User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 303 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 303

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 22, 2012
    1
    False Advertising/Poor Design: The game is advertised with an emphasis on co-op (campaign and a survival mode) but there is no matchmaking for co-op. It's by invite only. Call of Duty, Halo, Gears of War, and numerous others support co-op with matchmaking. It's industry standard and Ghost Recon Future Soldier falls far short.
  2. May 23, 2012
    4
    So much scripting.. this is a Ghost Recon game? Pffft. Not by a long shot. It feels more like Gears of Duty: Future Ops. Do you enjoy shooting galleries with added benefit of wallhack grenades? Do you enjoy being told to "WATCH YOUR LEFT" and not being able to actually turn to watch your left? No? Then don't play this game.
  3. May 24, 2012
    0
    False Advertising! This game was marketed as having split screen co-op campaign mode but be warned it does NOT! All Tom Clancy games from rainbow Six to the new splinter cell to previous GR games have all had campaign split screen co-op but no more! This games' graphics are last gen and its a total rip off of other shooters and has zero original ideas and is a resounding failure! Save your money!
  4. Jun 2, 2012
    2
    Fyi I was playing this game on the PS3, so if the problem's I've had are restricted to this particular system, then perhaps this game isn't as overall bad as I believe it is. Wow, I truly had high hopes for this game, I've been a huge Ghost Recon fan since the series inception. While many shooters have gone mainstream and traded tacticallity for quick movements and killstreaks, I have always longed for a good tactical shooter. Ghost Recon has always been a tactical series where your ability to coordinate your squad would mean more than the ability to call in a killstreak. As I said I had high hopes for this game, the new camo suits, the gunsmith, wow I couldn't believe all they were offering.... Until I started playing. The gunsmith is great, it truly allows you to get to personalize your gun and make it your own. But what use is your gun if it doesn't kill enemies? I repeatedly experienced issues with non killable enemies during the game (mainly in the Nigeria mission), and this wasn't by design, it was just a horrible glitch, one of many. I also had many issues with not being able to proceed through areas because one of my team members would randomly disappear from the map. I'm not talking about being a little slow, he literally disappeared! One of the high points of this game was the witty banter between your squadmates, and this part of the story I thoroughly enjoyed, but I most definitely didn't enjoy the instances of lag in the game. I'm not talking about multi-player, I'm talking about single player lag, ever heard of it? Neither had I, but GRFS has it. Whenever you perform a sync shot, and sometimes just whenever your'e walking around, your game will lag out and bring your experience to a crawl. It's pitiful on just how often these game destroying glitches occur. I can't even list them all. The open world scene's they created in this game are a marvel to behold. A high point of this game is being able to maneuver your own path, and choose stealth, combat, or a mix at instances where you can choose. But even this high point is marred with instances of horrible game design. There are points in the game where they force you to be in combat. This is ridiculous, and I don't even know if it's a glitch or just bad design. I would proceed through an area where I was cloaked, still in stealth. And I would sync shot and take out multiple enemies that weren't even close to other enemies, and completely out of their view. Yet whenever I would execute an enemy, suddenly an enemy would spot the dead body through a house or two. I dont know if they gained the x - ray tech you can use, but It's ridiculous having people spot you when it's not physically possible too. I'm really just sick of this broken game. It has its high points but it feels like they didn't even test it. The graphics aren't great and with all these glitches I truly believe they just released the game in beta. No I take that back, I've played Beta's better than this, this kind of feels like Alpha. The game is bad in my opinion. Yes the ending mission suck, yes the rpg enemies are ridiculously overpowered, and yes the story seem's mediocre, but these I could live with. When your game is literally broken, when you literally cannot play the game because it is so laggy, or so glitchy, that's not bad, that's garbage. I hate to say it, but this is the worst Ghost Recon I've ever played, heck I would say MW3 was better than this game, and that game was trash. But at least in MW3 you could play the game without set pieces disappearing or not even showing up. Expand
  5. May 27, 2012
    0
    This game is a disaster and an embarrassment of epic proportions. To start off, there is no firefight/deathmatch mode in multiplayer, despite this always having been the quintessential standard for GR online multiplayer in the past. Instead, there are just a few stupid objective modes that nobody seems to like (and nobody ever asked for). Furthermore, despite the game being called 'Ghost Recon', all of the maps are close-quarters urban settings, instead of the truly awesome wilderness maps that were always the staple of the GR series in the past, and which always facilitated the most fun and realistic gameplay. How the designers could screw up these aspects of the game so badly is beyond me. The campaign is literally one of the absolute worst I've ever played, with cut scenes every couple of minutes, and an absurd over-reliance on manipulating the drone and other boring vehicles. The teammate AI is downright awful, as you have no control whatsoever over where they go. They won't even form up behind you; they just go where they are programmed to go by the developers. In addition, you are pretty much forced to use the cover system, which is extremely clumsy and annoying, and which completely destroys the realistic feel of previous Ghost Recon games. The audio for the game is also horrible, cutting out completely most of the time, and with the party/chat system not working at all while the game is running. One of the greatest aspects of GRAW/GRAW2 was the wide selection of co-op multiplayer missions/maps, most of which could be quite challenging with the right settings, and which truly allowed for the tactical style of gameplay that was always the essence of Ghost Recon since the beginning. All of that is completely gone now. You can only play co-op in the extremely limiting and pointless campaign mode, or in the extremely boring guerilla mode. It's like the designers targeted all of the very best aspects of the previous GR games and intentionally eliminated every single one of them. Why? I have no idea. Overall, this is without a doubt the most pathetic excuse for a Ghost Recon game ever made. Anyone seriously critiquing this game could not possibly give it a good rating unless they are mentally ill. Do not waste your money on this piece of garbage. Expand
  6. May 25, 2012
    3
    The campaign is ok but the game suffers from bad design decisions. There is no matchmaking for co-op (campaign and the Guerilla/Horde mode). You have to invite friends. Also no split screen. The aiming is very cumbersome. You can hold the left trigger to aim but it is not the normal 3rd person aim, it is just a better hip shot. If you wan't to hit something that isn't just 2 feet in front of you, you have to push the right stick in which brings you to a first person aiming down the sights mode. It's like they couldn't decide if this game should be 3rd or first person so they made both. It is very annoying since you can't change the controls. Textures have a relatively low resolution. Everything looks washed out. Multiplayer is the usual generic 3rd person 'you need an online pass' shooter. Expand
  7. May 26, 2012
    2
    Have you played this before? Military shooter, piss poor campaign that makes the multiplayer seem great? You are basically a robot who stealthily gets into gunfights, point your squad to do stuff, and try not to notice the horrific graphics and lack of polish. I think you have played this before.

    Oh, and you get to look at guns while standing up and waving your arms around.
  8. May 31, 2012
    4
    Sorry but this is not one of the Ghost Recon games anymore. I can best desribe it as a bad Gears of Ghostduty. Lame story, cool gadgets. You feel like a robot and you AI-squadmates follow the paths the devlopers gave them, you cannot make them stop or follow. This game really is bad. Where is Team Deathmatch in multiplayer? Where are the huge wilderness-maps in multiplayer? The aiming is too very bad in multiplayer. I am very disappointed and I hope Ubisoft will never make again a game like this one, either make one in the Old school Ghost Recon style or just stop programming bad games like that. Collapse
  9. Jun 10, 2012
    0
    If you are looking to enjoy a session of tactical gunplay with your friends ... look somewhere else. Games are only 6v6, lag problems are terrible, killcam replays are utterly nonsensical, the list continues. This game has been out for over 2 weeks and no progress has been made addressing any of the issues brought by the community. In fact, Ubisoft and the developers are completely silent. Please save yourself $60 and wait for something better. Expand
  10. Jun 4, 2013
    4
    They forgot to tell us that this game was made in 1998 when any stealth alert no matter what lead to a reloading (with long load times) of the last checkpoint to try yet again with endless trial and error. Horrible. I don't care if your trying to set yourself apart from other shooters... you NEVER do it this way. The fact that stealth sections are only one part of this game is the only reason it doesn't receive an easy zero. And no matter how great the rest of the game is, these stealth sections make it a failing grade NO MATTER WHAT. Developers: you have failed. Expand
  11. May 3, 2013
    3
    Overall, this game is pretty terrible. The campaign is decent at best with no split screen co-op, the Guerrilla Mode is pointless when playing alone (which there is no matchmaking for), and the multiplayer, wow, is it horrible. In terms of a tactical game, it just isn't very tactical. It is clear that this is an obvious cash in on the COD craze. News flash developers, COD is TERRIBLE regardless of how many mindless drones buy it. I bought this for $13 and I still regret the purchase. It is just a Ghost Recon game thrown into a blender with a COD game and the result is something that tastes terrible. Sure, it CAN be fun at times, but the cons far outweigh the very few pros. The pros are: The gameplay (sometimes), the graphics (sometimes), and the Guerrilla Mode (only with a friend, since you basically have no other option because of lack of matchmaking and it is IMPOSSIBLE when playing alone). Expand
  12. Nov 14, 2012
    1
    Broken stealth, muddy graphics, a total side step from the simulation style ghost recon we are use to. In my personal opinion, multiplayer is ruined by cheap mechanics, pointless classes and grenades. Ghost fans should steer clear!
  13. Sep 9, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was extremely excited for this game and i had a blast playing the single player!
    But the multiplayer is the worst pile of **** i have ever played! Lag, cheaters, bugs server issues, loading errors the list goes on. Currently it`s 150 pages with errors and bugs the online community has posted.
    I myself have posted one. But there is no help from Ubisoft at all. They don't give a rats ass about us now that they have our money. I`m pretty sure the mutliplayer community will be dead soon because of this. So save you money this game and Ubisoft is not worth it at all!!
    Expand
  14. Jul 18, 2012
    3
    What a regret. Went in expecting a Ghost Recon game, yet I can't control my team and am not given any kind of tactical options. Among all the generic shooters I always looked forward to the GR series, but this version is such a let down. They have even taken away all the game modes from previous titles and the 4-player split screen, even though its advertised on the box. Was a disappointment when I bought and sat down with my 3 other mates, to find we couldn't play it. They have stripped away everything from the GRAW series and original Ghost Recon that made the series great. They should be proud of their series and not reduce it down to a COD wannabe. Expand
  15. Aug 2, 2012
    4
    Does not feel like Ghost Recon. Campaign is extremely linear and has quick time events.
    No focus on tactical gameplay whatsoever. GRAW series is more GR than this game.
    Good game if your looking for a generic fps.

    R.I.P. Ghost Recon
  16. Aug 15, 2013
    4
    this game is not what you think it is it says its a tactical shooter but its a generic run and gun game where the ai can hear silenced bullets.
    ill start with the singleplayer
    for the first hour and a half its great with destructible environments and actually having to use things like smokes and sensor grenades but even though its called future soldier the only futuristic thing is a blue
    circle around your gun and a 5 minute stealth sequence every mission where you can turn invisible but every good thing in this game comes with 2 problems like the gun customization it never actually tells you how to use it and almost all pieces aren't unlocked and even if you have allot of pieces you should just go with the recommended weapons or your going to die allot and you'll just restart and take recommended weapons. even though on the uplay page for this it says it has a great story it has no story Russian rebels are invading stop them that all your team mates are boring and dont have any personality and every mission its this do a terrible stealth sequence where you cant hide bodys huge fire fight set piece done the single player deserves like a 3
    now to talk about the multiplayer its okay i was only able to play conflict because noone played the other modes and it was completely average the gameplay was kind of un but there was only like 3 or 4 maps and theres more camping than cod because of how easy it is to do that but there is a lack of tactical options all there is is shoot people theres no medics or worthwhile gadgets AND THERES A MOTHERF**KING ONLINE PASS and its a lie what it has theres no coop campaign and the multiplayer is very buggy and laggy od give the multiplayer like a 4. if you want to play a game like this play gears of war or any other run and gun game just dont play this its an average shooter
    Expand
  17. May 31, 2012
    0
    Sorry but this is not one of the Ghost Recon games anymore. I can best desribe it as a bad Gears of Ghostduty. Lame story, cool gadgets. You feel like a robot and you AI-squadmates follow the paths the devlopers gave them, you cannot make them stop or follow. This game really is bad. Where is Team Deathmatch in multiplayer? Where are the huge wilderness-maps in multiplayer? The aiming is too very bad in multiplayer. I am very disappointed and I hope Ubisoft will never make again a game like this one, either make one in the Old school Ghost Recon style or just stop programming bad games like that. Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Aug 3, 2012
    70
    A tactical shooter with focus on stealth and teamwork. Buy it for the multiplayer modes and play with a team of friends, as the campaign is missing a large portion of the Ghost Recon-identity.
  2. Jul 19, 2012
    80
    A surprisingly engaging campaign with a slew of co-op options, let down by okay graphics and inconsistent connectivity. Get some. [Aug 2012, p.66]
  3. 76
    So what did I think of my first Ghost Recon experience? Well, I think it did a lot of things well. Despite lacking any kind of coherent plot, Future Soldier's campaign had the hooks in me and I couldn't help but finish it off, despite having no interest in the pay-off. Chalk this up to a great combat system and some pretty satisfying stealth segments.