User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 59
  2. Negative: 4 out of 59

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 6, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just meh.... The investigation and the final part of the game is just dumb.. IMO, story-telling is not the strong department of Telltale games, what makes Telltale games so special is the characters and the illusion of choices that affect you emotionally. At the end, I found snow is quite annoying and the wolf has no close connection to anyone. All of the characters are not that interesting to me. I feel I just passively followed a dumb detective story without emotion involved. Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers. Telltale has done it again ladies and gentlemen! Another game formed from true perfection, great job telltale! The game was so rewarding as you finally got too see "The Big Bad Wolf" getting to see him huff and puff, as you kill the terrifying Bloody Mary once and for all! They're were many epic fight scenes and tough desicions to make. Will you show fabletown the nice wolf? Or the bad one? At the end of it all it feels great to finally have been able to set the Crooked Man in his right place, the witching well. Or wait, maybe you decided to just simply looking him up? Dude honestly this game has been such a thrilling experience. Missing out on this game is what I would call a great mistake. BUY this game, one of the best games I have played. Collapse
  3. Jul 22, 2014
    9
    The game i expected a bit more of the ending but he is really cool i already told that and i will tell agaib if the gane was only the first episode it would be so amazing
  4. Jul 20, 2014
    6
    This game left me with an overwhelming sensation of "mehh." I love Telltale games. The Walking Dead Seasons 1 and 2 have presented moments that have absolutely torn me apart emotionally. The stories were engaging and fantastic. Unfortunately, the Wolf Among Us only presents an interesting setting. I like the characters and the environment, but the gameplay feels very lacking for such a game, and the overall story is very inconsistent and convoluted.

    Really, this game simply fails in the story. Early episodes had "previews" showing the game going very differently. This lends to my belief that they changed the story to stretch the series in order to do a Season 2 a la Walking Dead. I don't mind this in principle, but Episodes 2, 3, and 4 could be merged and would feel about the same size as one Walking Dead episode. Episode 5 reaches the climax far too quickly, and ultimately spends far too much time in the "falling action." Episode 1 and 3 are very good, but otherwise I was largely underwhelmed by the story.
    Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2014
    9
    Out of all of the episodes in the series, this was likely the best. Despite the lack of action in the previous episodes it is made up for by the final fight which definitely deserves the word 'epic'. It did suffer from slight tone problems and the final scene was rather predictable however it is all massively overshadowed by the surprisingly open ending. It was so open I would myself confused as to what is happening and it left me perplexed for a rather long time until I came up with my own conclusion as I'm sure Telltale envisioned players to do. This was made better as it did not rely on a gut punch to have an effective ending. I applaud Telltale for this ambitious game but the minor problems do make it impossible to give a perfect ten. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2014
    6
    I feel like this game's story is great but I wish there was more action moments in the game. Or as a player, had more of an impact on the actual final outcome outside of just talking. I purchased this game and played through all 5 episodes over a span of a week. There were points where I had to exit out and replay a scene or two. I figured that this would be a good place to make some different choices and see how it impacted the outcome... I was disappointed and felt like the game was just a chat simulator. Things that I say or do have an impact on pissing off someone or not. But does that keep them from showing up later in the story? Or trying to kill me in my off duty hours? No, it just means they are going to be upset with me later and I might not get as much information...But I can still progress through the story all the same with or without them. I would like to see something that actually makes my choice have impact and not just something that so and so will remember. Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2014
    10
    A perfect ending for a perfect game. great fighting scenes, important decisions and lots of plot twists. Really makes me want to replay the whole game to search more clues to the end.
  8. Jul 12, 2014
    10
    The Wolf Among Us has outdone itself with it's finale. The story is just outstanding. It's even better than the Walking Dead game. I have been playing both and I enjoy both so much but, this really took the floor.
  9. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    All hail Telltale. This episode was an excellent end to a great season. Ep. 5 had a lot of great fighting sequences, tough decisions, with an awesome atmosphere, story, and conclusion. You finally get to experience the true power of "the big bad wolf" (for that scene I just had a smile on my face the entire time). If you've enjoyed any of the other episodes and enjoyed it, you will not be disappointed with where the story goes and how things play out. I only wish we could have learned a little more of what the Crooked Man did to Fabletown. Expand
  10. Jul 31, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers. Telltale has done it again ladies and gentlemen! Another game formed from true perfection, great job telltale! The game was so rewarding as you finally got too see "The Big Bad Wolf" getting to see him huff and puff, as you kill the terrifying Bloody Mary once and for all! They're were many epic fight scenes and tough desicions to make. Will you show fabletown the nice wolf? Or the bad one? At the end of it all it feels great to finally have been able to set the Crooked Man in his right place, the witching well. Or wait, maybe you decided to just simply looking him up? Dude honestly this game has been such a thrilling experience. Missing out on this game is what I would call a great mistake. BUY this game, one of the best games I have played. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jul 31, 2014
    90
    The fifth episode of The Wolf Among Us is a fitting end to a amazing series by Telltale games. A bunch of questions are answered, and there is constant feeling of tension throughout the episode. Because Cry Wolf ties everything together in a amazing way, The Wolf Among Us becomes one of the best games Telltale ever made.
  2. 90
    The visuals, while still appealing, act a bit unsteady at times and the episode could have been longer. Telltale is asking for a fair chunk of cash for an episode that is measurable more in minutes than hours. But the art style, excellent voice acting and interesting story do more than enough to make up for those other deficiencies as Telltale Games turns in its finest release yet.
  3. Jul 15, 2014
    90
    The Wolf Among Us is a game that exceeds expectations, providing an intriguing, painful, and thought-provoking journey that everyone should experience at least once.