User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 322 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 322

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    7
    Future Soldier is cut from the same cloth as GRAW. It's one of the best looking games on the Xbox 360 and has quite a bit of polish. In addition to fantastic graphics, Future Soldier also has perhaps the greatest cover system of all console shooters (a claim usually reserved only for Gears of War), so moving from cover to cover is not only doable, but it's fast and clearly mapped toFuture Soldier is cut from the same cloth as GRAW. It's one of the best looking games on the Xbox 360 and has quite a bit of polish. In addition to fantastic graphics, Future Soldier also has perhaps the greatest cover system of all console shooters (a claim usually reserved only for Gears of War), so moving from cover to cover is not only doable, but it's fast and clearly mapped to where you'll run to if abandoning one piece of cover for another. Not only does the cover movement system work, but things like suppressing fire give an awesome edge that lends itself very well to competitive/strategic play. But for every bit of good or great this game offers, there's a counter. The story is basically forgettable and the dialogue is stale. Only at the end of the campaign did I start to feel like the characters I'd been playing with all along were starting to emote. It's these elements that can make or break a game. Fortunately the campaign and multiplayer offer enough here to keep things interesting. For the campaign, it's not the plot so much as it's the excellence that each level builds upon from its predecessor. The game actually builds and builds until the very end something that can't be said for most shooters these days. By this time Ghost Recon Future Soldier is in a bargain bin somewhere, and if you're holding on to your 360 and are a fan of shooters, this is a title that is worth the play. Just don't expect the online multiplayer to be buzzing with activity since new consoles are now upon us. Expand
  2. May 26, 2012
    7
    Definitely not one for COD or BF fan boys. Graphics are good, though some animations are poorly scripted. Game play has nothing new to offer over other similar genre games, though it is hectic and fun at times. AI is scary, some of the best I've seen over the years, and there is a sense of vulnerability if things don't go to plan. I love the GR franchise. However, for me at least, theDefinitely not one for COD or BF fan boys. Graphics are good, though some animations are poorly scripted. Game play has nothing new to offer over other similar genre games, though it is hectic and fun at times. AI is scary, some of the best I've seen over the years, and there is a sense of vulnerability if things don't go to plan. I love the GR franchise. However, for me at least, the first GR on PC and GRAW2 will still rank higher than GFRS, simply because they had Firefight mode. In GRFS, Guerrilla mode doesn't come close to Firefight but if it did, then I probably would have scored much higher. However, this games comes close to the death of the GR franchise for me. Expand
  3. May 23, 2012
    7
    I'm a huge fan of sandbox tactical shooters and this game is NOT a sandbox shooters; although, it does maintain a tactical side to it, allowing me to appreciate it much more than any other shooter in the last 2 years.
  4. Jun 6, 2012
    7
    I got this as a gift with no intention of purchasing it myself so I didn't know much going in. I was pleasantly surprised at how fantastic the single-player campaign was. The stealth aspect of the game is my favourite. Coordinating with the AI on how to stealth fully maneuver past enemies is so much fun. It's a shame that the campaign isn't longer. It isn't short at 10 hours but II got this as a gift with no intention of purchasing it myself so I didn't know much going in. I was pleasantly surprised at how fantastic the single-player campaign was. The stealth aspect of the game is my favourite. Coordinating with the AI on how to stealth fully maneuver past enemies is so much fun. It's a shame that the campaign isn't longer. It isn't short at 10 hours but I just wanted more. Unfortunately I the multiplayer didn't hold my attention and the guerilla mode is bad. The multiplayer has unique take on modes and has balanced weapons, but I just found it to be bland for my taste. I hated the guerilla mode tho. Ubisoft's take on the progressively more difficult wave based mode isn't that well done in my opinion. Overall, I think it's a very well made game with a fantastic campaign that can be played in 4-player co-op, a good multiplayer offering that isn't for everyone but a disappointing co-op mode. I'd recommend it cause it's a fun game, it's just not great. Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2013
    7
    As much as I enjoyed Future Soldier, I feel it suffers from robotic AI and a weak endgame. Control issues were apparent, where sometimes half a "ready" team would not fire, or the player felt they want to move in a certain way but were restricted by the controls. Most situations seem to be set up nicely for a four person team engagement, with little in the way of trepidation. Once thisAs much as I enjoyed Future Soldier, I feel it suffers from robotic AI and a weak endgame. Control issues were apparent, where sometimes half a "ready" team would not fire, or the player felt they want to move in a certain way but were restricted by the controls. Most situations seem to be set up nicely for a four person team engagement, with little in the way of trepidation. Once this is done a number of times, it seems most of the game can be completed by your teammates and you telling them who to focus fire on. There are some points where things become quite aggressive, cornering you into a firefight, but it all seems like "set pieces". It felt like the first half was exciting, but whoever wrote the story got tired by the end. And the loss of control when passing certain checkpoints gets quite tedious. The multiplayer felt difficult to find an enjoyable match, where it either proved dull or unco-ordinated. I put this aside quite quickly. Overall, though the AR UI is cool, the Kinect armoury is a nice touch and the synchronised fire is fun to deploy, it's a good game that falls just short of being great. Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    7
    Tactical and interesting. Definetely not one of those 3rd person shooters that you can run and gun. Taking your time and moving stealthily through the maps is paramount if you want to survive. The game keeps you challenged forcing you to examine the situation before rushing in. Your soldier has many futuristic gadgets to boot and help you track enemy movements and reek havoc on yourTactical and interesting. Definetely not one of those 3rd person shooters that you can run and gun. Taking your time and moving stealthily through the maps is paramount if you want to survive. The game keeps you challenged forcing you to examine the situation before rushing in. Your soldier has many futuristic gadgets to boot and help you track enemy movements and reek havoc on your enemies. I won't lie it is very satisfying when your plan comes to together and you take down all enemies without them know what hit them. I found multiplayer lacking seeing as it is mostly a co operative experience. Overall the game is solid but multiplayer and the story are lacking. Expand
  7. May 28, 2012
    7
    Exceptional in moments, Ubisoft's latest Ghost Recon delivers a strong single player campaign, especially in the second half. There is scale to the level design, and touches of what the future Rainbow Six and Splinter Cell worlds will deliver. The main issue with the game is the B-movie production values and incompleteness in many spots. For every moment of genre pushing brilliance andExceptional in moments, Ubisoft's latest Ghost Recon delivers a strong single player campaign, especially in the second half. There is scale to the level design, and touches of what the future Rainbow Six and Splinter Cell worlds will deliver. The main issue with the game is the B-movie production values and incompleteness in many spots. For every moment of genre pushing brilliance and techno imagination, there is a second rate bit of writing, backgrounds and just overall clunkiness. I finished the campaign, and thought it was satisfying. But this is no where near Chaos Theory or Double Agent XBOX, or Rainbow Six Vegas in terms of overall quality. Ubisoft often patches their releases 1-2 months after release, leaving a much better experience. So, hopefully initial sales warrant some needed QA Work. Expand
  8. Jun 3, 2012
    7
    Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is an average shooter. Unlike alot of the people on here I'm not going to be ridiculous and mindlessly compare this game to Gears of War, Battlefield, or Call of Duty every five seconds. This game stands on its own, but it had some issues. The cutscene graphics were horrible at times, while decent at other moments. The in-game graphics were alright, but wereGhost Recon: Future Soldier is an average shooter. Unlike alot of the people on here I'm not going to be ridiculous and mindlessly compare this game to Gears of War, Battlefield, or Call of Duty every five seconds. This game stands on its own, but it had some issues. The cutscene graphics were horrible at times, while decent at other moments. The in-game graphics were alright, but were poor compared to today's standards. I had some difficulty with slightly unresponsive or delayed controls, but nothing serious enough to detract from the over all experience. I had a good time with the game, and I found the story engaging. The characters were very flat and rarely explored, and the pace of the story felt rushed over all. There wasn't very much depth in the plot; it was pretty much go here, kill him, then go here and find this guy. I particularly liked the style of the game, however. Sneaking around with optical camouflage, employing a Drone that was more transformer than a mere observational tool, and using tactics on who to kill and how with a silence sniper rifle was very entertaining. In general, this game is a good time but nothing to spend $60 for. Unfortunately if you buy the game used you will not be able to play online for free because of a passcode for the game's "Uplay" account system. Also, the ending to this game is abrupt, confusing, and ultimately disappointing. Expand
  9. May 23, 2012
    7
    Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is a solid game.
    although the graphics sometimes lack, the gameplay of the game is really good.
    the stealth in the game is good, but the enemy AI is just dumb, even if you are standing in the open they will take about 3-4 second to see you and open fire, I guess it is for balance but it is annoy me to see that. the game dont try to punish you for being an
    Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is a solid game.
    although the graphics sometimes lack, the gameplay of the game is really good.
    the stealth in the game is good, but the enemy AI is just dumb, even if you are standing in the open they will take about 3-4 second to see you and open fire, I guess it is for balance but it is annoy me to see that. the game dont try to punish you for being an complete idiot and that bad
    you can do a SYNC SHOT and kill 4 enemies all together as team, the slow motion at the SYNC SHOT give it a nice touch.
    alghough the graphics are lack the animation it self is fluid and feels realistic.
    the co-op in the game is fun to play, but no matchmaking is a shame.
    Expand
  10. Jun 25, 2012
    7
    Poor servers, many bugs and problems plague this game, making it the worst in the series. Lack of TDM, and other past Ghost Game Modes, replaced with repetitive, boring, objective always in same place objective games on too small maps make replay value low (think Brink). Hopefully a patch will prevail to fix many, many issues that will leave this game dead by end of summer. I can't standPoor servers, many bugs and problems plague this game, making it the worst in the series. Lack of TDM, and other past Ghost Game Modes, replaced with repetitive, boring, objective always in same place objective games on too small maps make replay value low (think Brink). Hopefully a patch will prevail to fix many, many issues that will leave this game dead by end of summer. I can't stand COD/MW game, and at this time I can't recommend GRFS, and that is sad, it is my fav military shooter. Only other option, is back to GRAW 2. Expand
  11. May 24, 2012
    7
    Well done Ubisoft, you got your money. Advertising a campaign that is just good enough to get by. Multiplayer is great, but why even put time into a campaign for it to be sloppy. (Campaign) The Character model (During gameplay) is awesome, but the textures on nearly everything else IMO are worth about 7 out of 10 at best. AI isn't the greatest. The cut scenes look like something from aWell done Ubisoft, you got your money. Advertising a campaign that is just good enough to get by. Multiplayer is great, but why even put time into a campaign for it to be sloppy. (Campaign) The Character model (During gameplay) is awesome, but the textures on nearly everything else IMO are worth about 7 out of 10 at best. AI isn't the greatest. The cut scenes look like something from a couple of years ago which is my biggest complaint and for a game that took a while to develop they really should be better for $60. The gameplay is solid. The story is a basic cookie cutter terrorism craziness, but It seems to work out better than that COD crap. (Multiplayer) Other than having to shut my console down every once in a while because the servers freeze everything up it's pretty good. Good cover, movement and character design. Although like I said earlier textures on most things could be a lot better. I guess rent first if you're on the wall about this because you could end up disappointed if you're really picky about quality of games. They got my money and that's all that matters. I hope in the near future they make a patch that fixes the server problems and campaign graphics sloppiness, but that's a shot in the dark. Expand
  12. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is a great game that does have some downsides. The single player is fun, action packed, and a decent length. But it's campaign is really easy. I played it on the hardest difficulty and completed most parts just by marking targets and having my team mates take them out. There are set bits where some control is taken away from you, but I personallyTom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is a great game that does have some downsides. The single player is fun, action packed, and a decent length. But it's campaign is really easy. I played it on the hardest difficulty and completed most parts just by marking targets and having my team mates take them out. There are set bits where some control is taken away from you, but I personally found them pretty sick. The multiplayer is also something different, but in a good way. GRFS multiplayer is all about teamwork and is a must for anyone who wants a team-based/tactical third-person shooter. Sole ranging is also possible but you probably won't win even if you have the highest K/D. Expand
  13. May 25, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers. An enjoyable co-op campaign - however the plot is truly laughable!! It jumps all over the place and has numerous plot holes (1 mission ends with a cliff hanger, jumping off a bridge being shot at by a tank, your evac destroyed, only to appear unharmed getting of a heli at the start of the next level?!?!?). There were times when I had to ask, "wait why am I here again?!, the bad guys are who now?". That said I still had fun blowing everyone up! Definitely not game of the year, but certainly good fun! Collapse
  14. Jun 2, 2012
    7
    The single player campaign is your pretty run of the mill military shooter campaign. Some parts of the missions are pretty linear but others offer a few varieties in ways you can accomplish your goal. In some cases though I found there is a formula to how/and who to shoot and when. I found myself in 1 mission, doing everything quietly and perfectly, the way you'd think it needed to beThe single player campaign is your pretty run of the mill military shooter campaign. Some parts of the missions are pretty linear but others offer a few varieties in ways you can accomplish your goal. In some cases though I found there is a formula to how/and who to shoot and when. I found myself in 1 mission, doing everything quietly and perfectly, the way you'd think it needed to be done, but, the game failed to let me progress to the next checkpoint, because it didn't recognize that I accomplished the previous checkpoint, because apparently, you have to noticed and enter into a firefight. The gadgets and teams you have at your disposal work pretty well. Tagging enemies and setting up shots simultaneously is pretty fun and I found myself tagging people and letting my teammates take them out while I "overlooked" the 'battlefield'. Having a game with helpful teammates is definitely a plus for this game.

    The multiplayer is alright. Personally I have never been that big of a fan of third person shooter multiplayer. If you get on a good team and start winning, it can be pretty easy to keep dominating the other team.

    The graphics seemed pretty subpar for a "AAA" type game coming out this late in a console generation. Sometimes they didn't seem all that awful, but I found myself just laughing during some cutscenes. If I could I would have given the game a 6.5, but that's not an option apparently?
    Expand
  15. Jun 13, 2012
    7
    Not trying to brag only giving some perspective here when I say that I'm rank 40 in the singleplayer leaderboards of GRAW2 not only that but I wasn't even trying to do so. There weren't countless monster energy drink cans and cheeto puffs strewn across my floor it was just another playthrough including killing myself on purpose cause I got mad at the game. Anyways I loved the hell out ofNot trying to brag only giving some perspective here when I say that I'm rank 40 in the singleplayer leaderboards of GRAW2 not only that but I wasn't even trying to do so. There weren't countless monster energy drink cans and cheeto puffs strewn across my floor it was just another playthrough including killing myself on purpose cause I got mad at the game. Anyways I loved the hell out of GRAW 1 and 2, I really really liked the game so high expectations were obviously made for one of my favorite series and so I bought it during my lunch break the first day it came out and spent the rest of the work day quite stoked. I've now beaten the game and I can't help but feel let down. Much of the strategy's been taken out for more fast paced and mainstreamed mechanics. Not all of this is bad however for instance the gears of war like sprint and improved splinter cell cover system help make a more fluid feeling of control over your character. It's not so much of the gameplay that majorily unimpressed me but the lack of content. Sequels are usually intended to best their predecessors but this one seems to aim more towards being the most accessible and attractive. Before jumping into the lack of content I gotta say that the main complaints I've seen from reviews is the graphics and characters. Are you serious?! Come on man obviously a ton of the budgeting went into these scenic and greatly detailed environments. While I'm not a fan of graphics coming first there was a moment during the game that had me drooling and feeling like I was interacting with a great piece of art. The characters not being that important is a whatever for Tom Clancy games, not saying it wouldn't have been even better to have more engaging characters but I see these characters no more or less interesting than the main characters in battlefield (although they certainly made me laugh more) or the modern warfare soap and price team. We're in a war there's no room to see these little people's lives cause their lives are so insignificant whereas your one little regenerative soldier could actually be seen as the adventures of many others within said war, but that'll only make you care less. Anyways enough rambling on that. The content of Graw2 was a mode where you could go around a large and well developed map and take out computers with your friends, followed by a coop like story that really was just a bunch of extra things to do to make more challenge. And for a game so glorified for it's focus on teamwork why would you take out something that was to be expected in the first place? Instead we are given a horde mode, and lets not forget that this is a semi stealth game so I was scratching my head when I was given beautiful detailed maps and told to stay in this room and protect it from the baddies. What? Why? Is ubisoft so whipped by these money loving people that a large collage of other shooters needed to be made and focused on just for the money or commercial success? Personally it's the creativity and originality that made me love GRAW2 in the first place. People tend to get bored of monotony it's why we play video games in the first place. Now don't misunderstand me as one of those people saying "no everything has to be the same as the last I dont like change!" No it's only through relating one thing to another that we learn how to improve it in the first place. The game was still enjoyable and the campaign mixes things up for you quite well and quite constantly. You'll enjoy some levels and maybe loathe others depending on your play style, but this also shows how much things will really vary for you. Followed by a quick but satisfying ending you'll have had atleast a good experience in the end definitely with other friends. The computers are mostly quite good and trust worthy enough. Things are so simplified however and acknowleged by not even making you the ghost lead. Your control over your team is limited to "shoot this guy" and your control over the drone is limited to having 4 taggeable enemies you could monitor at maximum. If my technology is so advanced why can I only monitor 4 dudes at once and at the same time of conveniently having a four man squad? Simple, too simple. For a game that takes so much pride in being a strategy game things are pretty simple and dumbed down and content from a predecessor from over 4 years having more content doesn't look so good. As for multiplayer I couldn't get into it because I'm forced to unlock everything by playing the crap out of it and the multiplayer matches just aren't that amazing. Having limitations and simplifying your options by making you slowly unlock more doesn't create a greater experience, it becomes a chore because to play with full potential I gotta put in atleast 12 hours worth of online play. No thanks didn't work for me in Final Fantasy 13 and probably won't ever. First review Expand
  16. Jul 29, 2012
    7
    I love the tactical shooter as much as the next guy, but I was really surprised about some details. First I have to comment on the AI. Amazing job for the team to feel like they are thinking for themselves instead of roboting behind me. Second, I really love the customizing and weapon specializing but their could have been more. Third, I was really bummed about the graphics. I was reallyI love the tactical shooter as much as the next guy, but I was really surprised about some details. First I have to comment on the AI. Amazing job for the team to feel like they are thinking for themselves instead of roboting behind me. Second, I really love the customizing and weapon specializing but their could have been more. Third, I was really bummed about the graphics. I was really hoping for significant upgrade from the GRAW series but its almost the same if not worse. Overall I enjoyed the game but I was left wanting a lot more. Maybe in Future Soldier 2... Expand
  17. May 22, 2012
    6
    Remember all the "watercooler" set pieces from Gears of War 3? That kind of thing is on display here as well. The problem is that in Ghost Recon, they are all mini cut-scenes that strip you of control every few minutes and sometimes, every few seconds. To make matters worse, often times the most effective thing you can do is have your AI squad do all the killing. Couple that with theRemember all the "watercooler" set pieces from Gears of War 3? That kind of thing is on display here as well. The problem is that in Ghost Recon, they are all mini cut-scenes that strip you of control every few minutes and sometimes, every few seconds. To make matters worse, often times the most effective thing you can do is have your AI squad do all the killing. Couple that with the fact that you're basically invisible the entire time, and you have a bland single player experience that leaves you feeling that you're just along for the ride. The set-pieces would have been awesome, but this story would have always been ho-hum, been there, done that affair.

    Things get even worse when you switch to live foes in multiplayer modes. Spawn camping seems to be a legitimate way to play this game. I also observed enemy teams camping objectives without capturing them, just so they can rack up kills that seemed cheap and hollow. Kill cams constantly show enemy killers aiming erratically and still getting kill after kill while your own rounds seem to do nothing in spite of seeing hit markers on target. The several games I've played seemed cheap, like they didn't work right, and were no fun what-so-ever. I plan on trying more later. Although I'm sure I have a full understanding of how the game works, the multiplayer games I've played seemed so poorly thought out and pointless, I would hope there's something I'm missing.

    ...But it gets even worse. At a base level, the gameplay in this game will always be broken because the rush/cover function is mapped to the A button. This means you HAVE to take your finger off right stick to sprint or switch cover. If this function was not on a face button, the entire time you're running you could be looking around and planning your next move. It kills me when I realize how fast paced and fluid the game would play if my fingers were on the sticks the entire time. Because of this glaring and baffling game design choice, ALL gameplay in this game feels like it has one foot in a bucket.

    I don't know what these other baffoons reviewing this game have to gain by posting knowingly fraudulent reviews. If they're like me, they're sorry they spent money on it. I suppose the only explanation is that unlike myself, they haven't come to terms with the fact that they will never get that $60+ back, and are either trying to share their misery with others, or trying desperately to convince themselves that this game isn't a shiny, polished turd.
    Expand
  18. May 22, 2012
    6
    Why won't anyone make a decent campaign anymore. I am sick of scripted strict linear "follow me" solo play. The multiplayer is gorgeous and fun, but lacking a team deathmacth seriously flawed. While GR FS is the best looking game graphically, still not as fun as say Crysis 2. Will trade this in for the next game.
  19. May 26, 2012
    6
    Used to love the Ghost Recon series.
    Not anymore. Thank you Ubisoft. Why do you have to kill off your game like that.
    Anyway I think this is the last one we'll see
  20. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    I found this quite a let down, the campaign seems to be plagued with glitches, one of which prevented me from completing a level unless I restarted the entire mission (reloading the checkpoint didn't work) and overall doesn't seem to draw you in to caring about any of the characters or the missions you are taking on. Cut scenes are visually underwhelming but can be pretty fun to watch.I found this quite a let down, the campaign seems to be plagued with glitches, one of which prevented me from completing a level unless I restarted the entire mission (reloading the checkpoint didn't work) and overall doesn't seem to draw you in to caring about any of the characters or the missions you are taking on. Cut scenes are visually underwhelming but can be pretty fun to watch. The campaign does hold a few nifty features though, my favourite of which is the synchronised firing, line up a few targets, pick one for yourself and watch as you are your buddies take them all out. Online can be fun but doesn't seem to hit the target like GR 1 & 2. The online customisation is very interesting giving you a detailed view of your weapons and allowing the player to chose between many pros and cons. Overall, if this was a new brand of games it would score higher but given how much I enjoyed previous GR titles, it really doesn't hit the mark. Expand
  21. Jun 7, 2012
    6
    The campaign is one of the most riveting ones available on the market compared to other militar shooter stories, examples: COD, Battlefield, SOCOM and Medal of Honor. Graphics are great not excellent (Battlefield much better) concept and options (customizations) awesome. Online play- the worst of any shooter game ever!!! If you are an online gamer don't even bother buying this so-calledThe campaign is one of the most riveting ones available on the market compared to other militar shooter stories, examples: COD, Battlefield, SOCOM and Medal of Honor. Graphics are great not excellent (Battlefield much better) concept and options (customizations) awesome. Online play- the worst of any shooter game ever!!! If you are an online gamer don't even bother buying this so-called game, the connection issues are unbearable and make you wish for a refund. Expand
  22. Apr 18, 2013
    6
    Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is a solid third person shooter from Ubisoft. To start off with lets talk about the story. The story is about as generic and uninspired as it gets in shooters, but that's more of a bonus for a shooter to have a good story. Onto more important aspects the gameplay is exceptional, the controls and cover system are very fluid, similiar to Gears of War.Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is a solid third person shooter from Ubisoft. To start off with lets talk about the story. The story is about as generic and uninspired as it gets in shooters, but that's more of a bonus for a shooter to have a good story. Onto more important aspects the gameplay is exceptional, the controls and cover system are very fluid, similiar to Gears of War. The guns are spectacular, there's a wide array of them they sound great and have accurate stats. The Gunsmith is amazing, it is hands down the best weapon customization feature in games, literally customize every aspect of the weapon, and suit it to your play style. More on gameplay: the game as advertised, has great stealth sequences and awesome straight up gun fights. A really cool feature is the sync shot where you mark enemies and silently take as many as four enemies down at once with the help of your squad. Onto guerilla mode, is is well executed and enjoyable, when playing with friends its a blast, but playing solo the enemies swarm and rush you and it is incredibly frustrating. Onto multiplayer, it is such a shame that a game with such solid gameplay could have such poor multiplayer. Here's a handful of problems 1. Spawn Camping: on most maps there are only two or so ways to leave the spawn, so the enemy will go prone and mow you down the second you come out of the gate. 2. Camping: this is a whole other issue than spawn camping because enemies will camp objective and high-traffic areas and rack up kills. 3. 6 maps: this multiplayer has around half a dozen maps, that is completely unacceptable and the maps get so boring so fast. 4. TWO MODES: this multiplayer has two goddamn modes in it, no deathmatch no team deathmatch, just a domination type game and another game mode that no one is ever playing. Finally 5. OP weapons: half the weapons in this game will tear you to shreds in an instant almost every other time I'm killed is by an a-hole with an over-gassed Vector or F2000. But wait theres one more major complaint, the UPlay passport, so I pay for my internet, and on top of that you have Xbox Gold, and on top of that you have another fee just to level past 5. Ubisoft has to learn this "business practice" is completely unacceptable and I will not purchase their games if this trend continues. So in conclusion this game has solid mechanics, good campaign, good guerilla mode and absolute piss-poor multiplayer. Expand
  23. Nov 22, 2012
    6
    Massive letdown compared to GRAW. The singleplayer had its moments but overall I didnt rate it. I wanted to be able to use all the gun unlocks once i get a gun, not do boring side challenges to get an attachment. Thought the characters were annoying nothing compared to captain Mitchell. Those scenes where they talk all together, made me cringe. The speed of the cover system was awesome butMassive letdown compared to GRAW. The singleplayer had its moments but overall I didnt rate it. I wanted to be able to use all the gun unlocks once i get a gun, not do boring side challenges to get an attachment. Thought the characters were annoying nothing compared to captain Mitchell. Those scenes where they talk all together, made me cringe. The speed of the cover system was awesome but the soldiers still look like turtles. Multiplayer was fun until i realised if you are an engineer and have a UAV and know how to use it, people will ge annoyed. UAV = fun killer. Expand
  24. Jun 5, 2013
    6
    What do you get when you refine a tactical shooter with modern outlooks? Ghost Recon Future Soldier. A tactical shooter uses the word tactical loosely. As team management is a thing of the past and the controls are streamlined for convenience of the player. Which works good on paper but the reality is boring and dull. The game is centered around 4 highly trained operatives called,What do you get when you refine a tactical shooter with modern outlooks? Ghost Recon Future Soldier. A tactical shooter uses the word tactical loosely. As team management is a thing of the past and the controls are streamlined for convenience of the player. Which works good on paper but the reality is boring and dull. The game is centered around 4 highly trained operatives called, Ghost. As they are to be the ones to follow a mysterious shipment that resulted in the death of four other friends. The game centers you around, Kozak, an ex-Russian who is the heart, brains, lungs, spine, liver, stomach... and you see where I'm going with this. You are the reason the team operates, even though you are not even squad leader.

    Graphics are terrible and just passable. Gameplay is boring, only with friends does it get fun. AI is lackluster. Buy as a fun game for friends, not for fans of the series.
    Expand
  25. Apr 28, 2013
    6
    I wanted to like this game but I just couldn't get into it. The system works and the graphics are ok. But I guess I was hoping for a little more of advanced war fighter, and it pulled away from that. So the 6 is only because I couldn't get into the game. You should at least give it a shot you might like it more then me.
  26. Jun 25, 2014
    6
    Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Future Soldier is a solid game. It has the graphics, the soundtrack, the customization, the variety... but it still feels... meh. It feels much like a contemporary Gears of War at times. It does certainly NOT feel as tactical as the previous Ghost Recon games. It's biggest flaws are two: the linear "follow the checkpoints" single player gameplay, where it presentsTom Clancy's Ghost Recon Future Soldier is a solid game. It has the graphics, the soundtrack, the customization, the variety... but it still feels... meh. It feels much like a contemporary Gears of War at times. It does certainly NOT feel as tactical as the previous Ghost Recon games. It's biggest flaws are two: the linear "follow the checkpoints" single player gameplay, where it presents a "throw the sensor-shoot-repeat" scenario waaaay too many times, and the **** UPLAY PASSPORT. God dammit, half the game is locked out unless you get a Uplay passport. It's really irritating.

    Still, it can be a fun play, check it out and remember to play Co-Op for the most complete and entertaining experience.

    6/10
    Expand
  27. Mar 15, 2015
    6
    Allow me to start by saying this is not the best shooter. While it's gameplay is far better than CoD, it lacks on some very important aspects.

    PRO's: same console co-op, decent storyline, decent gunsmithing, controls aren't bad. Cons: Same console Co-op is very limited, you're a soldier yet you have to unlock weapons to use in campaign, mostly stealth based. For those who don't
    Allow me to start by saying this is not the best shooter. While it's gameplay is far better than CoD, it lacks on some very important aspects.

    PRO's: same console co-op, decent storyline, decent gunsmithing, controls aren't bad.
    Cons: Same console Co-op is very limited, you're a soldier yet you have to unlock weapons to use in campaign, mostly stealth based.

    For those who don't know, UBISOFT has recently gone on with some very poor games, this is probably the starting point for this.
    Expand
  28. Jun 14, 2012
    5
    After playing GR 1 and in particular GRAF to its limits, I was pretty excited about a new future GR. After two delays and a near complete over haul what was left is a game which plagues the industry at present, a generic and short single player shooter with a flawed mutli player. Ubisoft have been upsetting me quite often recently, especially with their insistent 'all American save theAfter playing GR 1 and in particular GRAF to its limits, I was pretty excited about a new future GR. After two delays and a near complete over haul what was left is a game which plagues the industry at present, a generic and short single player shooter with a flawed mutli player. Ubisoft have been upsetting me quite often recently, especially with their insistent 'all American save the world' crap they feel they must put in games to sell, however even that would be tolerated if the game didn't seem rushed. As the American hipsters say - EPIC FAIL! Expand
  29. May 28, 2012
    5
    First of all I'm not a CoD or BF fanboy. I rate each game on its individual merit. I was looking forward to this release and I must say I am deeply disappointed! The game is FULL of glitches! The campaign is boring and hell and the multiplayer suffers from that old gem of poor hit detection (xbox 360)! The game bores the ass off me! Nice graphics, nice sound though very dull. My score isFirst of all I'm not a CoD or BF fanboy. I rate each game on its individual merit. I was looking forward to this release and I must say I am deeply disappointed! The game is FULL of glitches! The campaign is boring and hell and the multiplayer suffers from that old gem of poor hit detection (xbox 360)! The game bores the ass off me! Nice graphics, nice sound though very dull. My score is an honest one of 5 but I'd save my money if I was you people! Expand
  30. May 24, 2012
    5
    Expected more, AI in campaign is just awful, playing on hardest difficulty and 0 challenge. Co-op campaign only progresses lobby host. Gains nothing from playing co-op. Multi-player is crawl and gun rather than run and gun, sensors take away any "covert strategy". Graphics are decent, storyline is decent, gadgets are great, AI is atrocious, multiplayer is decent (think Uncharted with aExpected more, AI in campaign is just awful, playing on hardest difficulty and 0 challenge. Co-op campaign only progresses lobby host. Gains nothing from playing co-op. Multi-player is crawl and gun rather than run and gun, sensors take away any "covert strategy". Graphics are decent, storyline is decent, gadgets are great, AI is atrocious, multiplayer is decent (think Uncharted with a hack that allows you to see opponents, and no climbing and piss poor level design). Passable, barely...wish I had rented for a weekend, not a worth successor to the series. Expand
  31. May 23, 2012
    5
    The Ghost Recon series has always been know as co-op tactical shooter with customizable characters and situations. This new installment is not worthy of the Ghost recon franchise name, and here is why. Future Soldier does not allow you to customize the look of your multiplayer character and does not allow you to customize the co-op experience. In its place there is reptitive co-op modeThe Ghost Recon series has always been know as co-op tactical shooter with customizable characters and situations. This new installment is not worthy of the Ghost recon franchise name, and here is why. Future Soldier does not allow you to customize the look of your multiplayer character and does not allow you to customize the co-op experience. In its place there is reptitive co-op mode Guerrilla. Unfortunately there is now matchmaking for co-op so you`ll need friends who have the game to play this. The gameplay is basically hardcore mode Call of Duty, crossed with Gears of War with a touch of Army of Two. Complete with a boring, shooting gallery story and a few crap competitive multiplayer modes, this is the typical shooter of today. Unrealistic and uninspiring. I`ll be waiting for the new Rainbow Six. Expand
  32. May 23, 2012
    5
    I have been a GR fan since the start of the franchise and all I can say now is i am extremely saddened. I feel like I have had a death in the family. After all this time I don' t think 60 frames second iss too much to ask for. Team deathmatch is not too much to ask for. I would rather use the environment and camo to conceal myself not some stupid cloaking tech. I don't want to beI have been a GR fan since the start of the franchise and all I can say now is i am extremely saddened. I feel like I have had a death in the family. After all this time I don' t think 60 frames second iss too much to ask for. Team deathmatch is not too much to ask for. I would rather use the environment and camo to conceal myself not some stupid cloaking tech. I don't want to be able to see through walls that is so incredibly cheap. Low res textures anywhere is simply not acceptable. I am sad because I have so many memories of great games playing the other GR games but now the love is gone. I will not purchase this game. Goodbye Ghost Recon... Expand
  33. Jun 26, 2012
    5
    quick review Story single player its ok 8 out of 10
    controls again ok 8 out of 10 multiplayer 1 out of 10
    this game is a real let down for me the game at time shows greatness when you get a good game, but is let down with terrible maps and control glitches that get you killed and the peer to peer servers don't work at ALL 99% of the time if you are looking for the next rainbow 6, stay
    quick review Story single player its ok 8 out of 10
    controls again ok 8 out of 10 multiplayer 1 out of 10

    this game is a real let down for me the game at time shows greatness when you get a good game, but is let down with terrible maps and control glitches that get you killed and the peer to peer servers don't work at ALL 99% of the time if you are looking for the next rainbow 6, stay far away people.

    its not terrible but its a look way from being good.
    Expand
  34. Aug 24, 2012
    5
    After purchasing GRFS and feeling hugely disappointed and well cheated out of my £40 I couldn't help but feel nostalgic about the countless hours, days and alas years my friends and I spent at the helm of the ghost recon franchise. The days when you could actually speak to most people playing and issue warnings of a looming sniper or vocalise strategy's, when a game actually feltAfter purchasing GRFS and feeling hugely disappointed and well cheated out of my £40 I couldn't help but feel nostalgic about the countless hours, days and alas years my friends and I spent at the helm of the ghost recon franchise. The days when you could actually speak to most people playing and issue warnings of a looming sniper or vocalise strategy's, when a game actually felt realistic almost like you were there. I remember sprawling in the thick undergrowth actually raising my head for real, in a vane attempt to look over the grass. The game throughout the franchise had a real community spirit and with so many configurable options and a ridiculous amount of amazingly atmospheric diverse maps you were never far away from the next great online battle . You were also part of a team and you treated the maps strategically as such and that atmosphere and team spirit is what's missing from the modern shooters. Have you noticed how all the new breed of so called strategy shooters, advertise the fact you should play as a team ? But how many games do you jump into where people actually do? Ghost Recon was the kind of game that didnt need to try and coax you into such, you just did.

    Ok so enough nostalgic meanderings, this game at grass roots is ok, talking of which where is the grass in this? and all those wonderfully diverse landscapes that once made this franchise what it was? Like I say its ok, if you want to play a 3rd person COD clone with a few silly objective games that nobody really likes compared to the old team elimination, oh and a gears of war cover system bolted on for good measure, then you might quite like this. If however your one of those old GR vets such as myself that actually quite liked the proven formula of the past franchise, you might be a little disappointed to find that your beloved Ghost Recon is going through an identity crisis of sorts. I'm not saying change is bad, quite the contrary. For me a brand should improve on what made it famous in the first place but I'm afraid Ubisoft seems to have thrown that rule book well and truly out of the window. This game is certainly not without its fans, old and new but now its breached into similar territory to that of the newer kids on the block I really wonder if this franchise has the legs or the attributes that stood it apart from the crowd in the first place... Originality!!

    Looks like its back to GRAW 2 and as old as it is there's still that great community spirit and quality battles abound. Difficult to get bored with 50+ maps. I wonder Will GRFS be saying the same at that age?
    Expand
  35. Sep 5, 2013
    5
    The Ghost Recon series made its name as a tactical shooter. Over the years the tactical elements have been slowly but surely watered down, and unfortunately we have reached a new low with Future Soldier.
    FS is nothing more than a 3’rd person shooter with some quite superficial stealth elements. The tactical commands you can give your squad is now reduced to tagging (lifted straight from
    The Ghost Recon series made its name as a tactical shooter. Over the years the tactical elements have been slowly but surely watered down, and unfortunately we have reached a new low with Future Soldier.
    FS is nothing more than a 3’rd person shooter with some quite superficial stealth elements. The tactical commands you can give your squad is now reduced to tagging (lifted straight from Splinter Cell Conviction) which enemies should be taken out or suppressed, or commands to heal squad members rather than actually command your squad (who would want to do that in a tactical shooter anyway, eh?).
    The open areas you had to slowly and carefully explore in the series beginning is now nothing but a series of linear “hallways” (complete with invisible walls) which sometimes opens up into larger “rooms” followed by yet more “hallways”. And to make matters even worse, the story, the characters and the settings all seem to be lifted straight out of any other modern shooter of recent years giving a terrible sense of déjà vu throughout the entire game.
    That said, the shooting and cover mechanics work well and the enemy AI is quite good as they use grenades effectively and try to flank you. The same unfortunately cannot be said for you squad members who on several occasions throughout my play-through seemed to get sporadic episodes of mental meltdowns making them leave a suppressed cover and rush forward in a hail of bullets. This didn’t happen often, but just enough to be really annoying.
    On the positive side the campaign is quite long and does try some variation (with sporadic success), but this however did little to distract from the clichéd plot and characters or the sense of déjà vu both in terms of gameplay, levels, and story. There is very little here you haven’t seen or played a million times before.
    The only thing that stands out in this game is the multiplayer which is very solid with 4 interesting modes, and playing through the campaign with three other players is actually the only thing that makes FS feel somewhat reminiscent of a Ghost Recon game.
    Ghost Recon is not a bad game, it’s just doesn’t feel like a Ghost Recon game, but more like CoD in 3’rd person, and that’s a shame.
    This is a well presented 3’rd person shooter, which unfortunately only manages to stand out a little in the multiplayer.
    If you want a solid 3’rd person multiplayer shooter give it a go.
    If you want a singleplayer tactical shooter (which this franchise used to be) leave it alone, because it has nothing to do with the Ghost Recon franchise.
    FS is yet another example of a franchise abandoning its roots in order to look, feel, and play just like everything else.
    It’s really getting tiresome.
    Expand
  36. Apr 16, 2013
    5
    One word comes to mind when I played this game... Average. Gameplay, graphics, voice acting, story... All of it, average. Nothing really blew me away or set new standards as this first game did all those years ago. Almost finished the game but sold it in the end as I was better of with the money!
  37. Apr 24, 2013
    5
    While not a bad game at all. Ghost Recon Future Soldier seemed more of a technical exercise than a game, not much tension at all in missions. It has some really sweet features, and maybe on a higher difficulty it could be a better game, in my playthrough it all seemed too easy, answers were obvious, and except in certain situations, low risk
  38. Aug 22, 2013
    5
    As a long time Ghost Recon fan going back to the original xbox it seems like each new game they make under the Ghost Recon game becomes less fun. The original games had great wide open maps, objectives and freedom to play it how you wanted to. Now you are moving through a linear script with very little freedom. We want the large open environments of early on. The weapon customization wasAs a long time Ghost Recon fan going back to the original xbox it seems like each new game they make under the Ghost Recon game becomes less fun. The original games had great wide open maps, objectives and freedom to play it how you wanted to. Now you are moving through a linear script with very little freedom. We want the large open environments of early on. The weapon customization was great but the game lacked freedom of choice. Even the previous AW series co-op multiplayer was great as you could customize the game and hunt the enemy which was totally pulled from this version. Expand
  39. Apr 16, 2015
    5
    Frequent glitches, lack of multiplayer modes, and the removal of the tactical view in the game makes me feel like I got screwed outta my cash. After five years of no sequels (not including the handheld games), this is the best Ubisoft could do? What the hell, man? It feels like a third-person Call of Duty. It's no wonder this game is 5 bucks at GameStop and Best Buy. I think y'all shouldFrequent glitches, lack of multiplayer modes, and the removal of the tactical view in the game makes me feel like I got screwed outta my cash. After five years of no sequels (not including the handheld games), this is the best Ubisoft could do? What the hell, man? It feels like a third-person Call of Duty. It's no wonder this game is 5 bucks at GameStop and Best Buy. I think y'all should do yourselves a big favor and keep Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter 1 or 2 (if you have it). I'm happy wit what I got and I probably won't buy the next Ghost Recon, 'cause this one blows. Damn, Ubisoft. You guys never shoulda made this piece of **** Expand
  40. May 25, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers. An enjoyable co-op campaign - however the plot is truly laughable!! It jumps all over the place and has numerous plot holes (1 mission ends with a cliff hanger, jumping off a bridge being shot at by a tank, your evac destroyed, only to appear unharmed getting of a heli at the start of the next level?!?!?). There were times when I had to ask, "wait why am I here again?!, the bad guys are who now?". That said I still had fun blowing everyone up! Definitely not game of the year, but certainly good fun! Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Aug 3, 2012
    70
    A tactical shooter with focus on stealth and teamwork. Buy it for the multiplayer modes and play with a team of friends, as the campaign is missing a large portion of the Ghost Recon-identity.
  2. Jul 19, 2012
    80
    A surprisingly engaging campaign with a slew of co-op options, let down by okay graphics and inconsistent connectivity. Get some. [Aug 2012, p.66]
  3. 76
    So what did I think of my first Ghost Recon experience? Well, I think it did a lot of things well. Despite lacking any kind of coherent plot, Future Soldier's campaign had the hooks in me and I couldn't help but finish it off, despite having no interest in the pay-off. Chalk this up to a great combat system and some pretty satisfying stealth segments.