Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Swing Tempo - For the 1st time in Tiger Woods PGA TOUR history, the tempo and speed of your swing is going to directly influence the power of your shot. Fast tempo will add more distance to shots. Slow tempo will result in less distance. Shot Setup – Create all possible shot types from one shot setup. Drag your aiming marker forward and back to blend between full , ¾ , pitch, and chip shots. Create draw and fade shots by opening and closing your golfer’s stance. Affect the launch trajectory by moving the ball forward or backward in your stance to create flop and punch shots. The possibilities are endless, allowing any real shot to be created in the game. Strike Meter – Using the all-new Strike Meter, place the sweet spot of the club precisely where you wish to hit the ball. While a center strike is the most common, you can use low and high strikes to alter power, spin and trajectory. Swing Arc – The visualization of the golfer’s swing is shown in the form of an arc. Use this arc as a guide to execute your swing with the proper power, trajectory and shot shape. All-New Animations – Utilizing the latest version of EA’s sophisticated ANT animation system, you’ll be able to see in real-time whether your golf swing is on or off plane through your golfer’s on-screen animations. [Electronic Arts]
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Mar 29, 2012
    97
    I ended last year's review by saying, "I don't know how this game can possibly get any better, but I look forward to seeing EA try to best this almost-flawless installment, and what is arguably the best version of PGA Tour in the history of the franchise.". Well, somehow they did manage to best their previous efforts, so I will let that statement and challenge conclude this year's review as I return to the links for another year of great virtual golf.
  2. Mar 27, 2012
    90
    Even if the motion controls lack a true 1:1 golf swing experience, the Kinect adds a nice new gamplay experience to the series. And if motion controls generate little interest for you, the Country Club mode and other additions warrant your investing time with Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13.
  3. Mar 29, 2012
    85
    Overall I have had a lot of fun with Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13. Despite my complaint about the way some of the courses are handled this is a great golfing title.
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    80
    Thanks to the new swing setup, I've had more fun playing Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 than any previous entry in the series. By putting the onus on you to think like a real golfer and execute every shot, PGA Tour 13 makes successful play more rewarding than ever before and gives you the closest possible feeling to mastering a world-class golf course in real life.
  5. Apr 18, 2012
    78
    One of the entries in the Tiger Woods series which has included more new features in this generation of consoles, including a great mode in which we can relive Tiger Woods career. Kinect compatibility is obviously the greatest new feature, which works quite well, although it doesn't achieve to replace the traditional controls. A great golf simulator, though.
  6. Mar 27, 2012
    75
    Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 is close. It's so very close to being a truly great golf sim and the Kinect support is far and away better than I could have possibly imagined.
  7. Mar 28, 2012
    60
    There's no denying that this year's edition plays a good game of golf, and the changes to the game's core systems are well-judged - but they're arguably not enough to make it worth buying again for anyone but the most ardent fan of the sport. While the likes of FIFA have made clear progress in recent iterations, it's hard to see what benefit there is to having a Tiger game every year.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    This is the best Tiger so far without a doubt. I love the new swing mechanic, and putting is great as well. If you make a bad shot, you really feel as if it were your fault and not the games. The graphics have been completely revamped, and the new look is terrific, with grass blowing in the wind, moving clouds, streaming sunshine, and the crowds now look quite colorful and much more realistic. There is a noticeable decrease in overall resolution, which I'm guessing is due to hardware limitations, and which creates a perfect argument for new consoles. I don't care much for the kinect feature, it is just too cumbersome for me, but you may like it. I have no problem at all paying for extra courses, because well, I want lots of extra courses!! Overall just a great and super fun game. Collapse
  2. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    As long as youâ
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    Easily the best golf game I have ever played. The controls are challenging when you first pick it up but with some practice they become very intuitive. You can actually feel when you mis-hit a shot but when you hit a great shot it is very rewarding (just like real golf!). You actually feel excitement when you play well, I was playing in a tournament with my player and managed to get my first hole-in-one and I literally jumped up off the couch and pumped my fist. The my player mode is amazing with you starting out as an amateur and working your way up to the PGA tour, with a chance to play the Master's as a amateur. Tiger mode is fun and mixes up the challenges. If you've enjoyed any Tiger Woods games in the past you should definitely pick this one up. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    Other? Okay, Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 is a great game, with excellent graphics, awesome gameplay, much options, excellent multiplayer. But the problem is that is same like the other Tiger Woods games, and if you have the other edition is better than you don't buy this edition, but is a great title. Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 was the first game in the Tiger franchise that I have ever played. At first I was skeptical of how any golf game could keep anyone interested and engaged, but after giving this title a fair shot I understand what keeps users coming back for more.

    This title boasts a completely revamped swing mechanic, moving the experience a step closer to mimicking a real swing. Thumbstick swings can be difficulty to get the hang of (especially on Tour Pro and Tournament difficulties) but there is definitely consistency to how the swings work. The idea behind this is that the user must get the feel for a perfect swing, much like real golf. My only complaint with the swing mechanic is how easy it is to master, with no random element of **** for hazards such as sandtraps or mulch.

    One of my biggest criticisms in this game is the Kinect feature. This feature was very hyped up but does not seem fully tested and it requires that users abandon whatever notion of a correct golf swing they had and re-learn how to swing for the sake of being good at this game. Putt power/distances are off, the motion is not accurate, and navigating menus is difficult.
    Pins give assistance, but for the most part the pins do not have a great effect on gameplay, and spending coins (or god forbid real money) on them seems like a waste of time. One of my biggest enjoyments in this game is course mastery and DLC. They give you the opportunity to earn everything for free! Never have I seen purchasable DLC also be available through free gameplay. Sure, the amount of rounds required to earn ALL courses is a bit through the roof, but this lets users pick and choose how to spend their rewards from gameplay. Players of previous titles should already know which courses they enjoy and which to avoid. Country clubs function as designed and are a legitimate aid with completing masteries and earning DLC.

    Graphics are great, the variety of gameplay within courses is decent, and if you are a fan of golf this game has the potential to absorb and distract for hours. Overall I give this title a 9/10. I can understand how the DLC upsets people, and I can also understand how this title is not worth purchasing if you already own other games in the series. I recommend this game to golf fans, but not necessarily critcal gamers
    Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2012
    6
    Good gameplay, characters, my player, along with Tiger woods legendary mode, but kinect gameplay lowers my rating a lot. It was a good game all around, but kinect makes this a 6/10. Expand
  7. Feb 11, 2014
    0
    Until I get a full game with all courses available I will not play this game or give it good reviews.

    That is all I ask for, a complete
    game. I don't want to have to download anything after I buy it. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews