User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 201 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 201
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 1, 2016
    9
    I'm mind blown by the mixed rating score on this one. My first Tomb Raider was the reboot and I decided to try out the previous titles in the series to see what the fuss was about and I can honestly see why many people prefer the old style of TR games. This game makes the reboot look like a child's play when it comes to level design, exploration and rewarding game play. The levels are hugeI'm mind blown by the mixed rating score on this one. My first Tomb Raider was the reboot and I decided to try out the previous titles in the series to see what the fuss was about and I can honestly see why many people prefer the old style of TR games. This game makes the reboot look like a child's play when it comes to level design, exploration and rewarding game play. The levels are huge in this, and jam packed with secrets and puzzles. The game favors meaningful exploration where you keep delving deeper into a location to find a treasure. I had forgotten the joy of pure exploration in a game until I played this game. I want to see the next TR return to its roots as I now prefer this style of old TR over the current Uncharted clones. Expand
  2. May 19, 2013
    8
    Tomb Raider Underworld (TRU) is a very good game, though it is the weakest of the original Crystal Dynamics trilogy, The game is beautiful, every area is rich and detailed, The soundtrack is good, The story is really well written, Though it is disappointing that there is no boss fights. And the game is the buggiest in the Crystal Dynamics trilogy. TRU is a fantastic platformer, and ITomb Raider Underworld (TRU) is a very good game, though it is the weakest of the original Crystal Dynamics trilogy, The game is beautiful, every area is rich and detailed, The soundtrack is good, The story is really well written, Though it is disappointing that there is no boss fights. And the game is the buggiest in the Crystal Dynamics trilogy. TRU is a fantastic platformer, and I recommend it to fans of the genre. Expand
  3. Jan 4, 2016
    8
    When i first got the ps2 version i was expecting it to be the same experience as the other consoles but seen that it was awful in most ways and had to sell it.Now that i got the Xbox 360 version i was quite impressed how great it is,its thousand times better than the ps2 version,the levels are awesome to look at,especially the Thailand level whch is my favourite,love the water effects itWhen i first got the ps2 version i was expecting it to be the same experience as the other consoles but seen that it was awful in most ways and had to sell it.Now that i got the Xbox 360 version i was quite impressed how great it is,its thousand times better than the ps2 version,the levels are awesome to look at,especially the Thailand level whch is my favourite,love the water effects it looks so real,Lara also looks amazing as she moves more like a human,gameplay is good when it comes to exploration but the combat is the weakest one of the trilogy.It maybe not be as good as Legend or Anniversary when it comes to story and its so so combat but it is very entertaining with its exploration and the visuals are amazing. Expand
  4. thedude
    Jan 6, 2009
    8
    I'm surprised so many people aren't liking this game. There were some definite issues: for one, it is a bit surprisingly buggy. Lara would often get stuck when I'd be exploring the corners of levels. I never had to restart or anything, but I usually had to fidget with the buttons and try jumping in a couple directions to get her unstuck. Also, often in the game the ledge I'm surprised so many people aren't liking this game. There were some definite issues: for one, it is a bit surprisingly buggy. Lara would often get stuck when I'd be exploring the corners of levels. I never had to restart or anything, but I usually had to fidget with the buttons and try jumping in a couple directions to get her unstuck. Also, often in the game the ledge you needed to get to was impossible to see from the camera view. This seemed cheap, but at least it was consistent. Once I figured out that they were going to do that, I knew to consider that could be the case whenever I'd get stuck in a puzzle without a place to go. But, aside from those two issues, I really don't have any complaints. The story was good, the puzzles were challenging, but not too frustrating, and it wasn't as short as I expected considering all the talk that it is too brief(it took me 12-15 hours. I am a slower player, though, admittedly). I personally enjoyed Legend a bit more, but this one was very enjoyable. Not as much gratuitous fun and action as Legend, but great graphics, some solid puzzles, and a solid story made for another fun adventure with Lara. Expand
  5. EliseP
    Apr 5, 2009
    9
    I loved Underworld, the graphics were brilliant and lara had loads of new skills. The game was a bit boring one you'd finished it because you couldn't replay a level, you "Revisited location". There wasn't many extras and the extras you could have had to be unlocked by finding the hidden relic on each level, which in some cases, is rather hard to do. But Underworld is still I loved Underworld, the graphics were brilliant and lara had loads of new skills. The game was a bit boring one you'd finished it because you couldn't replay a level, you "Revisited location". There wasn't many extras and the extras you could have had to be unlocked by finding the hidden relic on each level, which in some cases, is rather hard to do. But Underworld is still exiting and interesting and finishes of Legend perfectly. If you've played TRL, (Tomb Raider Legend) then this is the game for you. Expand
  6. DavidD.
    May 10, 2009
    9
    Just finished Underworld and the two DLC for the 360. I have to tell ya, this was a whole lot of fun! I think they did a great job with this game! The only thing negative I have to say is that Lara was a little more difficult to control unlike Legend. But you get used to it pretty quick. The camera work is not as bad as people are making it to be. How many 3rd person games you know that Just finished Underworld and the two DLC for the 360. I have to tell ya, this was a whole lot of fun! I think they did a great job with this game! The only thing negative I have to say is that Lara was a little more difficult to control unlike Legend. But you get used to it pretty quick. The camera work is not as bad as people are making it to be. How many 3rd person games you know that the camera work is perfect? And i did not see that many cliches in the game. Maybe that is because I played it late and the downloads fixed many of the bugs. The many many pluses are all the different things she can do that she couldn't in Legend. And for people to say the graphics were bad, well, they are just crazy! The graphics were great!! I have to freaking idea what the hell they were looking at. My favorite is the story line carry over from Legend. I wish Hollywood would get writers to write stories half as good as people in the video game business. I couldn't wait to get from one cut scene to the next to see what would happen next!! The couple of twists and turns were just awesome! I think Eidos and Crystal Dynamics did a great job with these last couple of games and I hope they do more of the same. Expand
  7. DanGammel
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This game looked absolutely amazing from start to finish (especially Thailand, omg)! The final battle was really cool, too. I could have done without some of the cheesy monologues towards the end, but at least the storyline was interesting enough.
    I just wish we got to use Lara's new "Toy" more; it was wayyyy too much fun. :D
  8. LaurenW.
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    I really enjoyed my play through of Tomb Raider Underworld. The only thing stopping this title getting 10/10 was the fact it's short and the camera is still funny at times. Thought we still have download content coming for the 360 version :-) The environments were beautiful, Lara looks better than ever before and the game play was such a joy. A must have for Tomb Raider fans and an I really enjoyed my play through of Tomb Raider Underworld. The only thing stopping this title getting 10/10 was the fact it's short and the camera is still funny at times. Thought we still have download content coming for the 360 version :-) The environments were beautiful, Lara looks better than ever before and the game play was such a joy. A must have for Tomb Raider fans and an ideal start for those new to the franchise. Expand
  9. SamH
    Feb 15, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game. As with Legend and Anniversary, Underworld is full of refreshing, well-designed levels with a perfect balance of combat and puzzle solving. Gorgeous graphics frame a thorough and convincing story, and although the camera occassionally goes a bit haywire in confined areas, I still think Underworld is one of 2008's best games. I think it has become too popular to bash Fantastic game. As with Legend and Anniversary, Underworld is full of refreshing, well-designed levels with a perfect balance of combat and puzzle solving. Gorgeous graphics frame a thorough and convincing story, and although the camera occassionally goes a bit haywire in confined areas, I still think Underworld is one of 2008's best games. I think it has become too popular to bash Lara since her downfall in 2003 with Angel of Darkness, and this understated sequel from Crystal Dynamics certainly proves there's still plenty more life left in the series. Long live Lara! Expand
  10. BarryHawkey
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Have only tried the demo, but was blown away. Love me some Tomb Raider games, and the graphics, the minimal HUD elements, and the motion in this one blew me away. Lara has *weight* this time, as you throw her around. Most incredible looking game I've played since Mass Effect.
  11. ChrisD.
    Nov 28, 2008
    9
    The Tomb Raider series has gone through many changes, ups and downs and after playing through Tomb Raider: Underworld, I firmly believe the series is still on an upswing. The graphics, gameplay, story and sounds have continued to improve since Legend. I'll just cut to the chase and explain why it doesn't get a 10. As just about everyone has mentioned, the camera still has some The Tomb Raider series has gone through many changes, ups and downs and after playing through Tomb Raider: Underworld, I firmly believe the series is still on an upswing. The graphics, gameplay, story and sounds have continued to improve since Legend. I'll just cut to the chase and explain why it doesn't get a 10. As just about everyone has mentioned, the camera still has some issues. It felt like there weren't as many confining areas as in Anniversary where this really became an issue, but it's still a minor annoyance when you can't get the camera to do what you want in order to make a jump. At other times, the camera may suddenly move into a position you didn't ask for and might not want! Still, it's far from the worst ever and was only a slight annoyance on the harder levels. I've recently been playing Lego Batman and the camera in that game is FAR more terrible, in my opinion. Next, the glitches. During my playthrough I ran into a few graphical glitches, which are to be expected in most games, however, there was a point where Lara was completely invisible for the better part of a puzzle, which made jumps rather difficult! I just feel that shouldn't have slipped through the cracks and made it into the final release. So, those are really my only complaints about the game. I feel like it was a well-rounded adventure, which built in intensity and difficult without ever becoming obnoxiously difficult or insultingly easy. The customizable difficulty settings are an excellent balancing tool, as well, for those who seem to complain either way (it's too hard! it's too easy! wahhhh!!). One other thing I don't get is why other people seem to be making a big deal about the downloadable content. Even if those levels were originally going to go into the game, the fact of the matter is lots of games have features and levels that get cut. The difference would seem in this case that rather than wasting the stuff that didn't get into the game, the developers finished it up and will offer it for those who are interested. It's like the deleted scenes feature on the DVD release of a movie. You don't get to see those scenes when you see it in the theatre, but people don't complain about it not being a complete or finished story! And to the "reviewer" who gave it a 0 because of the marketing snafu, you're just as bad as they are. You're supposed to rate the game here, not the company. You said nothing about the game, probably because you didn't (and won't) even play it. Expand
  12. Dec 29, 2010
    8
    Decent game, and a decent Tomb Raider (unlike Legend, which was wayy too casual friendly and easy). Nice visuals, nice animations, solid gameplay some of the puzzles are evry creative and fun. The game was clearly rushed though, The level design is inconsistent, ie the Thailand stage is brilliant, but the one under Croft Manor is dull.. The Thor's hammer is a crappy gimmick and theyDecent game, and a decent Tomb Raider (unlike Legend, which was wayy too casual friendly and easy). Nice visuals, nice animations, solid gameplay some of the puzzles are evry creative and fun. The game was clearly rushed though, The level design is inconsistent, ie the Thailand stage is brilliant, but the one under Croft Manor is dull.. The Thor's hammer is a crappy gimmick and they should've not included it at all.. The boat level is pointless and lame. Altogether it could've been much much better.

    Do not listen to users deliberately giving TR low scores, and comparing it to Uncharted .. The games are really different,. Drake can't perform half of the acrobatics Lara can do in this one.. The puzzles are light years ahead, and the paltfromning is uncomparable, it's as deep as TR can be. Uncharted is practically on the rails compared to this. Don't compare a shooter with platforming elements to a platformer/puzzles game.

    Note to Eidos: please do not rush your games, Lara Croft alone won't be able to save the franchise, no matter how much of an icon she is.
    Expand
  13. wpx
    Apr 4, 2011
    10
    Puzzles are great only real problem is I hate scaling the poles and doing them over and over and over again. I know it requires skill but CMON ! I don't like to take 3 hours or more to get across a room. Do they test these games on people?
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Edge Magazine
    80
    While it’s occasionally fiddly, it has pace and spectacle and style to spare. Underworld is that rare game that manages to provide a real adventure to go along with its action. [Christmas 2008, p.95]
  2. One of the finest adventure games you're likely to find on the 360. [Issue#39]
  3. We really enjoyed our time with Miss Croft, but it is more of the same and 'dependable' isn't exciting enough. When you take a look at the gaming world around her, you wonder if it isn't time for another re-invention, not of the character, but her universe.