Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter Xbox 360

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 9, 2006
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 211 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 211
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 25, 2013
    4
    This game had quite a few interesting ideas and mechanics but for the most part they could do with a bit of polish for example the use of support units, this makes the game seem like you can and must take a tactical approach to levels, however the limited control means that more often than not your support units do little more than cover your flank. In my opinion this campaign was allThis game had quite a few interesting ideas and mechanics but for the most part they could do with a bit of polish for example the use of support units, this makes the game seem like you can and must take a tactical approach to levels, however the limited control means that more often than not your support units do little more than cover your flank. In my opinion this campaign was all about caution and patience, two things which quickly dissipate in a (realistic) shooter game where one shot can kill. Whilst I think the game may have been a bit of fun when it was released, 7 years late I don't feel like it is worth going back too, Also I have to note I am not against tactical shooters as a whole, I played the original ghost recon on xbox and loved it. Expand
  2. SadisticX
    Jul 20, 2008
    4
    This game was rushed. It's jam packed full of bugs to the point where it interferes with the already bad gameplay mechanics and frustrating controls. As others said AI is terrible. That means units sometimes dont follow orders or get themselves shot while your trying to do your objectives. The graphics are bad, the whole game is overly dark, and overuses the "bloom effect". It seems This game was rushed. It's jam packed full of bugs to the point where it interferes with the already bad gameplay mechanics and frustrating controls. As others said AI is terrible. That means units sometimes dont follow orders or get themselves shot while your trying to do your objectives. The graphics are bad, the whole game is overly dark, and overuses the "bloom effect". It seems like a cheap way to get the "next gen' look. the night missions are almost unplayable and the nightvision is nearly usueless. You'll have to turn off the dynamic contrast on your HDTV and raise the brightness which makes the game look JUST like a ps2 game. The explosions are good, the animations are good and the voice acting is top notch. This game was rushed in ALL other departments, probably because of pressure from the overexcited gaming community hype or shareholders or microsoft in an effort to keep its lead over sony. Expand
  3. JamesLybrand
    Mar 21, 2006
    1
    The dumbest fricken AI I have ever seen and its not the enemy AI its the team AI it sucks so bad I felt like throwing my conrtoller into the tv screen. It doesnt deserve the Tom Clancy name on it. I am terribly dissapointed I would rather bang my head into a wall or work on sawing my own foot off. I wanted to just take my 360 back and that is realy bad.
  4. GarboO.
    Mar 28, 2006
    2
    This game sucks! What a waist of time and money. I have never seen such a lame azz game. Whoever was the brains behind this game should be fired. Play Metal Gear or US Navy Seals. This game is a complete waist of effort. They took a good franchise and killed it. They should have stuck with what they did in 2. Now the AI is the worst I have ever seen. Online play has gone from playable to This game sucks! What a waist of time and money. I have never seen such a lame azz game. Whoever was the brains behind this game should be fired. Play Metal Gear or US Navy Seals. This game is a complete waist of effort. They took a good franchise and killed it. They should have stuck with what they did in 2. Now the AI is the worst I have ever seen. Online play has gone from playable to unplayable. Battlefiled Modern Combat is way better than this silly crap. Save you money for a real game. Expand
  5. Daz
    Mar 28, 2006
    3
    Sorry but i didn't like it and took it back to the shop for a refund (in the UK). I bought burnout revenge instead which rocks!! I suppose i shouldn't be too surprised i didn't like it since i haven't liked ghost recon since the very first one that i bought on PC. Sure the graphics are excellent but the gameplay leads a lot to be desired. Disappointing
  6. FordP.
    Sep 17, 2006
    2
    This game just doesn't do it for me. It has a lot of potential but I can't stand to wait for 15 mins. just to get into a game. Not sure why they couldn't use Halo or SOCOM's party styles. Oh well, it looks pretty though.
  7. BobJ.
    Jan 18, 2007
    2
    Great graphics, great sounds, awesome intros. But the gameplay couldn't suck more. AI is a step 15 years back. Your buddies are as dumb as carrot sticks. Enemies are unbelievably mechanic. Basically there's no AI. The characters just sit there and shoot you, or they pop out of the corner every 3.23 seconds, and your team gets shot and does the same 3.23 second delay when it Great graphics, great sounds, awesome intros. But the gameplay couldn't suck more. AI is a step 15 years back. Your buddies are as dumb as carrot sticks. Enemies are unbelievably mechanic. Basically there's no AI. The characters just sit there and shoot you, or they pop out of the corner every 3.23 seconds, and your team gets shot and does the same 3.23 second delay when it hides around a corner. It's a sad sight to see such awesome graphics wasted on this non-existing gameplay. Expand
  8. MikeW.
    Feb 13, 2007
    4
    Pretty graphics are the ONLY plus point of what is a dire, frustrating, glitchy step backwards for this franchise. Too difficult in places but the pure boredom is the real killer.
  9. Drew
    Mar 12, 2006
    4
    I will say that the graphics and single player mode are quite incredible. However, the only reason I was really excited for this game was the multiplayer. In all I was terribly disappointed with the mechanics of the online play. The third and first person modes completely ruin the online play because the advantage is always to the third person player. It's a first person game!!!!! I will say that the graphics and single player mode are quite incredible. However, the only reason I was really excited for this game was the multiplayer. In all I was terribly disappointed with the mechanics of the online play. The third and first person modes completely ruin the online play because the advantage is always to the third person player. It's a first person game!!!!! Why give the guy who wants to play first person a disadvantage when the other third person player can see you around a corner. Its a joke. and they better fix this if they want a following in the 360 live. Expand
  10. MikkoP.
    Nov 21, 2006
    3
    It sucks. Reason 1. You have to wait 10 mins. To get into online match. Lobbies should be banned by law, because all they really do, is support endless sh*t talking between every single round. Everybody have to be ready, and if somebody is on the phone, others have to wait! This is the phase where I exit to dashboard. Reason 2. The HUD It´s frickin ugly, it totally spoils the It sucks. Reason 1. You have to wait 10 mins. To get into online match. Lobbies should be banned by law, because all they really do, is support endless sh*t talking between every single round. Everybody have to be ready, and if somebody is on the phone, others have to wait! This is the phase where I exit to dashboard. Reason 2. The HUD It´s frickin ugly, it totally spoils the feeling of being there. It ruins the single player by showing enemies with VERY ugly red hud symbols. And if you switch it off, you´re dead. Do elite soldiers really need this techno crap to survive? What if the enemy uses EMP (electro magnetic pulse). Our elite soldiers would be in deep s*it 'cos the Cross Comm wouldn´t be there to make them a hot capuccino. I think that a Ghost Recon game should make the player feel like he's really one-with-the-nature -type of expert gueriila. GRAW makes you feel like a T1000. Not an elite soldier. Reson 3. The 3rd person. In a game that strives for realism? 3rd person takes all the realism out. It shows us all the time enemies and tons of landscape, you never would see in real life. In online play, I found this to be most idiotic thing. What it does, is ruins the slightest bit of realism, and encourages people to camp. Yes, there is the 1st person option, but nobody uses it. Nobody! Any 1st person shooter is more realistic than GRAW. Far Cry is more realistic than GRAW. Doom is more realistic than GRAW. Please, no 3rd person in realistic games! Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 78
  2. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. 360 Gamer Magazine UK
    70
    Horribly frustrating but deeply satisfying. [Issue #7]
  2. And when some players will struggle to overcome the Normal default difficulty at times, the opportunity to replenish health would have been welcome.
  3. Killer App? It appears so! There are certainly exciting times coming up for 360 owners and GRAW can now be the flagship for next-gen titles done right.