Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Feb 3, 2014
    85
    The first episode of the second season is the beginning of something beautiful. The emotional and impressive story is still there and Clementine is the perfect person to bring us through the emotional rollercoaster that is The Walking Dead.
  2. 85
    Telltale has a lot to deal with out of the gate for All That Remains, and is successful managing most of it. It still doles out plenty of handwringing, emotional moments (in both brutal and overarching flavors), but we’re waiting for Telltale to tie this package together in a truly satisfying manner.
  3. Jan 20, 2014
    80
    The lack of clear black and white moral choices is as refreshing as it ever was, even if this season opener seems to hint at a slight change in tone.
  4. Jan 2, 2014
    80
    All That Remains isn't the best episode in the series, but it does give hope for whatever Telltale has in store for us. Needless to say we can't wait until we can play the next episode.
  5. 80
    All That Remains is a strong season premiere that plays it safe in design terms, but makes bold decisions elsewhere. Heart-rending and brutal, it's a downbeat debut episode that shows plenty of promise. Here's hoping the next five can live up to it.
  6. Dec 19, 2013
    80
    A great way to begin the second season. Playing with Clementine is great, dialogue mechanics are still enjoyable and action sequences, inspired by those from The Wolf Among Us, are happily more dynamic. A very promising inaugural episode, indeed.
  7. Feb 4, 2014
    70
    All That Remains is a bit rougher than I would've liked and not much got established, but I have confidence that the team at Telltale can turn out a good experience. I'm definitely looking forward to seeing where this goes.
  8. Jan 2, 2014
    70
    The seeds of a story are there, however, and we can only hope that the writers are more confident grasping this particular nettle in future episodes.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    If you were a fan of Season 1 then this Season 2 is exactly what was anticipated and more. It would of been easy for them to play it safe and just extend the original story of Clementine, tying up loose ends as they go... But they haven't. They've broke new grounds in terms of narrative and decision making and emotional moments all of which is what made Season 1 so great. The amazing thing is that in a zombie world, the last thing you'd want to be is a little girl. And that's exactly how this game makes you feel, a vulnerable child being thrown from pillar to post in order to ensure survival. They've done an amazing job truly making you feel in the shoes of Clementine. After the first episode, there's so much room for growth. So far this hasn't disappointed! Full Review »
  2. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    Not entirely sure what the PC critic reviewers were playing, but clearly it wasn't this...

    TWD S1 remains one of the best gaming and
    storytelling experiences of all time, offering the first true example of multi-threaded narrative defined by player choice. So many games claim to do this, but offer a hollow imitation and choices that really mean nothing to the player. TWD is an emotional rollercoaster and one of the only games to ever make me shed a tear for the characters.

    TWD: S2E1 is a fitting return to the series. The pacing is a lot slower than the end of S2 as you would imagine after a change of protagonists, the story needs time to set up new characters and situations. Despite a sometimes slowed down pace, you are never far from an action-packed scene of tension and horror. This is an episode that doesn't shy from cringeworthy violence or "OMG" hand-over-the-mouth moments of horror. Clementine makes a wonderful protagonist and her development from the end of S1 is marked and genuine.

    The game's interface has been redesigned and improved, making use of the fantastic control system from Telltale's other absolute gem, "The Wolf Among Us". This results in interactions and conversational responses which are much faster and more fluid than they were previously. Unfortunately, TWD:S2E1 is plagued by the same technical issues that have hounded its predecessor and TWAU as well... the frame-rate is extremely choppy at times and loading screens break the tension and interaction every minute or so. I really hope that Telltale will somehow work out how to rid their games of these issues as this would make them 10 star experiences in my opinion.

    In short, The Walking Dead: Season 2 Episode 1 is a fitting return to one of gaming's most surprise gems and features everything you'd expect from the next iteration of 2012's GOTY (and indeed, one of gaming's pinnacle achievements of all time). Don't delay in getting hold of this excellent experience, and be sure to pick up a Season Pass while you're at it for a discount on the future episodes believe me, you won't want to miss them!
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    8
    The Walking Dead: Season 1 ranks in my top ten games of the PS3/Xbox 360 era. Telltale games completely revitalized the point-and-click genre that I enjoyed so much when I was younger and Lucas Arts was churning out classic after classic. The tradeoff, however, from those days of Sam and Max and Indiana Jones is that the puzzles have diminished in complexity in almost the same degree that the story and emotional involvement in the game have increased. Unfortunately, The first chapter of Season 2 sees a further drop in the complexity in the logical puzzles which Clementine encounters; but the story the characters, and Clementine’s difficult choices are on par with the best moments of Season 1.

    Telltale Games once again shows the humanity of the people scattered about the increasingly resource-scavenged and dangerous landscape. People are pushed into desperation and enough time has gone by since the beginning of the infection that people have adapted and have become consumed with the reality of a situation that just does not seem to get better. Some are even facing the prospect of bringing new life into this living hell. People distrust out of past trauma and are territorial and selfish of possessions out of a strict sense of survival the smallest of generosities, then, can make an average person look a paragon. In this world, the characters are consistent and believable; they act as I imagine people would in these situations, and therefore I can become emotionally tied to this story care about the decisions I make.

    Telltale takes these decisions and fashions a unique experience for each player.
    Personally, I weighed my decisions and made them, as best I could, in the role of the Clementine that perhaps I would perhaps have turned out to be given all that had happened. I measured the loss, the lassitude, and the uncertainty of the times and made choices that showed the effects of Clementine’s childhood being stripped in a death-soaked, paranoid world. At these moments, the game simultaneously became superb storytelling and cause for introspection.

    Still, this is an interactive game and as such, is a bit weak. Action-wise there were some great moments where I was pounding my controller’s button with genuine desperation and panic, but there were also some moments where only the most minimal effort on my part was enough to see me through a very perilous situation safely. The puzzles, as well, were also far too easy this time around. The range of exploration was quite small and the use and function of nearly all items was clear even before they were picked up. No one expects Telltale to produce a game like Dark Souls, but cleverer problem-solving and more challenging action sequences would definitely be welcome.

    This current chapter is a bit disappointing in terms of play, but the gnawing sense of anticipation I feel to be able to place this episode into its full-season context assures me that these games are truly something special.
    Full Review »