The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 839 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second installment in the RPG saga about the Witcher, Geralt of Rivia, features a thoroughly engrossing, mature storyline defining new standards for thought-provoking, non-linear game narration. In addition to an epic story, the game features an original, brutal combat system thatThe second installment in the RPG saga about the Witcher, Geralt of Rivia, features a thoroughly engrossing, mature storyline defining new standards for thought-provoking, non-linear game narration. In addition to an epic story, the game features an original, brutal combat system that uniquely combines tactical elements with dynamic action. A new, modern game engine, responsible for beautiful visuals and sophisticated game mechanics puts players in the most lively and believable world ever created in an RPG game. A captivating story, dynamic combat system, beautiful graphics, and everything else that made the original Witcher such a great game are now executed in a much more advanced and sophisticated way. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings - Hope Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 82
  2. Negative: 1 out of 82
  1. May 16, 2012
    100
    The Witcher 2 is a highly recommended purchase for those seeking a mature and visceral role-playing experience.
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    96
    The Witcher 2 continues to be a colossal creative and technical achievement and the superb 360 version only confirms the excellence CD Projekt's craft. Console users get a fantastic version of a fantastic game, while the PC users get a great patch that improves and enhances the experience of the original, a perfect excuse to return as The White Wolf and to live his adventure from a new perspective.
  3. Apr 19, 2012
    93
    The Xbox 360 version has some rough edges, but these annoyances aren't significant enough to sully the experience. The Witcher 2 is a beauty to behold with a rich, involving fiction framing strategic and challenging combat. Most of all, its mature implementation of morality, choice, and consequence is a step forward that more games would be wise to follow.
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    90
    The immersive world, memorable characters, exhilarating combat, and branching storylines will have you coming back to play it again and again.
  5. Apr 19, 2012
    90
    The mature theme, gameplay and compelling plot pull us through a story that creates a legend that you would be a fool to miss out on.
  6. Apr 26, 2012
    85
    The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings - Enhanced Edition is a game that lives up to the hype. The story and game come off as more mature than other similarly rated games. The combat is rewarding, and the completely alternate paths and side-quests provide more than enough incentive to replay the game once you finish it. The sound is masterfully done, and the graphics show that, even with a few flaws, developers can pull off some magic with this old hardware. Both RPG and action lovers will be more than satisfied with this very entertaining title.
  7. Apr 26, 2012
    45
    Despite all the additions and enhancements, The Witcher 2: Enhanced Edition is an unsatisfying game that won't appeal to series newcomers and never lives up to its own ambitions.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 208
  1. Apr 18, 2012
    10
    @Dacai: you didn't take into account that 1) in some regions this game was available from the 14th of April and 2) there are quite a few@Dacai: you didn't take into account that 1) in some regions this game was available from the 14th of April and 2) there are quite a few people who bought it on xbox who played it on pc before, thus they ARE able to give an in-depth review after just a day of playing. Please remove your unfair score and make a review only after you have actually played the game. My review: Marvellous story, where your decisions really matter. Gorgeous graphics. Intensive gameplay. Solid voice acting. Original and captivating music. The Witcher 2 has all that and much more. Collapse
  2. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Great story, great gameplay, and a great soundtrack, something you find rarely in current games. This game sets an example for anyGreat story, great gameplay, and a great soundtrack, something you find rarely in current games. This game sets an example for any Role-Playing Games out there. It has a nice, flowing combat system with exciting gameplay. The story is very interesting, well written, and very mature. This game is not like many other competitors, in that it is very non-linear. Many current Role-Playing Games, to date, have a very linear and boring story line. I have not encountered any flaws with this game and recommend it to anyone who is interested in a mature, compelling game. Expand
  3. Apr 20, 2012
    10
    One of the finest games I have ever played. Great story, well thought out characters, impressive visuals, and gameplay that is both fun, yetOne of the finest games I have ever played. Great story, well thought out characters, impressive visuals, and gameplay that is both fun, yet very tactical, at least on normal or higher difficulty. Where most games seem to think that rpgs need to be dumbed down to stupidity (Skyrim), this game shows that gamers may not be afraid of the challenge and depth that was what the rpg genre used to be know for. Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    Phenomenal game with a wonderful story and top-notch voice acting. I can't recommend it enough....with one warning - it has some absurdlyPhenomenal game with a wonderful story and top-notch voice acting. I can't recommend it enough....with one warning - it has some absurdly awkward & unnecessary CG nudity & sex. Thats the only reason I've deducted a point and if the game had been released without the ridiculous CG boob-jiggling doggy -style action it'd be an easy 10 out of 10. Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    Perhaps the first "Mature" rated game I've ever played to deserve the rating. While it is far from perfect (I'm looking at you, archaic menuPerhaps the first "Mature" rated game I've ever played to deserve the rating. While it is far from perfect (I'm looking at you, archaic menu system/Stilted combat), it is perhaps singlehandedly restoring my faith in Video Games as a medium in which a developer can approach adult subject matter with nuance. When making choices in this game, I've been amazed as the gray area one can tread in. Gone are the diametrically opposed (and cartoonish) "good" vs "evil" choices of other RPG's (Mass Effect, Star Wars: The Old Republic). In their place lay decisions that carry great gravitas and perhaps more importantly, have motivations with which you can identify. In too many games, I feel as though I'm making an arbitrary decision between being an unrealistic portrayal of "good" vs "evil", hamfistedly engaging in acts that beat my character into one of two dichotomous roles. Not so here at all. If combat was a little smoother and the game had a slightly lower barrier for entry (be prepared to learn some lore, if you didn't check out the first title) it would be getting a well deserved 10, as it stands currently, 9 all the way. Expand
  6. May 5, 2012
    7
    I am a huge RPG fan, I love the genre and want to see all the different paths it takes so when I first heard about The Witcher 2 and theI am a huge RPG fan, I love the genre and want to see all the different paths it takes so when I first heard about The Witcher 2 and the praise it was receiving I wanted to play it, the problem? I don't have a PC that can play games like that so I was sadly left out, but they thankfully made this console port, but I have to say I am disappointed with what The Witcher 2 had to offer, don't get me wrong it's a good game and I had fun playing through it, it's got solid and challenging combat (well, until you level up, then it becomes easy), deep choices that effect everything in the story, where you go, who you see, and what you do. And it's an experience aimed not only at the most mature audiences (seriously parents, keep you kids as far away as possible), but also an experience that is aimed at the most hardcore of RPG players. But when I compare this game to others RPG's I've played it doesn't stack up to it's hefty competition in the gameplay department, the combat is smooth for the most part but there are some issues with the lock on system and at times the camera, each chapter has it's own location that your going to have to explore in order to complete quests, but there design is so awful you'll often find yourself getting lost in the maze like location filled with dead ends with the almost 100% useless map, I encountered one or two almost quest breaking glitches (luckily I found my way around the glitches or the game managed to fix itself after a bit), and the story is hampered by passable to downright poor voice acting, and speaking of things hampering the story Geralt is for the most part unlikable, his friend range from good to great but he's just ok, the graphics hold up well but they're far from the best, and it's just not as much fun to play as other RPG's. I did have fun with it and want to see where they take the Witcher series from here and how the series story ultimately concludes. I recommend it to people who have either been curious about it or are looking for a more hardcore RPG, but I was ultimately disappointed with it. It's good but not great and will only click with a certain audience, but it's far from the worst out there. Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2012
    0
    Absolutely atrocious. Doesn't live up to the hype, not by a long shot. Okay, after seeing the visually stunning and intriguing trailer airedAbsolutely atrocious. Doesn't live up to the hype, not by a long shot. Okay, after seeing the visually stunning and intriguing trailer aired for this game and reading the overwhelmingly positive reviews, I was very excited to pick this game up and dive in. I don't think I could have been more disappointed. First off, the stunning visuals displayed in the trailer were replaced by "pretty good" visuals in the game itself.
    When being compared to other games of this generation I give it's visuals a 7 out of 10. Actually, to be entirely honest with you I thought this was the game's strongest point. That was the first thing I noticed. Then came the control mechanics. Which to put it lightly where awkward and confusing with no natural flow and ease of use. The menus were even worse. For every minute spent in-game another three were spent in the terribly difficult and slow to navigate menus. But let us step away from the quickly frustrating controls and menus before I go into a fit of maniacal rage on the subject. (We'll save that for later.)

    On now to the choppy, absolutely unnatural, and unimaginative dialog. I mean come on! I've seen more imaginative exchanges in episodes The Telitubbies! And they don't even use complete sentences! To be honest I wish I would have picked up a non-English version. I probably would've gotten more out of it!

    After about 3 hours of hoping that the awesomeness that everyone was raving about was going to reveal itself, I couldn't take anymore abuse. I felt that blood pressure had doubled and my IQ had been halved. I'd had enough. It was with the excitement of someone that's found a dead rat in their home that I removed the disk from my console. I'm still sick about the $60 and 3 hours of my life that I'll never get back because of this disappointment. All in all, if Atari would have put half the vision and effort into the game as they did into the trailer they may have had something. And that's all I've got to say about that.
    Expand

See all 208 User Reviews