• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Apr 13, 2010
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 551 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 551

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 24, 2012
    5
    I have been a massive fan of the Splinter Cell series, beginning with the first title that was released for the original Xbox. My play through with Splinter Cell: Conviction was, to say the least, average. It's the kind of game where developers take 1 step forward and 2 steps back, despite their passionate effort in 'reinventing' the genre. Length: "Splinter Cell: Conviction's" story modeI have been a massive fan of the Splinter Cell series, beginning with the first title that was released for the original Xbox. My play through with Splinter Cell: Conviction was, to say the least, average. It's the kind of game where developers take 1 step forward and 2 steps back, despite their passionate effort in 'reinventing' the genre. Length: "Splinter Cell: Conviction's" story mode will last the average player an upwards of around 6-10 hours, depending on the difficulty (mind you, this is not the same "lengthy" duration they claimed and boasted in their interviews. The Co-op portion of the title will last approximately 3-4 hours, again, depending on the difficulty. The rest of the multiplayer length is relatively subjective, because it really depends on the person playing and whether they truly enjoy it or not.

    Controls: Excellent. Some issues with trying to climb up and some such but other than that, the controls were very solid.

    Sound: Again, also excellent. Single Player Story: Not too much peep out of me for this part of the game. It's a pretty interesting storyline, but I wish they did a few things differently. In short - and without spoiling too much - it's just obnoxious playing as Sam Fisher one moment, and than being thrown into Diwaniya, Iraq as a completely different person. It just derails the narrative focus of the game for the sake of telling a side story that is completely irrelevant to the main plot of the game. Co-op Story: Interesting to say the least. It really reveals a lot of the interior motives of a certain someone in the single player story, but only if you play the co-op campaign first. The ending was truly a disappointment although my friend and I had a pretty good laugh the first time we played the ending. Gameplay and design: Now, this is where it gets really nitty-gritty. The game-play and overall design of Conviction is quite clear, it's meant to be played as a run and gun, Jason Bourne on speed style game. There are a huge amount of key and refining features missing that made the originals so damn good. The knife, whistling, controlling your light exposure and movement speed, Night/thermal vision goggles, moving and hiding bodies, hallway split jumping, etc. Big and small things like the ones I mentioned above are just completely eradicated from Conviction, all for the sake of making it fast paced, something the Splinter Cell series is *not* known for. Enemies are just thrown into each section of the level, each one being in a convenient spot for players to make full use of the Mark and Execute feature. So much is sacrificed for one feature, and quite frankly, it's just disgusting to see a title stripped of it's roots and garnished with mediocrity.

    The exclusion of key features is one thing, but the illusion of the stealth in conviction is also another. I couldn't shake the feeling that Conviction was not designed with the originals in mind. For all intents and purposes, Ubisoft felt it would be a good idea to force players into unavoidable gun fight scenarios with little hope for pure stealth. The addition of the Sonar Goggles is more of a burden than it is a boon. Special enemy types are later equipped with these very same goggles, further eliminating the use of stealth mechanics and forcing players to draw their guns and mark/execute their way to victory. These same goggles also completely eliminate the use of one such gadget, the sticky camera (which had it's smoke feature replaced with the explode feature).

    I can go on about how this isn't a true sequel to the Splinter Cell series but this review has to stop at some point and I'm just sick of having to juggle why Ubisoft felt it necessary to try and reinvent the wheel. For me, this title in the series is a 5/10. In short, as a Splinter Cell title, Conviction is complete trash that spits in the face of it's predecessor in hopes of garnering the undivided attention of the fast-paced shooter crowd. As a 3rd person shooter with some stealth elements, it's an average game. Make of that what you will.
    Expand
  2. DeamonE.
    Apr 13, 2010
    5
    A step up from previous games but its story is short the multiplayer only allows up to two people to play while the previous games had 3 to 4 times that amount
  3. MikeS.
    Apr 14, 2010
    2
    When I saw the first gameplay footage from "SPLINTER CELL CONVICTION," I almost creamed my pants. The more I saw and heard of the game, the more I was certain this would be my GAME OF THE YEAR 2010. I honestly can't believe how far below my expectations this game ended up being. It's not exciting, it's not gorgeous to look at (like I had hoped judging from the original When I saw the first gameplay footage from "SPLINTER CELL CONVICTION," I almost creamed my pants. The more I saw and heard of the game, the more I was certain this would be my GAME OF THE YEAR 2010. I honestly can't believe how far below my expectations this game ended up being. It's not exciting, it's not gorgeous to look at (like I had hoped judging from the original gameplay footage), the interrogations should have been amazing (there not close), solo Camp. should have been robust and epic (it ain't), and the game should have been a tight and intense experience (it's not quite there. Being completely honest, the game is a 7/10. But forget that... I haven't had a game disappoint me like this since HAZE. A huge misfire. Games of the 2010: Heavy Rain, Mass Effect 2, God of War III, MLB 10: The Show. This isn`t close. Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    This game is just bad, maybe some Kids that did not know the splinter cell games like it cause of its good graphics but the game itself is just bad, really bad. They removed the philosophy and key aspects of stealth gameplay in this game, it is just not Splinter Cell anymore.
  5. Oct 31, 2012
    2
    Id like to start by saying this game is fun. Theres nothing wrong with it playwise. However this game took the ONLY stealth series available and steals it from us. Even if this is the best game youve played this year its still worth considering that because it was released as a splinter cell game it spells the end for the true stealth game genre. So if you ever feel like hey im in the moodId like to start by saying this game is fun. Theres nothing wrong with it playwise. However this game took the ONLY stealth series available and steals it from us. Even if this is the best game youve played this year its still worth considering that because it was released as a splinter cell game it spells the end for the true stealth game genre. So if you ever feel like hey im in the mood for a sneaky stealth dedicated game..well now it no longer exists. To take a one of a kind unique and successfull series and change the most basic point of the game steals not just from old fans but from all gamers because now the only game if its kind has been replaced by just another heavy action setup. This would have done well as a game under a new title but to purposly rip a whole way of playing from the fans and replace it is a sad occurence. No matter how much you love it its still a betrayal and the end of an entire type of gameplay that only splintercell offerd Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    No one will stop Sam Fisher, nor do you. Slick control is perfect for stealth and combat, strong voice acting gives life to the awesome story and the flashy black and white ( in the shadow) adds cool effect to it. The multiplayer is appealing, i set more with the co-op mode, versus is sometimes frustrating , but it adds tension. Conviction never felt so good
  7. MarkC.
    Apr 13, 2010
    5
    Somehow the reviews are forgetting to mention that Ubisoft took out the online versus modes! Thus, the best reason to buy a Splinter Cell game, and the very thing that made them so replayable, is utterly missing from Conviction. Yet they're not publicizing this fact! Buy it at your own risk. Most people are probably ASSUMING it has the traditional versus modes, and will be bitterly Somehow the reviews are forgetting to mention that Ubisoft took out the online versus modes! Thus, the best reason to buy a Splinter Cell game, and the very thing that made them so replayable, is utterly missing from Conviction. Yet they're not publicizing this fact! Buy it at your own risk. Most people are probably ASSUMING it has the traditional versus modes, and will be bitterly disappointed when they get home. But do you think Ubisoft is gonna give you back the $60 you paid for their campaign that only lasts SIX HOURS?!!!! Expand
  8. JasonB
    Apr 15, 2010
    2
    Just more evidence of games being dumbed down to appeal to kids and the drooling masses. Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory was a masterpiece and the climax of the series. This is just shameful corporate compromising to make it another soulless, simple, easy-money-making "angry gritty protagonist" generic tripe. One more nail in the coffin of gaming, and another franchise ruined.
  9. allens.
    Apr 19, 2010
    6
    This game is not Splintercell. The graphics were terrible for today's standards. The AI was terrible as well. The black and white thing was a bad idea that was even worse in practice. This game was for people who obviously never played Splintercell. And if you thought the short gameplay was at all challenging or interesting you need to go back to your wii because those crappy This game is not Splintercell. The graphics were terrible for today's standards. The AI was terrible as well. The black and white thing was a bad idea that was even worse in practice. This game was for people who obviously never played Splintercell. And if you thought the short gameplay was at all challenging or interesting you need to go back to your wii because those crappy shovelware games are all you deserve. Ubi should fire whoever was responsible for this Splintercell. Expand
  10. TadG.
    Apr 13, 2010
    6
    A huge step back from the Xbox Splinter Cells, unless you're a 3rd person action shooter fan.
  11. isaacisaac
    Apr 14, 2010
    1
    "This game" is gabage, they took away all the elements that made SPLINTER CELL being a successful title in favour of so-called "wider audience". Now what we get, a non-special 3rd person shooter with awkward level desigh and extremely short SP campaign compiled with dumb enemy AI. 1 star for the name.
  12. SeanJ
    Apr 16, 2010
    0
    This is NOT a Splinter Cell game. The stealth element is mediocre, as has been so dumbed down from the last games it's not actually necessary anymore. Want to play Rambo? Go ahead. You'd never have gotten away with it in the previous games, but now even on the hardest difficulty it's an option. I understand that they're trying to make it more "action" stealth, but This is NOT a Splinter Cell game. The stealth element is mediocre, as has been so dumbed down from the last games it's not actually necessary anymore. Want to play Rambo? Go ahead. You'd never have gotten away with it in the previous games, but now even on the hardest difficulty it's an option. I understand that they're trying to make it more "action" stealth, but that's just not what Splinter Cell is about. If I wanted to play a shooter, I'd play CoD or Halo. When I play Splinter Cell, I'm looking for a game that makes me think, rewards me for being stealthy, and punishes severely when I'm not. This series used to be unique, but every game since Chaos Theory has slowly dumbed the series down, and this one does away with stealth being a necessity all together. I know I can play it stealthily if I want to, but there's no reward for it, and some places force you out of the dark anyway. That's just never been what this series is, and honestly, after all the time since Double Agent, they could have at least polished this piece of crap up a little bit before releasing it. Expand
  13. GarryG.
    Apr 13, 2010
    0
    This is not Splinter Cell, the gameplay is typical action stealth, I'm surprised even a game that isn't called a stealth like Uncharted 2 had better stealth. The length? Well, for a game that took as long as this has taken, it's a mediocre 5 hours. And then the story, Splinter Cell never really was about the story, too bad because something would have helped to give this This is not Splinter Cell, the gameplay is typical action stealth, I'm surprised even a game that isn't called a stealth like Uncharted 2 had better stealth. The length? Well, for a game that took as long as this has taken, it's a mediocre 5 hours. And then the story, Splinter Cell never really was about the story, too bad because something would have helped to give this game heart. Unfortunately it stands as a typical shooter among the many. Disappointing, but I guess I kind of expected it. Expand
  14. JamesC.
    Apr 13, 2010
    3
    It seemed more of thrill from the teaser trailers from previous months. But in the end, it's a just a shame that a game with much potential couldn't offer a unique experience from what I wanted. Some of the action element games weren't even exciting. It seems that the developers got overconfident and messed up the game. Here is hoping that the next game isn't as terrible.
  15. JoeS.
    Apr 13, 2010
    3
    It's not bad but it only took 4hours 10minutes to beat... has some replayability but in reality it's going to end for most players when the credits role. The gameplay itself is fun but shallow, hampered by dumb AI and redundant mechanics. Lifespan 2 Gameplay 7 Graphics 8 Story 7.
  16. StevenW
    Apr 16, 2010
    0
    Terrible game, like other people said it wasn't a Splinter Cell game at ALL. The stealth portion of this game is just stupid and so many aspects were taken out to make this. Definitely don't buy this game. Big waste of money. I haven't personally tried the multi-player yet but from the description it seems like it is hardly player versus player at all, but more just Terrible game, like other people said it wasn't a Splinter Cell game at ALL. The stealth portion of this game is just stupid and so many aspects were taken out to make this. Definitely don't buy this game. Big waste of money. I haven't personally tried the multi-player yet but from the description it seems like it is hardly player versus player at all, but more just attempting to completely objectives before the other player which is pretty stupid. Expand
  17. Aug 26, 2010
    6
    I'm a big fan of Splinter Cell, of stealth games and a hardcore gamer. This game was not a stealth game at all, it was very easy, it was too short. I somehow liked this game, For a casual gamer, this is a great game. Those who didn't like the olders Splinter Cell because it was too hard, there was too much stealth, those should try the demo. Maybe they will like it. For a big fan ofI'm a big fan of Splinter Cell, of stealth games and a hardcore gamer. This game was not a stealth game at all, it was very easy, it was too short. I somehow liked this game, For a casual gamer, this is a great game. Those who didn't like the olders Splinter Cell because it was too hard, there was too much stealth, those should try the demo. Maybe they will like it. For a big fan of Splinter Cell, it is a deception, but maybe they will somehow like it. I hope it will come back a stealth game, but I don't think so. I give it a 6/10, it is a great location, and can be a good game for Casual Gamers. But I'd like a longer story, this one was too short. Just 5 hours. You should all try the demo. Expand
  18. Jan 18, 2011
    1
    I have loved the splinter cell games since the very first and have played them over and over again, but when i put the rotten piece of diarrhea that ubisoft call splinter cell conviction into my xbox my first reaction was to grab a bucket to vomit into, The graphics look as good as a fox that has been hit by a car, the gameplay is nothing like the originals, A game that is meant to be aI have loved the splinter cell games since the very first and have played them over and over again, but when i put the rotten piece of diarrhea that ubisoft call splinter cell conviction into my xbox my first reaction was to grab a bucket to vomit into, The graphics look as good as a fox that has been hit by a car, the gameplay is nothing like the originals, A game that is meant to be a stealth game then has little to no stealth elements and it actually forces you to have an all out gunfight using the stupid mark and execute ability, The game was meant to make you feel like a panther but it made me feel like mark and executing my balls off. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys to be anally penetrated with a razor blade as i feel these are the only people who could enjoy a game of this quality. The only reason i give this a 1/10 is because the box art looks quite nice. Expand
  19. D
    Apr 13, 2010
    0
    Way too short of a single player campaign...for a game that was in development for so long this is just depressingly bad. I miss the good old days.
  20. SiM
    Apr 18, 2010
    6
    With the delayed release and extra time this took I really thought they were going to nail this one down. How disappointing. On 'Realistic' mode unarmoured guards still take '3 or4' shots to the chest then shake it off and come running and gunning after you again! I thought gaming had moved passed all this 'yesteryear' crap. Floating guns and heads popping With the delayed release and extra time this took I really thought they were going to nail this one down. How disappointing. On 'Realistic' mode unarmoured guards still take '3 or4' shots to the chest then shake it off and come running and gunning after you again! I thought gaming had moved passed all this 'yesteryear' crap. Floating guns and heads popping through closed doors as they try to get through them? Oh, and how ridiculously dark is the game? I appreciate the game is supposed to be a bout striking from the darkness but seriously...I can't see a thing! Sonar goggles a good idea but once you shoot the lights out You end up bouncing off walls like a pinball until you find a door! NVG's would've been a great add on Ubisoft. If it's not broke then don't fix it. Once again a potentially great game marred by sloppy level design (Iraq Level) and poor implementation. Only the co-op saves this...and even then it's not as good as the co-op in Chaos Theory. Expand
  21. MattJ.r
    Apr 16, 2010
    3
    I'll start off by telling you how much I've played the game. I've only played the demo three times through and I've read and watch many reviews about the game. So I'm fairly informed about the overall game. This game has gotten so casual that it makes me sick that they would do that to a hardcore game. The length of this game is totally unacceptable at around 8 I'll start off by telling you how much I've played the game. I've only played the demo three times through and I've read and watch many reviews about the game. So I'm fairly informed about the overall game. This game has gotten so casual that it makes me sick that they would do that to a hardcore game. The length of this game is totally unacceptable at around 8 hours long. I didn't enjoy one part of the demo, graphics are good and well that's about it, stealth gameplay is what this franchise is about and they have abandon it quite alot for a wider audience that likes to run in gun. There still stealth elements in the game, but rarely does it feel like I need to use them to success like in prior Splinter Cells. This game shouldn't even be called a Splinter Cell imo it sucks! avoid spending $60 on this one and rent if you must. Play the demo you'll see what I mean. Expand
  22. SteeleW.
    Apr 19, 2010
    6
    I'm about half way through in one sitting. The game is ok, but ultimately falls flat. The controls are odd, and It pains my eyes to keep having everything go from color to B&W all the time. Aside from that the regenerative health system takes forever to heal, so if you get hurt prepare to just sit there for literally 60 seconds until you're healed which kills the momentum. Also I'm about half way through in one sitting. The game is ok, but ultimately falls flat. The controls are odd, and It pains my eyes to keep having everything go from color to B&W all the time. Aside from that the regenerative health system takes forever to heal, so if you get hurt prepare to just sit there for literally 60 seconds until you're healed which kills the momentum. Also the levels are pretty short and uninspired. The game looks amazing, but some of the mo-cap could have been better. The storyline is basically you hunt down and or meet up with people until you find your daughters killer, I won't spoil anything for you even though there isn't much to spoil. Everything about this game is kind of lacking or has been done before. Honestly just buy a PS3 and play through uncharted 2, splinter cell is basically an inferior version of Drake's adventure. It's a fun, short, easy(I'm playing on realistic and it is wayyyyyy too easy) romp, but will ultimately wind up traded back to gamestop. Expand
  23. Dec 8, 2010
    6
    This should have been the 1st SC some years ago giving the series - and gamers - an alternative to end up as a nice looking 3rd person shooter or as an exciting stealth game. Introducing shooter elements into such a well developed stealth franchise is like introducing RPG elements into Halo - it doesn´t work. FPS fans will not start to play the older SC episodes due to theThis should have been the 1st SC some years ago giving the series - and gamers - an alternative to end up as a nice looking 3rd person shooter or as an exciting stealth game. Introducing shooter elements into such a well developed stealth franchise is like introducing RPG elements into Halo - it doesn´t work. FPS fans will not start to play the older SC episodes due to the lame visuals and the missing FPS elements. Old fans of the series (like me) will not continue to buy any SC franchise in the future.

    Ubisoft: Leave SC as the monument of the genre and move on. It´s not getting better.
    Expand
  24. Majork
    Apr 16, 2010
    0
    This game promised so much and fails on it all. You mostly play the game in an awful black and White due to the new way of showing the player they are in darkness. The old method of a bar or light on Sam's back wasn't bad. Plus every enemy takes many many bullets to die and stealth is usually never an option due to poor level design and linear paths. The weapons have a range of This game promised so much and fails on it all. You mostly play the game in an awful black and White due to the new way of showing the player they are in darkness. The old method of a bar or light on Sam's back wasn't bad. Plus every enemy takes many many bullets to die and stealth is usually never an option due to poor level design and linear paths. The weapons have a range of 20-30ft and enemies always notice Sam when you fire on a lone man, in the dark with a silenced pistol. An utter dissapointment and fans of any SC or stealth game should look away now. Expand
  25. SamF.
    Apr 16, 2010
    9
    This game is barely a Splinter Cell game. In fact, it's barely a Tom Clancy game. It's changed a lot, but that's not a bad thing. When Resident Evil 4 changed its gameplay mechanics for the better no one complained, and I dont see why every long time fan of the series is crying their dang pants off!! Anyways, this is more of a cover based action game than a stealth game, This game is barely a Splinter Cell game. In fact, it's barely a Tom Clancy game. It's changed a lot, but that's not a bad thing. When Resident Evil 4 changed its gameplay mechanics for the better no one complained, and I dont see why every long time fan of the series is crying their dang pants off!! Anyways, this is more of a cover based action game than a stealth game, and a good one at that. You get a lot of weapons, but you'll usually just stick to your pistol, and you only get a few gadgets but that's enough; it doesn't feel overwealming. A lot has been taken out from previouse games, too. You don't have the option to knock someone out instead of killing them, and you don't have to store bodies, and for the most part it made the game a lot better. The thing that improved most, though is the controles. Let me summerize how to defend yourself in previouse Splinter Cell games: you press X, than press RS to zoom in if you actually want to hit anything, press LT to hold your breath like Sam has asthma or something, and then finally press RT to shoot. Those are four buttons, mostly on different areas of the controller. Here's how you do it in conviction: press RT to shoot, and click RS to zoom in. Huge improvement. The way you can swich in and out of cover smoothly is also better than toggeling between sticking to walls or not. I like the interrogations because they're so over-the-top in a good way. It's funny to hear an enemy resist even though you've just broken two near by fragile objects on their face. The enemy AI is decent. It does a good job as working as a team but doesn't get the fact that a tactic may not work. Continuing to hold their position even though I've picked off ten of their guys is not smart of them. The game is very replayable and lasts longer than criticts have told us (remember that they play games for a living). As far as graphics and sound are concerned, the score is pretty good, voice acting is great, enviroments are detailed, and so are animations. The story is good, and you don't really need to play other Splinter Cell games to feel its intensity... and then it's over. The story ends so suddenly and throws you back to the main menu without even a "thanks for playing." Imagine if the campaign in Modern Warfare 2 ended right after the estate level, or if you never got to fight Nyx in Persona 3. It's like running into a brick wall. Oh, by the way, you get nothing for watching the credicts except for a few unimportant lines of diolaugue half way through. The credits are unforgivably long, though you can skip them, and I actually had to look up if there is an after-cretits cutscene after, no joke, about half an hour of watching the text scroll on. That's pretty much all there is to say about the game (there is no mass competitive multiplayer but we've got Bad Company 2 now, or Modern Warfare 2 if Infinity Ward ever decides to fix the ballance issues). It's not perfect but not every game is Persona 4 or Contra 4. It's funnest game I've played in a long, long time. BTW lots of free DLC!! Expand
  26. FredT.
    Apr 13, 2010
    0
    Disastrous preposterous. A shame that it carries the name Splinter Cell. This game tears it apart and not in a good way. It's mundane, repetitive, we've been through this, except now it's we've done the TPS a number of times this gen, not wow this is the stealth game I've been waiting for! Skip it.
  27. JayC
    Apr 15, 2010
    0
    I have been a huge fan of playing stealth games all my life... Splinter Cell especially has been one of my known favorites. But when it's compared to the likes of the Metal Gear Solid franchise, it doesn't even come close. Gameplay in this newest installment from Ubisoft has been noticeably unchanged and revised. It carries on elements from previous installments where stealth is I have been a huge fan of playing stealth games all my life... Splinter Cell especially has been one of my known favorites. But when it's compared to the likes of the Metal Gear Solid franchise, it doesn't even come close. Gameplay in this newest installment from Ubisoft has been noticeably unchanged and revised. It carries on elements from previous installments where stealth is not being handled the way it should. What really takes out all the enthusiasm for this installment is the 5 hour single-player campaign. Although there are various modes to play through (Co-op, online), the 5 hour gameplay makes you feel as if the game was being held back from true potential. Overall, a neat game, but a disappointing purchase. Expand
  28. Jul 4, 2011
    6
    It is a decent game. If you're looking for another thrilling stealth game like the past splinter cell entries, then don't buy this game. It's turned into more of a guns blazing shooter game and it's way too short. It has a nice co-op campaign though. If you can find this game for cheap then go ahead and buy it for a couple hrs of entertainment but don't expect to be wowed.
  29. Mar 24, 2012
    8
    I love this game so much, it's very interesting and unique. probably the best graphics i've seen in a ubisoft game since the 2008 Prince of Persia. Plot is so-so but the combat and camera angles are perfect. Best Splinter Cell game in ages. A Must Buy
  30. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Tom Clancy really outdid himself with his latest installment of the "Splinter Cell" series. The game features heated, stealth combat in which Sam Fisher seeks the destruction of the corrupt Third Echelon (administration of the United states of America), after they have done much wrong to him, as the trained killing machine that he is. This game far surpasses a lesser shooter (Call of Duty,Tom Clancy really outdid himself with his latest installment of the "Splinter Cell" series. The game features heated, stealth combat in which Sam Fisher seeks the destruction of the corrupt Third Echelon (administration of the United states of America), after they have done much wrong to him, as the trained killing machine that he is. This game far surpasses a lesser shooter (Call of Duty, Halo 3, etc.) with the various features (in-game combat and battle) and challenges that I have come to love. I have had the game since April 3rd, 2010 (now 2012) and rank it among the highest in my collection. Such a masterpiece will blow you mind and leave anxious for the sequel! Expand
  31. NipsyyyFire
    Apr 14, 2010
    4
    Wow my most anticipated game of the year sucks!! Well kind of it had it's fair share of good moments but it lost what everyone love about the old splintercell games!! I completed in 5hours and 49 minutes! WTF fair enough there is co-op campaighn but 5 hours and 49 minutes i remmember Ubisoft saying the main story was 19-22 hours long Epic fail hope alan wake's better!
  32. HarrisB
    Apr 19, 2010
    3
    Look at all these Xbox Mags. They always give Big Points to fairly hyped games, no matter how bad they are. Even the Xbox Gamers dont care about this stupidity. Maybe they are just glad to have another shooter game of its kind. If you are a demanding gamer stay far away from this one. It will be underwhelming for you if you are 10 years of age or older.
  33. MartinP.
    Apr 19, 2010
    10
    This game was awesome it has ivolved splinter cell into a new era.All it need was more stealth missions but above that the game was awesome. Sam Fisher is like the modern Altair he kicks ass.. Ending was cool but would have been awesomer if president would have died. so there could be a sequel
  34. RodrigoG.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    Excelente juego, ubisoft se arriesgo, y saco adelante una muy buena actualización que ya era necesaria en la saga. hay otras grandes franquicias que no pueden decir lo mismo y apuestan siempre por lo seguro. premio la valentia
  35. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    The story looks fantastic and graphic is great but a short length and the voice acting again by Michael Ironside is a top-notch and the music is good but much to the monochrome and the motion capture looks great and i really like the new feature but i kinda the missed an old feature from the old splinter cell.
  36. May 14, 2012
    10
    Brilliant 2 player feature...and the fact that its a different story from the single campaign makes it more intresting...It literaly made me an my friend whisper in the living room..
  37. PaulL.
    Apr 19, 2010
    10
    How can you give this game a 0? The speed at which you are able to perform the actions of a super spy is really what I was looking for in the previous games. It's not that those were bad games, It's just that I can finally now enter a room, assess the situation, and execute a plan on the first try, often by highly entertaining means. And the Co-op is great. Don't believe How can you give this game a 0? The speed at which you are able to perform the actions of a super spy is really what I was looking for in the previous games. It's not that those were bad games, It's just that I can finally now enter a room, assess the situation, and execute a plan on the first try, often by highly entertaining means. And the Co-op is great. Don't believe the haters. This game is AAA. Expand
  38. Coky14
    Apr 14, 2010
    9
    It's a shame some fanboys come here to give 0 or 3's... Splinter Cell reinvents stealth like never before. The game is beautifull and a blast to play. Saying it's too short is saying a lot because you never get enough of that great game. The replayabillity is high with all Deniable ops modes and all campain mission offer different paths and ways to get to your objective. It's a shame some fanboys come here to give 0 or 3's... Splinter Cell reinvents stealth like never before. The game is beautifull and a blast to play. Saying it's too short is saying a lot because you never get enough of that great game. The replayabillity is high with all Deniable ops modes and all campain mission offer different paths and ways to get to your objective. I'm a fan of the old Splinter Cells and I must say, playing the old games again a few days ago, made me very happy of the new Conviction reboot. Finally, the story is awesome and very well told. Also, the gameplay keeps changing, twists and turns make you think about the game differently as in a man chase or a third person shooting level. I really don't regret buying this game first day and encourage everyone to at least give it a shot. Expand
  39. FrankB.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game. Complete overhaul from the originals. The single player is amazingly encapsulating, albeit amazingly short. Graphics look stunning at times and just above average at others. Controls take getting used to, but the gameplay is very intuitive. Gone is the Splinter Cell where you are forced to pay attention to every little detail like hiding bodies, not making too much noise, Fantastic game. Complete overhaul from the originals. The single player is amazingly encapsulating, albeit amazingly short. Graphics look stunning at times and just above average at others. Controls take getting used to, but the gameplay is very intuitive. Gone is the Splinter Cell where you are forced to pay attention to every little detail like hiding bodies, not making too much noise, and closing doors or turning lights out. This is completely new. Sam no longer needs to worry about those things; instead he focuses on getting from point A to B and strategically killing anyone in his way, although sometimes utter stealth can get you through a level. Much better arsenal with customizable weapons, and I'm writing this review having played only the single player. This game is fantastic, and even as a hardcore Splinter Cell fan, this game takes the cake in terms of reflecting the spy/movie bad ass heroes like Bond and Bourne. Fisher's story is much more emotional, and by the end of the story you will have felt his anger, mourned with his despair, and exulted in his joy. Expand
  40. KeilyM.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    not really a SC but who cares? this is a solid game with solid graphics and solid gameplay. really enjoyed it.
  41. DanielL.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    The game is what you want it to be.... it can be as stealthy or as actiony as you want. Of course there are limits to how actiony you can be... a couple of shotgun shells will put you down on normal and one will terminate you on realistic.
  42. WilliamC.
    Apr 14, 2010
    9
    Don't listen to these people who bash this game... It is amazing, short single player, but amazing. When you add up the 5-6 hour Co-op story that is the PREQUEL to the 5-6 hour single player campaign, then take into account the various Co-op and multiplayer modes, the game is of a suitable length. There is plenty to do in SC:C, not to mention all of the DLC Ubisoft just announced Don't listen to these people who bash this game... It is amazing, short single player, but amazing. When you add up the 5-6 hour Co-op story that is the PREQUEL to the 5-6 hour single player campaign, then take into account the various Co-op and multiplayer modes, the game is of a suitable length. There is plenty to do in SC:C, not to mention all of the DLC Ubisoft just announced that will come out every Thursday for the high price of FREE! Splinter Cell just keeps getting better and better. Don't listen to these people who bash the game, I would bet they haven't even played it, if they had... See for yourself. Expand
  43. JoeD.
    Apr 14, 2010
    7
    This is not a Splinter Cell game in anyway shape or form except for the fact that it has Sam Fisher in it. The game is fun and entertaining but it just won't be what the true fans were looking for. I really hope Ubisoft goes back to the traditional SC formula next time around if there even is a next time.
  44. SamS.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    Once you get used to the new gameplay you will know that this is probably the best game in the series giving you the choice of going all stealth or a faster more action gameplay with amazing story and pretty good Graphics this game is just perfect.
  45. AlexS
    Apr 15, 2010
    7
    Change is good, but not in this case. From someone coming from the old Splinter Cells, I have to say this is a huge downgrade of the series. It's still a good game, but has been dumbed down to suite the casual gamers out there. The story is very short at 5 hours, but you have a co-op mode which takes about the same time so 10 hours total. It's unfortunate to see yet another Change is good, but not in this case. From someone coming from the old Splinter Cells, I have to say this is a huge downgrade of the series. It's still a good game, but has been dumbed down to suite the casual gamers out there. The story is very short at 5 hours, but you have a co-op mode which takes about the same time so 10 hours total. It's unfortunate to see yet another series go down hill like this. This game also has the worst graphics you will ever have seen in the last two years, coming from a big title. It uses Unreal 2 engine, which is just flat out not acceptable. I recomend renting this game, as it has no competitive multiplayer and is very short. Expand
  46. DonnieG
    Apr 17, 2010
    10
    I started this game on realistic and hardly used the autoaim feature called "marking" which for me put the campaign at around 8 hours play time -- more than enough time especially with the level of detail put into all of the environments. The combat system was challenging and realistic. And I found myself planning out attacks ahead of time. For example, there was always the option to rush I started this game on realistic and hardly used the autoaim feature called "marking" which for me put the campaign at around 8 hours play time -- more than enough time especially with the level of detail put into all of the environments. The combat system was challenging and realistic. And I found myself planning out attacks ahead of time. For example, there was always the option to rush in with automatic weapons, however, those that take their time to maneuver around the maps and use strategy will not disappointed. Expand
  47. DanC
    Apr 17, 2010
    7
    Compared to other splinter cell games this is NOT a stealth game and is far to easy I completed it on normal in around 5-7 hours. Firstly I have to mention the A.I as i feel its very good enemies will flank use grenades to flush you out and co-ordinate attacks in a realistic way the enemy A.I is mostly fantastic.. with one major flaw the last known position mechanic when enemies are Compared to other splinter cell games this is NOT a stealth game and is far to easy I completed it on normal in around 5-7 hours. Firstly I have to mention the A.I as i feel its very good enemies will flank use grenades to flush you out and co-ordinate attacks in a realistic way the enemy A.I is mostly fantastic.. with one major flaw the last known position mechanic when enemies are firing bullets and suppressing the area realising it may be an ambush spot fantastic and realistic but when one after the other runs into the same spot to be CQ killed its stupid and erratic did their IQ's drop? As for stealth I found you can definitly stealth through the levels its just the game makes it very difficult too basically making it more likely you end up in a gun fight, its usually much simpler to kill a roomful of enemies than sneak past them splinter cell gameplay this is not. It is however their people you just have to be careful. Also theirs only 2 sections where I have to beat security systems and even here its easy to avoid security cameras and lasers too easy. Also why am I not being punished for my mistakes if you slip up in splinter cell BAM your done doesnt feel like that this time. Now my biggest issue with the game where is the versus mode you know one of the most interesting and unique multiplayer gamemodes on the xbox's or PS's where is it gone? and why were we not informed of this major removal. Overall a fun and enjoyable game that can be played stealthily or action orientated however it tries and often succseeds in making you shoot your way through by placing enemies too copiously to avoid. What it lacks is old school SC gameplay and replayability this is one of those games you complete on the hardest difficulty then forget about, the shame is online could of remedied this. Good but disappointing also what exactly took them so long? Expand
  48. BrockP.
    Apr 22, 2010
    7
    This game falls short in almost every comparison a person can come up with when comparing to past titles. Lets start with gameplay. They added some nice new mechanics with the M&E, B&W, the more agile movement, and the stories presentation has even taken steps forward. This however does not make this the best splinter cell of all time. The linear level design completely hurts this title This game falls short in almost every comparison a person can come up with when comparing to past titles. Lets start with gameplay. They added some nice new mechanics with the M&E, B&W, the more agile movement, and the stories presentation has even taken steps forward. This however does not make this the best splinter cell of all time. The linear level design completely hurts this title and forces players to play as shooter first and stealth pretty much never. Losing the ability move bodies even though security measures and guards react to them was also a bad design choice. Others include losing the ability pick locks and hack computers, using security measures against the enemies, throwing objects to get someones attention, disabling lights without shooting and causing a huge amount of noise, picking up gadgets that weren't used. the list is forever long and I could keep going. The game is average at best when compared to any other game on the market especially when compared to the past games. Lets not forget all the problems and bugs that are all over the forum for missing achievements, corrupt saves, and bad collision and physics. Now lets try out the multiplayer and compare it to past titles. Wait a sec.. There is no multiplayer. What they have included is garbage whoever thought that taking the multiplayer game modes and making them single player and calling the deniable ops made a nice addition to a game is seriously mistaken. The multiplayer gametypes have no substance and are pretty much unplayable because of the connectivity problems. The only mode that is worth anything is co-op. Archer is the star of the show. His dialog is amazing and will easily be remembered for years to come. Even the co-op mode has problems with it's length, and connectivity issues. Lastly they took out Spy VS Merc Multiplayer. In conclusion, it is obvious this title didn't get the attention and time it needed to become the game of year title it should have been. The game took some steps forward but lost so much of what made the past games great that it is destined for the bargin bin. Top it off with bad quality all around and the game just doesn't hold up to a detailed eye. Overall Rating 7.5 Compare to: Modern Warfare 2 3rd person playlist I think the majority of us had high expectations because of the quality of the past titles. We were spoiled, the bar was set so high, and now we are dissapointed with the garbage we wasted $60 on. This title just doesn't meet the quality of the past titles. Expand
  49. MattM.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    AWESOME! Co-op rocks.
  50. MannyLivchak
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    This game is way better than some people said. The stealth is great, and a few minor flaws don't mean much.
  51. omi25p
    Apr 13, 2010
    9
    For a gaming franchise i have cherished since i was a child and enjoyed each type the stealth and planning that you had to do in the originals playing this even though i enjoyed this game i cant help but be disappointed with the little the game reminds me of the originals.
  52. JesseM.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    Before my review, I would like to first say that diehard fanboys/fangirls of the Splinter Cell series are most likely not going to like what they see in Conviction. The majority of the low user scores will be from these people. As for my review, I felt Conviction was a wonderful change of pace. By breaking away from the game so many know and cherish, Conviction has done more than exceed Before my review, I would like to first say that diehard fanboys/fangirls of the Splinter Cell series are most likely not going to like what they see in Conviction. The majority of the low user scores will be from these people. As for my review, I felt Conviction was a wonderful change of pace. By breaking away from the game so many know and cherish, Conviction has done more than exceed my expectations. The gameplay is engaging and not as tedious as past Splinter Cell titles. It stands to be my favorite of the series, with absolutely no disappointments. Expand
  53. JoN.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    It's not the same breed as previous splinter cell games but it rocks! Nice gameplay, nice AI, nice story! A lot of replay value even in single player campain if you really want to explore the stealth elements. And with the nice COOP addon, it's a must buy!
  54. DerekT.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    Absolutely incredible game! innovative and refreshing new features. well worth the time we had to wait, and an amazing addition to the series. buy it now if you're a splinter cell fan!
  55. SamsonD.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    Stealth? The only reason this game is not stealthy is because you apparently dont play the game like you should to be stealthy. You can run and gun use stealth or a wealth of things. This game is the best possible change to SC that could ever have happened. Amazing game.
  56. NormaT.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    One of the most original innovative games ive ever played.
  57. JohnK.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    First off my rating is a 9.5 so I rounded it to 10 I guess. I really enjoyed the last splinter cell games minus DA, and will miss many of their past features. Conviction is not perfect, but on the other hand is well worth the wait. The story and gameplay are very engaging from start to finish. The coop as well being very engaging, but focus 's more on teamwork and feels more true to First off my rating is a 9.5 so I rounded it to 10 I guess. I really enjoyed the last splinter cell games minus DA, and will miss many of their past features. Conviction is not perfect, but on the other hand is well worth the wait. The story and gameplay are very engaging from start to finish. The coop as well being very engaging, but focus 's more on teamwork and feels more true to the series. I think fans will enjoy it. I would love to see the next installment have some sort of competitive multiplayer. Expand
  58. LudoM.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    A really good game i enjoyed from the beginning to the end, a very well polished game with almost no flaws.
  59. AdamS.
    Apr 14, 2010
    8
    It is a fun romp that comes bundled with lots of co-op extras, which was the selling point for me. I've never been a HUGE Splinter Cell fan, but enjoyed my time in Double Agent, and gave this one a go as well.
  60. TrevorH.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    Amazing game! If you are rating this game below a 9 then you really should find another hobby or you had no business buying a game in the genre in the first place. This a gamers game...pure gaming goodness!
  61. IcecreamtreeJohnson
    Apr 14, 2010
    9
    Very enjoyable evolution of the game concept. Players are meant to play more aggressively than in previous SC titles. More adversarial multiplayer content (a la Chaos Theory) would have made this a ten.
  62. PhilO.
    Apr 14, 2010
    9
    This is one of my favorite video game franchise's and I have to say I am thoroughly impressed. I read many of the reviews before playing and the consensus is that it is a good game but short. After playing for about 4-5 hours last night, I was amazed. Yes they took out some of the things like hacking computers, lock picking, etc. but it seems as though it was intentional. The pace of This is one of my favorite video game franchise's and I have to say I am thoroughly impressed. I read many of the reviews before playing and the consensus is that it is a good game but short. After playing for about 4-5 hours last night, I was amazed. Yes they took out some of the things like hacking computers, lock picking, etc. but it seems as though it was intentional. The pace of the game is excellent, constantly keeping you engaged and on the edge of your seat. Animations are great and the cover system is exceptional. Minor issues like dumb guards (they say some random things sometimes) don't get in the way of my enjoyment of this game. This game is thrilling and although it might not be everyone's cup of tea, it is a must play. Expand
  63. kaim
    Apr 15, 2010
    7
    SC has taken a massive fae lift for this outing and i can't say its paid off. If SC wasn't one of the greatest stealth series ever, i would praise the action and high pace, but ubisoft have stripped SC for all that is good in it- the atmosphere, the visor mode and the story- and have replaced it with a Bourne Identity style plot, and a Matt Damon style lead character. Despite SC has taken a massive fae lift for this outing and i can't say its paid off. If SC wasn't one of the greatest stealth series ever, i would praise the action and high pace, but ubisoft have stripped SC for all that is good in it- the atmosphere, the visor mode and the story- and have replaced it with a Bourne Identity style plot, and a Matt Damon style lead character. Despite these flaws, I have to praise conviction for pure awesomeness in its multiplayer mode which is frankly genious in its gameplay. This game deserves an eight, but its heritage makes me give it a seven purely out of spite Expand
  64. Randyb
    Apr 15, 2010
    9
    great but not perfect, describes conviction the best. I found the story to be a little hard to follow and theres a issue thats never revolved involving a charater close to sam. The stealth on the other hand is amazing and the best stealth in any game. Mark and execute works greatly and the the set pieces blew me away(one involving a helicopter in particular). While not as good as the great but not perfect, describes conviction the best. I found the story to be a little hard to follow and theres a issue thats never revolved involving a charater close to sam. The stealth on the other hand is amazing and the best stealth in any game. Mark and execute works greatly and the the set pieces blew me away(one involving a helicopter in particular). While not as good as the first splinter cell this is def. the second best installment in the series and has the best coop in any stealth game that comes to mind. conviction isnt perfect but it is a helluva good time. Expand
  65. DynamicE
    Apr 15, 2010
    10
    Frankly I couldn't ask for more. While a substantial deviation from prior games it stands up well against the best of them. It is a faster, slicker game with some of the best co-op I have yet seen. I cannot recommend it more highly - a truly superb game.
  66. ThomasH
    Apr 16, 2010
    9
    Ubisoft have given Splinter Cell a new lease of life! Change is hard for some people, but Sam has taken it in his stride. A little short in the tooth on single player, but damn don't Archer and Kestrel make excellent candidates for an epic spin-off. Well worth investing in, but have an open mind it's not the old... it's the new.
  67. Sam
    Apr 17, 2010
    8
    Short campaign, but excellent gameplay mehanics such as the PEC challenges give you a lot of incentive to do something besides genera-action shooting (which seems to be what so many are complaining about. The campaign and multiplayer on realistic mode are a blast. Lack of replayability made me score it an 8.
  68. KillerToad12
    Apr 18, 2010
    9
    While I prefer the old-fashioned slow and tactical stealth games I actually still think Ubisoft did a great job on this one. Of course, I'm sad to see the game go in a more wide "consumer-direction" but while they took a very dangerous chance and changed the game so much they still managed to keep a lot of the things that I love about the games. I hope that Ubisoft will somehow bring While I prefer the old-fashioned slow and tactical stealth games I actually still think Ubisoft did a great job on this one. Of course, I'm sad to see the game go in a more wide "consumer-direction" but while they took a very dangerous chance and changed the game so much they still managed to keep a lot of the things that I love about the games. I hope that Ubisoft will somehow bring Sam Fisher back to his former self in later games, though they have certainly proven that they are also capable of this new "fast-stealth" genre. Expand
  69. TaylorM.
    Apr 19, 2010
    9
    I went into the game with bittersweet thoughts. As a long time vet of the series, I felt it was time for a change, but also as a vet I felt that change could go either way: bad or good. Thank the Gods and Goddesses, they went for the good change. For every 0 you see here, you see a 0 from someone who has not played this game or is bitter due to no SvM. Itâ??s an amazing game and I went into the game with bittersweet thoughts. As a long time vet of the series, I felt it was time for a change, but also as a vet I felt that change could go either way: bad or good. Thank the Gods and Goddesses, they went for the good change. For every 0 you see here, you see a 0 from someone who has not played this game or is bitter due to no SvM. Itâ??s an amazing game and keeps its SC essence despite the changes. There is no lack of stealth, so anyone saying that there isnâ??t any stealth has not played this game. There are even achievements and PEC challenges that award you for stealth play. Give the game a chance, you will see that itâ??s a lot better than some people are giving it credit for. Score the game on what it IS, not what you thought it should be. If you want a game to be JUST SO, make it yourself. Otherwise, score the game on what it tries to accomplish. This one succeeds in what it was going for. Expand
  70. VanceC.
    Apr 19, 2010
    9
    I canâ??t remember the last time I enjoyed an action game so much. Conviction features a rich story filled with espionage, action, stealth and an intensity rarely matched. Multiplayer is also rich, with a full co-op story mode that is a compliment to the single player story, plus a few other modes that can be played in co-op such as Hunter (kill all enemies) or Last Stand (defend an I canâ??t remember the last time I enjoyed an action game so much. Conviction features a rich story filled with espionage, action, stealth and an intensity rarely matched. Multiplayer is also rich, with a full co-op story mode that is a compliment to the single player story, plus a few other modes that can be played in co-op such as Hunter (kill all enemies) or Last Stand (defend an EMP generator from waves of enemies) and more. Multiplayer also has Face Off, which is player VS player with some enemy A.I. thrown in for spice. There is so much to do in this game both single and with friends, itâ??s a deep game that will stand the test of time. Expand
  71. ApocalypseBrown
    Apr 13, 2010
    8
    Solid game, good and welcomed change to the overly stealthy Splinter Cell of the past. However game get marks against for the pointless Iraq level, and the sub-standard length of six hours! And I must add those PS3 dick head fanboys please stick your heads in the oven or something, Uncharted is incomparable with this game so SHUT UP!
  72. MichaelJ.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    The game is simply fantastic. Anyone who rates it under 7 isn't being fair at all. They just want to take the contrarian view to be different and "cool" but they don't realize they are only being as cliche as anything else. The fact is this game delivers a fantastic experience, while maybe it doesn't break new ground, it does advance the franchise into a new and fresh The game is simply fantastic. Anyone who rates it under 7 isn't being fair at all. They just want to take the contrarian view to be different and "cool" but they don't realize they are only being as cliche as anything else. The fact is this game delivers a fantastic experience, while maybe it doesn't break new ground, it does advance the franchise into a new and fresh direction. Anyone who can't see that isnt' a fan of the stealth genre. It kills me when people take time to be so negative. If you are a fan of stealth action or any of the previous Splinter Cell franchises then you will absolutely LOVE this game. Sure there could be more ingenuity but at teh end of the day it's about the entertaiment value and this is one entertaining interactive experience! Expand
  73. BrianC.
    Apr 14, 2010
    9
    A great experience from beginning to end. Don't put alot of weight into other opinions concerning the length of the game while the single player is short played on "Normal" if you play this on "Realistic" (the way it should be played) it should take between 8-12 hours to complete, also there is a great co-op campaign which provides around 8-10 hours of game-play, and then there is a A great experience from beginning to end. Don't put alot of weight into other opinions concerning the length of the game while the single player is short played on "Normal" if you play this on "Realistic" (the way it should be played) it should take between 8-12 hours to complete, also there is a great co-op campaign which provides around 8-10 hours of game-play, and then there is a multilayer mode as well. A well rounded package in all. A must buy for fans of the genre. Expand
  74. JohnM.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    The game is the best game in the splinter cell series. The game is the next step for stealth action games. Where mgs4 went all movies, this game went all action. And I love it, it was time stealth action games got some updates. I just finished the story mode and will be doing allot of co-op with friends. This game is perfect for me and I will play it for the next months or so to perfect The game is the best game in the splinter cell series. The game is the next step for stealth action games. Where mgs4 went all movies, this game went all action. And I love it, it was time stealth action games got some updates. I just finished the story mode and will be doing allot of co-op with friends. This game is perfect for me and I will play it for the next months or so to perfect my sneaking skills :-) All people voted 0 are b*tthurt ps3 fanboys that cannot play this awesome game. Expand
  75. RahulG.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    This game is simply awesome. While some may complain about the new direction of the game, splinter cell needed to reach out to a bigger audience.
  76. Aaron
    Apr 14, 2010
    9
    This game is great. Granted I've only played the single player campaign. The story is intriguing and the gameplay is excellent. I have always been a fan of the stealth aspect of the Splinter Cell series but I agree with IGN in that the old gameplay was getting stale. This game changes that and gives SC new life.
  77. WillC
    Apr 15, 2010
    8
    Enjoyable game, the mechanics and co-op are outsanding. It's a short singleplayer but the co-op bring the hours put in up to par with the average game 15-20 hours. Not a fan of the Sam Fisher character but the story carried my interest for the full playtime. I'd suggest fans and non fans to rent this first as it's a radical depature from the previous Splinter Cell's.
  78. Miniiiii
    Apr 16, 2010
    10
    Awesome Game!, I'm a big fan of splinter cell since the first game (played and completed every one of them). All I can say is Ubisoft made a Big move changing the game formula, and it works, for the better now Sam feels like a hunter not a spy and it works as he isn't a spy any more. The only downside I can give this game is that the Reload button is located in the most idiotic Awesome Game!, I'm a big fan of splinter cell since the first game (played and completed every one of them). All I can say is Ubisoft made a Big move changing the game formula, and it works, for the better now Sam feels like a hunter not a spy and it works as he isn't a spy any more. The only downside I can give this game is that the Reload button is located in the most idiotic place ever, it's by pushing the Left stick. Overall I think it's a awesome game! Oh and I kind of miss dragging bodies too ='[ but I'm not too bothered. Expand
  79. JamesD
    Apr 17, 2010
    9
    Conviction might not be to everyone's taste, but I found the experience fairly addictive. The single player might be short but there is a lot to do afterwards. I do however feel Conviction leans too much towards shooting at times but stealth has never felt this refreshing.
  80. RyanF
    Apr 17, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome so what if its different wasnt that the point to give the games something new to expierence. This game is really good in fact you guys should go buy it right now if you dont have it. Screw anyone who doesn't like this game, its amazing.
  81. JamesT
    Apr 18, 2010
    9
    this games is extremely fun to play and offers varied play throughout the game. you can play like a stealthy ninja, wall climb like ezio, or just go with a straight out firefight. it is great. there are small glitches when an execute allows a player to shoot directly through a wall but nothing major. mark and execute and last known position are stunning new game mechanics that i hope to this games is extremely fun to play and offers varied play throughout the game. you can play like a stealthy ninja, wall climb like ezio, or just go with a straight out firefight. it is great. there are small glitches when an execute allows a player to shoot directly through a wall but nothing major. mark and execute and last known position are stunning new game mechanics that i hope to see repeated by other games. Splinter Cell: Conviction is a great game that is a great buy . Expand
  82. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    Splinter Cell Conviction is another amazing game in the series. The story is great and the gameplay is just awesome. Original fans of the series might be turned off by the lack of stealth options but you still CAN complete the game without becoming detected and become the Sam Fisher that you know and love. The multiplayer is good but not great and without Spies vs. Mercs, many fans willSplinter Cell Conviction is another amazing game in the series. The story is great and the gameplay is just awesome. Original fans of the series might be turned off by the lack of stealth options but you still CAN complete the game without becoming detected and become the Sam Fisher that you know and love. The multiplayer is good but not great and without Spies vs. Mercs, many fans will immediately turn this down. In reality, the multiplayer/co-op game types can offer hours and hours of replayability and some of the modes are really fun to enjoy over Xbox Live. Overall, I recommend this game to anyone a fan of the stealth genre and kicking ass. Expand
  83. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    This game does not deserve a bad rating. There are a few bad things wrong with this game, yes, but that doesn't make this game completely terrible.First off, The story is pretty short, but the challenge makes it a little longer the first few times you play it, the graphics are, pretty good most of the time, the sound isn't the best all the time, and there is a little delay on when theThis game does not deserve a bad rating. There are a few bad things wrong with this game, yes, but that doesn't make this game completely terrible.First off, The story is pretty short, but the challenge makes it a little longer the first few times you play it, the graphics are, pretty good most of the time, the sound isn't the best all the time, and there is a little delay on when the graphics are supposed to meet with the voices and sound effects, the the selection of weapons is really good, with the upgrades included, even better. This Splinter Cell is not like any other made before this. Sam Fisher is not like before. Not the ass- kicking part, I mean like, how he's pretty much retired, and how he's working for something much more important than his job. That being his daughter. Sam is pretty much the same in every other way, awesome ass- kicking moves, unthinking interrogation methods, and the same, pissed- off Sam he's always been. Expand
  84. Sep 6, 2010
    7
    I think the game was absolutely awesome! The graphics were excellent, the AI was quite challenging, and the story was also pretty good, although not that immersive.

    I loved the mark and execute mechanic, and the way the screen fades to black&white when you are invisible. Would have liked a little more freedom of movement throughout the levels, and more need for the use of gadgets would
    I think the game was absolutely awesome! The graphics were excellent, the AI was quite challenging, and the story was also pretty good, although not that immersive.

    I loved the mark and execute mechanic, and the way the screen fades to black&white when you are invisible.

    Would have liked a little more freedom of movement throughout the levels, and more need for the use of gadgets would have been nice.

    Overall it's a very good addition to the Splinter Cell series. Although Chaos Theory and Conviction are way better!
    Expand
  85. Aug 28, 2010
    9
    I personally have never been a big fan of Stealth games like Metal Gear Solid , Hitman and Splinter Cell etc .... until now that is ! Right of the bat I'll say I loved Splinter Cell Conviction , it takes everything about Stealth games and finally makes them accessible to everyone. I'm sure alot of c more »asual gamers have wanted to play games like this but have always beenI personally have never been a big fan of Stealth games like Metal Gear Solid , Hitman and Splinter Cell etc .... until now that is ! Right of the bat I'll say I loved Splinter Cell Conviction , it takes everything about Stealth games and finally makes them accessible to everyone. I'm sure alot of c more »asual gamers have wanted to play games like this but have always been put off by over complex controls and complexity. You dont have to hide bodies in this game and you can slip ito the shadows really easily , you can shoot out light bulbs to make the darkness you need , or you can go in more aggressively with this game , the controls are smooth and intuitive and the graphics and animations are superb. The main storyline is very standard revenge and betrayal stuff, but it holds the game together in a realy positive way, you actually feel satisfaction when you kill bad guys in this game .. just like the feeling you get in the movies ! The only downside is the length of the main campaign I finished it in about 8 or 9 hours although I'm already planning to play it again on different realistic mode to get some other Achieves. The game also has some great co-op modes such as the Story Co-op and Hunter and Last Stand modes, I hav'nt really played these modes properly yet and will edit my review accordingly when I do ....... " Play it again Sam ! " go out and sell both your grannies and get this game... Brilliant ! 9/10 Expand
  86. Sep 28, 2010
    7
    AHHH splinter cell i'm a sucker for stealth games and i've been playing this series since the first owned them all.i once completed the fist 2 games on hard in the same day without being seen ( yes....i'm a geek) (I've played this game for about 20 hours completed single player on realistic as well as co-op on realisitic) got around 600 gamerscore check gamertag Akiba22

    All in all i
    AHHH splinter cell i'm a sucker for stealth games and i've been playing this series since the first owned them all.i once completed the fist 2 games on hard in the same day without being seen ( yes....i'm a geek) (I've played this game for about 20 hours completed single player on realistic as well as co-op on realisitic) got around 600 gamerscore check gamertag Akiba22

    All in all i enjoyed this game its your typical tom clancy affair terroists/governmental or political corruption/nationwide invasion if its tom clancy its one of those storylines. But sam fishers trying to find who killed his daughter when a figure from his past calls him for help!?!?!?!?!?(Ooh spooky) The soundtracks pretty good which suprised me and the voice over acting is very well done even if sam is so gruff sometimes incoherent.

    Gameplay wise its completely changed from previous games which is good but i prefered the slow be aware of everything type of stealth. This ones very fast paced its about moving and quickly taking out targets and progressing while trying to complete challenges which give you points which you spend to upgrade equipment( which consists of killing people using the various gadgets weapons and takedowns) which they ask you to do too many times and becomes a bit tiresome especially as i really only used a silence pistol, headshots and takedowns to gain mark and executes. What are mark and executes be takingdown someone with your hands instead of shooting them you get marks by pressing RB to target multiple enemies and then press y to execute a maximum (depending on weapons and how much they've been upgraded) 4 targets. This is a good featurebbut you'll often find your self getting marks and then killing 4 guys, then it becomes a rinse and repeat style game.

    Multiplayer
    OH MY GOD DID THEY GET THIS WRONG double agent with spys vs guards had one of the most original and addictive game modes ever it had once game mode, 6 maps and i never got tired of it. But instead of that you get a very mediocre and short co-op campaign with a boring and practically non-exsistent plotline. you also get game modes like hunter(kill all guards on the map) infiltration(like hunter but you can't be seen at all) Face off(hunter but competing against someone) and Last stand(I HATE THIS GAME MODE, IT SHOULD BANNED ITS REALLY **** BORING). Bring back guards vs spies.
    Also i think on hunter you should get a ranking depending on how well you did. I like to know if i did absolutely terrible or stain your pants fantastic.

    I enjoyed this game the campaigns great and as i said i really like stealth games but its not the same splinter cell so don't go in there expecting that and its definetly worth picking up.
    Expand
  87. Nov 24, 2010
    8
    I blew through the single player, and found it to be fairly easy, but it was a lot of fun while I was going through it. Overall it was a good experience, the stealth missions played out very smoothly, I was impressed with the polish, not too much in the way of glitches.
  88. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    This is my first time playing a game in the Splinter Cell series, and my first time playing a stealth based game like this, and as a newcomer to both I can say that this game has made a fantastic first impression, the story is awesome and backed by phenomenal voice acting, the graphics are phenomenal, the game play and controls are tight and responsive, and it's just a lot of fun, it alsoThis is my first time playing a game in the Splinter Cell series, and my first time playing a stealth based game like this, and as a newcomer to both I can say that this game has made a fantastic first impression, the story is awesome and backed by phenomenal voice acting, the graphics are phenomenal, the game play and controls are tight and responsive, and it's just a lot of fun, it also has some multiplayer and co-op levels and they were fun, but the single player was my personal favorite part and is what will keep me coming back, so in closing as a newcomer to the series and genre I recommend it, it's the perfect jumping on point for newcomers, and I believe fans of the series will also love this, I mean why wouldn't they? it's so much fun, a truly fantastic game. Expand
  89. Mar 1, 2011
    9
    First of all, I just want to say this is not the Sam Fisher we've known for the past eight years. Since Fisher's last outing, a tragic turn of events turned Fisher's world upside down. Fisher is no more a government operative, he just wants to seek vengeance on those who wronged him, and by using any means necessary. Since the storyline has taken up a much darker tone, Fisher comes acrossFirst of all, I just want to say this is not the Sam Fisher we've known for the past eight years. Since Fisher's last outing, a tragic turn of events turned Fisher's world upside down. Fisher is no more a government operative, he just wants to seek vengeance on those who wronged him, and by using any means necessary. Since the storyline has taken up a much darker tone, Fisher comes across a killing machine. This is by no means a bad thing, hand-to-hand combat is much more brutal along with the new execution feature which allows you to take out multiple enemies at once, using bullet time. The cover system has also been revamped, this allows Fisher pop out of cover, shoot, and slide into cover again. Enemy AI is effective and will use the same tactics to take Fisher down, this will force the player to use some light tactical elements. In terms of visuals, the game is built on the Unreal Engine 3. The engine might be dated now, but it's looking prettier than ever. The graphics are incredible, with sharp visuals and excellent lighting effects.There is some slight slowdown, but that shouldn't deter the player from experience. If I have to gripe at this amazing title, it will be the length of the campaign. One should be able to complete the single-player campaign in about four hours. However, if you want to get your money's worth, I suggest you make some friends and find a buddy to take on the co-op campaign. This is not a mere add-on, the co-op campaign has the same, high quality production values as the single player component itself. Splinter Cell Conviction redefines the franchise by altering every aspect we've come to expect from the previous titles in the series. These changes are welcome and it's easy to immerse the player into the story and the revamped gameplay mechanic. It is a fantastic game, and is obviously one of the best action games of the year. However, the experience is over all to quickly. Expand
  90. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    First off, I want to say that I liked this game, and I have been a long time Splinter Cell fan. I would also say that I recommend this to any Splinter Cell fan, with a warning to go into it with an open mind. The mechanics and motions that they added to the game to speed it up were great and I had a lot of fun with them, however, in the process they almost totally destroyed any chance atFirst off, I want to say that I liked this game, and I have been a long time Splinter Cell fan. I would also say that I recommend this to any Splinter Cell fan, with a warning to go into it with an open mind. The mechanics and motions that they added to the game to speed it up were great and I had a lot of fun with them, however, in the process they almost totally destroyed any chance at stealth. In the old Splinter Cells I would attempt to beat levels without killing or knocking out people... this game is set up to make that Impossible. I am a little disappointed in that. Wasn't there a way to add the speed mechanics while still maintaining the ability to play stealth?? Deniable Ops. I keep playing through those again and again trying to take out the enemy with more stealth and efficiency each time. It is incredibly addictive. 8/10 because it is well worth playing, a lot of fun with a high replay value, however -2 for straying too far from the formula. Collapse
  91. Sep 23, 2011
    8
    Smooth gameplay, well implemented stealth action and a good storyline. Co-op adds replay value as does the list of challenges to be completed. The choice to use a more confrontational approach may upset purists but the game is still focused on silent combat. Voice acting is strong and enhances the power of the well told story.Conviction also boasts a visual flare not seen in itsSmooth gameplay, well implemented stealth action and a good storyline. Co-op adds replay value as does the list of challenges to be completed. The choice to use a more confrontational approach may upset purists but the game is still focused on silent combat. Voice acting is strong and enhances the power of the well told story.Conviction also boasts a visual flare not seen in its predecessors which is a great feature for the most part. Its only failing is the transition of the game to monochrome when Sam can't be seen. This is distracting, annoying and unnecessary. but not enough to stop this from being an essential purchase for stealth fans. Expand
  92. May 9, 2011
    9
    As a fan of the original Splinter Cells I don't think I was the only one who felt disappointed with Double Agent. A reboot or overhaul if you like was something that the series needed to breathe life back into the franchise. And Ubisoft apparently agreed as Splinter Cell: Conviction was all change for the series. The big question is would it pay-off? In one word; Yes! After trying out theAs a fan of the original Splinter Cells I don't think I was the only one who felt disappointed with Double Agent. A reboot or overhaul if you like was something that the series needed to breathe life back into the franchise. And Ubisoft apparently agreed as Splinter Cell: Conviction was all change for the series. The big question is would it pay-off? In one word; Yes! After trying out the demo at my cousins I immediately purchased the game and stole my brothers 360 to play the game and I wasn't left disappointed at all. The gameplay brings a fresh approach to SC. It will no doubt divide SC fans but I fully endorse Ubisoft's decision to bring a new feel to things and shake it up. You can take the stealth route (which is the best for me) or you can go all guns blazing, not all the time ofcourse and its not always wise as a few shots and Sam is down and out! The stealth approach allows you to plan to your method to take down an enemy and execute your move at the tap of a button. A new feature introduced is being almost invisible when you are in the dark areas e.g shadows and also when the lights are out. The storyline picks up with Sam in Malta before being contacted by a former colleague Grim who informs him a group of hitmen are on his tail, Sam ultimately kills them and is pointed in the direction of Kobin who is believed to have killed his daughter and warns Sam that her death was part of a bigger conspiracy and events unfold from there. At times the story drifts and is a bit all over the place at times and quite hard to get a grasp of especially if you are new to the SC games but it all manages to come together rather nicely with a few good twists and turns along the way. Visually its still typical Splinter Cell and there has been an improvement in that department with some great settings for missions. Their is now DLC available to further enhance your experience and also online multiplayer as well as co-op. Ive not played multiplayer reguarly to give a definitive view but from what I know it seems decent enough but leaves room for improvement. All in all Conviction is a welcome return to form for the SC franchise and the decision to reboot SC has proved to be a success based on the results and leaves it set up perfectly for further installments, all I would ask of Ubisoft, please don't make the next outing a 360 exclusive Expand
  93. Mar 31, 2011
    9
    I had Double Agent and sold it back almost immediately. I bought this used for $17 and I love it. This is a must buy, get it used at gamestop and you won't regret it. The only thing I don't like is the inability to remove weapon mods once they a purchased. The story is fun, coop is awesome, and weapon choices are great. I will probably buy the next installment new because if it's like thisI had Double Agent and sold it back almost immediately. I bought this used for $17 and I love it. This is a must buy, get it used at gamestop and you won't regret it. The only thing I don't like is the inability to remove weapon mods once they a purchased. The story is fun, coop is awesome, and weapon choices are great. I will probably buy the next installment new because if it's like this game it will be worth it. Expand
  94. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Conviction is overall a very good game. The stealth mechanics are top of the line and this is how the stealth genre should work, Fisher is easy to control and the story is top-of-the line. If the story were longer and if the AI wasn't so annoying talkative and for stealth there was a stealth meter because the blac-and-white concept caused some visual problems and if the story were a bitConviction is overall a very good game. The stealth mechanics are top of the line and this is how the stealth genre should work, Fisher is easy to control and the story is top-of-the line. If the story were longer and if the AI wasn't so annoying talkative and for stealth there was a stealth meter because the blac-and-white concept caused some visual problems and if the story were a bit longer. The multiplayer is also dissappointing but the co-op campaign is a nice addition that gives a break from story mode. Co-op is not as good as story mode but still pretty good. Overall Conviction is a good game that does not fail to entertain. It is a good way to continue the series. Expand
  95. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Mind blowing game.i loved this game so much the only problem with this game was a very short campaign,Gameplay was awesome.I hope that in next installment we will have a longer campaign than this game.But overall this game is mind blowing for 3rd person shooters.
  96. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    Conviction is the perfect balance between steath and shooting, now instead of hiding in the shadows you are attacking in the shadows conviction is no longer about calm infiltration now is fully action packed the story is great and answers many questions about the events of double agent while the campaing is about stalking enemies the deniable ops is more strategy focused, deniable ops is aConviction is the perfect balance between steath and shooting, now instead of hiding in the shadows you are attacking in the shadows conviction is no longer about calm infiltration now is fully action packed the story is great and answers many questions about the events of double agent while the campaing is about stalking enemies the deniable ops is more strategy focused, deniable ops is a challange game mode in wich you can kill all enemies, kill all enemies while avoiding detection and defending a base all this modes are pretty challenging in big maps. Theres also a co op campaing with its own strory line and is sweet. Higly recommended Expand
  97. Feb 20, 2012
    7
    Splinter Cell: Conviction was really fun over all. I liked the story and the gameplay alot. their were parts i was a little bored during but over all the game was good. their were NO glitches and the gameplay was very smooth. I really enjoyed it. It's worth the money and something you should try out. I give Splinter Cell: conviction a 7.7/10
  98. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Awsome game , Awsome graphics , Awsome meele , Awsome everithing , , I love how they searched every detail , Infortunaley it cant run with out lag in every pc, I dont have a pc Gamer so I need it to install Game Booster it help me a lot, but with out that its awsome , one of my best games 1710
  99. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    I was never a big fan of the other Splinter Cell games. Found them a bit clunky - all that split legged climbing up wall nonsense. Conviction was quite a bit different - and all the better for it. Some fan boys of the series might not like it but I did. This was one of my early purchases. The game was so good I played nothing but this - then on completion on medium skill, played it again on hard.
  100. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    In my opinion the best Splinter Cell so far. The graphic is excellent, the way the shadow effect are made, the way how Sam Fisher moves, the way how your objective appears lighted on wall, the after close-combat-take down gained system of Mark & Execute... On the other hand, the Splinter Cell series' fans might not like this absolutely new, bad ass, Sam Fisher. Also the game difficultyIn my opinion the best Splinter Cell so far. The graphic is excellent, the way the shadow effect are made, the way how Sam Fisher moves, the way how your objective appears lighted on wall, the after close-combat-take down gained system of Mark & Execute... On the other hand, the Splinter Cell series' fans might not like this absolutely new, bad ass, Sam Fisher. Also the game difficulty isn't too high, Conviction's REALISTIC difficulty is as hard as the original Splinter Cell's easy difficulty...

    The campaign is very well-done, the story is beyond amazing, maybe except flashback Iraq mission, which is totally different; it's more like third person shooter... The Interrogation system is also very nice, the way you can for example bake your prey's head in the oven...
    The multiplayer/CO-OP/Deniable Ops are also quiet interesting, CO-OP offers you another story, which works like the Pro-log to single-player. Multiplayer contains 3(4) different game types, Infiltration (which you have to download from the U-play store for price of 50 UP), Hunter, Face-off and Last Stand.

    I give Conviction rating 9; it has few mistakes, yes, but there's just a minimum of them.
    Expand
  101. Mar 24, 2011
    0
    First off, I want to say that I liked this game, and I have been a long time Splinter Cell fan. I would also say that I recommend this to any Splinter Cell fan, with a warning to go into it with an open mind. The mechanics and motions that they added to the game to speed it up were great and I had a lot of fun with them, however, in the process they almost totally destroyed any chance atFirst off, I want to say that I liked this game, and I have been a long time Splinter Cell fan. I would also say that I recommend this to any Splinter Cell fan, with a warning to go into it with an open mind. The mechanics and motions that they added to the game to speed it up were great and I had a lot of fun with them, however, in the process they almost totally destroyed any chance at stealth. In the old Splinter Cells I would attempt to beat levels without killing or knocking out people... this game is set up to make that Impossible. I am a little disappointed in that. Wasn't there a way to add the speed mechanics while still maintaining the ability to play stealth?? Deniable Ops. I keep playing through those again and again trying to take out the enemy with more stealth and efficiency each time. It is incredibly addictive. 8/10 because it is well worth playing, a lot of fun with a high replay value, however -2 for straying too far from the formula. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 90
  2. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. 93
    It was a huge risk deviating from the trial-and-error style that made the series famous, but it paid off. Splinter Cell Conviction is awesome.
  2. Splinter Cell: Conviction isn't the series' high point, but it does get the franchise back on track. [May 2010, p.89]
  3. Splinter Cell: Conviction is faster and more action oriented than previous games in the series. It's getting closer to a third person shooter, but Conviction has not lost its unique Fisheresque soul. This is great entertainment.