Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
Buy On
  1. May 23, 2012
    70
    It's blunt and silly, and that really describes the entire game. A popcorn flick of a Tom Clancy game if ever there was one.
  2. Jun 13, 2012
    60
    While Ghost Recon Future Soldier is enjoyable enough, in a genre as heavily populated as modern tactical shooters 'enjoyable enough' no longer cuts it.
  3. Jun 14, 2012
    60
    Ghost Recon Future Soldier is not bad game; it's simply a bad Ghost Recon game.
  4. May 22, 2012
    70
    Ghost Recon: Future Soldier seems to suffer the CoD syndrome. In the main Campaign most of the events are clones of various situations already played with the Modern Warfare trilogy. The good multiplayer experience, anyway, is fair enough to grant a good amount of fun, both with friends or against perfect strangers.
  5. Jun 29, 2012
    70
    Ubisoft gives us streamlined solutions for most of the problems any third-person shooter would encounter. But a nonsensical storyline, monotonous missions, daft tactics, and a dozen other unpolished edges together makes Future Soldier a not all too impressive package.
  6. May 22, 2012
    70
    Future Soldier suffers from a sense of split-personality. It tries to follow in the footsteps of the popular crowd, employing predictable set-pieces and hopelessly manufactured scenes of controversy that lack any intelligence.
  7. May 31, 2012
    60
    A third-person shooter that feels caught between doctrines--it's not tactical enough to feel like a deep, strategic experience yet it punishes run-and-gun tactics just enough to prevent fans of those sorts of games from having a great time, either.
  8. May 22, 2012
    70
    Not quite the sum of its parts thanks to awkward level design and a reliance on repetition. Technically sound, but the overall experience fails to hit the high notes.
  9. Aug 3, 2012
    70
    A tactical shooter with focus on stealth and teamwork. Buy it for the multiplayer modes and play with a team of friends, as the campaign is missing a large portion of the Ghost Recon-identity.
  10. May 22, 2012
    70
    While the last half hour doesn't ruin Ghost Recon: Future Soldier, it is a disappointing coda to a game struggling to find a reason to exist. There are glimmers of Red Storm's previous dedication to authenticity and feel, but in a quest for a wider audience, Future Soldier loses sight of the series' earlier appeal, and struggles to find a new role.
  11. Jun 4, 2012
    70
    Without a breadth of tactical options longstanding fans of the series will be disappointed in its change of approach, and while action fans will get some enjoyment out of its expansive arsenal and competent combat they'll surely find something more worthwhile and noteworthy elsewhere.
  12. May 22, 2012
    70
    Occasionally ambitious but ultimately too afraid to deviate from the genre's well-worn formulas, Ghost Recon: Future Soldier feels like it's stuck in the past.
  13. May 22, 2012
    70
    Something of a disappointment then, consisting of a half-baked story that suffers from a lack of context or character, some pretty poor mission checkpoints, samey objectives and a surprising dearth of futuristic technology.
  14. May 30, 2012
    70
    There were a few spots that I truly did enjoy, like the on-rails sections where you're escorting a VIP and shooting anyone you see with your pistol. These moments, though infrequent, were the highlights for me, though I'm not sure if that's just because the rest was mostly unmemorable. I was expecting many new mechanics or something to wow me, and aside from Gunsmith, nothing really did.
  15. May 30, 2012
    70
    Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is far from broken or even being a bad game. It feels more disappointing than anything considering the pedigree of the franchise. Weird design choices and lack of polish really stick out in the single-player game, while the online will likely continue to thrive for months to come.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 329 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 128
  2. Negative: 17 out of 128
  1. May 22, 2012
    1
    False Advertising/Poor Design: The game is advertised with an emphasis on co-op (campaign and a survival mode) but there is no matchmaking forFalse Advertising/Poor Design: The game is advertised with an emphasis on co-op (campaign and a survival mode) but there is no matchmaking for co-op. It's by invite only. Call of Duty, Halo, Gears of War, and numerous others support co-op with matchmaking. It's industry standard and Ghost Recon Future Soldier falls far short. Full Review »
  2. May 22, 2012
    6
    Remember all the "watercooler" set pieces from Gears of War 3? That kind of thing is on display here as well. The problem is that in GhostRemember all the "watercooler" set pieces from Gears of War 3? That kind of thing is on display here as well. The problem is that in Ghost Recon, they are all mini cut-scenes that strip you of control every few minutes and sometimes, every few seconds. To make matters worse, often times the most effective thing you can do is have your AI squad do all the killing. Couple that with the fact that you're basically invisible the entire time, and you have a bland single player experience that leaves you feeling that you're just along for the ride. The set-pieces would have been awesome, but this story would have always been ho-hum, been there, done that affair.

    Things get even worse when you switch to live foes in multiplayer modes. Spawn camping seems to be a legitimate way to play this game. I also observed enemy teams camping objectives without capturing them, just so they can rack up kills that seemed cheap and hollow. Kill cams constantly show enemy killers aiming erratically and still getting kill after kill while your own rounds seem to do nothing in spite of seeing hit markers on target. The several games I've played seemed cheap, like they didn't work right, and were no fun what-so-ever. I plan on trying more later. Although I'm sure I have a full understanding of how the game works, the multiplayer games I've played seemed so poorly thought out and pointless, I would hope there's something I'm missing.

    ...But it gets even worse. At a base level, the gameplay in this game will always be broken because the rush/cover function is mapped to the A button. This means you HAVE to take your finger off right stick to sprint or switch cover. If this function was not on a face button, the entire time you're running you could be looking around and planning your next move. It kills me when I realize how fast paced and fluid the game would play if my fingers were on the sticks the entire time. Because of this glaring and baffling game design choice, ALL gameplay in this game feels like it has one foot in a bucket.

    I don't know what these other baffoons reviewing this game have to gain by posting knowingly fraudulent reviews. If they're like me, they're sorry they spent money on it. I suppose the only explanation is that unlike myself, they haven't come to terms with the fact that they will never get that $60+ back, and are either trying to share their misery with others, or trying desperately to convince themselves that this game isn't a shiny, polished turd.
    Full Review »
  3. May 22, 2012
    10
    I've been playing this game since Saturday and I really like it. I stopped playing military type multiplayer games when COD BlackOps came out.I've been playing this game since Saturday and I really like it. I stopped playing military type multiplayer games when COD BlackOps came out. I couldn't take the cheap, run & gun game play style. Calling in nukes is probably one of the stupidest things you could do in a game...makes no sense. A soldier cannot just call in a nuke, or an airstrike. There's certain channels you have to go through in order for both those things to happen. With that being said I decided to get back into social gaming by playing TC GR FS and I don't regret it. It's fun and for the most part, it's tactical. Yeah you could run and gun, but odds are you will get bucked. The game modes are all objective based which I don't mind. The gunsmith feature is really cool. This game is the thinkings man COD and that right there ...is high praise. Full Review »