User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 955 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 955

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    Okay, this game is brutal, and when I say brutal, I mean really really brutal. Many props to a game that pulls no punches, and leaves the main character to die over and over again in a variety of cringe-worthy ways. A must-buy for Uncharted fans, or platforming fans. Minus a point for oddities like invisible enemies and little weirdnesses (how does she get back down from the top of the tower!?)
  2. Apr 7, 2014
    9
    This game is so great that a year after playing it a second time I had to write a review.

    Tomb Raider is a series I loved on my ps2, and as the series continued I became disapointed. The series needed a reboot, and Crystal Dynamics hit it out of the park. The series reboot is a joy to play, and left me excited for the future of the series again.

    The island and detail in the visuals
    is a joy to behold. It is rare for me to really enjoy visuals to the extent that I would take my time taking in the island, and surrounding nature to explore. Exploration is a blast, and the only complaint I would have is it needed more of it. Finding artifacts and exploration is so fun, and done well I wanted more of it. The tombs were a highlight, and something done so well I wanted more. This may sound like a negative and it may be slightly, but it is more telling how well it is done.

    The mechanics and controls is masterfully done. Climbing and shooting is pure joy, and done very well. The game allows for sneaking, or hunting depending on how you want to approach areas. The graphics, as mentioned, are fantastic. It is mature in content, especially if you end of dieing. I rather enjoyed the grittiness of the content, and is something I wanted to see from Tomb Raider since the beginning. The sound and island life is done well, and hunting is fun to do, but lacks depth. This is something that could be fleshed out more in the future, and expand on the need to hunt to survive.

    The game is a blast and is a title I believe you shouldn't miss.

    Fun Factor 9/10
    Control: 10/10
    Sound: 9/10
    Graphics: 10/10
    Note: Multiplayer is added and a nice feature, but it may not hold your attention beyond a dozen times.
    Expand
  3. May 1, 2013
    9
    i really wish they didn't objectify women so much in games (torrent "miss representation" film) but the game overall is really amazing. the story, gameplay, controls and character dev are all spot on, and so i've got to put my feminist politics aside.
  4. Apr 17, 2013
    9
    Tomb Raider is one of the more enjoyable experiences I've had in a long time on my Xbox 360. If you're on the fence about this one, buy it without any further hesitation. People frequently mention Uncharted when discussing Tomb Raider, but I think this game is better. It has beautiful graphics, fun gameplay, and interesting RPG elements that kept me interested in the game for 20+ hours.

    It is very clear that a lot of effort went into planning, designing and creating this game. I hope to see a sequel, because I'll be preordering it immediately.
    Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Having barely played Tomb Raider games in the past, I was very interested to see a reboot of the franchise that runs an origin story. This made it easy for me to decide to jump in and play an entire game to the end and see how it turned out. This Tomb Raider, which takes several cues from the best games of today, is absolutely fantastic. Easily one of the most cinematic titles I've ever played. The camera angles and treacherous environments all give a bit of a white-knuckle experience that I find more and more rare in games these days. I haven't embraced the multiplayer yet, but I bought this game for the story line and the single-player experience. I am very happy I did and look forward to what this franchise has to offer going forward. Expand
  6. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    Just an absolute amazing game! I was so fearful that this was going to be mediocre, but wow, I was wrong. This game was a joy to play! The story was awesome! The characters and the acting was just as good. Seeing Lara change as the game went along was brilliant. The graphics was great also. The adventure/puzzling was also very fun. The movement and combat was smooth and just so much fun to pull off. I actually really felt every kill. Add to it that you could do some great stealth and finishing moves, and it made killing baddies even that much sweeter! I am not really a multi player guy so I am just judging this game on the single player. I did play multi player a bit and it is fun but nothing too special. You could just tell the developers put a lot of time and love into a game that was not easy to make. They had to keep the Tomb Raider feel but change it enough to show everyone that the series is back. Well done guys. You guys deserve every penny of what you make! A salute to you guys!! Keep up the great work. Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. great job from the boys of crystal dinamics once again, totally worth the money!! One hell of a reboot, not like other games such as devil may cry or Resident evil Expand
  8. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    The game really very good, a great deal of time and effort has been spent in putting the story and plot into a ‘real’ world setting this game is unlike the other tomb raider games where the emphasis was on high level complex puzzle solving, Lara’s outfits and the size of her chest. This woman is someone entirely different; a ‘deeper’ person, young, very green and afraid but not naïve, weak or fragile. The graphics are smooth and fluid with not a load screen in sight, the visuals are very good and well polished with lots of nice scenery the audio keeps pace with the action. The controls scheme is natural and lets you make the most of each area without having to manhandle your controller as long as you pay attention and keep up with Lara, as direction changes rapidly and when you least expect it. The pace is quick most of the time and not forgiving if you get distracted off screen. The puzzle element is not as strong as previous games; it is more obvious and not nearly as complex. Character upgrading in the form of weapon and equipment upgrades is measured, evenly paced and eminently more enjoyable with stealth or shock and awe assault options in almost every situation dependant on playing style. The games storyline is in tune with earlier games, carrying the archaeological/ supernatural elements forward well and while not the obvious highlight it does make you curious as Lara self narrates as you ride on her shoulder. The developers have taken the best elements of several of the best games in this genre and blended them into this game to make it utterly an enthralling experience. That said the game is serious, and for more mature games, should Lara die or fall you see her expire in a very gruesome and confronting manner each time this game pulls no punches and is well worth the money. Expand
  9. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    One of the best games Ive ever played. In 2D it looks good. In 3D its an incredible experience. I never was a fan of Tomb Raider series. Played few of them, never was impressed. But this game is just on another level and can be easily compared to Uncharted 2 in quality. Yes, it is that good
  10. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider set out to be an origin story, to reboot the franchise and it has completed that goal above and beyond. As every origin story should it provides in amazing detail the changes of Lara Croft through her adventures. Tomb Raider appeals to everyone, fans of adventure games, fans of Lara Croft and fans of video games. This reboot is a must buy.
  11. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Intrépida, fuerte, audaz, inteligente, arriesgada, luchadora, rápida, cruel, ágil, imprudente, valiente, temible… es Lara Croft.

    Vuelve la mujer, con permiso de Jack y el de Nathan Drake, que creo el género que nos ocupa y el cual versión tras versión, pasando de manos en manos se fue desgastando, cayendo en un agujero y perdiendose en el olvido para pasar a tenerla en cuenta como el
    típico clásico del cual todos hablan pero que muchos nunca han visto.

    http://www.elgamer.es/tomb-raider-analisis/
    Expand
  12. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Redefining what's possible on XBOX360, this game shows off next-gen graphics with absolutely flawless gameplay. The story is gripping, told with excellent voice acting, supported by a moving score and in a fully immersive manner I've never seen transitions between gameplay and in-engine "cinematic" done quite this well. The level design is cohesive yet varied it's remarkable how none of the levels feel like your usual copy/paste or cliched video game tropes. The story and action flow with a nice, natural pace. Puzzle mechanics are tightly integrated into the game world, they don't feel pasted on in terms of physics. Fighting is brutal, realistic and satisfying. I am very impressed with the results of being able to die easily and how it increases identification with the character. Weapons are varied, with resulting gameplay differences and individual upgrade paths that actually make physical sense! Incredible consistency, again contributing to immersion. There are moments in the game where the graphics will take your breath away, and there are some deeply satisfying moments in storytelling. I'll add that even the UX is fantastically well integrated with easy to navigate but fully integrated panels all the way through, none of your typical "let's rip you out of immersion and into some old-fashioned flash UX". All in all, the perfect game. I'll add that if this game had been called "The adventures of young Mary Jane" with no reference to the TR franchise, it'd still have been perfect. Tying it into the Croft Universe promises many great sequels and enriches what is already a game without peer. Thank you to the team who made this you achieved perfection :D Expand
  13. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed playing this game. They did a most awesome job with the animation as Lara moves smoothly from shooting to melee combat, and traverses obstacles with ease and grace. Switching weapons is perhaps the best I've seen in any game nowadays. Graphics are great, voice acting superb and the storyline is engaging. Collecting salvage was actually enjoyable seeing how you are a survivor and everything you find is needed makes sense, not just senseless scavenger hunts that I detest in most games. The only problem I had was that the QTE was overplayed in some boss battles for dramatic effect instead of letting the player decide how to fight. Overall, bravo! I hope this series continues in the next-gen! Expand
  14. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Looks great, feels great, overall a wonderful game. Because, the secret to an exceptional yard is a capable lawn mower that lasts decades without any visible deterioration in performance or durability, and Crystal Dynamics have nailed it.
  15. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Lara is back and she is back better then ever before. Wait more so! This game has style, not just graphics, but in its environments, quests, movements and game play. I never been too much of a fan of quick time events, but this game shows how they can be done to perfection. Each one unique and placed in interesting a pivotal places. It really makes you feel move involved in Lara's actions and her struggle. I never yelled encouragement at my TV before but Lara has done that. Great voice acting and believable movements and actions make for a fantastic narrative and setting. The weapon upgrading system is clever and add more visual flare as you upgrade your bow, pistol, shotgun a rifle. The use of only four weapons should be a hindrance, but they are designed in a way that make you interact with the environment. A superb game which I cannot fault, I really cant think of anything I disliked or noticed as out of place. A must buy for gamer, not just a fan of the series, this game is something else! Expand
  16. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    So glad I bought this game, there's so much to explore and it really shows how the famous 'Lara Croft' came to be. There's total freedom in exploration (once you have the tools required, of course) and you can fast travel if need be back to previous locations. Different weapons that you can upgrade, tweak etc. Enemies seem 'smart', they'll duck for cover if you shoot at them, although sometimes they'll just go berserk and charge ya. The finishing moves are awesome, and there's surprisingly a lot of gore in the game too. Definite 10 from me. Expand
  17. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is an origin story, that tries to reboot the franchise. And does it very well. The graphics are gorgeous, and Lara's characterization is wonderful. The game play still is the best of the package. The platforming and the fights are very well done, and the story is ok, with maybe some confusion. There are lots of things to do after beating the game, from the standard items that don't serve any purpose to documents that have information about Lara, her companions and the enemies. Other things that you can encounter are the Tombs, that are a lot of fun, and some items, that tell you information about this island. It's very welcomed that you can go to every part of the island whenever you want by going to a camp fire, in order to not forget anything secret. Probably the best game of 2013 to come recently. Expand
  18. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Love it! Not a typical tomb raider game. This one is more like a reset that heads to a different direction, and it is very successful.

    I feel like it's influenced b the Uncharted series which is a good thing. Now TR finally has a great story combined with great game play. There is just something about watching LC cry and struggle through all the obstacles. I am getting addicted. The
    character development is really good in this game. You get to explore and grow with LC, watching her getting stronger and become the great explorer! Expand
  19. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    It's not very often that I would even consider giving a game a 10, but Tomb Raider earns it. Not only did Tomb Raider live up to my expectations, it exceeded them dramatically. This game has it all! Amazing graphics, great story, and fantastic gameplay. I often couldn't tell if I was watching a cut scene or playing the game! This is also one of the best Third Person Shooters I have ever played!
  20. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    This is huge. The graphics are stunning and the story just as great. Surviving, defeating enemies and collecting documents and improving weapons have never been more interesting! This is Lara's greatest adventure and the best Tomb Raider to date.
  21. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    So I have only ever played one TR game in the past... I can't even remember what it was. This game is amazing and is extremely polished. People are rating it low because it is "An Uncharted knock off." LOL I remember when Uncharted came out and they said that it was a Tomb Raider knock-off. People... It's a video game. Quit with the politics and just enjoy it. It's been a long time since a game this polished and fun came out. Expand
  22. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Gaming doesn't get much better than this. Awesome graphics, nice and interesting story and superb gameplay. The only thing I can complain about would be the lenght, but that's always the case with exceptional games they always tend to be too short.
  23. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Many people have dismissed this game saying it is nothing like classic Tomb Raider, well if you go back and play the original Playstation games you will see the gameplay is stiff and dated. What Crystal Dynamics have done with this reboot is bring the game and character of Lara Croft into the 21st century with style and gravitas. Lara is a much more believable character this time around, starting as a frightened castaway she grows and becomes a hardened survivor. The game play is solid and the shooting mechanics are some of if not the most enjoyable third person shooter controls I've played. It would have been nicer to have more Tombs to explore, but as a new starting point Crystal Dynamics have hit all the right notes. Definitely worth a purchase. Expand
  24. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is a standalone classic within itself. Fans of the series may find themselves feeling strange with the more action adventure oriented game play, which is done in a more conventional style similar to Farcry 3 (©2013, Ubisoft)- in fact, parallels can be made with the game play regarding the environment interactivity, such as hunting and the RPG system of gaining experience for kills, relevant storyline actions, hidden loot and relics, however; with a system of beneficial crates and extra missions that are enjoyable and worthwhile stashed throughout the island, players are given a heightened incentive to explore. In fact, an additional similarity with Farcry 3 can be drawn to the overall premise. Where the game shines is within its production values, overall fluidity of controls, as well as a solid plot and stellar voice actors. One more distinct aspect of game play that can also be said to have been done prior is from Hitman: Absolution (2013, Square Enix), in which a heightened awareness can be activated, however unlike in the aforementioned title and for the benefit of Tomb Raider, this device is implemented to effectively encourage exploration and attention to detail to the environment, as objects such as plants, animals and crates appear highlighted on the screen. There is an interesting amount of realism to the game and this is in concerns to the direct characterization of the protagonist and the potential enmeshment for the gamer, made all the more great by a strong hook and a very gritty unveiling of the creation of what is, for all intents and purposes, a strong-willed woman who is malleable and apt to adapt to survive. It is refreshing to find a game in a male dominated market that offers such, as most women in games are portrayed as timid or in need of protection. On this note it should be mentioned that some gamers may be turned off by the role, perhaps because of the novelty and difference, although if preconception and doubts can be set aside, the treasure is plentiful.

    The adventure itself is fresh, given a presentation that is surprisingly macabre- with the graphics having a very desaturated tone to them, highlighting shadows and using an all around dark pallet, these constituents create a dim mood, almost somber or melancholy. It is this, over and above all the ingredients above that make for a classic within the genre, in note as the most stellar entry in the series. Issues with the game that some players may find could be that of its linearity, although the game is neither dull nor repetitive, with the tasks at hand providing an interaction that makes the player not only want to focus but be drawn into the smooth surroundings by tight controls and realistic physics. In addition, reply value is somewhat questionable, although many games similar that are heavily focused on narrative and eventual development fit with tutorials may leave the gamer with little desire to replay the title immediately. Regardless, this game is a definitive must have, with everything so ideally polished and honed that Tomb Raider is hard to put down for any gamer who enjoys adventure, exploration, a firm plot, and action. Even if not to necessarily a game to be played within the years to come, without doubt it will stand the test of time and is a must have for fans to put on the shelf.

    Score 10/10
    Expand
  25. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall, I thought this was an excellent game. Lara purists may be disappointed with the new game, arguing that it is not really a Tomb Raider game any more. However, I really enjoyed the reimagining of Lara, particularly the storyline. OK, so Lara moves from frightened post-graduate to cold-blooded killer a bit too quickly but, hey, this is still a videogame, people! There will always be plot-holes as story needs to make way for gameplay occasionally! In fact, I would argue that Crystal Dynamics currently "do" survival horror a lot better than Capcom and their very average Resi 6. Can't say I was sh*tting my pants too many times with Redfield et al, but I certainly was with Lara. The sense of danger is something I have not experienced for a while, and the satisfaction of stealth kills and clearing an area silently takes me back to the Kojima glory days of the PS1/2. Well done to Rihanna Pratchett and the other contributors for a great storyline. A modern and thoughtful take on a heroine and origin story.

    I also liked the fact that there was a constant danger to your crew-mates. Moreover, we didn't get the stereotypical action-horror-movie ending where only Lara would survive a few crew members did survive with Lara. Where they didn't, the death scenes were often poignant and memorable. There seemed to be a reason for people to sacrifice themselves.

    Combat is smooth. Some of the weapons seem to have a sprinkler system fitted to the end of the barrel but I guess that is to be expected when you have a levelling-up system attributed to weapons skills. You're a bit crap. The weapons are a bit crap. Spray happens. Played in on Normal and there were a few bits where I was sweating but nowhere where I felt that I was getting frustrated. If I get spotted and then cornered/rushed then that was my own fault and probably quite realistic in terms of my chances of survival being slim.

    Collectibles are very addictive here. Some expand the storyline in interesting ways and I enjoyed finding them. Again, they never seemed to be in too-hard-to-reach areas as they have been in the past. e.g. an impossible jump leading to an invisible wall etc etc. That's the right level of challenge. The WWII stuff was particularly interesting.

    Which leads me to the island itself. Yes a star in itself. Beautiful scenery and some amazing set-pieces. The ship graveyard and the climb to the top of the radio tower are obvious highlights. But the level design is a triumph easy to navigate, interesting to explore, and with the added bonus of being able to return with more powerful tools to find new locations within previous maps. Really well done to the level designers the island felt real, tangible and a bit spooky.

    I quite liked the lack of supernatural enemies. It brought a "realness" and a grittiness to proceedings. Having to shoot a mummy with twin pistols can seem a bit far-fetched! The enemy AI was pretty good. The sub-bosses were interesting, challenging, without being frustrating. Mathias is a d*ck. 97% of people must have seen through his crap at the campfire with Sam we all knew he was a raging psycho from the moment we met him! Surely?

    Is the violence over the top? Not for me. I am an adult gamer in his 30s who started gaming waaaaay back in the early 80s. I've grown up. I now want to play adult games. I don't care for titillation (though I do play DOA games! lol) but I do care about imaginative, well-structured storylines and characters. And if that means that we go to uncomfortable places then so be it. It's a crime that videogames are censored, or banned, in certain countries and we should be grateful to the BBFC for allowing the majority of content to stand in the UK. Unfortunately, the majority of politicians have no clue about the demographics of those people that play videogames. If movies can explore difficult and challenging subjects then so should videogames. I was appalled at some of the violence, and THAT rape scene (which wasn't actually as bad as it was made out to be), and I should be. We need emotion in videogames. I'm a human being, fairly well-balanced I think, and this helps to tell a story and craft memorable characters. We need developers like Crystal Dynamics to promote this idea that videogames are adult entertainment. I just hope that parents didn't buy this game for their kids thinking that it was akin to the old Tomb Raider games. Then again, they were pretty brutal back in their day anyway. Lara the killer! It was just the lack of graphics that made it seem less than it was.

    To all those game developers who think that multiplayer is an important component of modern AAA games... IT IS NOT! Don't bother wasting time and resources crafting a MP addition to a game where it is unwarranted! You have wasted the time of obviously talented individuals and that time could have been better-spent on enriching the single-player experience or providing some decent DLC! [/rant] Thank you.
    Expand
  26. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    Fantastic combat and platforming, with an engaging origin story. The level design is well engineered, the audio glorious and the visual absolutely awe inspiring. The attention to detail, purposeful set pieces and admirable lack of loading-stops really pushes the game from platformer to blockbuster action adventure. Though a little light on the puzzle element, sporting a shallow upgrade system and a rather forgettable multiplayer, Tomb Raider is an exciting, emotional and atmospheric reboot to what was a slowly stagnating series. Expand
  27. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    Tomb Raider is an exciting, thrilling, and visually gorgeous action/adventure game starring Lara Croft. A girl who goes from being a struggling survivor of a boat crash to a hardened killer almost too quickly. After she is forced to kill someone she is shocked but next thing you know she is stealth killing like a trained assassin. The story is interesting even if some of the characters are two-dimensional and the journals found along the way add to the history and characters on the island. The gameplay is smooth and works just as well as Gears, Mass Effect or any other cover-based shooter. Overall, a really great game with few problems. Can't wait for a sequel! Expand
  28. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    This game blew my mind. The visuals are amazing with a beyond solid frame rate. The motion capture is some of the best that I have ever seen. Lara moves very realistic and fluid.

    With a solid story and a very moving cut scenes, this is a very hard game to put down.
  29. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    No game is created without flaws and Tomb Raider is definitely no exception. However, this is one of the best games I have played in a long time. It certainly loses the classic tomb raider feeling and values but everything else in the game certainly makes up for it. Creating a Tomb Raider game of a sandbox style game seemed to be a risky move but it certainly passes in all aspects. The game play is smooth. the story is solid, the scenery is amazing and the music fits in perfectly. Everything a game needs to excel. Now yes, I encountered a few glitches and bugs (some serious and some not so serious) but after 18 years of playing video games, I have come to expect this and I expect many other gamers have as well. These issues should not leave a negative feel. Every game has them. I can see a lot of people complaining about this cause the Tomb Raider series has a strong impact on the gaming world already and making this jump is certainly different. But times change and games change so all I say to these people is "Deal with it". My biggest problem in the game story is actually the final 4 words of the game. Too many games, movies and stories end the words "I'm not going home" and it gets a little annoying. With the multiplayer aspect, I can't really say much as I haven't played it much. But what I have played it appears to be well balanced, smooth flowing and contains well designed maps. All in all, Tomb Raider is an amazing game and and I certainly recommend anyone to pick it up and play through it. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  30. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Its the best tombraider ever and i played all of them. The scale and the graphics the momentum its comparable or sometimes better than uncharted 3. This easily fit in game of the year 2013 nominees. Play it on pc and you will be blowen away by the hair physics(TressFx) by amd and some dx11 top notch graphics although the game look exceptionally fantastic on ps3 and xbox 360.

    Its an epic
    10/10 game Expand
  31. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    The visual aspect of this game and most of Laura's motions are amazing. I agree with most of the good reviews about this game and a few aspects of the bad reviews.

    Strong Points: Amazing story, characters depths, scenery, general feeling, controls, puzzles (Actually speed, skill and timing to complete), Semi open world with backtrack after upgrades.
    Mediocre Points: Puzzles (Length and
    Difficulty), Close combat.

    Although I do believe that the game makers of this game is saving more challenging Tomb Puzzles and "game-play" as some bad review mentioned til later game when Laura has more experience and is looking for a challenge rather then trying to survive, which this game depicted very well.

    Overall a really good game worth playing.
    Expand
  32. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is outstanding. One of the greatest games I have played. It was a very memorable experience and I am looking forward to future Tomb Raider releases after this reboot.
  33. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Well thought out, fantastic combat (finally!), engaging story and a cool and interesting female lead character. This tomb raider delves further than any other tomb raider before it and I've played them all. Though I have a soft spot for tomb raider 2 and Legend, this really is better in every sense of the word. Gone are the glitches, the shoddy lock on combat and 2D Lara that there more for teen aged boys wet dream and than a character. The background characters are a little sketchy (excluding Roth), but they don't feature too heavily so it's a minor complaint. The only really negative thing about this game is the multiplayer, which although using the same system as the single player handles differently and seems very in favour of one team. U also die FAR too easily. It's really disappointing cause it could be good fun. Luckily the single player is so good, the game doesn't suffer. Expand
  34. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    Simply put: LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT....ALL OVER AGAIN!!! Like many who have reviewed here on MC, I have been a fan of Lara since the original Tomb Raider on the Playstation. Fast forward to Lara's last two romps (not including the DLC) on the Xbox 360 didn't really do much for me. I was nice to have Lara doing what Lara does best, shoot, run, jump, and solve puzzles, but it was lacking a soul, if that makes any sense...
    Enter the NEW Tomb Raider!! Right from the get-go, this game takes a gamble on a whole new "reboot" and isn't scared to put the emotion or SOUL as you will, back into Lara Croft we knew and loved. Seeing her younger is already refreshing. She naieve yet determined, scared, yet trying to survive every second of the game...Literally!! If you don't think Lara is a pure BADASS after playing this game, you need to get your head examined; I have never seen ANY character go through so much punishment in a game before and STILL, run, shoot, jump, and simply SURVIVE every situation she's in. I'm sorry Nathan Drake, you've just got pwned...by a girl!! BRAVO to you EIDOS!! Thank you for creating such a memorable, wonderful, heart pounding, emotional, and rewarding game that I have been waiting for such a long time out of Lara!! Long live Eidos! And long live Lara Croft!!!
    P.S. to Eidos: STOP TRYING TO BE LIKE UNCHARTED AND DITCH THE MULTIPLAYER!! ITS HORRIBLE!
    -Peace Out!
    Expand
  35. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Without EIDOS, Square Enix probably becomes a company that struggles to be relevant in the western world. Simply put, Tomb Raider is the best Tomb Raider since...the original Tomb Raider. A series that almost fell to obscurity, TR reinvigorates the franchise, so much so that it can stand shoulder to shoulder to another brilliant series that apes TR's original style to a hilt: the Uncharted series. TR's graphics is also a wonder to behold: using every tricks available to push this generation's systems to its fullest. Control is surprisingly great and Lara moves like a dream. Production values are great as well, with great voice acting on par with..the Uncharted series. While TR originates this style of adventuring, it took a lot of cues and improvements that Uncharted made in the past few years. The result: one of the best game of this generation. Expand
  36. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    Thrilling story from start to finish, very fluid controls, beautiful graphics, character models and environments are near flawless. Very convincing voice overs. Dark and gritty, some very graphic violence may turn some people off. Campaign is a little short. Otherwise, near perfect game.
  37. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    10/10: Excellent and fun game. No spoiler review: practically every element of this game is fun: exploring, the physics puzzles (and I usually dislike game puzzles), shooting, climbing, etc. If you like Uncharted but find it clunky you will love Tomb Raider because the gameplay is fun. The visuals and sound design are also excellent. There are many memorable moments of gameplay--the kind that make we want to replay a game every few years, like I do with the Mass Effect series. The only downsides: the story could have been better and some of the voice acting is flat (but they have few lines). Expand
  38. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    This game it's so epic, already had long time if I not played a game like this. One of the best games of this generation! And why not all times? Congratulations!
  39. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    If I were to expect anything better from this remake of an already good franchise, (from last-gen consoles anyway,) I'd be one greedy I kept in mind all my time I had put into the old games, how the controls would always seem to be clunky, but I mean, it was back in the day, when you couldn't really complain much, the only thing you could possibly complain about is the fact that you couldn't travel into the future to see where Lara Croft was going to end up! And so starting again with this game, it's absolutely phenomenal! I had one of the best gaming experiences with this campaign, the only other time I had this much fun was..well, my experience with playing Bioshock and Far Cry 3 combined. The story revolves around the dreaded Dragon's Triangle, a mysterious island with a legendary myth, they travel there by ship, and boom, not far after that, starts going down with just this giant storm coming out of nowhere. You start the game and already you can tell you feel like the damsel in distress, no joke, you could be one of the biggest security guards for a biker bar and you'd still feel like the damsel in distress, that's how hard it hits you in this game. The gameplay is awesome, the graphics are beautiful, almost would've loved to see how they would've looked on next-gen material, but wouldn't surprise me if they go somewhere else with this fresh start to a series. The sounds and FX all fit together and you actually grow with the characters and want to help them. You just see this helpless archeologist turn into an all out badass chick that takes situations into her own hands and saves the day..you know..not until she's taking a beating, of course. Deds to Crystal Dynamics and Square Enix, they deserve all the good ratings they receive and look forward to future endeavors with Lara. 10/10 Expand
  40. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This game contains a lot more action than the previous installments of the series. But at the same time it also contains a fantastic story with a very believable main character. It is not a story about another super hero fighting his way through countless enemies. Lara has feelings and opinions and they are portrayed in a believable way that even surpasses many movies. That surprising amount of depth makes this one of the rare games these days that take their adult players seriously. This game will certainly have to be a contestant for the game of the year awards. Expand
  41. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    I enjoyed this game immensely. From the story, to combat, to the environment and visuals, everything is excellent. There could have been a few more and tougher puzzles, but overall it's amazing. I thought Uncharted was really good, until I played this. Polished, fun, and I couldn't put it down.
  42. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    I went into this game not knowing what to expect. Tomb Raider game mechanics have been stale since the PS2 version. How refreshing this reboot is! It looks gorgeous (as does Lara) and plays equally as good! It doesn't hit the heights of the Uncharted series but comes close. Overall this is a great reboot and I look forward to Tomb Raider 2 on next gen.
  43. May 4, 2013
    9
    This game is fantastic, ive played the old tomb raiders before and they didnt really hook me, now Tomb Raider is more modern and it is sweet, alot of people are comparing this to Uncharted, but they are not really all that much alike. This game has a very unique story that isnt bad at all and will have you playing to see what happens next. This is a reboot of the series and the plot takes place as Laura Crofts first ever exbhibition, which is why at first she seems like a very broken women who cant handle herself.... well after about an hour into the game she is a killing machine capable of wiping out waves of dudes and becoming a serous threat to there plans. Gamplay is very good and is about the only thing that resembles Uncharted. Its a third person action game. There are alot of weapons to choose from but my favorite is the bow and arrow especially after you get the badass upgrade for it. And suprisingly its not a short game either there were a few times while i was playing it where i thought it was gonna end but it didnt, and there are alot of optional tombs for you to explore to get relics and extra xp, so replay value is present. As far as is the game worth the money or not... yes, yes it is. This game deserves all of the praise it has gotten and is a very worthy purchase. Expand
  44. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Intense Moments, The Great Combat and The Skills and Weapon upgrades are Truly Great. This is one of the most Promising Tomb Raider Game I have Ever Played/ Expand
  45. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    There's nothing else to say about this game. If you have a console go out and buy this.Uhmmm what else??? Well the weather is good...Playing videogames for hours makes me dizzy. Gonna go out and get some fresh air.
  46. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Everything you want in a gaming experience and more. The story, the character growth of Laura Croft, the exciting/gorgeous cinematic visuals that perfectly meld into the gameplay--it is fun, fun, and more fun-- don't miss this one!!
  47. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    I loved every second of this game. Its so refreshing to have a sequel that does not suck for a change. So many games so much hype. This one lives up to it
  48. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    Lara Croft has redeemed her name. I see great things in her future. Yes, there are some mostly painless QTEs, a few design quirks that break the immersion, as well as a clumsy multiplayer mode, but this truly is an adventure that is more than the sum of its parts.

    The environments draw you in, the sound design is mostly spot on, and the controls are tighter than they've ever been, minus
    a few rough edges. The mix of semi-open areas and scripted events works better than I'd hoped, but I would love to see Lara's next adventure shed even more of the linear trappings of yesteryear.

    As for Ms. Croft herself, her rebirth is one worth celebrating. Great voice work (for our heroine) and character development make her someone I want to care about, rather than just a vehicle for nerd wet dreams.

    It's a memorable adventure that sets the scene for more things to come. Play it. As long as you aren't overly jaded over our girl's past, you'll love it.
    Expand
  49. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Lara Croft's third reinvention (Legend was her second) tells once again a tale of Lara's past (The Last Revelation and Legend did so too), but this time Lara goes down a different route, and like James Bond in Casino Royale, we have something that's gritty, and ironically expected in today's modern trends, yet manages to pack a punch, and overcome her rivals. Of the presentation in the game, the biggest shock is the graphics engine that drives it; a true tell of how stunning this game is, is how most of the cutscenes in the game use the same engine, and the transition is often seamless (there are cutscenes away from the engine, but its for good reason) the game just looks gorgeous, and even if there are moments of slight framerate loss, they're few. The sound is predominantly located to effects (with arrangements occurring during key moments), but the effect is somewhat otherworldly, and it adds tremendously to the action and tension present. The gameplay is mainly third-person platform action with elements of combat infused heavily, and a lot of action moments where you're forced to use your reflexes or die rather fast. However, the stats-heavy implementation towards Lara, combined with the almost MetroidVania aspect of developing skills and finding new areas, is a genius touch Tomb Raider may not appear to be the biggest game ever (I'll come back to that!!), but the sheer amount of involvement in the various tasks adds considerably. Back to the length of the game (its very short), I consider this game along the lines of another favourite of mine, namely Vanquish by Sega and Platinum, in that it may have a short campaign, but the campaign is so packed with great moments, you will come back again, and the quality will just keep you coming!! Square Enix have taken a great deal of care with Hitman in Absolution late last year, and now they give us nothing less than brilliance with this. Tomb Raider is the best movie you'll see and play all year, and although it may not last long, it more than deserves to outstay its welcome. Nathan Drake no longer has the advantage, in my view Lara has regained the crown. Expand
  50. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    I have to update my review because I played the multiplayer portion of the game. It is bad, so bad. Garbage all the way. I know the only reason for adding a multiplayer is money. Online passes, map packs, outfits all equal profits. In this case it was a mistake to green light that crap. Once game makers start making great stand alone single player games and realize that multiplayer is not a cash cow necessity, then you will earn respect and maybe more profits. Expand
  51. May 3, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is one of the best games I've ever played. I loved it. I'm going to be very sad once I've completed this game. I can't see me finding another game I'll enjoy as much for a long time.

    9.5 10

    5 Stars

    Excellent
  52. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    I wasn't getting my hopes up with this game,but to my amazement the game is simply brilliant. I haven't had so much fun with an adventure game since Uncharted 3! The graphics are polished, especially the pc version. There are loads of white knuckle moments, which makes me kill Lara on purpose just to replay them over and over. So far the best game this year for me.
  53. May 13, 2013
    9
    Simply an excellent game. I spent two days off of work and finished the whole game because I couldn't stop going. The combat really shines as the game goes on, the visuals were beautiful, and the story was enough to keep you interested. Its games like these that should be the foundation for the next generation. Well done.
  54. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    This is the first tomb raider game I have played and I made a great choice to play this one first. Firstly I usually play the first games in the series then work my way up to the most recent ones but as this is a prequel and a re-boot to the franchise I thought I wouldn't miss anything. The game is the most mature of the series as it is rated 18 and it has a serious and dark story which is equally engaging as it is great. The plot is Lara and the crew of the Endurance get shipwrecked on the island, know they want to escape but, as Lara soon finds out, there is something on the island that keeps them from leaving. Know this game has some fantasy elements which is a throwback to the old tomb raider games which fans of the series would love. The characters are good and have good voice actors/actresses, especially Lara, and the platforming is one of the best I have played. There are a lot of unlucky moments which happen to Lara and are very exciting to the player, which is fun to play. The graphics are good and up to date too if you are a visual gamer. Bottom line the gameplay is amazing, the voice acting and sound is great and the story is engaging and fun, I would recommend this to the fans and even anyone who hasn't played another tomb raider game, like me. I will be buying future tomb raider games and maybe go on amazon and buy some of the old ones too. 10/10 (btw Lara doesn't have gigantic boobs in this game so don't be disappointed by that) Expand
  55. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    One of the highest productuion values on consoles, very well directed with stunning visuals and sound. There's no loading time in-game. Gameplay is very tight and a nice departure from previous titles on the franchise. The game is brutal, and when they say "tomb" they really mean it. Some locations could be on Morbid Angel or Cannibal Corpse's sleeve covers, and that's not exactly positive. The game can be disturbing at times, and the over abundance of enemies, altought commom place on the industry, seems like missed a oportunity for a more stealthy, strategic combat. Even so, a perfect exemple of how advanced videogames have become and systetises what this whole generation of gaming has been. Expand
  56. JEK
    Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This game is great. Good graphics, nice story and gameplay. Lara Croft is vulnerable on this game (unlike from its predecessors). Great narrative. Buy IT!
  57. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    This game has lived up to the billing it was given at E3 last year. I had played the Uncharted series before, and as an Xbox owner, the Uncharted series were the only reason I was a little bit jealous of what the Ps3 library had. That is most certainly no longer the case. The Uncharted series has been one upped in so many ways by this game. Graphically, story wise, controls, puzzles, characters, collectibles, scenery, controls, gunplay...........just plain better in all ways that I can think of. The multiplayer is a throw in and brings a a minor amount of amusement, but probably only for the achievements. Otherwise, this reboot of a franchise I had not been interested in since my PC days back in the 90's is amazingly great. No complaints outside of a dull multiplayer experience, which, no one I know would be buying this game for that type of experience anyway. Expand
  58. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Probably one of the best value games for 2013. Crystal Dynamics have put a lot of time into this game and used the map beautifully. Great graphics and motion, the mechanics really work. Likely one of the games you will need to spend a lot of time completing but don't let that put you off. The puzzles in the game can make you have some weird dreams if played for 12+ hours as I found out. Your mind just won't shut down. It's just class though! Expand
  59. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Everything I wanted and expected from this game !PERFECT
    Story and characters are a bit out of place to the gameplay,but which game story isn't?Either way it's well written one.Great visuals,soundtrack and gameplay.Go BUY!
  60. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Every action fan has their favorites, among games some that hit chord with that thought include Batman: Arkham City, the Uncharted games, and maybe a tint of Far Cry as well. The thing with Tomb Raider is that it's like a hot fudge Sunday of all of those games, but still gets it own identity. The atmosphere is nailed, it's dark, even the lighter parts aren't too uplifting. We're in a realistic world with realistic physics and survival is key. The lighting is tremendous and only attributes to that atmosphere. The world is massive and abundant in resources, initially overwhelming but as the game goes on it's something you want to explore as you get new gear. Lara is a riveting character and as the game progresses you get to see every side of her from her first kill, making difficult decisions, killing animals for her survival, with a gain of remorse, and so many others. Gameplay is tight and responsive, nothing revolutionary for an action game but it has familiarity to it and style. The story is decent, you get engaged enough into the game to want to know what's coming next. Unfortunately the multiplayer, while decent, feels very tacked on. Stick to the single player mode, that's where the meat of the game is. Again everything in the game feels fantastic and I love to play it, it's not revolutionary. There's something to the game where even if you're not bewildered by everything, you're glued to the screen still wanting to continue though and that's what makes this game shine. Expand
  61. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    A great reboot of the game making Lara grounded and more of a person than a symbol. Gear and skills are good but I wish they add more. The cinematics here are super high quality like from an action move
  62. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Brilliant game, wonderful graphics, sound and detail. The remaking of Lara Croft is handled extremely well. It borrows from Uncharted, just like Uncharted took and ran with the original Tomb Raider. If you like a good story, quite a bit of exploration, with a dab of puzzling and action, this is a game for you. Welcome back Lara.
  63. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    This game is frankly amazing. Don't even bother with Uncharted. This game is Uncharted with a fresh new take. I was skeptical at first but found out how much I loved it within the first couple hours. Finally a reboot done right.
  64. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    I rented this game off of redbox so i could test the waters. The Tomb Raider franchise is such a mixed bag I felt it prudent to test drive this before buying. I picked this up a week and couldn't bear to bring it back because it was so good. The Controls are so tight and intuitive I had no trouble mastering all Lara's cool abilities. The RPG style abilities and weapon upgrades are a welcome addition to this game. Just and FYI the the dodge+attack finish move while using the bow is awesome. The Map design is clever and the graphics are as good as they get. The game itself felt a bit short if your paying 60 dollars retail for this so I will wait for a game+dlc bundle if I was going to purchase. I played one Multiplayer game team deatchmatch and wasn't really impressed by it. Multiplayer really didn't matter to much to me personally because I wanted this game for the single player campaign only. The story and characters were entertaining and definitely added something positiive to the experience. Overall I give this game a 9/10 as everything was great with the exception of the blah multiplayer and length of campaign(even counting my time spent fetching optional items). Anyone getting this game will not be disappointed Expand
  65. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Extremely well done game, polished with superb visual side. This one is a mix of Far Cry 3 Uncharted with some RE4 feeling. Controlling Lara's movement while running through wilderness, caves, tombs, climbing and jumping is very natural and feels even more smoothly than in ACIII, where I have found some glitches/errors from time to time. Tomb Rider is a great action game with some survival feeling and exploration. The switch from lock on shooting type to the new TPS style system works really well, each encounter with your foes is very brutal and engaging. Absolutely love the graphics the landscapes are amazing, with stunning visuals mountains, watefalls, rivers, caves and villages. With each new location you want to stop and just look around and admire the views. This game will keep you all the time at the edge of your seat, pushing you to play for hrs and just looking forward to see what will happen next. my score is 10/10 Expand
  66. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    The best game of the series in years. The game is beautiful, and has excellent gameplay really memorable moments. Without doubt the franchise should follow that style in the next games.
  67. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is a brilliantly crafted action/adventure game. Offering a directed experience, Tomb Raider is very cinematic, but it also features large environments within that allow you to explore, collect things, unlock pathways to new areas, etc. in the vein of the Metroidvania games. This is a very polished and beautiful game that deserves your attention. My one complaint are some annoying quick-time events. Expand
  68. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    A popular trend in the media right now is taking old franchises and either give them a reboot or remake. Now some of these are well done, but others fall flat. I can say with certainty that not only does Tomb Raider fall into the former category, but it is one of the best games I have played so far in 2013. When I first played the original Tomb Raider at my cousin’s house in 1996, I was introduced to Lara Croft and really enjoyed it in more ways than one. Then she was a buxom superstar who was an expert in her field, basically a female Indiana Jones. However over time, she became less and less popular and her games were just not the same. So like all things that were once popular, she called for a reboot and not just any kind of reboot, a gritty reboot. People now more than ever don’t want superstar heroes, they want a hero who has to face an overwhelming amount of odds. Gritty Reboots are the most popular form of reboots, just look at how many movies and games have been receiving the gritty reboot recently, examples include DmC, The Amazing Spider-Man, and even the upcoming Man of Steel. The new Tomb Raider does go full on gritty, but it does so in an amazing fashion.

    The Tomb Raider stars a young Lara Croft who is part of an expedition to search for the lost civilization of Yamatai. However things go wrong as a storm causes their boat to sink and strand Lara and her group on a mysterious island that holds many secrets. Lara is quickly captured by a mysterious man as she approached her fellow survivors. She then wakes up in some sort of ritual chamber, suspended upside down next to a few skeletons. She is able to escape and soon she is forced to make her way through the island both discovering its secrets and also trying to find a way save her fellow expedition mates and get off the island. Oh boy does Lara suffer, in this game. Throughout the game she receives her fair share of scrapes and bruises. The player roots for Lara, as she is just an ordinary woman thrust into extraordinary circumstances. As she learns to adapt an survive, she grows from this naive reluctant woman, into this badass heroine who kicks all kinds of ass. Not only is the story of this Lara amazing, the character development in this game is amazing as well.

    While the story and character development are well done, so is the gameplay. The controls for this game are simple and intuitive. One of the flaws of the original games was that the controls were quite clunky and multiple times I would find myself fighting the camera angles. Not once in this rendition of Tomb Raider did I find myself fighting with the camera, as it oriented itself quite well as I ran through the various platform sections. Oh boy did I love the platforming in this game. Most of the sections are well done and surprisingly on the more cinematic sections, I wouldn’t even realize I should be moving as I thought it was all part of a cutscene. I liked the good mix of omg I’m running for my life and ok where do I go next. Another well done aspect of this game is the combat system. Being an archer myself it is cool to see Lara trade in her former trademark pistols for a bow and arrow. Lara in this game fights her various enemies, be they man, wild, or other, with a bow, pistol, shotgun, machine gun or ice axe. The different environments and amazingly well done cover system lend to many dynamic fights.

    Let me tell you about the amazing visuals! Man oh man, were they breathtaking. I was playing on the 360, but I could only imagine them being absolutely stunning on the PC. The environments this game presents are simply jaw dropping. The grand shots establish a sense of grandeur about the island and the small up close shots convey a sense of claustrophobia as Lara struggles to get through the nooks and crannies of a dark dank cavern. As stated earlier the tombs were some of the best parts of this game. Not only was i excited to solve the mysterious of each one, but I was also excited by the prospects of what they would look like. Not once in this game was I disappointed in the visuals and was always excited to see the new environments.

    Overall I recommend this game for any fan of a good adventure game. After this massive success, I look forward to this new Lara and her upcoming adventures.
    Expand
  69. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Although I have yet to complete the game (approximately 60%), I have to say I look forward to jumping back into it each time I get home from work. The game is beautiful, the shooting feels right and the story is quite entertaining. However, I'm even more entertained by the scoring results. At the time of this review there are 296 positive results and 30 negative results. I tend to liken this to light bulb reviews; if 99 out of 100 folks say their light bulb is nice and bright, but 1 of them trashes it, guess which one was unable to figure out how to work the light bulb? It would make more sense if the votes were half and half but when just about all the grown-ups enjoy the game, I would say it's a success. Expand
  70. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    One of the most beautiful games i' ve ever seen. Beautiful graphics pc quality even on consoles, incredible animation and camera. My god this games is crazy and awesome. You have to play it in order to truly understand it's majesty. Must buy no matter what version. Incredible game!!!!
  71. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Adventure, action, history... Good game...................................................................................................................
  72. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Chapeau! This is a truly amazing game..i'm stunned about the graphics, didnt expect anything like it on my old 360. i would also like to mention that the fighting mechanics which were always weak in the other tr games are pretty good now and certainly better than uncharted which is mentioned often in comparison. so thank you crystal dynamics for this ride and for the effort. the attention to detail in every location is really appreciated. Expand
  73. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite games of this year so far. It is amazing the work Crystal Dynamics has put into this titles. A perfect example that installed franchises can still offer creativity when developed properly. The game is smooth and responsive, impressive and innovative. Action packed during the full campaign and the plot is reasonably well driven. Nathan Drake now has a serious competitor in the action/adventure playground; I mean this is like a dream made true for all of us hardcore fans of the series. Recommended with no doubts, totally worth the money. Expand
  74. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    I hate to compare this to uncharted, but it is all most impossible, but this should be seen as a complement. This game does every Uncharted does, and in my opinion much better. The story is great, and it had me interested from beginning to end, Lara is played brilliantly well, even if her transition from average girl to full blown badass is jarring. It plays great, the combat, to my surprise is very enjoyable. The cover system is one of the best I have seen, it's seamless and never slows down the action, the guns and bow feel great. The platforming is simple, and not to challenging, but none the less it's still fun and make for some really great cinematic moments. The game defiantly is not as puzzle heavy as the previous game, but there are puzzles, and they are fun.
    The game looks fantastic, full of colour, varied environments and never noticed texture pop in, frame rate slows down sometime but never enough to ruin the experience.
    The game does have multiplayer, to be honest it's pretty standard stuff, it's not bad by any means, but I just don't see it lasting. Overall a very enjoyable experience, a successful reboot, have high hopes of what could come. 8.5
    Expand
  75. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    I bought this game (along with DIshonored, Far Cry 3, Halo 4, Bioshock Infinite, Call do Duty Black Ops 2, Call of Juarez Ginslinger, Tom Clancy Future soldier, and Medal of Honor Warfighter, along with a few others). I like Tomb Raider (so far) for what it is versus anything others think it should be. Tomb Raider is like Far Cry 3 but a little more puzzle-based (especially figuring out the right combo of buttons, stick movement), easier to kill foes, and a more linear based story. I dislike Halo 4 other than the breathtaking graphics. I play Black Ops 2, future soldier and gunslinger when I'm in a shooter mood with a little variety. But those times when I want a game similar to those games, but with more puzzle solving and less shooting and something more "simple", linear, Tomb Raider definitely solves the craving. It's a game that can leave you stuck on a section until you can get down the correct timing of pushing buttons on the remote versus stuck because of any strategic difficulty or killing of foe. i like this. All the games I've mentioned are worthy games I will never regret buying. Tomb Raider though is the one Game i play when it fits the right craving. I like the simple upgrading, the camp ground as the "shop" to do everything, the fire/torch to add a new twist, the ability to skip long sequences (although skipping them can leave a bit of initial confusion on what to do). There were a few frustrating times when the game didn't respond to the joystick movement which meant replaying a short (thankfully not long) kill sequence but this is really minor for a well done game which has kept me busy for several days already. I initially thought it might be a great game for my 10 year old niece but the deer hunting/gutting were a small, small amount of upsetting for a 10 year old (she likes fable 3). This game is fun and it's a game I enjoy playing for a few hours before switching to another. The graphics were slightly less sharp than I wish (I really like Far Cry 3). Since both games have a very, very high radio tower to climb, you can see the difference when climbing to the top (Far Cry 3 will leave you breathless). For the $30 I payed for Tomb Raider on demand, it was definitely worth the money for the entertainment so far even if the story does drag on a bit and there are some lengthy cut-scenes. Still, it's like watching a descent adventure movie where I get to make a difference and solve some puzzles along the way that are not so horribly difficult that I can't come back to the game and eventually figure them out (unlike Metro 2033 and some other games where I get frustrated enough to put the game on the shelf until I have time to google how to solve the part I'm stuck on). Tomb Raider did a really nice job of taking an old, worn character and give her new life with a now 3rd person enjoyable game that makes you feel things that you should feel when playing this kind of game (i really dislike the older tomb raider style games). Like Far Cry 3, they did a lot of things right with this game which far out-weigh any minor flaws. I just wish they had done a little better with some of the graphics. They are like "almost" great but slightly shy of being mouth dropping awesome. Some scenes are worth seeing in the game while others seem to be average typical in a game. Expand
  76. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    TOMB RAIDER! Who knew? This is one game that I didn't think would impress me and it did! There are a few issues with the game but for the most part it is a wonderful piece of work. Thanks guys at square enix and all. The only part of it I don't like is the button mashing sequences that don't really work well for PC format because of the layout of the keyboard. It's just too difficult to execute command button mashing in sequence that quickly without missing a keystroke or making a mistake. Which in turn makes the final battle almost impossible because there are WAY too many enemies coming at you from multiple directions and the button mashing sequences must be done "in sequence" upon command. OK, fine! It's just not that EASY! I don't know if I will be able to finish the game due to the difficulty in mashing the buttons in sequence. Of course, in time that may change.
    Other than that and the fact that the game is somewhat short, approximately 30 40 hours of gameplay, the game was well thought out and put together. The video is grand! The details are better! The story a bit far fetched but it's a video game that plays as almost real life. AWESOME! I won't get into technical details but like I said there are a few minor issues with the game but I still managed to give it a 9. I gave XCOM a 6 and SKYRIM a 7.5. I have heard some recent news that iNVIDIA display adapters are suffering from performance issues, they can't get it up! Well, I'm happy to say that I have an AMD Radeon HD 6870 video adapter and it performed flawlessly! Don't see any trailing or flashing, it's great! I had a lot of fun playing this game for the first time!
    Anyway, you gamers out there in Tomb Raider land, the one's with the robot fingers, let me know how you fare with the button mashing. I am usually very hypercritical with games but I really think this is a good one! At least I don't feel like I've wasted $54.00 on a game. Is it worth the money for maybe 40 hours of gaming? This is one of the few where I'd say YES! Check it out!!!!!
    Expand
  77. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Great action and story and presentation. The only prob I had with the game is the frustrating QTE bits. This sort of game play went out of fashion ten years ago. Fortunately, the rest of the game over powers this odd anachronism.
  78. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Reboots are generally a scary thing. We wonder whether our memories of the first games will be wiped out by a less than par successor. I was wrong. This game goes above and beyond the first games, to the point where this and Bioshock are my games of the year so far. Lara has been captured perfectly, the scenery in and visuals in the game are stunning. Whilst we do get QTEs, this does not effect the flow of the game. I really hope to see a sequel as this was one hell of a memorable ride. Square Enix, you've done me proud Expand
  79. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    LARA IS THE QUEEN
    THE KING INDIANA JONES

    SORRY DRAKE FANBOYS
  80. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    This is the best Tomb Raider ever! Great graphic, great Lara with good acting, Good Story, good immersion. Its an uncharted game but with the survivor aspect and the beautiful and young Lara. The multi is not that good but Hey! Who buy this game for the multi? Hope more Tomb Raider will comes out.
  81. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I've been a BIG fan of the series since 1996, and let me just get this out of the way, I am a Core Design fanboy. Crystal Dynamics have finally nailed it. OK so they'll never meet the high standard set by Core, noone ever will, but this is a step in the right direction. Good for you guys, I'm very impressed. Get this game.
  82. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    Great improvements make this game superior than its predecessors. Though not on par with the last 2 Uncharted games, it has greater depth in its gameplay and personally i like better the grim style.

    It's in the path of the Uncharted series as a cinematic experience and has kept some gameplay elements from previous TRs. It's spectacular and a thing of beauty to watch (some of the best
    graphics on the X360), technically proficient and has some great physics. The combat is hate/love, but it suits the neurotic situation and the character of the unexperienced Lara (though she kills a lot of bad guys...)

    If it had some more climbing to do, some more of the great physics puzzles (a lot more actually) and a more sturdy combat, it could have been perfect.
    Expand
  83. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This is the best Tomb Raider yet, and is one of the best games of its generation. It has a a great storyline, narrative, charismatic characters, wonderful graphics and, best of all, it has Lara Croft, the female icon of video games. This time, Lara is more human and she looks very real, and is a breath of fresh air in a world that is predominantly full of male characters. All in all, I want to say: bravo Crystal Dynamics and bravo for the new Tomb Raider! Definitely Lara IS back. Expand
  84. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    It seems like every year they try to reboot an old franchise into a new game, and most years we are left with a game that's barely half decent but wrapped in a familiar package,games that didn't need making and shouldn't have been made.

    And then you have the few successes, like Tomb Raider. This game clearly takes a lot of design cues from Uncharted on PS3 and is much the better for it,
    the handling, the combat, the level design, all are representative of a masterclass in games design.

    Perhaps the best part, where a lot of games give you a short slapped together campaign as an excuse to charge full retail for a multiplayer game, here you actually have a damn good campaign, with a great story, and amazing gameplay, and it has a pretty decent multiplayer component too.
    Expand
  85. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    Very nice reboot over the Tomb raider franchise.

    It's like a mix between uncharted and batman franchises, picking the best of their latest games.
    The story is entertaining, the exploration and secrets are interesting enough to look for them and technically it's top notch.

    Quite recommendable!
  86. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    There has been a lot of doubt to me in the gaming industry lately for me. Time after time again I have been renting and buying new games only to get let down from my favorite franchises. Well folks my faith has been restored in my gaming with this gem of a title. I really cannot express the amount of amazing work Crystal Dynamics has pulled out here. From the graphics which in some scenes look next gen and i am not even joking to the smooth as butter controls everything is polished to perfection. Easy menu navigation and awesome upgrades only add to the game. Some of the AI gets confused for a bit but otherwise pretty challenging because they keep you on your toes. All I can say is go buy, rent or whatever you do to get games and play this now. This is a breath of fresh air and easily one of the best third person action games I have played in years. This score is purely based on the single player as i have yet to try the multiplayer because of how amazing the single player is. TOMB RAIDER IS BACK. Expand
  87. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    After finishing this game today and playing all night the past two nights i have to say this is a great game. The gameplay is great, the graphics are excellent, the exploring alone could keep you playing for hours, does a fantastic job making you fee like you're in the game, this is just one well made game. The only flaws it has is compared to other third person games the combat system can be frustrating at times but that's the only thing i think could have been improved. But overall was a great experience and enjoyed it very much! 9 out of 10! Expand
  88. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Best game i have played this year, and is in my top 5 all time games. I am a fan of the uncharted series and I really appreciate the direction tomb raider has gone with this by implementing the more realistic movement & weapon system. Single player is perfect with a story that keeps you on the edge of your seat as well as constant unique gameplay events thats mixes it up great. The multiplayer however is laggy and this really affects the gameplay hopefully they will fix this with a patch but as a result they fall short of 10/10 Expand
  89. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    It is a very good game with likable characters in game like sam or new tomb. I have console version and pc if you have nvidia card mine is 550 ti) you can get high settings and good frame rate when turning of tessellation,high precise, normal for ssao and depth of field. Overal you should buy Tomb raider on both platform
  90. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing! I have never played a tomb raider game in my many years of gaming, and what a great time it was to start! Being new to the series doesn't matter at all. You fall in love with the characters in story mode. There are endless things to do such as find certain collectibles. This game is very open and similar to far cry 3 but with better graphics, lovable characters, a great story, and amazing 3rd person. My only complaint is that there is no online horde/ survival mode to do with friends (even co-op would be great). The multiplayer is still entertaining and nothing is more rewarding than setting a trap and catching an enemy to execute him! It's awesome. Expand
  91. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    One word can describe this game. EPIC. As we all know, fans and haters it's probably the game, which is always more "evolved" than the other games. Also the graphics are AMAZING. I thought i was watching the 3rd Tomb Raider movie!
  92. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Amazing Gamer, its like a mix between uncharted 2, far cry 3 and the bonfires of Dark Souls. If you like action adventure, and care a little about Lara, this may be the best game for you. Its so beautifull and has a robust campaign of almost 15 hours, plus a lot of puzzle side exploration quest. The only thing that i really dont like much was the multiplayer. But this game is on a par with uncharted 2, and is way better than uncharted 3. Expand
  93. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Cada vez que jugaba a los juegos anteriores nunca los terminaba por que llegaba a aburrirme pero desde que lo vengo siguiendo mas o menos del 2011 creo o 2012, muy bien no me acuerdo, veía los trailers y como que me llamaba la atención y me daban ganas de probarlo, por suerte el martes me lo compre y hoy hace minutos lo termine.
    La verdad que yo no soy de sorprenderme tanto con algunos
    juegos solo pocos me han logrado sorprender y entre esos pocos voy a meter a este nuevo tomb raider. Nunca espere que me gustara tanto y me dieran ganas de terminarlo bueno ahora hablare sobre el juego.
    La historia se basa en que un grupo de.... no me sale la palabra bueno no importa ellos quieren descubrir sobre una reina del sol llamada "himiko" y tienen que dirigirse a una isla que no sale en el mapa.Bueno siendo sincero no se esmeraron en una gran historia pero es lo suficiente como para entretener. Esta lara croft es genial ,fragil al principio hasta que se convierte en una superviviente que no teme a nada, uno de los personajes femeninos de videojuegos que mas me gusta encima la pobre se hace mierda siempre xD Hablando gráficamente se ve excelente a pesar que la versión de 360 es inferior a la de ps3 y pc se ve muy bien los detalles del los lugares son geniales.
    La jugabilidad del juego es muy buena en ningún momento me queje ni putee la verdad que me sentí muy cómodo.
    La historia como dije no es la gran cosa ,mezclan la realidad con lo mistico(no se si en los otros juegos mezclan lo mitico) pero es entretenida lastima que el modo historia es corto y,para mi, el final no me gusto mucho y es predecible
    Algo que si pudieron haber hecho mejor ,es la inteligencia artificial de los enemigos porque puede resultar algo "fácil" debes en cuando te la saben complicar pero en la mayoría del juego es fácil.Una ambientación excelente la verdad que es muy buena, un mundo abierto y que siempre tengas que revisar todo el lugar por que seguro que hay para registrar alguna tumba ,lugares secretos ,recoger cofres o libros etc. Todo el mapa se conecta en si podes pasar por el mismo lugar como mas de 4 veces(aunque sigas el modo historia volves a pasar si o si) eso hace que ademas de hacer la historia te podrás entretener un rato. Los puzzles son divertidos pero algo simples los puzzles de los juegos anteriores son mas difíciles(eso fue lo que me llevo a no terminarlos xD, era chico y no me gustaba trabarme en un juego).
    Este juego de los otros que eh jugado, que por decirlo asi es el mas "oscuro" ,porque las muertes de los enemigos o de lara misma son algo fuertes hay mas sangre que en los otros
    Podes cazar,andar libremente por la isla buscando secretos y objetos para completar el juego al 100% ,aumentar de rango, mejorar las armas,no puedo hablar del modo multiplayer por que no lo puedo jugar. Aplaudo a Crystal dinamics por este excelente juego, aunque me hubiera gustado que lo hubieran hecho mas largo.
    Expand
  94. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    The game play is awesome.Like really awesome. Lara's characterization is amazing. Upgrade system is epic. Exploration is wonderful and challenging. And finally the story... its pretty good most of the time.
    I can assure u this will be one of the best of games of 2013!!!!
  95. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This is by far the best Tomb Raider i have ever played. The graphics are amazing, the puzzles are like side missions and feels very rewarding to discover the way to its end. The loot system is very well implemented with chances for you to upgrade weapons either from salvage or from finding new mods and new parts. You also have a talent system where you can improve your hunting or surviving or fighting skills. The island where you are being thrown has lots of stuff going on, it is enclouded with mistery and you can feel dark forces around. This is definately a must buy game for your Tomb Raider collection. Expand
  96. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I register to make a review of this epic game. save the best for last.. it is a great game for this dying days of console. the environment looks great character design is nice game play is awsome!!!. it feels like im playing on a next generation console.. its a bit short but the money you spend is worth it. the puzzle part of this game is a bit few. the story is so captivating and i cant even put down my controller. square enix and crystal dynamics did an excellent job in making this games! grab this game and you will never regret it. Expand
  97. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Ok, so I was actually expecting a pretty good time from the new Tomb Raider but boy was I proved wrong. It's a bloody great time!
    While I do have a few gripes they are all minor things that are easily overshadowed by the sheer awesome.
    But for the sake of fairness let's go through them.
    First. The game do start off fairly weak. For the first 15-20 minutes I was certain that I they had
    just jacked up the drama a little bit and gone for more cinematic angles to become in essence Tomb Raider: Uncharted. However once you get through the first part and the game opens up a little I was quite blown away. The games progression is still linear but you have quite a bit of freedom exploring your surroundings and the game does a really good job at making you feel like you're not being led on rails (most of the time). My second gripe is that the game feeds you too much resources. There is quite literally ammunition every ten metres or so. It's next to impossible to run out of ammo. I really hope they release a survival mode that makes scavenging and hunting more important parts of the game. The third gripe is the one that annoys me the most (though your mileage may vary) and it's the QTEs.
    I really really really hate the QTEs in this game. If I get the game over screen in this game it's about 99% probability that it was from a QTE. The game also does a really piss poor job of explaining exactly what you button you need to press and when. I must have been choked 20 times before I figured out what I needed to do.
    It's such a cheap way of adding "action" to a game and I loathe it with a passion.
    Thankfully there aren't that many of them but every time one comes along I'm unceremoniously ripped out of the immersion the game has managed to pull me into and I'm forced to hammer left/right for a few seconds and then hammer E or time a press of F. Gaaah!

    Anyway.
    The good parts.
    The enviroments are really really good.
    While the "abandoned military installations on a tropical island" setting has been done lots of times before you can understand why since it's works so good and I doubt it has looked any better than this. Every part of the island has been crafted with expert care and attention to detail. Every time I enter a new part of the map I'm always excited to see what I will find this time.
    The game is also extremely good at mixing the action with the exploring. I'm not all the way through the game yet but the action has never overstayed it's welcome. The pacing of the game reminds me alot of Uncharted 2 3 and that is a really good thing (don't get me started on the pacing of the first Uncharted) The story is also well crafted and keeps you interested. You really want to find out the story behind it all and see how it comes together.

    While the year is still young I have no doubt that this game will place on my top 10 of 2013.
    Expand
  98. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    All I have to say is it is a phenomenal game!! It truly is a beautifully written and dark origin story. The environments are really stunning to look at and I honestly just stand there looking around to take in the scenery. The gamp,ay is not only fun but addicting and Camilla Luddington did an amazing job with the voice acting as well. It is just such an awesome game, I can't even find the right words to describe it. Expand
  99. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Tomb raider is one of the best game had ever play.The graphics are amazing, the puzzles are like side missions and feels very rewarding to discover the way to its end. I wish a sequel and DLC
  100. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    More than just the reboot. It is should be the original. I know that there are a lot of people complain about this new TR reboot. But myself, this is one of the best TR so far. This is how a reboot should be. TR reboot has: open world include puzzles, secret tombs, action with diversity upgrade and skills, a lot of documents and relics, achievements to make the game more funnier and longer than any TR has been made before. Trust me, this is worth your time for the new gamers and very attractive game for the old hardcore gamers, too. Expand
  101. Mar 5, 2013
    0
    Tomb Raider is back and better than ever. What's awesome is that, despite being a reboot, the classic aspects of Tomb Raider that we all know and love is still very much present in this game. There is still a huge emphasis on puzzles, platforming, and exploration. Combat, this time around, is much more prevalent which isn't necessarily a bad thing; it works well, and is seamless. The cover system itself is innovative, eliminating the chunkiness of taking cover that plagues most third person shooters. Instead, Lara blends with environments with ease. The new Lara is a huge improvement over the past iterations. The story is also stronger than the past games which gives us incentive to care about the characters. All in all, an amazing game. It's no wonder that, after 9 games, Lara is considered an icon. She is a legend. Enough said. Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    85
    The new Tomb Raider is not as revolutionary as the original from 1996 but this reboot is the most mature, interesting and friendly entry to the series. For me it is Uncharted on steroids, a game that’s better in every aspect than Nathan Drake’s adventures. [CD-Action 04/2013, p.52]
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    65
    Tomb Raider is a fine game, but something essential feels like it has been left out. Lara seems to have found the map, but missed the treasure.
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    95
    Tomb Raider is the second best Uncharted game behind Uncharted 2. While it gives up a lot of its adventure identity fans have come to know and love, the end result is still a fantastic game that shouldn’t be missed by any action fan. If Crystal Dynamics can inject more adventure elements into a potential sequel, it would be a pretty interesting proposition indeed.