glitches that occasionally force you to go to the main menu, and start again, but they don't happen often. At first, it seems like you can only have two ways to play; evil or good. But as you play on, you realize there is more to it thanThis game is basically an interactive comic book. If you are a fan or The Walking Dead comics or the show, then you will enjoy this game. There are some glitches that occasionally force you to go to the main menu, and start again, but they don't happen often. At first, it seems like you can only have two ways to play; evil or good. But as you play on, you realize there is more to it than that. You can sometimes say nothing, and not get on anyone's bad side (or good side). You can also play through an episode being a jerk to one person, and then be nice to them in the next one, and a relationship will form, albeit a complicated one. I'm looking forward to having all the episodes to play through in multiple ways. A MUST buy. Expand
  9. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    Is it possible to review episodic games on an episode by episode basis? I don't think so. No one is going to play this game without having played the previous ones. But that also means that if you've played the previous episodes, you know what the game is about and how it plays. So maybe it is possible. I'm confused. If you've played the previous games and enjoyed them, you'll probablyIs it possible to review episodic games on an episode by episode basis? I don't think so. No one is going to play this game without having played the previous ones. But that also means that if you've played the previous episodes, you know what the game is about and how it plays. So maybe it is possible. I'm confused. If you've played the previous games and enjoyed them, you'll probably like this one. If you haven't played this series before then what are you doing reading this review? Now lets try to review this specific episode, without spoilers. Ummm... O.K. That's not going to happen. It boils down to this. You're going to make decisions. Some will be tough. You'll become more/less attached to some characters and maybe even meet some new people, or not. If you're already into the series, I probably don't need to tell you what to do (buy it). If you're new to it, go read reviews for episode one. And in case your too lazy to do that, here's a summary. The Walking Dead videogame is your basic point and click style adventure that saw its heyday back in the late 80's and 90's. You wont be collecting "collectibles"(a plague on modern gaming) or shooting lots of zombies in the head. You're going to be exploring/searching, gathering info, and making split-second decisions. The decision making is actually one of the most important aspects. Unlike most games, your response will be timed and wont allow for you to think too hard or refer to a strategy guide. There's no going back. Decisions are final and you must live with the consequences. A great series. I just wish I didn't have to wait so long between episodes. Just imagine if they could release these episodes on a schedule like a TV show. Expand
  10. Oct 1, 2012
    9
    Telltale seems to make each episode better and better. With superb voice acting, fun gameplay, and an unforgettable story, this is definitely worth the money. The twists and turns in the plot keep you absolutely addicted. Personality, I probably wont come back to reply it any time soon, but even as a one time run of this game, it is more than worth the money. The occasional freeze andTelltale seems to make each episode better and better. With superb voice acting, fun gameplay, and an unforgettable story, this is definitely worth the money. The twists and turns in the plot keep you absolutely addicted. Personality, I probably wont come back to reply it any time soon, but even as a one time run of this game, it is more than worth the money. The occasional freeze and strange controls are the only downside, but is more than made up for with the dialogue choices and amazing storytelling. This game is definitely worth your money. Keep it up TellTale! Expand
  11. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    Episode 3 is relentlessly harrowing and sad, for the characters and for the player. The choices made previously really feel meaningful in this episode. Probably the longest episode in the series, it captures the arduous struggle as the characters travel miles in the hope of civilization. My personal favorite episode and a heartbreaking experience for players of the previous two.
  12. Sep 2, 2012
    0
    Honestly, if this doesn't deserve an almost perfect review, then I don't know what does. The story is literally incredible. Every 5 minutes something you completely don't expect happens. Everything is right. There's so much to write about the game, but simply put... it has to be the best I've ever played. If you expect to play this episode over two, maybe three days, it's not gonna happen.Honestly, if this doesn't deserve an almost perfect review, then I don't know what does. The story is literally incredible. Every 5 minutes something you completely don't expect happens. Everything is right. There's so much to write about the game, but simply put... it has to be the best I've ever played. If you expect to play this episode over two, maybe three days, it's not gonna happen. You're going to be glued to the seat until the very end. The only thing that stopped me from giving it 10/10 is the fact that it's so short. I easily could've been playing this for 6 hours non stop. Great overall. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    90
    In this latest installment of the series you get a story that's even darker than before. A lot of hard moral dilemmas are thrown at you, and you see the group you've come to know as a family falling apart. This episode also brings more puzzle elements than before, making it feel more like a traditional adventure game than an interactive graphic novel.
  2. Sep 27, 2012
    90
    Now that Telltale has captured my attention with this entry, they've got the difficult task of keeping it. This episode is so full of smart character moments and interactions it seems impossible for them to continue it any further, but we'll just have to see what they have in store for us next. Of course it's a lot of pressure to keep the momentum going, but the series is starting to look more cohesive and it feels like it's actually going somewhere, which I appreciate after the second episode felt so aimless and one-off. For the first time since it started, though, I'm looking forward to the next entry in this series, and can't wait to see what happens.
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    88
    As with its predecessors, it's a rare game that earns its difficulty through the weight of its decisions rather than its gameplay, and it sets an increasingly high bar for narrative excellence in video games.