User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 405 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 405

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ERB
    Aug 1, 2013
    9
    Why on earth is this game has low scores It is practically fun and awesome.I will never get It why you guys hate this.I mean this game is better than dead island.
  2. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    I actually enjoyed this game. I do have to retort to the people giving it bad reviews, what were you expecting? The main point of topic is that it has bad graphics which is nonsensical to dock it points for that. The graphics aren't ground braking, but certainly not bad, at times the lighting and shading is epic. The rest of the game is lots of fun. I'd recommend this game to anyone whoI actually enjoyed this game. I do have to retort to the people giving it bad reviews, what were you expecting? The main point of topic is that it has bad graphics which is nonsensical to dock it points for that. The graphics aren't ground braking, but certainly not bad, at times the lighting and shading is epic. The rest of the game is lots of fun. I'd recommend this game to anyone who likes FPS's or zombies, even more so to a walking dead fan. Although I preferred the TellTale games version, this is a good game. Don't let the bad reviews put you off. Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    Graphics are bad, but hey, i like zombies and i like the walking dead series. So for me this game is pretty good. And graphics doesen't matter so much.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    I find myself these days scoring games higher, not because they are great games, but because they are trying. This is what it is, a mediocre game by all accounts. Unless you are a Walking Dead fan. The majority of this game is down to your own imagination. When I was a kid any Cowboy or War film came on I was upstairs getting all my gear together, by the time I had built my fort out ofI find myself these days scoring games higher, not because they are great games, but because they are trying. This is what it is, a mediocre game by all accounts. Unless you are a Walking Dead fan. The majority of this game is down to your own imagination. When I was a kid any Cowboy or War film came on I was upstairs getting all my gear together, by the time I had built my fort out of cushions the film was nearly over. If I was lucky I might take part in the final battle. I feel that way about this game. Loved the series and I loved the Telltale game. I was so geared up to play this game that it only had to tick two boxes to be appealing to me. Does it feel anything like you are part of the Walking Dead universe yes. Is it true to life with the zombie movement and reactions yes, and actually probably more so than many other games. Those were my requirements for this game. A lot of things could be better, graphics,UI design and story. Overall I would say fan of the Walking Dead buy the game and engage your imagination a little. Not a fan, don't go near it. If this was a standalone zombie game it would score 2 or 3. But because of the link to a franchise and because they do capture the overall essence of the TV show I score it higher. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    I don't know how or WHY people expected this to be like Telltale's point and click adventure masterpiece, bought it and then got disappointed afterwards. It's a FPS survival horror and for the most part the game gets it right. The first person combat is fun, the storytelling is decent at best and the game has a somewhat unique art style to it. Visually it isn't really all that impressiveI don't know how or WHY people expected this to be like Telltale's point and click adventure masterpiece, bought it and then got disappointed afterwards. It's a FPS survival horror and for the most part the game gets it right. The first person combat is fun, the storytelling is decent at best and the game has a somewhat unique art style to it. Visually it isn't really all that impressive but it captures the atmosphere of a post-apocalyptic, zombie ridden world quite well and, well it has that ''Walking Dead'' feel overall. All in all it's a great package. Some people coming from Telltale's Walking Dead: The Game are going to be disappointed if they expect a heart twisting story and a emotional story overall. I had fun with it, so should you. Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Very good game sound,zombie vibe and gameplay is amazing too bad that graphic isnt great but its decent overall this is very good game and it turns better if you like zombies in games
  7. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Instead of just talking about how great this game is, I'm going to list my personal Pros & Cons about the game.

    Pros: Its a FPS Walking Dead game where you play as Daryl Its more of a realistic zombie game where every zombie doesn't swarm you unless you make a lot of noise or seen by them. Norman Reedus & Michael Rooker both did an amazing job with their voice-overs Like the
    Instead of just talking about how great this game is, I'm going to list my personal Pros & Cons about the game.

    Pros:
    Its a FPS Walking Dead game where you play as Daryl
    Its more of a realistic zombie game where every zombie doesn't swarm you unless you make a lot of noise or seen by them.
    Norman Reedus & Michael Rooker both did an amazing job with their voice-overs
    Like the Telltale Games TWD game, there is choice & consequence
    You meet other survivors, some of which join you.
    You can tell which survivors to perform specific tasks to find resources while you do the main mission
    There have been times where the game will catch me off guard and actually make me jump

    Cons:
    You don't get to drive the car(s)
    You can't restart checkpoints
    At times, you can end up getting overwhelmed by zombies a bit too quickly

    In the end though, I have been thoroughly enjoying this game. Activision & Terminal Reality did a very good job on it in my personal opinion.
    Expand
  8. Mar 25, 2013
    8
    I haven't even played this game yet and I already think it's good. If you're looking for a game to blast through zombies like they're cotton candy with your infinite ammo AK47, you're not going to like this game. However, if you want a suspenseful and challenging game in which you have to survive in a realistic zombie apocalypse, this might just be your kind of game. Watch gameplay beforeI haven't even played this game yet and I already think it's good. If you're looking for a game to blast through zombies like they're cotton candy with your infinite ammo AK47, you're not going to like this game. However, if you want a suspenseful and challenging game in which you have to survive in a realistic zombie apocalypse, this might just be your kind of game. Watch gameplay before you spend 50 dollars on the game. Expand
  9. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is a must for a walking dead TV fan, it had all the atmosphere that it needs. Well worth the money if you look around its already reduced in some stores.
  10. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    The game is very nice but the graphics isn't vvery amazing.I like the overall of this game lot of action and interesting storyline.Not so good as teltate game but still it looks nice.
  11. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    I really enjoy this game! It's exactly what you want in a horror survival game. It's fun and to the point. This game is not for video game( gamerZzz") elitists, people that LARP or otherwise have no interpersonal social skills. It's a video game for the Everyman who want to slays some bodies.
  12. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing due to the replayablitiy and its full of content and about 12 hrs story and the likeness of norman reedus an dmicheal rooker is spot on and excellent voice work well done terminal reality
  13. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    This game is actually pretty fun to play. The way that it is setup makes it that way. The limited ammo and use of melee weapons is key to success. The stealth action is a must, and a nice change from the normal run and gun type of games this genre has seen in recent years. The only downside is that the graphics are slightly dated and that there is no co-op or multiplayer (right out ofThis game is actually pretty fun to play. The way that it is setup makes it that way. The limited ammo and use of melee weapons is key to success. The stealth action is a must, and a nice change from the normal run and gun type of games this genre has seen in recent years. The only downside is that the graphics are slightly dated and that there is no co-op or multiplayer (right out of the box at least). Besides that, this game is pretty fun and may even startle you at times. It's definitely worth picking up at only $49.99. Expand
  14. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Good game, not revolutionary but not bad. Doesn't deserve a 10 but it's definitely at least a solid 7. It's high points are that it includes Norman Reedus and Michael Rooker, and it's survival elements. Graphics and combat could have benefited from extra development time.
  15. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    What makes a zombie game good for me. That's really what you need to ask yourself. For me it's the atmosphere the game gives me. Been playing for around 4 hours and find it refreshing that I haven't been attacked by spitters, witches, tanks and other kind of super zombies. Just me and the walkers. Sure the graphics good be better but it really isn't that bad. I love it when you're indoorsWhat makes a zombie game good for me. That's really what you need to ask yourself. For me it's the atmosphere the game gives me. Been playing for around 4 hours and find it refreshing that I haven't been attacked by spitters, witches, tanks and other kind of super zombies. Just me and the walkers. Sure the graphics good be better but it really isn't that bad. I love it when you're indoors with your flashlight on and the shadows it produces. Or the grain filter it has that's also on the tv show. Love the survival feel it gives me. Stopped on a mission to push a car to clear the road and to survive had to use most ammo that I had. Traveled to my next destination and had to play different because I had no ammo left. But can see why a lot of people won't like this game. This is not like the zombie mode on BO where you end up running a little circle and make a train of the zombies again and again to survive. Expand
  16. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Yes I can understand why people would not like this game..but this isnt COD zombies. You actually have to try and survive by trying to hit the head, use stealth and destrations. I think it is a Awsome, and great game and the graphics have a Boderlands 2 feel and the zombies grabing you is pain but other than that i feel like it was almost spot on..feeling of a real zombie Apocalypse
  17. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    It's not the best graphic game, but overall it's surprisingly decent. Kind of a cheap Dead Island. I don't think it will appeal for everyone. If you are someone where the graphics have to be mind blowing, this game may not live up to our standard. But if you want a good time, and something till Bioshock comes out. This game might just be it.
  18. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. I have never played a game that made me actually feel like I was surviving the zombie apocalypse like this game does! Yes, the graphics are outdated but the gameplay delivers. Plus, its only 50 bucks so its not like they tried to make it appear to be some huge blockbuster...it is what it is and that is zombie apocalypse gameplay superior to any seen yet on consoles!
  19. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    While yes, it is visually impaired, the game presents a very different style of FPS. Being that it is the first in a hopeful series, it does a fantastic job at demonstrating the games style and potential. It perfectly combines the elements of stealth and guns a-blazin' in order to not become too repititious or boring. The game definitely has some room for improvement with the executions,While yes, it is visually impaired, the game presents a very different style of FPS. Being that it is the first in a hopeful series, it does a fantastic job at demonstrating the games style and potential. It perfectly combines the elements of stealth and guns a-blazin' in order to not become too repititious or boring. The game definitely has some room for improvement with the executions, fluidity with movements and attacking, as well as creating a playable and interesting story line, but overall I have loved the game so far. the retort featured by Norman Reedus is undeniably amazing. the decision making in the game is also a nice addition; choosing which survivor you want to keep, deciding to search for supplies even with the risk that you could leave the area with less health than you came out with. I personally enjoyed the break from typical FPS games that never seem to run out of ammunition or health. Supplies are scarce and you have to be frugal, while also deciding whether or not to send other members of your party looking for supplies and potentially coming back with less than they left with. The game does a good job at really just diving right into the zombie apocalypse action and really gives a good feel for what it would be like in the same reality. I loved how the zombies react to Daryls presence in the game. Shooting a rifle, for example, will generally bring a huge horde of zombies from all over the area and the zombies in this game are no joke. They are not the one-hit kill or shoot them enough type of zombies, they are the shoot in the head exclusively or many hits with most melee weapons per zombie. A task far too difficult to do with very limited health. I was a fan of the telltale game, and i knew that this one would be incredibly different but i was not let down. Perhaps if the two games were to be combined into one SUPERgame, it would be the best thing that has ever happened to interactive digital entertainment. I think overall, the game is absolutely worth the purchase. Dont expect another telltale, high graphics, or online/multiplayer capabilities. Do expect a very different, true apocalyptic horror/survival game, almost retro game. Expand
  20. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    What did everyone expect from this game, activision only had limited time and hardly any budget to create this game so unless they are Harry Houdini they were never going to create a game in the the categories of other games such as the call of duty franchise. Nevertheless this was a great attempt at a proper zombie survival game unlike dead rising, this game really makes you sit on theWhat did everyone expect from this game, activision only had limited time and hardly any budget to create this game so unless they are Harry Houdini they were never going to create a game in the the categories of other games such as the call of duty franchise. Nevertheless this was a great attempt at a proper zombie survival game unlike dead rising, this game really makes you sit on the edge of your seat as the different missions are gripping. I would recommend you buy this game and don't listen to the critics as sometimes they get reviews wrong and this is one of the times. Expand
  21. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    ThiS GAME IS SO AWESOME! The framerate is always 200 fps or something like that, the graphics look better then crysis 3, and the story is so emotional. U NEED TO BUY THIS! This isn't a sandbox game but you will not see a difference. The variety of maps is SO HUGE and SO BIG. U really think ur living in a big city. Also the zombies are SO detailed and the texture quality are SO awesome. AtThiS GAME IS SO AWESOME! The framerate is always 200 fps or something like that, the graphics look better then crysis 3, and the story is so emotional. U NEED TO BUY THIS! This isn't a sandbox game but you will not see a difference. The variety of maps is SO HUGE and SO BIG. U really think ur living in a big city. Also the zombies are SO detailed and the texture quality are SO awesome. At really every chapter I had to cry because the story was SO good. BUY THIS GAME!!! ITs like I bought four games for the very CHEAP price of 50 euro's!!!!!!!!! SO CHEAP!!!!!!! Expand
  22. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    If the idea of a stealth and melee based zombie game where using a gun is seldom the best option appeals to you, give this game a chance. If you can get past the graphics its a surprisingly good.game and I think the negative reviews are overly harsh.
  23. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    First of all, been waiting LONG time for this game! Thought it was awesome that Amazon was running it for about $37! The game is rad so far, saw a few wonky glitches here and there, but the adrenaline rush of getting mobbed by zombies and having to hunt for supplies more than makes up for that! Loved the in-game story moments too, kudos to whoever did them! I def recommend this titleFirst of all, been waiting LONG time for this game! Thought it was awesome that Amazon was running it for about $37! The game is rad so far, saw a few wonky glitches here and there, but the adrenaline rush of getting mobbed by zombies and having to hunt for supplies more than makes up for that! Loved the in-game story moments too, kudos to whoever did them! I def recommend this title if you like WD and want something challenging! Expand
  24. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is AWESOME!! For those looking for a sequel for the Telltale game this one is NOT it. This is "Survival Instinct". An FPS survival horror game for real gamers. The game play is solid and the story is very well told. It scared the crap out of me several times. I really felt like I was playing in the Walking Dead world. I highly recommend this game to anyone even if your NOT aThis game is AWESOME!! For those looking for a sequel for the Telltale game this one is NOT it. This is "Survival Instinct". An FPS survival horror game for real gamers. The game play is solid and the story is very well told. It scared the crap out of me several times. I really felt like I was playing in the Walking Dead world. I highly recommend this game to anyone even if your NOT a Walking Dead fan. It is a really cool addition to the zombie genre. Expand
  25. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is sooooooooooo much fun! They make you feel like you are on THE WALKING DEAD SHOW! When the walkers are coming up on you.. you feel the adrenaline kick in! So FUN so CREEPY 0_o LOVE it! Kickin Zombie Butt and Takin Names.... YUP YUP!
  26. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    I find the game is good. The graphics Might not be the that great. But ti find the game play good and fun. The point the you have to decide who look will look for what supplies. You have to watch how much noise you make. the zombie AI is good. You don't feel like a god and can kill every zombie in the game. sound is good too. Would be nice to have a little more different game play.I find the game is good. The graphics Might not be the that great. But ti find the game play good and fun. The point the you have to decide who look will look for what supplies. You have to watch how much noise you make. the zombie AI is good. You don't feel like a god and can kill every zombie in the game. sound is good too. Would be nice to have a little more different game play. But for the price and game. A walking dead fan is quite happy with what I got Expand
  27. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    the walking dead survival instinct is not a perfect game by any means but is it worth 50 dollars and the awnser to that is yes. ok the writing is not amazing the graphics are way below par and the voice acting is average at best but yet I still had a hell of a time playing this game. this game can be completed in about 1 weekend by a casual gamer. If you come into this game expecting itthe walking dead survival instinct is not a perfect game by any means but is it worth 50 dollars and the awnser to that is yes. ok the writing is not amazing the graphics are way below par and the voice acting is average at best but yet I still had a hell of a time playing this game. this game can be completed in about 1 weekend by a casual gamer. If you come into this game expecting it to be skyrim you will be disopointed but if you are a fan of the walking dead and want to kill some walkers you will have a great time 5 years from now will you look back and say omg that game was a masterpiece my fave game ever no but it is well worth 50 dollars and one thing that will either disipoint or make you happy is the fact that zombies only die when they get head trama Expand
  28. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    If you love slow-paced zombie/survival horror games you are gonna love this one! i really do recommend the game for those who like the "feel" of the NBC-series "The Walking Dead" cause this game is so much fun, it handles a little more unrealistic than "ZombiU" but it feels alright. If there is one thing i hate about this game its that the graphics look really good for.................2006If you love slow-paced zombie/survival horror games you are gonna love this one! i really do recommend the game for those who like the "feel" of the NBC-series "The Walking Dead" cause this game is so much fun, it handles a little more unrealistic than "ZombiU" but it feels alright. If there is one thing i hate about this game its that the graphics look really good for.................2006 i mean
    WHAT THA HEEEEEEEEEUUUULL! Why didn't u use a real graphics engine?
    Expand
  29. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    I personally enjoyed the stealth aspects of the game as well as the health system. While the game could use a little work, I think it was a good game overall.
  30. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    despite all the negative reviews from people expecting it to be a click and choice game like Telltale games The walking dead, this game is very good, yes the graphics aren't up to par but they arent bad either which is why i gave it a 9 instead of 10. People don't understand this is a Survival FPS game, and not a cinematic type of game which is probably what most of the negativedespite all the negative reviews from people expecting it to be a click and choice game like Telltale games The walking dead, this game is very good, yes the graphics aren't up to par but they arent bad either which is why i gave it a 9 instead of 10. People don't understand this is a Survival FPS game, and not a cinematic type of game which is probably what most of the negative reviewers were expecting. Collapse
  31. Mar 20, 2013
    0
    despite all the negative reviews from people expecting it to be a click and choice game like Telltale games The walking dead, this game is very good, yes the graphics aren't up to par but they arent bad either which is why i gave it a 9 instead of 10. People don't understand this is a Survival FPS game, and not a cinematic type of game which is probably what most of the negativedespite all the negative reviews from people expecting it to be a click and choice game like Telltale games The walking dead, this game is very good, yes the graphics aren't up to par but they arent bad either which is why i gave it a 9 instead of 10. People don't understand this is a Survival FPS game, and not a cinematic type of game which is probably what most of the negative reviewers were expecting. Collapse
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 30
  2. Negative: 28 out of 30
  1. May 28, 2013
    40
    With the success of Telltale Games’s arcade game, there were high hopes for this full-fledged retail title. As it happens you would be best off saving your pennies for the already announced sequel to the arcade title as Survival Instinct will leave you with bitter feelings towards The Walking Dead series. Unless you are an absolute nutter for anything to do with The Walking Dead, your money will be best spent elsewhere.
  2. May 20, 2013
    30
    It's as if the developer simply ceased to care, or ran out of time, or both. Who knows? What we do know is that Terminal Velocity has crafted something truly loathsome and undeserving of its heritage. [Issue#135, p.108]
  3. May 9, 2013
    30
    Archaic design spoils good ideas in this shoddy squandering of one of the hottest licenses going. [June 2013, p.74]